Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 161 reviews
5 stars
103
4 stars
45
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 153 reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Great humidifier, but tank cap can be hard to open
11/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to replace a leaky Vicks/Taz humidifier that I'd had for about a year. This one is twice the price, but far superior. No leaking, better design, quieter operation, UV germ-killing feature, and a different kind of fan/vaporizing action that does NOT leave a damp area around the humidifier. In fact, you can't even FEEL the mist coming out, but clearly it does, because the water level in the reservoir falls, and it's certainly not going on the carpet. That said, my only complaint about an otherwise-perfect design is that the cap to the tank can be HARD to open, even after I press the center piece to release the vacuum pressure. I even tried using rubber jar openers and have had to get my husband to open it for me sometimes (and I'm not exactly a weakling). The past few times I have tried not to screw it on so tight (so far no leaking), and it has been easier to open. Not sure how much the Protec filter replacement will cost when I have to get that -- wish it were filterless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (155)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXPECTED LIFE OF THE UV BULB IS 3000 HOURS
10/6/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
BUYER BEWARE! I had read a review before buying the HCM-350 that said when the UV light (which provides the anti-microbial feature) burned out they were told by the mfr's parts supplier that NO UV LIGHT REPLACEMENT BULBS ARE AVAILABLE. I decided to take my chances that the bulb would last, but when I read the manual that came with the humidifier it notes that THE EXPECTED LIFE OF THE UV BULB IS 3000 HOURS -- that's only 300 days' use at only 10 hours per day! When I called the 800 parts-order tel # in Sept. to see if replacement UV lights had come available, I was told no, there was no supply, try back maybe in January. NOTE TO WALMART AND OTHER RETAILERS SELLING THIS PRODUCT: in the interest of your customers who purchase this product for health reasons, you should use your considerable influence to convince the parts supplier to carry replacement UV lights! If lights are being manufactured to produce the humidifier, they can be manufactured for replacements.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (191)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Germ-Free Output
1/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love knowing that the UV light is killing all the bad guys, giving me a germ-free environment. Without mentioning any famous consumer magazines, the Honeywell HCM-350 was one of the ones that got a great review. They then further tested the leading humidifiers to see if any microbes are being sprayed into the air. This one passed with flying colors, even after they purposely contaminated the water tank. I was so satisfied, I bought a second one. I can finally get the humidity level up above 30% now. Some reviewers complain about there being no way to measure the humidity. That is a valid complaint, but since I have a Netatmo device, I can see what the humidity is in my living room by accessing their app on my iPhone. The only downside of buying this humidifier is that it is relatively hard to find places that sell the filters. The filters should be replaced every 30 days. Finally, Walmart's price, and their free shipping, is an unbeatable combination. You can't do any better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A better humidifier
1/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought many humidifiers through the years. I have had this one for about a month now. I live in a dry desert area with very low humidity. I am using this in my bedroom which is a moderate size with a closet and bathroom attached. This humidifier meets my needs. It raises the humidity about 10 percent over what it is. I think it is a 1 1/2 gallon tank which on high I have to fill about every 12 hours. The base that the tank fits on is detachable and says it is dishwater safe. Mine has stayed clean since I use water from a reverse osmosis tank on my sink. The fill tank is tall and has a very nice grip on the tip. When you turn it upside down to fill, the grip part is level so it balances nicely while filling. The fill tank is pretty high but it fits in both my kitchen and bathroom but might not fit if you have a standard low faucet in your bathroom. It is pretty quiet but you can hear it on the high setting. It has a round replaceable filter inside. I am happy with it so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Did the trick for our bedroom
1/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this cool moisture humidifier because my wife complained about it being too dry in our bedroom during the winter. We would both wake to clogged noses and inability to breath through our nose at night. The HCM-350 has really delivered on curing that problem. I read all of the reviews of various models of cool moisture humidifiers and decided on this model. We have a rather large bedroom suite with attached bath, walk-in closets, etc. This one unit has raised the humidity in our bedroom to where it doesn't seem dry at all now in spite of outdoor temps in single digits at night. With forced air heat, the HCM-350 has even gone a long way to humidifying the entire first floor of our house. It was very simple to set up and we have not needed to replace the filter yet. I am happy with this purchase and considering purchasing one for my 98 year Mother for her retirement apartment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would recommend this humidifier to a friend
4/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The purchase of this humidifier was to increase humidity in our bedroom because of the lack of humidity living in the state of Nevada. Initially we couldn't use the humidifier because the cap to the water container did not include the gasket needed to prevent the container from leaking. We waited approximately five business days to received the free cap. Since then we have used the humidifier nightly. My husband says that he is waking up the next morning with his sinuses not plugged up. I might be able to say that I am not coughing up as much mucus that has collected in the back of my throat. The container of water does last all night. We started out running it on high and then we turn it down to medium when the last person goes to bed. We are using drinking water from the local store to fill the water container, not tap water. I think this will help with the longevity of the filter. This item was easy to use and put into service. I am still trying to get use to the white sound noise at the medium speed. I am a light sleeper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very happy
3/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy to set up and daily use is a breeze. It does NOT produce a mist of droplets that could cause problems as far as water on nearby furniture, etc. while it definitely humidifies the air as evidenced by a humidity monitor in the room. Very easy to fill in the bathroom sink (high neck faucet but a bathtub faucet would work) without dripping problems before reinserting into apparatus. Would have liked more direction in the written operating instructions such as how often you should change the filter, etc. I was worried about feeling cooler in the humidified room (cool mist) but that is not the case. I did my research and compared many different models and found this model to be very highly rated and I am not disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best humidifier EVER!!
9/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This humidifier is all and more of what I expected. It's easy to operate and extremely quiet. I recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (76)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best one yet
2/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I've had several brands of humidifiers but this is my first Honeywell. I love this one. Easy to fill since the mouth is large instead of like filling a pop bottle. Easy to set up and get started. Very, very quiet. Not as much noise on this Honeywell as low or medium on most I've owned. I can't say it would run 24 hours without filling running on high. Perhaps silent running. But it runs a good 12 hours on high. My cat seems to really enjoy the humidifier. She sits beside it like sniffing from an open window. She rubbed it with her head which means it's found a good home. This will be my "stick to" brand and model long to come. Wish I had tried it at the beginning of this awful winter. But with more cold and snow coming, think I'll be using it for quite a while still.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Water purified by UV light, decent price, quiet
2/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was hesitant to buy this humidifier because the filter needs to be replaced at the beginning of each winter season, but then thought that might be a good thing. (The filter is only $13.00.) I looked at a lot of humidifiers and wanted one that I didn't have to clean every day. This one has a UV light that purifies the water to remove mold and bacteria. The humidifier uses regular tap water. It is easy to fill the tank and the unit is extremely quiet. Walmart's price of $60 was the same as Amazon's - and there is no shipping if you pick it up at the store. Overall, a great investment at a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very quiet and low maintenance
11/24/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have been using the product for two weeks, it uses less than half it's container full of water each night and is easy to clean and very quiet. Still trying to find out how long the U/V bulb lasts but it has proven to be worth the price we paid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not a bad price. good size and managability, especially for those who cannot handle much weight. One gallon capacity does not last 24 hours, except on low, which is very low. At high speed, it needs to be filled twice a day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its ok...
3/13/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You can't really tell its working because there are no humidity monitors or anything. Also you can't tell if the uv light inside is actually ever on. There is an indicator on the top of the machine that tells you when to change the bulb, but you kinda want to make sure the bulb is working when you first get the machine. Also, the filter is supposed to be antimicrobial, but it turns brown and it smells funny after a few days. There is no way to keep it really clean because it's pretty much made of paper or something and I'm sure if you wash it thoroughly it would fall apart. I know there are better humidifiers out there for this price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quiet (on low), and easy to use.
3/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I first bought a "filter free" humidifier. When I got it home and read the instructions that daily cleaning was needed to prevent mold and germs, I returned it. This unit has filters and a germ killimg lamp that eliminates daily cleaning! Yes! It is whisper quiet on low. I ran it on high during the day and low at night. We have a very dry house ... this unit worked well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well, But........
5/1/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Most of these type humidifiers usually don't last too long, but so far so good on this month old purchase. The unit works well, but the operating costs are ridiculous and expensive. The water filters in the unit, which last only about a month before needing replacement. cost about $15.00 each, plus shipping if ordered online. Way too costly for a $40.00 humidifier. At that rate, it will cost a user about $200.00 per year for filters for a $40.00 unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Thought it had more common features
3/13/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The description of this humidifier sounded good, but it does not have many features common to others. Had I realized that, I would have chosen another. For example, it does not have an automatic low water shut off - when the water is gone, the machine just keeps on running. It also has a wick filter which will need to be replaced, and was an issue with the previous machine. The UV light "germ free" feature sounded good, but overall, I would have picked another had the description been more clear.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Honeywell Cool Moisture Humidifier HCM-350
12/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a simple unit - very easy to set up. It's doing the job in my small condo. Very pleased. The water tank has an easy grip handle which makes the tank easy to fill and replace. I keep the unit on tile flooring. Each time I refill the tank, I turn the filter over as suggested in the owner's manual. This keeps the entire filter moist and hopefully will prolong its usefulness. I have not had to change the UV bulb yet but there is an indicator which will let me know when I need to do that. Walmart had this unit priced lowest of all the retail stores I researched. It was delivered to my home in 3 days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
UV humidifier
1/4/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This humidifier operates very efficiently & has 3 settings. Within a couple of days, I noticed a huge improvement in my sinuses. The UV technology assures me the germs are being kept at bay. Uses a wicking filter....I am hopeful that the UV light will keep the atmosphere healthy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great size for our bedroom.
11/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
With the onset of fall the air was getting dry in our bedroom. We went to Walmart and purchased a smaller humidifier but it did not work so we returned it. Then I ordered this one from Walmart.com. It is a great size we just fill it every night before bed. Great humifier and great value compared to others around the same size.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing!!
11/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This humidifier does wonders for me. My nasal passages are less dry, and i have better sleep. It helps a lot in the cold dry winter, plus the heat that's being used indoors. It says that this is about 25% quieter than a typical humidifier, but it's much more quiet than "25%" lol whatever that means. I barely notice that it's on. To be honest, the size is a little big bigger than i expected. I though it'd be a little more compact. But I'm used to the size by now. Doesn't bug me as much
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641753, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-