Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

104 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 stars
16
1-20 of 81 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Great!:D
8/4/2011

Customer review by skbrynt

4.0 stars 8/4/2011 by skbrynt
by skbrynt

I bought this computer for high school and i bought the bundle for it. This computer is amazing:) The screen is very big for the price which surprised me. The screen's in HD so it's amazing at watching movies and uploading pictures. It's sort of like the MAC for a Dell because it has a dock but it's at the top of the screen. The webcams good but be sure to turn the microphone on if you ever want to video chat before hand. The only sorta bad-ish thing is that the screen can get dirty easily and it's hard to really clean it, and the inside black can get smudges from opening it. Other than that it's really good. The battery life lasts longer than you expect and it was totally worth it and the bundle is best. Only thing on the bundle is the printer I bought didn't come with the USB to hook it up to the computer. Other than that it's phenomenal. :D

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skbrynt
Charlestown, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Students
8/19/2011

Customer review by QuickReview31

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by QuickReview31
by QuickReview31

My 14 y/o son purchased this laptop, it is a great 1st computer for students. I have an Inspiron 1720 that has more features and programs that he doesn't need right now. His laptop came with a limited version of MS Office, it has just the right features for his essay's and reports. Setup was simple and only took minutes, I highly recommend this for younger students. The only negative thing I have experienced in the 3 years I have had my laptop is having to replace the charger once a year. I did purchase the Wal-Mart extended warranty so that he would be covered for 3 years.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuickReview31
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dell Inspiron Laptop
7/3/2011

Customer review by cccmarysville

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by cccmarysville
by cccmarysville

Very good buy. Large enought HD, Dual Core processor. A well equiped laptop at a very good price. Better equiped than almost all others that I researched. Other comparable laptops were higher priced. Purchased for my son & he is very satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (145) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cccmarysville
Marysville, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of money
10/6/2011

Customer review by feeldasteel

1.0 stars 10/6/2011 by feeldasteel
by feeldasteel

I bought one of these machines yesterday. Brought it home, opened it up, set it up and began. Straight out of the box this unit was slow and not at all up to par in responsiveness. I got out my Acer Aspire One netbook and set them right beside each other. Went to the same video on youtube and hit play at the same time. My 2 year old netbook put this thing to shame! The Dell Inspiron was slow in loading, buffering through the entire video as my little netbook played straight through without as much as a stutter. Took an extra 1:38 seconds to play a 5 minute video. Also I decided to try the webcam so I messaged a friend on yahoo. Every time I said something they said "What?" "Huh?" So I start to hunt for the mic, finally found it on the bottom of the unit pointing down into the depths of my lap. Honestly, I am not very demanding of a computer, but this thing is garbage. I took it back this morning and bought a Lenovo B570-1068a and I am in love with it! It makes the Dell look like a speak and spell! Take my advice, Dont buy this machine, it is a glorified calculator!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
feeldasteel
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
pretty good deal
8/6/2011

Customer review by alytle11

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by alytle11
by alytle11

I just got this laptop last week, and so far its good. The only thing I dont like about it is the mouse scroll pad thing. It can be kind of faulty, but I'm going to just get a wireless mouse for it. Other than that the display is great. and it was a good bargain! It will be great for school and everything else

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alytle11
Arlington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a "smokin" deal
8/7/2011

Customer review by MTrobinsnest

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by MTrobinsnest
by MTrobinsnest

Great product...exceptional price....excellent extended warranty. Thanks for a fantastic deal. It met all of my expectations!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTrobinsnest
Whitehall, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/25/2011

Customer review by Susan524

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by Susan524
by Susan524

Just love this computer! Great value! Pretty much ready to go right out of the box!

Was this review helpful? (30) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susan524
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My Dell Inspiron 1545
6/22/2011

Customer review by AaronArzadon

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by AaronArzadon
by AaronArzadon

Glossy, stylish, fast and reliable laptop computer. Dual core processor and 4 gigabytes of RAM for multitasking, and fast computing. LED back-lit with a resolution of 1366x768 widescreen perfect for Intel High definition graphics. Great for everyday use. Im Aaron from Philippines, Information Technology Graduate.I always use my Inspiron 1545 for my everyday use. Im a programmer, so i used it from my college thesis, to applying for a job. I also use this for my photography to edit pictures. Watching high definition movies is great. The audio is perfect for listening to music as I am a musician. 320GB of hard drive is a lot for my photography, movies and songs. Getting errors or problems is very often ever since ive got it from almost a year. I also like the Lithium-ion batteries, though its a dual core, and slightly bigger than ordinary a laptop, it can last for up to 4 hours. I recommend Dell notebooks to my friends even though they have their laptop or desktop computer, because of great specifications, long battery life, and easy computing.

AaronArzadon
Philippines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's an "okay" computer
8/29/2011

Customer review by mkjv

3.0 stars 8/29/2011 by mkjv
by mkjv

I bought this laptop because Walmart ran out of stock with the other Dell Laptops. I was using an HP before I bought this laptop, and I must say that it is made out of really cheap material. The webcam isn't that great, and start-up takes forever. There is no HDMI ports which really bothers me. The jacks to plug in your headphone and microphone are in the front, so if you're sitting with your laptop on your lap with your headphone plugged in, the bottom of your headphones will poke your stomach. It's slow at loading youtube videos. It's an okay computer for a college student like me who has experience with laptops, but for starters, I would say that this would be a good laptop.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkjv
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for!
9/18/2011

Customer review by KellyJane

3.0 stars 9/18/2011 by KellyJane
by KellyJane

I decided to buy another dell after my previous dell was reliable (bit slow) but good for 5 years. This dell was half the price of my last one and it shows. The plastic on the laptop itself seems a bit cheap and so does the buttons. The sound is a bit clangy when playing music loud and the sound is poor when using skype. I have to plug in a headset to get better sound quality. This does solve the problem. In nearly two weeks I've had it the cursor on the mouse has frozen on the screen and takes ages to come back. I do like some of the new features that are loaded immediately onto the desktop. It's small things like weather and date etc. In fact you can choose what app you like. The laptop was very easy to setup, in fact it does it all for you. At the moment the laptop is quick in starting up. Hopefully this will last. I would recommend it to students or if you just want a cheap laptop for general home use. It certainly does the job I want it to. I'm not sure if it will last as long as my last one. I do however have a years warranty on it so any major problems it can go back.

KellyJane
Bristol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good computer works good and pretty reliable.
7/9/2011

Customer review by ascsr

4.0 stars 7/9/2011 by ascsr
by ascsr

had a dell years ago worked forever.then switched to toshiba and they are pretty good but after your year warranty seems as if they just go down hill.but this model dell is a good value and after your warranty pretty cheap to upgrade.but realy i just got it and it hasnt been tested to its limits so maybe in time i will write another one after through testing.

Was this review helpful? (28) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ascsr
crittenden ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inspiron M5030
3/6/2012

Customer review by Team118

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Team118
by Team118

I needed a backup laptop and a friend gave me this to use. I used a number of different Dell laptops and a few HP for work. I really do like this model. It's design is very 'spartan'. Everything you need is literally at your finger tips. I can't think of anything that should be added. I've installed the newest version of MS Office and there were no hiccups. Obviously most of the pleasure of using the laptop is the software and Windows 7, but that certainly helps make the machine worthwhile. The only drawback is the keyboard. It seems a bit 'squished' for the size of the laptop, but I believe once I get used to it, it will be fine. The ABSOLUTE one thing that turns me off is the proprietary ownership Dell has on its peripherals. My dog chewed the power cord and until I get a new ac adapter from Dell I'm stuck with no way to recharge the battery. That is frustrating and from what I have read, buying a OEM adapter is fraught with uncertainty...I understand the logic why they do this, but other laptops don't have this issue. Otherwise great machine and for the price, a great rig for the average user!

Team118
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Solid Keyboard, Enough Inputs
8/8/2011

Customer review by Lulu56320

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by Lulu56320
by Lulu56320

Love this machine, if one complaint---wish it had a number lock to create 10 key pad. I miss that. The keyboard affords easy, natural typing. Great computer for photographer and videographer (built in card reader) giving quick on site ability to review photos and videos.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lulu56320
Cold Spring, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
3/27/2011

Customer review by .........

4.0 stars 3/27/2011 by .........
by .........

Well, I got this a few months ago for my schoolwork. Awesome brand, great looking, nice clear screen, fast mousepad, pretty good keyboard, etc... Though, I have had a few problems lately. First, at random times of when I'm on, the screen with just go black, making me have to press the power button to turn it off, then have to start it up again and re-do any lost data. Adobe crashes often, as do other programs, and not to long ago it failed to start three times, before finally running a program to -try- to make it start. It in the end did, and I'm on it right now. It is in great shape, there's only one small scratch beside the mousepad from my earbuds. The outer cover makes me kinda nervous at times since it seems so fragile and thin. Other than that, I LOVE it and I'm very thankful that I at least have a DELL laptop! ;)

.........
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dell Inspiron 1545
7/9/2011

Customer review by DrTom777

3.0 stars 7/9/2011 by DrTom777
by DrTom777

As a Dell family with five Dell computers (four of them laptops) on our home network and three of them being the 1545, here are a few comments. - Great starter computer for our two in college. - Easy to maintain software updates and installing third party software is relatively painless. - Screen size for the price is good but I run dual monitors off the one in my home office. (Told my kids to get a job if they want dual monitors) - The one thing that annoys me about this laptop is the startup time. My windows XP machine (5 years old and also a Dell) loads faster than this laptop. So, overall it is a basic laptop that can get on the internet and do minor projects/schoolwork. Any video editing software is a non-starter, buy the faster processor with more resources. If you want to play games, get a faster laptop.

DrTom777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Good-Value Entry laptop
2/25/2012

Customer review by Anzac9

4.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Anzac9
by Anzac9

I bought two of these in 2011 on promotion, the second 6 mths after the first. They're my 5th and 6th dells. Strengths include a good basic design, with great online support. It was delivered inside 48 hours...beat that! It's not a high-end product but well-suited to routine travel, email and net browsing. Graphics and sound handling are fine. The Readyboost option via the spare SD card reader is an outstanding way to double RAM for a few bucks only. Win7 is not greatly improved over XP IMO and ditto Office 2007 vs 2003, but I'll migrate over time. No hardware issues yet save I found it impossible to connect a Bluetooth mouse & keyboard and went back to dongle that works reliably. Fingers crossed we'll have a good 6-7 years service out of these, like the Dell 3000's they're replacing.

Anzac9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't buy this!
6/6/2012

Customer review by Ted1611

1.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Ted1611
by Ted1611

I purchased this refurbished from here. When it arrived the keyboard was sunken a little in the center, I chose to ignore that. Then I realized that there were no function keys, you have to press a seperate function key and then a number. This was bothersome but I got used to it. three months in and the I'm in New Zealand and the hard drive quits. To Dells credit they sent a tech and replaced the drive then I was happy I had purchased from Dell. Now 15 months after purchase the motherboard has given up the ghost. Guess what, I'm not that happy any more. A real bad experience over all, now out of warranty and need to spend $200 for a new motherboard. My old Inspiron 1525 is still running though. I baby my computers, this M5030 only sat on my desk till it died last week.

Ted1611
Now in New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's cheap and feels like it.
4/14/2011

Customer review by JimHudd

3.0 stars 4/14/2011 by JimHudd
by JimHudd

The price is great, but machine feels like you've built it from a kit. It's lightweight but in a bad way; it doesn't feel robust. There's only three USB ports and the VGA port doesn't have the side screw holes to secure the plug which makes it almost useless. It comes with a nasty cut down version of ObjectDock which is normally a great product but it's been cut down and had practically all the good customisation options removed. The screen is nice and clear although a higher resolution would be better. You can't use the track pad and the keyboard at the same time which makes some of the kids games tricky to play. Definitely not the best piece of Dell kit I've had. I wouldn't buy another; I'd spend a bit more. This isn't up to Dell's usual quality.

JimHudd
Would recommend to a friend? No
best computer for the price.
10/1/2011

Customer review by NanaVivi

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by NanaVivi
by NanaVivi

Did a lot of research and found that this was the best price for this particular model. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaVivi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
10/13/2011

Customer review by 22847

2.0 stars 10/13/2011 by 22847
by 22847

I purchased this computer online approximately one month ago. One of the features that influenced my decision to purchase this item was the HDMI port that was included in the specifications. When I received the unit, there was not an HDMI port, but rather a VGA port. We have a wireless network that connects our home computers to the internet. This Dell unit frequently loses its internet connection while our other computers remain connected and functioning. This is annoying, especially when completing online transactions. Dell has been unable to correct this problem through online support and has indicated that the internet card needs to be replaced. Although Dell has indicated that they will make arrangements to complete this task, it is another annoyance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
22847
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews