Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 136 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
21
Sort by: 
1-20 of 130 reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Very realiable GPS
6/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought a tom tom 50s Go. Didn't like it and returned it. That like many of today's gps's receive traffic updates via your smartphone which then transmits it to your gps. Therefore, if you accidentally forget your smartphone or if it runs out of power, you're screwed because it can't receive the traffic updates. I've had this model in the past. What i like is that the charger is also the RDS (traffic) receiver. Therefore, whether you have or don't have your smartphone with you, you'd still be able to get your traffic updates. For me, that one less thing for me to stress and worry about. Also, this model allows you to give it certain voice commands, turn by turn navigation, blue tooth connectivity to your smartphone and a micro SD slot so you can download huge maps; but most importantly, it has lifetime map updates, which you get about every three months. With what tom tom charges for a map update, in a year the lifetime maps would have paid for this gps in itself. Get it, it's a no brainer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good GPS, Bad bluetooth phone device
2/18/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the 1535TM because I had several previous Tomtoms, and was generally happy with them. I selected this particular model, however, because my car didn't have a hands free bluetooth phone interface, and the 1535 would fill in this gap. The problem is the small and terrible speaker. I always thought the sound quality of my other Tomtom GPS was quite good - loud and clear. The 1.5 inch raised circle on the back with "holes" in it is a decoy on this model. The actual speaker is only a small part of this, about the size of a nickel, maybe a bit larger. This unit has poor sound that makes phone conversations difficult. I've had people I was talking with tell me the quality wasn't great on their end, also. It's fine for normal GPS, but if you buy this for the bluetooth phone connection, expect to be disappointed. If all you want is a good GPS, you can find cheaper models without the bluetooth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Descent GPS for the money
9/17/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This TomTom Via 1535 boasts a lot of bells and whistles. When the reality of it is if you disregard the features that don't work or are not dependable, it's just an average GPS unit. As with all "lifetime/real time traffic" you are taking a risk by letting the GPS change your route to get out of traffic. More times than not, by the time you drive the new route the traffic is bad on it as well. The screen layout is very easy to read and the split screen at exits it quite handy. Map updates will also come in handy. One of the features that I was interested in was the voice recognition. The ability to have hands free control of the GPS. Unfortunately, it's the worst feature on the unit. No matter how clearly, loud or soft I speak, I usually have to repeat myself at least 4 times before it finally understands what I'm saying. After fussing with it for a week with poor results. I've gone back to programming it manually just as I do with my 5 year old TomTom.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It WOULD be great.. if it worked
3/8/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks great on paper, but then Look Out! I keep trying to believe in TomTom. I owned 2 different units in the past, that I really enjoyed, but after one of them was stolen and I bought a new model, I discovered that their quality has really gone into the toilet. I had 3 defective units sent to me after it failed. Then they upgraded me to a GPS with more features. The VIA 1535. Six months later.. you guessed it.. touch the screen and different characters show up than what you expected. The bluetooth worked fine with my phone, and I liked the traffic feature. On the other hand,voice recognition is VERY inconsistent. Free map upgrades are great, but you have to battle their website to get them. I don't know how they have succeeded at all, and expect the company cannot last with products this bad. Then came the final insult. They insist that if I want to get a replacement, I have to pay to ship it back to them. They would have sent a pre-paid label, but it has been JUST over 6 months since I got it and they won't pay after 6 months. You have LOTS of other choices. Avoid TomTom.. Seriously.. It isn't worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nightmare
1/26/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this unit recently and it was a nightmare! For one, it took very long for the device to locate us everytime we turned it on. I used a Garmin before. The Garmin unit gave me problems too once in a while, but it was only when the weather was cloudy, or when I was driving through many high rise buildings. The Garmin unit also quickly asked me Are You Indoors? This TomTom unit, on the other hand, took its time to turn on EVERY TIME - 5 minutes at least or even 20 minutes on one occasion. I read about not being able to update maps on this device before we bought this unit. We got lucky and were able to update maps - IT ONLY TOOK US HOURS AND NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS WITH CUSTOMER SUPPORT!! Then, we started a short trip with the newly updated maps and we were directed to a highway/bridge, which was closed. After blaming my wife for not knowing how to drive and being blamed for not being able to read GPS maps, we found out on Google that the bridge had been closed for months. Google map was able to get us out of the area, and this GPS unit kept trying to take us back to the closed route. We returned the unit right after we got back from that trip.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This device failed to upload new maps.
5/7/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased a TomTom Via 1530 / 1535 with the lifetime map upgrade about three years ago. I was happy with the unit until I recently tried to use the map upgrade. After downloading all of the upgrades, my devise now has a message “Something Has Gone Wrong” and “No Maps Found”. I have been trying all the online instructions for 5 days now & contacted 3 TomTom support representatives by phone three times now. They have all told me the same thing to try & all have failed to get maps on my device. The device is now useless & they have not offered to look at it or repair it. It has been very frustrating, especially since my device was working before I tried to update. I will now be forced to purchase a new GPS unit and it will not be manufactured by TomTom.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent GPS!
1/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this GPS about one month and have used it nearly everyday. My old GPS was nearly 6 years old and the maps were getting old. I love the features of this TomTom, you can change voices and change cars. Being able to tell the GPS the address you want instead of having to punch it in is so convenient. So far it's been dead on accurate and got me into the right lane, kept me informed of the speed limits. I never owned a TomTom but it was very easy to learn with many of the inputs very similar to those on my iPhone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lifetime Update only lasted 3 years
11/9/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Tomtom is a good machine, but I got the lifetime update for the life of the machine and in 3 years was told to pay $89.00 a year to keep updating maps. Don't bother getting this option.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beware - Does not perform as stated!
10/29/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most of the functionality STILL is not available, such as camera, updates, backup just to name a few. They put out the unit before the software platform was ready. News Flash - The software platform STILL is not ready. On the positive side, once they get the software platform fully functional (if/when) it should be great. For general GPS use it is great. But, for the functionality you PAY for it is POOR. Maybe by mid 2012 some of the functionality may work. Had I not got this as a gift, I would have immediately returned it. For the price and functionality, I went down and purchased a T/T 550 WTE with Maps and it works Fantastic, but it works on the T/T Home software platform. T/T from what I heard will be migrating the software platform to T/T.com one day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The TomTom is an excellent GPS.
11/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very good value. I especially like being able to speak an address to navigate to and the life time maps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The new TomTom rocks !
8/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The new TomTom rocks ! I'm on the road every week traveling to art shows and it even knows all of my short cuts the old tomtom never picked up. The hands free phone is the best thing I've had since I had a vehicle with onstar.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well but disappointed with the coverage.
10/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is the 2nd Tom Tom we've owned and expected it to have the same capabilities as the first one but are disappointed because the ad says it covers the United States, Canada and Mexico, as did our first one, only to find out when we went online to register it and talking with a Tom Tom rep. that we needed to purchase a memory card to get all of three countries and when I asked why was told the maps have gotten so much more detailed that there isn't enough space on the units to contain everything...thus the need for a memory card. I mentioned to the rep. that this should be mentioned in the advertising, which she agreed should, as we probably would not have purchased this model if we had known. We purchased a memory card from our local Walmart, installed it and found it will only give us certain parts of the US and Canada, or the whole US without Canada, with the option to pick our what areas we wish to have. We want all of the US and at least the Eastern part of Canada but that isn't an option. The unit works beautifully locally and on the short trip my husband used it on but we are still disappointed that it isn't what we thought we were getting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what it's advertised as
10/20/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wife got me this TomTom to replace an older Garmin unit. Switching from day light mode to night mode takes up to two minutes (rather distracting). Tried it out going to work (been driving there for 20+ years), it missed the address by 1/4 mile, and correction is too hard to get to. There is no option for detouring at my choice. I would send this back except I don't want to hurt my wife's feelings, I'll just have to continue to explore the unit until I'm comfortable with it, right now I would not trust this on a long trip or to find my way to a location I've never been to near home (it can find my home OK). In a nutshell I much prefer another brand (anything but TomTom).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great unit and easy to use. Great value for the pr
11/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Found unit ready to go right from the box. First thing was to hookup to computer and down load the lastest maps and updates. No problem updating unit. Used unit first time two days later and got me to two locations with no problems and no wrong turns. Love unit good value for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First, let me say that I have never owned any GPS navigation device; I was a MapQuest & road map devotee. Therefore, I cannot compare it to any other similar brand or model. Second, let me say that I love this device; I even used it once on my drive to work (totally unnecessary) because I find it so cool. Over the next several months I will be taking road trips to places I've never been and will not bother with paper directions; I have that much confidence in its abilities. Two specifics I must mention.....Once the quickest route is plotted, you cannot change it on the device (perhaps you can but I've not discovered how). However, I deliberately ignored parts of a route using my local shortcuts and the device had no problem recognizing this change and continued to guide me to my destination from where I actually was on my shortcut. One piece of advice: download the PDF owners manual and read it, it's very helpful. Love the use of "favorites" and the voice recognition. I highly recommend this unless your car comes equipped with a similar unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought Tom Tom for my son in Texas and he loves it
6/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought Tom Tom for my son in Texas and he loves it! It has lifetime updates plus bluetooth, voice recognition capability to ensure that his hands are free and he can focus on driving not worrying about his cell and missing an important call.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This thing is amazing!
6/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my husband as his old one gave up. It has voice command and the graphics are great! No issues at all!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
9/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got the tomtom. Found it easy to use and very accurate. Gets you to destination in shortest time possible. Highly recommend this product. Walmart shipping fast.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tom Tom didn't work!
4/19/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Tom Tom didnt work at all. My phone could find the sattelite, but the tom tom via couldn't. I have already returned it to Wal Mart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Life time updates are great
11/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Only used it twice but it appears to perform as advertised.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-