Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 32 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
One tough reel for the money
2/23/2014

Customer review by tubejig

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by tubejig
by tubejig

I have owned 5 of these reels over the past 25 years. I used the first ones I bought in Alaska for reeling in all species of salmon with no failures to the reels whatsoever. I still fish with the original reels, but for big cats now. Its hard to believe you can buy a reel like this for less than $10, no joke! Go get you one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tubejig
Deep South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY HANDS DOWN!!!
3/25/2014

Customer review by OCEANODAVE

5.0 stars 3/25/2014 by OCEANODAVE
by OCEANODAVE

I USE THIS REEL ABOUT TWICE A WEEK IN AND AROUND THE PISMO BEACH CA AREA FOR SURF FISHING AND HAVE FOR YEARS. I CAN TELL YOU THIS, FOR THE MONEY, YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER DEAL AS THIS REEL WILL NOT RUST AND AS I HATE TO ADMIT IT I DO NOT RINSE IT WITH FRESH WATER LIKE I SHOULD AND IT LAST FOR MONTHS!! SO FOR ME IT IS THE BEST ! DAVE

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCEANODAVE
PISMO BEACH,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best reel for the dollar! A++++++
6/18/2014

Customer review by jajahahabinky

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by jajahahabinky
by jajahahabinky

This reel is excellent! dollar for dollar you can't do any better. Rugged, quick fire action is excellent! One handed casting possible. You have 2 settings, reel backwards as needed, or reel backwards to stop at one position, which aligns for the next quick fire cast! perfect!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jajahahabinky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional value in a low cost reel!
6/22/2014

Customer review by GoodbyeNickname

4.0 stars 6/22/2014 by GoodbyeNickname
by GoodbyeNickname

Exceeded my expectations considerably. Bought one at Walmart.com because I like the rear drag setup. This is a pretty heavy duty reel (lx 4000) and I will use it for heavy freshwater and up to medium salt water use (fish up to 20-25 pounds). I paired mine with a 7 foot Ugly Stick rod and works well. For normal freshwater use I would recommend the lx 2000 due to lower weight as the 4000 is a beefy and strong reel. Reel is smooth as I expected based on other reviews I had read. Very happy with this product!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodbyeNickname
Milford, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Reel for the Money!
8/25/2014

Customer review by Dalaw1960

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by Dalaw1960
by Dalaw1960

I own several of these reels for various purposes. They work great, cast smooth and have good wide-ranging drags. For the price I do not believe they can be beat, and they are even rated for saltwater use. Now, if you are looking for that ultra smooth spinning reel to cast and retrieve lures all day - this ain't it. For bait fishing, jigging for Walleyes or a variety of other purposes it is an all around great reel. But, understand for the price you are not getting a top-shelf reel with 8, 10 or 12 bearings. So long as you get the limitations of what this reel can and can't do well you will be more than happy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dalaw1960
Lebanon, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Reel
2/9/2015

Customer review by BrandonP

4.0 stars 2/9/2015 by BrandonP
by BrandonP

This little reel works wonderfully. I own the Syncopate and the Spirex models as well, which essentially are the same style reel just more bells and whistles and this IX model, in my opinion, is going to be just as reliable as the other 2. I love that it was only $10! The Syncopate was $30 and the Spirex was $60, so $10 for a reel that competes with them is impressive. It is smooth casting and the reels in nicely. The Quickfire is my favorite, which is why I own all three models, it works just as good on this IX model as it does on the other two. The only reason for the 4 stars is the drag. It could use some work but it is functional and really isn't that big of a deal if you are a guy (or gal) like me and does the ol' "set it and forget it" thing. Overall I would recommend this reel to anyone looking for a budget reel that gets the job done. The 1000 model is a great way to go for a kids starter reel or for backpacking. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrandonP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT REEL for a REAL GREAT PRICE
7/11/2014

Customer review by GooseOnTheLoose

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by GooseOnTheLoose
by GooseOnTheLoose

I have had a Shimano AX2000 that I bought 15 years ago that I really loved. The quickfire trigger system works great and make the whole thing easy to operate with one hand. I am going on a Canada Fly In trip in about 2 weeks and needed a backup pole to take along. I had a decent pole, but needed a good reel for it....enter the Shimano IX4000. This thing is identical to the AX series reel that I have. I picked this up for around $14...guaranteed you will not find a better reel for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GooseOnTheLoose
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great!
5/6/2015

Customer review by Manfred

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by Manfred
by Manfred

these rods are amazingly smooth for the price. I use the ultra lights for crappie and panfish. I would definitely order more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manfred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good reel
5/11/2014

Customer review by Fisherking73

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Fisherking73
by Fisherking73

Love it, Long time user.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fisherking73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, Inexpensive reel
6/4/2015

Customer review by Manwithplan05

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Manwithplan05
by Manwithplan05

This reel is an excellent value for the price. It works well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manwithplan05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Throw away reel you do not throw away.
6/7/2015

Customer review by Photo01

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by Photo01
by Photo01

When I first started salt water kayak fishing, I had a Shimano Bait Runner reel on a very expensive rod. I lost it overboard and had to go back to shore and buy something so I could continue fishing with my buddies. I bought an XP 4000 rod/reel combo for $19.95 complete with 12# mono line on it. I later bought another, figuring out that at that price it was a throw-away outfit. The XP was later replaced in the stores with the IX reels and I have bought more of them. I now have 10 to 30 pound test braided line on my IX 4000 reels (and a couple of IX 2000 reels as well) and fish with them both in fresh water and salt water here in South Florida. Throw away? I have only thrown one away in all these years and these reels get a lot of use. After all, I am the head honcho of the Kayak Fishing Club of the Palm Beaches and do get out fishing quite a bit. :-) I have had tarpon take me 2 miles up the Indian River and been pulled around by big sharks and these reels keep on working. The drag is really good, even if it were not on an el-cheapo reel, and I do strongly recommend them for almost any kind of fishing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photo01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is a very good buy
7/28/2014

Customer review by Bungsan

5.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Bungsan
by Bungsan

This is a excellent reel

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bungsan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT REEL--GREAT PRICE
8/15/2014

Customer review by KAREKATS

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by KAREKATS
by KAREKATS

KAREKATS

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KAREKATS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok reel
9/12/2014

Customer review by smallgamehunter1

3.0 stars 9/12/2014 by smallgamehunter1
by smallgamehunter1

I bought this reel when we went to Florida. It held up and the smoothness of the reel was ok but it held up in saltwater . It was made very cheaply made but it was an ok reel for both fresh and light saltwater.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smallgamehunter1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RETURNED YESTERDAY
1/31/2015

Customer review by prb123

1.0 stars 1/31/2015 by prb123
by prb123

Shimano is a name you can trust and if I were them I would delete this eel from there line up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prb123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sandy Reel WT-Heck
11/3/2014

Customer review by wofidood

1.0 stars 11/3/2014 by wofidood
by wofidood

When i got this reel i was exited as iv had one before. But when i tested the drag it sounded like someone put a bunch of sand in the reel and it didn't work rite! Plus you have to twist off the spool top What a cheaply made reel :<

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wofidood
Would recommend to a friend? No
The rod is broken, i need to return it.
5/29/2014

Customer review by govia

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by govia
by govia

I really do not have a review, because it came broken.

Was this review helpful? (0) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
govia
BKLYN N.Y
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great inexpensive reel
10/7/2014

Customer review by accruzin

5.0 stars 10/7/2014 by accruzin
by accruzin

first time using a rear drag reel but it was great. using 10# test line and it handles great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
accruzin
hi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't be beat
10/14/2014

Customer review by JacksonDC

5.0 stars 10/14/2014 by JacksonDC
by JacksonDC

These reels may take a few minutes to get used to but...they work really great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacksonDC
Zebulon, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
5/30/2015

Customer review by md9963

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by md9963
by md9963

I bought this real as an inexpensive replacement for my young cousin's spinning rod. It was half the price of the same real at Bass Pro Shops. The rest explains itself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
md9963
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews