Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 34 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Go with Garmin, TomTom is not reliable
6/27/2012

Customer review by awordlover

1.0 stars 6/27/2012 by awordlover
by awordlover

I bought 2 of these GPS units - I already had a Garmin. There are 4 of us in our family and 3 were relocating to different states, so I gave the Garmin away to one, a TomTom to another and kept a TomTom for me. It made me long for my Garmin. This GPS got us lost over and over with misdirections, alerting to turns 3 to 5 miles before reaching that point (distracts you when driving bec you are looking for that street name!) and it is not as user friendly as my Garmin. Now that we are all relocated, I am keeping my Garmin and the 2 TomToms are going for yard sale. Never again will I listen to people recommend a GPS unit when it is the ONLY GPS they have ever owned. Once you have a Garmin, you will never want a TomTom. Although lifetime maps was the only good feature, the constant alerting of gas stations was annoying (like every 3 miles or so). I was led to more dead ends and roads that were no longer there that it is a wonder this GPS is still being purchased. Save your money and curiosity - buy a Garmin!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awordlover
Bucks County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TomTom 1435TM GPS
6/15/2011

Customer review by latemodel0

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by latemodel0
by latemodel0

By far the best gps unit I have ever owned tomtom done its homework on these new Via models I love all the new features and the lifetime maps and traffic updates that come with all TM models could not ask for anything else from this one to do because it does everything to do with navigation and for what I paid for the new unit it would have costed me that just to update my old tomtom 2 times I am glad tomtom stepped up to the plate with the new lifetime map updates and traffic updates also this should put them on top on the GPS market...

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
latemodel0
Amory,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Compact easy to use GPS
4/10/2012

Customer review by timbo1819

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by timbo1819
by timbo1819

I am a previous Tom Tom gps owner, so wanted to keep with that brand because my last one gave me no problems in the 5 years that i owned it. The main reason i wanted this model was because of the lifetime map updates and trafic. Also was looking for a bluetooth capable unit for my cell phone when driving, this one works very well and is compatible with my Samsung GT5500. I see a lot of negative reports about this GPS unit (even on TomTom's web site) all i can say is that some people are not using it right, because i have had sucess with it even when doing the first map update (some people say it takes 3 or more hours to update) it took me 22 mins. the only thing i have not had success with yet is entering an address with the voice command. The voice command otherwise works very well with POI entry and my cell phone calling which is the main reason i wanted this. Directions and spoken street names are very clear and understandable, this unit is very accurate and even tells you which side of the road your destination is on when you get there (my old one did not) It is a nice big easy to read screen, and easy to operate. Just remember that when using the voice command option that you can not have the radio on too loud otherwise it will not pick up your voice. All said i would recomend this unit to anyone wanting the features that this offers. Very good value for $150 The intergrated mount is also a good plus with this unit, as the screen automaticaly turns around to whatever way up you have this weather it be on your dash or up on the windscreen. I even was able to transfer all my voices, favourites and POI from my old TomTom one into this new unit using a programe from TomTom's web site. I use this in my 2011 Camaro because i stopped the onstar service (hands free calling is to costly with onstar) hence the bluetooth hands free option of this GPS with my phone. Another thing i like about this as opposed to my old unit is the way it shows you the lane guidence when comming to a junction on the highway, in which lane to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timbo1819
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Slow and doesn't function well.
6/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

When entering a destination POI or address each screen takes forever to function. Using the keyboard each keystroke takes anywhere from 3 to 20 seconds to register and double hits and wrong keystrokes are VERY common. Getting back to the Nav screen when looking up something takes you back through every screen you took to get there and those screens don't load very quickly either. No direct option to get to the home screen, you HAVE to back out. Voice recognition is a WASTE OF TIME. I ask for a restaurant and I get a parking garage. I even speak slowly and clearly and it doesn't get it right. The zoom button has changed from the past not easy to operate and it doesn't register your touch very well at all. The touch screen isn't very accurate at all either. You have to really press down on the screen, too hard if you ask me, to get your option entered. I like TomTom but this one is a piece of garbage. DO NOT BUY THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

An anonymous customer
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointing! Felt like a down-grade!
7/21/2011

Customer review by Skye7881

1.0 stars 7/21/2011 by Skye7881
by Skye7881

I was very disappointed with this Tom-tom. I loved my last one. Right away, as mentioned in other reviews, the design seemed clunky and slow. Then, I noticed the touch screen was not very responsive compared to my previous Tom-tom. I couldn't believe the voice quality. It sounded so poor, I thought it was 5 years older than my previous old model. I immediately investigated online, thinking I mistakenly ordered an older model. No, to my astonishment, this is a recent release! Compared to my 3 year old tom-tom, the function is clunkier, the voice quality is much worse, and the touch screen is terrible. Sadly, I'm returning this today.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skye7881
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have owned several Tom Toms which worked for me, I especially like this one, enough to get one for my Grandson. The life time maps and traffic are great. It was a little hard at first to pair with my cell phone but with a little help from the Tom Tom support online it was solved. I like the visable road speed limit and warnings when driving too fast. Voice reconition program has a lot to be desired. It understands basic commands. I have not been on any long trips with it but looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Langley British Columbia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
TomTom Via 1435 TM
9/18/2011

Customer review by Analyzer

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by Analyzer
by Analyzer

Most of the unit can be learned through it's intuitive interface. Overall I found it very accurate, actually it's a little scary how accurate it is. Spoken directions very timely and almost eliminate the need to look at the unit. It talks just the right amount. Not too much, but not too little. Perfect for navigating a densely populated mega city like Vancouver BC, which is where I found myself recently and was in bad need of some serious help. Best investment I made. TomTom Via 1435 TM. Lifetime updates, real time traffic, Bluetooth, makes driving enjoyable when you would otherwise be lost in an unfamiliar area. Was up and running right out in the store parking lot. Got us back to the hotel, and found good restaurants, government offices, shopping, fuel, everything you could dream up is in this device. Buy it. I did and no regrets.

Analyzer
Home: Vancouver WA USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Via 1435TM First Week in Calif.
6/1/2011

Customer review by Liamcelt

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Liamcelt
by Liamcelt

This is my second TomTom GPS and I am very satisfied so far. The unit comes with an integrated traffic receiver that has provided updated route info while driving and saved time. The user interface is improved over my previous unit and the customized start up screen allows me to set shortcuts that save time and allow me to concentrate on driving instead of operating a piece of technology. As this unit is relatively new not all features are supported yet in the MyTomTom application but I experienced this as an early adopter with my last unit and found that all features were soon available. The advanced lane guidance feature sells this unit by itself and addressed a critical issue in complex freeway navigation.

Liamcelt
Anaheim, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A very good GPS not perfect but very good.
7/17/2012

Customer review by 4characters

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by 4characters
by 4characters

This is a very good GPS. The IQ Routes feature is my absolute favorite. In some cases it will signal you that you can save a few minutes by taking an alternate route. You can travel through unfamiliar cities like you've live there all your life. I really enjoy the advanced lane guidance especially when I am going down a freeway at 65 MPH. I never miss an offramp and I navigate much more surely. Two flaws one is the accuracy of maps. Once in a while it is off on directions. It says my house is on the right side of the street when it is on the left hand side. Sometime it is a couple hundred yards off address. Taking advantage of some of the special features is also unnecessarily complicated.

4characters
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
6/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very disappointing. Tom Tom told me that I couldn't update it on my computer network so I went to another network, still couldn't update. Then it would not turn on and we were leaving for Florida in about 2 hours. I returned it and bought a garmin. It was wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Portsmouth Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Frustrating
1/1/2013

Customer review by HeartWalker

3.0 stars 1/1/2013 by HeartWalker
by HeartWalker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for my wife because you could say the place you wanted to go rather than touchscreen input. It doesn't work well. You have to have the exact address for it to work. You can't just say "Walmart in x city".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeartWalker
Clayton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice if it would have worked!
12/19/2012

Customer review by badbob39

2.0 stars 12/19/2012 by badbob39
by badbob39

Great features...good price It did not work right out of the box. Tech support is an email extravaganza. Several days of emails and no closer to a fix...Returned and biought a Garmin, my fourth.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badbob39
Would recommend to a friend? No
EASY TO USE
5/9/2012

Customer review by ELLOCO

4.0 stars 5/9/2012 by ELLOCO
by ELLOCO

I HAVE THE VIA 1435TM AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT IS REALY AN AMAZING DEVICE. IT DOES EVERYTHING ITS SUPPOSED TO DO AND MUCH MUCH MORE! THE BLUTOOTH WORKS GREAT, I CAN MAKE AND RECEIVE CALLS AND I DONT HAVE TO USE MY CELLPHONE, IT SOUNDS GREAT. THIS FEATURE ITS AMAZING..IT LOADS ALL MY CONTACTS FROM MY PHONE!!!! LIVE TRAFFIC UPDATES,AND LETS YOU KNOW OF ALTERNATE ROUTES IF THERE IS DELAY OR TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS!!! LOVE IT! JUST MAKE SURE YOU PLUGGE INTO THE COMPUTER EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE TO KEEP UPGRADING AND TO LEARN OF NEW THINGS!!! WORTH IT!

ELLOCO
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
its ok
6/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

it does have a few quirks-my one complaint is the sound-its not good at all--and your car cannot have the radio or loud heater fan on-the voice will not recognize your voice for directions then you must input by the menu-which is a 5 step action. it does have auto traffic with it which does your route and gives updates on delays-nice ! the phone feature is iffy at best-but bluetooth is expensive by itself-so to get it with the unit is a good thing-though the sound isn't good.

An anonymous customer
mass.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Doesn't do what it says on the box
5/9/2011

Customer review by Steve0000007

1.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Steve0000007
by Steve0000007

Pros: Maybe faster than my old one (740) Cons: New software is poor compared to Home. Latest Map guarantee not available. No POI's available (Home had 1000's of user generated ones) Activation code for lifetime maps doesn't work (I bought the 'M' model). Doesn't hold a Bluetooth connection with my Blackberry My wife has the older 740 and this one is a big letdown. Will probably return it after this trip.

Steve0000007
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
It has problems
10/3/2011

Customer review by Jaci

3.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Jaci
by Jaci

My device freezes up then won't shut down for a while. It is very susceptible to heat, I never leave it in the vehicle but just driving a few miles causes it to overheat. I was able to connect my phone but can't answer calls through the device? I do like the new features though. It is much nicer than my old one.

Jaci
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Upgraded from XL 330S WOW!!!!!!!!!
3/24/2012

Customer review by Mikey

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by Mikey
by Mikey

As a truck driver this unit has never let me down, as I work urban and rural areas even dirt roads, it always leads me to my destination. Very accurate and easy to use. Traffic info is also very helpfull especially in areas I don't travel often. Updates are easy and simple. Thank you.

Mikey
Sacramento CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
TomTom VIA 1435 TM
5/19/2011

Customer review by Maps

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Maps
by Maps

After several attempts with TomTom Support, I managed to register for lifetime maps. My previous TomTom Go 630 had the option to enter a lock code but this unit does not have that security feature. Satellite capture is slow, much slower than the Go 630.

Maps
Central California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful
12/1/2011

Customer review by Debbie101

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Debbie101
by Debbie101

I love that this GPS has OVER ONE MILLION TRACKED roads in the USA and Canada. I have never found one that had such an amazing amount of roads mapped out in one GPS unite

Debbie101
Magrath,Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I Use it Everyday!
10/29/2011

Customer review by Nemesis

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by Nemesis
by Nemesis

Although I know where I'm going while @ Home, I still use it everyday just to see how accurate it is. I luv my new TomTom it was a BD gift frm my wife who also has one!

Nemesis
St. Louis, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews