Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

396 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
312
4 stars
40
3 stars
26
2 stars
11
1 stars
7
1-20 of 383 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews
Great Product
2/8/2009

Customer review by Majo

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by Majo
by Majo

I have several of those. The oldest pair is teal green from the early 90's (back when teal was the color on everything) and the youngest pair is purple. I have used it to store things, laundry (performed its task far better than laundry baskets back then). The older ones r well used and it still continues to serve me well. Here are a couple pictures of them.

Majo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Long lasting storage containers
11/8/2011

Customer review by UOSS

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by UOSS
by UOSS

We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UOSS
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Not like the old kind
11/7/2015

Customer review by LBmommy

3.0 stars 11/7/2015 by LBmommy
by LBmommy

I'm really disappointed, I had one roughneck tote from a couple years ago and it is awesome it's like a Tupperware container it seals shut so well and keeps bugs and moisture out and the material is rubbery and doesn't crack or chip like the other totes do so that's why I ordered these. I am moving next week and wanted to use these for my long term storage item that I don't want subjected to moisture or bugs etc. I was highly disappointed when I put the top on the first one, it seemed like they were going to be great but then the lid just set on top , no seal and then where it's supposed to click on the handles only one side actually would click. I prayed it was a fluke but no they were all this way. The only way these will work well is if I stack them on one another to keep somewhat of a seal and then the top one is out of luck. I have it 3 stars because they're still better than the normal totes that break during moves but they're nothing like they used to be :(

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not made like they used to be.
10/26/2015

Customer review by cbtruckergirl

3.0 stars 10/26/2015 by cbtruckergirl
by cbtruckergirl

Received these tubs in a timely manner. Boxes were in bad shape and tapped a whole bunch on one end. Tubs are true to color. I have other green Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes like this that are 15 years old that I use for my Christmas decor. The plastic is much thicker and the seal is so much tighter. I was bummed, because with these blue tubs, the lid just kind of sits on the top. There is no snapping and no need to press on the handles as it instructs you to do to get it to close any tighter. I was bummed because I got these to specifically use in my shed, where we have bugs and mice. While I do appreciate the thickness of the lip, and the lid does rest on top, it is easily lifted up or if you push on the side of the tub, you create a nice entrance for critters. Couldn't beat the price though, which was one of the reasons I bought these, also for their stackability. I definitely don't feel like the bin would stay closed though, if it say, it tipped on its side full.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbtruckergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
5/4/2014

Customer review by ohdeee

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by ohdeee
by ohdeee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohdeee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
roughneck 16.5" tall
7/10/2017

Customer review by jobs

1.0 stars 7/10/2017 by jobs
by jobs

have been using for decades with success but recent purchase found to be much thinner plastic, when loaded sides bulged out , lid popped off and bottom bulging badly, when compared to older roughneck light would shine through new roughneck compared to older one

jobs
BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Definetly Not For Outside Storage
7/26/2016

Customer review by JaM44x2

1.0 stars 7/26/2016 by JaM44x2
by JaM44x2

We started buying this and the half-size roughneck containers 10 to 20 years ago (maybe more, we are both 72) when they still had a Lifetime Warranty sticker on them. I still have some of the stickers. We bought two or three other brands when the price was really good. They were all stored in an outside tarp covered enclosure under the same conditions. (I replaced the tarp periodically.) Without exception - every one of the Rubbermaid containers failed and most of the contents were damaged or useless. The newer containers did not last as long as the older ones. The containers that held up best under these conditions were the Sterlite brand and another brand that does not have a brand name on them. I paid more for the Rubbermaid containers because of the Lifetime Warranty. I have found through experience that when you look at the requirements of a "lifetime warranty" on many items - it is not worth the effort. I will not buy another Rubbermaid storage container of this type even for inside storage; the plastic is inferior even if they were half the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaM44x2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not like they used to be
9/10/2016

Customer review by BernieO

3.0 stars 9/10/2016 by BernieO
by BernieO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought these for a house move since some items will go into storage. Have bought these totes since the 1990's and they have saved my stuff from damage on more than one occasion. Had poor experience with other brands and swore by Rubbermaid totes. The box arrived and was pretty beat up, barely taped together. I was concerned about damage as others have mentioned. Luckily, the totes were ok. The first thing I noticed was how sunlight shone through the plastic. After loading up a few older and new totes, when moving them, the bottoms of the new totes sagged where the older ones did not. I stacked some boxes on top of a new tote. Walked out of the room and heard a crash. Going back into the room, saw the tote had buckled and collapsed from not much weight. I was surprised as I never had that happen with my older totes. Looking at the old and new totes, the plastic is much thinner on the new ones. I am reluctant to stack these higher than 2 high, concerned that they will not stand up to the weight. While I still like these over other brands, the product is subject to cost cutting and degraded quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BernieO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ROUGH AND TUFF
12/26/2011

Customer review by 1STCAVGUY

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by 1STCAVGUY
by 1STCAVGUY

I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1STCAVGUY
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
I wish
6/4/2017

Customer review by love green

5.0 stars 6/4/2017 by love green
by love green

Rubbermmaid would re-continue manufacturing of its "Forest Green" color. To the "Roughneck." As I heard this "color is discontinued" -- by a seller.* I don't see the red color, as I used to. *Which I will take believing of.

love green
San Diego County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not like the original .....
6/5/2017

Customer review by MadMarv

3.0 stars 6/5/2017 by MadMarv
by MadMarv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently purchased 8 of the 14 Gallon roughnecks for camping and storage. Expected to receive product similar to what I have had, and used for years. Instead, I received product that looks and feels like the "other brand" that is very thin, brittle and cheap. It is sad that the competition has forced RubberMaid to take such action. Have always been a very dedicated customer of RubberMaid products. Not sure if I can remain same ....... so sad...

MadMarv
Idaho
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Waterproof storage
8/3/2012

Customer review by azdr

3.0 stars 8/3/2012 by azdr
by azdr

These containers are replacing cardboard boxes which do not stand up to Arizona conditions. Time will determine if these "roughneck" containers will stand up. It is disappointing that they were not easy to stack without laying a sheet of paneling in between the layers; without this the boxes would bulge. So my initial impression is that they are not as sturdy as I hoped they would be.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azdr
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
7/2/2013

Customer review by needbasementstorage

2.0 stars 7/2/2013 by needbasementstorage
by needbasementstorage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not the same Rubbermaid product I used to be able to purchase. The lid doesn't fit as snug as all my older tubs of the same size - very disappointing. I ordered the set of 12 and the box arrived broken and taped and even the tape ripped at both ends. Some lids were scratched as well. Too bad it's so hard to find the great Rubbermaid product of not that long ago.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
needbasementstorage
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!!
11/8/2013

Customer review by LailaMS

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by LailaMS
by LailaMS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Buying these in bulk (12 to a pack) was a great idea and saved money in the long run! Bins are a great size and good for storing all sorts of things but we use them mostly for holiday decorations (Halloween, Christmas). We lined them up and labeled them in our basement - I feel so organized now! Definitely would recommend if you are looking to organize your storage space.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LailaMS
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Moving and Storage
11/12/2016

Customer review by FamilyOfSix

5.0 stars 11/12/2016 by FamilyOfSix
by FamilyOfSix
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Years ago, I had enough of these to move my own single-bedroom apartment without any boxes at all. Now I'm moving a family of 6, and have decided once again to abandon the boxes (as much as possible). I've purchased a bunch of the roughneck bin, as well as another brand from a home improvement store beginning with "L". These other bins had locking handles on them which break if you look at them sideways. There's no replacement for the Roughneck bins from Rubbermaid. I've used these for clothing storage (long-term) in our garage, without any infiltration of bugs, moths, or water. They fit perfectly on our metro shelving in the garage, and they also stack up well when not in use. Also, they are easy to carry and label during a move.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FamilyOfSix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Durable
4/19/2017

Customer review by Cass1875

5.0 stars 4/19/2017 by Cass1875
by Cass1875
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 6 containers of two different sizes because I have used Rubbermaid storage boxes in the past and have been happy with their durability. Rubbermaid makes a good quality product that lasts for a long period of time and takes a little abused from multiple moves. I will always purchases these and am thankful Rubbermaid has continued to keep up the quality of their products. I use the boxes to store clothes, decorations, and blankets.

Cass1875
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not like the old ones
4/16/2017

Customer review by Atoze

3.0 stars 4/16/2017 by Atoze
by Atoze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Needed more storage containers and Rubbermaid always made a quality product. The new ones are not as well made as the old ones they have definitely cheapened the product but they will serve the purpose for which they were intended.

Atoze
Sterling Heights, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 383 total reviews
1-20 of 383 reviews