Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

164 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

164 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
44
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 143 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Love it.
1/22/2017

Customer review by poopy007

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by poopy007
by poopy007

I had admired these for a long time in-club and never splurged on one, but finally received one as a gift. (Yay!) I assembled it myself on Christmas Day with not too much difficulty; the hardest parts were (1) trying to decipher the generic, for-multiple-models instructions and pictures and (2) torqueing some of the bolts because I had a ridiculous case of tennis elbow. The first day I rode it I heckled one of those multi-person party bikes (search "Savannah Slow Ride" for visual) and gave a handful of tourists a good giggle: a rider proclaimed, "We just got lapped by a grown woman on a tricycle! I love this town!" and received a riotous amount of laughter. I also receive regular compliments from pedicab operators, giggles from pedestrians, and wide-eyed appreciation from school children... so at least I know this thing is high-visibility! Riding it takes some getting used to, though - I keep trying to lean into turns rather than steer - but I'm really enjoying this trike. The rear basket is perfect for small grocery loads and is surprisingly stable. I've yet to spill any drink accidentally forgotten back there, even an open Solo cup full of soda, despite riding haphazardly over cobblestones and potholes! Best gift ever. It's fun, silly, attention-grabbing, and actually pretty darn practical. Love it.

poopy007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bike - - - but
1/20/2017

Customer review by Ed

4.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Ed
by Ed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife loves the bike. she didnt grow riding bikes like many kids did and has never felt comfortable on a standard bike. This is the perfect bike for her. we can all ride our bikes with the grandkids to the store and with the huge basket we can actually do a little shoping and carry thinks home. Now to the "but" the bike came with a huge slit in the inner tube in the front tire. I had to go out and buy a replacement tube and install it before the bike could be ridden - not a big deal, but a bit of a pain. Also I should note that I let schwinn know about this and they did send me a replacement tube that we now have for future use

Ed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good bike for the money
12/11/2016

Customer review by garyj

4.0 stars 12/11/2016 by garyj
by garyj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

pops and makes minor noise at times when riding bike

Comment from - 12/12/2016

Hi garyj - the noises you are hearing may be a matter of making a few adjustments to your 26" Schwinn Meridian. The owner's manual has instructions in the Maintenance and Troubleshooting section on page 40. If you still find yourself needing some help, just give us a call. 1-800-626-2811<br />M-F 8a-5p CST

garyj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/29/2015

Customer review by Pelican2

4.0 stars 7/29/2015 by Pelican2
by Pelican2

This bike takes a few attempts to get use to riding it as it does not turn like a normal bike due to the three wheels. You must account for the turning radius. Once learned, it is easy to ride and makes getting around easy. Basket is a great place to put items. We are using it at a public park for staff.

Pelican2
Mandeville, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great purchase
12/14/2015

Customer review by dudii

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by dudii
by dudii

This is the third bike I have purchased of this type in the last year. Great product.

dudii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fun purchase
8/9/2015

Customer review by Mooseloose

5.0 stars 8/9/2015 by Mooseloose
by Mooseloose

Love this adult trike. I feel safe and am getting exercise after two hip replacements.

Mooseloose
Dover, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good
11/4/2012

Customer review by 1tap

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by 1tap
by 1tap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tricycle was a little different then a bicycle because all three wheels are on a different plane. Gets to the mail box and back; and big commits by the nieghbor that they all like it. I bought a power front wheel and wanted to try it on a tricycle. cool!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1tap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tried this & the cheaper trike.
4/12/2013

Customer review by MotherMayI1

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by MotherMayI1
by MotherMayI1
Top 250 contributor

Cheaper bike got returned before I even got it out of the box. The Schwinn was slightly more, but a much higher quality. It was a challenge to put together. I spent several hours working on putting it together myself with no help. If you can get the store to handle that for you I suggest you do. We are too far from the store for me to just ride it back so I did it. My only complaint ... if you want to call it that ... is I expected silver, but dark silver just looks like black to me (or gun metal gray). Overall I love this bike though. Oh, & I talked to a local bike shop & he said for $70 he can convert it to 3 speed. About half of that is labor if you want to do it yourself. I included a comparison photo in case anyone else is torn on which trike to get. Darker one in back is obviously the Schwinn (white one is the Alameda I returned). Also should note I had a Schwinn years ago & it was amazing. Very comfortable & lasted for years. Very glad to have a new one!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherMayI1
Mother May I
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 250 contributor
5/12/2012

Customer review by Jaybaby63

4.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Jaybaby63
by Jaybaby63

I love this Trike. But; very disappointed in the color. It specifically states that the color is silver. Also the picture shows silver - close to chrome colored - which is what I wanted. Upon receiving the trike (I was lucky enough to have Mark at the Grapevine store assemble it for me) the color is more of a pewter grey, not silver. It's assembled and I enjoy the ride so I won't be returning it. I just wish when you state the color is silver; that is what you send. Especially for $300.00 dollars. I am uploading a picture. The spokes are silver. The bar below the seat is silver. The frame is not.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaybaby63
Grapevine TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3 Wheel Bike
1/15/2017

Customer review by Papa

4.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Papa
by Papa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality bike and arrived on time and in good shape. A little bit more assembly then I would have liked so if that's not your thing hire a professional. It's definitely harder then putting together a two wheel bike. Also it was missing a lock nut and washer for the back left tire that I had to go to hardware store and match up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Trike
1/21/2013

Customer review by Billybob63

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Billybob63
by Billybob63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bike year around daily and use trikes only in the worst part of winter when the streets are iced over or covered with a slippery coat of snow. I've had many trikes - the heavy industrial shop type, the older Schwinn Town & Country's, and some the other lighter new trikes. I was skeptical about the Schwinn Meridian because it was not very expensive. Decided to give it a try anyway. It has been a great choice. The best trike that I have had. Love the 26" wheels. These are built as trikes from the start, not a conversion as many other trikes are. As a result the connection between the frame ant the rear axle part of the bike has 4 large bolts instead of the normal 2. It rides better than any of the previous trikes I've had - feels very solid yet it does not have the weight of the industrial trikes, which can be hard to peddle up a hill. The seat is able to extend quite a ways to allow my legs to be fully extended at the bottom of the stroke (I have a 32" inseam). I usually sell my trike in the spring every year. Not this one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billybob63
Rochester, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible delivery service from FedEx
8/18/2011

Customer review by jeff1334

1.0 stars 8/18/2011 by jeff1334
by jeff1334

Box was damaged and opened on two sides... Missing parts as well as small parts found in street and driveway leading up to the house... WalMart did credit 10% of purchase price to obtain seat... Still trying to find the proper size seat post... Pacific Cycle, the distributor, has promised to replace the missing post... Original shipment delivered on August 2nd - now the 18th and still awaiting part... Damage claim filed with FedEx was denied, explaining that claim must be filed by shipper... No apology given by FedEx for poor delivery service... I would suggest that purchasers take advantage of the "Ship to Store" feature from the WalMart.com web site and let them deal with any damage or missing parts when they assemble the bike... During assembly, some minor problems with "hole" alignments and fender adjustments to avoid "tire rub" but the bike appears stable and should satisfy the original expectations... I will have to write another review when bike is finally assembled and taken out for a ride...

Was this review helpful? (121) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeff1334
Green Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
DELIGHTFUL!
9/16/2011

Customer review by PTD57

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by PTD57
by PTD57

My entire experience with the purchase of the trike from order to site-to-store delivery to assembly was great! Packaging was intact and undamaged, all parts were present, and assembly was a breeze. The manual accompanying the parts was for this exact model, and had addendums for changes to newer models not yet included in the manual. All the parts went together exactly as the manual showed, and fit, finish, and quality of the trike is exceptional. The only discrepancy I found was that the color of the trike I received was more of a dark gunmetal grey than the silver shown in the product pictures. That's OK because the basket also was black instead of chrome, which really gives this trike an awesome color scheme, different than all the other trikes I have seen up to now (it doesn't look like a mutant grocery cart!). I would highly recommend this trike to everyone in the market for one - it's a qualitty product at a smokin' price!

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTD57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Christmas Gift
12/31/2016

Customer review by KCSUN

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by KCSUN
by KCSUN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I went to our local Walmart and asked for assistance in the bike dept. Ben met me and told me he had no adult trikes but if I ordered it "Ship To Store" he would build it for me. Shereen was also helpful in giving me information regarding ordering on line. We pleased with their professionalism:-) Picking up the bike was easy and it was beautiful. I got the silver one for my husband. The large basket comes with the bike! It's very spacious and I'm afraid someone will try to get in it for a ride. Two people have ridden it and mentioned the same thing....turning the tricycle feels very awkward because you can't lean with the bike. My husband almost clipped the back wheel on the curb because it's a tricycle and not a two wheeler. You know it is but you forget the back two wheels are two feet apart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCSUN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/19/2011

Customer review by Trikerdude

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Trikerdude
by Trikerdude

I have had my meridian for 2 yrs. & at first I didn't ride cuz I was 430 lbs. now I'm 350 & ride every day( & lov'in it) I've got to used to the single speed. I'm now adding a 5 speed gear box & rear derailer & shifter, replacing the inverted drum brake & sprocket. I guess I'm lucky I rebuilt bicycle's 35 yrs. ago for a hobby. I'm looking for extra wheels & parts but am happy to keep this one tiptop. I'm very interested in how they can sale a aluminum frame for just 20 $ more, maybe since I love mine so much I'll buy one & use my old one for parts. I also built a wooden box on back for my walker,(don't get around so well) & tools. I would love to give any one info on making there Meridian special. The finders are easy to adjust & I did see replacement bearings for the rear to solve the clicking noise on ebay. Maybe in a year I'll try cross country. You should see the looks I get now.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trikerdude
Las Vegas NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good looking bike,the name of schwinn is legend
7/28/2011

Customer review by Whirlygig

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Whirlygig
by Whirlygig

This bike was delivered to my home in a timely manner. I was very surprised to get it that fast. It is a nice looking bicycle but due to restrictions on lifting, I was unable to take the bike for assembly. My grandson assembled this bike, not without some trouble. Fortunately, he is a somewhat mechanically inclined because directions were nonexistent.. I don't understand why directions are not included. The back fenders are a little skimpy and one of them does not fit well. The holes are drilled too close to the tire. It rubs the tire when trying to ride. I will have to take both fenders off until we can figure out how to keep it from rubbing. I have not really had a chance to ride due to the extremely hot weather here but am looking forward to it. The price was well within my budget and compared with others that I have seen, was a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (122) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whirlygig
New Albany, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good 4.5 to Excellent
2/21/2017

Customer review by DACCheart

4.0 stars 2/21/2017 by DACCheart
by DACCheart

Both my daughter and I bought one and they take a bit to get used to at first, but they are great. Now that we are more comfortable with them, we've accessorized them with cell phone panniers, bells and combination locks and along with my three grandsons 14-12-11) will be taking them with us to Galveston to ride on the coast. Wonderful sense of freedom for 63 y.o heart patient grandmother and I don't have to juggle with thing, just put them in the basket and go! Fenders rub and look off set - may remove them, so they don't get an excellent rating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DACCheart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for the buck
9/30/2011

Customer review by VTX1800Biker

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by VTX1800Biker
by VTX1800Biker

I work at a major airline where the mechanics are assigned aircraft all over the place, and having a tricycle is almost a necessity. Decided to get this for myself instead of fighting for the few that are provided. Took me approximately 2 hrs to put together, and probably the hardest part was attaching the rear wheel assembly to the bike frame. Seems a little beefier than the competing brand of cycle, and having one down tube instead of 2 means this tricycle is easier to climb aboard than the competing brand. Really holds a lot of weight as I saw one mechanic took the basket off, built a double deck, with a 3 drawer toolbox full of tools mounted on top. You can't go wrong as these seem to sell used on E-bay for what you pay new, so they hold their value.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VTX1800Biker
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice bike.
4/12/2012

Customer review by CoolSteve

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by CoolSteve
by CoolSteve

I bought this bike for my daughter. I chose to have it shipped to my home and I put it together myself. It wasn't hard to assemble, but the rear fenders are kind of a pain in the you know what, but I eventually got them. It took me about two hours, but keep in mind that I took my sweet time and double checked EVERYTHING. In my opinion it is a nice looking quality bike. It is very easy to pedal and handles well. My daughter is just a little too short to comfortably ride the bike so I returned it to my local Walmart with absolutely no problems. Maybe we will try it again in a couple of years. If you plan on assembling this yourself, make sure that you have some metric allen wrenches in addition to your sockets, wrenches and screw driver.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoolSteve
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike, difficult to assemble
2/21/2017

Customer review by Erikat

3.0 stars 2/21/2017 by Erikat
by Erikat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the bike and the "gunmetal" silver color, but the instructions were difficult to follow and the bike was not easy to assemble. My fiancé ended up accidentally tighting one of the brake too tightly and broke it. Be careful, don't let it happen to you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erikat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews