Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.9out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 | 56 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 55 reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Great Replacement!
12/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My home was built in 1998. I had replaced most of the smoke alarms with new ones but have since ran out of the old design ones I had on hand. My old alarms had a three plug in with two on one side and one on the other side. I was unable to find any replacement and didn't really want to re-wire new ones. I came across these and the reviews indicated it came with adapters which would work. I took a trip to my local Wal-Mart to view and thought I would give one a try. This unit came with two different adapters and one of them worked with my old wiring. All I had to do was change the back-plate. (Loosen 2 screw, remove old one, install new one using same 2 screws) Plug adapter onto unit and plug unit into my wiring. Easy and simple and I was really glad I didn't have to re-wire and etc. I thought the price was great and it's working just fine. I couldn't be any happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replace 7 old smoke detectors with these....
6/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had 7 smoke detectors that were over 10 years old that needed replacing. The old model was long discontinued, but a little research found that this model was the recommended replacement. These units include an adapter that allowed a drop-fit replacement of the old units without the need to rewire. I did have to replace the old bases with the new, but this was easily done by loosening the two existing screws in each junction box, removing the old base, and installing the new. The new detectors also come with a nine-volt battery.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ideal replacement
8/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is THE model that you need to replace those 10-year old Hard-wired Kiddes so popular with new construction early 2000's. No rewiring the base, no pigtail adapter to use, perfect match to early Kidde connectors. New battery INCLUDED! Changing the base just takes loosening two screws, removing old base, reinstalling new base, attach connectors and "twisting" new unit into the base. 5 minutes max. Oh, don't forget to test the new Alarm.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good alarms
12/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought these to replace an older model of Kiddie alarms. Figured I would have to some rewiring but these came with adapter for plug on my old ones installed 5 of them in just a few minutes.. Very easy and simple
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to install with included adapters
3/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had purchased one in the store to find out if this alarm would work in the connections in my hardwired system. My house is 19 years old. Because the store didn't have enough for my whole house, I ordered five more to replace all the alarms in the whole house. The process took about ten minutes per alarm. If a 69 year old woman could do the job. it should be easy for almost anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy for me to hook up
6/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My place was already wired up for it. I did have to change the base plate but just had to remove two screws and I was done.Plan on buying more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great replacement for older unit
12/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unit came with an adapter for older units,just like the unit I was replacing , making install quick and easy, in about five minutes. If you own an older Firex unit this is the best option for you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy replacement for Firex "AD" units
8/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These were an easy replacement for the Firex Model AD smoke detectors I had in my 1997 built home, as they did include the "K-AF" adapter (it is the only adapter included). As stated, it also includes the hardwire harness (I didn't use those). Just to be clear, these were purchased through Jet.com Installed all 6 in about a half hour and have not had any issues since. As always, Jet shipped them quickly and they arrived a day earlier than expected. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replacement Alarm
5/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ease of replacement was a joy! All I had to do was swap out ceiling plate by loosening two screws, plug in new adapter and replace! Total swap took less than 5 minutes. I had old kidde alarm from 2001 and thought it would be a time consuming chore. Worth the price for your peace of mind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No-brainer for older Firex replacement
6/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Smoke detectors are not reliable after 10 years. At this price it's irresponsible not to replace them. As others have noted, the wiring adapter makes it a "snap" (sorry about that). The adapter was a nice surprise because when I called Kidde to inquire about a compatible replacement, the customer service rep didn't know about the adaptor so he told me I'd have to change the harness (not a big deal, really, but nice not to have to do so). This a two minute task per detector--loosen two screws, change exchange the mounting ring, tighten the screws, plug the adaptor into the new detector, plug the detector into the current wiring harness, pull the battery current-blocking plastic sheet, and finally, twist the detector onto the mounting ring.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy install
10/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy install, I replaced four 8 year old Kiddie hard wired units. The new units come with a 9V battery, backplate for mounting, and wiring connector. I was able to use old wiring connector, so I just replaced old, yellowing backplate by loosening 2 screws, then put in new backplate, connected the new alarm unit, and twisted it onto the backplate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great and Easy Setup
10/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Two of my installed wired alarms had begun to wear down after over 11 years of service. This same brand, but a much older model. I bought two of these and was able to replace them within less than a minute. The plugs on my old model matched these new alarms perfectly. They have been installed for over a year now and are working great. I plan to go ahead and upgrade the rest of my alarms before they are not effective.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Replaced a Different Brand Alarm
12/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The wiring connector change out was easy using the provided plug. A typical 3 wire electrical connection.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smoke detector
11/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Exact replacement for 12 year old units. Very easy installation of seven detectors. Used existing screws from old ones. Plug and play. Nice to have battery door on the front.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kidde Hardwire Smoke Alarm 14618
8/4/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought these to replace my existing ones which were over 10 years old. They were an easy install and fit on the existing hook up but did need to replace the old ceiling rings with new ones as they didn't fit on the old ones. Easy fix.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product!
2/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Pros: Good product - good pricing! Good appearance! Cons: The 110VAC adapter was very difficult to align and install in the unit. Under normal circumstances this part should snap-in into the housing, but even with a pair of pliers and a great amount of force this part was hard to insert. (Manufacturer please note!).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kidde Hardwire Smoke Alarm I4618
1/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Online order arrived faster at store than expected in excellent condition. A replacement and slight upgrade for similar older model, extremely simple procedure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Installs so easily
9/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
My home had previously been hard-wired w/ 3 interconnected units that had no battery back up. A fire during a power outage could have easily ended up deadly. On removal of the old 20+ y/o units, I found they were also FireX (Kidde) and the old bases were configured the same the new units, so no gaps in my ceiling. Wiring is very simple. I feel much safer with battery back-up and the price can't be beat. Absolutely recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well
5/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to install.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy install
2/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought these wire in smoke alarms to replace my old ones in my home, and they installed very easily!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640676, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-