Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 38 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
AWESOME Night Owl Nopen 4GB Executive Camera Pen
7/15/2012

Customer review by KrisB0418

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by KrisB0418
by KrisB0418

This pen does and is exactly what it said.....The price was a bit much for me especially since there is only a 2 hr max on video recording....it would be nice to have had a feature that allowed you to video and voice record separately, but oh well you cant have it all....the pen is stylish and sleek and picture quality is very decent....a few watch outs is to make sure the pen is turned outward and secure in its positioning or your video will be all over the place.....also, setting the time was tricky since there were no instruction to do that as well as no instruction on how to set the time with Office products.....their online instructions is great as well....over-all I a lover of this pen and take it everywhere I go....if you are looking for a recording video pen....this is a great buy....o but beware of using the pen portion, the twist motion isnt as secure as I would like but its manageable....the biggest thing of all to note is changing the ink cartridge....

Was this review helpful? (90) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrisB0418
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/28/2012

Customer review by sldfk

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by sldfk
by sldfk

Great device for the price. Has excellent picture quality. I would purchase this camera pen again.

Was this review helpful? (92) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sldfk
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/11/2012

Customer review by MCFlorida

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MCFlorida
by MCFlorida

The product works great and I use every day. Thinking to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCFlorida
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great pen camera for the money
1/12/2013

Customer review by JoeGym

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by JoeGym
by JoeGym

Exactly as advertised. Had purchased a different one from another company in China which arrived DOA. Returned that one and purchased this one. Excellent color video and audio. In order to get a time/date stamp in the video, one must write a time.txt file and save to the camera video directory. Easy to do with the instructions provided. Very pleased with this product. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (32) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeGym
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
7/29/2012

Customer review by Chriszzzz

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Chriszzzz
by Chriszzzz

Pen should be designed for the average human anatomy. Most men aren't flat chested, even the athletic ones, and when the pen is in the pocket, it shows mostly the upper part of the room and the ceiling. The camera should be pointed downward slightly and it should have a wider angle.

Was this review helpful? (34) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chriszzzz
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9/4/2012

Customer review by Gmom336

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Gmom336
by Gmom336

excellent for the price and the viewing of the pen is great.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gmom336
Newark, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Okay but not great.
2/10/2013

Customer review by JPCusick

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by JPCusick
by JPCusick

There needs to be light as if in a dark room as like even a Bar room then the picture will be dark and not worth much. There is no way to adjust the lens so it needs to be used in a lighted area. Plus it takes too high-up or pointing upward of a picture if in my shirt pocket, and it has a small blue light on the reverse side when it is filming and if anyone looks at the pen from the back side of the lens then the blue light shines out. The sound seems great to me but it is not intended to record a symphony concert. The batteries last long and I got two and a half hours of filming and had more to go as I turned the camera off before it ran out, and it recharged fast as if the battery used little power. It does not have a battery gauge as is on any cell phone so even when attached to the computer there is no way to judge if the battery is half charged or down low as it simply flashes a yellow light to show charging and a steady (non flashing) yellow light when charged. I intend to use it like a small camcorder because I hold it in hand and in light then it works fine. It uploads on my Windows 7 with no problem. The shipping was fine and came delivered fast enough.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JPCusick
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Video does not work
1/27/2013

Customer review by phuchu

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by phuchu
by phuchu

I got this pen today. In my first recording it was good. But after that it does not record video, I can only hear audio.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phuchu
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
2/5/2013

Customer review by spypen101

3.0 stars 2/5/2013 by spypen101
by spypen101

The pen functions as what the specification states. It looks elegant and can writes. The video is reasonably clear. But the quality of video cannot compare to DVD. It does not take pictures. It is easy to use to capture video. However, the design of a hidden camera on a pen would make the capture of video a little difficult. The pen has to stand up right and point at the object at the right level. If you are holding a pen, look like writing, the pen will not be easily pointing at the object. When the pen is not stationary, same as the video too. If you are holding a pen stand up right, it looks a little odd and easily draw the attention. It is not the design for. If the camera is put inside something stationary like a clock or flash drive, it is a better design.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spypen101
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/3/2013

Customer review by nosyguy

3.0 stars 2/3/2013 by nosyguy
by nosyguy

You have to be very close to get a clear audio.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nosyguy
the south
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by doughboyxd

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by doughboyxd
by doughboyxd

only problems are can't take picture other than videos and can't see what you are recording, but other than those two things, I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doughboyxd
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought but did not open - here's why..
11/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this and the key chain recorder. I used the key chain recorder & it works perfectly! The ONLY reason I have not opened the pen & returned it was because the pen is just waaaay too large to look normal. Maybe if put in a suit pocket but other than that if I left it laying around to record, someone would see it & probably inspect it just because it is much larger than your average pen. It's about the thickness of a sharpie. I'm sure it works great since the key chain blew my mind with how well it works.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/16/2012

Customer review by evilc123

3.0 stars 10/16/2012 by evilc123
by evilc123

However, actual writing instrument is not good but recording aspect is great. However, I now find myself carrying in my pocket a pen that will not hold an ink cartridge or pen nib.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evilc123
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
NO GOOD...
5/27/2014

Customer review by PULLEY1973

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by PULLEY1973
by PULLEY1973

IT BROKE 30 MINS.AFTER I RECEIVED IT

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PULLEY1973
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Camera Pens
5/13/2014

Customer review by Lioubov

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Lioubov
by Lioubov

It would be nice to have a Camera Pen that works well. Twice i added one and one time the packet clip was loose and the next one had a bad button. Now i have added Camera watch and i hope it works well. Lucy

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lioubov
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good once you learn how to use
1/5/2013

Customer review by JKTD

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by JKTD
by JKTD

A little hard in the beginning to know at what level the pen should be to record video. I am still trying to understand the distance and level it should be held. You actually don't know until you have recorded then downloaded. Still trying to figure it out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKTD
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/31/2013

Customer review by wbfos

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by wbfos
by wbfos

This DVR works pretty well for its size and I would say well worth the money, however, do NOT use the sight to store option it took almost 3 weeks to arrive had I known this I would have paid to have it sent to my house in less than one week delivery was very disappointing

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wbfos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could have been made better for a few cents more
7/19/2014

Customer review by MrDelightful

1.0 stars 7/19/2014 by MrDelightful
by MrDelightful

The first day was fine, it worked and loaded the current date. The next day it was off by six hours, could not get back in the file to change it. Support could not tell me what to do-not enough info(geez what do you need). Next day when pulling the pen out of the usb port it pulled apart with the electronics exposed. It pulled a very fine wire off the microphone. Luckily I have the ability to solder such a small connection. Then the pushbutton switch on top was pushing the switch down on the circuit board and would not work. Only solder joints hold it. Had to resolder the tiny connections to the board because they broke off too. Put some hot glue under it for support. I'm sure I haven't been the only one with these problems. A little glue would help, but that cost another penny. Would not recommend this pen. Spend a little more and maybe it will work trouble free.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrDelightful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product!
8/21/2013

Customer review by cherdeb

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by cherdeb
by cherdeb

Great! Great! Great! Works so easy and picture and video are great quality!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cherdeb
louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works ten times better than I ever imagined.
10/21/2013

Customer review by Yargib

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Yargib
by Yargib

Only improvement I see is substituting 8 GB for 4 GB for longer recording. That would be worth a little extra cost.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yargib
Famville, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews