Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 212 reviews
5 stars
104
4 stars
68
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 stars
18
Sort by: 
1-20 of 200 reviews
1-20 of 200 reviews
Very high quality
4/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My brother bought me this two years back and just now I bought another one. This drawer chest is very high quality. The drawer slides are made of metal, which is a huge plus, it makes the drawers easy to slide in and out.The color is darker than the picture, more like espresso. Looks really beautiful with silver metal pulls. It is very easy to assemble, The instructions are easy to follow. I assembled it myself and I am 8 1/2 months pregnant. My brother bought another drawer chest from a different website. It has 5 drawers is much more expensive, but it's not as high quality as this one. The drawers keep falling on one another and the slides are made of plastic. I am so happy that I bought this chest for my baby's nursery
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice chest. Good quality.
10/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The drawer came with all parts. Very nice product. I will recommend tje chest to be purchased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Value
6/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is made by Sauder out of Archbold, Ohio. Last time I put together a piece of Sauder furniture was 13 years ago, and it took me nearly an entire day. My teenage son and I put this together in about 2.5 hours, mostly due to my showing him how to put together the dresser. The dresser is well made and definitely a great purchase for the money. The previous experience I had came with all of the hardware mixed together which required sorting (13 years ago). This time, each piece of hardware came in its own section and was plainly marked. The directions were very easy to follow as well. Oddly enough, the dresser we put together today was the replacement for the one that I put together 13 years ago from the same manufacturer. This dresser is much better built, and I'd be happy if it only lasted as long as the last one, but it looks like it will be around even longer. Great value for the money. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
We bought this dresser with no reviews on it. I usually take other peoples suggestions to heart. I had a few strict criteria the dresser we ordered had to have. It needed metal drawer glides and at least 40" high. Our toddler didn't have a dedicated dresser yet, so she needed one that she could use for a few years. I thought at around $100 it was a good choice. Of course there was a problem with site to store and it took 20 days to get it, which I did not like. My husband took around an hour or so to put together, and I really like it. I like the smooth drawer glides, nice dark brown color, and drawer pulls. All in all it is a good dresser for the money. But as always you get what you pay for. While I do like this dresser, I doubt it'll last til she's 18! I am happy with our choice!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This chest had many great reviews.
3/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've just finished my 6th cabinet. I must like them. Be careful to follow the instructions. I've deviated a little: I used their nails for the drawers; but, for the backing I used 5/8 inch long wire nails, a common hardware product. Nail them in "straight," so they don't stick outside of the boards. Same goes for the drawers. With my first chest, I installed the non-tipover hardware. I didn't like the extra "drag" it put on the drawer operation, so I didn't use it on any of the chests; however, the contents of theses drawers are light, and I never pull out more than one drawer at a time. For your particular situation, you might want to use them. Assembly is not quick, but hang in there. Be sure to make your drawer adjustments, so you get smooth operation. I actually enjoy assembling these chests now; but, I've "run out of room." I keep building them, and my wife keeps filling them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Dresser!
10/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a graduate student and I don't have a whole lot of money to spend furnishing my apartment, so I wanted something of high quality that was also affordable. This dresser is great. It looks great. It is sturdy and made from real wood --not the pre-fab cheap wood that you find with a lot of furniture at Walmart. It actually reminds me of the custom-designed furniture that my mother used to buy when I was growing up. My only problem was that it was a little difficult to assemble and I had to do it by myself; but the directions are very clear. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Dresser for the Money
3/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Before I bought this product, I read the reviews and was somewhat hesitant about the assembly. But, I went ahead and purchased it because I learned it was really made by Sauder and have previously owned other furniture made by them -- please note that although this is titled as a Mainstays, it is produced by Sauder (it says so in the instructions). I picked up the dresser at a WalMart store. After getting it home (it is very heavy), I inspected all parts and everything was okay. Assembly included the typical Sauder locking system and the total time I spent was about 2.5 hours. The 4 drawers were somewhat tedious, but if you do them all at the same time it makes things easier -- I completed one and then did the other three simultaneously. The dresser looks great in the bedroom, especially because I got the matching nightstand. However, the color is closer to a coffee color versus a cherry color. Bottomline -- it is a dark color. The drawers have metal slides and work great. And, it is heavy enough that I feel it will stand on carpet without any fear of tipping over. I would recommend this to a friend -- very nice dresser for $100.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bang for your buck
12/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great price for the dresser, I am in the market for several and didn't want to be paying a lot for just one piece. Metal glides, great heigh, graciously sized drawers, was able to condense into one drawer, clothing I had spread out into several and still have space. Very satisfied with this Sauder made Mainstays dresser and would be more than happy to recommend to friends and family. My husband even ended up quite pleased with it once we finished putting it together and is happy to buy more. even for himself. Came packaged well, we picked up a box that was not damaged, all pieces inside were sorted and packed with lots of styrofoam. Will be promptly purchasing 4 more of these for our home. For our own bedroom we did not bother to put the final locking pieces on for the safety feature. So I cannot comment on how well that works.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5 stars easily
12/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
just got the dresser today, holds alot of clothes, looks very fancy and is extremely sturdy. The color is darker than depicted but that worked out for me since that is what I was hoping for. The dresser looks very expensive, I give kudos to Mainstays since I'm usually leery of their stuff. One thing I got to say is when putting this baby together, read read read lol its easy to make a mistake. Also dedicate a few hours to putting it together, its a lengthy process. It WAS worth the time and effort to build it though, I love how it looks so very much as well as how sturdy it is. Also I saw other reviewers said it took forever to get this, Im not sure why because every time I use Site To Store it only takes about up to 5 days to get to me from the time I order it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rich looking color
9/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm not a fan of dark colors and cherry in any description causes me to shudder but being the only reasonably priced dresser in stock at the time I desperately needed a dresser I grabbed the Choc. Cherry and the color is so rich looking in the newly painted remodeled bedroom. My son assembled it and said that I had gotten a good deal. It was sturdy and made of good material. Because it is a self-assemble there is some tightness as the drawers are pulled out which I suppose is the human aspect of manual labor, machines can be set for exact torque on tightening. As long as the dresser is not moved from pillar to post or treated roughly my son says it should last quite a while. If you have looked at this and hesitated on purchase I say try it, even assembled furniture of a high price can end up being disappointing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great looking dresser
2/23/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Mainstays Parklane 4-Drawer Dresser is inexpensive, but when put together it looks like a dresser that costs two to three times more. Although the color says Cinnamon Cherry, it is really much darker in color. I would say the color is closer to Espresso. It took me approximately 2 hours to put it together and I've put together a number of these types of furniture. It may take longer for others. The instructions are clear, but you really need to pay close attention to the illustrations, and line up the correct pieces for each step exactly as shown. If you do, it will turn out looking great. The dresser has medal sliders and pulls for each drawer. This is a big plus because some of the other products I looked at had plastic slider and pulls. Once the unit is put together, it is easy to line up the drawers by adjusting the front plate screws for each drawer. The drawers pulls out smooth and have a safety stop, another plus. The laminate coating is thin, but that's what you get with these types of low cost products. I recommend that you put a good coat of furniture polish on the dresser after you put it together. The polish will help in preventing scratches. Although the laminate is thin, it looks great and with a little bit of care the thin coating shouldn't be a problem. If a scratch does occur it is easily covered by using a thin black sharpie pen. The dark color of the laminate helps hide any touch-ups. The bottom line is that this is a great dresser, especially for the price, and should last years with normal wear. Note: If you have difficultly following instructions, or are impatient and want to rush through things, or you find it difficult to hammer a small nail straight (only required for the back panel), then constructing this type of furniture is not for you. Pros: Great looking and well constructed. Medal sliders and pulls. Good quality hardware (cams and screws, etc.), and all the holes line up. Clear instructions and illustrations. Good quality particle board and MDF. Sauder Mainstays has great customer service. On a prior purchase I damaged a part so I went on-line and emailed them the item, model and lot numbers. I received the replacement part in 7 days. Cons: The laminate coating is thin and is easily damaged if the back panel nails are hammered in at the wrong angle (It only requires nailing on the back mat board panel). The back panel is made of mat board not wood (not a real problem, but I thought it should be mentioned). A little wood glue and a black sharpie can hide some small mistakes, but not all. It takes a lot of time to put this product together, and the unit is very heavy once completed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value for the price, but darker than picture
12/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought two of these to go with "Espresso" colored bunk beds for a kids room. Based on the picture on Walmart.com, we were concerned that they might be too light. However, when they arrived, they were much closer to black (although not actually black) than the color in the picture. That being said, we still thought they looked nice, and were still very pleased with their size and appearance, especially considering the cost. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a decent low cost dresser for a kids room, dorm room, or first apartment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for the money
10/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love these. We bought 2 for our bedroom, and they are wonderful. For $100 a piece, it really cannot be beat. They hold all the clothes we need them to and the appearence is very nice. They look much more expensive than they were and do a wonderful job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
no interlocking mechanism as described
7/14/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
1st of all, I bought this because description says it has interlocking mechanism so that I can open only 1 drawer at a time. not true. i can open all 4 drawers at the same time. I was also very annoyed by the fact that the manufacturer didn't even include a single extra hardware item. accidents happen when assembling the products! I somehow put the cam screw with the wrong side, and i couldn't take it out anymore...so, it broke and that was it. no more 2nd chance. well..that's my fault..but what can i do. but i really hate that it doesn't have interlocking mechanism. i feel like returning it..but who wanna ship this thing back.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tickled pink and then some
5/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This chest of drawers was relatively easy to put together and it is quite beautiful. The color would blend with either black or brown furniture. It is sturdy and very well priced. Ordering online and then picking it up at the the store works well and saves the cost of shipping. I am super pleased with this purchase and if, in the future, I need another chest, this will be the one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wish I had kept my receipt
1/31/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this dresser for my toddler son. Although the dresser looks nice put together, it was awful to put together. Nothing was labeled and the directions had no descriptions to go with the pictures. It took me 4 hours to put it together. After having gotten the dresser together some of the drawers get caught on the drawers below causing them to be unable to open. I thought it was because I had the wrong drawer in the wrong place but after switching drawers into different places for 15 minutes I figured it wasn't my error causing this. In order to get them open you have to lift up on the drawer and then pull. After about a month, the "bottom"(if thats what you want to call the flimsy piece of board they give you) fell out of 2 drawers. And its not like there was a huge weight in the drawer. I mean we are talking about a toddlers clothes here. When inspecting what had caused it, the nails you need to nail into the clips to hold the "bottom" of the drawers in had split the partical board and it had fallen off into pieces beyond repair. So now the dresser sits, looking very nice, but empty until I can get the money together to buy a solid wood dresser
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent quality 4 drawer dresser for the price!
8/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After shopping around for a dresser after my faithful dresser of over a decade began to come apart, I decided to go to my local Walmart store and check on the selection. I noticed this Sauder Parklane four drawer dresser as a display, and notice its sturdiness. I originally wanted a 5 drawer dresser, but I really liked this one. I decided to pull the trigger due to the $99 price and I wasn't disappointed. The dresser came with fairly straightforward assembly instructions and even extra nails and screws which was unbelievable. The assembly process took around 3.5 hours--partially because I was taking my time. If you're determined, it should take a maximum of 1.5 to 2 hours. Wood glue is recommended when building this dresser--pour some in every crease and fold. The final product came out even better than I expected; sturdy, strong, and beautiful. Looks and feels like $100+ product. I am very satisfied with my buy and will definitely consider Sauder if/when I decide to get more bedroom furniture. I say if you are considering buying a 4 drawer dresser and don't mind assembling it, buy this one NOW!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good dresser
4/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This dresser meets all what I need it for. I like that only one drawer opens one at a time. I like how it looks and the drawers are deep.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price
2/12/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
PROS -Nice deep/dark cherry color -Stable, no wobbling -Drawers lock on closing -Took me about 2 hours to put everything together; Clear instructions and parts -Free delivery came quick; Ordered Sunday, came Tuesday CONS -Base of each drawer is made by thin piece of wood; attached to drawer via plastic clips; I don't think it will hold under a lot of weight -Contrary to some other reviews, this is not real solid wood. It's basically a bunch of compressed chips -Wheels are plastic -Locking mechanism preventing multiple drawers from being pulled out is plastic
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The dresser was pretty easy to put together, and I love that the drawers lock. The only thing that was not what I expected is that the dresser was almost black, instead of the dark brown it looks like in the picture. Other than that it's an awesome dresser. The drawers are deep and pretty sturdy. Great for the kids rooms.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642873, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-