Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 53 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy.
5/29/2013

Customer review by shop4444

1.0 stars 5/29/2013 by shop4444
by shop4444

At least Wal-Mart has an excellent return policy. I first purchased the natural wood version of this gun, then the Dusk version. This gun is very quiet & powerful with several features I loved. I really (REALLY) wanted to get it working right and NOT go through the return process; BUT this gun has SERIOUS design flaws. Flimsy retail box is the shipping box. On first gun, box had been opened and was still open when picked up at store. On second gun, box had been popped opened on one end and stock was scuffed up during the shipping process. End was taped shut when I picked up from store. Same Problems With BOTH Guns: Very inconsistent grouping at 42 FEET. Would get 1 or 2 shots at same hit point, then next shot off by 3 to 6 inches – YES at 42 FEET.. This is with sandbagging and very consistent cocking motion, eye ‘ head position, and trigger pull. Over 200 rounds of Crosman pellets as required in instructions. Largest hit point differences were with temperature change, but that wasn’t the only issue First followed all instructions carefully and scope was fastened down tight from the start. Scope sometimes needs several clicks -- 3, then 3 more, then 3 more -- to get the hit point to move at all. Was very gentle with gun and careful not to bump scope. Would get hit point close one day, and then a couple days later would be way off. Gun is junk.

Was this review helpful? (94) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop4444
29745
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quiet hard-hitting accuracy
8/5/2012

Customer review by salmonoid

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by salmonoid
by salmonoid

Don't be mislead by negative remarks about the trigger and the scope. . . both are pleasingly adjustable and suit the rifle very well. And, it really is much, much quieter than a spring gun. Crosman says it gets quieter after about 30 shots, and consistency/accuracy improves after about 100 shots. . . I found this to be true. I'm shooting the Crosman Premier 14.3gr domed/lead hunting pellets with impressive results. If you want quiet, hard-hitting accuracy, this is the rifle.

Was this review helpful? (157) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salmonoid
Oregon coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/4/2011

Customer review by pt63

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by pt63
by pt63

this gun is exactly what i was looking for and expected. i have a water mocassin problem in my yard. i bought this gun to help protect my family. 177 air gun pellets and bbs went right threw the snakes with no effect unless it was a direct head shot, this gun has plenty of power and incredible accuracy and doesn't let the snake suffer, kill shot with one or two hits from every distance. i've had many air guns but am very impressed with this gun. not crzy about how long it takes to get a second shot off but i knew that with a breakbarrel. i recommend this gun.

Was this review helpful? (125) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pt63
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Several Great Features, But NO Accuracy
7/11/2013

Customer review by T4UT4U

1.0 stars 7/11/2013 by T4UT4U
by T4UT4U

I've tried 2 of these guns, and both had very poor accuracy. The VERY POOR accuracy of this gun is likely a design flaw with the way the barrel has to PERFECTLY lock back into alignment with the scope after each break. 100 Round Break-In Period == “it will get better’. You will read a lot about a “100 round break-in period”. I did NOT gain improved accuracy after getting past that “100 round break-in period”. And not after 250 rounds either. If your movement is nil, then it should hit where it is sited. The number of rounds needed to set the scope should be all the “break-in” needed to see some usable accuracy. Long Trigger Pull == “I wish I could shoot like the pros”. You will read a lot about a “long trigger pull”. The “pros” suggest this gun’s trigger is a big problem. If you are used to shooting several other guns, all with short trigger pulls, then a long trigger pull may be an issue for you; Otherwise you will easily get used to this gun’s trigger. Several Great Features do not make up for NO Accuracy. Wal-Mart has a great return policy

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
T4UT4U
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun and accurate
12/3/2011

Customer review by aLongIslandGuy

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by aLongIslandGuy
by aLongIslandGuy

BB and pellet rifles have sure advanced since the old Daisy. This is a nicely made pellet rifle. It does have some heft to it and cocking does require some effort, but as others have said, you find the best way to make it easier. There is plenty of power and the scope is good. Sighting in required quite a few clicks, but now it is good. The scope is clear and is fun as it is variable power. I had no problem setting it up not tightening the screws with the supplied Allen wrench. Perhaps some Loctite if it ever gets lose. That video makes it sound like it is silenced, but sorry,,, it does make the traditional air noise, but it is no louder than any other pellet rifle I have shot. They say it even gets softer with time. The stock is more composite rather than wood but it looks good and has a nice raised comb. I think it is a great value and Walmart did a great job of shipping it to my store so there were no shipping charges. Store pickup was easy with ID ( drivers license so they know it is you and you are of legal age). A good purchase !

Was this review helpful? (69) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aLongIslandGuy
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great small varmant/target rifle
10/15/2011

Customer review by geewall

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by geewall
by geewall

I haven't got it broken in completely yet, but am getting pretty consistent 1" pattern at 20yds (about 250 rnds). Much more satisfying impact than the .177. The rifle takes more effort to charge but it is hurtling twice the mass at similar speed to the .177. The charging action loosens up and i get stronger so this is not a big deal, certainly the pluses make up for it. The scope adjusts 3-9 power and is just fine for this rifle. The Weaver (?) type rail is well designed and makes for a stable scope platform.

Was this review helpful? (78) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geewall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by dipstick58

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by dipstick58
by dipstick58

this rifle has more nock down power than my 177 cal. plus i shot a full can of foam, and the pellets went right thru the metal can on both sides from 50 feet away. i was impressed. the pointed pellets work great on squirrels also.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dipstick58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWSOME!!
3/29/2012

Customer review by Sniper44

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Sniper44
by Sniper44

THIS RIFLE IS SCARY POWERFUL!! And CAN HIT A DIME 30yrds AWAY.. GREAT VALUE..

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sniper44
Modesto Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HIghly inaccurate. Sent in for warranty repair.
9/15/2012

Customer review by Shoebox62

1.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Shoebox62
by Shoebox62

After over 200 rounds for break in. At ten yards, the group was 5-6 inches. I sent this rifle to Crosman to evaluate and repair. They claim it is accurate enough to shoot a one inch group at 50 yards. I have yet to see anything close to that at ten yards. We will see when it comes back.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoebox62
Perkasie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great rifle,very satisfied
7/16/2012

Customer review by 11bravoGRUNT

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by 11bravoGRUNT
by 11bravoGRUNT

Like every rifle out there that I have read about,this one needed work straight from the box,BEFORE you shoot.I would firmly recommend you check out GTA website,and do some research at their library.I love my rifle but had to replace the barrel pivot washers(plastic) with stainless steel,and make sure you machine the new washers down so they fit very snug,and are the same thickness.The other issue,the notorious trigger,you can upgrade to a GRTIII trigger,or do what I did and do some welding and grinding on the one you got,very happy with my trigger now.Last issue,my piston seal has some light gashes in it,at about 300 rds my wife started hollerin' at me in the middle of my reloading,and I got distrcted and didnt load a pellet before I closed the barrel,and dry fired,never do that.I tore the rifle down and found the light damage on the seal,the tear down is very simple mechanics.You can learn how to build you own spring compressor on GTA.Anyways,I honed the chamber cleaned all the parts and lubed them,shoots LIKE new again.I do have some seals coming from crosman however.All that being said I believe all brands and models have small issues,but can easily be resolved with a little self educating,like air gun sites etc.I strongly recommend you check out GTA before you shoot,hope this can help all looking to buy.Oh,and one more thing to add Crosman customer service,via email,is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
11bravoGRUNT
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A quality pellet gun.
2/20/2012

Customer review by VarmintsAreUs

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by VarmintsAreUs
by VarmintsAreUs

This is my 1st. pellet gun. I have been using a 22 cal rifle for plinking in the past. I was pleasantly surprise at the power and accuracy of this gun. Much quieter than the 22 rim fire and suitable for shooting varmints in a neighborhood. The pellets will pass through a 3/8" plywood. I've shot about 100 pellets so far and not one problem. The scope was easy to set up. My only complaint was with Walmart's free ship to site service. It took 15 days to receive my gun. I could have ordered it from Amazon with free shipping and no sales tax and received it in 7 days or less. I trust Walmart and always know I can return a defective product if needed. I hope they streamline there ship to site service. The reasons for not giving 5 stars is the heavy weight of the pellet gun and the stiff trigger pull. I would still purchase this gun again.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VarmintsAreUs
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
At fifty to seventy-five yds. UNSTOPABLE
1/10/2012

Customer review by MtRoostert

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by MtRoostert
by MtRoostert

This gun has not got the level of reviews it deserves, from what I've seen, the performance out weighs the cost no challenge. Ranchers let me help with pest control in envy of my stealth and effenciency,six of them have since got one and we shoud be on U Tube with our new club before long.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtRoostert
gunnison,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pellet rifle for the $$$$
2/10/2014

Customer review by Welder7014

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Welder7014
by Welder7014

For the money you will not beat this pellet rifle. I purchased the .22 caliber version of the Crosman NVD and I love it. After a good cleaning I began sighting in the rifle and so far it is meeting my expectations. I will have to say that Crosman needs to modify the trigger. The trigger has a really long pull, but if you get online you will find a remedy for the long trigger pull. Like I said, for $144.50 you are the owner of a great pellet rifle. I looked at much more expensive models in other brands and I opted to go with the Crosman and I have not been sorry. This rifle while boasting a 950fps speed, it has plenty of punch. I am shooting the Crosman round nose pellets and it likes them fairly well. I have the rifle sighted in at 25 yards and am hitting a dime sized target about every time I pull the trigger. Oh, the Picatinny rail scope mount is a VERY Good item that gives you a good mount for your scope, really solid mount. Go get you one today.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Welder7014
Clinton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Have to give it 5 stars
4/1/2012

Customer review by AnAverageCustomer

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by AnAverageCustomer
by AnAverageCustomer

Buy one. You will like it. Feels quality made. If you feel you got one that feels of poor quality, you just happen to get a bad one. Simply return it. It's accurate. Good for hunting. Unlike a real gun, you can shoot this in your yard. I enjoy mine. Try it. You may get addicted.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnAverageCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy, super accurate.
2/29/2012

Customer review by Bishopstake

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Bishopstake
by Bishopstake

I tried 8 different pellets in this gun. All grouped really well, with the exception being the crosman hypervelocity pellets. My guns favorite pellet seems to be the crosman pointed field pellet, followed closely by, rws superdome. Great back yard shooter. An the added value of being able to buy at walmart is a big plus. ( in case you need to return for some reason)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bishopstake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/21/2012

Customer review by scrogue

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by scrogue
by scrogue

Short and sweet...this gun is everything I hoped it would be. It's accurate, powerful, and looks great. Got rid of a pigeon problem in a hurry. I've taken around 100 shots and it feels solid and durable. This is definitely worth the $150 price tag.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrogue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worth more than 150 for sure!!!!
2/17/2012

Customer review by eddy14

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by eddy14
by eddy14

Awsome rifle extremely strong an dead accurate after breaking in 200 shots around there it is.extremely accurate an powerful

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eddy14
stockton,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nicely made, but poor scope mount, inconsisentency
5/30/2012

Customer review by tatesrus

2.0 stars 5/30/2012 by tatesrus
by tatesrus

I wanted so much to like this air rifle. I was impressed by the nice hefty construction and ease of operation of the whole thing. And it's powerful! 1/2'' particle board wasn't a challenge. It would even occasionally shoot through that, plus a peice of 1/2" Hardieboard. Also, I didn't think it took all that much strength. After I started the sighting process however, I just got more and more frustrated. I set up a 15 yard range with a pellet trap and shooting bench, thinking I'd be moving on in a few minutes to a 35 yard range to zero it in. To put it simply, the rifle was wildly inconsistent. Just as I thought I'd be zeroing in on a 1-inch group at 15 yards (not my goal, but I might have settled), it would shoot on 4 or 5 inches off, with no perceptable pattern. High/low/left/right - it never zeroed in on anything I could even begin to work on. I discovered after a while that the included scope was moving around in the mounts after several shots. I tightened it as much as I dared (I know air rifles are quite demanding on scopes and mounts), but it would still shift 1/8" or so after several shots. To see if it was the scope that was inaccurate, I risked an older spare rifle scope on it for a few shots. Although the picture through the better scope was much clearer, there was no change to the rifle's accuracy, and hopefully no damage to my scope. After about 300 total shots over several sessions, I packed it up and took it back to the store. Maybe I got a dud. Maybe I should have cleaned the bore before I started shooting it. That wouldn't have changed the scope mount issue though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tatesrus
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nitro venom .22
10/23/2013

Customer review by tickteaser

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by tickteaser
by tickteaser

Shot it for the first time tonight, sighted in pretty nice and when bench rested it shot pretty consistently. If you want to go to the Olympics you wont do it with anything in this price range. Out of the box it is well made and solid, good looking and feels good to handle. Its heavy, 7 pounds or so. The scope is better than expected with an adjustable eye piece and nitrogen filled. Takes a little effort to charge the piston. Very quiet. no recoil to speak of. My only complaint is that it will throw a wild one now and then, I think this is from tiny defects in the Crossman super dome pellets, it is easy to feel that some fit better than others. I will try some better pellets at another time and see how that works. I haven't taken it to the field yet but I am sure it will perform well with support, I don't shoot well free standing but that isn't the rifles fault. Keep it clean, alignment of the barrel to the receiver is critical.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tickteaser
mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/3/2012

Customer review by smokediver

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by smokediver
by smokediver

Over all, I am happy with the Nitro Venom Dusk. It is pretty accurate. The price is a lot better than the Gamo. The stock is really close the same size and shape as a real gun. The trigger is not worth bragging about, but it is just a pellet rifle. I guess I'm spoiled by my Savage with accu trigger. It's also louder than I expected. However, I don't have a lot of experence with air rifles. It's fun to shoot. Good starter gun for my son before we move up to a .22 rim fire.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smokediver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews