Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 34 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Excellent price makes up for some inadequacies
7/15/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

My wife has been harping me for a GPS in her car for some time. After a recent stint in a loaner car equipped with a factory GPS, I began searching in earnest for a good GPS to fill the need. I originally was looking at the Garmin Nuvi line but some of reviews commented on "commercials" appearing when the driver is stopped and I was totally unwilling to pay top dollar for a GPS just for the privilege of stairing at advertisements. When I saw the new GO and VIA lines from TomTom I decided to take a closer look. I ended up picking up both a GO2535TM and a VIA1505. The GO model is more of a "top of the line" model compared to the mid-grade VIA1505. I'll talk about some of the differences below but first let me give a brief summary of my findings with the 1505: Pros: Very affordable. Very fast re-routing. Very large screen. Very thin/svelte. Really helpful intersection detail screens pop up when going through a route. No problem with polarized sunglasses. Cons: Screen washes out badly in the Texas sun. Battery life is less than 90 minutes. Suction cup mount is permanently attached. Speed limit data is often inaccurate. User interface is kind of slow. MyTomTom service is barely beta quality. Very slow acquisition of GPS signal (> 90 seconds) FORM FACTOR The VIA1505 is a very svelte GPS with a large screen. It's so thin and light (with such a big screen) that you can't help but recognize it features the very latest technologies. The price of the VIA1505 is low enough that I am willing to forgive many of the flaws I'm about to describe. MYTOMTOM SOFTWARE The first thing I will comment about is the MyTomTom application that one uses to perform all firmware and map updates. TomTom is kind enough to provide an initial free map update for the VIA1505 through the MyTomTom application. I installed the MyTomTom app on both a Macintosh and a Windows 7 system. The UI was similar on both computers and I didn't detect any difference in the quality or features. The application had an annoying tendancy to keep launching even though I had changed the setting to tell it not to launch each time I turned on my computer. That is the first of many bugs. I initially activated my TomTom GO2535TM. This went smoothly however it did not find any map updates. I then tried to add the VIA1505 to my account but I received a very cryptic error "something has gone wrong". I'm serious, that was the error message. I googled but could not find anything. I tried about a dozen times and continued to get this error. I tried on both the Mac and Windows and continued to get the error. Finally I thought "maybe I need to create a separate login on MyTomTom for the second GPS?". Upon creating a second login on the TomTom website, the VIA1505 linked without error and proceeded to download firmware and map updates. Of course, this leads me to wonder why my GO2535TM is not seeing map updates! SCREEN I took the GPS out to my car to go for a spin. I was immediately pleased to see that my polarized sunglasses did not interfere with screen visibility. Unfortunately, when I stepped outside of my house, the Texas sun so badly washed out the display that I thought something was wrong. I stepped into my dark garage and suddenly the screen was clearly visible again. I went into the settings to make sure there weren't any power saving options or screen brightness settings that needing adjustment- there were not. Once I mounted the GPS in my car and started driving around, I continued to find the screen (on battery power) to be barely visible. On a hunch, I plugged in the (included) 12volt adapter cord and suddenly the screen became noticeably brighter. It still wasn't great, but it was at least visible even in the bright sunlight. I later learned that the battery life on this unit is so bad that I have to leave it plugged in all the time anyway. VEHICLE MOUNT The suction cup mount for this unit is permanently affixed to the GPS screen. This means you have to re-stick it to your windshield each time you get in your car. This unit is inexpensive enough that you might be tempted to leave it mounted in the car all the time but I talk to SO many people that have had their car broken into for GPS units- it seems like it's not worth the risk of broken windows/doorlocks to leave it mounted. Because of the design, unmounting and mounting each time is definitely a lot harder than you'd expect. My GO2535TM has a magnetic removable mount that is much nicer. USER INTERFACE I entered a few destinations using the built in search feature. It was reasonably easy to find restaurants and other points of interest near my house. I was a bit perplexed by how slow the interface was- when I pushed a key on the virtual keyboard there was usually a noticeable delay. The delay was so long that sometimes I ended up pushing the same key multiple times before the letter showed up on the screen. This took some getting used to and seems like it could be fixed with better tuned firmware in the future. I'm crossing my fingers! BATTERY With a full charge, I've been getting less than 90 minutes of battery life. I haven't actually used the unit until the battery totally expires but I have seen the low battery warning come on well before the 90 minute mark. This is a bit annoying as it means you realistically have to leave it plugged in most of the time. Due to the screen brightness issue, I'm having to leave it plugged in anyway. GPS SIGNAL ACQUISITION The first time I left my house, I was puzzled because the GPS wasn't showing any movement. I drove out of my neighborhood and to a nearby stoplight. This is about a 90 second drive. During this time the GPS said it was "acquiring GPS signal". Finally, while sitting at the stoplight, the GPS updated and correctly showed my location for the remainder of my drive. This initial acquisition was a lot slower than I expected. Sometimes when I'm downtown at a baseball game I want to quickly figure out how to get home. If I have to wait 90 seconds to get a GPS signal, I'll be driving blind for quite some time before I get any guidance as to which one-way street is going to take me to the desired interstate. If I sit in my car for 90 seconds, tons of fans pour into the streets and cause endless backups. I'm pretty disappointed with this and am hoping it improves with firmware updates. SPEED LIMIT DISPLAY One feature of the VIA1505 is that it displays posted speed limits on major roads. Unfortunately, I estimate that 25% of the speed limits in the VIA1505 are inaccurate. In many cases the posted speeds are slower than what the GPS displays. This is a recipe for a speeding ticket! In the end, I find that I can't trust and have to ignore these speed limits. I wish there was a way to hide them altogether since they can't be depended on. Both my VIA1505 and GO2535TM have this issue so it seems to be something in TomTom's data feed. POINTS OF INTEREST I configured my VIA1505 to display restaurants and gas stations along my route. I found that it was a bit spotty. There were several gas stations (Citgo, Valero and even some Shell stations) that I drove by that did not appear on my map. Several Chevrons did show up. Likewise with restaurants, the TomTom was missing a Burger King, Jack in the Box and Chick-fil-a however it showed me several McDonalds and Sonics. I did not notice any "small" restaurants showing up on the GPS. Good luck finding a hole-in-the-wall gem with the TomTom. I'm not surprised or disappointed by that- just reporting the facts. NAVIGATION GUIDES Where this unit really shines is in the most basic feature of taking you to a destination. First, I love the custom intersection and highway exit screens that come up to tell you which direction each lane can go. At one point I was on a 7-lane stretch of freeway and the TomTom dutifully drew all 7 lanes with arrows showing where they were headed (veering right, going straight, etc...). Very cool and very confidence inspiring! I love this feature. REROUTING Also, this unit is very fast at recalculating routes. Even on a 60 minute drive, any slight change in my route resulted in a reroute in just a matter of seconds. I've read other GPS units taking 60-90 seconds to calculate a new route. Clearly this is not an issue for the VIA1505. My wife also commented on how quickly the unit rerouted when she altered her route. This is a very important feature and one at which the VIA1505 excels. IQ ROUTES Another feature that seems to work as advertised is the "IQ Routes" that allow the VIA1505 to route you around predicted traffic jams. If I leave work at lunch time, it will take me home via one route. If I leave at 5:30, it takes me another route that completely bypasses a huge backup with the first route. This is a great feature to have given that this product does not have any traffic updates. SUMMARY All told, I love my GO2535TM and am fairly neutral on the VIA1505. The lousy screen and lousy mounting options really detract from this otherwise fine product. For 70% more (about $100), the TomTom GO2535TM has a beautiful glass screen that shines brightly and a nifty magnetic mount that allows for easy snap-in/out. If the VIA1505 wasn't so cheap, I'd probably return it for another GO2535TM. As it is, it's just cheap and good enough that it will likely earn a permanent spot in my car. If any meaningful updates occur, I'll modify my review.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 25 contributor
6/13/2011

Customer review by aboutsavings

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by aboutsavings
by aboutsavings

I bought this as a gift for someone; at present, they are very happy with it. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aboutsavings
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Quality product
7/8/2011

Customer review by PurposeShopper

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by PurposeShopper
by PurposeShopper

Bought as a gift for my husband. This is his second TomTom and he is pleased with the product performance. He especially likes the larger screen as it is easier to see while driving.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurposeShopper
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very nice
10/10/2011

Customer review by tomtommom

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by tomtommom
by tomtommom

I really liked the large arrow for the turns and it gave plenty of warning before a turn. It is quick to reroute if you take a wrong turn or need to get off the road. I love the traffic warning setting. You can see where the traffic starts and how long you will be sitting. The touch screen is a bit slow to respond but I didnt find it annoying. For the price it is a great navigation and I am happy I bought it.

tomtommom
Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
2/19/2012

Customer review by henroc

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by henroc
by henroc

Is the best device I have ever had when it comes to GPS easy to use

henroc
Bronx , NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
2/21/2012

Customer review by Fink

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Fink
by Fink

Very pleased. Now I can drive any where with out getting lost. Thank you.

Fink
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Easy to use and fatastic for the Novice
4/2/2012

Customer review by Traveller

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by Traveller
by Traveller

Don't know what the other reviewers are talking about when they say it didn't work or was not accurate or "needs an antenna." This is my first GPS and right out of the box it took me across the state and ended right in front of the address I wanted. This could not be easier to use, nor more accurate just as it came from the store. Speed limits were displayed accurately. Street names and highway numbers were announced correctly. I was amazed to see the display actually show each up coming curve in the road. I'll never travel without it again.

Traveller
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect for travel
5/9/2012

Customer review by sogoestheworldtoday

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by sogoestheworldtoday
by sogoestheworldtoday

I have had my TOM TOM for about a year and a half, don't leave home without it. never fails, warns me when a entersection has cameras, changes the speed with the speed limit signs, always, never misses. speed cameras are all over now and I get a warning. It has taken me every where I want to go, buy one and you will not be unhappy. Now I do not have to remember it will tell me every thing that I need to know while I pay attention to my driving.

sogoestheworldtoday
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Via1500US
1/13/2013

Customer review by Miltspoon

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Miltspoon
by Miltspoon

I like my new TomTom very much. This is the third TomTom I have had. I do not like My TomTom as much as TomTom Home however. I liked the ability to get images off of the site. But, as far as the operation of the unit I like it for the quick operation, the improved user interface and of course the 5" screen. I had an issue with the map updates. I called the support desk. The problem was taken care of withing 5 or so minutes and the person on the phone was very polite and fast to help.

Miltspoon
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1505tm
4/4/2013

Customer review by Gambia

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Gambia
by Gambia

This unit updates are more recent and detailed than the garmin 2455lmt that i have and much easier to download.

Gambia
Anderson,S.C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I enjoy it, however I do not believe it does take me the most direct routes. Plus, when I did un upgrade....it erased all my FAVORITES!!!

An anonymous customer
McDonough GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great GPS, too bad...
6/13/2011

Customer review by DWtsn

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by DWtsn
by DWtsn

The TomTom1505 is the latest in a very long line of TomTom GPS units I've owned. I'm impressed with the product but was disappointed with the fact that some of the features I had in my TT340 were absent, specifically the Itinerary Planning and Compass. These were huge "likes" in my previous GPS. The only reason I upgraded to a TM version GPS was due to the monthly fee for the Live Services, which I use a lot. Overall, the 1505 is a very good GPS if you're technically savvy. I'm very unhappy with the non-removable mounting system. This is a huge 'minus' for me since I've always used different mounts that are NOT on the windshield. Some of the features are also buried a little deeply and the sub-menus seem oddly placed (Map Corrections under Services) but once it's setup it's easy to use and navigates very well.

DWtsn
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
3rd Tom Tom I have owned
10/17/2011

Customer review by Spud824

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Spud824
by Spud824

After my first, I upgraded models to a bigger screen. I drive a wrecker and love how easy they make navigation (key maps are usefull but these are indespensable). Currently moved my 2nd to my personal vehicle, gave my first to my mother and bought the 1505TM. After day in - day out use I still like the Tom Tom over the other brands. Don't have many map problems but occasionally run into a dead end or discontinued street...that's what "map corrections" are for!

Spud824
Conroe, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Christmas gift
1/21/2012

Customer review by zippy1113

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by zippy1113
by zippy1113

My new job requires me to be a road warrior in several cities with which I am completely unfamiliar. Family got me this as a Xmas gift for that reason. I have no previous gps experience. So far, I have found it reasonably easy to use. The maps seem to be pretty accurate, and have definitely gotten me where I needed to go, on time, for appointments. I love the spoken directions, and the lane change visuals. Seems fairly customizable, so far. The screen is very sensitive, so even touching the edge of it while driving can take you to another screen. Fortunately, it's quite easy to get back to the main driving screen. My only major isue so far was the mounting disk supplied with the device. The adhesive disk was useless, and barely lasted an hour. Velcro took care of that, and now I am very happy. Love the device, and hope to have it a very long time!

zippy1113
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best one yet
2/17/2012

Customer review by Dokon2

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Dokon2
by Dokon2

Ive had a couple gps so far and this one is the best one I've had yet. I would defiantly recommend this gps.

Dokon2
Berlin, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Tom Tom Via 1505
2/26/2012

Customer review by pgraham

4.0 stars 2/26/2012 by pgraham
by pgraham

This was a replacement for an existing Tom Tom whose power supply finally went bad. I like the new model! I feel it is not as intuitive as the old Tom Tom was - harder to locate where I need to go to find restaurants etc. Many more menu choices to learn to navigate and, of course, no manual for assistance - though that may be lurking in one of those dark places I have not yet had time to explore. The most disconcerting thing to me was the time estimate function on my latest trip (which was also my first trip with "Samantha" - have to admit I miss the quips and humor of my British Guy). The time estimate showed a full hour less than the Google map directions I used to check the accuracy Tom Toms route for the first trip - This worried me... am I really being led to the right location?. The estimate seems to assume 1. you will not run into any traffic and 2. you will be able to - and wish to - maintain the maximum speed limit for the entire trip. Because I like to stop on the road for a quick diet coke and the resulting rest stop, I always add an additional 1/2 hour or so to my projected travel time. Even accounting for that extra the trip still took the extra hour predicted by my Google maps. So, if you are one of those who is a bit light on the pedal (I was going 65 to 70 instead of 70) you may want to tack on some time for your trip - it just seemed that 1 hour difference was a bit extreme for a 5 hour trip. On the positive side - the new format is much easier to follow and I was not kicked out of the program once - YEY! Re-routing when I diverged from the plan was quicker than the older model and the screen is easy to follow. I really like the night screen! All in all I am pleased with my Tom Tom so far. Looking forward to more trips!

pgraham
Elmhurst (Chicago) Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does the job
6/9/2012

Customer review by Blue

4.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Blue
by Blue

I have this 1505 model for 1 1/2 yrs. Sometimes it takes 5 minutes before you get a satellite kink up. It gets you where you want to go. A few times I took the "alternate route ...minutes faster" and sometimes it did get me there sooner than the known route but more a back road route with more traffic signals. The volume could be better. You have to drive with the windows closed sometimes to hear the sound. The red light camera service is pretty good and I haved hundreds of dollars knowing where cameras are. The money saved on fines has paid for the tomtom many times over. I like the night time map-it's very comfortable to see. My biggest complaint is the mounting system. It's rather awkward so I don't put the tomtom on the dashboard. Overall, it's okay. I suppose every brand has it's pros and cons but the tomtom does work for me.

Blue
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does the job, but..
9/4/2011

Customer review by AFNR

3.0 stars 9/4/2011 by AFNR
by AFNR

I bought it because of the lifetime traffic and maps (without annoying pop-up ads the competitors use to pay for the traffic service) and it's appearance. I hate shiny/glossy/silver-plasticy stuff, and this one is so easy on my eyes! However, the biggest minus can be just as difficult to ignore - it's horribly sluggish interface! I read professional reviews and they are right: this thing will make you wonder if it has a processor from 1980s electronic watch. Entering an address is a time consuming effort. Apart from that it's pretty accurate, a good value and best looking (which matters a lot for me) unit. I hope Tomtom will somehow redesign/update the software it runs on, so it won't be as sluggish. And while they're at it, they can make it stop asking me to hit "OK" button after every little step.

AFNR
Would recommend to a friend? No
NO MAPS
9/16/2011

Customer review by Nell

3.0 stars 9/16/2011 by Nell
by Nell

After 6 monthswith this product, updated maps are still not available!

Nell
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
2/13/2012

Customer review by HJD1

3.0 stars 2/13/2012 by HJD1
by HJD1

I previously had a Garmin that I was no longer able to update. I got the TomTom Via 1505M as a Christmas gift- chosen mostly for the lifetime update feature. I was able to use the TomTom 2-3 times-seemed to take forever to start up and find a signal but was accurate once it finally started. I thought the volume left a lot to be desired- even at 100%, it was too low. After my last trip, I logged into my TomTom to see if the volume could be adjusted other than thru the GPS itself. Once logged on, I got conflicting messages- said my device was up to date but said there were updates available to download. Silly me- I attempted the downloads and my device hasn't worked since. The download never completed- my GPS says "something has gone wrong- see computer for more info." However the computer gives me no further info. I'm still waiting for a reply to my email since none of the troubleshooting steps I've tried have worked.

HJD1
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews