Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 192 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

192 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

192 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
26
1-20 of 186 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
Excellent GPS!
1/5/2014

Customer review by ruler52

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by ruler52
by ruler52

I've had this GPS about one month and have used it nearly everyday. My old GPS was nearly 6 years old and the maps were getting old. I love the features of this TomTom, you can change voices and change cars. Being able to tell the GPS the address you want instead of having to punch it in is so convenient. So far it's been dead on accurate and got me into the right lane, kept me informed of the speed limits. I never owned a TomTom but it was very easy to learn with many of the inputs very similar to those on my iPhone.

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ruler52
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very realiable GPS
6/9/2014

Customer review by fhrodrig

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by fhrodrig
by fhrodrig

Bought a tom tom 50s Go. Didn't like it and returned it. That like many of today's gps's receive traffic updates via your smartphone which then transmits it to your gps. Therefore, if you accidentally forget your smartphone or if it runs out of power, you're screwed because it can't receive the traffic updates. I've had this model in the past. What i like is that the charger is also the RDS (traffic) receiver. Therefore, whether you have or don't have your smartphone with you, you'd still be able to get your traffic updates. For me, that one less thing for me to stress and worry about. Also, this model allows you to give it certain voice commands, turn by turn navigation, blue tooth connectivity to your smartphone and a micro SD slot so you can download huge maps; but most importantly, it has lifetime map updates, which you get about every three months. With what tom tom charges for a map update, in a year the lifetime maps would have paid for this gps in itself. Get it, it's a no brainer!

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fhrodrig
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lifetime Update only lasted 3 years
11/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 11/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Tomtom is a good machine, but I got the lifetime update for the life of the machine and in 3 years was told to pay $89.00 a year to keep updating maps. Don't bother getting this option.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nightmare
1/26/2012

Customer review by ALittle1234

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ALittle1234
by ALittle1234

We bought this unit recently and it was a nightmare! For one, it took very long for the device to locate us everytime we turned it on. I used a Garmin before. The Garmin unit gave me problems too once in a while, but it was only when the weather was cloudy, or when I was driving through many high rise buildings. The Garmin unit also quickly asked me Are You Indoors? This TomTom unit, on the other hand, took its time to turn on EVERY TIME - 5 minutes at least or even 20 minutes on one occasion. I read about not being able to update maps on this device before we bought this unit. We got lucky and were able to update maps - IT ONLY TOOK US HOURS AND NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS WITH CUSTOMER SUPPORT!! Then, we started a short trip with the newly updated maps and we were directed to a highway/bridge, which was closed. After blaming my wife for not knowing how to drive and being blamed for not being able to read GPS maps, we found out on Google that the bridge had been closed for months. Google map was able to get us out of the area, and this GPS unit kept trying to take us back to the closed route. We returned the unit right after we got back from that trip.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALittle1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good GPS, Bad bluetooth phone device
2/18/2014

Customer review by Skizzix

3.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Skizzix
by Skizzix

I purchased the 1535TM because I had several previous Tomtoms, and was generally happy with them. I selected this particular model, however, because my car didn't have a hands free bluetooth phone interface, and the 1535 would fill in this gap. The problem is the small and terrible speaker. I always thought the sound quality of my other Tomtom GPS was quite good - loud and clear. The 1.5 inch raised circle on the back with "holes" in it is a decoy on this model. The actual speaker is only a small part of this, about the size of a nickel, maybe a bit larger. This unit has poor sound that makes phone conversations difficult. I've had people I was talking with tell me the quality wasn't great on their end, also. It's fine for normal GPS, but if you buy this for the bluetooth phone connection, expect to be disappointed. If all you want is a good GPS, you can find cheaper models without the bluetooth.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skizzix
North Central, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
This device failed to upload new maps.
5/7/2014

Customer review by NavyVietnamVet1972

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by NavyVietnamVet1972
by NavyVietnamVet1972

I purchased a TomTom Via 1530 / 1535 with the lifetime map upgrade about three years ago. I was happy with the unit until I recently tried to use the map upgrade. After downloading all of the upgrades, my devise now has a message “Something Has Gone Wrong” and “No Maps Found”. I have been trying all the online instructions for 5 days now & contacted 3 TomTom support representatives by phone three times now. They have all told me the same thing to try & all have failed to get maps on my device. The device is now useless & they have not offered to look at it or repair it. It has been very frustrating, especially since my device was working before I tried to update. I will now be forced to purchase a new GPS unit and it will not be manufactured by TomTom.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NavyVietnamVet1972
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought Tom Tom for my son in Texas and he loves it
6/26/2012

Customer review by Pepper55

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Pepper55
by Pepper55

Bought Tom Tom for my son in Texas and he loves it! It has lifetime updates plus bluetooth, voice recognition capability to ensure that his hands are free and he can focus on driving not worrying about his cell and missing an important call.

Was this review helpful? (32) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepper55
Duluth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It WOULD be great.. if it worked
3/8/2014

Customer review by EmperorWatcher

2.0 stars 3/8/2014 by EmperorWatcher
by EmperorWatcher

It looks great on paper, but then Look Out! I keep trying to believe in TomTom. I owned 2 different units in the past, that I really enjoyed, but after one of them was stolen and I bought a new model, I discovered that their quality has really gone into the toilet. I had 3 defective units sent to me after it failed. Then they upgraded me to a GPS with more features. The VIA 1535. Six months later.. you guessed it.. touch the screen and different characters show up than what you expected. The bluetooth worked fine with my phone, and I liked the traffic feature. On the other hand,voice recognition is VERY inconsistent. Free map upgrades are great, but you have to battle their website to get them. I don't know how they have succeeded at all, and expect the company cannot last with products this bad. Then came the final insult. They insist that if I want to get a replacement, I have to pay to ship it back to them. They would have sent a pre-paid label, but it has been JUST over 6 months since I got it and they won't pay after 6 months. You have LOTS of other choices. Avoid TomTom.. Seriously.. It isn't worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmperorWatcher
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great unit and easy to use. Great value for the pr
11/9/2013

Customer review by Rj61645

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by Rj61645
by Rj61645

Found unit ready to go right from the box. First thing was to hookup to computer and down load the lastest maps and updates. No problem updating unit. Used unit first time two days later and got me to two locations with no problems and no wrong turns. Love unit good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rj61645
Groveland, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware - Does not perform as stated!
10/29/2011

Customer review by OldBman

1.0 stars 10/29/2011 by OldBman
by OldBman

Most of the functionality STILL is not available, such as camera, updates, backup just to name a few. They put out the unit before the software platform was ready. News Flash - The software platform STILL is not ready. On the positive side, once they get the software platform fully functional (if/when) it should be great. For general GPS use it is great. But, for the functionality you PAY for it is POOR. Maybe by mid 2012 some of the functionality may work. Had I not got this as a gift, I would have immediately returned it. For the price and functionality, I went down and purchased a T/T 550 WTE with Maps and it works Fantastic, but it works on the T/T Home software platform. T/T from what I heard will be migrating the software platform to T/T.com one day.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldBman
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best ive had
10/24/2013

Customer review by blankey

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by blankey
by blankey

so ease to use just say where to go and it takes you there

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blankey
bella vist AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The TomTom is an excellent GPS.
11/5/2013

Customer review by gjd19498

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by gjd19498
by gjd19498

Very good value. I especially like being able to speak an address to navigate to and the life time maps.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gjd19498
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is amazing!
6/15/2012

Customer review by tactman8

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by tactman8
by tactman8

I bought this for my husband as his old one gave up. It has voice command and the graphics are great! No issues at all!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tactman8
olney il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The new TomTom rocks !
8/7/2012

Customer review by KotahMoon

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by KotahMoon
by KotahMoon

The new TomTom rocks ! I'm on the road every week traveling to art shows and it even knows all of my short cuts the old tomtom never picked up. The hands free phone is the best thing I've had since I had a vehicle with onstar.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KotahMoon
evansville,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
9/27/2014

Customer review by glowill

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by glowill
by glowill

Got the tomtom. Found it easy to use and very accurate. Gets you to destination in shortest time possible. Highly recommend this product. Walmart shipping fast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glowill
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Life time updates are great
11/5/2013

Customer review by SmokeyFish

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by SmokeyFish
by SmokeyFish

Only used it twice but it appears to perform as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokeyFish
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well but disappointed with the coverage.
10/26/2014

Customer review by ggh15

4.0 stars 10/26/2014 by ggh15
by ggh15

This is the 2nd Tom Tom we've owned and expected it to have the same capabilities as the first one but are disappointed because the ad says it covers the United States, Canada and Mexico, as did our first one, only to find out when we went online to register it and talking with a Tom Tom rep. that we needed to purchase a memory card to get all of three countries and when I asked why was told the maps have gotten so much more detailed that there isn't enough space on the units to contain everything...thus the need for a memory card. I mentioned to the rep. that this should be mentioned in the advertising, which she agreed should, as we probably would not have purchased this model if we had known. We purchased a memory card from our local Walmart, installed it and found it will only give us certain parts of the US and Canada, or the whole US without Canada, with the option to pick our what areas we wish to have. We want all of the US and at least the Eastern part of Canada but that isn't an option. The unit works beautifully locally and on the short trip my husband used it on but we are still disappointed that it isn't what we thought we were getting.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggh15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what it's advertised as
10/20/2011

Customer review by retiredsalt

1.0 stars 10/20/2011 by retiredsalt
by retiredsalt

Wife got me this TomTom to replace an older Garmin unit. Switching from day light mode to night mode takes up to two minutes (rather distracting). Tried it out going to work (been driving there for 20+ years), it missed the address by 1/4 mile, and correction is too hard to get to. There is no option for detouring at my choice. I would send this back except I don't want to hurt my wife's feelings, I'll just have to continue to explore the unit until I'm comfortable with it, right now I would not trust this on a long trip or to find my way to a location I've never been to near home (it can find my home OK). In a nutshell I much prefer another brand (anything but TomTom).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredsalt
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tom Tom didn't work!
4/19/2012

Customer review by Margaret472003

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Margaret472003
by Margaret472003

The Tom Tom didnt work at all. My phone could find the sattelite, but the tom tom via couldn't. I have already returned it to Wal Mart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Margaret472003
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
very nice unit for the $$
1/17/2014

Customer review by localdriver55

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by localdriver55
by localdriver55

I am a truck driver and use this product every day. I like the blue tooth capabilities. So far no problems

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
localdriver55
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews