Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 80 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
NEVER BUY A REFURBISHED GPS!!!
12/18/2011

Customer review by PlanetWallyWorld

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by PlanetWallyWorld
by PlanetWallyWorld

This so-called "refurbished" top-of-the-line Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT GPS had software issues that, apparently, were the reason it was returned by the original buyer. These issues were never fixed! For several days, the unit would say/show "turn left/right" when the correct direction was the opposite direction. It showed random routes that were nowhere near the input address. After a few days, the display "froze" and locked onto one specific screen that would not change. I later discovered that this unit had had ongoing issues that Garmin never resolved and dropped this model from their 2012 inventory. I returned the unit and replaced it with Garmin's Nuvi 3490LMT paying full price--and exceptional GPS unit. Buyer beware of "refurbished" products! :-)

Was this review helpful? (71) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlanetWallyWorld
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Andrew
12/25/2011

Customer review by mariettaman

5.0 stars 12/25/2011 by mariettaman
by mariettaman

The Garmin Nuvi is an excellent product. My previous GPS was not a Garmin and now that I own this Garmin I will never own another brand again. Also, the value for the refurbished price was an excellent value. I highly recommend this product. The Voice Commands really do work!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mariettaman
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The refurbished 3790LMT is a fantastic deal.
4/30/2012

Customer review by wtama

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by wtama
by wtama

I purchased a refurbished 3790LMT from Walmart to replace my old Garmin 855 and I love it. The price/performance ratio is fantastic. If it didn't come in a box marked "Refurbished" I would have thought it was brand new. I haven't had any problems with it except for some difficulty installing software (not firmware) updates. This problem is not peculiar to this model and is fairly common in Garmin automotive GPS units. The updates did finally install but it can be frustrating if it's your first experience with Garmin software updates. I should mention that the software updates are optional and not critical to the operation of the GPS. Other than that the 3790LMT is great. The biggest difference between the 3790LMT and the newer 3490LMT is the guidance system. The 3790LMT uses Guidance 2.0 while the 3490LMT uses Guidance 3.0. The routing is the same in these two systems but Guidance 3.0 provides some additional features that I neither need nor want. You can check it out for yourself on the Garmin web site.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wtama
Verry good GPS
12/15/2011

Customer review by GearjammerRG

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by GearjammerRG
by GearjammerRG

The gps seems to work flawlessly, Easy to program in a Ad by voice commands. Lots quicker than our old one. Garmin is a Great Company They have excelent customer service. Always quick response from them.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GearjammerRG
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice GPS
7/30/2012

Customer review by Kengt

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Kengt
by Kengt

I bought refurbished- but looks like new to me. Work great with no issues!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kengt
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Item was defective
7/29/2012

Customer review by Bigr27x

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Bigr27x
by Bigr27x

The device was defective no volume when mounted in the holder and very low volume when hand held I had to return it for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigr27x
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/29/2012

Customer review by HarryB3

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by HarryB3
by HarryB3

This is the best GPS you can buy if you ask me. Lifetime maps and traffic updates are a real plus also. You can't go wrong with your purchase of the Garmin 3790LTM.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarryB3
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't meet expectations
7/18/2012

Customer review by cougrrr8

3.0 stars 7/18/2012 by cougrrr8
by cougrrr8

Is it good value for the money? Yes. That said there are significant areas to be aware of. 1. Since it says City Search that means you won't get topographical maps unless you kick in an extra $100. 2. Searching is unnecessarily cumbersome. If you enter a zip it will only look in the state you're in. You need to first change states(if you know it), enter zip, the full address etc. Frustrating if you just need the general area and/or don't have the extra detail. 3. Weird routes. An extra 100 miles when going to a little Mexican town Algodones. It take you all the way to Mexicali then wonders South into Mexico before heading back. Neither Algodones nor another name Vincente Guerreo show up even when the state: Baja California is placed in. put in 287 Alamo and it magically appears. Saving an extra 90 min. The first correction made change from "less fuel" to shortest route. The logic defied me but that was the suggestion. I have no clue why the map didn't recognize Ca. St Route 186 4. Garmin support is unmatched and they will walk you through anything. I've noticed that a recent mantra is due to customer demand...well in the case of topographic maps that means it's less expensive. So they see no problem adding $100 to an already expensive model. Re: zip code could never get a decent answer. Supposedly it cuts the search time. How long does it take for a computer to search the zips? Really. BTW it took less than a minute on google maps to enter each route and compare distances. Algodones popped up by "l" amazing. 5. They promote the eco feature It doesn't work even gentle acceleration and braking doesn't register green. Acceleration is how close you keep to their posted speed limit...nothing extra for coasting....just a gimmick, but interesting in a way. 6. Other mapping annoyances not recognizing the HOV turn lane from the one used by normal traffic.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cougrrr8
Chandler, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
11/22/2011

Customer review by Birdyspike

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by Birdyspike
by Birdyspike

Loved this one!! Just like new!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birdyspike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/19/2012

Customer review by js3210

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by js3210
by js3210

The 3790LMT is an amazing feature pack GPS unit packaged in an incredibly thin case. It fits nicely inside a shirt pocket. It is really designed to also be used when on foot, particularly with its dual mode display (landscape and portrait). It does everything that my larger nuvi 2460 and more. This refurbished unit was also a great value at less than 1/2 its original list price. The unit itself appears brand new and comes complete with all accessories.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
js3210
SE Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bang for the buck
8/13/2012

Customer review by Skippy689

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Skippy689
by Skippy689

I really like the 3790, however it has locked on me once when I was trying to find an address in an unfamiliar city. I hope this doesn't happen, or it's going back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skippy689
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS, just few missing options
7/19/2012

Customer review by GloPoS

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by GloPoS
by GloPoS

I bought a Garmin Nuvi 1490 LMT couple of months ago. It was great GPS for its price. But one day while driving on GSP (NJ), I wanted to add a PizzaHut to current route. At those speeds and mad traffic, I had to pull over and do it. The 1490LMT is heavy and suction holder would fall off after every couple of hours. Let me add that I did not use the mount plate for mounting holder, just stuck it on dash. But even when I mounted it on windsheild it would still fall off. I would say that GPS needed bigger holder. 3790 does not fall off like that , probably due to its lesser weight. I decided that I wanted a GPS with Voice commands and something faster and lighter. Read the reviews about 3790LMT, and ordered one. Shipping was quick (got it in 3 business days). Picked it up and could not see anything being refurbished. It is just a new piece. Took it home and updated maps and software and started using it. It was great with its sleek profile and lightweight body and crisp display and mutlitouch features. It also has 3D terrain view. Haven't checked CityXplorer yet. When I tried bluetooth calling from GPS, other parties could not hear me. Then I realized the screen protector was pasted over the mic hole. Once I re-positioned the screen protector, bluetooth calling was perfect. For all I know, that might be the single reason for earlier owner to return this GPS. Pros: Couple of areas of improvement over 1490 are, voice and commands and split screen usage of Juntion view which stays much longer. In 1490 Junction view appears only for few seconds. Cons: 1. Gets hot, but I knew that before purchasing. 2. On NJ (Route 1,9,18) jug handles, even when going striaght, it takes me through the jug handle (if there is no waiting) to skip the signal. This sometime just annoys me. 3. Voice commands are very limited. Like discussed on gpscity forums, it does not give an option to add a poi "Along the route". You have get back to touch mode. It was the very feature I bought this GPS for. Overall this is a good GPS with its own shortcomings. For refurbished price it excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GloPoS
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Cool GPS
8/11/2012

Customer review by AceInTheCountry

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by AceInTheCountry
by AceInTheCountry

When it arrived it had a very small scratch on the screen, not even noticeable when it's powered on. Other than that everything else looked like new. The Refurbished Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is very high tec. I've had it a couple months and it works great. I updated from a Tom Tom 340s to the Gramin Nuvi 3790 LMT because I was having issues updating the unit. I'm so glad I picked the Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT. With voice command, a memory card slot, lifetime updates and a much brighter screen in the day time, what's not to like? The only trouble I've had was getting the right size screen protector. I found that a 5 inch screen protector for the Garmin Nuvi 1450 works pretty well. It fits perfect side to side and is just short enough length wise that it dosen't cover the mic up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AceInTheCountry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Easy to use, update, Looks like new.
7/19/2012

Customer review by AmericanMuscle

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by AmericanMuscle
by AmericanMuscle

After a bit of research I decided on this model. Walmart had the best price. This is my first GPS unit and I'm very happy with my purchase. I was weary of buying a refurb, but it looks and operates flawlessly. Mounted my unit on the dash with the included disc. Gets me from A - B without the normal stress I endured using my Mapquest printouts. Trying to drive in traffic and understand the printout put me and drivers around at risk. Now it's like having my personal co-pilot mounted to my dash.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmericanMuscle
Philly, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT great features
8/13/2012

Customer review by Tedingilbertaz

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Tedingilbertaz
by Tedingilbertaz

My Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is a great refurbished buy. I have only had it a few weeks and like its features while driving...things like the intersection or exit shows on screen what it should look like with what lane you should be in, red light camera and speed camera zones warning comes up, wish these things came with a preferred route feature vice showing you a way to go but you know that time of day will not work easily. Otherwise, this has worked well. it does warn not to keep it in car in high heat so i try to take it out. The AZ heat of 118 can be brutal and the software did lock up on me, I think, due to overheating once. Let it set a few minutes with the AC on and it came back with the route I was trying to get too still loaded. Nice!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tedingilbertaz
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Happy so far
8/22/2012

Customer review by Utahchad

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Utahchad
by Utahchad

I really like the voice command, it does not always pick up the commands but it is easy to restart and speak the command again. I have not had an opportunity to review & use all of the functions but to date it has been great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Utahchad
Independence, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good For Cost
9/3/2012

Customer review by NjBOB

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by NjBOB
by NjBOB

Upgraded from my old Nuvi 350. For the refurbished price a great value. If I had paid full price I probably would not be overly thrilled. Lane assist is a great thing. Voice recognition hit and miss but helpful. I'm happy with my choice and not going with the newer version

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NjBOB
Central New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Superb!
7/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was concerned that this item was a refurb unit. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the package...the GPS was in perfect shape. As in... Brand new. The Garmin has surpassed my expectations in every department possible...and what makes it better is that the price is literally unbeatable. I give this product 10/10.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It is smarter than I am
8/15/2012

Customer review by pseudoEngineer

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by pseudoEngineer
by pseudoEngineer

This is my first GPS receiver that had either speech recognition or traffic. I don't know what I expected from the speech recognition, but while it does everything it is supposed to do after some reading, it doesn't do what I THINK I wanted and expected, being able to speak favorites and have it recognize them. But after thinking, I can see where my ideas are somewhat impractical; I do not downgrade it for this. Traffic ... unusual ... coming home from Atlanta last week, it changed my route on its own to avoid a wreck ... which I ignored and the wreck was cleared. I may disable this; it is easy to do. I find that it runs HOT plugged into 12V; haven't played with it on batteries enough to have a feel. It may be the backlight that either heats it or loads the power supply. Having owned multiple Garmin units before, this is what is below expectations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pseudoEngineer
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great GPS for the money.
9/7/2012

Customer review by BigBastone

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by BigBastone
by BigBastone

I have been using this for the past 2 months and it is great. The traffic works very well and the Bluetooth is better than the Motorola one I was using. For less than $10 you can get a 1 year breakage warranty, how can you go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBastone
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews