Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
249
4 stars
32
3 stars
18
2 stars
13
1 stars
5
1-20 of 305 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews
Lids
2/16/2017

Customer review by jediwayner

4.0 stars 2/16/2017 by jediwayner
by jediwayner

I agree, we need Lids!!!!! great storage container, I just need replacement Lids!

jediwayner
Schaumburg, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Roughneck box simply the best
2/15/2017

Customer review by Kew55

5.0 stars 2/15/2017 by Kew55
by Kew55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Needed great storage containers and went straight to the best source never fails and great price

Kew55
Shawnee ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product, however the lids break down well be
1/28/2017

Customer review by frustrated in feenix

4.0 stars 1/28/2017 by frustrated in feenix
by frustrated in feenix

I live in Phoenix, Arizona where the summer temps get very hot. Imagine a garage, attic or storage shed. Those are locations I have to store my holiday decorations and camping gear. They are great for keeping items dust free inside, stacking (and not collapsing) and also for carrying up a ladder with the lid staying attached. I swear by them. However the lids (handles) get brittle and snap off, while the tubs are in excellent shape. I cannot locate replacement lids. I need 10 of them and will gladly pay a reasonable price. Just make them available.

frustrated in feenix
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Why no lids?
2/3/2017

Customer review by LPet

3.0 stars 2/3/2017 by LPet
by LPet

Not selling kids separately is absurd. Please make them available!

LPet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great features!!!
1/24/2017

Customer review by Ca44718

5.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Ca44718
by Ca44718
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the color and it is just perfect size storage container

Ca44718
Canton, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality
1/18/2017

Customer review by Cokefirst

4.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Cokefirst
by Cokefirst

I am also disappointed that replacement lids cannot be purchased. The lids break before the tote and the lids sometimes get lost. Please consider making lids available. I hate throwing out a perfectly good tote just because I cannot buy a replacement lid!!!

Cokefirst
San Bernardino, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great box great delivery
1/22/2017

Customer review by RonT

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by RonT
by RonT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love these roughneck boxes. They are just the right size so they aren't too heavy and they keep sealed.

RonT
Utah County, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Please make replacement lids available
1/14/2017

Customer review by Melissalk

3.0 stars 1/14/2017 by Melissalk
by Melissalk

Release make replacement lids available for this product. I have used the roughneck totes for many years and eventually the lids break. I now have a stack of totes without lids that I do NOT want to send to a landfill. Please help your consumers help the environment.

Melissalk
Florida
love this product line .
1/16/2017

Customer review by Hoostcp

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Hoostcp
by Hoostcp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Rubbermaid Roughneck storage containers have been a staple in our household for decades. Durable and easy to stack. Excellent quality . I've never had a problem

Hoostcp
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Available lids for purchase
12/31/2016

Customer review by PNDL

1.0 stars 12/31/2016 by PNDL
by PNDL

I have enjoyed my Roughneck storage box for many years. Finding out that I cannot replace the lids is a dealbraker! The lids are the first thing to go and disposing of a good containement unit because the lids have cracked is terrible for the environment and it costs me time and money.

PNDL
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Sturdy to protect Videotapes
12/26/2016

Customer review by RockyM MA

4.0 stars 12/26/2016 by RockyM MA
by RockyM MA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am cleaning out my parents house, but need to protect a number of video tapes. To date I have purchased the 18 gal Roughnecks. Glad I did. Superior over cardboard. Sturdier and easy to move around.

RockyM MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Cracked while sitting in temp controlled storage
12/15/2016

Customer review by LatteQueen82

2.0 stars 12/15/2016 by LatteQueen82
by LatteQueen82

I have about ten of these containers in the 3-gal, 14-gal and 18-gal sizes. All of them have been stored in a climate controlled storage unit for about 5 years and every one of them have split of the lids have cracked. So much for the 10-year guarantee.

LatteQueen82
Minneola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great for cats
10/14/2016

Customer review by Kittenwhiskers

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by Kittenwhiskers
by Kittenwhiskers

I bought this to make a roomy litter box for my two cats. One is older and its starting to affect her mobility so now she stands when she uses the box. I took a Dremel and cut a hole on the longer side for both of them to step in. They love it because its large and there's plenty of room. I find it cuts down on the mess. The entry hole I cut is just high enough that no litter gets kicked out and low enough for them to step in. The side with the cut out is obviously a little less sturdy now but I'm careful and its no problem. I totally recommend this.

Kittenwhiskers
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Built to last
10/17/2016

Customer review by Printer Lynn

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by Printer Lynn
by Printer Lynn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have had roughneck tubs here at my work for years. We actually bought our first set about 7 years ago and they are finally getting warn so we just bought more. I work for a school district in their print shop. We place all of our printed work to be delivered to the schools in these tubs. Our delivery drivers hand truck these tubs all over. Fantastic solution to our packaging problems. They stack well, last forever, take a beating with no problems.

Printer Lynn
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughneck is right!!!
10/7/2009

Customer review by aimdogg79

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by aimdogg79
by aimdogg79

In the summer of 1997, I purchased a bunch of roughneck storage boxes to pack my belongings for college. They have lasted through six moves to various dorms and apartments. Since 2005, I have been using two of my 10 gal boxes as recycling bins. Every now and again, they are blown out into the street where they are bumped and/or run over by the cars on our street. Even flattened and mangled, I can pop them back into shape and they are rarely worse for wear. Today I did a scavenger hunt through the neighborhood to find the bins for our building that were blown away by the wind. The bins my upstairs neighbors used were cracked into pieces and unusable (definitely not Rubbermaid). I found mine dented, scratched, crushed and STILL useable!!!! I reshaped one and brushed the dirt off the other. I can't praise you enough for such a durable product! These containers are practically indestructable!!

aimdogg79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hurricane Sandy Proof!
2/6/2013

Customer review by Hobokenbeachbum

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Hobokenbeachbum
by Hobokenbeachbum

We live at the beach and suffered through Hurricane Sandy October 2012. Although we were much more fortunate than many of our friends and neighbors we still had some damage. Our basement is very damp ALL the TIME!! We do not store anything unless it is stored in a Rubbermaid Roughneck Storage Tote - PERIOD. No other totes compare. Our items stay dry and mildew free when we store in these totes. We are very happy we invest in the best quality tote available. I also love your food storage containers. I volunteer and run our After School Enrichment Program and the teach cooking classes. I use the food storage containers to prep for my class. They make my life so much more organized and preety! I'm not an organized person, but I'm making it my goal to become Rubbermaid Organized. I use Bento Boxes for our lunches so I cannot wait to look at the ones from Rubbermaid. Thanks Rubbermaid!!!

Hobokenbeachbum
Bradley Beach, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best all purpose container EVER purchased
2/6/2013

Customer review by BNeat

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by BNeat
by BNeat

I have multiple sizes of the Roughneck container that I have owned for many years. I have been lured by lower priced options from other manufacturers from time to time but always end up finding problems with them. Each time I come back to this brand. The lids stay on tight and fit all the Roughneck containers,they stack wonderfully, will take a beating and not show it. From clothing and linen storage to miscellanious items they do what it needed every time. The camp my kids attended when they were young requested all campers use these to pack for the week and they were perfect! Two were used every year for at least five years. That was over ten years ago and I am still using those containers for other things. I know becuase they still have the kids names written on them! I would recommend them to anyone who wants to buy a container that will stand the test of time.

BNeat
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews