Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

406 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
317
4 stars
40
3 stars
28
2 stars
12
1 stars
9
1-20 of 393 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 393 total reviews
1-20 of 393 reviews
Great Product
2/8/2009

Customer review by Majo

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by Majo
by Majo

I have several of those. The oldest pair is teal green from the early 90's (back when teal was the color on everything) and the youngest pair is purple. I have used it to store things, laundry (performed its task far better than laundry baskets back then). The older ones r well used and it still continues to serve me well. Here are a couple pictures of them.

Majo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Long lasting storage containers
11/8/2011

Customer review by UOSS

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by UOSS
by UOSS

We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UOSS
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Not like the old kind
11/7/2015

Customer review by LBmommy

3.0 stars 11/7/2015 by LBmommy
by LBmommy

I'm really disappointed, I had one roughneck tote from a couple years ago and it is awesome it's like a Tupperware container it seals shut so well and keeps bugs and moisture out and the material is rubbery and doesn't crack or chip like the other totes do so that's why I ordered these. I am moving next week and wanted to use these for my long term storage item that I don't want subjected to moisture or bugs etc. I was highly disappointed when I put the top on the first one, it seemed like they were going to be great but then the lid just set on top , no seal and then where it's supposed to click on the handles only one side actually would click. I prayed it was a fluke but no they were all this way. The only way these will work well is if I stack them on one another to keep somewhat of a seal and then the top one is out of luck. I have it 3 stars because they're still better than the normal totes that break during moves but they're nothing like they used to be :(

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not made like they used to be.
10/26/2015

Customer review by cbtruckergirl

3.0 stars 10/26/2015 by cbtruckergirl
by cbtruckergirl

Received these tubs in a timely manner. Boxes were in bad shape and tapped a whole bunch on one end. Tubs are true to color. I have other green Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes like this that are 15 years old that I use for my Christmas decor. The plastic is much thicker and the seal is so much tighter. I was bummed, because with these blue tubs, the lid just kind of sits on the top. There is no snapping and no need to press on the handles as it instructs you to do to get it to close any tighter. I was bummed because I got these to specifically use in my shed, where we have bugs and mice. While I do appreciate the thickness of the lip, and the lid does rest on top, it is easily lifted up or if you push on the side of the tub, you create a nice entrance for critters. Couldn't beat the price though, which was one of the reasons I bought these, also for their stackability. I definitely don't feel like the bin would stay closed though, if it say, it tipped on its side full.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbtruckergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
5/4/2014

Customer review by ohdeee

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by ohdeee
by ohdeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohdeee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
roughneck storage container, oh no not rubbermaid
9/1/2017

Customer review by falconsmith

1.0 stars 9/1/2017 by falconsmith
by falconsmith

i have racks of rubbermaid storage containers inside for years and have been extremely happy... obtained more racks, bought more rubbermaid 18 gallon containers and 2 to 3 years later, (now) i go to move them and they are cracking at the handles, and seem to be "cheesy".... Rubbermaid is/was my brand for years.. not so certain now.. i would pay more money for the old product back... i fully understand the warranty but even if it is replaced with a new one, i am back to where i am now just 2 years later... i would have and i used to tell people i loved my rubbermaid container... don't think i can do that now... my other ones are still in excellent condition... go back the way you made them and i will buy....

falconsmith
Woodridge, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
9/15/2017

Customer review by Pete

5.0 stars 9/15/2017 by Pete
by Pete

Have tried others, but they cracked. We have Rubbermaid totes that are almost 30 years old and they look like new.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Storage!
9/8/2017

Customer review by Sterling Law

5.0 stars 9/8/2017 by Sterling Law
by Sterling Law
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using these to store small power hand tools in. They hold up to the weight. They keep the moisture in my garage out of the tools and they don't crack or break even when dropped. I've used other brands with poor results. I have four that I've used for 5 years and just ordered more. They look nice too.

Sterling Law
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough LIttle Container
9/8/2017

Customer review by CaptJayFL

5.0 stars 9/8/2017 by CaptJayFL
by CaptJayFL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the durability of these containers. Replaced some older Rubbermaind containers that were over 20 years old.

CaptJayFL
Cruisng
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
9/7/2017

Customer review by Cobbl1700

5.0 stars 9/7/2017 by Cobbl1700
by Cobbl1700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 2 a couple weeks ago and they are working out great

Cobbl1700
Sebree, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
replacement lids
9/1/2017

Customer review by bobbypugh

1.0 stars 9/1/2017 by bobbypugh
by bobbypugh

Good product but without the ability to purchase new lids makes the purchase worthless. Will not purchase another one.

bobbypugh
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Definetly Not For Outside Storage
7/26/2016

Customer review by JaM44x2

1.0 stars 7/26/2016 by JaM44x2
by JaM44x2

We started buying this and the half-size roughneck containers 10 to 20 years ago (maybe more, we are both 72) when they still had a Lifetime Warranty sticker on them. I still have some of the stickers. We bought two or three other brands when the price was really good. They were all stored in an outside tarp covered enclosure under the same conditions. (I replaced the tarp periodically.) Without exception - every one of the Rubbermaid containers failed and most of the contents were damaged or useless. The newer containers did not last as long as the older ones. The containers that held up best under these conditions were the Sterlite brand and another brand that does not have a brand name on them. I paid more for the Rubbermaid containers because of the Lifetime Warranty. I have found through experience that when you look at the requirements of a "lifetime warranty" on many items - it is not worth the effort. I will not buy another Rubbermaid storage container of this type even for inside storage; the plastic is inferior even if they were half the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaM44x2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Holds lots of yor stuff
8/24/2017

Customer review by JFRIII

2.0 stars 8/24/2017 by JFRIII
by JFRIII

I bought these to use indoors in Florida. They were in a shed attached to he house. After 2 years, the plastic on the box pat of the roughneck became brittle and cracked. eventually, the roughneck just broke down. These were used inside, not in direct sunlight and with some partial air conditioning. I guess they are not made for Florida weather. However, the lids, very durable.

JFRIII
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Okay, but not as "Rough" as the old ones
8/25/2017

Customer review by nanasfj40

3.0 stars 8/25/2017 by nanasfj40
by nanasfj40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have many of these totes from years ago, They have held up well. I'm not sure these new ones will be as long-lasting. Yes, they are better than the plastic ones in the stores, but these are much thinner than the old ones. I'm disappointed. Rubbermaid, Why did you change these? I would pay more just to have the older type back.

nanasfj40
Phelan, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Strong and durable
8/20/2017

Customer review by JAZOC

5.0 stars 8/20/2017 by JAZOC
by JAZOC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Strong sturdy totes for our use, could use more colors, but these are great.

JAZOC
Anaheim, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ROUGH AND TUFF
12/26/2011

Customer review by 1STCAVGUY

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by 1STCAVGUY
by 1STCAVGUY

I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1STCAVGUY
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Not like they used to be
9/10/2016

Customer review by BernieO

3.0 stars 9/10/2016 by BernieO
by BernieO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought these for a house move since some items will go into storage. Have bought these totes since the 1990's and they have saved my stuff from damage on more than one occasion. Had poor experience with other brands and swore by Rubbermaid totes. The box arrived and was pretty beat up, barely taped together. I was concerned about damage as others have mentioned. Luckily, the totes were ok. The first thing I noticed was how sunlight shone through the plastic. After loading up a few older and new totes, when moving them, the bottoms of the new totes sagged where the older ones did not. I stacked some boxes on top of a new tote. Walked out of the room and heard a crash. Going back into the room, saw the tote had buckled and collapsed from not much weight. I was surprised as I never had that happen with my older totes. Looking at the old and new totes, the plastic is much thinner on the new ones. I am reluctant to stack these higher than 2 high, concerned that they will not stand up to the weight. While I still like these over other brands, the product is subject to cost cutting and degraded quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BernieO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Colors now too limited-color coding now impossible
7/24/2017

Customer review by bobrebob

3.0 stars 7/24/2017 by bobrebob
by bobrebob

Years ago the roughneck totes came in many more colors, with that it was possible to set up a color coded bin system. Now there are only two colors. I understand why selling fewer colors @ retail is more practical, but why not make small runs of colored bins and sell them online. I Would pay a premium for different colored bins.

bobrebob
Washington, United States
Gender:Male
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 393 total reviews
1-20 of 393 reviews