Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 42 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
AWESOME Night Owl Nopen 4GB Executive Camera Pen
7/15/2012

Customer review by KrisB0418

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by KrisB0418
by KrisB0418

This pen does and is exactly what it said.....The price was a bit much for me especially since there is only a 2 hr max on video recording....it would be nice to have had a feature that allowed you to video and voice record separately, but oh well you cant have it all....the pen is stylish and sleek and picture quality is very decent....a few watch outs is to make sure the pen is turned outward and secure in its positioning or your video will be all over the place.....also, setting the time was tricky since there were no instruction to do that as well as no instruction on how to set the time with Office products.....their online instructions is great as well....over-all I a lover of this pen and take it everywhere I go....if you are looking for a recording video pen....this is a great buy....o but beware of using the pen portion, the twist motion isnt as secure as I would like but its manageable....the biggest thing of all to note is changing the ink cartridge....

Was this review helpful? (103) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KrisB0418
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Could have been made better for a few cents more
7/19/2014

Customer review by MrDelightful

1.0 stars 7/19/2014 by MrDelightful
by MrDelightful
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first day was fine, it worked and loaded the current date. The next day it was off by six hours, could not get back in the file to change it. Support could not tell me what to do-not enough info(geez what do you need). Next day when pulling the pen out of the usb port it pulled apart with the electronics exposed. It pulled a very fine wire off the microphone. Luckily I have the ability to solder such a small connection. Then the pushbutton switch on top was pushing the switch down on the circuit board and would not work. Only solder joints hold it. Had to resolder the tiny connections to the board because they broke off too. Put some hot glue under it for support. I'm sure I haven't been the only one with these problems. A little glue would help, but that cost another penny. Would not recommend this pen. Spend a little more and maybe it will work trouble free.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrDelightful
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay but not great.
2/10/2013

Customer review by JPCusick

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by JPCusick
by JPCusick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There needs to be light as if in a dark room as like even a Bar room then the picture will be dark and not worth much. There is no way to adjust the lens so it needs to be used in a lighted area. Plus it takes too high-up or pointing upward of a picture if in my shirt pocket, and it has a small blue light on the reverse side when it is filming and if anyone looks at the pen from the back side of the lens then the blue light shines out. The sound seems great to me but it is not intended to record a symphony concert. The batteries last long and I got two and a half hours of filming and had more to go as I turned the camera off before it ran out, and it recharged fast as if the battery used little power. It does not have a battery gauge as is on any cell phone so even when attached to the computer there is no way to judge if the battery is half charged or down low as it simply flashes a yellow light to show charging and a steady (non flashing) yellow light when charged. I intend to use it like a small camcorder because I hold it in hand and in light then it works fine. It uploads on my Windows 7 with no problem. The shipping was fine and came delivered fast enough.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPCusick
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/28/2012

Customer review by sldfk

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by sldfk
by sldfk

Great device for the price. Has excellent picture quality. I would purchase this camera pen again.

Was this review helpful? (96) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sldfk
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Video does not work
1/27/2013

Customer review by phuchu

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by phuchu
by phuchu

I got this pen today. In my first recording it was good. But after that it does not record video, I can only hear audio.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phuchu
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
low resolution , not clear
11/10/2015

Customer review by aaaaaaaaaaadiifk

1.0 stars 11/10/2015 by aaaaaaaaaaadiifk
by aaaaaaaaaaadiifk

I returned this because of its low resolution on recording small stuff.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/11/2015

I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our covert pen. I know the image quality of our covert pen does not match some of our more advanced systems, but the picture should have been clear. Did you attempt to troubleshoot with one of our technicians, who are available 24/7? Regardless, I apologize for the sour experience and hope Night Owl can make amends in the future.

aaaaaaaaaaadiifk
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/4/2012

Customer review by Gmom336

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Gmom336
by Gmom336

excellent for the price and the viewing of the pen is great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gmom336
Newark, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
2/5/2013

Customer review by spypen101

3.0 stars 2/5/2013 by spypen101
by spypen101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pen functions as what the specification states. It looks elegant and can writes. The video is reasonably clear. But the quality of video cannot compare to DVD. It does not take pictures. It is easy to use to capture video. However, the design of a hidden camera on a pen would make the capture of video a little difficult. The pen has to stand up right and point at the object at the right level. If you are holding a pen, look like writing, the pen will not be easily pointing at the object. When the pen is not stationary, same as the video too. If you are holding a pen stand up right, it looks a little odd and easily draw the attention. It is not the design for. If the camera is put inside something stationary like a clock or flash drive, it is a better design.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spypen101
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/11/2012

Customer review by MCFlorida

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MCFlorida
by MCFlorida

The product works great and I use every day. Thinking to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCFlorida
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/3/2013

Customer review by doughboyxd

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by doughboyxd
by doughboyxd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only problems are can't take picture other than videos and can't see what you are recording, but other than those two things, I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doughboyxd
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pen camera for the money
1/12/2013

Customer review by JoeGym

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by JoeGym
by JoeGym

Exactly as advertised. Had purchased a different one from another company in China which arrived DOA. Returned that one and purchased this one. Excellent color video and audio. In order to get a time/date stamp in the video, one must write a time.txt file and save to the camera video directory. Easy to do with the instructions provided. Very pleased with this product. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (37) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeGym
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Bought but did not open - here's why..
11/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this and the key chain recorder. I used the key chain recorder & it works perfectly! The ONLY reason I have not opened the pen & returned it was because the pen is just waaaay too large to look normal. Maybe if put in a suit pocket but other than that if I left it laying around to record, someone would see it & probably inspect it just because it is much larger than your average pen. It's about the thickness of a sharpie. I'm sure it works great since the key chain blew my mind with how well it works.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/16/2015

Customer review by slickrick

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by slickrick
by slickrick

works great. had one for over year now want another. picture is very clear. takes time to get hang of it but after that its lots of fun.

slickrick
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
7/29/2012

Customer review by Chriszzzz

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Chriszzzz
by Chriszzzz

Pen should be designed for the average human anatomy. Most men aren't flat chested, even the athletic ones, and when the pen is in the pocket, it shows mostly the upper part of the room and the ceiling. The camera should be pointed downward slightly and it should have a wider angle.

Was this review helpful? (41) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chriszzzz
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good once you learn how to use
1/5/2013

Customer review by JKTD

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by JKTD
by JKTD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A little hard in the beginning to know at what level the pen should be to record video. I am still trying to understand the distance and level it should be held. You actually don't know until you have recorded then downloaded. Still trying to figure it out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKTD
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works
11/15/2015

Customer review by Mikerev

4.0 stars 11/15/2015 by Mikerev
by Mikerev

Had an initial problem with an inability to turn the device on. The yellow light would show but it would not move on to the blue light. The following time I used it, all was well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikerev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/3/2013

Customer review by nosyguy

3.0 stars 2/3/2013 by nosyguy
by nosyguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to be very close to get a clear audio.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nosyguy
the south
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NO GOOD...
5/27/2014

Customer review by PULLEY1973

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by PULLEY1973
by PULLEY1973
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

IT BROKE 30 MINS.AFTER I RECEIVED IT

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PULLEY1973
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/31/2013

Customer review by wbfos

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by wbfos
by wbfos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This DVR works pretty well for its size and I would say well worth the money, however, do NOT use the sight to store option it took almost 3 weeks to arrive had I known this I would have paid to have it sent to my house in less than one week delivery was very disappointing

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wbfos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Camera Pens
5/13/2014

Customer review by Lioubov

1.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Lioubov
by Lioubov
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It would be nice to have a Camera Pen that works well. Twice i added one and one time the packet clip was loose and the next one had a bad button. Now i have added Camera watch and i hope it works well. Lucy

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lioubov
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews