Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

43 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 40 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
8/1/2011

Customer review by SmallieHunter

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by SmallieHunter
by SmallieHunter

I bought this kayak to replace a 9'6" sit-in I sold last year. I wanted something I could stand up inside the house to save space (check), fit in the back of my explorer without leaving the tailgate open (check), had good storage (check), was easy to carry (check), and was stable (check) and didn't cost a ton (double check). I actually use this as a fishing kayak. I added an anchor in front and milk crate with rod holders on back. Thanks to all the pre-installed deck loops I didn't have to drill into the kayak at all (HUGE plus)! Now with the milk crate, I can carry two rods, tackle box, life jacket, dry bag, and 12 quart cooler. The kayak performed exactly as I expected. It was very stable and quite comfortable with the back rest. The free paddle was also of good quality. It is not fast (and I did not expect it to be) but it gets the job done. This was the absolute perfect kayak for me. The layout with the deck loops, built in handle and storage trays, etc. worked out perfectly. Couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (75) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmallieHunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product great value
6/29/2011

Customer review by Charidea

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Charidea
by Charidea

I appreciated the value of this item (the same product at amazon comes without paddle and backrest for more money). I did ship-to-store which worked well until I found the kayak had been damaged in transit. Walmart was great about the return though and I would buy it from them again.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Charidea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very stable kayak for leisurely fun.
7/21/2011

Customer review by sinsheim56

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by sinsheim56
by sinsheim56

I live close to a lake and just wanted something for a relaxing time on the water. This certainly filled the bill. It is easy to transport. It fits in my Chevy Blazer, I just keep the hatch window open. It has a nice cargo space where you can put a small cooler, and the included back support has a nice storage pocket. I liked it so much I bought another one for my son. It's a really fun way to get some upper arm exercise. It paddles really nicely. You wouldn't win a race in it, but that's not what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (50) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sinsheim56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very fun
9/28/2011

Customer review by WHJohn

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by WHJohn
by WHJohn

I am writing virtually the same review for this kayak and the dragonfly moorea as they are identical except for the seat and color. This has been a perfect starter kayak for our family and it is an exceptional value. The kayak is on the slow side and it does not track perfectly. Both of those are no big deal for use. What is important is stability. It is almost impossible to tip this over, and if you do fall/jump out it is easy to pull yourself back on as the rear of the kayak is specifically designed for that. We like the included paddle, but as new kayakers we do not have much comparison. This thing can handle an average adult and a kid no problem, which is great for us. My eight year old and even my five year old can handle this kayak on their own. Another benefit of the sit on top style of this kayak is that they are designed to stack for easy transportation. It really could not be much easier to stack them on the car and strap them down. It does, though take a little strength. I will say that I like the seat of the dragonfly moorea a little better. I can make this seat comfortable, but it takes some adjustment. Also the moorea seat has a watertight storage area built into the seat. This is an awesome kayak at a great price and is perfect for family recreational use.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHJohn
Westwood Hills, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Pretty good kayak at this price point
7/14/2013

Customer review by TexanBill

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by TexanBill
by TexanBill

Pros: Can Withstand Use, Versatile, Fun, Easy To Use, CustomizableBest Uses: Flat RiversBottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend Very stable, not likely to tip. Not super quick, but it does move along. Tracks reasonably well on a quiet river. Only complaint is the strap seat that comes with the kayak. Kept slipping down my back, so it never really provides the support I need. My back hurt!So... my solution was to order a high back seat with cushion. Still awaiting delivery, but I anticipate this seat will hopefully make the ride much more comfortable. I do like that it is only 8 foot long and the back end is flat so I was able to easily stack it up against the wall in my garage for storage. I love how the designers put a handle on the side of the kayak to carry. Makes is much easier to get from my truck to the river by myself, even if I have to walk across a parking lot. Has cup hold between legs. Just be aware that an open cup will get water splashed into it from the paddles. Nice blue color. I recommend get a short piece of rope, say 6 feet long and attach to the front of the boat. Use it to hold onto the boat when climbing back onto land. This will keep the boat from floating away!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexanBill
Coppell, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good value kayak for a beginner
4/23/2014

Customer review by Walmartgirl0203

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Walmartgirl0203
by Walmartgirl0203

I am a 59 year old woman who was looking for a basic kayak that was reasonably priced, easy to use, stable, light enough I could carry it by myself, and get it in and out of our Yukon by myself. The Lotus has met all my expectations. There's a "grip" in the center of the kayak where you can grab it and carry it. It's a little awkward and I wouldn't want to carry it long distances, but I can get it in and out of the car without help and carry it to the water. It weighs 38 pounds. There's also a short handle at the front to help pull it out of the water. The kayak was easy to get into and I felt it was stable. I weigh 150 pounds and it held me just fine. I'm a novice kayaker and had no problems getting used to using the included paddle. I plan on using this on calm days to cruise around our lake having fun. The kayak came with one scupper plug. I didn't really have any problem with much water coming up through the open scupper holes. You can order additional plugs online if you want them. You do get wet some, but it's more from water splashing on you while paddling. The open scupper holes help drain any water that gets into the kayak. I'm pleased with this kayak and feel it was good value for the money. Free shipping to my walmart, so I picked it up there. I was somewhat concerned of possible damage due to experiences of some other reviewers. Mine arrived in perfect shape. It was in a plastic bag so didn't really provide much protection, but maybe they are being more careful. We checked it over closely before taking it home to make sure.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartgirl0203
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Beginners Kayak - calm or slow moving water
8/21/2011

Customer review by jpbaker2177

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by jpbaker2177
by jpbaker2177

A great beginners kayak for flat water or slow moving river water. I weigh 245lbs and it works fine for me. It is slower than the longer and more streamline kayaks but at 1/3rd the price it works fine for my needs. It is not designed for white water so if you are looking for high adventure spend more money and get a kayak suitable for those conditions. My wife and I did a 10 mile trip on a local scenic river at low water volume and the kayak performed very well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpbaker2177
Dayton Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Kayak for a beginner, child, or anyone!
5/23/2012

Customer review by elllliemayyyy

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by elllliemayyyy
by elllliemayyyy

Great kayak, easy to paddle, VERY stable. I can stand up on this kayak, which should say something about the stability of it. I chose this kayak because I saw the reviews about its stability and the fact that it's pretty easy to get back on even in the water. I am a very clumsy and unbalanced person so this kayak is perfect for me. The paddle and backrest came with it which was a huge plus. For some reason the scupper plugs were not included......I like the scupper plugs because the water will splash through the drain holes without them, although it will not sink the kayak, it will allow you to get wet. The only thing I do not like about this kayak is that it is kind of slow. That doesn't matter if you are just wanting to cruise around though. It is also very easy to control. A child could easily take this kayak for a ride. Overall this is a very good kayak. I would definitly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elllliemayyyy
Rincon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great lake kayak for beginners and families
8/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I wanted 4 kayaks for a 5'4" 120 lb woman, a 6' 210 man and 2 kids ages 13 and 10 without breaking the bank. We live in the midwest, so quiet lakes in State Parks are our destination. It was great to get the paddles, and back rest included as well. We had them shipped to our local Walmart free. We were in and out faster than a normal checkout...15 minutes from parking to leaving the lot and the staff helped us load them. We got them registered with the state and life jackets and went to backcountry.com to get a carrier for 4 kayaks. I achieved my goal of getting my family all outdoors having fun. We love them. We couldn't even wait for the carrier to get here. We took out the van seats, tied all four kayaks in the back of my van, bungying the door, put the kids and dad in our second car, and drove over to christen them. I'm very happy with our purchase. My husband feels comfortable with it with his size. He does sit lower in the water, but by no means looks like he is going to sink. The weight limit seems to be right on. I am very happy with our purchase. Ours were $178 a piece in Aug of 2011. Great deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
8/16/2011

Customer review by CanadianCustomer

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by CanadianCustomer
by CanadianCustomer

This is my first purchase through walmart.com and I was delighted. I got the product for an exceptionally good price and when the price dropped even more before I picked it up, walmart honored the discount. If you are a pro kayaker perhaps this watercraft won't suit you, but for the novice, it's great. Sturdy, lightweight and attractive, it's a great little kayak. The backrest and paddles that walmart throws in ensure you can get started on a fun ride right away. I'm thinking of getting another one when the price goes back down to the one I bought it at.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanadianCustomer
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I Love This Kayak!!
9/5/2012

Customer review by gaveup777

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by gaveup777
by gaveup777

Thanks to all the reviews that everyone else wrote, I knew exactly what I was getting and what I was in for. I talked to people who paid almost 200.00 for a used kayak yet could not keep their eyes off of mine! And then I told them what I paid and that it included paddle and back support. I agree that it should be shipped in a box, but I put some scratches on it anyway traveling with it etc. This was the first kayak I ever owned and I truly love it. I would choose it again in a heartbeat. I can sit in a number of positions while cruising along on the lake. It has room for everything I need to bring with me.( Including my little dog.) And the paddle is good quality. Not cheap plastic. Beginner or pro it rocks and it's comfy!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaveup777
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's like rowing a brick.
6/25/2014

Customer review by heo9542

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by heo9542
by heo9542

We bought this kayak for our 9 year old daughter who wanted to go it on the water with my wife and I. Within 15 minutes we noticed something wasn't quite right. She found no matter how hard she tried she could not keep up. My wife traded kayaks and had the same problem, it's like paddling a brick through the water. It takes twice as much effort to move this thing than a normal kayak. Avoid this thing like the plauge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heo9542
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
This is a great great kayak for adults and kids!
6/1/2012

Customer review by FellowKayaker

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by FellowKayaker
by FellowKayaker

If you are thinking of getting this do so, It is really stable and rides great. Thanks to Walmart, this was sent to the store for pick up. That was a selling point for me, and it made it possible to me to buy it. You can put a sail in this kayak, which is a really cool thing too. Now my family wants to kayak all the time rather than me trying to talk everyone into to kayaking. The kayak arrived at the store in excellent condition and it arrived really fast which was a bonus.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FellowKayaker
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love my Kayak
8/22/2011

Customer review by phoffer961

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by phoffer961
by phoffer961

I bought this kayak about two weeks ago. I have enjoyed using the kayak several times already! I am 6' 2" and 259 pounds and the boat holds me fine! I didn't sink! This is not a speed burner but it works very well! I feel very comfortable on it and I do not feel like I will tip over. The boat sits high enough out of water so I am pretty dry. This is my first kayak and I am very happy to have it. I live near Long Island sound and I am able to go pretty much everyday if i want. I have hit light waves so far with no issues. I am very happy with my purchase. I did ship to store and the kayak had a few scrapes but nothing deal breaking. Walmart is very good and will take it back if you are not happy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phoffer961
Milford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/22/2012

Customer review by Arkieoldsters

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Arkieoldsters
by Arkieoldsters

Before we purchased 2 of these kayaks we read all of the reviews. All reviews were good and we agree with the stability, ease of use, storage, transportation, good quality of product, etc. We are in our late 60's and have no problem transporting or lifting the lightweight kayaks into our pickup truck. My husband has severe arthritis in his knees and the open kayak enables him to get in and out of the kayak without undue stress on his knees. There are several small rivers and lakes in our area that are great for canoes and kayaks and this Lifetime Lotus is just perfect for a comfortable, relaxing afternoon on the water. We are very, very pleased with this product. The free delivery to our local Wal Mart was so easy and quick.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arkieoldsters
Mtn. Home, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
All The Kayak I Need
9/14/2012

Customer review by MakinNoise

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by MakinNoise
by MakinNoise

I was afraid that this would be more of a toy than a real kayak, but that's not the case. I'm a woman in my early 50s & I decided to buy a recreational kayak after borrowing a friend's a few times at the beach. I wanted something relatively lightweight so I could load it into my SUV by myself & at 38 lbs. this is about as light as they come. I haven't tried loading it on the roof rack of my truck yet (I think I'll have my 6'2" husband standing by just in case). "Real" kayakers may scoff at the built in handle on the side but it makes moving this thing a lot easier. You can't beat the price here & the Ship-To-Store was great. I tracked the shipment as the delivery truck made its way across the country from the manufacturer. I was even able to order the kayak online then go to my local WalMart to pay for it in cash, so I don't load up my credit card. I'm very pleased all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MakinNoise
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Family Kayak
8/13/2011

Customer review by Kayaks4familyndog

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Kayaks4familyndog
by Kayaks4familyndog

Great Kayak for our family of 4 and a dog- We got two and they have enough room for an adult and kid in each and space for our dog plus space for our bags and cooler. Took Kayaks to the lake today and had a blast with the family- nice and easy to paddle down the lake. Light to place on top of my Xterra SUV and thanks to the pre-set holes- I can tie-down the Kayaks to my rack without no issues. Price was at $178- Great price for a Kayak with back rest and paddle.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kayaks4familyndog
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You'll like this!
6/13/2012

Customer review by wagmu

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by wagmu
by wagmu

Really nice, very easy for me to handle. I am 66 year old woman and I can load and unload this kayak and get it safely in and out of the water. Easy for me to get on and off. Not at all tippy. Not real good in the wind with rough water, but otherwise just what I wanted. Tracks well in calmer conditions.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wagmu
Mt. Shasta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Use as a SUP or Kayak
5/30/2013

Customer review by SMLboater2

4.0 stars 5/30/2013 by SMLboater2
by SMLboater2

Have used this in a variety of ways from basic sit down kayaking, to paddling while on knees, to stand up paddleboarding. Used some packaging material to cut out additional styrofoam scupper plugs to plug all the holes. May buy an actual SUP paddle to use with it. Wish it had a handle on the back of the boat.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMLboater2
SML, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
NICE KAYAK, GREAT PRICE
8/23/2011

Customer review by BCII

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by BCII
by BCII

I looked around quite a bit before deciding to order a kayak online. The kayak itself is nice, exactly as pictured and a good bargain. I do take exception to the way it was packaged for shipment. It was basically in a big plastic bag which offered no protection to the rigors of shipping. My kayaks (2) both arrived scratched and dinged up, which I why I gave it a "3" for meeting expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BCII
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews