Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

552 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
402
4 stars
94
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
29
1-20 of 506 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews
Saltwater pool filter.
8/21/2009

Customer review by lhlisaann

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by lhlisaann
by lhlisaann

OMG..This is product is GREAT!!! we got our pool last year at this time & even though we didn't have it open for long,I was out alot of money on pool chemical's. So one day my husband was talking to his friend about it & he told him about his neighbor having the saltwater pool filter & how great it was.So we decided that we would get one this year & try it out & let me tell you it is GREAT.It is very easy to set up. We had it up & running in no time.We have a 24x24 pool & we put seven 40lb bags of mortons pool salt in it(You can get it at certain walmarts) & that was it! we haven't had to add anymore all summer long & the water feels great sort of silky feeling it makes your skin feel good. The salt is less then $6.00 a bag!! Now you figure it up & see how much money you would save.It pays for itself in one summer.I recommend it to everyone thinking about getting one. ;)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lhlisaann
Hopkinsville,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
THE BEST THING EVER INVENTED FOR POOLS
7/7/2009

Customer review by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976

5.0 stars 7/7/2009 by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976
by IOWAPOOLOWNER1976

THIS IS THE BEST THING MONEY COULD BUY. NO MORE NASTY AND HIGH DOLLAR PRODUCTS..YOU CAN HAVE WATER THAT IS SMELL FREE, CLEAR, CLEAN.ME AND MY DAD BOTH GOT ONE AND WE WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK TO CHEMICALS ALL YOU HAVE TO DO GET THE SYSTEM GO GET 98% PURE NATURAL SALT AND THERE YOU GO YOU WILL HAVE THE BEST POOL IN TOWN. ONE THING WE FOUND OUT THAT WHEN YOU FIRST START THE SYSTEM THE FIRST CYLCE THE WATER LEVEL WAS LOW ON THE PH ALGE AND CLOR.. SO WHAT WE DID IS WENT OUT GOT ONE BAG OF SHOCK AND SWIM ADDED IT AND THEN THE NEXT READING WAS PERFECT AND HAS BEEN EVER SINCE... NEVER ADDED ANYTHING ELSE JUST SITTING BACK ENJOYING THE WATER AND LETTING THE SYSTEM DO EVERYTHING ELSE..LOVE IT LOVE IT YOU HAVE TO PURCHASE IT.(YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT) ... YOU DO STILL HAVE TO VACUM AND CLEAN IT BUT AS FAR AS CHEMICLS YOU WILL NEVER HAVE TO MESS WITH THEM AGAIN ... ALSO IF YOU HAVE KIDS IT IS THE SAFEEST THING FOR THEM YOU CAN FEEL GOOD ABOUT THEM SWIMMING WITHOUT CHEMICALS BECAUSE I HAVE 2 KIDS AND THEY SAY MOM WE CAN'T EVEN SMELL THE CLORINE.. AND THAT IS ALL THANKS TO THE SALT CLORINATOR SEE FOR YOUR SELF HERE IS A FEW PICS.....

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IOWAPOOLOWNER1976
IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
love it
7/26/2010

Customer review by sburdick

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by sburdick
by sburdick

We have bought several pools over the last 8 years for our son. He has Autism and a pool is the one thing that really makes him happy when he plays outside. Every year we have fought with algae and water clarity, spending lots of money on chlorine tabs and trying to keep the chemicals away from our son. This year we decided to buy a metal frame pool and try the Salt Water System. The unit was easy to set up and worked great the first day. It stopped working after 13 days but Intex was great about it and had another out to me within a week. Even during the time it was down, the water stayed clear and fresh. We live on the Gulf Coast with temperatures around 100 degrees so the water usually gets green easy. It has not happened at all this summer. I was under the illusion that you just added salt and that was it. This type of chlorination will raise your PH so you have to keep an eye on it and add something to lower it when needed. Other chemicals or additives may need to be added but it is still so much better than chemical chlorine. Anyone who has a pool and wants an easy, natural source of chlorine should get this. Safer than the chemical type, no chlorine smell and it pays for itself when you consider how much you could be spending on chlorine tablets, algaecide, and other chemicals you probably won't need with this system. Photo is of the water the first day. It actually is so clear now, it looks like something you wouldn't mind drinking. I would not recommend that, though.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sburdick
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love this product!!!
6/20/2011

Customer review by Tamybw

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Tamybw
by Tamybw

Great product, water is Krystal clear. Very easy to connect to My Sunshine - 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Pool, using adapter and metal clamps provided with sanitizer (see pic). Product recommended starting with 100 pounds of salt for 4000 gallons of water, but I only used 80 pounds of salt. I did this because if the high salt light comes on the only way to lower the salt level is to partially drain the pool and then refill it. I figured it would be better to start with less salt and to add more if needed. So far system has worked great with less than the recommended amount of salt, but I did purchase another bag to have if needed. Other than the occasional vacuuming and daily bug dipping the water stays clear, and does not burn eyes. The water has a slight salty taste but not bad. Way better than using chlorine. System runs for 2 hours at night on automatic timer. Had to purchase a separate outdoor timer for pool filter pump because salt water system will not work unless filter pump is on. Would highly recommend this system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tamybw
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ALMOST Returned
7/10/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/10/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have thier pool and the pump that came with thier pool. And had a heck of a time setting it up. The hose from the salt water system to the pump was to large to fit the pump outlet. Gave tech a call, Oh just rap it with tape and make it work. OK, Wraped it with half a roll of teflon plumber tape and sqweezed it on and tightend it till it worked. System kept reading low flow. With thier pump. I had to elevate the system in steps and keep the discharge end proped up at an angle to keep all the bubbles it creates while working flowing out enough for it to work. BUT now that the bugs are worked out, It does do just what they say it suposed to do. Had to run boost three times to catch up. But it runs great and keeps right up now.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
N/E Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful product.
6/1/2010

Customer review by pw2009

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by pw2009
by pw2009

I bought this pump last season for my 24 x 52 above ground pool. It worked ok after I finally got the water right from filling it from a hose that was rusted. We didn't realize it until we filled it completely up. Now, this year, I filled it with clean fresh water from a good water hose. It rained a couple of times and I was told to shock the pool when that happens. I did that and it caked up on the cells of the salt water pump. I then realized I didn't need to shock it. I read all the reviews of the people that have used this and they haven't had to use ANY chemicals and that is why I purchased it. Now that I don't use anything, the water is crystal clear. I have not had to even test it. I lowered the amount of time that I run it to 8 hours a day. I clean the pool once a week and add a new filter twice a week. I love this product and will buy another one if it ever quits on me. The price has come down considerably. That makes it even more worth it. Happy Swimming!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pw2009
Holland Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderfull product
7/29/2009

Customer review by vegylady

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by vegylady
by vegylady

my husband and I love this salt water system. It was simple to set up. we bought a new intex 12 x 20 oval pool also. the water has stayed sparkling clear and clean all summer have not had to add any salt since the initial set up at the end of may. the water makes your skin feel so good and does not burn your eyes. the only minor problem we had was the first two days. we have well water that is high in iron so it imediately turned the water orange. we added iron out to the water and it cleared up in two days with no problems since then. since there is no timer on the system and we wanted it to run in the early morning we just set our alarm clock at 3:45 my husband got up and set it to run every morning from 4 to 8 am. this product is well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vegylady
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BUYERS Check ALL REVIEWS from ALL websites FIRST
7/25/2009

Customer review by ShortyMama

1.0 stars 7/25/2009 by ShortyMama
by ShortyMama

The price was great. But I only had this product less than 1week, and its already dead. Only had it on for 3hours per day as recommended for my pool size. After a couple of days, the 91 code came on at first than I followed all directions of the manual to correct that problem, but its still not working. As a matter of fact, now the "service" light is on. Its kinda silly that there is no remedy to correct that, besides returning it to the company. That wont be much help once the warranty is over. Youde have to just get a whole new one again. Im kinda thinking of just returning it and getting my money back instead of just exchaning it for another one, considering other people have had problems with the Intex company ignoring them when issues come up with this product, especially once the warranty is over, its sounds like the customer doesnt matter after that. Im afraid of waiting it out til my warranty is over. Not sure if I should bother tinkering with it or just returning it. If anyone has a solution, to the service light coming on please post it for others like me to hopefully fix it. I do like the idea of saltwater pool rather than buying chemicals.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShortyMama
Oceanside,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exelent idea geting one!
9/30/2009

Customer review by acgarcia62

4.0 stars 9/30/2009 by acgarcia62
by acgarcia62

I try to use clorine, and other stuff, and still, I was not able to keep the water clean. I was going to pay more for all the materials that I need it, and it was a lot of work, but nothing keep the water clean enough to feel confortable. Now it is, its a big difference. and I am saving myself a lot of headackes! And its very easy to follow the instrunctions; it was nothing to it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acgarcia62
McAllen TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AWESOME product...HIGHLY recommend
6/28/2010

Customer review by ljb4

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by ljb4
by ljb4

I see for the most part people are giving this the 5 star rating it deserves. It is the coolest thing, works wonderfully, hardly any chemicals, our pool is crystal clear and beautiful. I think ppl who are saying this isn't a good product did something wrong setting the pool up, bc this is pretty fool proof! you still have to shock it, add a bunch of salt and alittle cholorine, you don't just hook the filter up and expect it to do everything for you. Give it a shot! its worth it

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ljb4
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
above and beyond
7/19/2010

Customer review by chapd

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by chapd
by chapd

We had a pool party for our grandsons and after having 15 kids in the pool we were a little concerned by the water condition. We ran the salt system as instructed and by morning we had crystal clear water again. I would recommend this product to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chapd
Elkton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent for the price
8/17/2010

Customer review by Not2Brite

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Not2Brite
by Not2Brite

I have a 20,000 gallon in-ground pool and although this product is designed for above grounds and for smaller size pools. But so far, I have it runs for 3 weeks, 8hrs a day, may be I need to run it longer? I don't know, but the water is clearer than ever before and I never had to put anything else in the water except the clarifier once a week as a routine for maintenance since I live in a high dust area. This is the first time I converted my pool to salt water and I love it. I have read that it would cost at least $1500-$3000 (parts and labor) to convert a pool this size to saltwater, but I only paid $139 for the system when it was on sales and one time $80 for the salts. I ran out and bought a second one 4 days after the installation of the first one (another $139), not because I needed it but because it is so good that I wanted to save this for backup or spared parts later on.. just in case..!! It's more than what I expected originally... Thanks for a wonderful product.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Not2Brite
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2011

Customer review by 5678910

2.0 stars 5/25/2011 by 5678910
by 5678910

We have had our system for almost a year. Today the system quit! Had no problems all last summer. I would recommend talking with your local pool store for expert advice. We struggled with our chlorine levels until we got the right salt and stabilizer levels. There again the pool store was a huge help. I performed all the maintainance, which was not much, on the unit. We stored it in the attic over the winter. The system was used just once or twice this year before it quit. It will not turn on. Intex requires a sales receipt for any warranty work. But if you buy it online keep the tracking number attached to it from the freight company. Intex requires the tracking number for any warranty work and the receipt, which i found odd. I didnt know what to expect as far as durability since the price is so low. I did however expect it to last longer than one summer season. I gave it an overall two cause it quit, but the as far as operation it works very well. Just not very long.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5678910
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not All It Is Cracked Up To Be
6/23/2010

Customer review by StLouyMom

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by StLouyMom
by StLouyMom

After reading rave reviews I decided to purchase this system. It does work great but you still need to purchase chemicals (pH adjusters, alkalinity, algae guard, shock, stabilizer/conditioner). The only thing you will not be purchasing is the chlorine since the system generates it with the salt. After running this system for a couple of weeks my chlorine levels were still zero. To make a long story short....you must use stabilizer/conditioner in your water to maintain the chlorine. Otherwise, the sun wipes the chlorine out and your levels will be zero. I have also found the system needs to run much longer than the manual states. My pool is an Intex 14x42. I run it around 8 hours. For the people that stated they did not add any other chemicals must be basing their judgments from the "looks" of the water being clear instead of tests performed on the water. I would recommend this system but do not be fooled into thinking you are going to save a lot of money on chemicals. You still need to balance your water!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StLouyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
A Great Purchase for the new pool
8/18/2010

Customer review by DadCmC

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by DadCmC
by DadCmC

We have been using this product with an 18' Round Intex Ultra Above Ground pool. It works EXACLTY as advertised. It took about 10 minutes to get it connected and set-up, and another 10 minutes to spread the salt (sold seperately) evenly throughout the pool. We have been using this Saltwater Sanitizing system (in conjunction with the pool filter and pump) for three weeks now, and the water is as clear as it ever was - and no one comes out smelling like chlorine! We have not needed to add ANYTHING to the pool since this was installed. How awesome is that! The water is not in any way "ocean salty". Timer function works great. Do yourself a favor... purchase an outdoor plug-in timer, and set your outdoor timer to turn on at midnight so your pump and this Saltwater Sanitizer will go on at that time to reduce possible peak energy demands. I absolutely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DadCmC
Agoura Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It Works
6/2/2010

Customer review by MDewulf

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by MDewulf
by MDewulf

I love our Saltwater System! It really works, I'm still thrilled about that. It was so easy to hook up and get started. For our 16' x 48" pool we used 3 bags of $4 salt and that's it. We got hit with heavy storms recently and our water level was elevated, so I tested our water and ran an extra cycle and our chlorine is back to normal and everything else was balanced. Your pump has to be on in order to make chlorine. Our pump is last years model and has to be manually turned on there is no timer, but we hooked up a portable timer made for pools and spas and it works great. The Saltwater System will come on when it's supposed to unless it gets unplugged then you have to reprogram it, but that's very easy. This is a great investment. Our skin feels smooth, our hair feels soft, no burning eyes, no salty taste. We have infant twin boys and I was not looking forward to exposing them to chlorine this summer, but with this system we have nothing to worry about. I highly suggest this product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDewulf
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!!!
9/28/2010

Customer review by markfromiowa

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by markfromiowa
by markfromiowa

I decided to run my chlorinator a full season before reviewing this product. I would first recommend that if you do use this chlorinator, I would add salt UNTIL the low salt indicator light goes away (might take a week or so), I will try this next year, I added the full 320lbs that intex recommended for my 24ft round pool and NEVER added salt the entire season. That being said, even though the water was a little salty at the beginning of the season, It remained exceptionally clear through the entire RAINY summer that we had here in Iowa. The low salt light didnt light up until the end of august, when we were done with the pool. Great product, just make sure you have a good pump to push the water through the chlorinator. I Have highly recommended this product to my friends!!!

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markfromiowa
dsm, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT! (A MUST for the buzy person)
5/23/2010

Customer review by Nancyb766

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by Nancyb766
by Nancyb766

Last year was the first year I never had cloudy or greenish water and now we are going on our second year. This system kept my pool crystal clear the entire spring-summer and into fall! I have an 8'x15' above ground pool and was always dealing with cleaning the pool and adding the chemicals or finding which chemicals where needed to fix this or that issue. This system is so simple to use that it tells you if you need more salt then all you have to do is add it! The only word of caution is that less is better in this case. When you start up only use a little more than half of the recommended. It is much easier to add salt than to receive a high salt warning and have to partialy drain your pool to add more fresh water.

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancyb766
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it but irritated first unit did not work
6/2/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/2/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I never write reviews. I too fought years of algae before going with saltwater. If the pool crosses over to the dark side and turns green, your only option is to drain it and start over. The soft-sided pools (the ones that look like a giant blue dog-bowl) were the worst. I fiddled with the pool levels every day until last year when I sent with saltwater when we picked up a new 20x48 metal frame pool. My first unit would not kick in and the troubleshooting guide indicated that if the clorinator does not turn on, that the salt could be too low. I went back and purchased additional bags of salt - twice. I then took the unit apart and cleaned the cells two or three times. I spend days trying to get it work. I took it back to Walmart and picked up a new unit. Worked right out of the box. The water was clear all summer and the kids never complained once about their eyes being irritated. I just picked up the bigger pump/sand filter so I will see if that further reduces cleaning time. Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
6/14/2009

Customer review by 28540nc

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by 28540nc
by 28540nc

This product is well worth buying. I received one as a gift and it has been running and keeping my pool clear since May 10th. No more algae issues, no more cholorine. I have bought zero chemicals since I started using it. I tell everyone I know with a pool to get one of these. Big plus, suits don't fade like a regular chlorine pool.

Was this review helpful? (433) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
28540nc
Jacksonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews