Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 27 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
6/29/2011

Customer review by Nitroguy

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Nitroguy
by Nitroguy

Pleasantly suprised. Nice heavy feel, almost no recoil (thanks to NP) and silent vhen you compare to GAMO Silent cat. Had GAMO for 2 days then returned, to loud and it was clumsy especially stock. Venom has nice wood stock, and finish, metal triger and........... very accurate. Rifle has really good punch, depend what ammo you use. Scope is just fine, no need for an upgrade and easy to install, and after just about 500 rounds still holds the mark. Really very happy.

Was this review helpful? (88) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nitroguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rifle
3/29/2012

Customer review by Piyux

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Piyux
by Piyux

Nice rifle, I’ve got it for target shooting and for pest control: rats and squirrels. It feels heavy, nice wood and great finishing. The first 100 shots were really bad but after that the rifle seemed to finally break in and it started to provide good accuracy. These are some tips from my experience that I hope are useful: - Don’t expect accuracy before 100 shots. - Use a good wood board as target to tune up the scope and be patient. I found that the rifle can be tuned up to a deadly accuracy. I used a board at 30-40 feet of distance and probably shot 200 pellets before the rifle hit the same spot in the target again and again. - Insert very firmly each pellet before shooting, use your finger to push it as far as you can. In my experience this is the one thing that truly makes a difference achieving accuracy. - Try an aerodynamic pellet for maximum precision. I tried several ones but I feel the best is the Crosman Field Hunting .177 Cal, 7.4 Grains, Pointed, 1250ct. The pointed shape seems to break thru the air more efficiently providing a more linear trajectory and therefore delivering higher accuracy. I didn’t like the flat heads. - Be careful while shooting!! I have seen the pointed pellets going thru a ½ inch wood board. I will easily go thru rat or squirrel and hit anything behind. I have had other rifles (mostly .22) but this one clearly delivers a lot more power. - Firing the rifle produces a noise similar to the one produced by an air nailer gun, very acceptable. - The scope is good enough, I don’t feel I need to replace it, but make sure it is firmly secured. I can see up in the trees clearly.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Piyux
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good if you get a good 1
8/2/2011

Customer review by dccmadams

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by dccmadams
by dccmadams

I bought this gun with high hopes. It seemed all over the place when I was trying to sight it in. I shot over 100 rounds to "break it in", but was having a hard time getting any shots on a 2 x 2 inch square at 22 yds. I returned it, not happy. I bought the gun again a week later. Within 25 shots, I was able to hit 5/5 in a 1x1 inch square area, at 22 yds. The trigger is terrible, as all the crosman made rifles are, Benjamin, Remington, etc. It does take getting used too. I will be looking for some rabbits tonight.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dccmadams
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
1/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great gun! It is quite, quick and has serious knock-down power! I had been searching for the right buy for a few weeks and could not find a better deal anywhere @ $129 it's hard to beat! [Hint: If you have problems sighting in the scope put a mark on it to align it with the mounts, so you can see if it moves (this is a common problem with almost every air rifle). If it moves wrap the scope with electrical tape twice, (just under the mounts, not the entire scope) and remount it. That worked very well for me, scope sights in perfectly!!!]

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
To WalMart: please ship this with padding.
8/13/2011

Customer review by ConsciousConsumption

3.0 stars 8/13/2011 by ConsciousConsumption
by ConsciousConsumption

I am a first-time air rifle owner, shot lots of air and BB, airsoft, paintball before. This gun came with brown oil all over the gun, I don't know if it leaked out during shipping due to damage, or it was manufactured that way from the factory. The performance is pretty good, but cocking effort tires you out quick! I was sore all over after about a hundred shots. The manual says 100 shots to break in, it's actually more like 200, and my gun was still dieseling, smoking from the barrel. The scope is great but slips in the rings! I don't know what to do about that. The largest issue was that WalMart just FedEx's the retail display box--which has ZERO protection for the scope, the most sensitive optical component! Mine came with dents on it, and I returned it after lots of frustrating shooting. So yes I agree, it can be good if you get a good one, but with the way they are currently packaging it (NOT packaging it), that is unlikely.

Was this review helpful? (47) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsciousConsumption
Would recommend to a friend? No
I returned it
7/3/2011

Customer review by OldDog99

2.0 stars 7/3/2011 by OldDog99
by OldDog99

I am former military and have shot a rifle more than a little bit. The trigger pull ranks with the worst I have ever seen. My old Daisy BB gun had a better trigger. The rile scope that came with it would not hold. I could get it zeroed and then after a few shots the pelletes would start hitting paper about 5 to 7 inches from the center. The rifle itself was great, far more powerful than I expected. I would buy another if they fix the trigger pull and get a decent scope on it. Take the scope off it and charge a little less so I can use that money to buy a decent scope and I might buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldDog99
Lake Worth FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Crosman Venom .177
1/16/2012

Customer review by mules8686

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by mules8686
by mules8686

Don't know what some of the other reviewers were thinking. I bought this for my son and I to shoot around with. Awesome pellet rifle. The Centerpoint scope is right on the money. Very easy to sight in. Only thing is if you switch brands of pellets you will have to resight the gun to that pellet. We are currently shooting the Gamo Steel round tip lead pellets. On bench in basement at 19 yds I can consistently put 5 shots into a dime sized dot. That is pretty accurate if you ask me !!! Trigger is a little squirrelly at first but you get used to it. After a couple shots you figure out how it will fire. Wood stock is sweet. Pretty heavy rifle but makes a steadier shot. Smooth easy cocking. Sweet rifle for plinking and small game hunting. Very 1st shot out of box sounded like a .22 going off. After that, it is no louder that a BB gun.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mules8686
Concord, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Crossman intro Venom .177 air rifle W/scope
2/12/2012

Customer review by Vinalhouse

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Vinalhouse
by Vinalhouse

Very nice looking rifle with a wood stock, metal finish is also very nice looking. It took me about 400-500 shots before I finally got it on target. Hint: you need to use a good grade pellet. My range is 27 yards and with a good grade pellet and a good rifle rest I can hold about a 2 1/2" pattern. If I could shoot better, it may be even a tighter pattern. The rifle is a bit heavy and for me that's a good thing. The .177 pellets are small and hard to work with in the very cold but I am only using it for target shooting and Starling control. The 3-9X32 Center-Point Scope has a yellow tinted lens cover that you can leave on to shoot. The range adjustment (3-9) is smooth and clear. The scope is also very nice looking. I like it better then any of the scopes I have on my firearms. The price including the Center-Point 3-9X32 scope, makes this air rifle a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vinalhouse
Wayne County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best bang for the buck!!!
2/17/2013

Customer review by Deadeye17

4.0 stars 2/17/2013 by Deadeye17
by Deadeye17

Not being a novice to airguns (owning four prior to this purchase), I did my research and wanted the best .22 airgun for the dollar. I settled on the Nitro Venom with the wood stock for stability. The centerpoint scope is more than adequate and very easy to zero, but the recoil of this gun does tend to loosen mount screws after 30 to 50 shots. Carry the allen wrench with you to do some preventive maintenance. Tighten all screws periodically while shooting. This gun is very accurate (1 1/2 inch grouping at 35 yards from artillery hold standing position). It is not a gun for a child!!! It packs a powerful punch that will bring down small game & varmints. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is the very heavy & long tripper pull. It is quiet, accurate, packs a punch & a great gun for the $$$!!! Congrats Crosman!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deadeye17
Westerly, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by ChipT

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ChipT
by ChipT

This is a great gun. It exceeded all of my expectations. The gun is very quiet and the scope is accurate, center area of target at 30 yards. Make sure to zero in the scope for your personal use. The gun is great for plinking, target shooting and taking out pests.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChipT
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great gun
1/15/2012

Customer review by Popper2

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Popper2
by Popper2

Great gun. Was loud at first but quieter after first few shots. Once scope was sighted in works with accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Popper2
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1/20/2012

Customer review by Stockup1

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Stockup1
by Stockup1

This air rifle is quite accurate in the back yard at 30 yards. Works well with Crosman pellets. Replaced included scope with a Leepers 4 x 32 made a big difference in consistant accuracy. Gun is great looking and appears well built. Five stars to Crosman and Wal Mart on this one ! Too bad it is not made in the USA as I always try to buy American.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stockup1
Lexington, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent gun
11/5/2013

Customer review by familyman

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by familyman
by familyman

This gun is built solid a little heavy but worth it the scope is adequate but starts to blur at long distance above 6x power but can focus above that at short distances, we were shooting eggs off fence post at 30yrds on 2nd day easy to sight in. Do not oil this gun!!! I know it says to in the manual but that is not correct,just keep it wiped down occasionally and it should last many years.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
familyman
lakeland,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good value for the cost
8/6/2011

Customer review by DoubleL14

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by DoubleL14
by DoubleL14

Accurate, not too noisy, potent

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoubleL14
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great pellet rifle
1/7/2013

Customer review by flyrcnut

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by flyrcnut
by flyrcnut

I love it.It took a few shots to get the scope zeroed in but after that I can hit a dime at 20 yards

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyrcnut
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/2/2012

Customer review by CROCKSHOT

4.0 stars 5/2/2012 by CROCKSHOT
by CROCKSHOT

Very well made airgun.. Powerful, bout 1100ish fps.. Quite. and accurate. (one rugged hole at 22 yrds..Weaver rail pretty solid..Need to replaced the scope and trigger. Should be awesome backyard plinker, paper puncher...Good job Crosman...

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CROCKSHOT
Jacksonville FL..
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice air rifle to plink with
2/28/2013

Customer review by bluecanary25

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by bluecanary25
by bluecanary25

My first break barrel rifle and I had decided on the Nitro Piston vs spring. Cost was important but not THE major factor. Wood stock for the "feel" of a true rifle. Suprised me on the amount of effort to compress the piston, takes 2 hands for my wife. Have not zeroed in the scope, yet, but seems to be "accurate" by eyeball~10 yards. There is some recoil, a little less than a 22 rifle. The scope is nice, much better than the entry level 880. Fun to shoot in the backyard using old hard drives as targets. The Nitro Venom was protected in shipping (ordered online and shipped to local store) by an outer box that also hid its contents. Walmart was good at confirming the order and having tracking number to build my anticipation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluecanary25
Clarksville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very empressive rifle for any man or woman 13 year
12/25/2013

Customer review by farmerdvd

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by farmerdvd
by farmerdvd

I was very surprising shock how well this rifle is made . I have to admit it is a little on the heavy side but the rounds shoots very accurate. The scope I was a little worried about from the review's but I just installed the scope and adjusted the length of it and it was dead on from the 1st. shot till now. I would recommended this to my relatives great deal for the money. The only thing is the squirrels hate this rifle .

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
farmerdvd
Jeffersonville In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
4/24/2013

Customer review by TopshotTez

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by TopshotTez
by TopshotTez

This pellet gun exceded my expectations in every way. Accurate and powerful. If you are reading this review you must be in the market of buying an air rifle. Buy this one, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopshotTez
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
urban friendly rifle!
5/1/2013

Customer review by dillP

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by dillP
by dillP

This rifles volume is similar to my kids Red Rider. Great for pigeon control in an urban environment. Started to get accurate after a few dozen pellets. Scope and trigger are adequate. The focus on the cheap scope does work. Good value. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dillP
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews