Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 67 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 61 reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
One BIG Rifle
4/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'll start by letting folks know that this is one BIG air rifle. It is as big, or actually bigger, than my deer rifles and it's as heavy or heavier than them too. If you are buying an air rifle for a kid I'd pass on this one. Secondly, this rifle is louder than what I was expecting. Lastly, this rifle has some punch, Crosman domed pellets will sail right through a pine, 1 x 4 with not problem. So it is; big, loud and powerful. If you are buying for a kid, or thought you might grab this thing to dispatch some pests around the property, chances are you'd be better off using a .22 short rimfire since this rifle is only going to be suitable to discharge in settings where a .22 short would be + a .22 short, single shot would be about half the size of this beast! I wasted my money on this but I am going to keep it. With an old Weaver 3x9 scope I had on hand (the scope it ships with is junk) and some tinkering, I am getting good groups but this is not the quiet, little mouse plinker I thought I was buying... Attached image is this pellet gun beside one of my center fire, bolt action hunting rifles!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Pellet rifle for the $$$$
2/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the money you will not beat this pellet rifle. I purchased the .22 caliber version of the Crosman NVD and I love it. After a good cleaning I began sighting in the rifle and so far it is meeting my expectations. I will have to say that Crosman needs to modify the trigger. The trigger has a really long pull, but if you get online you will find a remedy for the long trigger pull. Like I said, for $144.50 you are the owner of a great pellet rifle. I looked at much more expensive models in other brands and I opted to go with the Crosman and I have not been sorry. This rifle while boasting a 950fps speed, it has plenty of punch. I am shooting the Crosman round nose pellets and it likes them fairly well. I have the rifle sighted in at 25 yards and am hitting a dime sized target about every time I pull the trigger. Oh, the Picatinny rail scope mount is a VERY Good item that gives you a good mount for your scope, really solid mount. Go get you one today.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Several Great Features, But NO Accuracy
7/11/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've tried 2 of these guns, and both had very poor accuracy. The VERY POOR accuracy of this gun is likely a design flaw with the way the barrel has to PERFECTLY lock back into alignment with the scope after each break. 100 Round Break-In Period == “it will get better’. You will read a lot about a “100 round break-in period”. I did NOT gain improved accuracy after getting past that “100 round break-in period”. And not after 250 rounds either. If your movement is nil, then it should hit where it is sited. The number of rounds needed to set the scope should be all the “break-in” needed to see some usable accuracy. Long Trigger Pull == “I wish I could shoot like the pros”. You will read a lot about a “long trigger pull”. The “pros” suggest this gun’s trigger is a big problem. If you are used to shooting several other guns, all with short trigger pulls, then a long trigger pull may be an issue for you; Otherwise you will easily get used to this gun’s trigger. Several Great Features do not make up for NO Accuracy. Wal-Mart has a great return policy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun and accurate
12/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
BB and pellet rifles have sure advanced since the old Daisy. This is a nicely made pellet rifle. It does have some heft to it and cocking does require some effort, but as others have said, you find the best way to make it easier. There is plenty of power and the scope is good. Sighting in required quite a few clicks, but now it is good. The scope is clear and is fun as it is variable power. I had no problem setting it up not tightening the screws with the supplied Allen wrench. Perhaps some Loctite if it ever gets lose. That video makes it sound like it is silenced, but sorry,,, it does make the traditional air noise, but it is no louder than any other pellet rifle I have shot. They say it even gets softer with time. The stock is more composite rather than wood but it looks good and has a nice raised comb. I think it is a great value and Walmart did a great job of shipping it to my store so there were no shipping charges. Store pickup was easy with ID ( drivers license so they know it is you and you are of legal age). A good purchase !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nitro venom .22
10/23/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Shot it for the first time tonight, sighted in pretty nice and when bench rested it shot pretty consistently. If you want to go to the Olympics you wont do it with anything in this price range. Out of the box it is well made and solid, good looking and feels good to handle. Its heavy, 7 pounds or so. The scope is better than expected with an adjustable eye piece and nitrogen filled. Takes a little effort to charge the piston. Very quiet. no recoil to speak of. My only complaint is that it will throw a wild one now and then, I think this is from tiny defects in the Crossman super dome pellets, it is easy to feel that some fit better than others. I will try some better pellets at another time and see how that works. I haven't taken it to the field yet but I am sure it will perform well with support, I don't shoot well free standing but that isn't the rifles fault. Keep it clean, alignment of the barrel to the receiver is critical.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great accuracy, very good scope, hard hitting.
7/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
So far I'm still in the "break in" period, but I have shot 75 or so rounds through it. At 25 yards I've been able to group close enough to cover with a dime, shooting from a table. After 20 or so shots the groups started to widen to quarter size. Probably due to fatigue on my part as I've not shot a lot recently and this is a hoss to pump! But, it has extremely good accuracy and is very hard hitting. The scope was better than I expected. I've not had to lock tight the screws yet. (as some reviewers said might be needed) I've been impressed so far. I did a lot of review reading on about 10 different models, and I'm glad I went with the Nitro Piston instead of a spring. According to reviews it won't start hitting it's sweet spot until after 100-150 rounds. If it keeps getting better than what it is already I'll be a very happy camper and the ground hogs and rabbits will regret high jacking the garden! Only draw back is the weight and hard cocking.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy.
5/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy. I first purchased the natural wood version of this gun, then the Dusk version. This gun is very quiet & powerful with several features I loved. I really (REALLY) wanted to get it working right and NOT go through the return process; BUT this gun has SERIOUS design flaws. Flimsy retail box is the shipping box. On first gun, box had been opened and was still open when picked up at store. On second gun, box had been popped opened on one end and stock was scuffed up during the shipping process. End was taped shut when I picked up from store. Same Problems With BOTH Guns: Very inconsistent grouping at 42 FEET. Would get 1 or 2 shots at same hit point, then next shot off by 3 to 6 inches – YES at 42 FEET.. This is with sandbagging and very consistent cocking motion, eye ‘ head position, and trigger pull. Over 200 rounds of Crosman pellets as required in instructions. Largest hit point differences were with temperature change, but that wasn’t the only issue First followed all instructions carefully and scope was fastened down tight from the start. Scope sometimes needs several clicks -- 3, then 3 more, then 3 more -- to get the hit point to move at all. Was very gentle with gun and careful not to bump scope. Would get hit point close one day, and then a couple days later would be way off. Gun is junk.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A quality pellet gun.
2/20/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my 1st. pellet gun. I have been using a 22 cal rifle for plinking in the past. I was pleasantly surprise at the power and accuracy of this gun. Much quieter than the 22 rim fire and suitable for shooting varmints in a neighborhood. The pellets will pass through a 3/8" plywood. I've shot about 100 pellets so far and not one problem. The scope was easy to set up. My only complaint was with Walmart's free ship to site service. It took 15 days to receive my gun. I could have ordered it from Amazon with free shipping and no sales tax and received it in 7 days or less. I trust Walmart and always know I can return a defective product if needed. I hope they streamline there ship to site service. The reasons for not giving 5 stars is the heavy weight of the pellet gun and the stiff trigger pull. I would still purchase this gun again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/2/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
life member NRA and harveys lake rod and gun club. I know shooting guns, I work on some at times. the last 2 have been gamo's 1000's in 177 cal. I've been messing with this .22cal venom nitro dusk off the bags @ 25 yds shooting premeir roundnose hollowpoints which I have used for yrs to great accuracy. I think I have the problem solved it's not the rifle it's the scope, most scopes don't change impact if u move ur head, this 1 does. It's like shooting a bow with no peep sight, no consistant anchor point. u move ur head around on the stock it changes the impact of the pellet. But in the + side the pictannny scope mount spot welded to the top is an excellent idea. Best I've seen of all the guns on pyramid air guns whom I'm a member, the top mont pictanny scope mount. I will keep playing and replace the scope with a good .22 cal scope and shoot it and see what i can do. we will see, if results are'nt any better I'm returning it and buying another GAMO
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quiet hard-hitting accuracy
8/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Don't be mislead by negative remarks about the trigger and the scope. . . both are pleasingly adjustable and suit the rifle very well. And, it really is much, much quieter than a spring gun. Crosman says it gets quieter after about 30 shots, and consistency/accuracy improves after about 100 shots. . . I found this to be true. I'm shooting the Crosman Premier 14.3gr domed/lead hunting pellets with impressive results. If you want quiet, hard-hitting accuracy, this is the rifle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (168)No (47)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Have to give it 5 stars
4/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Buy one. You will like it. Feels quality made. If you feel you got one that feels of poor quality, you just happen to get a bad one. Simply return it. It's accurate. Good for hunting. Unlike a real gun, you can shoot this in your yard. I enjoy mine. Try it. You may get addicted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great buy, super accurate.
2/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried 8 different pellets in this gun. All grouped really well, with the exception being the crosman hypervelocity pellets. My guns favorite pellet seems to be the crosman pointed field pellet, followed closely by, rws superdome. Great back yard shooter. An the added value of being able to buy at walmart is a big plus. ( in case you need to return for some reason)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
At fifty to seventy-five yds. UNSTOPABLE
1/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gun has not got the level of reviews it deserves, from what I've seen, the performance out weighs the cost no challenge. Ranchers let me help with pest control in envy of my stealth and effenciency,six of them have since got one and we shoud be on U Tube with our new club before long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this gun is exactly what i was looking for and expected. i have a water mocassin problem in my yard. i bought this gun to help protect my family. 177 air gun pellets and bbs went right threw the snakes with no effect unless it was a direct head shot, this gun has plenty of power and incredible accuracy and doesn't let the snake suffer, kill shot with one or two hits from every distance. i've had many air guns but am very impressed with this gun. not crzy about how long it takes to get a second shot off but i knew that with a breakbarrel. i recommend this gun.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (130)No (64)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWSOME!!
3/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS RIFLE IS SCARY POWERFUL!! And CAN HIT A DIME 30yrds AWAY.. GREAT VALUE..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great rifle,very satisfied
7/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like every rifle out there that I have read about,this one needed work straight from the box,BEFORE you shoot.I would firmly recommend you check out GTA website,and do some research at their library.I love my rifle but had to replace the barrel pivot washers(plastic) with stainless steel,and make sure you machine the new washers down so they fit very snug,and are the same thickness.The other issue,the notorious trigger,you can upgrade to a GRTIII trigger,or do what I did and do some welding and grinding on the one you got,very happy with my trigger now.Last issue,my piston seal has some light gashes in it,at about 300 rds my wife started hollerin' at me in the middle of my reloading,and I got distrcted and didnt load a pellet before I closed the barrel,and dry fired,never do that.I tore the rifle down and found the light damage on the seal,the tear down is very simple mechanics.You can learn how to build you own spring compressor on GTA.Anyways,I honed the chamber cleaned all the parts and lubed them,shoots LIKE new again.I do have some seals coming from crosman however.All that being said I believe all brands and models have small issues,but can easily be resolved with a little self educating,like air gun sites etc.I strongly recommend you check out GTA before you shoot,hope this can help all looking to buy.Oh,and one more thing to add Crosman customer service,via email,is awesome.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great small varmant/target rifle
10/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I haven't got it broken in completely yet, but am getting pretty consistent 1" pattern at 20yds (about 250 rnds). Much more satisfying impact than the .177. The rifle takes more effort to charge but it is hurtling twice the mass at similar speed to the .177. The charging action loosens up and i get stronger so this is not a big deal, certainly the pluses make up for it. The scope adjusts 3-9 power and is just fine for this rifle. The Weaver (?) type rail is well designed and makes for a stable scope platform.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (45)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Short and sweet...this gun is everything I hoped it would be. It's accurate, powerful, and looks great. Got rid of a pigeon problem in a hurry. I've taken around 100 shots and it feels solid and durable. This is definitely worth the $150 price tag.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this rifle has more nock down power than my 177 cal. plus i shot a full can of foam, and the pellets went right thru the metal can on both sides from 50 feet away. i was impressed. the pointed pellets work great on squirrels also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Light, accurate, joy to shoot
7/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have the lil brother of this gun, the Fury NP in .177. I liked that gun so well I wanted to jump up a notch. Glad I did. I must have got a one in a million because from the time I started shooting this one, its been accurate and the trigger is really good. I have shot maybe 150 pellets so far and once I had it sighted up, its been accurate. I hate to admit it, but the trigger from the first 10-20 shots is as good as its lil brother after shooting over 500-600. Upon opening box, I took the stock off and lubed the trigger action. I know, I voided any warranty. It was well worth it. Second, before I ever placed a pellet in the gun, I ran several patches thru the barrel to get rid of all the packing grease. I reassembled the gun to the stock, oiled the hinge point for the barrel and wiped it all down. I grabbed my Crosman Hollow points and I went shooting. I started out at 10 yards for initial sighting in. After about 10 mins. I was moving the target down to the 30 yard spot and I was in the 8,9, and 10 spots on my target. I admit I was in a hurry, it was 97, and the clouds was rolling in for a mean storm to drench the area. I managed to fire off about 45-50 more before the weather chased me back inside. Today I managed to get a solid 80-90 shots off after my backyard wasnt a swamp anymore, I got bored with the paper targets, I grabbed al the empty pop cans and any empty food cans to hit. I love watching them dance. I managed to place several of my shots in the middle of the bottoms of the cans several times. I was using both the Crosman Hollow Points and H&N Crow Magnums. Since I have a scope with mill dots I learned to use it to get both pellets to hit in almost the same spots. The H&N's are a heavier pellet, and the cans proved it. I couldn't be happier with my 2 Crosman's. Once I learned to hold them properly. and make sure my cheek hits the same spot every time, my shooting became better. I know my guns are the first generation NP's and my goal in the near future is to purchase a NP2. The only drawback to what I am shooting now is the fact that I had to really upgrade the scopes, not due to clarity of what I am shooting at, but the vibration that is nature of these guns. On the plus side of both guns is how hard and how accurate they throw lead down range. This gun is so much better in so many ways than the old springers, and from what I can tell, just as accurate and powerful as some of the PCP's. On the other hand you dont have the extra cost of the PCP guns and all the related gear you have to have. With either one of mine, grab the gun/s, a tin/s of pellets and you go shoot. All in all, I say get this .22, I think you will like it. I think the value for what I paid is more than worth it. Just know your milage may vary.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-