Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
402
4 stars
94
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
29
1-20 of 506 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews
Great product
6/14/2009

Customer review by 28540nc

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by 28540nc
by 28540nc

This product is well worth buying. I received one as a gift and it has been running and keeping my pool clear since May 10th. No more algae issues, no more cholorine. I have bought zero chemicals since I started using it. I tell everyone I know with a pool to get one of these. Big plus, suits don't fade like a regular chlorine pool.

Was this review helpful? (433) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
28540nc
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
6/25/2010

Customer review by RandyInTN

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by RandyInTN
by RandyInTN

This is a great product. It makes maintenance much simpler. Saltwater chlorination is absolutely the way to go. There is a lot of misinformation in some of the reviews. First, a lot of people are saying how great it is to not have chlorine in their pool anymore. The fact is this unit generates chlorine, it just adds freshly produced chlorine in a consistent systematic way that avoids lots of problems you might otherwise have. Second, you still have to balance your water. There are basically four steps of pool care: balance, sanitize, shock and algaecide. This unit takes care of sanitize and algaecide and eliminates or at least greatly reduces the need to shock, so that basically leaves you with only needing to balance, which is pretty easy. At a minimum you need to have some stabilizer (cyanuric acid) in your pool to keep the sun from reducing your chlorine level too low. This is covered in the owner’s manual. For a seasonal/temporary pool you should only have to add cyanuric acid once since it does not evaporate. Be cautioned that too much cyanuric acid is also a bad thing. The owner’s manual calls for a minimum of 10 ppm and a max of 50 ppm. I filled my pool a month ago and added about 40 ppm cyanuric acid. All my test results have been great and I have not needed to shock or adjust anything (pH, Alkalinity, etc.). I did have to reduce the run hours to about half what is in the manual since my chlorine level was rising from day to day. The only cons I can think of are that you cannot pre-program a specific start time and you cannot manually invoke the self cleaning function (reverse polarity).

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandyInTN
Middle Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
7/26/2010

Customer review by sburdick

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by sburdick
by sburdick

We have bought several pools over the last 8 years for our son. He has Autism and a pool is the one thing that really makes him happy when he plays outside. Every year we have fought with algae and water clarity, spending lots of money on chlorine tabs and trying to keep the chemicals away from our son. This year we decided to buy a metal frame pool and try the Salt Water System. The unit was easy to set up and worked great the first day. It stopped working after 13 days but Intex was great about it and had another out to me within a week. Even during the time it was down, the water stayed clear and fresh. We live on the Gulf Coast with temperatures around 100 degrees so the water usually gets green easy. It has not happened at all this summer. I was under the illusion that you just added salt and that was it. This type of chlorination will raise your PH so you have to keep an eye on it and add something to lower it when needed. Other chemicals or additives may need to be added but it is still so much better than chemical chlorine. Anyone who has a pool and wants an easy, natural source of chlorine should get this. Safer than the chemical type, no chlorine smell and it pays for itself when you consider how much you could be spending on chlorine tablets, algaecide, and other chemicals you probably won't need with this system. Photo is of the water the first day. It actually is so clear now, it looks like something you wouldn't mind drinking. I would not recommend that, though.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sburdick
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
9/28/2010

Customer review by markfromiowa

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by markfromiowa
by markfromiowa

I decided to run my chlorinator a full season before reviewing this product. I would first recommend that if you do use this chlorinator, I would add salt UNTIL the low salt indicator light goes away (might take a week or so), I will try this next year, I added the full 320lbs that intex recommended for my 24ft round pool and NEVER added salt the entire season. That being said, even though the water was a little salty at the beginning of the season, It remained exceptionally clear through the entire RAINY summer that we had here in Iowa. The low salt light didnt light up until the end of august, when we were done with the pool. Great product, just make sure you have a good pump to push the water through the chlorinator. I Have highly recommended this product to my friends!!!

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
markfromiowa
dsm, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Will NEVER use chlorine again!
8/12/2009

Customer review by DesertMomof2

5.0 stars 8/12/2009 by DesertMomof2
by DesertMomof2

We purchased the Intex Saltwater system on July 8th after doing a ton of research on the product. We live in the desert and it's about 110 for about 3 months straight. Last year we had our pool up for only half the summer because we had so much algae we had to take it down. Even though we used a ton of nasty chlorine and cleaned the pool daily. This year we have had NO algae at all! It was so easy to set up the saltwater system. You get a little instruction book and a DVD to watch. All you do is add the salt, which you can get at walmart, pool supply stores or hardware stores, stir it up then let the filter pump run for 24 hours, after that you turn on your saltwater system and let it run for however many hours is needed(it tells you in the booklet and depends on the size of your pool)and after that its done! The only bummer is that while you are doing these steps you can't go in the pool...so don't think you are going to add the salt turn it on and then swim that night. Also the system needs to run once a day, you set the timer on the system for when you want it to run, you can't be in the pool while the system is doing it's thing so we have it set to go on at 10pm and run for 3 or 4 hours. You still have to clean the pool because it doesn't get rid of dirt or bugs. We swim everyday and our eyes don't burn, our suits haven't faded and you don't feel or smell all yucky when you get out. Every time we get in the pool me and my Husband say "I can't believe we haven't had to put any chlorine in" That is a huge money saver. I recomend this product to everyone!! So worth the money. I will never have an above the ground pool unless it has a saltwater system attached!!

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertMomof2
Indio, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Earth Friendly System--Salt!
7/5/2010

Customer review by AlsoSomeonesMom

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by AlsoSomeonesMom
by AlsoSomeonesMom

Making 2 changes to our 15' x 36" pool this year was a sand filter and the non-chemical product The Salt Filtration system. (Your filter must beable to move 700 gals per hour for your salt system to work) Last year and previous, we used Baquicil so, base on recommendations, we drained the pool almost to the bottom and refilled. We are on Well water so, we used a filter on the hose to collect any extra dirt from going into the pool. Once filled we put into the water the recomended amount of salt for our pool size. (Remember the salt does not leave your pool unless you splash out water or back flush). Then we adjusted our Alkaline, which was our hardest problem because of the Well water. We use Muratic Acid to bring it down, which will lower your PH. Next we used Borax to raise the PH without raising the Alkaline. (Borax does not leave your water as stated above) Once we were into the exceptable ranges (Alkaline was on the high side and PH was on the low end) we started the salt system as recommended. The PH rose to normal numbers once the system ran and we now had chlorine. The only other chemical we added to stablize the chlorine from burning off was Cyanuric Acid (This does not leave your water either as state above). Adding the Cyanuric Acid on the low end first has worked, the pool retains its chlorine. Once we did get an error code that stated our salt was too high, but we knew what was enter into the water so, we looked for another answer. We need to clean the salt system as recommend for 1 hour with vinegar. Bingo problem solved! I love this system for the way my water looks, smells, and most of all taste. Why taste? Well if you ever swallowed some water you usually run to the side to spit it up like your going to puke. (Not with this system) My skin feels great and my eyes never feel dry or burn. I like this system because I feel Greener for using it. Thanks to Intek for truly creating a product for the consumer not the chemical companies. Nice! It took a bit of reading and understanding in the beginning, which was researched by my husband, but as far as I can see, it been well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlsoSomeonesMom
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money!
7/25/2009

Customer review by samntha

5.0 stars 7/25/2009 by samntha
by samntha

We have had the unit about 1 month and we are doing well so far. We also purchased a Intex pool, so the intake hoses fit perfectly. We dumped about 150 lbs of salt to start at under $6.00 per 50 lb bag. The water tastes only slightly salty but has been clear and clean. I hope that the unit and my pool will stay this easy to care for all summer long. It is worth the extra $$ to purchase this system and change over to salt. No more chemicals and faded suits. The code on the unit so far has shown to be functioning normally. I love it when a product actually does what it is supposed to. Thank you Intex!

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samntha
Atmore, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT! (A MUST for the buzy person)
5/23/2010

Customer review by Nancyb766

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by Nancyb766
by Nancyb766

Last year was the first year I never had cloudy or greenish water and now we are going on our second year. This system kept my pool crystal clear the entire spring-summer and into fall! I have an 8'x15' above ground pool and was always dealing with cleaning the pool and adding the chemicals or finding which chemicals where needed to fix this or that issue. This system is so simple to use that it tells you if you need more salt then all you have to do is add it! The only word of caution is that less is better in this case. When you start up only use a little more than half of the recommended. It is much easier to add salt than to receive a high salt warning and have to partialy drain your pool to add more fresh water.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nancyb766
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!!!!
4/27/2011

Customer review by Kendra0216

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by Kendra0216
by Kendra0216

I purchases the 24x52 intex pool last year, I spent the whole summer fighting algae and other aliments I spent more time cleaning the pool then my family did in it. I finally got tired of it and just shut the pool down. This summer I bought this system just to give it a try, With in a few days my green water was crystal clear, All I have to do is vaccume the pool. I would recommend this to everyone, well I have recommended it to everyone I know who has a pool.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kendra0216
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
using with 15'x48" pool
5/2/2011

Customer review by shopamoma

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by shopamoma
by shopamoma

After a few uses(with no product) our pool water became very cloudy and eventually green! After 4 hours of this system being hooked up(though it recommends much longer) our pool was swimmable. And the next day when we checked it, the water was completely clear! and has been ever since! LOVE LOVE LOVE this contraption!!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopamoma
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
trying to save money
4/22/2010

Customer review by LoveToSaveALotMore

4.0 stars 4/22/2010 by LoveToSaveALotMore
by LoveToSaveALotMore

I bought this product for our pool trying to save money on chlorine. My pool was cloudy already after just filling it. Tired of it, I installed this product and within 24 hours after running it the pool was clear. I haven't had to add anything since. Love it!!!! P.S you still have to have your regular pump and filter, but no more chemicals!

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveToSaveALotMore
Warrenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excellent product
9/23/2009

Customer review by stevendmc

5.0 stars 9/23/2009 by stevendmc
by stevendmc

This is the end of my second season using this product and I love it. It keeps my pool sparkling clean all the time. I've never had to add anything to the water. When I test the water with my test strips, its perfect. I have a 15x30 pool and it's even located under trees which usually makes it harder to keep the water in spec. I also use a automatic vacuum that keeps the bottom clean. I highly recommend this salt system to anyone who has a pool.

Was this review helpful? (39) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevendmc
kansas city, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the price
8/17/2010

Customer review by Not2Brite

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Not2Brite
by Not2Brite

I have a 20,000 gallon in-ground pool and although this product is designed for above grounds and for smaller size pools. But so far, I have it runs for 3 weeks, 8hrs a day, may be I need to run it longer? I don't know, but the water is clearer than ever before and I never had to put anything else in the water except the clarifier once a week as a routine for maintenance since I live in a high dust area. This is the first time I converted my pool to salt water and I love it. I have read that it would cost at least $1500-$3000 (parts and labor) to convert a pool this size to saltwater, but I only paid $139 for the system when it was on sales and one time $80 for the salts. I ran out and bought a second one 4 days after the installation of the first one (another $139), not because I needed it but because it is so good that I wanted to save this for backup or spared parts later on.. just in case..!! It's more than what I expected originally... Thanks for a wonderful product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Not2Brite
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product
5/10/2011

Customer review by Rando39

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Rando39
by Rando39

Hooked this up while filling the pool. Once the water got above the intake of pool dumped in the alloted salt and stabalizer and bu the time I got the pool compleatly full the test strips showed to be right on the money. Easy to set up and program.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rando39
Weatherford Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Product
5/22/2011

Customer review by Moghamix

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Moghamix
by Moghamix

First of all I never, and I mean never, write reviews on anything. The Chlorinator simply works as it says it does and that blew me away! The pool looks and feels amazing and I have almost nothing to do with that, which is the greatest product endorsement an individual (who has ever had to clean a pool) can give.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moghamix
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great System!
9/7/2009

Customer review by TMC737880

5.0 stars 9/7/2009 by TMC737880
by TMC737880

I am very pleased with this product. It does what it says it will do, it is easy to set up and very easy to program. It requires a pump/filter of at least 700 gallons per hour, so if you are putting it on a smaller pool, keep that in mind.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TMC737880
Midlands, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/10/2010

Customer review by Texan1965

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by Texan1965
by Texan1965

Had this product for two years now and it has kept our 5000 gallon pool crystal clear. I run it 4 hours daily and during the very hot Texan August an additional 8 hours once weekly. It has made pool mainenance a breeze. I have to descale the elements with kitchen grade white vinegar once weekly as scale builds up pretty fast, but that's a simple task compared to having to figure out pool chemicals. We've had no swimmers ear and no red eyes since we have been using this system. Well worth having.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texan1965
DFW Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
A Great Purchase for the new pool
8/18/2010

Customer review by DadCmC

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by DadCmC
by DadCmC

We have been using this product with an 18' Round Intex Ultra Above Ground pool. It works EXACLTY as advertised. It took about 10 minutes to get it connected and set-up, and another 10 minutes to spread the salt (sold seperately) evenly throughout the pool. We have been using this Saltwater Sanitizing system (in conjunction with the pool filter and pump) for three weeks now, and the water is as clear as it ever was - and no one comes out smelling like chlorine! We have not needed to add ANYTHING to the pool since this was installed. How awesome is that! The water is not in any way "ocean salty". Timer function works great. Do yourself a favor... purchase an outdoor plug-in timer, and set your outdoor timer to turn on at midnight so your pump and this Saltwater Sanitizer will go on at that time to reduce possible peak energy demands. I absolutely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadCmC
Agoura Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THE BEST THING EVER INVENTED FOR POOLS
7/7/2009

Customer review by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976
by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976

THIS IS THE BEST THING MONEY COULD BUY. NO MORE NASTY AND HIGH DOLLAR PRODUCTS..YOU CAN HAVE WATER THAT IS SMELL FREE, CLEAR, CLEAN.ME AND MY DAD BOTH GOT ONE AND WE WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK TO CHEMICALS ALL YOU HAVE TO DO GET THE SYSTEM GO GET 98% PURE NATURAL SALT AND THERE YOU GO YOU WILL HAVE THE BEST POOL IN TOWN. ONE THING WE FOUND OUT THAT WHEN YOU FIRST START THE SYSTEM THE FIRST CYLCE THE WATER LEVEL WAS LOW ON THE PH ALGE AND CLOR.. SO WHAT WE DID IS WENT OUT GOT ONE BAG OF SHOCK AND SWIM ADDED IT AND THEN THE NEXT READING WAS PERFECT AND HAS BEEN EVER SINCE... NEVER ADDED ANYTHING ELSE JUST SITTING BACK ENJOYING THE WATER AND LETTING THE SYSTEM DO EVERYTHING ELSE..LOVE IT LOVE IT YOU HAVE TO PURCHASE IT.(YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT) ... YOU DO STILL HAVE TO VACUM AND CLEAN IT BUT AS FAR AS CHEMICLS YOU WILL NEVER HAVE TO MESS WITH THEM AGAIN ... ALSO IF YOU HAVE KIDS IT IS THE SAFEEST THING FOR THEM YOU CAN FEEL GOOD ABOUT THEM SWIMMING WITHOUT CHEMICALS BECAUSE I HAVE 2 KIDS AND THEY SAY MOM WE CAN'T EVEN SMELL THE CLORINE.. AND THAT IS ALL THANKS TO THE SALT CLORINATOR SEE FOR YOUR SELF HERE IS A FEW PICS.....

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IOWAPOOLOWNER1976
IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best thing you can get for pool
6/20/2009

Customer review by CleanPoolGuy

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by CleanPoolGuy
by CleanPoolGuy

This single product makes having a pool a joy vs. a burden. It keeps the pool sparkling clean and ready to swim at all times with perfect amount of clorine without any clorine after effects. After about 3 months if you have hard water you need to soak plates in vinegar every 2 months to eliminate calcium buildup but all that is SO much easier than all the manual clorine application stuff. Plus I am gone 2-3 weeks at a time and come home to a clean and ready to use pool instead of a green one that I have to pain to get ready to go again. Should not have an above ground without this unless you are short term (up for a weekend or week) pool person

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CleanPoolGuy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews