Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 44 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
I like it.
6/17/2014

Customer review by billslove

4.0 stars 6/17/2014 by billslove
by billslove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a large and a small gas rototiller and they work really well but I can't pull the cord and get them started. My neighbor will start them for me but he is rarely home. I ordered the electric tiller and I really like it, no cord to pull, just squeeze the handle and it takes off. It is very easy to use. The biggest problem with it is you have to hold a button down with your thumb as a safety feature. After a few minutes my thumb hurts a lot and I have to quit for a while. I think I'm going to glue a large button or something similar to that button so it is easier to hold down and puts less stress on my thumb. Sometimes I think a second speed that is a little slower might be a good option. It is a good product and I like using it despite my sore thumb. I don't know about durability because I've only had it for about 2 weeks. My garden is 25' wide and I can weed a row in about 3 minutes. I still have to do around the plants by hand but that is a lot less than having to do the whole thing. I think it is a great product and I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (32) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billslove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hesitant Buyer Turned Proud Owner!
5/18/2016

Customer review by Kitten28

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Kitten28
by Kitten28

I bought this tiller because for the last three years I have done it all by hand and I work in the medical field so if I'm sore for my day shift everyone suffers. I kept mulling over the idea of buying a tiller but I was unsure if I could handle it as I never tried something like that before. And the cost was nothing to sneeze at even with my salary. But I'm not getting any younger so when I found this one on sale for 130$ I jumped at the chance to try it out and boy am I glad I did! This tiller was used for starting a whole new garden bed over grassy root and rocky areas and it cut through it like a champ! I took off the wheels to get in nice and deep and it makes it a bit harder to use at that point but NOTHING like doing it by hand. I also used it to cultivate my existing plot and extend it and it worked great. I went from being unsure about my purchase to falling in love with this machine. It handled pretty large sized rocks to up towards about 8 inches. Some got wedged in the blades but a hammer and some will power sure helped that problem! No bending no damage what so ever! It was easy to put together and it's lightish and easy to store. I WOULD BUY AGAIN!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/24/2011

Customer review by billtiller

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by billtiller
by billtiller

good product for the money. I think it could use better wheels and be able to go deeper.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billtiller
southern new hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does the job with little effort
5/26/2014

Customer review by Tercham

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Tercham
by Tercham
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Did the job easily for my two small area wildflower beds. I live in area with very rocky soil. Only had one large rock lodge in the blades, and I was able to pull it right out with little effort. This tiller was worth every penny. Started right up and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tercham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sun Joe 9amp
4/17/2016

Customer review by HGT3

4.0 stars 4/17/2016 by HGT3
by HGT3

Handle knobs were hard to get threaded onto bolts at assembly. Used it to chop up hard clay balls with rocks I dug up. I ran it light so I would not destroy it. It did a very good job grinding up all the dirt and clay. After the clay balls were chopped up. I ran it harder to make all dirt a fine mix. It did a good job, hangs nice in the shed.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HGT3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
4/18/2013

Customer review by terri5ks

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by terri5ks
by terri5ks

We have very hard ground here and it takes it a few minutes but it cuts through the dirt and does a wonderful job.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
terri5ks
chaparral, nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little tiller!!
6/18/2012

Customer review by walmartbilly

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by walmartbilly
by walmartbilly

I needed a small electric tiller (didn't want to bother with gas, pulling starter ropes, etc.) so I could mix our sandy soil here in Florida with the premium topsoil I spread over it before laying sod to create a new backyard lawn. This tiller worked just great for this purpose. We only needed to go about 4 inches deep, and it really did a fine job at that level.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartbilly
Riverview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Warranty
11/9/2012

Customer review by Bxter

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Bxter
by Bxter

BE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT AMP RATED ELECTRIC EXTENTION CORD. THIS IS A 9 AMP ELECTRIC MOTOR. YOU SHOULD HAVE A 85 TO 100 FT. LONG CORD. Always till in a staight line, never till in a sideway manner, forward and reverse directions are OK.

Was this review helpful? (49) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bxter
Canton, Ms.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
not for large areas , good exercise for the arms,
10/1/2011

Customer review by pb123pb

3.0 stars 10/1/2011 by pb123pb
by pb123pb

i would only recommend this for small areas, less than 400sqft, cleaning is a hassle if you dont have proper tools to dissemble the tines , other wise a great workout for your arms, assembling the handle is easy, the nut/bolts holding up the tines are a tad bit difficult to get to. recommended for small jobs

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pb123pb
springfield va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
This Sun Joe Tiller exceeds my expectations!
3/13/2015

Customer review by katherine4444

5.0 stars 3/13/2015 by katherine4444
by katherine4444

It's the beginning of spring and time to till the soil in my garden. I had previously rototilled the soil last autumn with a heavy duty rototiller, so I made certain that my soil was well worked prior to using this Sun Joe Tiller. This spring was the first time I had ever used an electric tiller, and I was a little skeptical about the performance of an electric rototiller. First, I loosened the soil with a sharp shovel by turning it over; it really worked in my favor to do this. Then I began tilling with my new Sun Joe Tiller, and I must say right off that it exceeded my expectations! It really worked the soil beautifully! I went over the garden twice length wise, and then cross ways. My soil is beautiful, it looks as nice as potting soil, I am so proud of it. I took the rear wheels off to till the soil. The Sun Joe easily went through my "normal" soil, and it sunk down and dug 7 or 8 " deep. It really helps if you just let the tiller do the work, and using a back and forth motion it digs further down into the soil. If you have normal, or sandy soil conditions this Sun Joe Tiller is a must have item! I also like that it is easy to store. I like the fact that it is electric because it will always start. I won't keep having to haul it to a mechanic every season because it won't start. This tiller will make an awesome cultivator too! Another plus is that it is semi-quiet while tilling, and doesn't require gasoline; it is easy on the environment that way! I would definitely recommend this Sun Joe Tiller to a good friend!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katherine4444
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lil garden tiller
6/4/2015

Customer review by Bonadventures

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Bonadventures
by Bonadventures

This is a surprisingly powerful Lil tiller. Had had for about a month and to date have tilled about 100 square feet of rock embedded soil with no problems. I live in Hill Country, TX and there are rocks everywhere and this Lil tiller has no problems with rocks up to about 2 inches. Highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bonadventures
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sun Joe Tiller
5/30/2015

Customer review by DontBuy

1.0 stars 5/30/2015 by DontBuy
by DontBuy

Only used it two times, less than a half hour combined on soil that was previously tilled and the motor burnt up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/3/2016

So sorry to hear that you're having an issue with our product. We take each matter very seriously and want to make sure you are happy. At Snow Joe + Sun Joe we stand behind each product we manufacture. Our toll-free number is 866-766-9563 (M-F 9-6EST and Sunday 9-4EST). We promise to do our best to make sure you are satisfied 100%. Thanks, Andres.

DontBuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Electric vtiller
12/8/2016

Customer review by hawk

5.0 stars 12/8/2016 by hawk
by hawk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Plenty power for an electric tiller.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hawk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
12/4/2016

Customer review by Abel

5.0 stars 12/4/2016 by Abel
by Abel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only used this tiller once, but I used it for several hours and it worked great. In my opinion it is just as powerful as a gas tiller without the hassle of gas oil or engine tune up. The price was also great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Quality
5/15/2016

Customer review by Junior07

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Junior07
by Junior07

The machine was performing great and then the cheap plastic handle broke off. It is now useless. To bad they could not spend a couple more dollars and put stronger handles on it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/3/2016

So sorry to hear that you're having an issue with our product. We take each matter very seriously and want to make sure you are happy. At Snow Joe + Sun Joe we stand behind each product we manufacture. Our toll-free number is 866-766-9563 (M-F 9-6EST and Sunday 9-4EST). We promise to do our best to make sure you are satisfied 100%. Thanks, Andres.

Junior07
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tearing up the back yard
4/13/2015

Customer review by RE12354

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by RE12354
by RE12354

Now that Spring has arrived tried it for the first time. Excellent tiller for the money. Glad I purchased it and hope I can use it for many years. Perhaps it will out last a 75 year old man.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RE12354
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice tiller for the garden
10/8/2014

Customer review by KelvinV25

4.0 stars 10/8/2014 by KelvinV25
by KelvinV25
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought it for the 9-amp motor and 7 inch depth. Only took a few minutes to assemble. Easy to use and maneuver. Did a good job cultivating the garden and breaking up the grass sod. Left the wheels in the down position. Looking forward to many years of use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KelvinV25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Valentine Gift ....Not your typical girly girl.
2/14/2015

Customer review by Dianna

5.0 stars 2/14/2015 by Dianna
by Dianna

I just recently received my Sun Joe Tiller/Cultivator 9 amp in the mail, quick delivery and unscathed and so far it has works great. I have a pretty easy garden and landscape to prepare as it has some dirt and lots of sand. The SJ digs right into the ground with ease and has done an excellent job. Highly recommended purchase. CONS: I would have preferred rubber wheels to plastic and a height adjustment for the handle as least a couple of options would have been nice. As I am only 5' tall, I do not have the same leverage as my son who is 6'2" therefore If I need to dig really deep he has to take over the job ( NOT NECESSARILY A BAD THING) or I will need to make multiple passes to get to the depth i desire.... All in all the tiller/cultivator works great !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Work out
11/14/2016

Customer review by MEcando

4.0 stars 11/14/2016 by MEcando
by MEcando
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 9 amp motor will surprise you. It is strong! The blades might break first. The handles are high up. I feel as if I am riding a hog with ape handle bars. The tiller cultivates the soil well. Spits the rocks out. I am glad to own it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEcando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful plug in!
5/26/2016

Customer review by Herbert

5.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Herbert
by Herbert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a small garden. Approximately 20x25 ft. I purchased this electric tiller because I didn't want to mess with a gasoline one for such a small area. I am impressed! This tiller pulverized the soil and made my garden plant ready from a dormant off season. It's just small enough to use as a cultivator to weed during the growing season. I highly recommend, and would purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews