Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 66 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Lots of good stuff, a few minor negatives...
11/9/2011

Customer review by JerryInLodi

4.0 stars 11/9/2011 by JerryInLodi
by JerryInLodi

This tablet is close to perfect, the right size, super fast, easy to use, and pure fun when playing games since the interface is absolutely seamless. The dual cameras and video recorder work well, good enough that I can leave my little pocket digital at home. The GPS function works great and is a real GPS, satellite system, not wifi driven. Great for bike riding when touring or looking up where you are when lost. The tablet readily recognizes my voice and takes voice commands for numerous apps. I really like this tablet. For the pessimist, there are three concerns; 1. Battery life. I get about 5 1/2 hours use running an app called Juice Defender and turning the GPS receiver off. However, once I get over the fun of playing with the tablet, the five and a half hours would be more than enough during a normal day and would certainly last long enough for me to read a book on a long flight. 2. Viewing on the screen. When viewed head on, the screen is bright and crisp. When viewed from bottom, and both sides, it stays that way for quite a few degrees. However, when viewed at an angle from the top, the screen changes to a shadow image, hard to see. As an example, two people playing backgammon across a dining table would have to slide the tablet back and forth rather than just leave it in the center of the table. One person could see the screen fairly well, the other would see what would appear to an unfinished hologram, unable to discern the board and tiles. 3. The operating system does not allow the apps to store their data on the external SD card. While the 2.3 Gingerbread operating system on older tablets allows for the data files to be routed to the external card, the Acer Iconia does not. However, in truth, this does not seem to be that much of a problem. I have the 8 gig tablet and have 119 apps installed. They take up a total of 850 megs of the 5.36 gigs of internal memory available. I also installed a 32 gig external card and have over 3,000 songs in mp3 format as well as almost 5,000 photos on the card as well as a few documents, my contact list and a few family videos. Even so, I still have 15 gigs, half the external card storage free. Although the tablet and its operating system are new to the market (11/2011) a good number of accessories are already available including custom fitting folio cases and car chargers (the same charger works for the A500). While some Android apps have not yet been configured to operate on 3.2, most of the major ones now work including YouTube and Netflix. The tablet has a decent volume for its size and allows a bluetooth linkup to headphones. Acer has promised further bluetooth links in the automatic software upgrading application. Would I buy this tablet again, given what is available currently on the market? Definitely! Would I recommend one to my techie friends, you betcha!

Was this review helpful? (72) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JerryInLodi
Lodi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This Acer Iconia Tab A100 is the best gadget ever!
8/21/2011

Customer review by ghstbstr

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by ghstbstr
by ghstbstr

This Acer Iconia Tab A100 is great, and is one of the best handheld gadgets that I have ever bought. Also this is the first Android device that I have ever used. I have been using an Apple iPhone 3G since it was released, and for the past 2 years now since I do not have AT&T service on it I have been using it as a handheld wi-fi internet device. It has served its purpose really well during that time but it was time for something different and something with a bigger screen size. I have wanted an Apple iPad for awhile, and they are really nice tablets of course. A friend of mine has an Apple iPad2 and I was able to use it for a couple of hours one time and I was impressed with it, but the price is alittle too high. After looking for the past few months at these Android Tablets I decided that the I wanted one and some are cheaper than the Apple iPad. At first I decided to get an Acer Iconia Tab A500 10.1in, but I didn't like the aluminum backing and the weight was heavy. Then I had decided to get an ASUS Eee Pad Transformer 10.1in, but I decided that it was still too heavy and was kinda bulky in size. So then I decided that I wanted a smaller 7in screen size Android Tablet, but the problem with that was every one that I had found only had Android 2.2(Froyo) or 2.3(Gingerbread) which was made for cellphones and I didn't want a non-tablet Android firmware/OS. Than out of nowhere at Walmart I found an Acer Iconia Tab A100 with a 7in size screen and has Android 3.2(Honeycomb) which is made for tablets. After doing some research on the Acer Iconia Tab A100 7in I decided to get it, and so far I am very happy with my purchase. I would definitely recommend the Acer Iconia Tab A100 7in to anyone that is looking for an Android Tablet with Honeycomb and doesn't want a big/bulky10.1in size screen.

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghstbstr
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good...
8/13/2011

Customer review by sebo121

4.0 stars 8/13/2011 by sebo121
by sebo121

I just picked mine up at the local Walmart store. Probably as one of the first in the country. Yay!! I paid $328 for the 8gb version. I didn't wanna wait couple of weeks till the 16gb version becomes available. I'll just get a 16 or 32gb micro sd card to expand the device's memory. So far I cannot say a lot about it. I unboxed it and had it up running within a few minutes. Asked for the WiFi connection and then prompted me to sign in to my Google account which you will need for the Android market place among others. Despite the product description on this website, the ACER A100 has Android 3.2 already pre-installed. No need to upgrade from an older version. The touch screen is very responsive. You can type easily with one hand holding it in portrait mode. Can't say anything about battery life but it's supposed to be 4 to 5 hours. Not much compared to the 10 inch tablets, however, compared to other 7 inchers it's about the same from what I read in reviews online. You can get the HTC for 200 more and would only have an hour more of battery power. Gotta make compromises somewhere. Android 3.2 is great so far. i haven't run into any forces application closes but this will probably come once i really get into it. But hey, it's easier to get a fix for minor bugs like these than waiting for an update from Gingerbread to Honeycomb. My biggest problem right now is that Acer hasn't put the user guide for the A100 on their website yet. I only have a small start guide with basic information on the product. For now I just try to use the one for the A500, which is the 10 inch brother of the A100. As a first time Android user, I expect to experience a steep learning cure as the software seems to be very intuitively to operate. Love the product so far. But if you don't need to buy one right now, you should wait a couple of months and see what the other Honeycomb 7 inch tablets have to offer.

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sebo121
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/19/2011

Customer review by Destron

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Destron
by Destron

I bought this tablet along with the 10" version. I have found the smaller size much more convenient to carry around than its larger brother. I love the big one for around the house but found it was much to large to carry around comfortably. As the first 3.2 tablet on the market it has its hiccups such as some tablet apps not working correctly but this is merely software and surely will be sorted soon. Overall though its a great tablet and meets my expectations. Its identical to the larger version minus the full size USB port and I love the small size for on the go. It actually feels a bit snappier than the bigger version and is perfect for playing games on.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Destron
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's Really Fast, Responsive and i like more....
9/4/2011

Customer review by tabber123

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by tabber123
by tabber123

I think its a must buy tablet because its really fast. Also small size and weight easy to carry. Hdmi out is excellent no adapter to connect just the hdmi cable and see the mirroring of the device on TV. Good if you want to see flash streaming content on TV. Every other feature i like it but the most i like it is the speed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tabber123
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tablet!
9/7/2011

Customer review by Handytil

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Handytil
by Handytil

I researched 7" tablets for about a year and a half. I did not want an Ipad or any 10" tablets. I needed something smaller for travel. Some of my requirements were: an HDMI out port, decent stereo speakers, Bluetooth, good battery life (did not get that), ability to use a memory card. I've been using this tablet for about two weeks. Wifi range is very good, screen is bright and clear. Reviews stating poor side to side viewing is poor is true, but being a small, one person tablet you hold yourself, that's not an issue. One thing I could not find for the A100 was a car charger. I found that both the A500 (10" model) and the A100 use the same chargers, so I ordered an off brand through Ebay and it works perfectly. Surfing the web is great and the ability to download aps at any time is fun - it seems all you need is an idea for something and there's an ap to do it with. I am very happy with the tablet. Really the only issue is I can't get flash to work yet. I need to get my computer tech friend to fix that problem. You Tube videos work perfectly and many other sites function, but occasionally a message box states it needs a plug-in without specifying the plug-in. I had originally ordered this through another retailer, but Walmart offered a $50.00 gift certificate as well as ship to home. It came very quickly and I have had no issues with it yet. I highly recommend this nice little tablet!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handytil
Kansas City, Ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Incredible Tablet!
10/4/2011

Customer review by Techguy111

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Techguy111
by Techguy111

This is the first tablet to sport android 3.2, and it is pretty incredible, its very speedy,snappy, and quick to load apps and websites, and flash content like a champion. Havent had any problems with it after about 2 weeks. Not sure why others are complaing about its wifi connectivity. I havent had any problems.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Techguy111
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tablet to carry in my bag
9/11/2011

Customer review by jstarr321

5.0 stars 9/11/2011 by jstarr321
by jstarr321

I have an Acer Iconia 10" tab which I use around the house. When I found the 7" tab, I was ecstatic. I now have a wi-fi tab that I can throw in my purse and carry without looking like I have a tab/computer with me. The battery life has been great. It is the bomb to read my e-books when I am waiting for appointments. The android platform is easy to use and the market has all the apps I had on my IPhone (most of them are free on android). This is better than my smart phone when it comes to size factor. There are times when the phone is just too small. Overall it is a great value and I love it. .

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jstarr321
Amarilllo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Acer Seven inch Android Honeycomb Tablet
11/10/2011

Customer review by RetiredInABQ

4.0 stars 11/10/2011 by RetiredInABQ
by RetiredInABQ

I didn't want a 10.1 inch tablet because of the size. I went with the 7 inch and wasn't disappointed at all. The 3.2 OS is just great and I have already received a update from Acer. It came automatically and installed on it's own. The battery life could be a bit longer and if it were I would give it five stars across the board. The touch screen is the best I've run into in an Android System. I haven't found a shortage of Apps for the Honeycomb OS like folks reported a few months ago and the ones written for Honeycomb are a big improvement compared to the Android 2.2 OS I had in my first cheepo tablet. All in all I'd buy this little puppy again, don't miss the larger screen at all especially when it comes time to pack it up and take it on the road. The price was right in line for a new technology 7” tablet and Acer made it with quality. I bought it through tyhe Discover Card Portal and received five percent cashback bonus to boot. With site to store I didn't pay for shipping either and it was ready the next day for pickup.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredInABQ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A little pricey but worth it!
9/5/2011

Customer review by Luddud

4.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Luddud
by Luddud

I was looking into the $200-$250 price range. Everything in that price range today seems to have issues with sluggish responses and glitching or freezing. So I went to the next level. My son-in-law, (super geek) recommended somthing with dual processers and the latest operating system (OS). So I popped on the Acer 100A. So far i'm very impressed...my daughter burned in the CPUs playing Tetris that I downloaded from the Android market place for free. We (the wife and I) don't have smart hones so this will make a very nice addition to our road trips.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luddud
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love my 7 inch tablet
10/27/2011

Customer review by gandmaJudy

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by gandmaJudy
by gandmaJudy

My sister bought this for me so that I can use it to speak to everyone. I have a Neurological Disease that has taken my speaking voice away. I can now be included in every ones conversations. The only problem is that the speaker is not loud enough if I am in a room with a lot of people talking. So I purchased a portable rechargeable speaker that solved this problem. My 4 year old grandson named my tablet MY LADY. I have not connected it to the internet yet but I plan to do so in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gandmaJudy
Jamestown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!!
11/30/2011

Customer review by teeteelei

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by teeteelei
by teeteelei

First I wanna say, I bought one at Best Buy on black Friday for $189. Best Buy sells these regular price $249.99 but Best Buy is sold out EVERYWHERE, so I got a best buy associate to print out the Tag for this, took it to my local Walmart that had 4 in stock and they price matched and I bought a second for my son (8yrs old). So even though Walmart sells them for way more, they will price match with Best Buy who sells it cheaper. Anyways, on to the tablet. This is a GREAT tablet! I am an avid technology user, always want to have the best new thing. This tablet exceeds my expectations. I had an IPAD when they first came out and I must say I was disappointed, No flash, (at that time) no camera, and was really big. I love the size of this tablet, it has full flash capability, has not 1 but 2 cameras WITH A FLASH, and is small enough to fit in a purse. It fits in my sons hands perfectly and he LOVES it because he can download new games FREE all the time when he gets bored with one. No more spending money on DS games etc.. This tablet is VERY QUICK, the battery life could be improved but who sits on the computer or tablet at home for 5+ hours? Not me, and probably not you if you have kids. This is a great product and you WONT be disappointed, its totally worth $250, which is way lower then the other tablets that are overpriced and do the same things!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teeteelei
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a GREAT tablet!!!
9/21/2011

Customer review by birdmom9726

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by birdmom9726
by birdmom9726

Upgraded to this tablet after about 3 months of owning a Wintec Filemate (also on this site, not a bad tablet), loved the Android OS so much that I wanted the latest and greatest, so I did the research and decided on the Acer A100. Didn't want a big, bulky 10" tab - too much to lug around, and I was used to the 7" screen. This tablet was to love right out of the box. It charges really quickly - it does pretty much everything really quickly. Effortless Wi-Fi connectivity (and it keeps the connection much better than my Filemate ever did!), beautiful screen, synced right away with everything on my other tab and phone. The ONLY thing I don't love is the battery life - don't expect more than just about 4 hours. Mine has gone from 60% to 35% just sitting around. And don't expect it to charge thru the USB port on your computer like some other tablets - that's a no-go, straight from the Acer support team. So you're kind of hobbled when it comes to the battery, but that's outweighed by everything else that's so great about this tablet. It also has tons of ports for every possible use I could think of, including HDMI out. It's Bluetooth supported. It has a lot of pre-installed stuff but since I don't know how to root it I'll live with it, that's one of the reasons I got a 16GB memory (not currently available on this web site, that I could find). And it will support up to 32GB, according to the user's manual (now available). If you want super graphics, a great feel in your hand, quick response, lots of bells and whistles, go for this tablet. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdmom9726
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed with Acer...
10/16/2011

Customer review by Soupdog

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Soupdog
by Soupdog

l love it!! I have access to so many apps and cool functions with the android operating system. At first I was conserned, not being familiar with it, and also my first tablet, which I must say Acer has done a good job on. It offers alot in a 7" tablet which you only see in the more expensive tablets. Its easy!! And Walmart has th e best price!! OH, I REALLY LIKE THE PORTABILITY OF THE 7 INCH... :-)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soupdog
Panama City, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/12/2011

Customer review by Snoolio

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by Snoolio
by Snoolio

So happy with my A100. If something happened to it, I'd be on Walmart.com ordering another instantly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snoolio
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Almost Perfect!
12/6/2011

Customer review by hippopotamus

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by hippopotamus
by hippopotamus

I got this tablet on Black Friday for $198 thus my rating for the value is based on this price. This tablet has met most of my expectations. Pros: Almost pure Honeycomb, Very easy to set up, has HDMI Output, supports external SD card, nice speakers, screen is good (not the best) Wish: each speaker on each side instead of having both on one side, USB charger, battery life lasts longer than 5 hours (5 hours is pretty standard for android tablet I guess)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippopotamus
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Love it... with qualifications
9/28/2011

Customer review by Darsgirl

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Darsgirl
by Darsgirl

I've had my A100 about a week now, and I love it, except for the battery life. I wish it would last longer, but if I turn off the wi-fi and gps when I'm not using those things that helps a bit. And I know that larger batteries would make it heavier which would defeat the purpose of the smaller tablet. I was looking for a great case for it, as I want to protect it in my book bag. Haven't seen the exact case I want yet, so I wrapped it in a micro-fiber hand towel and it fits perfectly in a $1 plastic school pencil box! That will do to protect it for now, since I don't have to impress anyone :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darsgirl
Lincoln Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Tablet that Saved Christmas
12/22/2011

Customer review by Duchess3333

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Duchess3333
by Duchess3333

I bought Filemate Identity tablets for my husband and sons for Christmas. 2 out of 3 of them were defective. I was so disappointed. Didn't know what I was gonna do. Four days before Christmas, I came across a review from another disappointed Filemate buyer who recommended the Iconia instead. I took a look. Found 3 in my store. Rushed down, bought them, had them all set up with my boys' favorite apps, pictures, and songs, had them wrapped and under the tree in an hour. These are wonderful tablets. Android 3.2 is very cool. It has the full Android Market (a must for my little Angry Birds players/Netflix watchers). The picture quality is very nice. It is easy to use...This tablet saved our Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duchess3333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome tablet!
10/15/2011

Customer review by FlutteringBy

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by FlutteringBy
by FlutteringBy

Love love love this tablet!! This tablet is great. I love the smaller 7 inch screen. Much easier to handle than the larger 10 inch tablets and much MORE AFFORDABLE! Every application I have downloaded so far runs seamlessly. The touch screen takes a little getting used to as it is very sensitive, but otherwise no problems there either. I would recomend a capacitive pen for typing. If your looking for a great tablet at a great price this is the one you want!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlutteringBy
Poconos, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Android Tablet
9/10/2011

Customer review by PRFL

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by PRFL
by PRFL

The Acer 100 Android Tablet is great for travel. The USB ports, HDMI, Dual Cameras and MicroSD card slot make it truly a tablet that you can use to access email, web and "apps" with wireless connections.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRFL
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews