Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 73 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 70 reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great sit on kayak for being out on Lake Cherokee
7/31/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have both a good sit in and good sit on. Grandchildren coming so needed one more so everyone could have their own. The reviews on line for this one were sort of all over the place. But overall it seemed folks would buy it again. I was able to have it sent directly to my local Walmart and it arrived before the promised date. No damage or problems at all (which some reviews spoke to having). I was actually able to get it in my Murano although the front touched the dash. But as single woman, love to be able to get it myself. Got it in the water, and it is sweet. I used one of my good paddles as think paddle not the best, but probably ok. Had a little trouble, out on the water, getting the seat to sit up more, but I accomplished. Took it for a spin and because it is flat and light, it went right over some rather shallow places. i was happy with that. Overall, love it and will probably use it myself over the much more expensive, and heavy to get down to lake ones.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty good kayak at this price point
7/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: Can Withstand Use, Versatile, Fun, Easy To Use, CustomizableBest Uses: Flat RiversBottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend Very stable, not likely to tip. Not super quick, but it does move along. Tracks reasonably well on a quiet river. Only complaint is the strap seat that comes with the kayak. Kept slipping down my back, so it never really provides the support I need. My back hurt!So... my solution was to order a high back seat with cushion. Still awaiting delivery, but I anticipate this seat will hopefully make the ride much more comfortable. I do like that it is only 8 foot long and the back end is flat so I was able to easily stack it up against the wall in my garage for storage. I love how the designers put a handle on the side of the kayak to carry. Makes is much easier to get from my truck to the river by myself, even if I have to walk across a parking lot. Has cup hold between legs. Just be aware that an open cup will get water splashed into it from the paddles. Nice blue color. I recommend get a short piece of rope, say 6 feet long and attach to the front of the boat. Use it to hold onto the boat when climbing back onto land. This will keep the boat from floating away!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very stable kayak for leisurely fun.
7/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live close to a lake and just wanted something for a relaxing time on the water. This certainly filled the bill. It is easy to transport. It fits in my Chevy Blazer, I just keep the hatch window open. It has a nice cargo space where you can put a small cooler, and the included back support has a nice storage pocket. I liked it so much I bought another one for my son. It's a really fun way to get some upper arm exercise. It paddles really nicely. You wouldn't win a race in it, but that's not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kids love them
7/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to transport, with the way they stack. Kids love them [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
slow but steady
7/6/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kayak was a little heavier then I expected, without a handle at the back it was slippery to carry.any distance. Very stable, when with other 8 foot kayaks whoever is on this one will be lagging behind. It doesnt go through the water as fast as the other ones that are more streamline in their design. If you are not going far or not with other different kayaks then its great. I even tried standing on it and i was abl to. Its a beautiful color and came with a really nice paddle. I now have a different sit on kayak that goes through the water as fast as the sit on kayak. The sit on kayak Is my favourite. Your not confined and it has a more free and rustic feel. Better for sun tanning and little passengers. So if you have help getting it to the water or your a guy, dont mind putting some extra effort into paddeling it, the sit ON kayak is fantastic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to store
4/17/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Kayak can stand up in condo! Kayak stable in ocean waves just let wave wash over kayak it will drain. Negatives no rear holder and very slow when paddling. Positives stability weight and size
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this kayak to replace a 9'6" sit-in I sold last year. I wanted something I could stand up inside the house to save space (check), fit in the back of my explorer without leaving the tailgate open (check), had good storage (check), was easy to carry (check), and was stable (check) and didn't cost a ton (double check). I actually use this as a fishing kayak. I added an anchor in front and milk crate with rod holders on back. Thanks to all the pre-installed deck loops I didn't have to drill into the kayak at all (HUGE plus)! Now with the milk crate, I can carry two rods, tackle box, life jacket, dry bag, and 12 quart cooler. The kayak performed exactly as I expected. It was very stable and quite comfortable with the back rest. The free paddle was also of good quality. It is not fast (and I did not expect it to be) but it gets the job done. This was the absolute perfect kayak for me. The layout with the deck loops, built in handle and storage trays, etc. worked out perfectly. Couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (97)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots of fun and easy to transport!
3/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this with another bigger emotion kayak from lifetime as an anniversary gift. I really have love how easy it is to steer and use. It's light enough that I can pack it and load it on the car. It is really stable ( held two laughing 8 year olds without tipping). It has held up really well and is almost a year old and the color is still bright (no sun fading) and the back rest looks new. I would definitely recommend getting one of these!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Kayak for a beginner, child, or anyone!
5/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great kayak, easy to paddle, VERY stable. I can stand up on this kayak, which should say something about the stability of it. I chose this kayak because I saw the reviews about its stability and the fact that it's pretty easy to get back on even in the water. I am a very clumsy and unbalanced person so this kayak is perfect for me. The paddle and backrest came with it which was a huge plus. For some reason the scupper plugs were not included......I like the scupper plugs because the water will splash through the drain holes without them, although it will not sink the kayak, it will allow you to get wet. The only thing I do not like about this kayak is that it is kind of slow. That doesn't matter if you are just wanting to cruise around though. It is also very easy to control. A child could easily take this kayak for a ride. Overall this is a very good kayak. I would definitly recommend!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very fun
9/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am writing virtually the same review for this kayak and the dragonfly moorea as they are identical except for the seat and color. This has been a perfect starter kayak for our family and it is an exceptional value. The kayak is on the slow side and it does not track perfectly. Both of those are no big deal for use. What is important is stability. It is almost impossible to tip this over, and if you do fall/jump out it is easy to pull yourself back on as the rear of the kayak is specifically designed for that. We like the included paddle, but as new kayakers we do not have much comparison. This thing can handle an average adult and a kid no problem, which is great for us. My eight year old and even my five year old can handle this kayak on their own. Another benefit of the sit on top style of this kayak is that they are designed to stack for easy transportation. It really could not be much easier to stack them on the car and strap them down. It does, though take a little strength. I will say that I like the seat of the dragonfly moorea a little better. I can make this seat comfortable, but it takes some adjustment. Also the moorea seat has a watertight storage area built into the seat. This is an awesome kayak at a great price and is perfect for family recreational use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All The Kayak I Need
9/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was afraid that this would be more of a toy than a real kayak, but that's not the case. I'm a woman in my early 50s & I decided to buy a recreational kayak after borrowing a friend's a few times at the beach. I wanted something relatively lightweight so I could load it into my SUV by myself & at 38 lbs. this is about as light as they come. I haven't tried loading it on the roof rack of my truck yet (I think I'll have my 6'2" husband standing by just in case). "Real" kayakers may scoff at the built in handle on the side but it makes moving this thing a lot easier. You can't beat the price here & the Ship-To-Store was great. I tracked the shipment as the delivery truck made its way across the country from the manufacturer. I was even able to order the kayak online then go to my local WalMart to pay for it in cash, so I don't load up my credit card. I'm very pleased all the way around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great lake kayak for beginners and families
8/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted 4 kayaks for a 5'4" 120 lb woman, a 6' 210 man and 2 kids ages 13 and 10 without breaking the bank. We live in the midwest, so quiet lakes in State Parks are our destination. It was great to get the paddles, and back rest included as well. We had them shipped to our local Walmart free. We were in and out faster than a normal checkout...15 minutes from parking to leaving the lot and the staff helped us load them. We got them registered with the state and life jackets and went to backcountry.com to get a carrier for 4 kayaks. I achieved my goal of getting my family all outdoors having fun. We love them. We couldn't even wait for the carrier to get here. We took out the van seats, tied all four kayaks in the back of my van, bungying the door, put the kids and dad in our second car, and drove over to christen them. I'm very happy with our purchase. My husband feels comfortable with it with his size. He does sit lower in the water, but by no means looks like he is going to sink. The weight limit seems to be right on. I am very happy with our purchase. Ours were $178 a piece in Aug of 2011. Great deal for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value kayak for a beginner
4/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a 59 year old woman who was looking for a basic kayak that was reasonably priced, easy to use, stable, light enough I could carry it by myself, and get it in and out of our Yukon by myself. The Lotus has met all my expectations. There's a "grip" in the center of the kayak where you can grab it and carry it. It's a little awkward and I wouldn't want to carry it long distances, but I can get it in and out of the car without help and carry it to the water. It weighs 38 pounds. There's also a short handle at the front to help pull it out of the water. The kayak was easy to get into and I felt it was stable. I weigh 150 pounds and it held me just fine. I'm a novice kayaker and had no problems getting used to using the included paddle. I plan on using this on calm days to cruise around our lake having fun. The kayak came with one scupper plug. I didn't really have any problem with much water coming up through the open scupper holes. You can order additional plugs online if you want them. You do get wet some, but it's more from water splashing on you while paddling. The open scupper holes help drain any water that gets into the kayak. I'm pleased with this kayak and feel it was good value for the money. Free shipping to my walmart, so I picked it up there. I was somewhat concerned of possible damage due to experiences of some other reviewers. Mine arrived in perfect shape. It was in a plastic bag so didn't really provide much protection, but maybe they are being more careful. We checked it over closely before taking it home to make sure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product great value
6/29/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I appreciated the value of this item (the same product at amazon comes without paddle and backrest for more money). I did ship-to-store which worked well until I found the kayak had been damaged in transit. Walmart was great about the return though and I would buy it from them again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice low cost beginner kayak for calm waters
9/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Most of the other reviewers were right on target with their reviews of this yak. I have other kayaks and was looking for an inexpensive one to get less experienced members of my family out on the water. The kayak is much more stable than my sit-in yaks. When you first take to the water if you try to lean right and left you will easily feel that there is very little chance of it tipping. My wife went out in a 15-20 mph wind and although the wind made her drift it didn't make her nervous as to possibly tipping. It would certainly be better if it came with a handle in the back as it has in the front. It came with an adjustable backrest which is very comfortable and lightweight break-down paddle. It also comes with one foam plug. However, there are five holes through the hull and unless you want to sit in a puddle of water you'll need to buy plugs for the other four holes. I made plugs out of wine corks and this worked fine. Overall a nice beginner kayak that you are not going to win any speed races in, but, if you're just looking to get someone in the family out in fairly calm waters, then you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Before we purchased 2 of these kayaks we read all of the reviews. All reviews were good and we agree with the stability, ease of use, storage, transportation, good quality of product, etc. We are in our late 60's and have no problem transporting or lifting the lightweight kayaks into our pickup truck. My husband has severe arthritis in his knees and the open kayak enables him to get in and out of the kayak without undue stress on his knees. There are several small rivers and lakes in our area that are great for canoes and kayaks and this Lifetime Lotus is just perfect for a comfortable, relaxing afternoon on the water. We are very, very pleased with this product. The free delivery to our local Wal Mart was so easy and quick.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love my Kayak
8/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this kayak about two weeks ago. I have enjoyed using the kayak several times already! I am 6' 2" and 259 pounds and the boat holds me fine! I didn't sink! This is not a speed burner but it works very well! I feel very comfortable on it and I do not feel like I will tip over. The boat sits high enough out of water so I am pretty dry. This is my first kayak and I am very happy to have it. I live near Long Island sound and I am able to go pretty much everyday if i want. I have hit light waves so far with no issues. I am very happy with my purchase. I did ship to store and the kayak had a few scrapes but nothing deal breaking. Walmart is very good and will take it back if you are not happy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I Love This Kayak!!
9/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Thanks to all the reviews that everyone else wrote, I knew exactly what I was getting and what I was in for. I talked to people who paid almost 200.00 for a used kayak yet could not keep their eyes off of mine! And then I told them what I paid and that it included paddle and back support. I agree that it should be shipped in a box, but I put some scratches on it anyway traveling with it etc. This was the first kayak I ever owned and I truly love it. I would choose it again in a heartbeat. I can sit in a number of positions while cruising along on the lake. It has room for everything I need to bring with me.( Including my little dog.) And the paddle is good quality. Not cheap plastic. Beginner or pro it rocks and it's comfy!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Beginners Kayak - calm or slow moving water
8/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A great beginners kayak for flat water or slow moving river water. I weigh 245lbs and it works fine for me. It is slower than the longer and more streamline kayaks but at 1/3rd the price it works fine for my needs. It is not designed for white water so if you are looking for high adventure spend more money and get a kayak suitable for those conditions. My wife and I did a 10 mile trip on a local scenic river at low water volume and the kayak performed very well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is a great great kayak for adults and kids!
6/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If you are thinking of getting this do so, It is really stable and rides great. Thanks to Walmart, this was sent to the store for pick up. That was a selling point for me, and it made it possible to me to buy it. You can put a sail in this kayak, which is a really cool thing too. Now my family wants to kayak all the time rather than me trying to talk everyone into to kayaking. The kayak arrived at the store in excellent condition and it arrived really fast which was a bonus.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642840, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-