Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 60 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Cute, colorful but....
7/30/2012

Customer review by Mummylovesherbabyboy

3.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Mummylovesherbabyboy
by Mummylovesherbabyboy

My son got this for his 1st birthday, I was super excited I love leapfrogs toys he has so many but my son just keeps pressing the glowing part on it's head to make it sing the alphabet song mostly he likes the flashing lights. The songs are cutesy and fun and I wih it could be personalised further with him pressing the first,second,third,fourth etc letters of his name, but for me the x is a big let down, but exit really I understand it makes the x sound but my four year old tried to argue with my 10 year old that exit did indeed start with x because the dinosaur said so.... but also every two minutes it says push a letter button and it gets stuck on the letter l or the letter m all the time, even if it hasn't been played for several hours, it freaks me out especially when it goes off in the middle of the night and you go to turn it off but it either stops right before you turn it off or it was never switched on to begin with....

Mummylovesherbabyboy
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great educational toy
5/15/2012

Customer review by Ritsmom

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Ritsmom
by Ritsmom

The toy has 3 different modes: Music, ABC and Colors. In the ABC mode, when you press a letter, it pronounces the letter, then a word associated with it. For eg, when you press C, it says C, Cat, Meow. So the child learns the alphabet and a word simultaneously; and also a few animal sounds. The second time you press the same letter, it just pronounces the letter and the third time you press it, it teaches the letter sound (C says ca). I like the fact that there is a different mode for colors. In the ABC mode, it just reinforces the alphabets, instead of press once you hear an alphabet, press again and you hear a color. That would have been annoying. This is a simple and great educational toy for its price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ritsmom
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Confusing to Kids
6/11/2013

Customer review by OhMyLetty

2.0 stars 6/11/2013 by OhMyLetty
by OhMyLetty

I bought this with high learning expectations. Everything was going great until the latter X was reached. X is for Exit spout out and it started a big fight. X is not for Exit. It can be for X-ray but not Exit. I contacted Leapfog and they just sent a poor excuse in an email back. If it were really about phonetics why is it the only letter with an example that doesn't begin with the letter. If they would have worded it differently by saying " Listen for the X in Exit" or "Hear the X in Exit" I wouldn't have a problem with this toy, but X is for exit implies that Exit starts with X as the other letters. For a child learning words and spelling it is very confusing. Even though she loves the toy I had to take it away. Very disappointed in this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhMyLetty
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
My 10 Month Old Loves this
12/27/2011

Customer review by CherBear29

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by CherBear29
by CherBear29

I got this for my son. He absolutely loves it. He likes the music and the flashing light on the head. Great way to start learning alphabets and colors.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CherBear29
Jefferson, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Learning Tool with Fun in mind
1/3/2012

Customer review by Shar

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Shar
by Shar

The dino is adorable! My 10 month old absolutely loves getting rewarded for pushing his buttons! I have a sister who teaches reading recovery at primary school and she is overjoyed at the word and sound LeapFrog chose for the letter "x" The english language is one of the hardest to learn and I would much prefer my daughter to be able to know what "sound" the letter makes rather than just knowing a word that starts with that letter. (ks) for X is great! At least when she reads words and sounds them out, she'll be able to know that it makes that sound instead of "z" like Xylophone would have them believe. Kudos to you LeapFrog for making an absolutely adorable toy that keeps my daughter involved and she has fun with. She rolls around the floor with it, pressing buttons and giggling and dances to the ABC song. :)

Shar
Melbourne, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great!
12/28/2011

Customer review by Blanchehd

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Blanchehd
by Blanchehd

Was a great gift!!!! we adults played with it before we wrapped it up!!!! it gives you several options for play!! and the kids loved the tunes!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blanchehd
Stoughton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Never disappointed..
3/2/2013

Customer review by emilymud

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by emilymud
by emilymud

First I want to begin my review with the fact that as a TEACHER who has been in the classroom the past 7 years I love LEAP Frog and their learning toys. I have taught Kinder and First grade. Leap Frog has done a great job of understanding how children learn letters and sounds. My daughter got this toy as a gift for her 1st birthday. It is a cute and lighter version of the alphabet caterpillar they use to have. I love that you can make it tell the FIRST letter of your child's name. We mostly have enjoy the music mode...as my daughter likes to sing and dance. But she has recently begun enjoying the letter mode too (14months old now). My take on the X letter and all the complaints I have seen. If you know how children learn letters and sounds then you realize using "exit" to go with x is a good choice. X is a letter that is mostly heard in the middle and end of words...it is not a letter sound you hear that occurs at the beginning of most words. Thus to hear X with exit is the common sound pattern. Again I teach and know that each letter must be introduced in a specific way...allowing children to recognize that sound. I have no issues with the X nor do I think my child will learn incorrectly the sound for X! Thank you Leap Frog for your great work on educational toys...we love them in our house (and classroom)

emilymud
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not impressed
4/15/2012

Customer review by Sandra

2.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Sandra
by Sandra

I received this toy for my daughter for her first birthday. I really liked it at first until I started looking and playing with it more. I do not like the fact there is a color pattern on the front and by the letter "M" it stops. then "N-Z" there is no pattern in the color what so ever. I would have rather this toy teach my daughter the pattern it started with from "A-L". Also, when i switched the the letter learning part. The "X" for Exit really bothers me. For a leapfrog toy to be teaching my child that exit starts with an "X" does not impress me. I love ll leapfrog toys, but this one... not so much.

Sandra
Norristown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the British accent, hate X for exit
11/17/2012

Customer review by ladyrudie

2.0 stars 11/17/2012 by ladyrudie
by ladyrudie

Its a really shame as this should get a really high score but the x for exit bugs me beyond belief. I would not recommend this product due to this fact. X should be x-ray, can't see why that isn't used instead of x for exit. X-ray is used by teachers teaching phonics. Your argument would stand up if all the other letters didn't say words that began with that letter. Also programming it to say "I" is the first letter your name leads everyone to thinking all letters follow the same rules. My daughter plays with it at the moment as she is only 1, but it will be hidden soon as she is starting to talk.

ladyrudie
Kent, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Son Loves It!
1/15/2012

Customer review by Berr1

4.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Berr1
by Berr1

My son loves this dino. He laughs and danced every time it sings the alphabet. I love the words associated with each letter, even the X. I'm not relying on this toy alone to teach my child word structure, sounds and spelling so I'm not worried that he'll think the word "exit" starts with X. That notion is easily corrected and explained when he actually starts spelling about 3 years from now! Children need to have the sounds learned before they can spell, which is what this toy promotes. Just my opinion as a Preschool and Elementary grades teacher, but both myself and my son LOVE this toy!

Berr1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Xit
12/26/2011

Customer review by PeanutsMomma

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by PeanutsMomma
by PeanutsMomma

My 10 month old son just got this as a Christmas present. My first thought was how cute of a toy it was! Not only did it sing him the letters and it worked with colors as well! With so many new toys this Christmas we finally got around to playing with the letterasuarus today. I wanted to hear what each letter was before I programed his name in on his letter and was pretty suprised by the variety of words and sounds with each letter....UNTIL we got to X. Last I checked EXIT does NOT begin with X. That ruined the toy right there. =( And I still can't find where to program the toy at!!!

PeanutsMomma
Would recommend to a friend? No
cute toy
2/7/2012

Customer review by TNMom1

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by TNMom1
by TNMom1

We love all LeapFrog toys we have so far. In reference to several other reviews, I like that the "x" uses the word "exit." My son is only 15 months old and saying the letter x and then a word that doesn't use that sound wouldn't make sense at this point. This one word on one toy is certainly not going to harm his ability to learn to read or write. I like that it has three settings. Right now my son loves music so that is his favorite setting, and I'm sure as he gets older the colors and letters will be more interesting. It would be fun if it said his whole name like Scout does.

TNMom1
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exit does not begin with the letter "E"
1/16/2014

Customer review by MamiTrice1108

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by MamiTrice1108
by MamiTrice1108

I think this is a fun and educational toy and I love that I could customize it to recognize the first letter of my son's name. However once my 14 month old presses the letter "X" according to lettersaurus , this is the first letter of Exit, followed by the sound of a door shutting, I find it slightly less educational. I'm not sure who was involved in the engineering of this product but the word "xylophone" accompanied by a short tune or the word "X-ray" accompanied by zapping sound would have made much more sense. Other than that I find it enjoyable.

MamiTrice1108
Would recommend to a friend? No
X for Exit
6/14/2012

Customer review by chrissie20071

3.0 stars 6/14/2012 by chrissie20071
by chrissie20071

I think this product is brilliant quality and good for what its meant to be used for which is basically learning letters sounds and colours, and it has plenty of things for a child to press and listen to but the one thing that REALLY lets it down is the fact that every letter has a word associated with it that actually starts with that letter, were as X doesn't which i think would become very confusing for a child learning new words and sounds, as the lettersaurus indicates that Exit is spelt Xit, leapfrog really should have used a word like x ray.

chrissie20071
Dartford, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
product concern
4/17/2012

Customer review by avie

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by avie
by avie

a nephew of mine received a Lettersaurus as a presence and because we find it educational and my child tend to like it we bought another one, the toy is really good it just we just find out that the letter X has an erroneous concern and will surely confuse a child with it's X - exit, due to this I don't let my child play the said portion of the toy anymore, hope you can address this concern for the benefit of the children who really are enjoying the said toy. Do want to recommend with my friends but double-minded due to said concern.

avie
Ph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute with one flaw!
7/8/2011

Customer review by Misty

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Misty
by Misty

We have owned the caterpillars in the past and loved them. So I thought my twin boys would love this dinosaur. It is great . . . except for the x. All the letter buttons say the letter with one press of the button, say the sound with the second press, and say a word that starts with that letter on the third press. But for x, it says "exit." I know it's not a huge deal, but I wish there was a word that starts with an x in that spot rather than exit. No, my kids won't go dumb because of it . . . but it is rather annoying!!!

Misty
Georgetown, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
X for Exit!
5/17/2012

Customer review by CSH227

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by CSH227
by CSH227

Thought this toy was excellent until my husband returned home and started playing with it and pressed the letter X and it stated Exit as the word! The packaging is misleading and not a true reflection of the product, i.e. 'push its letter to hear a name, sound and A WORD THAT BEGINS WITH THE LETTER'. Very confusing for a child. I purchased two, one for my daughter and another for our godsons first birthday but thankfully I only purchased today therefore will be making a quick trip to return them to the shop tomorrow.

CSH227
St Albans
Would recommend to a friend? No
x for exit
8/13/2012

Customer review by Katrina

2.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Katrina
by Katrina

My son received this toy as a present for his first birthday. I will say that he enjoys playing with it, his favorite song is the alphabet song and when you push the head it sings. But the other day I was trying to engage him in the alphabet and was disappointed to hear "X- Exit". We then decided that this is not an appropriate toy for him to learn from due to the fact that it is not accurate. We were excited to receive a Leapfrog toy due to the reputation of quality learning toys, but this toy is a disappointment.

Katrina
louisville, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Proper instructions to personalize???
12/21/2011

Customer review by MeAnnoyed

3.0 stars 12/21/2011 by MeAnnoyed
by MeAnnoyed

I received this toy which is really cute but there are two problems. ONE, its says that I can personalize the toy to say the first letter of the child's name but I go online to do so and cannot seem to figure it out let alone, the website on the instructions to personalize it (leapfrog.com/personalize) brings me to an error page. Second. X is not for EXIT. X for Xylophone would have been more appropriate, kids are fast learners and hearing that word repeated under X would not have been too hard. Just my opinion.

MeAnnoyed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ziva dino
9/10/2013

Customer review by PheonixRose

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by PheonixRose
by PheonixRose

She loves her lettersaurus. I took her to walmart today to get her a new learning toy and one of the first toys i grabbed to see what she wanted was the lettersaurus and she played with it and payed no mind to the other toys i grabbed for her. By the time i bought it for her she was singing her ABC's with it. Awsome toy for chidren that are around 17 months old. It teaches colors and letters as well as words associated with a letter that it starts with.

PheonixRose
Mayfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews