Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
96
4 stars
63
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 184 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Very high quality
4/29/2012

Customer review by sar1185

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by sar1185
by sar1185

My brother bought me this two years back and just now I bought another one. This drawer chest is very high quality. The drawer slides are made of metal, which is a huge plus, it makes the drawers easy to slide in and out.The color is darker than the picture, more like espresso. Looks really beautiful with silver metal pulls. It is very easy to assemble, The instructions are easy to follow. I assembled it myself and I am 8 1/2 months pregnant. My brother bought another drawer chest from a different website. It has 5 drawers is much more expensive, but it's not as high quality as this one. The drawers keep falling on one another and the slides are made of plastic. I am so happy that I bought this chest for my baby's nursery

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sar1185
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
8/23/2011

Customer review by kfisher823

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by kfisher823
by kfisher823

We bought this dresser with no reviews on it. I usually take other peoples suggestions to heart. I had a few strict criteria the dresser we ordered had to have. It needed metal drawer glides and at least 40" high. Our toddler didn't have a dedicated dresser yet, so she needed one that she could use for a few years. I thought at around $100 it was a good choice. Of course there was a problem with site to store and it took 20 days to get it, which I did not like. My husband took around an hour or so to put together, and I really like it. I like the smooth drawer glides, nice dark brown color, and drawer pulls. All in all it is a good dresser for the money. But as always you get what you pay for. While I do like this dresser, I doubt it'll last til she's 18! I am happy with our choice!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kfisher823
menomonie, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Perfect for the money
10/19/2011

Customer review by hapymama2

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by hapymama2
by hapymama2

I love these. We bought 2 for our bedroom, and they are wonderful. For $100 a piece, it really cannot be beat. They hold all the clothes we need them to and the appearence is very nice. They look much more expensive than they were and do a wonderful job.

Was this review helpful? (36) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hapymama2
Lonedell, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
6/3/2012

Customer review by bmb5858

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by bmb5858
by bmb5858

This product is made by Sauder out of Archbold, Ohio. Last time I put together a piece of Sauder furniture was 13 years ago, and it took me nearly an entire day. My teenage son and I put this together in about 2.5 hours, mostly due to my showing him how to put together the dresser. The dresser is well made and definitely a great purchase for the money. The previous experience I had came with all of the hardware mixed together which required sorting (13 years ago). This time, each piece of hardware came in its own section and was plainly marked. The directions were very easy to follow as well. Oddly enough, the dresser we put together today was the replacement for the one that I put together 13 years ago from the same manufacturer. This dresser is much better built, and I'd be happy if it only lasted as long as the last one, but it looks like it will be around even longer. Great value for the money. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmb5858
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This chest had many great reviews.
3/5/2013

Customer review by bachelorjohn

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by bachelorjohn
by bachelorjohn

I've just finished my 6th cabinet. I must like them. Be careful to follow the instructions. I've deviated a little: I used their nails for the drawers; but, for the backing I used 5/8 inch long wire nails, a common hardware product. Nail them in "straight," so they don't stick outside of the boards. Same goes for the drawers. With my first chest, I installed the non-tipover hardware. I didn't like the extra "drag" it put on the drawer operation, so I didn't use it on any of the chests; however, the contents of theses drawers are light, and I never pull out more than one drawer at a time. For your particular situation, you might want to use them. Assembly is not quick, but hang in there. Be sure to make your drawer adjustments, so you get smooth operation. I actually enjoy assembling these chests now; but, I've "run out of room." I keep building them, and my wife keeps filling them.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bachelorjohn
Katy, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great looking dresser
2/23/2014

Customer review by BookMaze

4.0 stars 2/23/2014 by BookMaze
by BookMaze

The Mainstays Parklane 4-Drawer Dresser is inexpensive, but when put together it looks like a dresser that costs two to three times more. Although the color says Cinnamon Cherry, it is really much darker in color. I would say the color is closer to Espresso. It took me approximately 2 hours to put it together and I've put together a number of these types of furniture. It may take longer for others. The instructions are clear, but you really need to pay close attention to the illustrations, and line up the correct pieces for each step exactly as shown. If you do, it will turn out looking great. The dresser has medal sliders and pulls for each drawer. This is a big plus because some of the other products I looked at had plastic slider and pulls. Once the unit is put together, it is easy to line up the drawers by adjusting the front plate screws for each drawer. The drawers pulls out smooth and have a safety stop, another plus. The laminate coating is thin, but that's what you get with these types of low cost products. I recommend that you put a good coat of furniture polish on the dresser after you put it together. The polish will help in preventing scratches. Although the laminate is thin, it looks great and with a little bit of care the thin coating shouldn't be a problem. If a scratch does occur it is easily covered by using a thin black sharpie pen. The dark color of the laminate helps hide any touch-ups. The bottom line is that this is a great dresser, especially for the price, and should last years with normal wear. Note: If you have difficultly following instructions, or are impatient and want to rush through things, or you find it difficult to hammer a small nail straight (only required for the back panel), then constructing this type of furniture is not for you. Pros: Great looking and well constructed. Medal sliders and pulls. Good quality hardware (cams and screws, etc.), and all the holes line up. Clear instructions and illustrations. Good quality particle board and MDF. Sauder Mainstays has great customer service. On a prior purchase I damaged a part so I went on-line and emailed them the item, model and lot numbers. I received the replacement part in 7 days. Cons: The laminate coating is thin and is easily damaged if the back panel nails are hammered in at the wrong angle (It only requires nailing on the back mat board panel). The back panel is made of mat board not wood (not a real problem, but I thought it should be mentioned). A little wood glue and a black sharpie can hide some small mistakes, but not all. It takes a lot of time to put this product together, and the unit is very heavy once completed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BookMaze
Tracy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dresser!
10/17/2012

Customer review by Mandisa33

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Mandisa33
by Mandisa33

I am a graduate student and I don't have a whole lot of money to spend furnishing my apartment, so I wanted something of high quality that was also affordable. This dresser is great. It looks great. It is sturdy and made from real wood --not the pre-fab cheap wood that you find with a lot of furniture at Walmart. It actually reminds me of the custom-designed furniture that my mother used to buy when I was growing up. My only problem was that it was a little difficult to assemble and I had to do it by myself; but the directions are very clear. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mandisa33
Pawtucket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Dresser for the Money
3/7/2014

Customer review by MassanuttenRef

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by MassanuttenRef
by MassanuttenRef

Before I bought this product, I read the reviews and was somewhat hesitant about the assembly. But, I went ahead and purchased it because I learned it was really made by Sauder and have previously owned other furniture made by them -- please note that although this is titled as a Mainstays, it is produced by Sauder (it says so in the instructions). I picked up the dresser at a WalMart store. After getting it home (it is very heavy), I inspected all parts and everything was okay. Assembly included the typical Sauder locking system and the total time I spent was about 2.5 hours. The 4 drawers were somewhat tedious, but if you do them all at the same time it makes things easier -- I completed one and then did the other three simultaneously. The dresser looks great in the bedroom, especially because I got the matching nightstand. However, the color is closer to a coffee color versus a cherry color. Bottomline -- it is a dark color. The drawers have metal slides and work great. And, it is heavy enough that I feel it will stand on carpet without any fear of tipping over. I would recommend this to a friend -- very nice dresser for $100.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MassanuttenRef
Massanutten, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Once together its nice
9/2/2011

Customer review by pnkfloyd79

4.0 stars 9/2/2011 by pnkfloyd79
by pnkfloyd79

I needed a dresser, and after looking around I saw this one. It took a little while to put together cause of the instructions, and some of the parts werent labeled, but overall it wasnt to bad. I would recommend getting some glue to put into the grooves and screw holes to make it more durable. But it does look nice once together and surprisingly hold a lot of clothing.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnkfloyd79
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the price, but darker than picture
12/7/2011

Customer review by jflynn82

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by jflynn82
by jflynn82

We bought two of these to go with "Espresso" colored bunk beds for a kids room. Based on the picture on Walmart.com, we were concerned that they might be too light. However, when they arrived, they were much closer to black (although not actually black) than the color in the picture. That being said, we still thought they looked nice, and were still very pleased with their size and appearance, especially considering the cost. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a decent low cost dresser for a kids room, dorm room, or first apartment.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jflynn82
Bloomsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tickled pink and then some
5/1/2012

Customer review by emg5856

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by emg5856
by emg5856

This chest of drawers was relatively easy to put together and it is quite beautiful. The color would blend with either black or brown furniture. It is sturdy and very well priced. Ordering online and then picking it up at the the store works well and saves the cost of shipping. I am super pleased with this purchase and if, in the future, I need another chest, this will be the one. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emg5856
Chesterfield, VA
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Very good dresser
4/24/2013

Customer review by Mommie748579

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Mommie748579
by Mommie748579

This dresser meets all what I need it for. I like that only one drawer opens one at a time. I like how it looks and the drawers are deep.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommie748579
Battleground,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Priced about right
10/29/2013

Customer review by DoubleOh7

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by DoubleOh7
by DoubleOh7

Purchased 2 of these chests and they were easy to put together with very minimal effort. Instructions were easy to understand and simple to follow. Priced just right for their intended use. Not recommended for high end users. Just normal everyday users with average wear & tear.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoubleOh7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
about 4 hours to assemble
11/12/2013

Customer review by fharf

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by fharf
by fharf

added an additional brace for stability ( piece of wood ) had a slight wobble without it otherwise OK

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fharf
Philadelphia,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 stars easily
12/29/2012

Customer review by jaredv

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by jaredv
by jaredv

just got the dresser today, holds alot of clothes, looks very fancy and is extremely sturdy. The color is darker than depicted but that worked out for me since that is what I was hoping for. The dresser looks very expensive, I give kudos to Mainstays since I'm usually leery of their stuff. One thing I got to say is when putting this baby together, read read read lol its easy to make a mistake. Also dedicate a few hours to putting it together, its a lengthy process. It WAS worth the time and effort to build it though, I love how it looks so very much as well as how sturdy it is. Also I saw other reviewers said it took forever to get this, Im not sure why because every time I use Site To Store it only takes about up to 5 days to get to me from the time I order it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaredv
Bowling Green, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/26/2013

Customer review by alwaysaj980

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by alwaysaj980
by alwaysaj980

The dresser was pretty easy to put together, and I love that the drawers lock. The only thing that was not what I expected is that the dresser was almost black, instead of the dark brown it looks like in the picture. Other than that it's an awesome dresser. The drawers are deep and pretty sturdy. Great for the kids rooms.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alwaysaj980
OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
2/12/2014

Customer review by SageOfThe6Paths

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by SageOfThe6Paths
by SageOfThe6Paths

PROS -Nice deep/dark cherry color -Stable, no wobbling -Drawers lock on closing -Took me about 2 hours to put everything together; Clear instructions and parts -Free delivery came quick; Ordered Sunday, came Tuesday CONS -Base of each drawer is made by thin piece of wood; attached to drawer via plastic clips; I don't think it will hold under a lot of weight -Contrary to some other reviews, this is not real solid wood. It's basically a bunch of compressed chips -Wheels are plastic -Locking mechanism preventing multiple drawers from being pulled out is plastic

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SageOfThe6Paths
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice dresser!
1/16/2013

Customer review by Vazquezm

4.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Vazquezm
by Vazquezm

We bought this dresser today not realizing how long it would take me and my husband to put it together. Took us almost 2 hours! But it was worth it. It is a little darker than the picture but i love it because it matches our newborns crib. It has a very elegant look to it and stands taller than i thought it would. The drawers are very spacious and we are pleased with our purchase. You get what you pay for so i hope this will last us awhile.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vazquezm
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish I had kept my receipt
1/31/2012

Customer review by AEMW85

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by AEMW85
by AEMW85

I bought this dresser for my toddler son. Although the dresser looks nice put together, it was awful to put together. Nothing was labeled and the directions had no descriptions to go with the pictures. It took me 4 hours to put it together. After having gotten the dresser together some of the drawers get caught on the drawers below causing them to be unable to open. I thought it was because I had the wrong drawer in the wrong place but after switching drawers into different places for 15 minutes I figured it wasn't my error causing this. In order to get them open you have to lift up on the drawer and then pull. After about a month, the "bottom"(if thats what you want to call the flimsy piece of board they give you) fell out of 2 drawers. And its not like there was a huge weight in the drawer. I mean we are talking about a toddlers clothes here. When inspecting what had caused it, the nails you need to nail into the clips to hold the "bottom" of the drawers in had split the partical board and it had fallen off into pieces beyond repair. So now the dresser sits, looking very nice, but empty until I can get the money together to buy a solid wood dresser

Was this review helpful? (11) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AEMW85
Frederick, Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great bang for your buck
12/28/2013

Customer review by Kierlie

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Kierlie
by Kierlie

Great price for the dresser, I am in the market for several and didn't want to be paying a lot for just one piece. Metal glides, great heigh, graciously sized drawers, was able to condense into one drawer, clothing I had spread out into several and still have space. Very satisfied with this Sauder made Mainstays dresser and would be more than happy to recommend to friends and family. My husband even ended up quite pleased with it once we finished putting it together and is happy to buy more. even for himself. Came packaged well, we picked up a box that was not damaged, all pieces inside were sorted and packed with lots of styrofoam. Will be promptly purchasing 4 more of these for our home. For our own bedroom we did not bother to put the final locking pieces on for the safety feature. So I cannot comment on how well that works.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kierlie
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews