Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great little tiller!!
6/18/2012

Customer review by walmartbilly

5.0 stars by walmartbilly

I needed a small electric tiller (didn't want to bother with gas, pulling starter ropes, etc.) so I could mix our sandy soil here in Florida with the premium topsoil I spread over it before laying sod to create a new backyard lawn. This tiller worked just great for this purpose. We only needed to go about 4 inches deep, and it really did a fine job at that level.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartbilly
Riverview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Warranty
11/9/2012

Customer review by Bxter

5.0 stars by Bxter

BE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT AMP RATED ELECTRIC EXTENTION CORD. THIS IS A 9 AMP ELECTRIC MOTOR. YOU SHOULD HAVE A 85 TO 100 FT. LONG CORD. Always till in a staight line, never till in a sideway manner, forward and reverse directions are OK.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bxter
Canton, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
not for large areas , good exercise for the arms,
10/1/2011

Customer review by pb123pb

3.0 stars by pb123pb

i would only recommend this for small areas, less than 400sqft, cleaning is a hassle if you dont have proper tools to dissemble the tines , other wise a great workout for your arms, assembling the handle is easy, the nut/bolts holding up the tines are a tad bit difficult to get to. recommended for small jobs

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pb123pb
springfield va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
great product
4/18/2013

Customer review by terri5ks

5.0 stars by terri5ks

We have very hard ground here and it takes it a few minutes but it cuts through the dirt and does a wonderful job.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
terri5ks
chaparral, nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/24/2011

Customer review by billtiller

4.0 stars by billtiller

good product for the money. I think it could use better wheels and be able to go deeper.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
billtiller
southern new hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
This Sun Joe Tiller exceeds my expectations!
3/13/2015

Customer review by katherine4444

5.0 stars by katherine4444

It's the beginning of spring and time to till the soil in my garden. I had previously rototilled the soil last autumn with a heavy duty rototiller, so I made certain that my soil was well worked prior to using this Sun Joe Tiller. This spring was the first time I had ever used an electric tiller, and I was a little skeptical about the performance of an electric rototiller. First, I loosened the soil with a sharp shovel by turning it over; it really worked in my favor to do this. Then I began tilling with my new Sun Joe Tiller, and I must say right off that it exceeded my expectations! It really worked the soil beautifully! I went over the garden twice length wise, and then cross ways. My soil is beautiful, it looks as nice as potting soil, I am so proud of it. I took the rear wheels off to till the soil. The Sun Joe easily went through my "normal" soil, and it sunk down and dug 7 or 8 " deep. It really helps if you just let the tiller do the work, and using a back and forth motion it digs further down into the soil. If you have normal, or sandy soil conditions this Sun Joe Tiller is a must have item! I also like that it is easy to store. I like the fact that it is electric because it will always start. I won't keep having to haul it to a mechanic every season because it won't start. This tiller will make an awesome cultivator too! Another plus is that it is semi-quiet while tilling, and doesn't require gasoline; it is easy on the environment that way! I would definitely recommend this Sun Joe Tiller to a good friend!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
katherine4444
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it.
6/17/2014

Customer review by billslove

4.0 stars by billslove

I have a large and a small gas rototiller and they work really well but I can't pull the cord and get them started. My neighbor will start them for me but he is rarely home. I ordered the electric tiller and I really like it, no cord to pull, just squeeze the handle and it takes off. It is very easy to use. The biggest problem with it is you have to hold a button down with your thumb as a safety feature. After a few minutes my thumb hurts a lot and I have to quit for a while. I think I'm going to glue a large button or something similar to that button so it is easier to hold down and puts less stress on my thumb. Sometimes I think a second speed that is a little slower might be a good option. It is a good product and I like using it despite my sore thumb. I don't know about durability because I've only had it for about 2 weeks. My garden is 25' wide and I can weed a row in about 3 minutes. I still have to do around the plants by hand but that is a lot less than having to do the whole thing. I think it is a great product and I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
billslove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job with little effort
5/26/2014

Customer review by Tercham

5.0 stars by Tercham

Did the job easily for my two small area wildflower beds. I live in area with very rocky soil. Only had one large rock lodge in the blades, and I was able to pull it right out with little effort. This tiller was worth every penny. Started right up and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tercham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tiller for the garden
10/8/2014

Customer review by KelvinV25

4.0 stars by KelvinV25

Bought it for the 9-amp motor and 7 inch depth. Only took a few minutes to assemble. Easy to use and maneuver. Did a good job cultivating the garden and breaking up the grass sod. Left the wheels in the down position. Looking forward to many years of use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KelvinV25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tearing up the back yard
4/13/2015

Customer review by RE12354

5.0 stars by RE12354

Now that Spring has arrived tried it for the first time. Excellent tiller for the money. Glad I purchased it and hope I can use it for many years. Perhaps it will out last a 75 year old man.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RE12354
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Valentine Gift ....Not your typical girly girl.
2/14/2015

Customer review by Dianna

5.0 stars by Dianna

I just recently received my Sun Joe Tiller/Cultivator 9 amp in the mail, quick delivery and unscathed and so far it has works great. I have a pretty easy garden and landscape to prepare as it has some dirt and lots of sand. The SJ digs right into the ground with ease and has done an excellent job. Highly recommended purchase. CONS: I would have preferred rubber wheels to plastic and a height adjustment for the handle as least a couple of options would have been nice. As I am only 5' tall, I do not have the same leverage as my son who is 6'2" therefore If I need to dig really deep he has to take over the job ( NOT NECESSARILY A BAD THING) or I will need to make multiple passes to get to the depth i desire.... All in all the tiller/cultivator works great !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
7/6/2014

Customer review by florentin19

5.0 stars by florentin19

This is the first time I have one, and does excellent job. I did my yard and it is very powerful and easy to use. I recommend it to anyone, the price is not very expensive. I give to the product five stars. Very happy with it. :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
florentin19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to assemble.
3/4/2013

Customer review by PH1933

5.0 stars by PH1933

Weather to cold to use

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PH1933
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little skeptical at first!
4/22/2015

Customer review by uncommonscents

5.0 stars by uncommonscents

I was unsure as to whether an electric cultivator could replace gas cultivators. We have had two of the gas cultivators and had nothing but trouble. This thing turns circles around the gas ones. Only disadvantage for me is watching the electric cord.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
uncommonscents
Would recommend to a friend? Yes