Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
1
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 49 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
The lids on this product are just fine.
11/6/2012

Customer review by SOCER

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by SOCER
by SOCER

I purchased a 12-quart Rubbermaid Roughneck Clear around 2008 when they were marketed under the product name "Latchables". It is the same product, just a different name: the container body is the same, the lid is the same, and the latches on the lid are the same. The product works fine for my needs. I just read the review from RadioFlyer: "Horrible Lids", June 2011. Looking at the submitted photographs, it appears that RadioFlyer was lifting the loaded container from the latched lid itself instead of from the built-in handles on the container body. This is why the lids would pop off. The proper lifting handles are actually located about 1-1/2 inches below the lid latches, on the container body. A little care does need to be exercised to ensure that your thumbs don't slide open the lid latches under the stress of lifting. But, that is easy to get accustomed to. This is a good product that is stackable. And, I have found it to be sturdy.

SOCER
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Horrible lids
6/22/2011

Customer review by RadioFlyer

2.0 stars 6/22/2011 by RadioFlyer
by RadioFlyer

I purchased 20 of these Clear Roughnecks in various sizes after there was water damage in my storage unit and everything had to be repacked. They look nice, the ability to stack them was good, and I was okay with buying clear instead of the normal colored roughneck. The sad thing is, they are nothing like the other roughnecks. I've packed tons of stuff in the regular roughnecks and never had a issue with the container breaking or the lid popping off. Every single lid popped off these Clear Roughnecks as soon as I picked them up to move them. It's almost like the lip on the lid lock isn't deep enough to hold when the container is loaded. It's fine if you've packed light items such as linens in them. But not for packing dishes, glassware, books or other heavier items. Unforunately, I had to find this out after I had all 20 packed with my stuff and was closing them up to re-store them. I'm very disappointed and now have to make two trips back to the store: 1: to buy better containers and repack everything and 2: to take these inferior products back. Guess it wouldn't be that big of deal if it wasn't a 50 mile round trip.

RadioFlyer
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Awesome containers
12/1/2013

Customer review by LostCustomer2020

3.0 stars 12/1/2013 by LostCustomer2020
by LostCustomer2020

I own a lot of these containers and have used them for years, both in my home and for my electrical contracting business. Even though I label my containers, it's still very useful to quickly visually determine the contents at a glance.  I think the price tag on these containers is shameful. Not very long ago they were less than half of their current cost. I accept that well designed products justify a premium price tag, but my jaw hit the floor when I went to buy more of these yesterday. In my opinion Rubbermaid has priced themselves out of the market with these bins and sadly, I'm now on the search for an adequate replacement from a competitor. If these totes are big enough sellers that Rubbermaid feels like they can price them so high, then I'm sure competitors are producing similar products.  

LostCustomer2020
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great for Dorm Life
2/12/2013

Customer review by Trenia

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Trenia
by Trenia

I bought my daughter several of these for her freshman year in college and she has genuinely loved using them. As everyone knows, college dorms are small so she and her roommate had to leave things packed and stacked in boxes. These were great for that because not only did they move well but they were see through. They could easily tell where everything was. After the year was up, they packed well into her compact car for transporting home...and now are taking up space at Mom's house....while she attends a semester of her sophmore year in France. When she returns the boxes will be moved into her new apartment....leaving mom with a well earned craft room where I will indeed be stocking craft items into my own Rubbermaid containers.

Trenia
Hattiesburg MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Measurements are inaccurate
4/5/2016

Customer review by CASB

3.0 stars 4/5/2016 by CASB
by CASB

I purchased the 19 quart clear bin to store a specific item. I measured what I wanted to store and placed my order. When I received the storage bin, it is not big enough as the measurements pertain to the lid/top not the bottom. I think more specific measurement details would be helpful since I cannot conveniently find any of your products in my area stores.

CASB
St. Louis, MO, United States
Gender:Female
My favorite storage box!
2/9/2013

Customer review by sushimon

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by sushimon
by sushimon

Cleaning up the storage room recently for the first time in over a decade, I had to do a lot of guesswork as to what was inside each one. That's when Roughneck Clear became my favorite boxes in the room. It was so easy to tell what was inside -- I could go, "Ok, that's the box with all the toys" and move on without having to open it to check like many of the other boxes (which I ended having to go back and check again when I forgot. :P ) Roughneck Clear makes it so easy, and it's durable too . . my childhood toys were in as good a condition as they were in the 80s. :)

sushimon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tuff Stuff
6/1/2010

Customer review by mtlizard

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by mtlizard
by mtlizard

We went camping this weekend and has a couple totes for all our stuff. One was A Rubbermaid Roughneck clear the other cheap one. After we loaded up and got on the road. My Husband went around a corner and that was when we realized that the Tailgate was not compleatly closed and flew open. Both totes went flying out along with much other stuff. The cheap tote was destroyed, and had to put in Plastic bags, the Roughneck had some scrapes and dirt but was still intact. Thank Rubbermaid. I am out the door to buy another Roughneck to hold the the other camping gear!

mtlizard
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Storage for small toys
10/2/2015

Customer review by Rephanie

2.0 stars 10/2/2015 by Rephanie
by Rephanie

I bought several of these containers because I was getting sick of having to replace a cheaper version. I liked the fact that they had a warranty and were deemed unbreakable. I have had them for about three months and today my three year old cracked the clear plastic on the side. The hassle of digging for the receipt from three months ago and filing a claim hardly seems worth it effort. Very disappointed...

Rephanie
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
TOTE-ally TERRIFIC!
2/6/2013

Customer review by HotchMama

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by HotchMama
by HotchMama

I LOVE Rubbermaid Roughneck clear storage containers! They make seeing what's inside EASY! That saves me time because I don't have to open each one to find what I'm looking for. I LOVE that the lids latch! That means that I never have to worry about the lid popping open and dumping everything on my head when I am getting the container down from a top shelf. The durability and STACK-ability make the most of every inch of storage space that I have. I think they are TOTE-ally TERRIFIC!

HotchMama
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Much smaller than stated dimensions
11/3/2011

Customer review by pretzellogic

1.0 stars 11/3/2011 by pretzellogic
by pretzellogic

Much smaller than the specified dimensions. I bought 4 of these online for a specific storage need that requires a certain size. The largest exterior dimensions of the container (including the lid & lip) are smaller than the stated size. Needless to say the items I want to store don't come close to fitting in the containers. You would think that the l x w x h for storage containers would be an interior dimension?

pretzellogic
Would recommend to a friend? No
corraling closet clutter
7/12/2010

Customer review by Neat

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by Neat
by Neat

After moving into our home we needed to efficiently store kids childhood toys - Barbie/He-Man, micromachines and other smaller goodies. These containers worked great to corral the clutter. They make efficient use of space, fit on closet shelves and clear design allow for visibility as to contents of each container. I was so happy with the results I purchased them for storage use in the linen closet.

Neat
High Desert, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the clear view!
2/6/2013

Customer review by Dana72

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Dana72
by Dana72

I have several of these in 4 different sizes. I use mine to pack contents of my travel trailer when I plan to leave it vacant for an extended period. The clear view makes it so convenient when unpacking or if I need something out of them while they are stored in my garage at home. I have had them about 3 years now and they still look brand new. No discoloration or broken lids or hinges.

Dana72
Gulf Coast, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Extra Sturdy
2/25/2011

Customer review by oreolink

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by oreolink
by oreolink

I have many storage containers around my house, but this purchase was by far the best for storage. I have always had a problem with lids cracking in half or not quite fitting properly. These are great. No signs of breakage yet, even when I stack them on top of each other. I like the clear because you can see at a glance what is inside, and grab the right container the first time.

oreolink
Plantation,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Couldn't live without this product!!
2/9/2013

Customer review by MomKypper

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by MomKypper
by MomKypper

I am a Teacher,wife, mother and grandmother How does anyone survive without this product. Years of accumulating have made it necessary to organize with storage bins. Label makers only go so far! Seeing what you need in a rubber maid tote is incredibly helpful when you have ten storage bins of Christmas decorations or ten storage boxes of books. Thanks Rubbermaid!!

MomKypper
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The worst lids even made
6/2/2013

Customer review by CaroW

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by CaroW
by CaroW

Like in a previous review, the lids are completely useless on these containers. They always come right off when you put anything in the container, which renders the container essentially useless for storing things. I can't believe I paid for these and now I can't return them for a more durable and useful product.

CaroW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Rubbermaid products have great durability
2/6/2013

Customer review by Niecy

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Niecy
by Niecy

There is so much you can fit into these great totes. Shoes, clothing, books. I have had my tote between two apartments and not yet have they faltered. I love Rubbermaid and I will continue to buy Rubbermaid for years and years to come. Thank you for providing such great products.

Niecy
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product - Strong, convenient, & the lid fits
2/6/2013

Customer review by organized123

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by organized123
by organized123

Very durable I can fill this tote completely, and it is strong enough to move with the handles! Even with a full tote of clothes. The lid fits and snaps securely in place I recommend this product. It is worth the money!

organized123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product, bad sticker
2/12/2012

Customer review by jaeck

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by jaeck
by jaeck

I just spent over 1/2 hour trying to remove the sticker with the bar code from the clear container. Even after all that effort, there is still glue residue on the box. Thank goodness I didn't buy two!

jaeck
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Clear storage
2/15/2013

Customer review by adwsc1

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by adwsc1
by adwsc1

We have several of these in addition to several of ones from Rubbermaid that are not clear. Love the clear ones. Able to find stored items quickly by looking instead of having to open. Easy to stack.

adwsc1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clear Rubbermaid Storage
2/8/2013

Customer review by lolli55

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by lolli55
by lolli55

I love my clear Rubbermaid storage boxes because I can see what's inside without having to use a label. Rubbermaid is better than others and the ones that I have bought have not cracked or broken.

lolli55
Williamsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews