Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
248
4 stars
31
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 stars
5
1-20 of 306 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews
Great Product
2/8/2009

Customer review by Majo

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by Majo
by Majo

I have several of those. The oldest pair is teal green from the early 90's (back when teal was the color on everything) and the youngest pair is purple. I have used it to store things, laundry (performed its task far better than laundry baskets back then). The older ones r well used and it still continues to serve me well. Here are a couple pictures of them.

Majo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Latching feature and quality worth extra costs
12/12/2011

Customer review by Storage11

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Storage11
by Storage11

We have moved a lot recently and I decided to get rid of all boxes in storage. I organized, threw out, and donated a lot of items. I have bought 4 different types of plastic storage bins. These were by FAR the best. The latching system lets me know it’s secure. Others I stacked bins on top of each other and the lid underneath slides or becomes loose. Also I have had other lids crack and cause my binds to topple over. I really did not load them to heavily!! I have not had that happen at all with these bins. Spend the extra money on these up front. The quality/strength, latching system and Rubbermaid brand make it an excellent by! I do wish they have these roughnecks in clean containers. But I will place a clear plastic sleeve on the outside to have a list of items that are in the container.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Storage11
Annandale, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Storage containers
11/19/2011

Customer review by CamperRN

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by CamperRN
by CamperRN

I bought 6 of these to store my clothes and linens in my summer home and trailer for the winter. They stack nicely,protect the items from mice and I don't have to transport everything back and forth each year. Very pleased with purchase and best price I found.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamperRN
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Durable
4/19/2017

Customer review by Cass1875

5.0 stars 4/19/2017 by Cass1875
by Cass1875
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 6 containers of two different sizes because I have used Rubbermaid storage boxes in the past and have been happy with their durability. Rubbermaid makes a good quality product that lasts for a long period of time and takes a little abused from multiple moves. I will always purchases these and am thankful Rubbermaid has continued to keep up the quality of their products. I use the boxes to store clothes, decorations, and blankets.

Cass1875
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rubbermaid is the best, but BEWARE of limits
9/12/2015

Customer review by YaddaYaddaYoda

4.0 stars 9/12/2015 by YaddaYaddaYoda
by YaddaYaddaYoda

I've bought every kind of tote out there for my business and for home over the last 20+ years. I move every 2 years. Rubbermaid makes outstanding totes. They use a softer stronger plastic which bends, doesn't crack under stress or when dropped, especially during freezing conditions. The limits on this are STACKING. All of us want to stack these three, four, five and more high to save valuable floor space. There is no magic weight which is ideal. I wish Consumer Reports would weight these a couple different ways to see when these totes collapse. I was storing industrial products in the totes, stacking them three high. The heavier filled units collapsed. I just don't want to take the time to test; fill, then wait a week, two weeks, months until they collapse. They collapse randomly. If you are storing household items like blankets, clothes you can stack two high. Going three seems to be hit or miss. Always put the heaviest on bottom, some people forget. Rubbermaid could change the architectural CAD design to make these sturdier. Don't know why they don't.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YaddaYaddaYoda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not like the old ones
4/16/2017

Customer review by Atoze

3.0 stars 4/16/2017 by Atoze
by Atoze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Needed more storage containers and Rubbermaid always made a quality product. The new ones are not as well made as the old ones they have definitely cheapened the product but they will serve the purpose for which they were intended.

Atoze
Sterling Heights, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lids
4/18/2017

Customer review by Kevin1978

3.0 stars 4/18/2017 by Kevin1978
by Kevin1978

The title says it all. It seems such a waste to throw away a container when the lid splits after a couple of years.

Kevin1978
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not as Robust as Expected
6/25/2013

Customer review by jarhead6771

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by jarhead6771
by jarhead6771
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tubs arrived in pretty good shape. At least one has a hole in the bottom, but it appears that possibly that the tub is designed to have scored circles punched out, maybe for drainage. For my purposes the hole or holes, as the case may be, will not affect the usefulness of the tubs. They are nice and big and somewhat bigger than I expected, not that they weren't accurately described on the site. I thought perhaps the tubs would be more robust, but I think they will do just fine, when I finally get them filled and situated wherever I decide they need to go. Ultimately, they are storage containers and should fulfill that purpose adequately.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jarhead6771
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Replacement lids!!
3/28/2017

Customer review by Mauichic22

4.0 stars 3/28/2017 by Mauichic22
by Mauichic22

I agree it would be wonderful if you sold replacement lids. I really don't want to throw away a perfectly good tote because I don't have lids to at least 5 of my roughneck totes!!

Mauichic22
Morgantown, WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Lids!!!
3/14/2017

Customer review by Donthaveone

3.0 stars 3/14/2017 by Donthaveone
by Donthaveone

I bought mine back on 2005. My lids are shot but I still have 2-3 def 2 containers in good condition...without lids. Had to buy different containers with lids because I am organizing my garage. Replacements parts should be available. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donthaveone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent purchase and well worth the money.
3/5/2014

Customer review by Odin693579348587263547

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Odin693579348587263547
by Odin693579348587263547
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased these based on the size of the older ones that I had, but in actuality they were much larger and I really needed less of them, so have a few left over for other items.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Odin693579348587263547
Burkburnett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love rubbermaid's products
3/24/2017

Customer review by jayel

5.0 stars 3/24/2017 by jayel
by jayel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I couldn't find this size in the stores so I am glad it was available online. I trust Rubbermaid's products. Great quality.

jayel
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rough Neck Totes are top of the line...
3/22/2017

Customer review by Bob O

5.0 stars 3/22/2017 by Bob O
by Bob O

I agree with others who've said that there is nothing that compares to Roughneck totes...but I also agree that WE NEED LIDS!!!

Bob O
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Seem as well made as my original Roughneck boxes
3/14/2017

Customer review by RosebudSue

5.0 stars 3/14/2017 by RosebudSue
by RosebudSue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have Roughneck storage boxes that have been in use for 30+ years that are still in great shape. I needed more and could not find them locally. Was happy to learn I could purchase online. Aside from color, new boxes seem identical to the originals. These are durable, stackable and really seal against dust. Highly recommend.

RosebudSue
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Utter disappointment.....
12/22/2016

Customer review by transparent

1.0 stars 12/22/2016 by transparent
by transparent

This is a good example of something that could have been great gone wrong. First: - I ordered the set of 6, I only received one. Second: - the bin is thin, I could have gotten Ster**** instead of this, the bin looks and feels flimsy, not like the other Roughneck totes that I own. This is the first time that I have ever gone through this with Walmart.com. Not only am I not satisfied with the product ordered, they completely messed up my order and I am missing pieces from the order. No I will not order this again, no I will not recommend to a friend. I am actually so upset that I don't think I will be ordering from Walmart in the foreseeable future and I was so looking forward to the after Christmas sales.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
transparent
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy this without regrets.
12/8/2013

Customer review by almostempty

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by almostempty
by almostempty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered 3 sets of 6 locking bins to begin the kid rooms clean out and storage project. Have tried to use other brands in past without success as they crack in the changing weather conditions in an attic. Great value for a superior product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
almostempty
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality over Quantity
3/10/2017

Customer review by Gasman66

5.0 stars 3/10/2017 by Gasman66
by Gasman66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You had the product I was looking for and it arrived in a timely manner. Thanks !

Gasman66
Palm Springs, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews