Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
216
4 stars
29
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 stars
3
1-20 of 266 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews
Product Manager needs to give accurate description
10/25/2012

Customer review by earthrock

1.0 stars 10/25/2012 by earthrock
by earthrock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The descriptions of the rubbermaid storage totes give the dimensions of the entire container. The area that can be used, however, is the inside space. The inside dimensions, length, width, and height is what the customer will have access to for storage use. To my surprise those measurements are deleted from the description of the product. For instance, the 22 gallon roughneck rubbermaid tote has a description of 26.5 Length. The actual length for use is 19 inches. Big difference, right! I wanted to have a large order shipped to a store for me. I could not find the dimensions of use anywhere for any of the containers. I took a chance and ordered two sets of nine. The inside measurements were so off from the dimensions given in the description, that I could not use the totes at all. I had them all shipped back. I think the product manager of the storage totes needs to give their potential customes the correct measurements for available use.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
earthrock
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Classic Durability but Goofy Handles
7/23/2016

Customer review by AJmilitaryfamily

4.0 stars 7/23/2016 by AJmilitaryfamily
by AJmilitaryfamily
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They added a sort of clamp handle on each side instead of leaving it as a traditional pressure seal, so it's an awkward grab on the handle. Otherwise, these are traditional Rubbermaid Tubs that will stand the test of time. Shipped to our house in a giant box and the price couldn't even come close to being beat. Bought the 9-pk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJmilitaryfamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Quality product -- searched high and low for these
8/7/2012

Customer review by Galapagos91

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Galapagos91
by Galapagos91

I use these to store off-season clothes, camping supplies, cables, etc. in my basement, and I love them. Had originally purchased about 10 of these in 2010, but the store where I bought them no longer stocks this exact model. Had to look for a while to find them, as none of the big box stores stocks them. I really like the size, construction, and design of these. The latch makes a huge difference, and the lid doesn't come off when carrying heavy loads. I had a bunch of Sterilite totes, which are of much lower quality. I gave them away at a garage sale for free. Rubbermaid is a far superior product, and is a better value, even though these cost a bit more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Galapagos91
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Tough bins!
6/10/2016

Customer review by Granto

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Granto
by Granto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our bins. We bought over 30 of them for our basement storage shelves we built. The bins are awesome and very durable!

Granto
Carmel, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Storage Containers
6/6/2016

Customer review by dukeernst

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by dukeernst
by dukeernst

I have about 60 of these. They are great for moving, organizing, and an even storing stuff on your outdoor deck. I even use them to tote wood in the winter for the fireplace. They have lasted for over 20 years.

dukeernst
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Storage, Lids go bad, no replacement lids!!!
5/24/2016

Customer review by Parsimonious Dan

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Parsimonious Dan
by Parsimonious Dan

Great product that has lasted 8+ years, but if you store outside in the sun for one , or two, years the lids begin to erode and break apart. No problem...just buy a new lid you say, but Rubbermaid won't sell you just the lid :( to bad for Rubbermaid as this would allow continued use and prevent early departure to the recycler. Almost Excellant except...you can't buy a replacement lid!!!

Parsimonious Dan
S F Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Satisfied
5/18/2016

Customer review by AJTJ

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by AJTJ
by AJTJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are just what I was looking for. I bought these many years ago for storing product to sell at computer shows and over ten years later, they are still holding up even after the shows aren't. Today I use them for storing food. I love that they are durable, light and stackable. I searched other containers and none had all these important features as the Rubbermaid Roughneck. And buying online made it so convenient. Thank You.

AJTJ
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needed a product that would stand up to my move...
6/4/2016

Customer review by GotThisProduct

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by GotThisProduct
by GotThisProduct
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The size was perfect as I am using these bins for a move and then for storage... They are heavy duty bins and this is what I was looking for...very happy with my purchase...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GotThisProduct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great container
5/26/2016

Customer review by Leenie28

3.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Leenie28
by Leenie28
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for liquid, and it doesn't hold 14 gallons.

Leenie28
Vernon, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
definitely better quality than average totes
8/2/2011

Customer review by KWOPINION

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by KWOPINION
by KWOPINION

Wow...the quality is so much better than what you're used to buying. They are more expensive...but they look and feel like they won't crack like all those others I've purchased in the past.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KWOPINION
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
What can you say....
5/1/2016

Customer review by hepcat

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by hepcat
by hepcat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These totes are great for so many purposes and I wanted a black one but dark blue is good and it should last for ever! You can find this size in big box hardware type stores but not always in this dark a color.

hepcat
Aquarius
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outlasted smoke & water damage! :)
3/21/2016

Customer review by JenD

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by JenD
by JenD

I had a house fire 3 weeks ago. :( My dryer motor caught on fire and it went into the walls and ceiling! My hundred year old house house was in flames within minutes. There was a lot of smoke and water damage. I am thankful to say anything that was in Rubbermaid containers were unaffected! Right below the fire in my basement was my high school year books safe & sound in the Rubbermaid tote. Everything around them even the tote below that wasn't Rubbermaid were soaked and ruined, but they were safe and sound! I will only buy Rubbermaid containers from now on!! I highly recommend that you do too! Jen Deline

JenD
Kingston, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
31 gallon storage
4/21/2016

Customer review by Crazy kate

5.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Crazy kate
by Crazy kate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very happy with all Rubbermaid products just wish you wouldn't have been out of the 25 gallon size

Crazy kate
Jasper, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
extremely durable!
4/7/2016

Customer review by mkayh

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by mkayh
by mkayh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the 'roughneck' storage containers for a number of years. I am a teacher and store books in a facility that is not climate controlled. The books are always in great shape when I open the containers each year. I was disappointed that I could not find a store in my area that sells the 'roughneck' division. I am so glad I was able to order them on-line!

mkayh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughneck tubs in two sizes
3/15/2016

Customer review by Leatherman

5.0 stars 3/15/2016 by Leatherman
by Leatherman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this product recently from Rubbermaid and have purchased probably at least a total of 50 or more of these in more than one size and the only thing I wish was that they were available in the color Black. This way they wouldn't show the dirt as well as I know many others that do trade shows as myself and they use them for containing there inventory in there booths and because black is a color that doesn't stand out when your housing your extra storage containers and you don't always have a way to hide them black is much less obtrusive. Just a thought

Leatherman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awsome storage
4/8/2016

Customer review by Mom of 4

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Mom of 4
by Mom of 4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought these and I am just thrilled with them. They are a great size and fit my space perfectly. I love Rubbermaid!

Mom of 4
Hyannis, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Sturdy
3/30/2016

Customer review by postiecat

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by postiecat
by postiecat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to use as a recycle bin. Working out great. Perfect size, the grey color is very light, blends into everything in the kitchen. Easy to clean. Seems like it will last a very long time.

postiecat
Anacortes, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews