Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 34 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Poor Price to Quality Ratio
2/10/2014

Customer review by verbalcurrency

2.0 stars 2/10/2014 by verbalcurrency
by verbalcurrency

I've been a big fan of the Architecture series. Fallingwater is a particular favorite. However, I recently purchased The Farnsworth House set and I was disappointed. A couple of key complaints: -Piece count is not commensurate with building complexity or enjoyment. A significant number of the pieces included with this set are smooth, flat, 1x1 bricks used to cover the floors and roof of the model. It was unfortunate when I realized that a major portion of the assembly time was just covering platforms with these "finishing" tiles. I wonder if using a majority of 4x4 tiles could have deflated the brick count and the the price. -Color consistency. It's unusual to have a set that consists almost entirely of a single, light color. So the variations in color amongst the bricks in the Farnsworth House set were discouraging. Even amongst the 1x1 tiles mentioned above, the colors ranged from a creamy yellowish-white to a grey off-white. I would have expected better color consistency in a set appropriate for display.

verbalcurrency
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/5/2011

Customer review by nylor

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by nylor
by nylor

I found this to be a fun build. I felt it was overpriced as I believe most of the lego sets are.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nylor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorry, but...
5/30/2011

Customer review by UnknownBrick

2.0 stars 5/30/2011 by UnknownBrick
by UnknownBrick

...but this just didn't do it for me I'm afraid. If you're looking for a LEGO product to grace your mantlepiece, I suggest LEGO's Empire State Building or their take on the Seattle Space Needle. This is fairly unrecognisable if you do not know the House well, and when I bought it, it was worth a large sum of money that was disproportionate to what its size is when completed (i.e., many other sets have a larger surface area for the price). I understand that LEGO are being sophisticated and introducing this Architecture theme, but just because it's intended at older audiences doesn't mean the prices have to generally be higher either, no? I'm a huge LEGO fan so I don't mean to ever put the brilliant company down, but I feel that as far as landmarks are concerned, this just isn't a great one. Why not a mini Taj Mahal for those who cannot afford the larger one, or a Big Ben, London Eye, or even Cinderella Castle (!). Thanks for reading!

UnknownBrick
London, UK
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Farnsworth House From a Teen's Perspective
11/16/2011

Customer review by Bricklayer

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by Bricklayer
by Bricklayer

I have been a fan of the Architecture series since it started. This, so far, is the most unique set that they have come up with. This set is so special because unlike other sets, you can see inside the actual structure and see the furniture and fireplace (the apex of the interior). On to the building process. Overall the pieces were not the most diverse, there were just a lot of them. If you look at the picture, the entire roof is made up of 1 x 1 smooth bricks. The bottom line is that the monotony of the roof, veranda, and stairs may be a downer to less experienced LEGO fans. As a whole the set is absolutely beautiful. The lack of diversity of pieces only matters if you want to eventually scrap it for parts. That said, if you are a true fan of the LEGO Architecture series, then you should have no thought of using the pieces other than for the original set.

Bricklayer
Overland Park
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Miesian Masterpiece
7/9/2011

Customer review by GailLA

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by GailLA
by GailLA

LEGO artist Adam Reed Tucker has truly captured Farnsworth House with this set. The illustrated instructions are clear and of the good quality expected from LEGO. The included historical and architectural background information is very well done. The completed set is as detailed and as accurate as the medium and size allows, down to the house's core, fireplace, and furniture. Building the set is fairly easy, yet it is still an engaging and interesting experience due to its many true to life details. Because of its rural setting, this Mies van der Rohe masterpiece is not as well known to the general public as it deserves to be. LEGO has changed that. For lovers of art, architecture, or Mies van der Rohe, Farnsworth House is a must have set.

GailLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Farnsworth Masterpiece
6/22/2014

Customer review by Toftsy

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Toftsy
by Toftsy

My 11th building in the Lego Architecture range and counting .... Farnsworth House is beautiful, much bigger than anticipated and has so much detail. I love the exquisite detail inside the house making the overall look more realistic. The trickiest bit certainly were the hundreds of floor tiles throughout the model. Goes together beautifully and I rate this model one of my favorites. Once again, the Lego designer Adam Reed Tucker have produced a set well worth the money! The box and booklet are both great quality as you would expect from Lego. Farnsworth House is definitely a masterpiece as my review title suggests.

Toftsy
Bristol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Modernist at its best
7/9/2011

Customer review by Fema1e

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by Fema1e
by Fema1e

I adore this model. It lends itself perfectly to the real thing. The style is ever present in LEGO bricks and shined through perfectly. I love being able to pick up the model and see in and through through it. Even though it is a model, I get the sensation of being in the Farnsworth house. This is a great model to be a part of this series. A lot of controversy surrounded this design, and if you ever take any architecture classes this is one of the first buildings you will ever hear about. A great design by a great architect. I recommend this model to all aspiring and current architects, engineers, and family and friends of the mentioned.

Fema1e
Fargo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice!
4/2/2011

Customer review by Bandicoo

5.0 stars 4/2/2011 by Bandicoo
by Bandicoo

During an Architectural course I was taking we toured the Farnsworth House. One of its most striking features is the feeling of being outside while your inside. Lego has done a great job of recreating that in this set. All the detail (or lack there of) of the original is here. The set went together without any problems. It was lots of fun watching it come together as it was assembled. Like the White House set, it was on display in my office less than a day before several people recognized it. Everyone that sees it does the same thing. They cant help but bend down and look inside.

Bandicoo
Baxter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another Excellent Architecture
11/30/2011

Customer review by Pepse25

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Pepse25
by Pepse25

PRO: I have enjoyed the architecture series very much, this was one of the more fun mid sized build. There are a lot of 1x1 panels thought I almost went OCD to make sure they were not all crooked next to each other, and it just look nice! CON: The sturdiness is not the best, the side columns do not tie into the roof and the awning support over the entrance is lacking. I will probably make these changes for myself, but for others, once you have it built, you will not notice. OVERALL: Great build and another piece to put on my mantel.

Pepse25
St. Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice layout
1/9/2013

Customer review by jonizzzle

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by jonizzzle
by jonizzzle

This is the first Lego Architecture set I built and it was a quick one. During the process you get A LOT of those 1x1 tiles and keeping them aligned was crucial. The main feature I like about this set is that the windows actually let you see the chairs and tables inside and everything looks pristine. For the money though, I think I preferred the White House set because it had a lot more character to it and was about $10 less than this set but if you like the windows like I did then you still can't go wrong with this one.

jonizzzle
Fairfax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best model from the series
2/22/2013

Customer review by Tommi

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Tommi
by Tommi

I like it very much. The design of the original building is a kind of Nordic design, which I like and this set reflects original design in the great level. It has the greatest value for money comparing to other products from the series. The concept of series "Architecture" is great and I think that LEGO should fallow this way. I don't want to write too much now but what I would like to recommend LEGO's designers is to model on this set in your next sets in term of reflecting original building.

Tommi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
~ The Very Best of LEGO Architecture ~
8/27/2011

Customer review by bezetkace

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by bezetkace
by bezetkace

Let's be honest... Prices of this theme are really high. BUT... It is a piecie of art! LEGO Architecture theme is definitely for collectors. Buying this set, You'll get beautifully design model in a nice box - other than regular LEGO boxes. Set contains also a small 'booklet'. Farnsworth House in my opinion, is the best set (Architecture theme), and it's definitely worth it's price (it's high, but as I said before, it's a collector theme, created mainly for older builders). Leg Godt!

bezetkace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful Model
3/6/2012

Customer review by VariousBones

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by VariousBones
by VariousBones

This was my first LEGO architecture purchase and I am very pleased with it. While it is not to scale for minifigure play, it is a wonderful scale for display. There are a lot of small pieces and it does lack some detail because of the small pieces and scale, but they all came together beautifully. I also like the fact that the "Farnsworth House" brick is a printed brick and not a sticker. The price was a little expensive (like most LEGO sets), but still a good set overall.

VariousBones
Portage
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tedious Build, but worth it for Architecture Fans
4/24/2011

Customer review by xaiver56

4.0 stars 4/24/2011 by xaiver56
by xaiver56

I love the Architecture series, I have built all of them and this was the most tedious build of them all. That being said, it is also the most interesting to admire. The build is not difficult, took me about 2 hours. The majority of the time is spent placing small pieces in grid patterns which is boring to do, but provides the perfect look for the finished piece. If you are a fan of the Architecture series then this is a must have.

xaiver56
Grand Prairie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Farnsworth House
9/4/2011

Customer review by CMLego2000

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by CMLego2000
by CMLego2000

I enjoyed building this model. Not to hard at all. Although, it's more of your sit-on-the-mantelpiece sort of set. A good design, but it is not recognized enough for people to walk up to it and say "Oh, cool the Farnsworth House" if it wasn't for the title brick. It does not show very much detail inside the house. I think it was a little to much money for the detail and sturdiness of the set. Although it's a nice looking model!

CMLego2000
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skill
4/14/2011

Customer review by Pelley

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Pelley
by Pelley

I am 16 and I had no difficulty building this model I plan to go into a engineering field of work and picked this model to help me learn to build on the spot models. I look at blueprint for the electric company i work for and I found this only to me 30 minutes to an hour to complete. So what i am saying is if you know your good at building go for it but if you cant build complex stuff yet I would hold off

Pelley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing look but hard to build
1/31/2012

Customer review by DataBase18

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by DataBase18
by DataBase18

As I said above this set looks amazing it is just hard to build. Lego used several hundred one x one flat white plates. These take a long time to put on but look just like the real thing when it is finished. (That being said this would not really be good for young children). Pros Large Realistic Nice modern look Cons Is hard to place all of the small plates Thanks for reading and I hope it helped.

DataBase18
Fort Collins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Building in General
5/6/2012

Customer review by IRateLegoSets

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by IRateLegoSets
by IRateLegoSets

Now once you start getting past the 50$ range in Lego you know that Reviews become important into a fairly large Lego purchase. I say if you want the set, buy it, because you won't regret it.The detail is some of the best I've seen on an Architecture set. Trust me when I say: The price is good and so is the product. If you are interested, buy it while it's still out there!

IRateLegoSets
Keeps Changing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/13/2012

Customer review by Renekemps

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by Renekemps
by Renekemps

+ I enjoyed to build it. It looks very realistic. - The building isn't closed wich is caused by the window pieces. Mayby that LEGO can make a window corner piece. It took me a some time to place all the 1 by 1 pieces. That is a good thing, otherwise i build it to fast. This is my first item from the "Architecture" series and i have to say that i like the serie.

Renekemps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great set!
5/29/2011

Customer review by AlexR13

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by AlexR13
by AlexR13

I was looking in the shop last week for any new architecture models and found this. What a great set! Every last 1x1 tile makes up a great piece with chairs, tables and everything. Another building that this reminded me of is Villa Savoye in France. I'd like that to be build by Lego. Anyway, I would defiantly recommend this set to anyone! :)

AlexR13
Brighton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews