Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 424 reviews
5 stars
325
4 stars
43
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 410 reviews
1-20 of 410 reviews
Great Product
2/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have several of those. The oldest pair is teal green from the early 90's (back when teal was the color on everything) and the youngest pair is purple. I have used it to store things, laundry (performed its task far better than laundry baskets back then). The older ones r well used and it still continues to serve me well. Here are a couple pictures of them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Long lasting storage containers
11/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We are a public school district and have been using Rubbermaid Roughneck storage bins for transporting our elementary hands-on science curriculum for about 20 years. The bins travel between 7 elementary schools on our district trucks. Each year we purchase more bins for new curriculum, but over 95 percent of our original Rubbermaid containers are still in use and in good condition. We are in Minnesota and experience extreme weather conditions, from way below 0 degrees to over 100 degrees. These Rubbermaid containers get used and abused and continue look good and perform well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not like the old kind
11/7/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm really disappointed, I had one roughneck tote from a couple years ago and it is awesome it's like a Tupperware container it seals shut so well and keeps bugs and moisture out and the material is rubbery and doesn't crack or chip like the other totes do so that's why I ordered these. I am moving next week and wanted to use these for my long term storage item that I don't want subjected to moisture or bugs etc. I was highly disappointed when I put the top on the first one, it seemed like they were going to be great but then the lid just set on top , no seal and then where it's supposed to click on the handles only one side actually would click. I prayed it was a fluke but no they were all this way. The only way these will work well is if I stack them on one another to keep somewhat of a seal and then the top one is out of luck. I have it 3 stars because they're still better than the normal totes that break during moves but they're nothing like they used to be :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not made like they used to be.
10/26/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Received these tubs in a timely manner. Boxes were in bad shape and tapped a whole bunch on one end. Tubs are true to color. I have other green Rubbermaid Roughneck storage boxes like this that are 15 years old that I use for my Christmas decor. The plastic is much thicker and the seal is so much tighter. I was bummed, because with these blue tubs, the lid just kind of sits on the top. There is no snapping and no need to press on the handles as it instructs you to do to get it to close any tighter. I was bummed because I got these to specifically use in my shed, where we have bugs and mice. While I do appreciate the thickness of the lip, and the lid does rest on top, it is easily lifted up or if you push on the side of the tub, you create a nice entrance for critters. Couldn't beat the price though, which was one of the reasons I bought these, also for their stackability. I definitely don't feel like the bin would stay closed though, if it say, it tipped on its side full.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing item
10/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always used Rubbermaid containers for storing Christmas decorations. I have some that were purchased many years ago, moved several times, & are still holding up good as new. I don't know if these are irregulars or what, but they are terrible. Definitely not the quality of my older ones. They do not seem as stout as my others. I spend time trying each lid on every container & none of them fit. I wish I had paid more attention to the few bad reviews & ignored the positive ones. I am very disappointed in Rubbermaid if this is what their quality has come to. I would not recommend these containers for storing anything. I had planned to use these for storage but with none of the lids fitting, I think I will just throw them in the back of the truck & use for bringing groceries home. I have learned my lesson of purchasing storage containers online. I trusted Rubbermaid & they really let me down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal
5/4/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've been using the 18-Gallon Roughnecks for many years. They are great. I like that fact they can be stackable and much more durable than other brands I have tried. Their quality is not the same as they were years ago however. The plastic itself seems not as strong. I noticed in the 2 sets of 12 I had delivered, the plastic seemed thinner at two small points on the containers and two points on the lids, where it seems it is where the plastic is injected into a mold. This was true on several of them. Even with this, I would still recommend these containers. They are the "work-horse" for storage containers. Plus at the price for the 12 can not be beat. One thing to be mindful of. Shipping is through FedEx which I can not stand. I have never received anything through FedEx that wasn't broken. The containers themselves arrived intact, but both boxes were ripped apart and were taped together at least twice while en route. Plus, they arrived days after the original expected delivery date.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bins at a Savings!
1/4/2018
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Over the last two decades, I have moved many times...short hauls around the block, to other states, and a relocation to Asia. These Roughneck Storage Bins hold up better, by far, than any other storage containers I have purchased that are in a low to mid-price range.. The bins are made from a heavier weight plastic. Although other brands offer bins that are stackable, the design / thickness of the Roughneck Lid keeps its shape, and structural integrity best, not losing its ability to securely close nor warp with the weight of stacked containers and repeated, long term usage. Now temporarily living in Arizona, where the climate causes plastics to break down quickly, I still am using bins that were purchased at least 10-15 years ago. My current order of the economy pack of 12, delivered to my local store was a nice savings, as I am preparing for another move!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Storage
1/12/2018
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good sturdy storage. Just the right size to not overload.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great totes - terrible lids
1/7/2018
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These totes are great. Last for years. The lids, however, get brittle over time and can crack. I have 10 of these 18 gallon totes at home (bought in 2010) and over the last 2 years half of the lids have cracked. Been looking online for replacements with no luck. Please start to offer lids at a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rubbermaid Roughnecks
1/6/2018
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use the Rubbermaid Roughneck tubs whenever possible for storing things. Practically indestructible and so easy to store on top of each other. The lids are for the most part interchangeable which is great when you misplace them. We get below freezing temps and most other brands can't stand the cold and shatter within the first year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/7/2018
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These are GREAT containers. Perfect size to keep weight manageable. Buying in bulk was a BIG savings
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Definetly Not For Outside Storage
7/26/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We started buying this and the half-size roughneck containers 10 to 20 years ago (maybe more, we are both 72) when they still had a Lifetime Warranty sticker on them. I still have some of the stickers. We bought two or three other brands when the price was really good. They were all stored in an outside tarp covered enclosure under the same conditions. (I replaced the tarp periodically.) Without exception - every one of the Rubbermaid containers failed and most of the contents were damaged or useless. The newer containers did not last as long as the older ones. The containers that held up best under these conditions were the Sterlite brand and another brand that does not have a brand name on them. I paid more for the Rubbermaid containers because of the Lifetime Warranty. I have found through experience that when you look at the requirements of a "lifetime warranty" on many items - it is not worth the effort. I will not buy another Rubbermaid storage container of this type even for inside storage; the plastic is inferior even if they were half the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Leaks....
12/29/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this to mix my salt for my reef tank, water leaks out very slowly but it leaks. Gotta stick with the Brute series.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great tote, poor lid
12/26/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great storage, but the lids are not durable at all. Please make replacement lids available. I would have purchased other, more robust storage containers. Great product for light duty use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i use them a lot and they stand up to my use and the lids stay down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Durability
10/12/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ROUGH AND TUFF
12/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this product for over 10 years and i find the product to be very tough. I stack these containers overloaded 3 or 4 high with no problems to the bottom ones. With other containers the cheap plastic cracks under heavy loads but not this one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
18gal. Tote
12/14/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have many, many (40 to 50) 18 gal. totes. I love them. The problem is, however, the lids are continually breaking. In years past, I've been forced to purchase new totes just to have lids. I can't continue to do this. Please, where can I purchase lids?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not like they used to be
9/10/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought these for a house move since some items will go into storage. Have bought these totes since the 1990's and they have saved my stuff from damage on more than one occasion. Had poor experience with other brands and swore by Rubbermaid totes. The box arrived and was pretty beat up, barely taped together. I was concerned about damage as others have mentioned. Luckily, the totes were ok. The first thing I noticed was how sunlight shone through the plastic. After loading up a few older and new totes, when moving them, the bottoms of the new totes sagged where the older ones did not. I stacked some boxes on top of a new tote. Walked out of the room and heard a crash. Going back into the room, saw the tote had buckled and collapsed from not much weight. I was surprised as I never had that happen with my older totes. Looking at the old and new totes, the plastic is much thinner on the new ones. I am reluctant to stack these higher than 2 high, concerned that they will not stand up to the weight. While I still like these over other brands, the product is subject to cost cutting and degraded quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
lid broken
11/30/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
need replacement lids for totes and 43 gallon trashcans and where to buy local
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-