Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 289 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

289 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

289 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
233
4 stars
26
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
3
1-20 of 277 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Latching feature and quality worth extra costs
12/12/2011

Customer review by Storage11

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Storage11
by Storage11

We have moved a lot recently and I decided to get rid of all boxes in storage. I organized, threw out, and donated a lot of items. I have bought 4 different types of plastic storage bins. These were by FAR the best. The latching system lets me know it’s secure. Others I stacked bins on top of each other and the lid underneath slides or becomes loose. Also I have had other lids crack and cause my binds to topple over. I really did not load them to heavily!! I have not had that happen at all with these bins. Spend the extra money on these up front. The quality/strength, latching system and Rubbermaid brand make it an excellent by! I do wish they have these roughnecks in clean containers. But I will place a clear plastic sleeve on the outside to have a list of items that are in the container.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Storage11
Annandale, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Tough bins!
6/10/2016

Customer review by Granto

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Granto
by Granto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our bins. We bought over 30 of them for our basement storage shelves we built. The bins are awesome and very durable!

Granto
Carmel, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Storage Containers
6/6/2016

Customer review by dukeernst

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by dukeernst
by dukeernst

I have about 60 of these. They are great for moving, organizing, and an even storing stuff on your outdoor deck. I even use them to tote wood in the winter for the fireplace. They have lasted for over 20 years.

dukeernst
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Storage containers
11/19/2011

Customer review by CamperRN

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by CamperRN
by CamperRN

I bought 6 of these to store my clothes and linens in my summer home and trailer for the winter. They stack nicely,protect the items from mice and I don't have to transport everything back and forth each year. Very pleased with purchase and best price I found.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CamperRN
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Storage, Lids go bad, no replacement lids!!!
5/24/2016

Customer review by Parsimonious Dan

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Parsimonious Dan
by Parsimonious Dan

Great product that has lasted 8+ years, but if you store outside in the sun for one , or two, years the lids begin to erode and break apart. No problem...just buy a new lid you say, but Rubbermaid won't sell you just the lid :( to bad for Rubbermaid as this would allow continued use and prevent early departure to the recycler. Almost Excellant except...you can't buy a replacement lid!!!

Parsimonious Dan
S F Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice
6/11/2016

Customer review by NSco

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by NSco
by NSco
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love Rubbermaid!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NSco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Satisfied
5/18/2016

Customer review by AJTJ

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by AJTJ
by AJTJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are just what I was looking for. I bought these many years ago for storing product to sell at computer shows and over ten years later, they are still holding up even after the shows aren't. Today I use them for storing food. I love that they are durable, light and stackable. I searched other containers and none had all these important features as the Rubbermaid Roughneck. And buying online made it so convenient. Thank You.

AJTJ
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as Robust as Expected
6/25/2013

Customer review by jarhead6771

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by jarhead6771
by jarhead6771
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tubs arrived in pretty good shape. At least one has a hole in the bottom, but it appears that possibly that the tub is designed to have scored circles punched out, maybe for drainage. For my purposes the hole or holes, as the case may be, will not affect the usefulness of the tubs. They are nice and big and somewhat bigger than I expected, not that they weren't accurately described on the site. I thought perhaps the tubs would be more robust, but I think they will do just fine, when I finally get them filled and situated wherever I decide they need to go. Ultimately, they are storage containers and should fulfill that purpose adequately.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jarhead6771
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great container
5/26/2016

Customer review by Leenie28

3.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Leenie28
by Leenie28
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for liquid, and it doesn't hold 14 gallons.

Leenie28
Vernon, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
What can you say....
5/1/2016

Customer review by hepcat

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by hepcat
by hepcat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These totes are great for so many purposes and I wanted a black one but dark blue is good and it should last for ever! You can find this size in big box hardware type stores but not always in this dark a color.

hepcat
Aquarius
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rubbermaid is the best, but BEWARE of limits
9/12/2015

Customer review by YaddaYaddaYoda

4.0 stars 9/12/2015 by YaddaYaddaYoda
by YaddaYaddaYoda

I've bought every kind of tote out there for my business and for home over the last 20+ years. I move every 2 years. Rubbermaid makes outstanding totes. They use a softer stronger plastic which bends, doesn't crack under stress or when dropped, especially during freezing conditions. The limits on this are STACKING. All of us want to stack these three, four, five and more high to save valuable floor space. There is no magic weight which is ideal. I wish Consumer Reports would weight these a couple different ways to see when these totes collapse. I was storing industrial products in the totes, stacking them three high. The heavier filled units collapsed. I just don't want to take the time to test; fill, then wait a week, two weeks, months until they collapse. They collapse randomly. If you are storing household items like blankets, clothes you can stack two high. Going three seems to be hit or miss. Always put the heaviest on bottom, some people forget. Rubbermaid could change the architectural CAD design to make these sturdier. Don't know why they don't.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YaddaYaddaYoda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outlasted smoke & water damage! :)
3/21/2016

Customer review by JenD

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by JenD
by JenD

I had a house fire 3 weeks ago. :( My dryer motor caught on fire and it went into the walls and ceiling! My hundred year old house house was in flames within minutes. There was a lot of smoke and water damage. I am thankful to say anything that was in Rubbermaid containers were unaffected! Right below the fire in my basement was my high school year books safe & sound in the Rubbermaid tote. Everything around them even the tote below that wasn't Rubbermaid were soaked and ruined, but they were safe and sound! I will only buy Rubbermaid containers from now on!! I highly recommend that you do too! Jen Deline

JenD
Kingston, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent purchase and well worth the money.
3/5/2014

Customer review by Odin693579348587263547

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Odin693579348587263547
by Odin693579348587263547
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased these based on the size of the older ones that I had, but in actuality they were much larger and I really needed less of them, so have a few left over for other items.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Odin693579348587263547
Burkburnett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
31 gallon storage
4/21/2016

Customer review by Crazy kate

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Crazy kate
by Crazy kate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very happy with all Rubbermaid products just wish you wouldn't have been out of the 25 gallon size

Crazy kate
Jasper, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
extremely durable!
4/7/2016

Customer review by mkayh

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by mkayh
by mkayh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the 'roughneck' storage containers for a number of years. I am a teacher and store books in a facility that is not climate controlled. The books are always in great shape when I open the containers each year. I was disappointed that I could not find a store in my area that sells the 'roughneck' division. I am so glad I was able to order them on-line!

mkayh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughneck tubs in two sizes
3/15/2016

Customer review by Leatherman

5.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Leatherman
by Leatherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this product recently from Rubbermaid and have purchased probably at least a total of 50 or more of these in more than one size and the only thing I wish was that they were available in the color Black. This way they wouldn't show the dirt as well as I know many others that do trade shows as myself and they use them for containing there inventory in there booths and because black is a color that doesn't stand out when your housing your extra storage containers and you don't always have a way to hide them black is much less obtrusive. Just a thought

Leatherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awsome storage
4/8/2016

Customer review by Mom of 4

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Mom of 4
by Mom of 4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought these and I am just thrilled with them. They are a great size and fit my space perfectly. I love Rubbermaid!

Mom of 4
Hyannis, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews