Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

39 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
10
1-20 of 37 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Excellent add-on for over the air TV broadcast
7/6/2011

Customer review by abrave01

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by abrave01
by abrave01

I gave up cable about six months ago and have enjoyed the extra $150.00 a month in my pocket. Between Netflix and Hulu, pretty much all my shows are covered. Local and National sports and news on the other hand are a different story. I purchased an over the air antenna for this purpose but found that when I split the signal between two tvs, I lost a significant number of channels on both tvs. This amplifier was the answer and it saved me a lot of headaches from constantly moving the antenna around (it is on the roof)! The most important tip I can give is to make sure this amplifier is connected between the antenna and the splitter. I had initially tried connecting it between the cable in my house and the tv and it did not do much as the signal was already fairly distorted by that point. Placing this amplifier close to the original source, the antenna, and before the signal is split is the key to getting great results from this product. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to avoid a bunch of headaches!

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abrave01
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For amplifying signal for long-run antennae
6/18/2012

Customer review by eastcoastguy

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by eastcoastguy
by eastcoastguy

This product worked extremely well for me. I believe there might be confusion as to the purpose of the device, which may account for some of the ratings. I don't believe the device will help you pick up signals out of range without the device. However, it will amplify the signal you get, which will help the signal stay strong should the antennae be far from your TV, and it may also improve signals that your antennae picks up but are somewhat weak. In my case, I attached the antennae directly to my TV without using this device. Then, I moved the antennae to the attic and I completely lost all signals due to the extra wire and connectors between the antennae and the TV. Once I put this device in the line, not only was my reception as good as when the antennae was right by the TV, but it was better. Stations that were coming in weak and pixelated improved. So overall, clearly worked.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eastcoastguy
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Thrilled!
5/12/2012

Customer review by SquirrellyQ56

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by SquirrellyQ56
by SquirrellyQ56

We have a Channel Master 2020, and we were using a -10db, we were not getting as many channels as our old(from the early '60's) antenna....went and found this at my local store, hooked it up from cable/ant outlet at wall, then to tv....it's worth every penny and we are now going to keep our week old Channel Master 2020!! With Walmart's easy return policy we had nothing to lose by trying this.......if you're on the fence about getting this, go ahead and try it, you may end up thrilled like we are!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SquirrellyQ56
Cleveland, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Easy to use - instance difference
9/26/2011

Customer review by YellowBrickRoadinKS

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by YellowBrickRoadinKS
by YellowBrickRoadinKS

Pros - Best $25 product i have bought so far! took about 5 minutes to hook up (crawled up into attic where our antenna is plugged it in hooked up the in and out (about 4 feet of R-6 cable from antenna - then about 150 to 175 feet to TV) works way better than expected. Did a channel search got 8 more channels on top of the 10 channels i lost with the added R-6 cable. No Cons at the present moment.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YellowBrickRoadinKS
Ottawa, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect for weak signal from splitters
1/20/2013

Customer review by Dave25969

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Dave25969
by Dave25969

i had (3) 2-way splitters and my tv signal was getting pixelated so i bought a (1) 6-way splitter to try to cut down on signal loss and it made my signal worse.. so i bought this signal amplifier and connected it to my 6-way splitter and now all of my tvs and modem are working perfect.. for $25 bucks you cant beat it.. you can have it installed in a matter of minutes..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dave25969
Jumping Branch, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Does the job.
12/15/2013

Customer review by dld99

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by dld99
by dld99

I lost half my channels during a recent two day rain so I thought I would give this amplifier a try. I waited for a clear day & checked the signal strength for each channel. I then installed the amplifier and rechecked the signals. The amplifier increased my signal strength on every channel and more than doubled the signal on most channels. We had a heavy rain yesterday & I didn't lose any channels.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dld99
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very good signal booster at a reasonable price
9/15/2012

Customer review by trainnutt

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by trainnutt
by trainnutt

We installed this on our existing antenna, now have a clear picture and sound on all channels, [over 50 miles from St Louis TV stations]. Very happy with the amplifier, it also allowed us to run an extremely long coax line [168 feet] to put a TV in the garage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trainnutt
Sainte Genevieve, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/30/2012

Customer review by old1063

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by old1063
by old1063

I had 38 channels without this product some of them were very weak. After installing the product I now have 17 channels and those are all weaker in signal than before. This product is going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
old1063
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't Help at All
11/25/2012

Customer review by NoOneCaresSoWhyShouldYou

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by NoOneCaresSoWhyShouldYou
by NoOneCaresSoWhyShouldYou

Like others have said, this product didn't help at all. I get a signal for 32 channels, most of which are not viewable. This product did not make any of them viewable. Because it does not have a power light to show it is operating, I took it back and exchanged it for another one, which I will also be taking back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoOneCaresSoWhyShouldYou
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Device!
9/8/2012

Customer review by MrSmartyPants

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by MrSmartyPants
by MrSmartyPants

I hooked this up to my rabbit ear antenna in the first floor bedroom. Ran a 25 foot coax cable from the booster to my hole house structured wiring box in the basement that has 8 tv coax hookups and is also a booster. This thing works great! Got a strong signal to the basement. I live in the Metro Detroit area and I get 20 stations with rabbit ear antenna and can hook it up to any tv in the house using my structured wiring with clear crisp picture. Thinking on getting cheap attic antenna from Walmart and use that instead of the rabbit ears. Now this device does not boost the signal from the tv stations so you get more channels, it just boost for long cable runs from the antenna. The longer cable run from the antenna, the more the singal gets weaker to the tv.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrSmartyPants
Macomb, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked for us!
11/24/2012

Customer review by RuralUser5

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by RuralUser5
by RuralUser5

When we first plugged the amplifier in it did not work. However, after about 5 minutes, it worked great! I am not sure if the unit took a few minutes to warm up? Anyways, I used to get 1 channel and sometimes a few more would come in. Now all available channels in my area (10) come in crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RuralUser5
Montrose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This amp changed nothing.
9/29/2011

Customer review by TRKnutson

1.0 stars 9/29/2011 by TRKnutson
by TRKnutson

I tried installing it in the house and close to the antenna and neither place made any difference. Not sure if it is defective or what, but i had no change in signal strength.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRKnutson
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worse for me than my cheaper model.
4/29/2012

Customer review by muckermand

1.0 stars 4/29/2012 by muckermand
by muckermand

I have a tiny signal amplifier but still lose a couple of channels at times. I was hoping this would improve my situation. Instead it hardly worked at all. I went from 11 channels to only 1. Perhaps my product was defective. I don't see why it worked worse than a cheaper, weaker product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muckermand
Did The Trick!!
5/10/2012

Customer review by nogeekneeded

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by nogeekneeded
by nogeekneeded

I was using a RCA mini drop in line -10db amp, but when I installed this amplifier I noticed a big difference. The channels I was getting a good signal off my ChannelMaster antenna went to a very strong signal. Also channels that were weak went to normal signal. Keep in mind a signal amplifier only improves signal strenght of channels you are already getting. The misconception is that one of these will give you more OTA channels, BUT usually that is not the case. Hookup was simple and took less than five minutes. BTW strongly advise you plug it into a the surge protector you should have on your tv!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nogeekneeded
Midwest, USA
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Boosts signal
1/21/2014

Customer review by tdmforest

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by tdmforest
by tdmforest

Replaced a Channel Master that had a boost of about -12db and this seemed to increase my signal by about 20% allowing me to get a weak signal that I was not able to get with the Channel Master.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdmforest
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality Did what I needed it to.
8/21/2012

Customer review by frogpad9

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by frogpad9
by frogpad9

I had a week signal from my antenna attached the amplifier in line and haven't had a problem since.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frogpad9
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Increased Picture Quality, Antenna Range
1/21/2014

Customer review by rddhet

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by rddhet
by rddhet

I bought this amplifier to stabilize picture quality of local stations (between 20 and 40 miles away) and to bring in a station about 60 miles away (which my antenna was almost pulling in on its own). The amplifier did both of these things.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rddhet
Carbondale, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
With cable tv signal low - did the job
2/2/2013

Customer review by Bokarfor

4.0 stars 2/2/2013 by Bokarfor
by Bokarfor

I have HD cable tv and didnt have enough signal to get to all the TV sets due to signal loss thru all of the splitters I have in the house. The HD channels were not coming in but the local channels were ok. Once I hooked up the amplifier both TV's that were having issues were working fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bokarfor
Bartlesville, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not work at all for aluminum antenna
4/13/2012

Customer review by Stevo208

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Stevo208
by Stevo208

Plugged it in about 15' from aluminum "Christmas tree" antenna, changed signal from 40% to 0%. Installed an electrical outlet in the attic just for this item, but it was returned to Walmart. At least the channels come in pretty good without it. Running 4 TVs with at least 200' of coax.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stevo208
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No complaints
11/17/2013

Customer review by sundowneroutback

5.0 stars 11/17/2013 by sundowneroutback
by sundowneroutback

My goal was not to get more channels but to stabilize the 9 channels I have.Since I am a certified cheap skate,I want the "mostest for the leastest".Total cost was about $250.Part of my concern was for the effect metal would have on the signal.I mounted the antenna on a frame building clad with metal on roof and sides with the antenna about 30 feet from the ground.Lightening is a large concern and I put in an 8' ground rod.The coaxial run was 150' to my house so the signal booster was located about 30' from the antenna.Big Wallie's largest antenna was my choice and that is worth every penny.We had no complaints about picture quality before the new antenna hook-up but we were shocked at the improvement.My wife,(also a penny pincher) was pleasantly surprised to discover we picked up 7 more channels.We are located near the center of the Delmarva Peninsula with the Chesapeake on the West and Atlantic on the East side.The 7 new channels are not strong enough to stand wind and poor weather conditions but I didn't expect them either.--------I recommend this GE. signal booster and it is doing more than expected.----Sundowneroutback

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sundowneroutback
Salisbury,Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews