Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

112 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

112 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 91 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Killer Audio/Vidio Control System
7/26/2011

Customer review by tncowboy

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by tncowboy
by tncowboy

Sony put a high end system in the STR-DH 810 And Wal-Mart is selling it at a low end price! It has every type of cable hook up you could imagine. Of course HDMI all the way is best. But for older model units such as DVD,CD and so on with no HDMI, you have component,optical,coax,RCA and so on. You can hook up every thing you have. It has every decoder Digta, Digital HD,DTX,DTX HD Several pro logic and the list goes on. TV has 5.1 but you can even make them sound like 7.1 using the enhancement sound fields which turns on all 7 speakers and sub. Sony exceeded all I would expect in this unit and Wal-Mart exceeded in lowering the price. If your looking for a high end system at an affordable price this is the one. Movie theaters can't even do any better and most won't do as awsome in sound and vidio. I would recommend to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tncowboy
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/3/2011

Customer review by hantak1968

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by hantak1968
by hantak1968

I could have paid alot more $$ for the capabilities, abilities, and the versitality that tis receiver offers. A great piece.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hantak1968
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/2/2011

Customer review by chuvic75

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by chuvic75
by chuvic75

With this receiver, the possibilieties of enjoying different components attached to it is limitless. Add the good looks and and the value, and I am a happy guy.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuvic75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pleasantly surprised by price pt. and quality
7/6/2011

Customer review by Davalan1993

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Davalan1993
by Davalan1993

I hooked it up the quality of the amplifier is wonderful and I like the HDMI only set up.It makes it quite easy.I think for the price I bought it for $200, it was a steal of a deal.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Davalan1993
Canton,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/3/2011

Customer review by Just1customer

4.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Just1customer
by Just1customer

I can't understand the criticism of this a/v receiver by audiojunkies. Quite frankly if you're in the market for a high power receiver with full capabilites then Sony wouldn't be your first bet...brands of top units for Marantz, Yamaha and Pioneer come to mind. So why critique this receiver's output if it does not meet one's highest standards? This receiver is a good home theater unit with respectable sound and some of the many popular features wanted by the consumer...priced reasonably well. If you are of a "sound" mind then this receiver will do well for the rest of the 99 percent or more of the listening population. If you demand the most of your speakers, receiver, and audio/video equipment then buy over-the-top as you will.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Just1customer
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/6/2011

Customer review by seniorfig49

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by seniorfig49
by seniorfig49

This is a great product for the price. The unit has features not available on higher priced units. The hookup was a little challenging but issues were addressed in the instuction booklet. I am pleased with the sound quality and the features that this unit offers. My old unit was a 6.1 panasonic but the sony adapted to accomodate my speakers as well as my DVD player, DVD recorder and VCR.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seniorfig49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not for real audio lovers
10/10/2011

Customer review by ac7od

2.0 stars 10/10/2011 by ac7od
by ac7od

I purchased this device to replace an old great amp that finally fried. During the summer I had built some amazing speakers that are audiophile quality. I added to my 56-inch plasma tv in order to create a nice home theatre system. I bought the Sony because I was hoping the name would mean something. I hooked up that device and was pleased to find all the nice hdmi hookups. The remote is way too big with too many buttons, and it would only run the amp and the tv, but not my Samung Blu-ray player. The problem I had with this amp was it's genuine lack of power. Even though it says 110 watts, in reality the class ab poor quality chip only puts out a realistic 30-35 watts, nowhere near enough to drive my 12-inch woofers. The sound was horrible with no bass at all, and a real lack in the midrange. Also, there is no EQ and you can only make some minor changes to the treble and bass. I don't mean to talk badly of a device, but if you want something that rocks and makes your sound system sound realistic and awesome, then this amp is not for you. If you want something to run the cheap little surround sound speakers, then buy it, but if you want power, then stay far away because you will take it back. I have since purchased a real audiophile-grade class d amp with clean 350-watts per channel that makes the speakers I have come alive.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ac7od
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/28/2011

Customer review by KC19571

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by KC19571
by KC19571

After weeks of research I bought the Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver and was skeptical of bad reviews I found on other sites (TigerDirect, Amazon, etc...), but I totally disagree with the negative comments that were written on those sites. I was up and running within 2hrs of getting it home. I found it to be everything everything I'd hoped it would be... and more! I think the owner's manual is concise and very easy to understand, at least for me it was. I would recommend this av receiver in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KC19571
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent options for the price
12/19/2011

Customer review by DIYTechie

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by DIYTechie
by DIYTechie

Bought this to replace an old all-in-one shelf system. Using it with a 5.1 Yamaha surround set. The good: The auto-calibration feature is VERY helpful to set up room levels The input options are excellent for everything from an old turntable to a top of the line Bluray player 4 HDMI inputs is more than enough for most entertainment systems 3D passthrough IS possible with certain models. Check Sony support for more details. The bad: This unit has lots of options. It might seem too complicated for some. If you're looking for something streamlined, find an all-in-one shelf system. If you're looking for a cost-effective, versatile powerhouse for your entertainment system, this is the option for you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIYTechie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
price and Quality
9/5/2011

Customer review by walmarter55

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by walmarter55
by walmarter55

This is one great receiver and for the price you can't beat it. The HDMI inputs and the output HDMI to the TV really simplifies everything. The pass thru works great and it handles my 3D from my satelite(Direct TV)and my sony 3D blue ray player. The sound is fantastic,just what home theater should sound like, it brings the movie to life. The reviews I've read before I purchased this A/VR helped me to decide on the Sony Sony STR-DH810. I'm glad I read the reviews and you won't be disappointed if you purchase this A/VR

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarter55
Duncansville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/2/2011

Customer review by pani212

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by pani212
by pani212

the best example of superb audio unit engineering and workmanship.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pani212
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent reciever, but set-up can be confusing
8/28/2011

Customer review by Snarcasm

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Snarcasm
by Snarcasm

This is the first A/V Receiver I bought for a surround sound system. I bought this A/V Receiver while it was on sale for $200, which was half of its retail value. This receiver produces excellent sound from my speakers, which are a mix of Panasonics and Sonys. Hooking up the speakers and placing them is quite easy, due to clearly labeled inputs and the auto-calibration microphone which comes with the system. I also like that this system has many options for speaker placement, e.g. you can have front high speakers or a back center speaker, or you can bi-amp your front speakers etc. depending on the number and size/type of speakers you have available. This receiver has plenty of inputs and input options for all your audio needs; cd players, video-games, blue-ray players etc. Issues: --Hooking up video-game systems or other devices with component cables can be confusing, due to the fact that you have to program where the audio and video inputs are coming from before playing. I also think that this receiver's "up-conversion" process only allows certain resolution inputs to be accepted through component cables (480i vs. 480p etc.). In the manual, it suggests connecting video-game systems via composite cables only. This is an easy fix though, just use an HDMI cable (you can get them cheap from walmart.com!!) Xbox 360 and PS3 both have HDMI outputs, I'm not sure about the Wii though... --For a novice, going through the menus and reading the display can be confusing at first (if you didn't understand what I meant by "bi-amp" in the first paragraph, you're a novice; it's OK, I was too...Google It). Also, the manual is 100 pages long and you really REALLY should read it all before hooking stuff up. --I have a Sony Bravia TV, and from time to time the remote controllers can be confusing as they will both control the other device to certain points. I'm sure there's a way to make one controller do it all... but I don't really feel like reading about it in the manual now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snarcasm
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for basic AV Receiver
10/11/2011

Customer review by Sky2222

3.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Sky2222
by Sky2222

Worked as advertised. The manual’s graphics are fairly easy to follow. The manual’s text instructions are lengthy and require some degree of electronic knowledge to understand what you are being told. I’ll temper that by saying that the receiver has a lot of features to explain. The sound mode is a bit limited. My previous receiver allowed for six different modes, but this one only has three. The screw type speaker connections are difficult to use. It would be best to put banana plugs on the speaker wires to make connections simple. There are four HDMI plugs for components and one for the TV. But there is an irritating issue with the one for the TV. If you use it, the TV speakers are muted which means that you always have to have the receiver on. FM receiver section a bit weak. I could only pick up 4 FM stations. It might be the cheap wire antenna provided. Remote is 10 inches long and has enough buttons to control the space shuttle. It is designed to control all of the components. Even if I were successful in setting that up, the learning curve to use it isn’t worth the effort. I’m not that much into having high performance surround system so this receiver works well for me and it is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sky2222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/7/2012

Customer review by pmccol1945

3.0 stars 1/7/2012 by pmccol1945
by pmccol1945

the unit does not make it easy to get the other equipment hooked up so all can be put to use. Audio from HDMI is not put out to all other outputs. The unit does not hold memory of the settings, I have to keep going in and reset output to tv and amp, it change back to just the amp each time it is turned off. Will not play the audio from tv when on Netflix by way of HDMI cable. I am the guy people call to set up their units, so I have done a few, but I spent over three hour the first day and a couple more the next day getting this to do most of what I wanted. I have not tried to record to my dvd recorder yet, I had to quit for a while just setting it up to watch every thing, ( cable box - blue ray - dvd recorder - and a cheap dvd player that plays anything I put in it ) I will try recording maybe next week. I would not recommend this to most people because of how hard it is to get all equipment to work right, and it don't remember settings

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmccol1945
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An excellent AV receiver by Sony
12/22/2011

Customer review by Russfta

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Russfta
by Russfta

One of the features which caught my eye was the 4 HDMI inputs. I have a Roku internet receiver with HD output thru an HDMI port. Works great. The product manual is over 100 pages which covers just about every situation you may have in connecting this into your system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Russfta
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of features. Great sound. Plenty of power.
10/12/2011

Customer review by Cwood15

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Cwood15
by Cwood15

I have been very pleased with this receiver. It has lots of power, even when pushing Pioneer 6 ohm speakers. Set up took less than an hour using an HDMI only system. It has every feature that I need and I really don't have any negative comments.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cwood15
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/30/2011

Customer review by nasch63

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by nasch63
by nasch63

One of the most complete receivers on the market. Its many features makes it fun work with.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nasch63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/30/2011

Customer review by rilew44

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by rilew44
by rilew44

This receiver is somewhat unique with the features it offers. I love its flexibility. Plenty of HDMI hook-ups. I am very happy and impressed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rilew44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unbelievable Value!
1/2/2012

Customer review by JeffMN

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by JeffMN
by JeffMN

I looked everywhere for a 3D receiver that had decent specs for a reasonable price. I could not believe the price walmart had on this receiver. 110watts per channel!? Assignable HDMI? ARC?!The sound is incredible as is the appearance. The setup was brutal on this, however, after reading many (and I do mean many) reviews I found that they are all very difficult to set up, every brand and price range. So, I did not dock stars for this. Sony was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with when I called for some help. Honestly, I don't know why you would pay more. I have a 3d tv, cable box and Blu-Ray hooked up to it. Buy with confidence, I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffMN
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good deal!
9/29/2011

Customer review by 9eek9irl

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by 9eek9irl
by 9eek9irl

I bought this to replace an RCA receiver that I had for about ten years. The Sony performs great. The sound from it is incredible. My TV is HD but not HDMI. The receiver up converts through the component cable and I get a much better picture. All in all, a great product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9eek9irl
Space Coast, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews