Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 172 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

172 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
46
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 151 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Good
11/4/2012

Customer review by 1tap

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by 1tap
by 1tap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tricycle was a little different then a bicycle because all three wheels are on a different plane. Gets to the mail box and back; and big commits by the nieghbor that they all like it. I bought a power front wheel and wanted to try it on a tricycle. cool!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1tap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tried this & the cheaper trike.
4/12/2013

Customer review by MotherMayI1

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by MotherMayI1
by MotherMayI1
Top 250 contributor

Cheaper bike got returned before I even got it out of the box. The Schwinn was slightly more, but a much higher quality. It was a challenge to put together. I spent several hours working on putting it together myself with no help. If you can get the store to handle that for you I suggest you do. We are too far from the store for me to just ride it back so I did it. My only complaint ... if you want to call it that ... is I expected silver, but dark silver just looks like black to me (or gun metal gray). Overall I love this bike though. Oh, & I talked to a local bike shop & he said for $70 he can convert it to 3 speed. About half of that is labor if you want to do it yourself. I included a comparison photo in case anyone else is torn on which trike to get. Darker one in back is obviously the Schwinn (white one is the Alameda I returned). Also should note I had a Schwinn years ago & it was amazing. Very comfortable & lasted for years. Very glad to have a new one!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherMayI1
Mother May I
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Top 250 contributor
5/12/2012

Customer review by Jaybaby63

4.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Jaybaby63
by Jaybaby63

I love this Trike. But; very disappointed in the color. It specifically states that the color is silver. Also the picture shows silver - close to chrome colored - which is what I wanted. Upon receiving the trike (I was lucky enough to have Mark at the Grapevine store assemble it for me) the color is more of a pewter grey, not silver. It's assembled and I enjoy the ride so I won't be returning it. I just wish when you state the color is silver; that is what you send. Especially for $300.00 dollars. I am uploading a picture. The spokes are silver. The bar below the seat is silver. The frame is not.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaybaby63
Grapevine TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
3 Wheel Bike
1/15/2017

Customer review by Papa

4.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Papa
by Papa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality bike and arrived on time and in good shape. A little bit more assembly then I would have liked so if that's not your thing hire a professional. It's definitely harder then putting together a two wheel bike. Also it was missing a lock nut and washer for the back left tire that I had to go to hardware store and match up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect bike for living in a small community
3/12/2017

Customer review by Valag

5.0 stars 3/12/2017 by Valag
by Valag
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bike for my fiancé. We recently moved to a quiet little community, 3/4 of a mile from a grocery store, and 1 1/4 mile from her job. We wanted to sell our car as we really have no use for it anymore but also wanted a way to cart groceries home and to generally get around without walking. I saw this bike and knew I'd found the solution. Assembly wasn't too complicated, but you will need a few tools. A few wrenches in various sizes, a 15mm deep socket, couple different size Allen wrenches, and a couple screwdrivers. You will also need access to an air compressor or air pump, as the tires arrive with only about 1/3 inflation. You will likely need help attaching the rear axle frame, as it needs to be secured in place while keeping tension on the bicycle chain. Having slack in the chain could result in the master link popping apart, and trust me when I tell you, those little pieces are difficult to locate in the grass. I improvised by suspending the bike from the ceiling and using the bike's weight to create tension, but having someone to help would be a lot easier. There are a few videos online that walk you through the assembly process for this model. Arm yourself with knowledge. The bike is a one-speed, which means it's great for cruising around on relatively flat areas. We live atop a steep hill, and she often has to walk the bike up that part, but can ride it normally everywhere else. This is definitely not a bike to take off the beaten path, so consider your intended terrain before purchase. I was concerned about the basket size but was pleasantly surprised once I got to see it in person. The photos really don't do it justice. I set a ten gallon tote inside the basket, and there was still room to spare around the tote, so you can haul quite a bit with this bike. The basket also folds down flat so you could potentially strap a larger box to the basket base. Overall, she loves this bike! She can hardly leave the house without someone complementing it, and asking where she got it. It's a solid, quality product, easy to adjust for size and comfort, and ideal for living in a small community. The money we're saving by not using a car, paid for this bike, and continues to save us money. Even just as a recreational cruiser, it's fantastic. I shopped around and by far, Walmart has the best price for this model, and ships quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Valag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
26" Schwinn Meridian Adult Tricycle
3/8/2017

Customer review by GrandpaJoe

5.0 stars 3/8/2017 by GrandpaJoe
by GrandpaJoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

An excellent bicycle for older people who like a nice smooth, slow, single speed ride. Schwinn has always been a trustworthy bicycle and my purchase of the Meridian substantiates my claim. Assembling it takes a couple of hours (did it alone) but with a little help from a friend it will shorten the time; especially when installing the secondary chain. The price is affordable (especially with no shipping fees). It comes in three colors (red, blue, silver); I'm very pleased with my silver meridian... -JWS

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor wheel quality
5/19/2017

Customer review by Kenny

1.0 stars 5/19/2017 by Kenny
by Kenny

As a major part of the trike, I don't understand why the tire seams are ragged, the tubes thin, the spokes creak and clunk and 1 rim is always popping tires. The biggest problem is the fact that I've replaced the same tire twice and there's a gash in the tube where it contacts the rim. That's how I know nothing on the road is to blame. I filled the tires to 47 PSI. Now, right when I want to ride it, the tire's popped again. To eliminate the creaking and clunking, the solution I was given was to tighten the spokes. I haven't done that because the spoke that seems to be popping the tires is apparently already too far past the surface of the rim. Or maybe it's part of the rim that's popping the tires. Not sure. That's why it's a problem. By the way, 1 wheel clicks and clunks and the other wheel clunks and creaks in back. The trike's defective right out of the box. Now I have to read the fine print and see if either wheel and the original popped inner tube is covered under the limited lifetime warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Solid Trike
1/21/2013

Customer review by Billybob63

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Billybob63
by Billybob63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bike year around daily and use trikes only in the worst part of winter when the streets are iced over or covered with a slippery coat of snow. I've had many trikes - the heavy industrial shop type, the older Schwinn Town & Country's, and some the other lighter new trikes. I was skeptical about the Schwinn Meridian because it was not very expensive. Decided to give it a try anyway. It has been a great choice. The best trike that I have had. Love the 26" wheels. These are built as trikes from the start, not a conversion as many other trikes are. As a result the connection between the frame ant the rear axle part of the bike has 4 large bolts instead of the normal 2. It rides better than any of the previous trikes I've had - feels very solid yet it does not have the weight of the industrial trikes, which can be hard to peddle up a hill. The seat is able to extend quite a ways to allow my legs to be fully extended at the bottom of the stroke (I have a 32" inseam). I usually sell my trike in the spring every year. Not this one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billybob63
Rochester, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible delivery service from FedEx
8/18/2011

Customer review by jeff1334

1.0 stars 8/18/2011 by jeff1334
by jeff1334

Box was damaged and opened on two sides... Missing parts as well as small parts found in street and driveway leading up to the house... WalMart did credit 10% of purchase price to obtain seat... Still trying to find the proper size seat post... Pacific Cycle, the distributor, has promised to replace the missing post... Original shipment delivered on August 2nd - now the 18th and still awaiting part... Damage claim filed with FedEx was denied, explaining that claim must be filed by shipper... No apology given by FedEx for poor delivery service... I would suggest that purchasers take advantage of the "Ship to Store" feature from the WalMart.com web site and let them deal with any damage or missing parts when they assemble the bike... During assembly, some minor problems with "hole" alignments and fender adjustments to avoid "tire rub" but the bike appears stable and should satisfy the original expectations... I will have to write another review when bike is finally assembled and taken out for a ride...

Was this review helpful? (121) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeff1334
Green Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
DELIGHTFUL!
9/16/2011

Customer review by PTD57

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by PTD57
by PTD57

My entire experience with the purchase of the trike from order to site-to-store delivery to assembly was great! Packaging was intact and undamaged, all parts were present, and assembly was a breeze. The manual accompanying the parts was for this exact model, and had addendums for changes to newer models not yet included in the manual. All the parts went together exactly as the manual showed, and fit, finish, and quality of the trike is exceptional. The only discrepancy I found was that the color of the trike I received was more of a dark gunmetal grey than the silver shown in the product pictures. That's OK because the basket also was black instead of chrome, which really gives this trike an awesome color scheme, different than all the other trikes I have seen up to now (it doesn't look like a mutant grocery cart!). I would highly recommend this trike to everyone in the market for one - it's a qualitty product at a smokin' price!

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTD57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/19/2011

Customer review by Trikerdude

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Trikerdude
by Trikerdude

I have had my meridian for 2 yrs. & at first I didn't ride cuz I was 430 lbs. now I'm 350 & ride every day( & lov'in it) I've got to used to the single speed. I'm now adding a 5 speed gear box & rear derailer & shifter, replacing the inverted drum brake & sprocket. I guess I'm lucky I rebuilt bicycle's 35 yrs. ago for a hobby. I'm looking for extra wheels & parts but am happy to keep this one tiptop. I'm very interested in how they can sale a aluminum frame for just 20 $ more, maybe since I love mine so much I'll buy one & use my old one for parts. I also built a wooden box on back for my walker,(don't get around so well) & tools. I would love to give any one info on making there Meridian special. The finders are easy to adjust & I did see replacement bearings for the rear to solve the clicking noise on ebay. Maybe in a year I'll try cross country. You should see the looks I get now.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trikerdude
Las Vegas NV.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Good looking bike,the name of schwinn is legend
7/28/2011

Customer review by Whirlygig

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Whirlygig
by Whirlygig

This bike was delivered to my home in a timely manner. I was very surprised to get it that fast. It is a nice looking bicycle but due to restrictions on lifting, I was unable to take the bike for assembly. My grandson assembled this bike, not without some trouble. Fortunately, he is a somewhat mechanically inclined because directions were nonexistent.. I don't understand why directions are not included. The back fenders are a little skimpy and one of them does not fit well. The holes are drilled too close to the tire. It rubs the tire when trying to ride. I will have to take both fenders off until we can figure out how to keep it from rubbing. I have not really had a chance to ride due to the extremely hot weather here but am looking forward to it. The price was well within my budget and compared with others that I have seen, was a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (122) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whirlygig
New Albany, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Best bang for the buck
9/30/2011

Customer review by VTX1800Biker

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by VTX1800Biker
by VTX1800Biker

I work at a major airline where the mechanics are assigned aircraft all over the place, and having a tricycle is almost a necessity. Decided to get this for myself instead of fighting for the few that are provided. Took me approximately 2 hrs to put together, and probably the hardest part was attaching the rear wheel assembly to the bike frame. Seems a little beefier than the competing brand of cycle, and having one down tube instead of 2 means this tricycle is easier to climb aboard than the competing brand. Really holds a lot of weight as I saw one mechanic took the basket off, built a double deck, with a 3 drawer toolbox full of tools mounted on top. You can't go wrong as these seem to sell used on E-bay for what you pay new, so they hold their value.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VTX1800Biker
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Very nice bike.
4/12/2012

Customer review by CoolSteve

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by CoolSteve
by CoolSteve

I bought this bike for my daughter. I chose to have it shipped to my home and I put it together myself. It wasn't hard to assemble, but the rear fenders are kind of a pain in the you know what, but I eventually got them. It took me about two hours, but keep in mind that I took my sweet time and double checked EVERYTHING. In my opinion it is a nice looking quality bike. It is very easy to pedal and handles well. My daughter is just a little too short to comfortably ride the bike so I returned it to my local Walmart with absolutely no problems. Maybe we will try it again in a couple of years. If you plan on assembling this yourself, make sure that you have some metric allen wrenches in addition to your sockets, wrenches and screw driver.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoolSteve
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Color is a lot different in person.
9/13/2011

Customer review by Azziesmama

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by Azziesmama
by Azziesmama

I really did not like any of the color options but decided to go with the silver. I picked it up today and was pleasantly surprised. It looks nothing like the picture. The color is a dark gun smoke gray. Really cool. It takes hours to put together so it would be best to have the store do it but you have to call after they say that it is in and let them know that you want them to assemble it for you and it can take up to 3 days. Other than that it rides smooth and was better than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (160) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Azziesmama
Boise ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Christmas Gift
12/31/2016

Customer review by KCSUN

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by KCSUN
by KCSUN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I went to our local Walmart and asked for assistance in the bike dept. Ben met me and told me he had no adult trikes but if I ordered it "Ship To Store" he would build it for me. Shereen was also helpful in giving me information regarding ordering on line. We pleased with their professionalism:-) Picking up the bike was easy and it was beautiful. I got the silver one for my husband. The large basket comes with the bike! It's very spacious and I'm afraid someone will try to get in it for a ride. Two people have ridden it and mentioned the same thing....turning the tricycle feels very awkward because you can't lean with the bike. My husband almost clipped the back wheel on the curb because it's a tricycle and not a two wheeler. You know it is but you forget the back two wheels are two feet apart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCSUN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/24/2011

Customer review by pooch33

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by pooch33
by pooch33

Only problem with the trike is fender allignment. I paid $50 to have it assembled. I was told after I had bought it and had it shipped to my house that if I would have had it shipped to the store walmart would have assembled it for free

Was this review helpful? (291) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pooch33
Monterey Beach NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
frustration
5/6/2017

Customer review by Horseykev

2.0 stars 5/6/2017 by Horseykev
by Horseykev

I wish I had been given the option of picking this up at the store already assembled. it took me 3 days, the holes for the rear fenders don't line up, the front brake isn't like the one in the directions. the major problem though, I have it finally put together, and the pedals turn, but the chain doesn't engage the rear wheels.....the pedals just spin! but when the bike is turned over, the chain DOES engage the wheel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Horseykev
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/1/2011

Customer review by GWayneB

2.0 stars 10/1/2011 by GWayneB
by GWayneB

Installation of the rear fenders was terrible. The brackets are flimsy and do not mount properly. The fenders rub and is a constant problem. Schwinn goofed on this one. You should send out new brackets that would work. The fenders barely miss the tires anyway. I probably will take the rear fenders off.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GWayneB
Canyon Lake' Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
3/30/2012

Customer review by StoneSoup

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by StoneSoup
by StoneSoup

I ordered this in silver/gray. As another reviewer stated, it is a gunmetal or dark gray and a nice color. The biggest selling point to me was that they put it together free of charge at the store. The bike is solid and easy to ride. The basket is enormous... fits a lot of groceries, my dog and even the grandchildren. I would recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StoneSoup
Cumberland Gap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews