Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

193 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

193 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
26
1-20 of 187 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
Very realiable GPS
6/9/2014

Customer review by fhrodrig

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by fhrodrig
by fhrodrig
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a tom tom 50s Go. Didn't like it and returned it. That like many of today's gps's receive traffic updates via your smartphone which then transmits it to your gps. Therefore, if you accidentally forget your smartphone or if it runs out of power, you're screwed because it can't receive the traffic updates. I've had this model in the past. What i like is that the charger is also the RDS (traffic) receiver. Therefore, whether you have or don't have your smartphone with you, you'd still be able to get your traffic updates. For me, that one less thing for me to stress and worry about. Also, this model allows you to give it certain voice commands, turn by turn navigation, blue tooth connectivity to your smartphone and a micro SD slot so you can download huge maps; but most importantly, it has lifetime map updates, which you get about every three months. With what tom tom charges for a map update, in a year the lifetime maps would have paid for this gps in itself. Get it, it's a no brainer!

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fhrodrig
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good GPS, Bad bluetooth phone device
2/18/2014

Customer review by Skizzix

3.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Skizzix
by Skizzix

I purchased the 1535TM because I had several previous Tomtoms, and was generally happy with them. I selected this particular model, however, because my car didn't have a hands free bluetooth phone interface, and the 1535 would fill in this gap. The problem is the small and terrible speaker. I always thought the sound quality of my other Tomtom GPS was quite good - loud and clear. The 1.5 inch raised circle on the back with "holes" in it is a decoy on this model. The actual speaker is only a small part of this, about the size of a nickel, maybe a bit larger. This unit has poor sound that makes phone conversations difficult. I've had people I was talking with tell me the quality wasn't great on their end, also. It's fine for normal GPS, but if you buy this for the bluetooth phone connection, expect to be disappointed. If all you want is a good GPS, you can find cheaper models without the bluetooth.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skizzix
North Central, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Descent GPS for the money
9/17/2014

Customer review by supersaddle1

3.0 stars 9/17/2014 by supersaddle1
by supersaddle1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This TomTom Via 1535 boasts a lot of bells and whistles. When the reality of it is if you disregard the features that don't work or are not dependable, it's just an average GPS unit. As with all "lifetime/real time traffic" you are taking a risk by letting the GPS change your route to get out of traffic. More times than not, by the time you drive the new route the traffic is bad on it as well. The screen layout is very easy to read and the split screen at exits it quite handy. Map updates will also come in handy. One of the features that I was interested in was the voice recognition. The ability to have hands free control of the GPS. Unfortunately, it's the worst feature on the unit. No matter how clearly, loud or soft I speak, I usually have to repeat myself at least 4 times before it finally understands what I'm saying. After fussing with it for a week with poor results. I've gone back to programming it manually just as I do with my 5 year old TomTom.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supersaddle1
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It WOULD be great.. if it worked
3/8/2014

Customer review by EmperorWatcher

2.0 stars 3/8/2014 by EmperorWatcher
by EmperorWatcher

It looks great on paper, but then Look Out! I keep trying to believe in TomTom. I owned 2 different units in the past, that I really enjoyed, but after one of them was stolen and I bought a new model, I discovered that their quality has really gone into the toilet. I had 3 defective units sent to me after it failed. Then they upgraded me to a GPS with more features. The VIA 1535. Six months later.. you guessed it.. touch the screen and different characters show up than what you expected. The bluetooth worked fine with my phone, and I liked the traffic feature. On the other hand,voice recognition is VERY inconsistent. Free map upgrades are great, but you have to battle their website to get them. I don't know how they have succeeded at all, and expect the company cannot last with products this bad. Then came the final insult. They insist that if I want to get a replacement, I have to pay to ship it back to them. They would have sent a pre-paid label, but it has been JUST over 6 months since I got it and they won't pay after 6 months. You have LOTS of other choices. Avoid TomTom.. Seriously.. It isn't worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmperorWatcher
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nightmare
1/26/2012

Customer review by ALittle1234

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ALittle1234
by ALittle1234

We bought this unit recently and it was a nightmare! For one, it took very long for the device to locate us everytime we turned it on. I used a Garmin before. The Garmin unit gave me problems too once in a while, but it was only when the weather was cloudy, or when I was driving through many high rise buildings. The Garmin unit also quickly asked me Are You Indoors? This TomTom unit, on the other hand, took its time to turn on EVERY TIME - 5 minutes at least or even 20 minutes on one occasion. I read about not being able to update maps on this device before we bought this unit. We got lucky and were able to update maps - IT ONLY TOOK US HOURS AND NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS WITH CUSTOMER SUPPORT!! Then, we started a short trip with the newly updated maps and we were directed to a highway/bridge, which was closed. After blaming my wife for not knowing how to drive and being blamed for not being able to read GPS maps, we found out on Google that the bridge had been closed for months. Google map was able to get us out of the area, and this GPS unit kept trying to take us back to the closed route. We returned the unit right after we got back from that trip.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALittle1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
This device failed to upload new maps.
5/7/2014

Customer review by NavyVietnamVet1972

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by NavyVietnamVet1972
by NavyVietnamVet1972

I purchased a TomTom Via 1530 / 1535 with the lifetime map upgrade about three years ago. I was happy with the unit until I recently tried to use the map upgrade. After downloading all of the upgrades, my devise now has a message “Something Has Gone Wrong” and “No Maps Found”. I have been trying all the online instructions for 5 days now & contacted 3 TomTom support representatives by phone three times now. They have all told me the same thing to try & all have failed to get maps on my device. The device is now useless & they have not offered to look at it or repair it. It has been very frustrating, especially since my device was working before I tried to update. I will now be forced to purchase a new GPS unit and it will not be manufactured by TomTom.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NavyVietnamVet1972
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent GPS!
1/5/2014

Customer review by ruler52

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by ruler52
by ruler52

I've had this GPS about one month and have used it nearly everyday. My old GPS was nearly 6 years old and the maps were getting old. I love the features of this TomTom, you can change voices and change cars. Being able to tell the GPS the address you want instead of having to punch it in is so convenient. So far it's been dead on accurate and got me into the right lane, kept me informed of the speed limits. I never owned a TomTom but it was very easy to learn with many of the inputs very similar to those on my iPhone.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruler52
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lifetime Update only lasted 3 years
11/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 11/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Tomtom is a good machine, but I got the lifetime update for the life of the machine and in 3 years was told to pay $89.00 a year to keep updating maps. Don't bother getting this option.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works well but disappointed with the coverage.
10/26/2014

Customer review by ggh15

4.0 stars 10/26/2014 by ggh15
by ggh15
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the 2nd Tom Tom we've owned and expected it to have the same capabilities as the first one but are disappointed because the ad says it covers the United States, Canada and Mexico, as did our first one, only to find out when we went online to register it and talking with a Tom Tom rep. that we needed to purchase a memory card to get all of three countries and when I asked why was told the maps have gotten so much more detailed that there isn't enough space on the units to contain everything...thus the need for a memory card. I mentioned to the rep. that this should be mentioned in the advertising, which she agreed should, as we probably would not have purchased this model if we had known. We purchased a memory card from our local Walmart, installed it and found it will only give us certain parts of the US and Canada, or the whole US without Canada, with the option to pick our what areas we wish to have. We want all of the US and at least the Eastern part of Canada but that isn't an option. The unit works beautifully locally and on the short trip my husband used it on but we are still disappointed that it isn't what we thought we were getting.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggh15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware - Does not perform as stated!
10/29/2011

Customer review by OldBman

1.0 stars 10/29/2011 by OldBman
by OldBman

Most of the functionality STILL is not available, such as camera, updates, backup just to name a few. They put out the unit before the software platform was ready. News Flash - The software platform STILL is not ready. On the positive side, once they get the software platform fully functional (if/when) it should be great. For general GPS use it is great. But, for the functionality you PAY for it is POOR. Maybe by mid 2012 some of the functionality may work. Had I not got this as a gift, I would have immediately returned it. For the price and functionality, I went down and purchased a T/T 550 WTE with Maps and it works Fantastic, but it works on the T/T Home software platform. T/T from what I heard will be migrating the software platform to T/T.com one day.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldBman
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Traffic feature has saved me fron major delays
6/28/2012

Customer review by Kakewalk

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Kakewalk
by Kakewalk

Travelling from Bethesda, MD to Kent Island, the 1535TM suddenly informed us that an alternate route could save 10 minutes and did I accept the changed route. I eventually followed the changed route, but only at the last chance to exit the Beltway. Turned out that a major accident 8 miles away caused the 8 mile stoppage. This the 2nd time the Traffic feature has saved us from huge backups. We now know to accept the change and FOLLOW it. The voice control is terrific. In 3 months, all voiced addresses were correct, except for one time.. The initial setup and subsequent map updates were flawless. I do have a 30meg internet conection, so the major updates were less than 30 minutes for the 2.8 gig revised maps to download and install. So far, I am quite satisfied; my wife loves being to dive into Favorites to find stores and restaurants. BTW, in March I looked for a local restaurant just opened 3 weeks earlier. It was already in Favorites. Very impressive.

Kakewalk
Chevy Chase, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The TomTom is an excellent GPS.
11/5/2013

Customer review by gjd19498

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by gjd19498
by gjd19498
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good value. I especially like being able to speak an address to navigate to and the life time maps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gjd19498
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
VIA 1535M (life Map but no traffic) refurbished
6/8/2016

Customer review by charlotteseven

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by charlotteseven
by charlotteseven

I had bought TomTom VIA 1535M (life Map but no traffic) refurbished from Walmart.com for $79.00 in November 2012 this unit is still in my active daily use in 2016 and it is perfectly working up to now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
charlotteseven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I travel quite a bit, work and otherwise.
2/6/2013

Customer review by Austin

3.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Austin
by Austin

Love tomtom for the map corrections, address corrections, etc. A lot of lag with unit while in use;live services seriously lacking, gas prices - better off with smart phone apps, weather - better off with almost any other app, traffic - not worth it, last unit with traffic cord was better. Over all extremely disappointed, you might as well be using a map, most of the time; you are at, close to, passing a turn, or to close to the next one, for the unit to keep up. The cheaper the model, as well fewer services, the better it performed. The last thing you need with a GPS, is to get into any traffic, and have it lagging at least a tenth of a mile behind where you are currently at, unless you are stopped. Over all, I was much more impressed with the performance with the tomtom one, the first unit I purchased. Activating the LIVE services supposed to be included..... could have had my teeth pulled easier, for a third of the price something to consider.

Austin
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This thing is amazing!
6/15/2012

Customer review by tactman8

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by tactman8
by tactman8

I bought this for my husband as his old one gave up. It has voice command and the graphics are great! No issues at all!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tactman8
olney il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The new TomTom rocks !
8/7/2012

Customer review by KotahMoon

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by KotahMoon
by KotahMoon

The new TomTom rocks ! I'm on the road every week traveling to art shows and it even knows all of my short cuts the old tomtom never picked up. The hands free phone is the best thing I've had since I had a vehicle with onstar.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KotahMoon
evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what it's advertised as
10/20/2011

Customer review by retiredsalt

1.0 stars 10/20/2011 by retiredsalt
by retiredsalt

Wife got me this TomTom to replace an older Garmin unit. Switching from day light mode to night mode takes up to two minutes (rather distracting). Tried it out going to work (been driving there for 20+ years), it missed the address by 1/4 mile, and correction is too hard to get to. There is no option for detouring at my choice. I would send this back except I don't want to hurt my wife's feelings, I'll just have to continue to explore the unit until I'm comfortable with it, right now I would not trust this on a long trip or to find my way to a location I've never been to near home (it can find my home OK). In a nutshell I much prefer another brand (anything but TomTom).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retiredsalt
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great unit and easy to use. Great value for the pr
11/9/2013

Customer review by Rj61645

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by Rj61645
by Rj61645
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Found unit ready to go right from the box. First thing was to hookup to computer and down load the lastest maps and updates. No problem updating unit. Used unit first time two days later and got me to two locations with no problems and no wrong turns. Love unit good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rj61645
Groveland, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
4/28/2014

Customer review by kingcvc

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by kingcvc
by kingcvc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, let me say that I have never owned any GPS navigation device; I was a MapQuest & road map devotee. Therefore, I cannot compare it to any other similar brand or model. Second, let me say that I love this device; I even used it once on my drive to work (totally unnecessary) because I find it so cool. Over the next several months I will be taking road trips to places I've never been and will not bother with paper directions; I have that much confidence in its abilities. Two specifics I must mention.....Once the quickest route is plotted, you cannot change it on the device (perhaps you can but I've not discovered how). However, I deliberately ignored parts of a route using my local shortcuts and the device had no problem recognizing this change and continued to guide me to my destination from where I actually was on my shortcut. One piece of advice: download the PDF owners manual and read it, it's very helpful. Love the use of "favorites" and the voice recognition. I highly recommend this unless your car comes equipped with a similar unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingcvc
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1535TM
9/26/2012

Customer review by johnk860

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by johnk860
by johnk860

My XL failed a couple of weeks ago, so I bought a Via while on vacation and used it a lot. Traffic and maps are good as usual. Better by lots than a Garmin I also own. Voice command has yet to be used, so I have nothing to say about that. Downside: Can't update safety cameras. That only works with TomTom home, which doesn't work with Via. There's a note on the website that says to go to a "subscription" - the link is broken. So I have no "free" safety camera updates. All updates are through the website (which opens a second internet connection without warning, caused some consternation and a little panic within my security apps). There is also a popup everytime I log onto my pc telling me an update is available and to plug my device into my PC. Turns out it happens everytime they update map corrections, which is often. So that's an irritant as well. Like the device, don't care for the support. I want my TomTom Home back.

johnk860
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews