Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 127 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Good Performance, Great Value, Fine Tech. Support.
7/6/2011

Customer review by Review4Real

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Review4Real
by Review4Real

Purchased for writing assignments, internet browsing and burning CDs/DVDs, but it can also run Flash-based games just fine, as well as stream Netflix's HD selection. Does more than I need it to do. For the price, as of June 2011, you'd be hard-pressed to put a computer together with the same specs and features as this one (3GB DDR3 1333Mhz, 1TB storage, Windows 7, keyboard, speakers, warranty and tech. support). According to many sites, it is listed as "upgradeable to 4GB" of system memory. However, if you call eMachines's Wal-Mart product support line and provide your computer's S/N ID, they will kindly tell you it's upgradeable to 8GB of DDR3. Keep in mind that this computer only has a 220W power supply in its slim design. NOTE: There were 2 DDR3 sticks in my eMachine EL1358G-51w and both are Kingston brand memory. The model number for first accessible one is "ACR128X64D3U1333C9" (1GB), while the other one is "ACR256X64D3U1333C9" (2GB). The 1GB stick can be easily removed while the 2GB stick may require you to move the DVD drive.

Was this review helpful? (217) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Review4Real
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Perfect for a home office
7/9/2011

Customer review by UsefulReviewsDoCount

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by UsefulReviewsDoCount
by UsefulReviewsDoCount

Bought this for a neighbor to replace an old XP desktop he had been using as a home office machine. This is a very solid built computer (actually surprised me). This is not a machine that a graphic intensive game player would want but for internet, email, music, word processing, document storage, this is plenty of computer. The case is a lot like the HP Slimline in size, so upgrades from the base machine can be done but there is not a lot of room inside to work with. I weighed the cost of upgrading the old computer to run Windows 7 verses purchasing this computer. I could not come close, cost wise, to just buying this new. The price of upgrading to Windows 7 OS alone would have been one third the cost. Then add the cost of the mother board, CPU, memory upgrade, hard drive upgrade and the time I would have spent getting it all to work, this purchase was a logical solution. This is a solid choice as a everyday home office computer. Some times I do make good choices!

Was this review helpful? (134) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsefulReviewsDoCount
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great computer for the money
7/19/2011

Customer review by gggggggggggggggggggggggg

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by gggggggggggggggggggggggg
by gggggggggggggggggggggggg

this computer is every bit as good as my dell (that just died) but i just got it so time will tell. its very well equiped and burns cd's fast.

Was this review helpful? (52) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gggggggggggggggggggggggg
rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/21/2011

Customer review by mckaskle

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by mckaskle
by mckaskle

Great product at a great price. Easy to get running. Lots of extras

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mckaskle
conway, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super Fast and super Value
8/22/2011

Customer review by mvpatshopping

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by mvpatshopping
by mvpatshopping

Love love love it!!! This eMachine was just what I needed, I use it for everything and it's much faster then my Dell (sorry Dell)...it's small and so quiet, if your thinking about getting it I hope this review gives you the push you need!! Great computer and at a great price

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mvpatshopping
Los Angeles,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
VERY satisfied!
8/14/2011

Customer review by happycamper4444

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by happycamper4444
by happycamper4444

This is a very good value and the compact design is a huge plus. I needed a replacement home computer. This item fills the bill with plenty of storage and power. It does come with speakers that don't show in the photo. All you need is a monitor, which I had. I turned the CPU on its side because the CD/DVD door opens vertically and I had a mini DVD fall out of the holder after it went inside?! I managed to get it out and since I don't want that to happen again, I didn't put the tower vertically. I would recommend this for general home needs and entertainment. Packs a lot of power in a neat little package :)

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happycamper4444
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent computer for cost
8/1/2011

Customer review by LRushMO

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by LRushMO
by LRushMO

We purchased this computer after our laptop died, this one specifically because it did NOT have a monitor with it, as we had a nearly new flat screen monitor we used because the laptop screen was too small. Lots of memory, loaded with Windows 7. Loved the smaller profile of the cpu tower. Great value for low cost.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LRushMO
West Plains MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice PC Value
10/14/2011

Customer review by computersavvyshopper

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by computersavvyshopper
by computersavvyshopper

When shopping for a value priced PC you can usually find 3 out of 5 things you are looking for. It might have a smaller hard drive...not this one. It might cut the corner on the processor...not this one. It might have an inferior video card...not this one. It might have 1Gb of RAM which is way too little for Windows 7...this one has 3Gb and the ability to add more if you need it in the future. Somewhere in the small print you might find that it is a refurbished unit...not this one. Brand new, good quality components that are all compatible with one another and the result is a PC that performs as it should.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
computersavvyshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far awesome! :o)
8/9/2011

Customer review by angelhas4

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by angelhas4
by angelhas4

Bought this to replace the JUNK computer my brother in-law sold to my husband, BEST thing we could have done! This computer has been great so far AND such a GOOD value just try to beat these specks for the money! Awesome house computer! :o)

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angelhas4
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Budget Computer
11/24/2011

Customer review by WhoBurnedTheToast

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by WhoBurnedTheToast
by WhoBurnedTheToast

I bought this computer for my wife based on her needs and my experience with a new eMachines ET1831 desktop computer over this past year. She had been using a Sony VAIO RZ-22 with Windows XP for close to 10 years, so performance wise this was like going from a buckboard to a new Mustang. Like my ET1831, it has the Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium software package which is outstanding software for home computer use. A nice addition to the software is MS Office Starter 2010, where you can opt to purchase the full software package after trying it, or use a more basic version of Word and Excel for free which work really well. There doesn't seem to be any provision for MS Works, so trying to open Works documents from my ET1831 computer will not work. I will be looking for a reader program that she will at least be able to open documents I create in Works. The computer is very fast to start-up and will run multiple programs simultaneously. Where my ET1831 uses a Intel Pentium Dual-Core 5400 processor, the new EL-1358G uses an AMD Athlon II X-2 220 Dual-Core processor. I can't really tell any difference when using them for everyday processing, both are very quick to load large files of pictures, music and videos, and allow you to run several programs at the same time. A HUGE difference from Windows XP! This computer is very small for a desktop, and if you have minimal space available, this would work great. It's not much larger than a folded up laptop standing up on its edge. The downside to that is that upgrades are going to be very difficult with the very tight space inside. You'll need to be happy with the average performance of the graphics, which is probably the biggest downside of this unit. BUT, having said that, the graphics is still very good and streaming video is great, we can feed our large screen LED TV using a long VGA cable from this computer and watch TV shows we missed with no trouble - and they look great. If high performance gaming is your main objective, you might want to look for one of eMachines' larger units that can be more easily upgradable. This unit also has a rather compact 220watt power supply which won't drive many of the graphics card upgrades. Several people don't seem to like the vertical loading tray for inserting discs - - personally, I LOVE it and wish all 5 of my computers had it! True, there's not much to secure the disc in the tray, (a small lip along the bottom), but I haven't had one come out yet and I love how easy it is to put them in and take them out. In my opinion, this is a 5-star plus feature. When you get everything hooked up and turn on the computer for the first time, get your 3 back up discs loaded up right away before making any changes on your new computer. You will more than likely need them down the road, as I have used the ones for my other eMachines computer several times now. Which brings me to another really excellent point - - the recovery program that eMachines has included in the software package. In my mind, it sets the standard for all other computers, and relieves a lot of the worry about picking up a really bad virus or accidently dumping a big chunk of your software. This recovery program makes it really easy to get your computer back to its fully operational status. Go to: START - All Programs - eMachines - eMachines Recovery Management, to learn about all of your recovery options. What you WON'T get included in the new computer box are the operating instructions, recovery discs (you will need to make them from 3 blank DVDs right away), and any written info on the software. You will get the basic connection instructions, warranty information, and that's about it. You will need to spend some time digging your operating instructions out of the software package when you start your computer, (click START - eMachines Documentation - User Guide), and there is lots of info about using Windows 7 that comes with your computer or you can the Microsoft Windows website and learn all about the features of the software. WalMart also sells a really nice 19" Acer monitor for $94 that is a good match for this unit if you are looking to upgrade your old monitor, we bought one to replace our old AOC monitor and really love it. The only other upgrade you might want to do real soon is the keyboard, it is pretty basic and very lightweight, wants to move around on its own, so put some non-skid under it or get a nicer heavier one. We bought a Logitech Illuminated keyboard that stays put plus is really easy to see in low light conditions - - highly recommended! The bottom line - - Would we purchase this computer again? YOU BET! It's compact, fast, easy to use, has great software, is VERY quiet and looks great. And one other nice feature lest I forget, that 1,000 GB hard drive - - for less than $300. "Oh Mom, look what Santa brought you!"

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhoBurnedTheToast
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This system is a "steal" for 300 bucks
9/9/2011

Customer review by jopwallguy

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by jopwallguy
by jopwallguy

I've owned this eMachines system for several days now and am absolutely impressed. I returned the first system to Walmart the same day due to a faulty front panel power light and received a replacement without any hassles whatsoever. The second system performs flawlessly. This computer is ideal for everyday web surfing, Email, and applications. It is amazingly fast... light years ahead of my old P4 3.2GHz Hyper-Threading system that finally "bit the dust". Internet video such as Youtube and Netflix streams perfectly. Windows 7 boots and runs very quickly. I shopped around for several days looking for the best system configuration I could find in the $400 or less price category and this system beat them all by a good margin. Plus... signing up for a Walmart credit card and receiving $20 cash back didn't hurt either! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a powerful desktop PC for not much money.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jopwallguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
exceeds my expectations
10/28/2011

Customer review by technojunkie111

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by technojunkie111
by technojunkie111

A year ago I purchased a similar and slightly more powerful emachine computer. Then a few months ago I purchased this computer for my mother to replace an ancient(11 yr old) gateway that god-bless-it never broke down once but could no longer handle modern software and other computer tasks. I gave the computer to my mother figuring she would be constantly asking me questions and calling me to help her to adjust to the new computer. Nothing happened, she was able to transition from XP to 7 easily and naturally and maybe once a week would ask me something minor. Only one of her old programs refused to work and it wasn't one that couldn't inexpensively be replaced with something much better. The computer was purchase to play only puzzle games, music management, some video, scrap-booking, photo management, and general internet use. All of which it excels at. If you are looking to play high end 3d games then I would recommend digging deeper in your wallet and going else ware. But at general computing tasks this and my machine shines. This machine is a mini-tower, and I imagine internal expandability is limited(guessing 1 more hard drive and memory). Note on support: I have heard rumors that Emachines charges for almost everything to do with repairs to this machine. I don't know if this is true, but if I have that problem I would have to keep in mind the cost of similar hardware when purchased from other manufacturers before I complain over much about sharing a repair cost. 5/5 Techno

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
technojunkie111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent AND Economical
10/3/2011

Customer review by AlpharettaCupcakes

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by AlpharettaCupcakes
by AlpharettaCupcakes

This machine replaces my prior tower that crashed on me. I was on a tight budget and really wanted a "nicer" machine. I really was not considering eMachines at all. However, when I saw this machine's price, it got my attention. I then read the specifications: FASSSSt processor (2.8 ghz) HUGE Hard drive ( 1 tb), good memory, and a full use DVD drive. I figured "well, I'll try it." Honestly, my expectations were low. I was shocked at how great this machine is. It is VERY fast, great for videos, great for web surfing, great for games. I still can't believe it. This is absolutely the best functioning computer I have ever bought. If you are searching for a good desktop/tower, I definitely recommend this one, regardless of your budget.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlpharettaCupcakes
Alpharetta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/1/2011

Customer review by Ladycat00

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Ladycat00
by Ladycat00

This is a powerful computer for a low price. I'm almost tempted to get another one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladycat00
North central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Is really performing well
7/28/2011

Customer review by Marnu

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Marnu
by Marnu

This is finally a computer for my home that works well and does everything I want. I must admit Windows 7 is a bit of a put off, buit I am getting there.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marnu
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect for school
8/25/2011

Customer review by CHEWBEAR

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by CHEWBEAR
by CHEWBEAR

Very happy with the e Machine Black EL1358G-51w Desktop PC. Perfect for my Daughter going to collage. A mini desktop computer with all the power and performance needed for academic study. Excellent Machine at a Great Price!!! Thank you walmart

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHEWBEAR
Lompoc CA 93436
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Cheap Computer
9/3/2011

Customer review by lawyerman

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by lawyerman
by lawyerman

Ive had this computer for 3 weeks now and it seems ok to me. I just use it for email and music so its perfect with the 1tb hard drive. It burns cds fast and it runs smooth. I upgraded the memory to 4 gb, the 1 gb stick is accessable to remove but the 2 gb stick is underneath the dvd drive and u cant get to it w/out moving the drive. Its plenty fast, I just a had stick of 2gb doing nothing from another comp so I used it. So far so good, a perfect comp for basic computing, I dont game so I couldnt tell u about that. For its price its a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lawyerman
Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Little Desktop
8/18/2011

Customer review by Hankf1971

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Hankf1971
by Hankf1971

The computer is faster than expected. Did not like the "feel" of the keyboard so I used my old keyboard. Love the games that came with it, but many are limited play unless you pay or purchase. After looking at some of these. I opted no to play. I did not want to get involved and then be forced to purchase. Does exactly what I need it to do. It is a backup to may main computer and I use it to run SETI (search for extraterrestrial intelligence) analysis 24 hours a day

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hankf1971
Seminole, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just as advertised no more, no less.
8/14/2011

Customer review by JRojo

4.0 stars 8/14/2011 by JRojo
by JRojo

Unfortunately does not have room to add other cards which makes it a bit not as useful as it could have been, but for the price is a good basic computer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRojo
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great little machine
8/20/2011

Customer review by motorshademan

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by motorshademan
by motorshademan

running quickbooks & fedex shipping. Excellent value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motorshademan
pompano beach,fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews