Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 30 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Several Great Features, But NO Accuracy
7/11/2013

Customer review by T4UT4U

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by T4UT4U
by T4UT4U

I've tried 2 of these guns, and both had very poor accuracy. The VERY POOR accuracy of this gun is likely a design flaw with the way the barrel has to PERFECTLY lock back into alignment with the scope after each break. 100 Round Break-In Period == “it will get better’. You will read a lot about a “100 round break-in period”. I did NOT gain improved accuracy after getting past that “100 round break-in period”. And not after 250 rounds either. If your movement is nil, then it should hit where it is sited. The number of rounds needed to set the scope should be all the “break-in” needed to see some usable accuracy. Long Trigger Pull == “I wish I could shoot like the pros”. You will read a lot about a “long trigger pull”. The “pros” suggest this gun’s trigger is a big problem. If you are used to shooting several other guns, all with short trigger pulls, then a long trigger pull may be an issue for you; Otherwise you will easily get used to this gun’s trigger. Several Great Features do not make up for NO Accuracy. Wal-Mart has a great return policy

Was this review helpful? (39) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T4UT4U
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Inaccurate out of the box but it gets better!
9/20/2013

Customer review by BigTexMex

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by BigTexMex
by BigTexMex

At first I could not buy consistent shot patterns from this rifle. After 300 pellets through the gun it seems to have settled and I have to admit: This rifle is accurate and consistent. I live in North Texas and have 4 pecan trees on my property and for years squirrels have had their run of our trees. With this rifle in 22 caliber the power is tremendous. Because it is an air rifle we can shoot it in our yard and that alone makes for hours of family fun. Con: The rifle is heavy, a smaller shooter may have a hard time negotiating high tree shots with no support at the rifle barrel. I have had to tighten the scope mount screws every fourth time I use the rifle (and I use it almost everyday). My daughter is 14 and she can load the rifle with a little effort. The rifle is quiet and looks great, if you are looking for an effective rodent or squirreling rifle, this rifle will not disappoint. I would highly recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigTexMex
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy.
5/29/2013

Customer review by shop4444

1.0 stars 5/29/2013 by shop4444
by shop4444

I first purchased the natural wood version of this gun, then the Dusk version. This gun is very quiet & powerful with several features I loved. I really (REALLY) wanted to get it working right and NOT go through the return process; BUT this gun has SERIOUS design flaws. Flimsy retail box is the shipping box. On first gun, box had been opened and was still open when picked up at store. On second gun, box had been popped opened on one end and stock was scuffed up during the shipping process. End was taped shut when I picked up from store. Same Problems With BOTH Guns: Very inconsistent grouping at 42 FEET. Would get 1 or 2 shots at same hit point, then next shot off by 3 to 6 inches – YES at 42 FEET.. This is with sandbagging and very consistent cocking motion, eye ‘ head position, and trigger pull. Over 200 rounds of Crosman pellets as required in instructions. Largest hit point differences were with temperature change, but that wasn’t the only issue First followed all instructions carefully and scope was fastened down tight from the start. Scope sometimes needs several clicks -- 3, then 3 more, then 3 more -- to get the hit point to move at all. Was very gentle with gun and careful not to bump scope. Would get hit point close one day, and then a couple days later would be way off. Gun is junk.

Was this review helpful? (89) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shop4444
29745
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice gun!
1/4/2014

Customer review by TonyMac123

4.0 stars 1/4/2014 by TonyMac123
by TonyMac123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To be honest, my first impression of the finish on the wood was not good. I feel it looks like plastic. I asked a friend their opinion of the finish and they said the same thing. It would be easy to re-finish the wood stock, but I will see if the finish wears a bit with normal handling of the gun. The gun itself it great, shoots straight and it is pretty quiet (as far as air rifles go). I had no problems zeroing in the scope either. The Centerpoint scope is nice, but it is only 32mm. If just plinking and shooting during daylight, it will be great. I plan on doing some low-light hunting so I am adding a better scope (56mm). Overall - great gun at a great price. Can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TonyMac123
Rockwall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little rifle your neighbors will never hear.
7/5/2016

Customer review by ChipmunkAssassin

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by ChipmunkAssassin
by ChipmunkAssassin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Kills those little bastage chipmunks dead with no problem. Broken in after a couple of hundred shots, now deadly accurate at 10-15 yards. Their little body count is rising.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChipmunkAssassin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pelet Rifle for the money
7/31/2014

Customer review by esjrenn

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by esjrenn
by esjrenn

I am a very experienced shooter have shot meany types of weapons military and civilian that said I needed something to clean the vermin out of my yard and boy does it do the job. You need to clean well before shooting then shoot into ground a 100 times then mount scope bore site and site in, I have shot mine over two thousand times and it still shoots quarter size groups at 30 yards. Be sure to add one drop of chamber oil after every 250 to 300 shots make sure to get the right oil got mine on amazon Walmart does not carry it. Hope this was helpful ,it's just a bit of a process to get the gun to shoot dead on every time.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
esjrenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy for the price range
1/20/2012

Customer review by Bowguy73

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Bowguy73
by Bowguy73

This is my first air rifle in many years. I really didn't know what to expect regarding the quality but am pleased with this air rifle in all regards. The stock is well designed and has the feel of a much more expensive firearm. Although the accuracy is good I believe Crosman should have spent more time designing the trigger. The trigger pull is very long which has a negative effect on the accuracy. At thirty yards groups averaging one inch is very doable. A better trigger should reduce this by one-half. I have found all pellets are not created equal. Try several different brands/weights to find what your rifle shoots best.

Was this review helpful? (73) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bowguy73
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Crosman Nitro Venom NP .22 Air Rifle with Scope
1/16/2013

Customer review by Duke75147

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Duke75147
by Duke75147

I've put about 600 pellets through this rifle over the last 3 months and have gotten the scope sighted in good enough that I can hit a 15 oz. fruit can (4 3/8" x 3" ) at 75 yards. today I hit 18 out of 24 shots ( 75% ), through and through. I'm an inexperienced shooter so many of you may do much better. I can not say exactly what the Foot Pounds of Energy is but at 35 yards it will put a hole clean through 1/2 " plywood. This is not a toy. My first Crosman Nitro Venom was .177 Cal and I left it loaded for 10 days and it ruined a seal or something. Don't do as I did. What I do now is crack the barrel just enough to get a pellet in but not pulling the barrel all the way down. Close the barrel and it is ready to go if I need it quickly.

Was this review helpful? (25) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duke75147
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
accurate gun
2/5/2014

Customer review by Bones2981

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Bones2981
by Bones2981
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Weaver rail attached to top of receiver was soldered on a little crooked, couldn't get on target with scope windage adjustment turret.. Simple matter to shim scope bases using several layers of aluminum foil, then everything was good. First try at grouping put 3 shots through same hole at 15' , I was impressed ! Read several posts about bad trigger but found mine to be smooth as silk, long pull yes, but as with any double action pistol with trigger the same, it just takes some getting used to... Artillery hold is a must. Scope parallax came adjusted nicely for the ranges typically encountered . 22 caliber packs a punch, i would not hesitate to use it for squirrels rabbits etc... Lot of gun for the money !!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bones2981
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bang for the buck
10/26/2012

Customer review by BackyardAdventurer

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by BackyardAdventurer
by BackyardAdventurer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This air rifle in worth every penny. The quality seems to be good and the nitro-piston is effective and quiet. The scope is not too shabby either. For less than 200 bucks this was exactly what I was looking for. I will say it is not as accurate as I had hoped, but for my needs it works well. If you are looking to hunt small game at close range or plink in the backyard this rifle will suit you well, but if you are looking for one inch groups beyond 25 yards maybe spend a little more and look for something else. Just a note, I received this item in 3 days with standard shipping. Cool.

Was this review helpful? (23) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BackyardAdventurer
Wellington, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gun for safe backyard shooting
9/13/2014

Customer review by Toysforlife

4.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Toysforlife
by Toysforlife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this model to enjoy some afternoon target shooting in the backyard. Requires safe area in the backyard based on power of the rifle but safe enough for fun target shooting any time with sufficient target backing. Have not reached the 400 to 500 rounds for improved accuracy based on gun manual but was aware it was not very accurate prior to purchase. I really enjoy the weight and feel of the gun and look forward to using it for years to come. If you're looking for something to just give you the feel of a nice rifle this is your gun but not immediately (at least not out of the box) for those seeking accuracy for small rodent problems. Based on gun performance I feel the accuracy will improve with additional rounds fired and finding the right pellet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toysforlife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeds expectations. Not for kids.
2/6/2013

Customer review by FarmCreek

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by FarmCreek
by FarmCreek

This is a great varmint gun. Quiet, reliable, accurate and powerful. Just barely a step below a firearm, and takes some effort to arm it. Not for children. Much quieter than my spring-powered .177, which sometimes goes supersonic and cracks loudly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarmCreek
SE WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent air rifle for the money
9/24/2012

Customer review by HappyCanonCustomer

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by HappyCanonCustomer
by HappyCanonCustomer

Purchased this for pest control and also some safe backyard target practice. So far, I've only been using it for target shooting. The directions for mounting the scope (especially where to position it on the rail) weren't that clear, but it wasn't too difficult to figure out. Did feel foolish that it took me as long as it did to figure out the scope vertical/horizontal adjustments...that the knurled caps are just that, caps, and you have to remove them to make the actual adjustments. I'm new to shooting, but after shooting somewhere around 100 pellets, I've got my aiming down where it's hitting pretty consistently on the target card (about 5 inches square) from roughly 20 yards away. I really want to get down to the half-dollar center circle. I'm confident the gun can do it, I just need better breath and aim control. They aren't kidding that this isn't a 'toy'; my first shots from around 10 yards were missing the target (before I got the scope figured out) and several of the pellets were punching right through the 1/4 inch plywood backstop I had the target mounted on. The only disappointment about this gun is the very long trigger pull others have complained about. Seems you pull and pull and pull, while holding your breath, then end up having to breath again before holding and finishing the pull. Would like to look into an after market replacement for the trigger, but for now it does the job fine. Gun is very quiet...as long as you have a pellet loaded...I "dry" fired it once and it was loud...sounded like a regular .22 firearm going off. I'm definitely glad I bought this gun, and I'm looking forward to using it a long time.

Was this review helpful? (15) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCanonCustomer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/11/2013

Customer review by practicalprepper

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by practicalprepper
by practicalprepper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have just started to sight this rifle in. About 100 rounds through it. Seems to be steadying out at this point. I think realistic range will be 50 yds, considering necessity to make head shots. I am hopeful that progress continues. So far the rifle seems to fit the bill and I have been pleasantly surprised by the furniture and feel.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
practicalprepper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard hitting gun
5/14/2012

Customer review by sake11

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by sake11
by sake11

This is a hard hitting gun. What I like the wever scope mount is good, so is the scope. The trigger is horrible, the gun is very heavy. If you can get around the trigger. and the weight, this would be a fun gun.

Was this review helpful? (23) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sake11
Cape Coral Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/28/2013

Customer review by Petcoon

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Petcoon
by Petcoon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to operate, scope was easy to install. Was on target with first shot. After 10 shots of sighting it in. I had a 3 shot group of 3/4 inch. It is quieter than my winchester 1000 177 cal. Very satisfied with value and quality of the rifle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Petcoon
Odessa, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good rifle, bad scope
8/26/2013

Customer review by lppd8412

4.0 stars 8/26/2013 by lppd8412
by lppd8412

I was attempting to sight this in and was getting patterns that didn't even match up with how I adjusted the supplied scope. I just didn't believe this quality rifle could shoot so poorly. I removed the supplied scope and threw it away. I put on a basic Tasco rifle scope and had the rifle sighted in and shooting great within the hour. Very pleased now. This is a powerful air gun. It is not an easy rifle to pump but I did not figure it would be.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lppd8412
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good for the price
12/8/2014

Customer review by ksvet

4.0 stars 12/8/2014 by ksvet
by ksvet

Does not have open sights, so you have to use optics. Scope does not come mounted. Would be nice if the scope was mounted and bore-sighted. Otherwise a nice pellet gun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksvet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a lot of punch for the money
11/26/2014

Customer review by 007beta

4.0 stars 11/26/2014 by 007beta
by 007beta

I' have just got it broken in. Shoots well, and still has kick at 40 yards. the recoil is hard on red-dot sights.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
007beta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I expected
11/26/2012

Customer review by laural4705

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by laural4705
by laural4705
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great gun for the beginner. My kids love it. Using the site to store was easy, great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laural4705
Apex, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews