Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

53 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 52 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Great Replacement!
12/20/2016

Customer review by AceW

5.0 stars 12/20/2016 by AceW
by AceW

My home was built in 1998. I had replaced most of the smoke alarms with new ones but have since ran out of the old design ones I had on hand. My old alarms had a three plug in with two on one side and one on the other side. I was unable to find any replacement and didn't really want to re-wire new ones. I came across these and the reviews indicated it came with adapters which would work. I took a trip to my local Wal-Mart to view and thought I would give one a try. This unit came with two different adapters and one of them worked with my old wiring. All I had to do was change the back-plate. (Loosen 2 screw, remove old one, install new one using same 2 screws) Plug adapter onto unit and plug unit into my wiring. Easy and simple and I was really glad I didn't have to re-wire and etc. I thought the price was great and it's working just fine. I couldn't be any happier!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AceW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replace 7 old smoke detectors with these....
6/25/2016

Customer review by LeeNC

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by LeeNC
by LeeNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had 7 smoke detectors that were over 10 years old that needed replacing. The old model was long discontinued, but a little research found that this model was the recommended replacement. These units include an adapter that allowed a drop-fit replacement of the old units without the need to rewire. I did have to replace the old bases with the new, but this was easily done by loosening the two existing screws in each junction box, removing the old base, and installing the new. The new detectors also come with a nine-volt battery.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great replacement for older unit
12/15/2016

Customer review by Peldawg

5.0 stars 12/15/2016 by Peldawg
by Peldawg

Unit came with an adapter for older units,just like the unit I was replacing , making install quick and easy, in about five minutes. If you own an older Firex unit this is the best option for you.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peldawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ideal replacement
8/2/2014

Customer review by cootk

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by cootk
by cootk

This is THE model that you need to replace those 10-year old Hard-wired Kiddes so popular with new construction early 2000's. No rewiring the base, no pigtail adapter to use, perfect match to early Kidde connectors. New battery INCLUDED! Changing the base just takes loosening two screws, removing old base, reinstalling new base, attach connectors and "twisting" new unit into the base. 5 minutes max. Oh, don't forget to test the new Alarm.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cootk
Troy AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Very good alarms
12/27/2013

Customer review by Rebel2012

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Rebel2012
by Rebel2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought these to replace an older model of Kiddie alarms. Figured I would have to some rewiring but these came with adapter for plug on my old ones installed 5 of them in just a few minutes.. Very easy and simple

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rebel2012
Palmer, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to install with included adapters
3/4/2016

Customer review by KentuckyCashier

5.0 stars 3/4/2016 by KentuckyCashier
by KentuckyCashier

I had purchased one in the store to find out if this alarm would work in the connections in my hardwired system. My house is 19 years old. Because the store didn't have enough for my whole house, I ordered five more to replace all the alarms in the whole house. The process took about ten minutes per alarm. If a 69 year old woman could do the job. it should be easy for almost anyone.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KentuckyCashier
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replaced a Different Brand Alarm
12/3/2016

Customer review by Accurate1

5.0 stars 12/3/2016 by Accurate1
by Accurate1

The wiring connector change out was easy using the provided plug. A typical 3 wire electrical connection.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Accurate1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy install
10/30/2016

Customer review by Beachcomber24

5.0 stars 10/30/2016 by Beachcomber24
by Beachcomber24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy install, I replaced four 8 year old Kiddie hard wired units. The new units come with a 9V battery, backplate for mounting, and wiring connector. I was able to use old wiring connector, so I just replaced old, yellowing backplate by loosening 2 screws, then put in new backplate, connected the new alarm unit, and twisted it onto the backplate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachcomber24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoke detector
11/12/2016

Customer review by USC83

5.0 stars 11/12/2016 by USC83
by USC83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exact replacement for 12 year old units. Very easy installation of seven detectors. Used existing screws from old ones. Plug and play. Nice to have battery door on the front.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USC83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy for me to hook up
6/5/2011

Customer review by MVR1963

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by MVR1963
by MVR1963

My place was already wired up for it. I did have to change the base plate but just had to remove two screws and I was done.Plan on buying more.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MVR1963
Waynesville,Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Kidde Hardwire Smoke Alarm I4618
3/18/2017

Customer review by CarolannLittlepaul

4.0 stars 3/18/2017 by CarolannLittlepaul
by CarolannLittlepaul
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a repeat purchase because Kidde makes it very easy 2 replace older smoke detectors with more current version by providing the adapter kit. Kudos 2 Kidde. JCP

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolannLittlepaul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
3/13/2017

Customer review by TomY

5.0 stars 3/13/2017 by TomY
by TomY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good price & great service

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great and Easy Setup
10/15/2013

Customer review by Gemsroadwarrior

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by Gemsroadwarrior
by Gemsroadwarrior
Top 1000 contributor

Two of my installed wired alarms had begun to wear down after over 11 years of service. This same brand, but a much older model. I bought two of these and was able to replace them within less than a minute. The plugs on my old model matched these new alarms perfectly. They have been installed for over a year now and are working great. I plan to go ahead and upgrade the rest of my alarms before they are not effective.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemsroadwarrior
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Top 1000 contributor
Good product!
2/1/2014

Customer review by Ubrales

4.0 stars 2/1/2014 by Ubrales
by Ubrales
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Good product - good pricing! Good appearance! Cons: The 110VAC adapter was very difficult to align and install in the unit. Under normal circumstances this part should snap-in into the housing, but even with a pair of pliers and a great amount of force this part was hard to insert. (Manufacturer please note!).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ubrales
Midwest US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kidde Hardwire Smoke Alarm I4618
1/17/2016

Customer review by BDCrabber

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by BDCrabber
by BDCrabber

Online order arrived faster at store than expected in excellent condition. A replacement and slight upgrade for similar older model, extremely simple procedure.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BDCrabber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kidde Hardwire Smoke Alarm 14618
8/4/2016

Customer review by MommaMish

4.0 stars 8/4/2016 by MommaMish
by MommaMish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought these to replace my existing ones which were over 10 years old. They were an easy install and fit on the existing hook up but did need to replace the old ceiling rings with new ones as they didn't fit on the old ones. Easy fix.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaMish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New Smoke Alarms
1/21/2017

Customer review by JimS

5.0 stars 1/21/2017 by JimS
by JimS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read many of the reviews before buying 6 new smoke alarms for my house. Most of the reviews commented on the fact that this new alarm included a 'plug adapter' which fit to the existing wiring. This meant that I did not have to rewire all the existing smoke alarm outlets. Instead, I inserted the existing plug into the 'converter' and then the converted snapped into the new alarm. I cannot believe how easy this made the whole process!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well
5/6/2016

Customer review by NMBSC

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by NMBSC
by NMBSC

Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NMBSC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Guest Reader for PJ Day Dec 22nd
1/29/2017

Customer review by poppapdopolis

4.0 stars 1/29/2017 by poppapdopolis
by poppapdopolis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works good and easy to install

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poppapdopolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product as described
1/28/2017

Customer review by mickey

4.0 stars 1/28/2017 by mickey
by mickey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

easy to install, product as described

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mickey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews