Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
1-20 of 51 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
The NOPEN-4GB-B pen "saved" me.
1/18/2017

Customer review by aedmunde

4.0 stars 1/18/2017 by aedmunde
by aedmunde

Using the pen, I was able to demonstrate the behaviour of the individual disputing my version of events; that probably helped keep me from being arrested. It also corroborated what I had told the person's therapist.

aedmunde
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Video does not work, only AUDIO
9/3/2016

Customer review by Matty McMattMatt

1.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Matty McMattMatt
by Matty McMattMatt

I just got this pen in the mail. I've charged it, reformatted it, and attempted multiple times to record video, but its black every time. Audio works just fine, but no video. How do i fix this???

Matty McMattMatt
Malibu, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not Working out of box
3/12/2016

Customer review by EMart

1.0 stars 3/12/2016 by EMart
by EMart

Just received covert executive camera pen and followed set up steps but NOT working . soooooo disappointed . Will see if customer service has the same outcome. will post results of experience with customer service next

EMart
Port Jervis, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
10/16/2015

Customer review by slickrick

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by slickrick
by slickrick

works great. had one for over year now want another. picture is very clear. takes time to get hang of it but after that its lots of fun.

slickrick
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
good purchase
4/2/2015

Customer review by vgrg

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by vgrg
by vgrg

in my personal opinion is good to deal with some kind of people

Comment from - 4/9/2015

Thank you for support and business.

vgrg
Brownsville, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Does not meet expectations
3/14/2014

Customer review by Majestik

1.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Majestik
by Majestik

This pen does not record more than two minutes with a full charge.

Majestik
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
AWESOME Night Owl Nopen 4GB Executive Camera Pen
7/15/2012

Customer review by KrisB0418

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by KrisB0418
by KrisB0418

This pen does and is exactly what it said.....The price was a bit much for me especially since there is only a 2 hr max on video recording....it would be nice to have had a feature that allowed you to video and voice record separately, but oh well you cant have it all....the pen is stylish and sleek and picture quality is very decent....a few watch outs is to make sure the pen is turned outward and secure in its positioning or your video will be all over the place.....also, setting the time was tricky since there were no instruction to do that as well as no instruction on how to set the time with Office products.....their online instructions is great as well....over-all I a lover of this pen and take it everywhere I go....if you are looking for a recording video pen....this is a great buy....o but beware of using the pen portion, the twist motion isnt as secure as I would like but its manageable....the biggest thing of all to note is changing the ink cartridge....

Was this review helpful? (119) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KrisB0418
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Could have been made better for a few cents more
7/19/2014

Customer review by MrDelightful

1.0 stars 7/19/2014 by MrDelightful
by MrDelightful
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first day was fine, it worked and loaded the current date. The next day it was off by six hours, could not get back in the file to change it. Support could not tell me what to do-not enough info(geez what do you need). Next day when pulling the pen out of the usb port it pulled apart with the electronics exposed. It pulled a very fine wire off the microphone. Luckily I have the ability to solder such a small connection. Then the pushbutton switch on top was pushing the switch down on the circuit board and would not work. Only solder joints hold it. Had to resolder the tiny connections to the board because they broke off too. Put some hot glue under it for support. I'm sure I haven't been the only one with these problems. A little glue would help, but that cost another penny. Would not recommend this pen. Spend a little more and maybe it will work trouble free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrDelightful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay but not great.
2/10/2013

Customer review by JPCusick

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by JPCusick
by JPCusick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There needs to be light as if in a dark room as like even a Bar room then the picture will be dark and not worth much. There is no way to adjust the lens so it needs to be used in a lighted area. Plus it takes too high-up or pointing upward of a picture if in my shirt pocket, and it has a small blue light on the reverse side when it is filming and if anyone looks at the pen from the back side of the lens then the blue light shines out. The sound seems great to me but it is not intended to record a symphony concert. The batteries last long and I got two and a half hours of filming and had more to go as I turned the camera off before it ran out, and it recharged fast as if the battery used little power. It does not have a battery gauge as is on any cell phone so even when attached to the computer there is no way to judge if the battery is half charged or down low as it simply flashes a yellow light to show charging and a steady (non flashing) yellow light when charged. I intend to use it like a small camcorder because I hold it in hand and in light then it works fine. It uploads on my Windows 7 with no problem. The shipping was fine and came delivered fast enough.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPCusick
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/28/2012

Customer review by sldfk

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by sldfk
by sldfk

Great device for the price. Has excellent picture quality. I would purchase this camera pen again.

Was this review helpful? (103) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sldfk
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent pencam
1/2/2017

Customer review by Walcust

4.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Walcust
by Walcust
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is okay but I can't seem to get it to video straightforward it seems to be in the upward position

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/5/2017

Thank you for your great review

Walcust
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/5/2013

Customer review by spypen101

3.0 stars 2/5/2013 by spypen101
by spypen101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pen functions as what the specification states. It looks elegant and can writes. The video is reasonably clear. But the quality of video cannot compare to DVD. It does not take pictures. It is easy to use to capture video. However, the design of a hidden camera on a pen would make the capture of video a little difficult. The pen has to stand up right and point at the object at the right level. If you are holding a pen, look like writing, the pen will not be easily pointing at the object. When the pen is not stationary, same as the video too. If you are holding a pen stand up right, it looks a little odd and easily draw the attention. It is not the design for. If the camera is put inside something stationary like a clock or flash drive, it is a better design.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spypen101
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pen camera for the money
1/12/2013

Customer review by JoeGym

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by JoeGym
by JoeGym

Exactly as advertised. Had purchased a different one from another company in China which arrived DOA. Returned that one and purchased this one. Excellent color video and audio. In order to get a time/date stamp in the video, one must write a time.txt file and save to the camera video directory. Easy to do with the instructions provided. Very pleased with this product. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeGym
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Easy, simple, effective
1/5/2015

Customer review by Veronique13

5.0 stars 1/5/2015 by Veronique13
by Veronique13

I purchased this because items were being stolen from my purse at work- wanted proof before accusing anyone. I positioned the pen in a cup holder on my desk facing the drawer that my purse is kept in. Captured video & sound was very clear and easy upload to computer made the handling of this entire situation quick & simple. **Cover the blue indicator light with a small piece of electrical tape

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/17/2015

Thank you for sharing with us your positive experience with a Night Owl product.

Veronique13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bought but did not open - here's why..
11/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this and the key chain recorder. I used the key chain recorder & it works perfectly! The ONLY reason I have not opened the pen & returned it was because the pen is just waaaay too large to look normal. Maybe if put in a suit pocket but other than that if I left it laying around to record, someone would see it & probably inspect it just because it is much larger than your average pen. It's about the thickness of a sharpie. I'm sure it works great since the key chain blew my mind with how well it works.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/29/2012

Customer review by Chriszzzz

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Chriszzzz
by Chriszzzz

Pen should be designed for the average human anatomy. Most men aren't flat chested, even the athletic ones, and when the pen is in the pocket, it shows mostly the upper part of the room and the ceiling. The camera should be pointed downward slightly and it should have a wider angle.

Was this review helpful? (42) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chriszzzz
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1/3/2013

Customer review by doughboyxd

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by doughboyxd
by doughboyxd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only problems are can't take picture other than videos and can't see what you are recording, but other than those two things, I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doughboyxd
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/4/2012

Customer review by Gmom336

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Gmom336
by Gmom336

excellent for the price and the viewing of the pen is great.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gmom336
Newark, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/11/2012

Customer review by MCFlorida

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MCFlorida
by MCFlorida

The product works great and I use every day. Thinking to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCFlorida
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/3/2013

Customer review by nosyguy

3.0 stars 2/3/2013 by nosyguy
by nosyguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to be very close to get a clear audio.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nosyguy
the south
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews