Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
88
4 stars
49
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 stars
26
1-20 of 190 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews
The Traffic feature has saved me fron major delays
6/28/2012

Customer review by Kakewalk

4.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Kakewalk
by Kakewalk

Travelling from Bethesda, MD to Kent Island, the 1535TM suddenly informed us that an alternate route could save 10 minutes and did I accept the changed route. I eventually followed the changed route, but only at the last chance to exit the Beltway. Turned out that a major accident 8 miles away caused the 8 mile stoppage. This the 2nd time the Traffic feature has saved us from huge backups. We now know to accept the change and FOLLOW it. The voice control is terrific. In 3 months, all voiced addresses were correct, except for one time.. The initial setup and subsequent map updates were flawless. I do have a 30meg internet conection, so the major updates were less than 30 minutes for the 2.8 gig revised maps to download and install. So far, I am quite satisfied; my wife loves being to dive into Favorites to find stores and restaurants. BTW, in March I looked for a local restaurant just opened 3 weeks earlier. It was already in Favorites. Very impressive.

Kakewalk
Chevy Chase, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I travel quite a bit, work and otherwise.
2/6/2013

Customer review by Austin

3.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Austin
by Austin

Love tomtom for the map corrections, address corrections, etc. A lot of lag with unit while in use;live services seriously lacking, gas prices - better off with smart phone apps, weather - better off with almost any other app, traffic - not worth it, last unit with traffic cord was better. Over all extremely disappointed, you might as well be using a map, most of the time; you are at, close to, passing a turn, or to close to the next one, for the unit to keep up. The cheaper the model, as well fewer services, the better it performed. The last thing you need with a GPS, is to get into any traffic, and have it lagging at least a tenth of a mile behind where you are currently at, unless you are stopped. Over all, I was much more impressed with the performance with the tomtom one, the first unit I purchased. Activating the LIVE services supposed to be included..... could have had my teeth pulled easier, for a third of the price something to consider.

Austin
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1535TM
9/26/2012

Customer review by johnk860

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by johnk860
by johnk860

My XL failed a couple of weeks ago, so I bought a Via while on vacation and used it a lot. Traffic and maps are good as usual. Better by lots than a Garmin I also own. Voice command has yet to be used, so I have nothing to say about that. Downside: Can't update safety cameras. That only works with TomTom home, which doesn't work with Via. There's a note on the website that says to go to a "subscription" - the link is broken. So I have no "free" safety camera updates. All updates are through the website (which opens a second internet connection without warning, caused some consternation and a little panic within my security apps). There is also a popup everytime I log onto my pc telling me an update is available and to plug my device into my PC. Turns out it happens everytime they update map corrections, which is often. So that's an irritant as well. Like the device, don't care for the support. I want my TomTom Home back.

johnk860
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great GPS, but online updates are very difficult
2/19/2013

Customer review by BostonRob

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by BostonRob
by BostonRob

I bought the 1535TM unit for a couple of reasons... large screen, spoke street names, real-time traffic reports, and lifetime map updates. I like that the unit offers quick routes due to traffic delays. The unit works great. However, there were some disappointments... the online map update feature works terrible. It took months for the software to detect my device. I've only been able to update the maps twice in two years. Both times, the update software totally erased my maps from the unit and made the unit inoperable until new maps were loaded. The map loading process repeatedly crashes (loses communication with the GPS unit). I litterallly had to sit at my computer and restart the process over-and-over again for almost 10 hours before I finally got the new maps and software to load. Also, my old TomTom allowed me to install numerous 3rd party points of interest from the TomTom website (i.e. all the Starbucks locations in the US). This unit has no such ability. However, I was able to locate other websites that allowed me to upload new POI files with a little work.

BostonRob
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best directions ever
9/19/2012

Customer review by annecrs

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by annecrs
by annecrs

We just came back from a trip to Orlando Fla. But the different city locations would have been very difficult to find with out our Tom tom VIA 1535, It never got us lost, got us to the locations on time and never had a wrong location. When we turned into a gas station that was not on our plan the Tom tom got us right back on the course after leaving this location. The warnings for stop lights with cameras was a unique feature. Also the reminders to take a break along the way was great as we sometimes do not realize just how long we had been driving and really needed a break. We only had difficulty with one aspect and that was when we went off the highway or expressway and the system wanted to keep getting us back to the highway. We need to study the manual more to see how to turn off this highway feature when we go to non highway roads.

annecrs
Naples,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Solid Navigator
1/29/2012

Customer review by Forest

4.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Forest
by Forest

This GPS looks good and works well. The design is more pleasant than most and the screen size helps. The basic on-screen usability is not bad. Lane guidance is a really neat edition and it allows me to miss fewer exits. My main gripe is that the SD slot doesn't yet work and that it only comes with 4GB of internal memory - nowhere is this written and now I own a useless 16GB micro SD card. The internal memory is way too little to hold the many maps I'd like to load when traveling all over the world. Also, the interface between the TomTom website and the device is super slow - not just in China. Furthermore, it'll only download a 3+ GB map while the device is connected? I also somehow have been linked to the German website of TomTom and now can only make purchases in China, the result of this is that I have to buy stuff in Euro and I can't get the special voices (Starwars, Simpsons) in English, only in German. Why would I ever want that? So, I can recommend this over using the awful GPS units that car rental places handout, and as long as you just use the features built-in it's great. But I wish it'd be easier to expand its capabilities.

Forest
Beijing, China
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent GPS
8/1/2011

Customer review by MacNic

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by MacNic
by MacNic

We recently completed an 8000 mile trip from So. Calif to Bar Harbor Maine via Niagrara Falls, Concord, Bangor, Portland, NYC, Cape Code, Valley Forge, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Asheville, Nashville, Memphis, Ok City, Amarillo, Gallup, Flagstaff. The 1535T was invaluable. It detected traffic delays and rerouted us unfailingly. Without it we could not have navigated thru NYC across the George Washington Bridge. Only a couple of route misdirections and/or missing major POIs. Have owned and used many (7) older TomToms and other brand (G) top end GPSs and I rank the 1535 in the top 2. Only cons were: 1) the voice recognition which failed to recognize our spoken words about 75% of the time, 2) the slowness to react to the touch screen inputs, 3) internet browser based updates with no device backup/recover capability and 4) no European Maps.

MacNic
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice unit, but refinements needed
9/1/2011

Customer review by Troy

3.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Troy
by Troy

I purchased this unit approximately 7 months ago and I still like the slim profile of the unit and the increased accuracy. The advanced street views that are displayed when turning or exiting a road are very helpful. The options that are provided on what you want TomTom to announce was a great addition that I really enjoy. CONS: The suction cup will not stay on your window when hot or cold. So plan on buying the dash bean bag or you will get frustrated. The GPS has been taking longer and longer to connect. 2-4 minutes. The older TomTom's aloud you to save your current location as a favorite without knowing an address or anything else. Simply view the map with your location and add as a fav. I have tried till I'm blue in the face and I have not found this simple feature.

Troy
Annapolis, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good navi, Poor bluetooth
12/5/2011

Customer review by Jimmy

4.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Jimmy
by Jimmy

I bought this unit because I already had the Tomtom app for my iPhone and I love the way it works. The wife just got a new vehicle and she needed nav as her old vehicle had it built in and now she has found it very hard to get around without using one. She needed the bluetooth capability so we picked the 1535TM because of the lifetime traffic and map updates... so far, as a navigation unit has worked well... but during the voice activation process, the unit has locked up several times... and the bluetooth went completely down for an entire day, as well as all the sounds.. even after a reset. The unit works now, but it's going back for an exchange tonight to get a replacement. (for the same unit) Once we get a fully working unit I'm sure we'll be very happy with it...

Jimmy
Paramount, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
not worth the money
8/12/2016

Customer review by xiaonv

3.0 stars 8/12/2016 by xiaonv
by xiaonv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The voice command is no good. disappointed . The Interface is not as user-friendly as my old garmin.

xiaonv
missisauga ,ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The TomTom via 1535 tm model
1/28/2012

Customer review by bruce613

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by bruce613
by bruce613

This model is ecelent i love it and i dont have to wory about getting lost since it always knows where it is at. i also like the lifetime updates and how easy it is to use. the hands free bluetooth is good to use and it knows the numbers in your phone and the numbers of the places around you. i like how you can talk to it and you dont need to tuch it to do anything if you dont want to. i also like how you can add favorites too. the live traffic update thing is great because it tells you where the delays are in your route and explanes what happened. this tom tom also displays the names of the streets and pronoces them to so u dont have to look at the gps. over all this gps is one of the best things i have and im glad i got it.

bruce613
Hebron, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Almost perfect GPS system
8/30/2011

Customer review by Michael

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Michael
by Michael

My last Tom Tom was stolen after a few months....from my garage! I replaced it with another one and I got the VIA 1535. The voice command is great and performs many functions faster than if I did them manually. I would like it if I could 'train' it with my own commands but I'm happy with what I've got. PRO: Displays when it lost a GPS signal and tracks the time since last signal. Quickly moves to altered route if you do not take the recommended route. (My Garmin would bug me forever to turn around) Seems a bit of a cludge for adding a favorite. It should be a simple Add To Favorites when a new location is setup and accessed. Con: a little slow acquiring GPS signals but overall it is better than my last Tom Tom.

Michael
Cave Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
6/25/2016

Customer review by Zarcan

4.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Zarcan
by Zarcan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wall mart service is excellent in terms of cost and quick delivery. GPS navigation, sound and Bluetooth is very good. Voice communication is very poor

Zarcan
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Navigation Device
1/2/2013

Customer review by BobbyB

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by BobbyB
by BobbyB

Love this thing, some issues i've had include not being able to put in an address for a destination on the fly without planning a route. Using the lifetime traffic option is great for getting to work but still doesnt recognize a faster route i have to get to work if traffic is bad on usual route? Gives me alternate fastest routes to use, but as soon as i start on my known alternate route it shows arrival time as being faster than their alternates? Also love new update that still shows route and lane guidance in split screen. Tom Tom has saved me so much time especially in snow storms, no more sitting on freeway at a stand still.

BobbyB
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Advantages???
7/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have a 330 and love it. I have no problems with TomTom in general, but I thought I was "upgrading" with the 1535; it actually has one less feature than the 330. First, Bluetooth is advertised with this model, but it won't pair with my phone (as customer service, after the fact, pointed out). This was not mentioned in the ads. Second, this may sound insignificant, but to me, a directionally challenged person, it is not. There is not a real-time compass needle indicating my direction of travel. How much more memory, money, technology, whatever would it have taken to include this? I'm sending it back and using the older version.

An anonymous customer
Memphis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Lost In The Woods
12/8/2012

Customer review by hkiger

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by hkiger
by hkiger

Yesterday, I had gone into a remote East Texas oil field to find a well. The location was really in the sticks. After about 30 minutes of not being able to find my way back out, I turned to my Tom-Tom. I really didn't expect it to lead me out because these roads were narrow/dirt/gravel and went every direction. To my relief my current location in the middle of nowhere was identified and the path to civilization was accurate and so easy to follow. I should also mention that I was nearly out of gas! I had a cell phone but no way could I have told anyone where I was. Thanks Tom-Tom. You made a true believer out of me. HK

hkiger
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
First TomTom, Love It
6/15/2011

Customer review by Jeepr

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Jeepr
by Jeepr

I have the Via 1535TM, replaced a 5 year old Nextar, so the TomTom is obviously an improvement. My only issue so far has been accuracy of POI locations. My home address is about a block off and I found a hotel POI that was off by almost a quarter mile. However, with the ability to report errors / changes, that should address the issue. As previously noted by other reviewers, the inability to fully use certain features and downloads is frustrating. One example is the unit is suppose to provide weather data for current location or destination, but so far no information is provided when accessed.

Jeepr
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really slow to get satellite reception
4/7/2012

Customer review by MikeG

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by MikeG
by MikeG

I have owned both Garmin and TomTom - my wife really likes the Garmin Nuvi in her car, and I have to admit it is quite nice. But I really like the way the TomTom works - I just upgraded from my TomTome One (new edition) to this Via 1335TM (not that much more expensive than trying to get a new map...). Wow, it was awesome out of the box, I really like the TomTom operation, layout and this new model was FANTASTIC!! Until my first update that is... I updated with latest map/etc. and it updated the software. Now it takes FOREVER to locate satellites. I got an email from TomTom saying there was an issue with software and it was fixed so I should update - so I connected and updated the other day. Certainly not a real fix, it is still so slow. I turn on the old ONE and this one, side by side, and the old ONE gets satellite reception much faster - also compared side-by-side with the wife's Garmin...The Garmin won hands-down to both TomTom models. Come on TomTom, GET THIS FIXED. I want to love this Via, but might have to jump ship - got a new Gamin for the wife and I might have to become a convert.... Oh - and I have to use myTomTom now, the TomTom Home software from my ONE doesn't work.... Why does this new software have less features than the old? This 'new version' seems like junk compared to the old. Once again TomTom - get your stuff together or say goodbye to your customer base (at least me anyway).

MikeG
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
12/6/2012

Customer review by Tazzie

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Tazzie
by Tazzie

I received a nextel GPS for a present about three years or so. This product was a joke. I could never find any updated maps for it and the directions were never really correct and it always took me the long way to my destination..... I will never purchase a Nextel GPS again that is if they make them. I do enjoy using my Tom Tom. It is user friendly and precise. I am geographically challenged and using my Tom Tom makes driving trips worry free and I always make it to my destination on time. Tom Tom is one of the best GPS devices on the market and the prices are reasonable.

Tazzie
St.Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
unfriendly survey
7/27/2012

Customer review by pete51

2.0 stars 7/27/2012 by pete51
by pete51

You have a user survey which requires all items to be answered whether they apply or not preventing one from continuing without putting in a non answer. UUUGGGG. one SECTION asks to rate from high to low with out a way to view the list and complete the request..So no completed survey. Good way to not get surveys. I am a new user and the voice function is not friendly and able to locate local points of intererst. Would be nice to use this function ??? Maybe after a time it will recognise my voice and trty to go where I request, not some point across the US ??

pete51
Tacoma, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1-20 of 190 reviews