Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 23 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
7/27/2011

Customer review by Slayerll

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Slayerll
by Slayerll

Great receiver easy hook up sounds good. sd card,usb,ipod hook ups are great. I would recommend this media receiver. No more cd's to fool with while your driving just add songs to sd card,usb,ipod and on your way.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slayerll
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Good unit for the price
8/3/2011

Customer review by WhatisthisThing

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by WhatisthisThing
by WhatisthisThing

This car stereo was very easy to install and the book is simple to follow. Sound quality is good I would like to have more power but out of the box isn't too bad. The controls are simple the display a bit busy. All in all for $45 you really won't find much better.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhatisthisThing
Valparaiso, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
!!!!!
10/2/2011

Customer review by rcrsmitchell

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by rcrsmitchell
by rcrsmitchell

I bought this deck to replace a broken cd player... and I have to say, I LOVE it! Great sound easy to use! I love I can put a single card in and have all my music I love. I can go from folder to folder or play it all on random! No more cds! No more cassette adapter for my mp3! We are in the digital age and this welcomes it! :) People are shocked, that I only paid $45. $80 for my speakers and this deck! I love the whole system, love it all!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rcrsmitchell
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, could be better.
4/25/2012

Customer review by KoopStid

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by KoopStid
by KoopStid

When looking for a new radio my main concern was an SD card slot and I was pretty happy to find such a cheap one. I didn't care about it's power output since my speakers can hardly handle 200 watts at half volume. I don't necessarily regret buying it but there's a lot of cons to list, and nothing really spectacular to mention about it other than the price. Here are some details about the SD usage***: (I bought a Wintec FileMate 16GB Class4 because others said it worked and I didn't want to risk getting something incompatible) -RANDOM starts a new song as soon as you click it. -RANDOM does not use a playlist method. Sometimes you will get the same song again after a few dozen plays. I do not know if this happens because I turn off the car. It's not noticeably repetitive but it does not use the premade random playlist method like an Ipod. -RANDOM does not let you go backwards, just like the point above, there is no 'playlist' so if you click back, it just finds another random song. It doesn't go back to the previous song. -RANDOM takes a while to seek to the next song. I have about 500 songs and it takes 2-5ish seconds to seek. This is very noticeable when you can't settle on a song. When I had more like 1000 songs, this was much longer. -RANDOM only works with your entire card, not individual folders. -No playlists. -The player does not go by alphabetical order. I think I read a review that it goes in the order of when you added it to the card. I don't know for sure but that seems likely. It will obey your folder hierarchy, but folders within folders and songs within folders do not necessarily play in alphabetical order. -INT plays the first 10 seconds of each song. That's too long to be of any use for me and there's no way to change it (It would've been an easy addition). -INT and RANDOM don't work at the same time (It would've been an easy addition). -Supports WAV but not FLAC. Non-SD stuff: -Radio reception seems worse than my stock radio. -The display is hard to read during the day and WAY too bright at night. There is not way to dim it, not even manually (It would've been an easy addition). There is not fader input, but I'm not even sure that's a thing. -Faceplate is hard to get on sometimes but then again, they all are. -SD card stays on the player when you remove the face. Again, this seems normal for most players though. -There is no volume limit setting (It would've been an easy addition). May not be an issue for most people but my stock speakers cannot handle even half volume. -Occasionally hear a LOUD click when playing while your car is "on" then you actually startup the engine. Not in issue if you are just normally starting your engine from "off." I believe this has to do with my car cutting ignition power for a moment when starting up. I don't know if all cars do this. -EQ presents are kinda useless. Manual EQ is just base and treble. -LOUD feature sounds like garbage, but so do all BaseBoost type features. They do a good job of fooling noobs into thinking it sounds great though. How about some pros?: -Cheap as heck. -Display is still working for me so far**** -SD card slot. Why don't all players have this now? -Time is easy to set and (sort of) easy to access. Reading it during the day is another story. -No CD bay taking up space. Time to move on. -If the SD and USB don't work to your liking you can still plug in your iPhone and it's still cheap enough so that you didn't waste money only to have the SD not be sufficient. -I can't imagine installation being easier from the radio's end. All the trouble I had was on my car's end, it was not designed for a DIN radio and I had to install a mount and wire harness. I've never installed a radio before and all it took was a multimeter and some spare fuses (whoops). -Song starts where it left off when you start up your car. Even if you remove the face. -Volume is immediately responsive. I've had a problem with that in other radios. ***I have not tried the USB with a thumb drive or my iPhone. I am in and out of my car so much, my goal was to not have to plug in my phone every time I got in. I do not know if a thumb drive would act the same as the SD card. ****I bought this from Walmart because so many people had problems with the display dying and I know Walmart will take it back. You have to buy it online though. I got the three dollar coverage just to be safe, I don't normally go for those but it seemed helpful in this case. Bottom line, I am still happy with it. Mainly because of the price, I wouldn't pay more than $40 for it. I'm a little bummed out with the stuff that could've been fixed so easily without any hardware and slightly more program memory usage. I'm really nitpicking with all these points above but if everyone was more detailed with their reviews this world would be a better place.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KoopStid
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ipod users beware!
7/4/2012

Customer review by ACRReviewer

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by ACRReviewer
by ACRReviewer

This is a good unit for the money, easy to install, directions manual is clear and easy to understand. I don't know if it is the speakers in my 20 yr old car but the treble/bass adjustment doesn't seem to have much effect. If you are going to use an Ipod (brand name, don't know about other MP3 players), you will need to get a male/male 1/8" (3.5mm) audio cable to plug into the AUX jack. You cannot use the USB slot. This was not explained anywhere in the online description. I did use the USB with a memory stick that had some songs on it (from a PC, not Mac) and that works great. Haven't tried the memory card slot though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACRReviewer
North Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great stereo, great sound and easy to instal
9/8/2011

Customer review by CDman06

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by CDman06
by CDman06

now I don't need to carry a lot of CD's

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CDman06
Laredo,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
replace car sound system
2/4/2012

Customer review by Bauregard

1.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Bauregard
by Bauregard

This is an all digital media device. 2 1/2 months after it was installed the panel lights stopped working. It still sounds great, but you can't see anything. Just like pushing buttons in the dark! And that is exactly what it is. I almost did not buy this unit because I read online that other people had had similar complaints about Dual receivers. Don't be a fool like me, PASS ON THIS MEDIA RECEIVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I have to have it removed$...go through the big hassle to return it, buy a different sound system, and pay $$$$$$$ to have it installed. AGAIN!!!$$$

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bauregard
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Stereo for the price!!!!
4/1/2012

Customer review by AmitureAudio

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by AmitureAudio
by AmitureAudio

The car I recently bought had an aftermarket stereo installed, but it didn't work. I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a radio for my old car, I just wanted a cheap radio. I did a lot of reaserch before I found this one. Most of the radios I found for this price range had terrible reviews. I took a chance on this one because it had mostly good reviews. I have to say I installed it in just a few minutes and it works great. I love the SD card slot and the fact that it plays Windows Media Files, A lot of the ones I was looking at only played MP3 files. I think the only thing I have found anoying is that there is not a seek on the tuner. TO get to the channel you want you have to go through them one at a time. IT does however have a large amount of presets to save your favorite stations then all you have to do is press a button to go to your favorites. I have had this installed for about three weeks and think it has been better than any other radio I have bought for much higher prices. I would deffinately recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmitureAudio
Portland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Car Stereo with a few small exceptions
11/27/2011

Customer review by hhb3

4.0 stars 11/27/2011 by hhb3
by hhb3

Let me say first, for the price, you can't beat this thing. Great sound, easy to wire and plays SD cards and USB flash drives. My only two complaints are. It doesn't show the time constantly. You set the clock, and then it's gone. It's always showing what it's playing rather than the time. Secondly, the volume knob is tough for my old fat fingers to turn. I know there's a remote, but I'd rather not mess with that while driving. If not for the clock, it would have easily gotten 5 stars, as I can live with the volume knob. If you're considering this one, along with others, you can't go wrong buying this one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hhb3
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great unit
12/7/2013

Customer review by Jimboslice1

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Jimboslice1
by Jimboslice1

I own two of these and they work great. For people who don't need cd's anymore and primarily use music from SD / USB / Radio, this has just about everything you could ask for. Good speaker compatibility, clean signal, good volume. I like this unit a lot. Probably going to buy another for use in a car-stereo-boombox.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimboslice1
Rock Hill SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would purchase again.
5/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It's not a high end stereo, but if you just want to replace your factory system, this is a good choice. You can put all your songs on a SD card instead of having to pay extra for a CD player and hassle with all the CDs. It is probably the best value for the dollar. My Walmart should keep this in inventory, but instead I had to order it online. The only thing that I don't like is you cannot select the songs by catagory.....artist, album, genre, etc. You can jump by folder, or need the song number.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For the price, it's OK, but not great
3/11/2012

Customer review by OshkoshBGosh

3.0 stars 3/11/2012 by OshkoshBGosh
by OshkoshBGosh

Let me start by saying that, for fairly inexpensive of a purchase price, the features are decent. I like that it offers both SD card and USB inputs. Using that feature isn't too tough, aside from the comments below about the buttons/icons. The tuner leaves MUCH to be desired- local stations that came in excellent on my old head unit (and all other head units I've used in this area) do not come in well at all. Distance stations aren't much better. There is a menu selection for Local/Distant, but it makes no real difference. The large volume knob was a key driver for me, knowing that I wanted USB or SD playback as a primary, then having a simple, fast volume control was another key driver. Unfortunately, they went with form over function, so there is no knurling or texture to make this shallow knob easy to turn, especially with even thin gloves on. Trying to adjust without looking can often result in pressing the button in, which activates the menu and results in fade or balance changes. Other times your finger can hit one of the surrounding buttons. That same form over function mentality exists with the icons. In the electric blue color and with their very small size, they can be difficult to read at night, as the glow overpowers the small image without a more careful look. All in all, not bad, but this unit definitely puts design before performance, and does not allow you to get comfortable with blind button presses, etc. The remote won't reward with ergonomics, either, as it is thin, flat and shaped the same in both directions. You don't know which way it is pointing in the dark without a careful look. The buttons are the same thin dimple shape, so there is no tactile or muscle memory that can be built with experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OshkoshBGosh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/5/2011

Customer review by LahJ

3.0 stars 11/5/2011 by LahJ
by LahJ

This is a pretty nice stereo. It has a usb port, sd card slot, and an aux port. I love the quality of the sound and the ease of use. It is very stylish and sleek. I can charge my ipod and phone through the usb port which is pretty good. However, what they fail to tell you is that the usb and sd card have to be FAT or FAT32. What is the purpose of the usb port if you can not use it? I tried using a regular usb device and i received a "usb err" message. If i want to play music from my ipod or phone i have to use my aux input. I am currently still trying to figure out how to convert my devices to FAT or FAT32. Overall, this device is not bad, unless you plan on using the usb/sd slot to play music. I dont listen to the radio that often, but it is a nice radio. Oh and their is no cd player.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LahJ
Los Ageles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Impressed
6/1/2012

Customer review by Jitters63

3.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Jitters63
by Jitters63

My biggest gripe with this system is its awful FM stereo reception. They've been making FM steroes for at least the last approximate fifty years and Dual couldn't build a stereo system which adequately picks up FM radio stations? And, it has nothing to do with my antenna or anything else as the system of which this Dual system replaced picked up radio stations near perfectly. Additionally, on occasion, the system seems to have difficulty reading the USB drive and sometimes doesn't read it at all unless I remove the USB drive and reinsert it. Other than that, it's a *decent* system and has some good features such as the loudness feature, bass and treble controls and the ability to use USB, SD or an auxiliary device. I think I will be buying another system though to replace this system and only use this system as a temporary back-up in case the new system eventually has problems. And, it WILL NOT be another Dual system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jitters63
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/8/2011

Customer review by Nicoleky001

1.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Nicoleky001
by Nicoleky001

Very low quality. Much lower output than my factory unit it was going to replace. Spend a little more and get a quality stereo.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicoleky001
Dawson Springs, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I put radio in a boat
7/24/2012

Customer review by MnkeyBoy

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by MnkeyBoy
by MnkeyBoy

Very easy to install and it sounds great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MnkeyBoy
Marseilles, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Display went out just after two weeks of use.
3/21/2012

Customer review by HateLiars

2.0 stars 3/21/2012 by HateLiars
by HateLiars

Sound great, no more CDs, but the display went out, it still work. Without the display it's useless.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HateLiars
Clovis, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/17/2012

Customer review by bargain1234

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by bargain1234
by bargain1234

this is an outstanding system no more driving and fumbling with cds..pop in your ipod,iphone, memory card and drive. Love this unit buy it if you are looking for amazing sound and luxury of listening to your music and maintain of the safety of driving.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargain1234
Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT!
4/6/2012

Customer review by SnakePlissken666

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by SnakePlissken666
by SnakePlissken666

Installed this in my 1989 Silverado 1500. I bought the install kit, wire harness, and antenna adapter from ebay ($~35 shipped including the actual maroon center dash piece). This product works great! Very low cost but it exceeds expectations, like all Dual products do for me. The audio is 100% better than factory. The install was a breeze and everything was well constructed. Would definitely buy this again! Cheap unit without the CD function. Welcome to 2012!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnakePlissken666
New Ringgold. PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not good for motorcycle
11/3/2012

Customer review by mcbrayer3rd

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by mcbrayer3rd
by mcbrayer3rd

cant see screen when in sunlingt

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcbrayer3rd
conway
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews