Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 59 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
Sort by: 
1-20 of 53 reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
AWESOME Night Owl Nopen 4GB Executive Camera Pen
7/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This pen does and is exactly what it said.....The price was a bit much for me especially since there is only a 2 hr max on video recording....it would be nice to have had a feature that allowed you to video and voice record separately, but oh well you cant have it all....the pen is stylish and sleek and picture quality is very decent....a few watch outs is to make sure the pen is turned outward and secure in its positioning or your video will be all over the place.....also, setting the time was tricky since there were no instruction to do that as well as no instruction on how to set the time with Office products.....their online instructions is great as well....over-all I a lover of this pen and take it everywhere I go....if you are looking for a recording video pen....this is a great buy....o but beware of using the pen portion, the twist motion isnt as secure as I would like but its manageable....the biggest thing of all to note is changing the ink cartridge....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (120)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Okay but not great.
2/10/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
There needs to be light as if in a dark room as like even a Bar room then the picture will be dark and not worth much. There is no way to adjust the lens so it needs to be used in a lighted area. Plus it takes too high-up or pointing upward of a picture if in my shirt pocket, and it has a small blue light on the reverse side when it is filming and if anyone looks at the pen from the back side of the lens then the blue light shines out. The sound seems great to me but it is not intended to record a symphony concert. The batteries last long and I got two and a half hours of filming and had more to go as I turned the camera off before it ran out, and it recharged fast as if the battery used little power. It does not have a battery gauge as is on any cell phone so even when attached to the computer there is no way to judge if the battery is half charged or down low as it simply flashes a yellow light to show charging and a steady (non flashing) yellow light when charged. I intend to use it like a small camcorder because I hold it in hand and in light then it works fine. It uploads on my Windows 7 with no problem. The shipping was fine and came delivered fast enough.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Could have been made better for a few cents more
7/19/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The first day was fine, it worked and loaded the current date. The next day it was off by six hours, could not get back in the file to change it. Support could not tell me what to do-not enough info(geez what do you need). Next day when pulling the pen out of the usb port it pulled apart with the electronics exposed. It pulled a very fine wire off the microphone. Luckily I have the ability to solder such a small connection. Then the pushbutton switch on top was pushing the switch down on the circuit board and would not work. Only solder joints hold it. Had to resolder the tiny connections to the board because they broke off too. Put some hot glue under it for support. I'm sure I haven't been the only one with these problems. A little glue would help, but that cost another penny. Would not recommend this pen. Spend a little more and maybe it will work trouble free.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great device for the price. Has excellent picture quality. I would purchase this camera pen again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/5/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The pen functions as what the specification states. It looks elegant and can writes. The video is reasonably clear. But the quality of video cannot compare to DVD. It does not take pictures. It is easy to use to capture video. However, the design of a hidden camera on a pen would make the capture of video a little difficult. The pen has to stand up right and point at the object at the right level. If you are holding a pen, look like writing, the pen will not be easily pointing at the object. When the pen is not stationary, same as the video too. If you are holding a pen stand up right, it looks a little odd and easily draw the attention. It is not the design for. If the camera is put inside something stationary like a clock or flash drive, it is a better design.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great pen camera for the money
1/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Exactly as advertised. Had purchased a different one from another company in China which arrived DOA. Returned that one and purchased this one. Excellent color video and audio. In order to get a time/date stamp in the video, one must write a time.txt file and save to the camera video directory. Easy to do with the instructions provided. Very pleased with this product. Fast shipping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy, simple, effective
1/5/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this because items were being stolen from my purse at work- wanted proof before accusing anyone. I positioned the pen in a cup holder on my desk facing the drawer that my purse is kept in. Captured video & sound was very clear and easy upload to computer made the handling of this entire situation quick & simple. **Cover the blue indicator light with a small piece of electrical tape
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/29/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pen should be designed for the average human anatomy. Most men aren't flat chested, even the athletic ones, and when the pen is in the pocket, it shows mostly the upper part of the room and the ceiling. The camera should be pointed downward slightly and it should have a wider angle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
only problems are can't take picture other than videos and can't see what you are recording, but other than those two things, I really like it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
excellent for the price and the viewing of the pen is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product works great and I use every day. Thinking to buy another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works ten times better than I ever imagined.
10/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Only improvement I see is substituting 8 GB for 4 GB for longer recording. That would be worth a little extra cost.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It is a decent camera but not a hidden camera.
8/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the lenses and the sensor this camera works well, in illuminated environment. With normal illuminating this camera provides surprisingly crisp video from infinite to very close (you can record a document too). This is a mini camcorder, but not a spy camera. It is obvious that this unusually giant pen, it is a camera. I concealed inside a PaperPro® Premium Standard Staples, 1/4", Box, opening a hole in one side, but it is very difficult to aim and activate. There are real hidden pen cameras but they cost >$100. So if you are harassed by someone, and need evidence, please do not play with this toy camera, go ahead and buy a real hidden pen camera.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/3/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
You have to be very close to get a clear audio.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought but did not open - here's why..
11/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this and the key chain recorder. I used the key chain recorder & it works perfectly! The ONLY reason I have not opened the pen & returned it was because the pen is just waaaay too large to look normal. Maybe if put in a suit pocket but other than that if I left it laying around to record, someone would see it & probably inspect it just because it is much larger than your average pen. It's about the thickness of a sharpie. I'm sure it works great since the key chain blew my mind with how well it works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Video does not work
1/27/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this pen today. In my first recording it was good. But after that it does not record video, I can only hear audio.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NO GOOD...
5/27/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
IT BROKE 30 MINS.AFTER I RECEIVED IT
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad Camera Pens
5/13/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It would be nice to have a Camera Pen that works well. Twice i added one and one time the packet clip was loose and the next one had a bad button. Now i have added Camera watch and i hope it works well. Lucy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good once you learn how to use
1/5/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A little hard in the beginning to know at what level the pen should be to record video. I am still trying to understand the distance and level it should be held. You actually don't know until you have recorded then downloaded. Still trying to figure it out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product!
8/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great! Great! Great! Works so easy and picture and video are great quality!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643913, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-