Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 272 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

272 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

272 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
217
4 stars
26
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 stars
3
1-20 of 260 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 260 total reviews
1-20 of 260 reviews
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Latching feature and quality worth extra costs
12/12/2011

Customer review by Storage11

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Storage11
by Storage11

We have moved a lot recently and I decided to get rid of all boxes in storage. I organized, threw out, and donated a lot of items. I have bought 4 different types of plastic storage bins. These were by FAR the best. The latching system lets me know it’s secure. Others I stacked bins on top of each other and the lid underneath slides or becomes loose. Also I have had other lids crack and cause my binds to topple over. I really did not load them to heavily!! I have not had that happen at all with these bins. Spend the extra money on these up front. The quality/strength, latching system and Rubbermaid brand make it an excellent by! I do wish they have these roughnecks in clean containers. But I will place a clear plastic sleeve on the outside to have a list of items that are in the container.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Storage11
Annandale, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great container, poor lid.
1/21/2016

Customer review by rekcus

2.0 stars 1/21/2016 by rekcus
by rekcus

I have a dozen 18 gal. containers for xmas storage. Containers have held up well, but the lids on half have broken up after 6 years storage. Obviously a different material was used. I can't find a source for replacement lids.

rekcus
Santa Barbara, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durable
1/18/2016

Customer review by Villa 681

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Villa 681
by Villa 681
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned two containers for years and I have used them many times as luggage when I have traveled to the UK and the Bahamas.

Villa 681
Elkhart, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the 10 gallon Roughneck
1/17/2016

Customer review by Gypsynana

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Gypsynana
by Gypsynana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am an antiques dealer. This size box is great for my inventory. Not too heavy loaded and easy to stack.

Gypsynana
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Make great under bed boxes
1/7/2016

Customer review by Putterer

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Putterer
by Putterer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a bunch of these to fit under my platform bed. Hold SOOOOO much more than the usual under bed boxes. Too bad they aren't sold in this size in stores much, but great that you can get them online. Hold up forever!

Putterer
outside Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love RubberMade
1/18/2016

Customer review by TriStar

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by TriStar
by TriStar

I really love the locking lids.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TriStar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very strong
1/14/2016

Customer review by walmartshopper

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by walmartshopper
by walmartshopper

Well made and large enough to store almost anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rubbermaid is the best, but BEWARE of limits
9/12/2015

Customer review by YaddaYaddaYoda

4.0 stars 9/12/2015 by YaddaYaddaYoda
by YaddaYaddaYoda

I've bought every kind of tote out there for my business and for home over the last 20+ years. I move every 2 years. Rubbermaid makes outstanding totes. They use a softer stronger plastic which bends, doesn't crack under stress or when dropped, especially during freezing conditions. The limits on this are STACKING. All of us want to stack these three, four, five and more high to save valuable floor space. There is no magic weight which is ideal. I wish Consumer Reports would weight these a couple different ways to see when these totes collapse. I was storing industrial products in the totes, stacking them three high. The heavier filled units collapsed. I just don't want to take the time to test; fill, then wait a week, two weeks, months until they collapse. They collapse randomly. If you are storing household items like blankets, clothes you can stack two high. Going three seems to be hit or miss. Always put the heaviest on bottom, some people forget. Rubbermaid could change the architectural CAD design to make these sturdier. Don't know why they don't.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YaddaYaddaYoda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reduced Quality
12/25/2015

Customer review by Xmas Present

3.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Xmas Present
by Xmas Present
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We apparently had a previous version and loved them. But these are not as good as before. They are OK but wouldn't purchase them again. They are thinker and the lids do not stay closed as well.

Xmas Present
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Storage containers
11/19/2011

Customer review by CamperRN

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by CamperRN
by CamperRN

I bought 6 of these to store my clothes and linens in my summer home and trailer for the winter. They stack nicely,protect the items from mice and I don't have to transport everything back and forth each year. Very pleased with purchase and best price I found.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamperRN
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
wonderful
12/6/2015

Customer review by miss5773

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by miss5773
by miss5773
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the best storage containers you would want. they are sturdy and seal tight so dust andf moisture does not get in.

miss5773
Ocala, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not as Robust as Expected
6/25/2013

Customer review by jarhead6771

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by jarhead6771
by jarhead6771
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tubs arrived in pretty good shape. At least one has a hole in the bottom, but it appears that possibly that the tub is designed to have scored circles punched out, maybe for drainage. For my purposes the hole or holes, as the case may be, will not affect the usefulness of the tubs. They are nice and big and somewhat bigger than I expected, not that they weren't accurately described on the site. I thought perhaps the tubs would be more robust, but I think they will do just fine, when I finally get them filled and situated wherever I decide they need to go. Ultimately, they are storage containers and should fulfill that purpose adequately.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jarhead6771
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Bin
11/23/2015

Customer review by Caplor

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Caplor
by Caplor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Placed a styrofoam cooler inside, cut a hole at the end of a long side of both containers, stuffed with wheat straw and VOILA! I have a perfect little feral cat shelter!!!

Caplor
Lawrenceville, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is a good size to ride handicap bus with
11/18/2015

Customer review by debbie36

4.0 stars 11/18/2015 by debbie36
by debbie36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you sell replacement lids for 10 gallon roughneck and other it would help!!

debbie36
Richardson, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
rubbermaid always reliable
9/25/2015

Customer review by iguanito

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by iguanito
by iguanito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the 4 - 14 gallon dark blue roughneck bins i have had since the 80's or 90's have been inside where it is hot and humid with no ventilation and have held up for all these years, until the handles on each end of one of the lids broke into pieces. it is nice to be able to replace the bin and lid with the same color and very helpful that it is still the same shape. the only noticeable difference is that the new walls and lid are not quite as sturdy as the original from decades ago. still perfectly usable, and the basic high rubbermaid quality. i am happy to have the replacement. rubbermaid is always reliable.  i only wish the 14 gallon bins and all the other rubbermaid products were still more available in the stores.  

iguanito
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rubbermaid 35-Gallon Roughneck Latching Blue Totes
11/12/2015

Customer review by nova

5.0 stars 11/12/2015 by nova
by nova

Roomy bins with easy to latch tops. They are stackable and I'm using them for storage. I wish they came in clear plastic but the blue color works fine for my purposes. I would imagine after a while the plastic will become brittle with the swings in temp while being stored in a Northeast garage. That is why I'm getting a new set.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nova
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Organization, Storage, and Portability
11/3/2015

Customer review by Dr Mel

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Dr Mel
by Dr Mel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A great product and a good way to store things in a garage or closet or elsewhere. Protects the contents and can easily move around. Like the ruggedness and the ability to stack to save space.

Dr Mel
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1-20 of 260 reviews