Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 348 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

348 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

348 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
284
4 stars
31
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 stars
5
1-20 of 335 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews
Long lasting storage containers
11/8/2011

Customer review by UOSS

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by UOSS
by UOSS

We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UOSS
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not like the old kind
11/7/2015

Customer review by LBmommy

3.0 stars 11/7/2015 by LBmommy
by LBmommy

I'm really disappointed, I had one roughneck tote from a couple years ago and it is awesome it's like a Tupperware container it seals shut so well and keeps bugs and moisture out and the material is rubbery and doesn't crack or chip like the other totes do so that's why I ordered these. I am moving next week and wanted to use these for my long term storage item that I don't want subjected to moisture or bugs etc. I was highly disappointed when I put the top on the first one, it seemed like they were going to be great but then the lid just set on top , no seal and then where it's supposed to click on the handles only one side actually would click. I prayed it was a fluke but no they were all this way. The only way these will work well is if I stack them on one another to keep somewhat of a seal and then the top one is out of luck. I have it 3 stars because they're still better than the normal totes that break during moves but they're nothing like they used to be :(

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Definetly Not For Outside Storage
7/26/2016

Customer review by JaM44x2

1.0 stars 7/26/2016 by JaM44x2
by JaM44x2

We started buying this and the half-size roughneck containers 10 to 20 years ago (maybe more, we are both 72) when they still had a Lifetime Warranty sticker on them. I still have some of the stickers. We bought two or three other brands when the price was really good. They were all stored in an outside tarp covered enclosure under the same conditions. (I replaced the tarp periodically.) Without exception - every one of the Rubbermaid containers failed and most of the contents were damaged or useless. The newer containers did not last as long as the older ones. The containers that held up best under these conditions were the Sterlite brand and another brand that does not have a brand name on them. I paid more for the Rubbermaid containers because of the Lifetime Warranty. I have found through experience that when you look at the requirements of a "lifetime warranty" on many items - it is not worth the effort. I will not buy another Rubbermaid storage container of this type even for inside storage; the plastic is inferior even if they were half the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaM44x2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not made like they used to be.
10/26/2015

Customer review by cbtruckergirl

3.0 stars 10/26/2015 by cbtruckergirl
by cbtruckergirl

Received these tubs in a timely manner. Boxes were in bad shape and tapped a whole bunch on one end. Tubs are true to color. I have other green Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes like this that are 15 years old that I use for my Christmas decor. The plastic is much thicker and the seal is so much tighter. I was bummed, because with these blue tubs, the lid just kind of sits on the top. There is no snapping and no need to press on the handles as it instructs you to do to get it to close any tighter. I was bummed because I got these to specifically use in my shed, where we have bugs and mice. While I do appreciate the thickness of the lip, and the lid does rest on top, it is easily lifted up or if you push on the side of the tub, you create a nice entrance for critters. Couldn't beat the price though, which was one of the reasons I bought these, also for their stackability. I definitely don't feel like the bin would stay closed though, if it say, it tipped on its side full.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbtruckergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
5/4/2014

Customer review by ohdeee

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by ohdeee
by ohdeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohdeee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No lids
8/3/2016

Customer review by 4Bracelets

1.0 stars 8/3/2016 by 4Bracelets
by 4Bracelets

I received my totes but there were no lids????????????

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4Bracelets
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Storage for our move
8/13/2016

Customer review by KYMom

5.0 stars 8/13/2016 by KYMom
by KYMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were moving and needed quick storage containers so we bought two dozen of these plastic tubs. Since we don't know when or where we will be headed, we needed something other than cardboard boxes. They will seal up our stuff for longer term in moist or dry storage. With free shipping and extremely fast delivery, this was a fantastic purchase! Much better than waiting for service at the store pick-up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KYMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough quality containers
8/7/2016

Customer review by Starfly52

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by Starfly52
by Starfly52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Obtained great quantity for my money and quality was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starfly52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10-gallon totes
7/20/2016

Customer review by Peoria Charter

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Peoria Charter
by Peoria Charter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are a motorcoach company and we use these totes for all our Bingo supplies. They work wonders and they last a very long time. We have about 6-7 of them that have been here and used for 17 years now. We love them.

Peoria Charter
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Performer - Great Deal
7/24/2016

Customer review by Rifleman

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Rifleman
by Rifleman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was our second order of twelve totes in two weeks. This traditional eighteen (18) gallon tote design has withstood the test of time and the lids lend themselves to responsible stacking better than any other design that I have found in twenty plus years. Buying them in a lot of twelve (12) will save you money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rifleman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love these totes!
7/28/2016

Customer review by MichelleM

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by MichelleM
by MichelleM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

More rubbery, less plastic-y. Great for long term storage

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichelleM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Rubbermaid bins were great
7/26/2016

Customer review by Dirk

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by Dirk
by Dirk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best price around if you need multiple bins. Took longer than expected for them to arrive but once they were here we were very pleased. Binbonanza

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dirk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
ROUGH AND TUFF
12/26/2011

Customer review by 1STCAVGUY

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by 1STCAVGUY
by 1STCAVGUY

I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1STCAVGUY
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the name you know us worth it!!
7/20/2016

Customer review by Maho63

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Maho63
by Maho63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've tried cheaper brands but nothing works as well, stays like new like a Rubbermaid!! Thank goodness I wished up My only complaint is the giant box this came in - should be in 2 smaller boxes

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maho63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just the right size.
7/16/2016

Customer review by Fred1966

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Fred1966
by Fred1966
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far, I have used 9 filled up with various items. perfect size and durable. Be careful stacking too many, the kinda lean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred1966
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughneck Storage Tote 18 gallon
7/3/2016

Customer review by TerriG

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by TerriG
by TerriG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product. It is very sturdy. I liked the size. It seemed like it would be good for moving. I thought the price was good. I like that they can be bought in bulk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerriG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Tough bins!
6/10/2016

Customer review by Granto

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Granto
by Granto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our bins. We bought over 30 of them for our basement storage shelves we built. The bins are awesome and very durable!

Granto
Carmel, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 335 total reviews
1-20 of 335 reviews