Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 337 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

337 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

337 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
185
4 stars
88
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 stars
29
1-20 of 264 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
Decent Entry Level Camera
9/21/2011

Customer review by that1girl18

4.0 stars 9/21/2011 by that1girl18
by that1girl18

It might sound like a cliche' review statement, but it is true that this camera is worth the $120ish that you pay for it. I myself am interested in pressuring photography so I have been starting from the bottom up. I am planning on buying the Nikon D90 next ($1,000) This camera was, for me, baby steps into my dream of professional picture quality. It takes pretty astounding detailed pictures for it's price. Landscape pictures are good but not great. This camera has quite a bit of settings witch is pretty neat. It is a great learning tool, it is a camera that will grow with you as you learn more and more about photography until you eventually out grow it and need something a little more advanced. I really liked how it looks so much like a SLR camera, I have owned it for a little over a year now and have had no serious problems so far. It's perfect for day trips and documenting family outings. The 15x zoom is nice (if you know what you are doing) it can be a little tricky and make your pictures blurry, but if you take the time and learn how to use it, it will treat you right. I don't agree with a lot of the bad reviews on here, I think if you take the time to really learn this camera and take advantage of the many features then you will get some pretty decent pictures. Take my pictures as a true example of what this camera can do for you if you learn how to use it properly. To sum it all up: If your interested in some day taking pictures of a professional quality and are new to it all. This camera is a great baby step to get your feet wet. Learn what you can from it a move on to something more advanced when your ready.

Was this review helpful? (233) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
that1girl18
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Value & Awesome Pictures. Need patience
11/20/2011

Customer review by battybeader

4.0 stars 11/20/2011 by battybeader
by battybeader

I have had this camera for over a year and use it a minimum of 20 times a week. Even with this much experience with the camera, I have yet to discover all of the features. I mainly use the auto and scene modes. I can get some great shots in macro mode, but, you have to be patient when playing with your different modes, as you will have blurry pictures. I mainly photograph scenery, birds and nature and often get frustrated when trying to go between a simple shot and a zoom shot. The major con I do have is that it really does not do a good continious shot. But then again, it could be the user. This is a really good camera for its price and features. Go for it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
battybeader
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great step up from basic point and shoot.
3/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera was more than worth the price of $109. I could not find a comparable camera for that price anywhere on discount websites or otherwise. After previously having a basic point and shoot many of my pictures are still blurry but once I learn the settings I believe that my photos will far surpass anything I was able to take with my previous camera. If you do not have PC you can do all the Editing on the camera another step up and also do not need a PC to be able print because of Picture Bridge software. While it takes some time getting use to and I would not use it for crucial photographing until I was more acquainted with it, it is a wonderful value that I would not pass up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent stepping stone
5/29/2014

Customer review by aaron28

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by aaron28
by aaron28

got the ge-x500 w/ bag, 8gb sd, and tripod around $140(good bang for the buck at the time) june of 2013 to upgrade from a very frustrating Olympus fe46 drove me mad to get a great shot then have so many bad ones.....hoped this would change that....for the most part yes...still get bad shots but much less frequently and as I have learned to use the functions better( but just because i set the automatic scene on sport doesn't mean an action shot won't be blurry or scene set on low light won't be either# but for the most part get good shots. especially fishing with my son or the muesums we have visited#200+ pics a day and no battery issues using duracel rechargeables# the past month or so I have dabbled with the manual aspect of this camera and implemented the use of a tripod at times achieving results that were beyond expectations and motivates me to improve more that I attempt weekly#bi-weekly# specific projects to gain experience in manual mode setting the f/stop, shutter time#up to 30 sec# and iso#up to 3200 @ only a 4MP) for certain situations. this has me on track to eventually move to a dslr with great confidence that I will be able to use one effectively and feel comfortable spending that kind of money......this camera is an inexpensive learning tool and capable of taking very good pictures. I have also used the video function as well and very pleased with it although I use my camcorder if I know i'm going to take video but works great on the spot! the panorama feature is cool. there is at times a long wait in the processing of some pictures i'm very happy with the purchase of this camera even with its limitations it has been invaluable to me as an introduction to photography and pursuing it with much interest and enthusiasm

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aaron28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Camera!
3/7/2013

Customer review by kesa76

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by kesa76
by kesa76
Top 250 contributor

I read through all reviews but one stood out more and helped me decide to get this camera. I am glad I did! As soon as I got it, I put in the batteries and took pictures. At first they were blurry but after reading how to focus the camera, I tried again and the quality and color of the pics were excellent! The camera is easy to use and simple enough to figure out after reading the user manual (included on a cd). I was pleased to see that it also came with a lens cover and shoulder strap. It's small enough to comfortably hold in one hand and the features include red eye eliminator, a function for shaky hands, flash function and loads more. It also comes with 3 preloaded frames for cute snap shots and a sketch setting. This camera is great for the novice and advanced user. I will include a nice pic my daughter took with my camera.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kesa76
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
1/26/2013

Customer review by Tedangel

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by Tedangel
by Tedangel

I've had this camera for over a year. I use it for artistic photography mostly macro photography. The reason I wanted this camera was its incredible amount of effects and abilities not generally found in cameras at this price. I have taken some jaw dropping photos with it. Yes I have had to shoot the shot over and over to get the shot I wanted but it was able to produce shots where you can see incredible details. If you buy this bridge camera you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tedangel
Berryville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for Starters
12/19/2012

Customer review by Deeaz113

4.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Deeaz113
by Deeaz113

I got this camera just when I started getting into photography...If you love taking pictures of scenery this is a perfect camera for that but is also great for doing portraits as well I have done pictures of my kids at home that look very professional and I was quite proud of my work with this camera...its easy to learn, I got a huge scratch on my lens but just zooming a little bit took that scratch away BUT then my zoom broke and I could see that scratch in every photo so without the zoom working the camera is basically worthless unless your taking up close pictures so its a great camera as long as its taken care of and make sure you get a warranty, I didn't and I'm very bummed that its broken, I may even buy another one! =)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deeaz113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use..
12/25/2012

Customer review by frostieblonde

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by frostieblonde
by frostieblonde

I bought this camera to use at my daughters wedding. Our photographer back out and I need to have wedding pics. So I bought this and I was very happy with my results. I am still learing about some of the options on it, but it takes great pics. Took some the other night when it was snowing..Great deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frostieblonde
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Camera/LowCost that makes u feel like a pro!
1/29/2012

Customer review by tdh2484

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by tdh2484
by tdh2484

I was browsing for a camera that had more Megapixs, my current fuji camera had 12mpx, it took pretty good photos, but i wanted something that felt more professional, so I browsed, I came across this one while it was on sale for 119.00 which was great! but I had my doubts of buying it after reading reviews, the good and the bad, I at first started to not get it, but then I figured I would go ahead and get it while it was on sale, and Iove it! you just got to know how to use it! and it may take awhile, but once you get it down, you will be taking great photos! I have not had any issues with this camera, it makes me feel like I am a professional. One thing you may want to do is buy a class 10 professional sdcard if you want to take photos a little faster and much better photo quality, I had a reg sd card and it still did great with them, its just I wanted a lil more lol. It has alot of features as well!! Great buy for the price and makes you feel like you have a Point to shoot to DSLR camera......I love mine!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tdh2484
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great camera, but does have some limitations.
8/23/2011

Customer review by TurtleTech

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by TurtleTech
by TurtleTech

This camera is pretty good. As compared to a cheaper point and shoot it is great. It is very easy to use, but also comes with a manual mode for great artistic photos. Automatic mode is okay, not as precise and great as I would like, but what Auto mode is LOL. My only issues have come from these things. 1. Sometimes the focus doesn't work too well. It focuses rather well, but not always at your subject. But I have only faced this issue with very close shots. 2. This camera is very slow on the draw. It takes a good second to take a photo. If you want faster pictures, change it to the wide screen mode, which brings it down to about 12MP. 3. Reading the manual is MANDATORY for the life of this product. It may be a bit fragile (Not in build, but in working conditions). Don't use this thing in freezing temperatures, Or in +90% humidity. By the way, the camera bag I have listed is perfect for this, and is even padded as the manual suggests.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurtleTech
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Camera at Good Price
7/25/2011

Customer review by lawyerman

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by lawyerman
by lawyerman
Top 500 contributor

I really like this bridge camera. Its easy to use and takes good pictures if you follow the instructions. Ive sold a few of my shots already. This is my 5th digital camera and my first GE, but it really has all the features I need. I think the lens cap is loosely fitting because the lens protrudes out of the camera when its turned on and if you forget to take the lens cap off it will push it off for you. If it was tightly fitting it may damage the camera and my cap doesnt come off unless I take it off so it isnt loose as it is stated in other reviews. You also have to manually pop up the flash if you want to use it which isnt a big deal except my other digital pops up automatically when needed and I got used to that. The camera body isnt as large as an DSLR and the cameras not too heavy to lug for a day of picture taking. All in all at this price I think you wont find a better deal. Happy Photographing!

Was this review helpful? (336) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawyerman
Youngstown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Love It!
9/29/2011

Customer review by JSDA

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by JSDA
by JSDA

I have had this camera for over a month and have taken a lot of pictures. I have taken pics of spiders, flowers, trees, kids, animals, while moving in a vehicle, in the house, outside when bright and at sunset. EVERY picture has turned out great! The auto scenes makes taking pics even easier, since I just set what I need and it adjusts for me. The pics are crisp and clear, they even upload wonderful onto Facebook. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants a great camera and a wonderful price. I am not a professional, just a Mom taking pics of her kids and everything else but I am so pleased with it, that I have recommended it to others. The only down side is the batteries, it goes through them quick, but you can either get Lithium or rechargeable to solve that problem.

Was this review helpful? (74) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSDA
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Met my needs and expectations.
10/11/2011

Customer review by SatisfiedinAR

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by SatisfiedinAR
by SatisfiedinAR

I purchased this camera because the one I was using had a short flash range. I needed to be able to take pictures inside from a distance of at least 20 to 30 feet away. I also needed to snap pictures continuously with no lag time between snaps. This camera has all those capabilities and more. I took it to the Hot Air Balloon Festival in Albuquerque and it performed beautifully! It's zoom capabilities are phenominal. I came home with picture perfect shots from as close as two feet to as far away as miles. It is very easy to use and the the options and settings are easy to see and to understand. This camera gives results you would expect from more expensive cameras.

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SatisfiedinAR
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing camera!
8/4/2011

Customer review by sora2key

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by sora2key
by sora2key

From what I have seen, all its features that it offers can help taking awesome pictures. You will not be disappointed in buying this camera. Even if other places (websites) criticizes the GE company, which is really from General Imaging from what I've heard, they have made a great progress and have offered a valuable item at a low price. This camera is like your point-and-shoot camera with steroids haha. But its a very well made camera it is close to a DSLR camera with an amazing zoom. I was able to take a picture of an airplane flying so high in pretty darn clear view. Well, I am very satisfied with my purchase. I am sure you'll find the camera incredible also.

Was this review helpful? (57) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sora2key
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product for the price
10/29/2011

Customer review by hifiseeker

4.0 stars 10/29/2011 by hifiseeker
by hifiseeker

this is a great camera for travelling,sharp pictures, great range 15X,high ISO and 16 MP,all for $128,it bet some SLR Digital camera that sell for hundreds dollars more,and have so many feature like high end camera have, I use it to walk around for Vacation, instead my heavy Nikon D700,or D7000, for easy carrying,and just take fun picture, and it surprise me how good the color and sharpness this camera produce,and not to mention it use AA battery, it is the best feature, I run out of my rechargeable battery twice and I can buy the battery any where and start shooting again,I put a 16 Gb card in it,and it took over 3 thousands picture,wow overall this is a great camera for the price, it is hard to bet.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hifiseeker
usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The GE X500 is a keeper.
5/5/2012

Customer review by thrifty131

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by thrifty131
by thrifty131

Well the jury is in---this is a great camera. After owning and fighting with this camera and printing out a return slip, the fault on the blurry pictures was all mine. There is a focus box in the view finder that must turn green and the camera will beep then the pictures will be great. If the focus box is any other color (red-orange) and the camera does not give the "ok" beep then the pics will be probably be blurry. What I found was when the auto focus was giving a "red" box and having trouble focusing I set the Expo Metering to "Center or Spot" metering and then the camera view box was green again and the pictures were all good to excellent. The factory default seems to be AiAE so if the box seems to be redish then check the setting and reset again. Also one needs to keep their fingers out of the way of the Auto Focus Assist lens that also helps. So---If the view box is not green and is red or orange then recompose until the box is green and then you will be taking great pictures. Battery life is great also if done right. My Canon A540 owners manual states--if using the LCD screen on the back of camera it will take around 90 photos--if one turns that off and uses the view finder the camera will take around 600 photos before needing to change the batteries, big difference. On the X500 I simply use the "EVF" button leaving the big LCD screen off as much as possible. I also like the Double A batteries, as when going on a 6 day float trip in the wilderness a battery and charger do not work well. Just get some rechargeable batteries if that is a problem. Although i still am going to update to (bigger--better-more expensive) camera sometime, this one is a keeper. Steve

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thrifty131
Great Camera
6/5/2011

Customer review by pctech

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by pctech
by pctech
Top 1000 contributor

This is an awesome camera, does what I want it to and much much more. Very easily comaparabe to much more expensive camera. The only problem I have had is sometimes my photos may come out a little blurry, but that was mostly me getting used to the new camera and all it's settings. This camera takes excellent crystal clear images once you get used to how the camera functions. You won't go wrong with this camera.

Was this review helpful? (484) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pctech
Willow Spring, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
Most Excellent Purchase-
10/26/2012

Customer review by chuckkinpa

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by chuckkinpa
by chuckkinpa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Replaced an older and pricier DSL after 8 years. This GE has more than I need!! I'm an old wet film guy . -SLR's - Nikon F-1, Olympus OM-10's. Then to Digital .with a DSL . But since I made the transition, I love digital, and so far, I love this GE. Big screen for review, and through the lens for framing. Nice it takes 4 AA batterys, not 2. So, it's slightly bulkier but comfy to hold. Some reviews said, 'blurry pics, '- remember, auto focus occurs when the shutter buton is initially touched, so you have to give it a heartbeat before pressing all the way, unless you set it for sports (action). There is a few to many options (software) built in that can be confusing. This is not a 'viewfinder' compact that fits in your shirt pocket. For my purposes, it's better than my 'way old ' F-1. 16MP and 15X - most excelent resolution. - and a most excellent price. Only 2 negative coments; the lens cap, and way TOO many options in the software.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuckkinpa
N.E. PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just not dependable
6/5/2012

Customer review by JoeFriday49

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by JoeFriday49
by JoeFriday49

I purchased this camera to replace my ole Fuji that had lived a long productive life, but had finally succumbed to the ravages of time and died... This camera takes great pictures for the price and has excellent specifications and features, but it just can't be depended on to always take a picture when you press the shutter. It would periodically give me an SD card write error, and sometimes even report the 16 gig card as full even though it had less than 100 pictures on it. Well I tried several other cards that worked fine in my other devices with the same result... Periodic SD card errors... If you don't mind missing the occasional shot, this might just make you a good purchase, but if missing out on that "once in a lifetime" shot would get under your skin you may want to spend a little more money... I recommend doing a little research here on the interweb and search for "GE X500 problem". I should have done more of this and paid more attention to the results... I returned this camera and ordered another Fuji...

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeFriday49
Beautiful Weiss Lake Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great camera for price
7/18/2011

Customer review by clwashington

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by clwashington
by clwashington

agree with other reviewer, my first pictures were blurry. really great pictures once i got the hang of it. exceptional zoom, just used it on trip to the beach and was really pleased with results. my lens cap does not stay on and i do not like this because the lens does not cover up when camera is off. its the only thing i would change.

Was this review helpful? (162) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clwashington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews