Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

309 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
249
4 stars
30
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 stars
3
1-20 of 296 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 296 total reviews
1-20 of 296 reviews
Long lasting storage containers
11/8/2011

Customer review by UOSS

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by UOSS
by UOSS

We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UOSS
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not like the old kind
11/7/2015

Customer review by LBmommy

3.0 stars 11/7/2015 by LBmommy
by LBmommy

I'm really disappointed, I had one roughneck tote from a couple years ago and it is awesome it's like a Tupperware container it seals shut so well and keeps bugs and moisture out and the material is rubbery and doesn't crack or chip like the other totes do so that's why I ordered these. I am moving next week and wanted to use these for my long term storage item that I don't want subjected to moisture or bugs etc. I was highly disappointed when I put the top on the first one, it seemed like they were going to be great but then the lid just set on top , no seal and then where it's supposed to click on the handles only one side actually would click. I prayed it was a fluke but no they were all this way. The only way these will work well is if I stack them on one another to keep somewhat of a seal and then the top one is out of luck. I have it 3 stars because they're still better than the normal totes that break during moves but they're nothing like they used to be :(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not made like they used to be.
10/26/2015

Customer review by cbtruckergirl

3.0 stars 10/26/2015 by cbtruckergirl
by cbtruckergirl

Received these tubs in a timely manner. Boxes were in bad shape and tapped a whole bunch on one end. Tubs are true to color. I have other green Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes like this that are 15 years old that I use for my Christmas decor. The plastic is much thicker and the seal is so much tighter. I was bummed, because with these blue tubs, the lid just kind of sits on the top. There is no snapping and no need to press on the handles as it instructs you to do to get it to close any tighter. I was bummed because I got these to specifically use in my shed, where we have bugs and mice. While I do appreciate the thickness of the lip, and the lid does rest on top, it is easily lifted up or if you push on the side of the tub, you create a nice entrance for critters. Couldn't beat the price though, which was one of the reasons I bought these, also for their stackability. I definitely don't feel like the bin would stay closed though, if it say, it tipped on its side full.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbtruckergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Lids tight
1/28/2016

Customer review by Nothanku

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Nothanku
by Nothanku

Lids were a little tight going on but that means the will be tight and stay on unlike other brands.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nothanku
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
5/4/2014

Customer review by ohdeee

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by ohdeee
by ohdeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohdeee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great container, poor lid.
1/21/2016

Customer review by rekcus

2.0 stars 1/21/2016 by rekcus
by rekcus

I have a dozen 18 gal. containers for xmas storage. Containers have held up well, but the lids on half have broken up after 6 years storage. Obviously a different material was used. I can't find a source for replacement lids.

rekcus
Santa Barbara, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durable
1/18/2016

Customer review by Villa 681

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Villa 681
by Villa 681
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned two containers for years and I have used them many times as luggage when I have traveled to the UK and the Bahamas.

Villa 681
Elkhart, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the 10 gallon Roughneck
1/17/2016

Customer review by Gypsynana

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Gypsynana
by Gypsynana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am an antiques dealer. This size box is great for my inventory. Not too heavy loaded and easy to stack.

Gypsynana
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Make great under bed boxes
1/7/2016

Customer review by Putterer

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Putterer
by Putterer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a bunch of these to fit under my platform bed. Hold SOOOOO much more than the usual under bed boxes. Too bad they aren't sold in this size in stores much, but great that you can get them online. Hold up forever!

Putterer
outside Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
11/29/2015

Customer review by TXNHCA

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by TXNHCA
by TXNHCA

This is the second set of the Rubbermaid 18 Gallon containers I purchased and planning to purchase another set of 12. For $83 for 12 you can't beat it. But it before the price goes up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXNHCA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ROUGH AND TUFF
12/26/2011

Customer review by 1STCAVGUY

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by 1STCAVGUY
by 1STCAVGUY

I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1STCAVGUY
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reduced Quality
12/25/2015

Customer review by Xmas Present

3.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Xmas Present
by Xmas Present
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We apparently had a previous version and loved them. But these are not as good as before. They are OK but wouldn't purchase them again. They are thinker and the lids do not stay closed as well.

Xmas Present
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
wonderful
12/6/2015

Customer review by miss5773

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by miss5773
by miss5773
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the best storage containers you would want. they are sturdy and seal tight so dust andf moisture does not get in.

miss5773
Ocala, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Bin
11/23/2015

Customer review by Caplor

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Caplor
by Caplor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Placed a styrofoam cooler inside, cut a hole at the end of a long side of both containers, stuffed with wheat straw and VOILA! I have a perfect little feral cat shelter!!!

Caplor
Lawrenceville, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what was expected
11/29/2015

Customer review by Nylime

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Nylime
by Nylime

I wanted to leave a good review since most of the time negative reviews are what people tend to leave. These totes were exactly what was ordered and what I expected. None of them are cracked or broken although yes the box was tremendous. Much easier than buying them getting in the car and then getting them out of the car again

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nylime
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
set of 12 rubbermaid 18 gal. storage box
11/22/2015

Customer review by ALASKANMALAMUTES

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by ALASKANMALAMUTES
by ALASKANMALAMUTES

these are SUPER!!!!! whenever i need a storage box...i buy rubbermaid, they are tough, american made , sturdy & durable. i needed a couple BUT after visiting 3 different walmart sores in two different states , none had any rubbermaid boxes...yes, they had other brands BUT those don't hold a candle to rubbermaid... when i checked walmart online & found this deal for a set of 12...i couldn't pass it up. they delivered to my home (no shipping fees) i highly recommend this deal

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALASKANMALAMUTES
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is a good size to ride handicap bus with
11/18/2015

Customer review by debbie36

4.0 stars 11/18/2015 by debbie36
by debbie36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you sell replacement lids for 10 gallon roughneck and other it would help!!

debbie36
Richardson, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 296 total reviews
1-20 of 296 reviews