Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 104 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Did a lot of research -- this is the one!
8/8/2011

Customer review by Goobgrover

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Goobgrover
by Goobgrover

I had done a lot of research before getting this countertop. I had originally started looking for a different brand, with a smaller capacity, and avidly read the reviews. After seeing the reviews and comments for that other brand, I decided that I would expand my search a bit, and came upon this SPT model, which has a larger capacity and was only $50 more expensive. I have used it several times since picking it up at the store, and I'm extremely happy with the purchase! I will confess to being a mechanical dunce, and even *I* had no problems installing it with no leaks! I thought 80 mins for a total cycle was a little long, but, once I used it, the SPT did something the other model could not claim to do: actually DRIED the dishes. With no windows, it won't have the problems that others complained about on "windows versions" of the compacts (with leaking seals around the glass), and I'm happy not to have dishes sit in the sink for when I'm too lazy to do them. On another site, someone complained about the noise during operation--it's not whisper quiet, but it isn't distracting, either. I would heartily recommend this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (182) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goobgrover
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Yippee!!!
10/22/2011

Customer review by punkin9692003

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by punkin9692003
by punkin9692003

I absolutely LOVE this little machine! I had dishes that had junk caked on and this thing gets them totally clean! If you hate doing the dishes (and don't mind handwashing your larger baking pans) then you should TOTALLY invest in this dishwasher!

Was this review helpful? (54) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punkin9692003
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/27/2011

Customer review by thatguyishappy

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by thatguyishappy
by thatguyishappy

Just picked this dishwasher up after doing extensive research. Never knew countertop dishwashers was such a huge market! This model, the SPT 2201 was in most of the top 10 list out there and rave reviews. And I have to agree. First load, dishes came out great. Single guy, but loves to cook. Only one comment, pay attention to when people talk about how big this thing is! I measured and thought I had a prime location on a kitchen cart. But it is huge! The hoses on the back add another inch of depth. So plan for a large spot. I ended up with it on the counter top where it eats up a lot of valuabe counter space. But this is the sacrifice of having a dishwasher... HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thatguyishappy
north dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it - why didn't I buy this thing sooner?
8/29/2012

Customer review by DoctorRick

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by DoctorRick
by DoctorRick

I had never heard of this brand before but after reading numerous positive reviews I decided to take a chance, and have not been disappointed. I bought a countertop unit because I was tired of spending almost an hour a day doing dishes for our family of four but wasn't ready to tear up my kitchen cabinets (and lose precious storage space in our tiny kitchen) to install a built-in model. I come from a family where the tradition has been to rinse the dishes almost clean before putting them in the dishwasher, but you really don't need to waste time, water and energy on rinsing with this machine - just scrape off the largest chunks and load. The unit takes hot water from the tap and heats it up further to get the job done effectively, meaning that properly loaded items come out sparkling, with only an occasional bit of food residue. A few tips/caveats: 1) You'll need to designate a decent amount of counter space (about the size of a large microwave - see photo) within five feet of the sink. I've also heard that some folks use a rolling cart. 2) I have been using Cascade gel detergent, getting best results by filling both the 15 and 25 ml dispenser cups (they're smaller than a regular dishwasher). You can also use powdered detergent or tablets (it even comes with a little clip-on basket for tablets) but I personally have not tried these yet. 3) Proper loading is key - it's a compact space, so you need to load mindfully so as to maximize what you can put in while leaving enough space for the water spray to reach everything. However, once you get the hang of this you should achieve excellent results. Small and medium-sized pots and pans fit in just fine, but if your plates and bowls have a raised "lip" on the edge you'll need to space them so that the water spray can get between. 4) The plastic "quick connector" assembly (which has the water supply and drain hoses attached to it - see photo) is easy to use but you do have to keep the little metal adaptor that it clips to attached to your faucet. Depending on what kind of faucet you have this may look a little weird, but it's a good tradeoff. 5) Like all portable units that connect to a faucet, you can't use the faucet when the unit is running (normal wash cycle is about an hour and a half). Again, I think it's a good tradeoff and if there was no other way to do it I could have happily lived with this, but in the end I decided to plumb the unit to the hot water supply, which is actually quite easy. This involved replacing the rubber water supply hose with a stronger braided steel 6' hose (comes as part of a universal dishwasher hookup kit) that attaches to a brass T-connector that I installed in the kitchen faucet water line - total extra cost about $25. I haven't gotten around to plumbing the drain hose, so for now it's routed into the sink (see photo). Bottom line: For less than $300 you can get a machine that's efficient, effective and easy to set up and use. Worth every penny, and then some!

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoctorRick
Madison, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great dishwasher for countertop!
8/2/2011

Customer review by okct

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by okct
by okct

Holds a lot of dishes if loaded with example in book that comes with it! Very easy to use! Great for a single person..small kitchen!

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ms
10/9/2011

Customer review by 1Murphy

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by 1Murphy
by 1Murphy

My dishwasher went out about 2 years ago. I've been washing dishes by hand since (this is not one of my favorite chores). I didn't have the money to buy a quality dishwasher and have it delivered and installed. I have a walmart card and looked at walmart.com to see if they sold dishwashers and came across "countertop dishwashers". I had never heard of this before. I read the reviews and decided to buy this one. I had it delivered - price varies according to how quickly you want the dishwasher. I ended up paying about $30 for it to be delivered to my home. I asked the fedex guy to push it inside the house. It took me all of 30 minutes to unpack it and hook it up to the sink. This thing does an excellent job. no more bending over to load and unload, no more washing by hand. The only downside is the length of time it takes to wash (can be upwards of 2 hours, depending on which cycle you choose). But all dishes come out clean. Word of advise: DO NOT and I mean DO NOT attempt to unload your dishes until they have cooled down - they will break. Other than that, I am really pleased with this purchaes.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Murphy
Teaxs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
1/30/2012

Customer review by PunkyandPongo

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by PunkyandPongo
by PunkyandPongo

Just as everyone else said! It does have a dry cycle at the end, so the dishes come out almost dry. Buying a dishwasher is quite a careful ordeal...half our friends told us not to because they practically have to wash their dishes before putting them in their dishwashers if the want them to come out clean. That is not the case with this one!! The only thing it hasn't taken off is some sauce that was thoroughly burned to the pan. My husband even pulled out a bread pan that had some crusty bread baked onto it, but it came out clean (even peanut butter comes off!). My only complaint is that the front section only holds large items; the wires are spaced so far apart that any smaller items (even bowls) will fall through and stop the arm from spinning. Sure, we'd love a bigger one, but this is what fits under our sink in our tiny city apartment...and it does the job well. I was also impressed that WalMart used Fed Ex, who called us before coming to our apt. Normally we miss mail deliveries, but this worked out.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PunkyandPongo
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/19/2011

Customer review by kboy51

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by kboy51
by kboy51

I would recommend this dish washer to anyone with a small apartment . It does a great job and was very easy to make operational. I did by the three year extended warranty, in case I have any problems in the future. I have run about 20 loads through this in the last couple of months sinced I bought, and it performs excellent, another good feature of this product is, it uses very little water, compared to hand washing, I'm so glad I dont have that messy sink full of dirty dishes anymore, well worth the money so far, I would recommend this product for anyone who has an apartment and has no time to wash dishes

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kboy51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for lazy people like me
1/23/2012

Customer review by LeonhardEuler

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by LeonhardEuler
by LeonhardEuler

Installation is simply screwing on their special faucet nozzle that their hose can snap on to. Works well; gets dishes clean. Just make sure that the bottom spinning sprayer isn't obstructed. Makes about 10 seconds of loud beeping when finished. With my bachelor lifestyle, it can hold about a week's worth of dishes.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeonhardEuler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great dishwasher!!
10/8/2011

Customer review by Juliam1969

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Juliam1969
by Juliam1969

I love my new little countertop dishwasher. It does a great job on cleaning the dishes and it is very helpful for me. My only issue was with the shipping, the box had a dent on one corner and the dishwasher has a small crack on one edge. The dishwasher works and it is just a small crack in the outside of the dishwasher and I desperately needed this product due to disability and unable to use my hands very well. I did not return it because of this but I was disappointed in the damage.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juliam1969
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent results and easy to use.
3/2/2012

Customer review by Moonliner

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Moonliner
by Moonliner

This machine gives excellent results. There are many settings (6) to cover needs from fine crystal to baked on foods. It has the basket dispenser for the tablet detergents and a quick connect system to connect to the sink. It is also very quiet. It takes up very little space and could be plumbed into the water and drain if a permanent connection is desired. It holds 6 place setting. I fully recommend this product for quality and ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moonliner
Cocoa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great for RV'ing
4/8/2012

Customer review by Markontheroad

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Markontheroad
by Markontheroad

Since we plan on doing a fair amount of "dry camping" in our new (to us) RV, we justified a dishwasher as a "water saving device" and ordered this one since it is Energy Star Rated and looked like we'd save water compared to hand washing and rinsing. I took out 3 drawers below our cook top to create a space for this unit. We've used it on a two month trip now and can say that we couldn't be happier. The plumbing was "easy-ish" since the sink is in the 2nd cabinet to the left of where this ended up. Some additional plumbing pieces for the hot water supply from Ace and the "Vesta DWVBIHK Vesta8482 Dishwasher Hose Kit for Built-In Option" hose kit.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Markontheroad
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Godsend!
9/4/2013

Customer review by Erin7711111111111

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Erin7711111111111
by Erin7711111111111

I was really unsure of whether I would like this dishwasher, but I had dishes piling up every day and this seemed like the best (and cheapest) option. I am so glad I purchased this! A few things to know if you are considering buying this: The regular wash cycle uses 12 liters (about 3 gallons) of water. I didn't realize that wasting water was a major concern of mine until I read that in the manual and was so relieved when I checked it against the typical amount of water used by flushing a toilet (this dishwasher uses less). The regular wash cycle takes 85 minutes, and I try to be home when the cycle is done so I can turn off the faucet. I haven't tried leaving it on overnight or when I go out. It would probably be fine, but I am a bit of a worry-wart. The hoses stick out about an inch from the back, so if space is tight, expect to need an extra inch or so on depth. Having teflon tape is useful for installation. The dishwasher includes an adapter that screws onto your faucet, so that the hose can clip onto the faucet quickly. Teflon tape (which costs about a dollar, if you don't already have some) makes the connection leak-proof. The faucet connection has a red button that allows you to release water when the dishwasher is running. This is very useful if you need to wash your hands or rinse something and you don't want to wait for it to be finished. The silver version of this dishwasher is made with silver-colored plastic. I was kind of expecting a metal exterior. It blends in fine in my kitchen, but wasn't what I had expected.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Erin7711111111111
Aberdeen, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Dishasher
11/19/2011

Customer review by Porkster2011

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Porkster2011
by Porkster2011

I have to agree with all the favorable comments. This small dishwasher is perfect for a counter top, or on a kitchen cart. I've used it 4 times now and it is very quiet, and gets the dishes extremely clean (no water spots). Installation was extremely easy, too. Water does leak very minimally where the hoses connect to the faucet, but it just drips into the sink. So, I can accept that. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Porkster2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad
3/5/2012

Customer review by RichinSTL

3.0 stars 3/5/2012 by RichinSTL
by RichinSTL

For a counter top dishwasher it does a decent job of washing dishes. Don't even think about putting something into it with rinsing it thoroughly, it will not come out clean. I have not had any issues with the hoses or leaks. Very easy to operate.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RichinSTL
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fine for small household/simple needs
1/11/2012

Customer review by DishAdvice

4.0 stars 1/11/2012 by DishAdvice
by DishAdvice

Hello, dishwasher shoppers! I bought this a few weeks ago and will now answer your questions. Let's get started, shall we? WOULD YOU RECOMMEND? Yes to any one- or two-person household with simple needs described below. HOW DO YOU USE IT? Once a day, usually three or four plates/bowls, glasses/cups, silverware and either a small frying pan or small pot (but not room for both at once). DO 10-INCH DINNER PLATES FIT? Yes. WHAT DO YOU LIKE? Half the cost of full-size portables. WHAT DON’T YOU LIKE? The cycles last longer than manual says. EG "normal" takes 110 minutes; manual says 80 minutes. CAN IT HANDLE BAKED-ON PANS? Tried once. On highest setting it cleaned most but not all of it. INSTALLATION EASY OR HARD? Straightforward but study the pics because the written instructions aren't very clear. Tip: Some little rubber washers are nested inside other washers. BOTTOM LINE? It cleans my dishes. Don't expect miracles.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DishAdvice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing.
3/5/2012

Customer review by MUAvioletta

2.0 stars 3/5/2012 by MUAvioletta
by MUAvioletta

Bought this countertop dishwasher in the hopes of making our lives easier around the apartment since we do dishes all by hand. It didn't make life easier, it just made everything more complicated. We had this thing for about a week before we returned it. Here's the list of all the wrongs: - leaked from the back..a lot..even though everything was tightened properly - MASSIVE in size...took over our entire counter space - for as large as the outside is, the inside wouldn't even fit our dinner plates! They're not huge by any means - didn't wash the dishes properly; took sometimes 3 cycles for the dishes to get clean - the hoses took over our entire sink, we were not able to use our kitchen faucet due to the attachments to the dishwasher (I had failed to fully realize this probability when ordering this thing) - the attachment piece which replaced our sink head filter made the water from our faucet spray everywhere since it was tapered and without a filter - you have to turn off the water right away when the dishes are done so plan to stick around a couple of hours until the annoying beeping starts - oh, did I mention that it takes nearly two hours for a full load? Overall, HUGE disappointment. I had read all the reviews everyone had posted and was very excited to finally get this thing in our place only to have to take it back 6 days later. Never again, I'll stick with washing dishes by hand from now on until we get a REAL dishwasher. *On a side note: Walmart was really good about returning this thing and even refunded me the warranty which I was really happy about.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MUAvioletta
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little dishwasher for small area
2/18/2012

Customer review by Snowbunny2012br02

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Snowbunny2012br02
by Snowbunny2012br02

The reviews were good, the price was good. It arrived very well packaged, no dents, no bruises. This dishwasher is quieter than the under-counter one I have back home. It is just right for a mobile home. If you you don't have counter space get a rolling cart like we did. Great!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snowbunny2012br02
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So glad I bought this!
7/28/2014

Customer review by carlakujo

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by carlakujo
by carlakujo

This is the best appliance investment I have made in many years! When I purchased my house, I dreaded having to wash dishes all the time because my kitchen is SO small and laid out in such a way that adding a built-in dishwasher was impossible, and a rolling portable would be too cumbersome. Then when I found this countertop model online, I worried how well it would work as I had never heard of these before. It was easy to install and at not much larger than a microwave, it fits perfectly under my hanging cabinets. (I had measured my space before ordering.) No worries on the performance either, it gets my dishes sparkling clean. Even my plates - which are larger than 10.5 inches so I had to remove a small rack and lean them a bit - come away shiny! Yes, I would definitely recommend to anyone that has limited space for a conventional DW!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carlakujo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/25/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I LOVE this thing. I am a single guy and I hate doing dishes. This unit keeps my sink empty which is wonderful since my dogs have a bad habit of stealing dishes. It takes a while to run so don't expect to do a load of dishes while you are preparing dinner, and I don't consider it to be long enough to take away any stars. It has an automatic rinse agent dispenser, removable silverware basket and lots more room on the inside than it looks like.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews