Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

55 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
How Good Can A $50 Pistol Be?
12/8/2011

Customer review by PapaVic9758

5.0 stars by PapaVic9758

As many people's introduction to the world of airgunning, the Crosman 2240 represented a solid value today as it has since it's introduction in 1998. Well made in America by Americans from American material, this product stands out in Walmart's vast inventory of products made overseas. This is a solid pistol, made mostly of metal. It is very simple to operate (especially if you FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS) and extremely accurate. It is more than capable of knocking over row after row of pop cans at 10 meters (33ft.) and is powerful enough to function as a pest controller within that distance on vermin such as starlings, pigeons, mice and rats. It is single-shot and also has a manual safety, has no recoil and doesn't make much noise. It does not require pumping. As such it is ideal for teaching kids basic firearms handling, usage and safety. It also is hard for adults to put down. It accepts standard 12-gram Co2 powerlets (each good for up to 30-35 powerful shots) and Crosman Premier 14.3gr. pellets are a perfect match for this gun. Both are also available at Walmart as well as most sporting goods stores. Remember that this is a CO2 powered arm and that velocities fall off once the ambient air temperature falls below 70 degrees Fahrenheit. It will not perform very well outdoors in winter temperatures. Right out of it's bubble packaging, it is great big cheap fun HOWEVER you will soon discover that this is also the basic Crosman system upon which thousands of enthusiasts perform endless modifications to regulate power, convert to HPA (High Pressure Air) or bulk Co2, or just make look very very awesome. There are literally dozens of companies offering everything from modification parts and systems to full-custom guns. Whether you purchase this pistol as the beginning of a fascinating and addictive hobby, to teach your youngster how to safely handle firearms, pest control in the barn that won't freak out the cows or simply provide hours of inexpensive fun for yourself and/or your family and friends, $50 (or $56 at it's price today, DELIVERED) is $$ well spent.

Was this review helpful? (51) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PapaVic9758
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My favorite co2 handgun
11/19/2011

Customer review by 1138

5.0 stars by 1138

Read instructions! Do not use vise grips! Snug the cap and pull the trigger. This punctures the co2 without damaging the gun. This is a common mistake with co2 guns. If you look on other sites you will notice this gun has highest reviews.

Was this review helpful? (68) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1138
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/28/2012

Customer review by Useful2

5.0 stars by Useful2

I bought this gun after much research on this as well as other sites, mainly youtube and pyramidair. It is a very reasonably priced 10 meter target practice pellet gun. If you are thinking of using it for pest control I would suggest a more powerful gun. It is well built and very fun to shoot. Mine shoots around 50 shots per co2 cartridge in cool weather. I think it will get more when it warms up. There are many ways to customize this gun and plenty of sites to choose from. It might save you money to start with the custom option at the Crosman site. I hope this helps you to make a more informed decision.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Useful2
Northwest Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Another great Crosman product
5/25/2013

Customer review by KG4EIQ

5.0 stars by KG4EIQ

The Crosman 2240 is another example of accurate, inexpensive, easily modified, and fun to shoot pellet pistol. The 2240 is Co2 powered and you can expect about 30 plus full power shots before it starts to taper off. Don't forget to put one drop of Crosman pellgunoil on the tip of each Co2 cartridge before loading to maintain the seals. Do not overtighten the Co2 piercing cap. After you (finger tighten only), pull the bolt back and fire in a safe direction until you hear the pop of the Co2 coming from the barrel. (In the case of my pistol I have to fire it 2 times.) Never store a Co2 cartridge in your pistol (full or empty.) It will ruin the seal. The 2240 is single shot breech loaded. Each pellet is loaded by lifting up and bringing the bolt handle to the rear of the receiver (2 audible clicks). Load a pellet and off you go! Some velocity results with various pellets and weights are listed below from my 2240 on a fully charged Co2 cartridge at 85 degrees F : Tech Force- 15.5 grains- 452 F.P.S crosman Premier-14.3 grains-464 F.P.S H&N Sport-12.65 grains-494 F.P.S RWS Hobby-11.9 grains-502 F.P.S

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KG4EIQ
Ohatchee, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Gun is amazing
12/6/2011

Customer review by yaboi17

5.0 stars by yaboi17

Fun, powerful, accurate....just amazing

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
yaboi17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Crosman 2240 classic
4/22/2012

Customer review by Georgeluvs2010

5.0 stars by Georgeluvs2010

With a ship-to-store selling price of $56 this thing can't be beat! This Crosman 2240 classic is the best platform Crosman has for the modification enthusiast. The first modification that needs to be done on this wonderful CO2 pistol is to remove the grip, take out the spring and compress it slightly with a pair of channel locks. Doing so will reduce the trigger pull from about 5 lbs to about 2 lbs, making this a pleasure to shoot. This is one of the few air guns I own that actually shoots Crosman Premier Hollow Points ($8 for 500 from Wali-world) with reasonably accuracy and consistency. This gun is amazingly accurate! I get about 30-40 full power shoots per 12g CO2 cartridge. Buy plenty of them as this gun is so much fun to shoot!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Georgeluvs2010
99353
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great air gun
8/25/2012

Customer review by Brzrider

5.0 stars by Brzrider

this is a great airgun shot great right out of the box i ended up doing a few mods added a steel breech a 14.5 inch barrel a moded valve and the stock oh and a 4 x 30 scope it`s shooting at 680`s fps and doing quarter size groups at 30 yds i never thought you could shoot groups like that at that distance with an co2 airgun wow what a great gun i lost about 10 shots with the mod valve but boy was it worth it to get that long of shots and groups and yes truning this pistol into a carbine was a good idea just make sure you do the loading of the co2 like they say the valve is set up to pierce the co2 so you DON`T USE VICE GRIPS JUST FINGER TIGHT read before you use this gun

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Brzrider
Johnstown Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
SOLID, WELL BUILT AIR PISTOL
7/3/2012

Customer review by Sportsman007

5.0 stars by Sportsman007

This pistol is very user friendly with plenty of punch. It fits and feels good in the hand. Seems to be a solid, well manufactured pistol with nice balance and accuracy @ 30 to 50 yds. The first 10 shots or so carry the most power and distance of course. Very easy to load the CO2 cartridge into it's chamber just below the barrel. Before loading a pellet, simply hand tighten the end cap after CO2 insertion, take safety off, pull back bolt and fire twice ( in a safe direction ). Gun is now charged with CO2 and ready to load and shoot. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sportsman007
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GREAT POWER AND ACCURACY..
3/29/2012

Customer review by Sniper44

5.0 stars by Sniper44

Owning this pistol has been a pleasant expereance..Lots of hard hitting power..And.. pellets fly straight...50 shots avg on each CO2 cart..Not bad..

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sniper44
Modesto Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Pellet Pistol
10/25/2013

Customer review by PneuGuy

4.0 stars by PneuGuy

This pistol was purchased after much deliberation, but I shouldn't have worried...buy it! This pistol is accurate right out of the box, er package. Go ahead and buy a bunch of CO2 carts and some pellgun oil. Always put a drop of oil on the tip of the cart when you install it and you will rarely need to worry about dry seals or even lubing the gun. This platform is very easy to modify and indeed parts are readily available from Crosman and online. Do a search on You-Tube for what this pistol can become, or shoot it just as it is.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PneuGuy
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice at twice the price...
3/27/2013

Customer review by JPinTex

5.0 stars by JPinTex

I am very impressed with this co2 pellet gun. I get 35-40 high power shots from one co2 cartridge and fire pellets down range as fast as I can load and pull the trigger. It will shoot holes in tin cans out to 30 yards . The grips fit my hands well and the gun is well balanced. This is a very good all around pistol and I highly recommend it for first time shooters. If you order this gun be sure to also order Crosman Pelgun Oil as you need to put a drop on every co2 cartridge you load. Make sure you have plenty of co2 and pellets on hand because shooting this pistol is addictive and you will go through them like mad.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JPinTex
Tuleta, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/13/2012

Customer review by MDB64

5.0 stars by MDB64

I Received This purchase at my local Wal Mart and it was in Great condition as all my pruchase,s from wal mart. It is a very Strong Gun In fact it amazed me how strong it relly is and sounds like a remfire 22 when you shoot it. Thanks Wal Mart for the Available products you carry at Great Prices and Fast Service.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MDB64
Brookport IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Pistol!
1/20/2012

Customer review by AirgunNoob

5.0 stars by AirgunNoob

This pistol exceeds my expectations. It's very powerful and very accurate. Follow the instructions and just finger tighten the CO2 cap, pull the pellet probe until the hammer is cocked, and fire in a safe direction with NO pellet in the chamber. Keep doing this until you hear the Co2 exhaust from the barrel. No need to use a screwdriver or anything else to tighten the cap. Again, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! Best thing about this pistol and the 1377c, is the number of modifications you can make to them. You can actually take the receiver and barrel from the 1377c and swap it out with the receiver and barrel of the 2240 (after you exhaust all the Co2). That will give you a powerful flat trajectory .177 for target and a pump .22 for varmints. Think of it as marrying the two to make a 1322 and a 1740:-)

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AirgunNoob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent pistol for the money!!
1/22/2012

Customer review by PelletCrazy

5.0 stars by PelletCrazy

Right out of the box I was impressed with the look and feel of the pistol. It sighted in very easily and handled extremely well. The accuracy and consistency of the shoot groups is very impressive. It is a very nice pistol and easy to use. Just be sure to load the c02 cartridges as per the directions. Just hand tighten the plug, then pull the bolt back and close it , without a pellet in the chamber, then fire it. If it does not make a pop repeat until it does. This might take a shot or two but after that it works perfectly. I got around 35 pellets shot on each c02 cartridge. I used a numer of different pellets and got the best shot groups with the Crosman Premier Hollow Points, and the Gamo Masterpoints. I really like the fact it is a .22 caliber. Can't wait until I get to hunt with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PelletCrazy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gun at a great price
4/8/2014

Customer review by BigCheeseNoodle

5.0 stars by BigCheeseNoodle

This pistol is MADE for modifying and tinkering (google it). I put a little oil in it, and out of the box it shot 390-410 FPS with 14.3 Crosman hollow points. I completely stripped it, and found there was actually a fair amount of rust on most of the internal parts! I used a scotchbrite pad to remove rust & buff everything up, drilled out the transfer port, stretched the hammer spring just a little, cut one coil off the trigger spring and polished the sear a bit. WHOLE NEW GUN! Shoots 410-430 FPS with the same pellets and same Crosman CO2 cartridges, trigger has a bit of creep, but is smooth and breaks clean. DID make the gun noticably louder for sure because the added CO2 used with each shot. I don't know as yet if shot count has been effected much, but hey. Cost for improvements? $0 dollars. :) Great purchase in my opinion!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BigCheeseNoodle
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/6/2013

Customer review by howie1968

5.0 stars by howie1968

I decided to buy the 2240, it was a great choice, not only is it great in its stock form but highly customizable. the gun is accurate and hits hard for a pistol. i recomend this gun as it is tough durable, you get alot of shots per co2 cartridge

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
howie1968
lufkin Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
Awesome .22 Pellet Pistol
1/16/2013

Customer review by sjg56k

5.0 stars by sjg56k

Great quality and value. Shoots great and more accurate than me. I placed a BSA red dot on top and now I can hit what I aim at with ease. One big gripe...... Gun was shipped by Wal-Mart in thin plastic shipping bag. Bolt of gun had actually worn through all packaging and was scratched. I had to adjust the barrel that was canted to one side from rough shipping and then re-tightened allen screws so all is now well. For the price I believe I should have received the product in a box.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sjg56k
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pistol
10/8/2013

Customer review by Skyscanu

5.0 stars by Skyscanu

We purchased this pellet pistol for our son and myself to do a little can plinking in the back yard. We're both avid hunters. We own several fire rifles and pistols and other air/nitro piston rifles, other bb/pellet pistols. This pistol is great, accurate right out of the package, good power, about 35 quality shots from a C02 cartilage. From 25 foot shooting the Crosman hollow point hunting pellet we get 1" to 1.5" groups.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Skyscanu
Sweet home Alabama! Roll Tide!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tremendous value, accurate, fun.
12/13/2013

Customer review by Buttaflacco

5.0 stars by Buttaflacco

I've been shooting air guns, BB guns for forty years. I've owned scores of air rifles and pistols. This Crosman 2240 is highly recommended for the beginner or advanced shooter. Firing one shot at a time makes one aim carefully. This pistol has a rifled barrel and is very accurate. No pumping is required because this pistol uses CO2 cartridges. Compared to the .177 caliber the .22 caliber Crosman 2240 makes a bigger hole in paper targets and hits with more authority on cans and pinecones. And please remember this is no toy, always wear eye protection when shooting any air guns or firearms.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Buttaflacco
baltimore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not quite the Crosman quality I was expecting
10/26/2012

Customer review by GreatSquirrelHunter

4.0 stars by GreatSquirrelHunter

Bought this pistol for varmint control. Sighting it in was problematic, as the front sight was just a piece of molded plastic that did not fit snugly to the machined flat on the barrel, which also was not installed in correct alignment with the rest of the body. After realignment of the barrel in the front collar, and securing the front sight, It proved to be fairly accurate at ranges up to about 75 feet. I don't recommend using the lead - free pellets with this gun, as they do not have sufficient mass to keep them from tumbling in flight, which makes accuracy suffer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GreatSquirrelHunter
Eustis, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 49 total reviews