Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 68 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
Exceptional Value for a "Power User"
7/30/2011

Customer review by DennisL

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by DennisL
by DennisL

Let me preface my review by stating that I am a retired computer programmer, so I know a thing or two about computers. I live full time in an RV, so my space is limited and owning a desktop computer is out of the question. I am a "power user", often working on the computer with several programs running simultaneously, upwards of 12 hours a day, so I was looking for a notebook computer that I would be using like most people use a desktop computer. After much research, I narrowed my choices down to this Acer model and a Dell model priced exactly the same -- $498. I went over all of the specs for both computers with a technician I know at a local computer repair shop. He and I matched up all the specs with my intended heavy use of a computer. At the end of our half hour-long discussion, the technician unequivocally recommended that I buy the Acer. So I did. I am *thrilled* with this machine. It is fast, sturdy, and the keyboard is not mushy like the keyboard on my old Toshiba Satellite that I replaced. I love the extra 1.7 inches of big, bright, beautiful display that this Acer offers over the Dell. There is nothing about this machine that I don't like. For $498, you get a quad core processor, 4 GB of RAM, a nice, big 500-GB hard disk, and a larger display. My budget for a new computer was $500 or less, so this machine fit the bill perfectly. For the computer technician I spoke with, the important advantages that this Acer offered over the Dell were: * AMD quad core processor vs. Intel i3. For a heavy user such as I, the AMD runs a lot cooler than the Intel. * The separate numeric keypad to the right of the standard keyboard. * The 17.3-inch display vs. a 15.6-inch display.

Was this review helpful? (259) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DennisL
Greater Las Vegas, NV Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
7/12/2011

Customer review by soundcheck2007

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by soundcheck2007
by soundcheck2007

I have been hesitant on Acer for a past few years. But they have really pulled their products together. I bought this computer because it was a great deal and a huge setup from a netbook. The 17.3" LED display is crystal clear. The AMD quad core processor is fast and there is little to no wait when switching between programs. Much thinner than expected which is awesome! Haven't test out the graphics yet. The other reviews about the mouse pad not being centered are not to be taken with high consideration. The mouse pad is centered over the keyboard portion of the laptop, like with most laptops, but since this laptop has a number pad, the mouse pad is not centered across all the keys, hence not seeming centered. The only con I have is the battery life: I would say that the battery life is approximately 3 hours or so but I'm always by my charger so it doesn't even matter! A note: Acer laptops make a system beep noise when the charger is plugged in and unplugged. This was annoying to me and to disable this do the following: Open up the Control Panel. Click Hardware and Sound. Click Sound. In the popup window, under the playback tab, right click on speakers and select properties. Click the levels tab in the new popup window. Press the Speaker Icon on the right on PC Beep, to mute the "battery beep". Press okay and okay and your good to go!

Was this review helpful? (192) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soundcheck2007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quad-Core and 17.3" Display
7/2/2011

Customer review by RedToFire

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by RedToFire
by RedToFire

With a quad-core processor, 17.3" LED LCD display, 500 GB hard drive, and 4 GB of DDR3 RAM, this laptop really is great for college students like me who are majoring in Information Technology (IT). Keyboard feels great (I am typing on it now!) and the touch pad feels good. Video card is good. I was also surprised at the thinness of this laptop. HDMI port is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (99) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedToFire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/5/2011

Customer review by TZT52

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by TZT52
by TZT52

Excellent value for a quad core laptop. Very impressed with the performance and overall design. Not bothered at all regarding most of the cons that have been expressed in the above comments. I have not experienced the situation regarding left clicking on the mouse pad. I do agree that centering of the mouse pad would have been better, but find that to be a very minor issue. In my opinion, very nice and great value for $500.

Was this review helpful? (81) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TZT52
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang 4 Buck$!!
8/18/2011

Customer review by LordRick

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by LordRick
by LordRick

This laptop is a great deal for under $500! Unfortunately at Walmart, with regard to their instore setup/display you cant see detailed specs of a laptop, so i will list here a few that may be of intrest before you buy. A side note before buying a laptop is that a desktop PC will most always outperform any laptop in the same pricerange. With that said, for the price, this quad core laptop is a steal. This Acer Laptop has an ATI mobility radeon hd 4250 with 256MB dedicated video memory. The Laptops Overall Windows Experience Index is listed at 4.1 out of 7.9 (Windows Experience Index will always use the lowest score as its base score, as seen below) Calculations per second is 6.9 (RAM)Memory Operations per second is 5.9 Desktop Performance for Windows Aero 4.1 3D Business and Gaming Graphics Performance is 5.3 Disk Data Transfer rate 5.8 This Acer Aspire will not run high end games like Brink/Crisis2 well, or run games with all settings on high. However, it should push WoW and many other midlevel games just fine. It runs Mount & Blade Warband well, with most settings on high (with reduced maxed framerate to 80). If you like to keep a lean running PC then you'll have to remove some bloatware. Although there is a free trial of McAfee preloaded onto the laptop i would suggest using kaspersky for your PC's VD's. Kaspersky is much less draw on any Pc's resources. Hope this helps, and grats to anyone smart enough to get this steal of a deal.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LordRick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed
7/28/2011

Customer review by CCFamily

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by CCFamily
by CCFamily

I just got this laptop delivered today and love it. It is huge! Wonderful bright screen. Easy to type on keyboard and touchpad is very responsive. I don't find myself hitting keys I didn't mean to hit, which is not something I find in newer laptops. For under $500 it seems like a steal! It performs very fast and starts up quickly. I haven't done any crazy, extensive computing with it yet, but I have no complaints for the typical computer activities I have done tonight. I would buy another one again if I needed one.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCFamily
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth Getting
8/4/2011

Customer review by ProjectRawkfist

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by ProjectRawkfist
by ProjectRawkfist

I had an acer for years that I took with me while I was working on the road and never had a single problem with it. It lasted for 4 years and again not a single problem; it still works but I needed a quicker computer to run some different programs that it was not equipped to handle. I saw this in my local Walmart and decided to look into it. I'm glad i did. I am working with a computer software for special effect and needed something that would handle it. Even with a "quick" computer, After Effects takes up so much memory that it takes a while to process everything. After my initial setup of the computer, I installed that program immediately. This laptop is handling it like a champ. Even when I give it multiple operations inside the program, it never slows up. When rendering a video in real time that has thousand of frames per second, it does so flawlessly. This is a great computer and i recommend it to anyone looking for a quality computer for a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProjectRawkfist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/16/2011

Customer review by VOIPengineer

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by VOIPengineer
by VOIPengineer

This laptop is not bad at all. Granted, it has a fair bit of bloatware - expected. Spent 30 min getting rid of unwanted software and 2.5 hours performing Windows updates. The BIOS on the laptop was 1.15. There is a BIOS update to 1.18 on the Acer website. I couldn't find any notes with the new BIOS on what it fixed. I downloaded and installed 1.18 BIOS and there were no issues. Also had to update the ATI Catalyst for new graphics driver. Overall, the updates were pretty painless. The overall Windows Experience Index score is 4.1; the graphics on Aero being the lowest score. The processor got a 6.9!! Everything else scored is in the mid 5's. So, the bottleneck in speed is definitely in the graphics but, so far, not a deal breaker. This is not a gaming rig...unless you play Wizard 101 or something. Any game with high polygon count is probably going to hit a wall. You may be able to play WoW with pretty decent fps (25-30) at medium settings. The display is big and bright - lot's of pixel real estate. Keyboard is a little different from what I am used to but, it's not terrible. Hooked this up to my 42" inch Visio using the HDMI port at 1080p. This laptop didn't even break a sweat. In fact, it ran cool and quiet. Good range for wifi networking. I ordered 8GB of 1066 PC8500 laptop memory from the egg for $45. This should help a little since the graphics are 256K-dedicated [w/1919K Hypermemory (uses physical memory for graphics - when needed)]. The BIOS default setting for video graphics is 256K. That's the highest it goes. Sound is pretty decent. The 1.3 megapix integrated webcam looks okay in Skype. Overall, I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VOIPengineer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Loaded with features; excellent value!
9/6/2011

Customer review by PurityControl

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by PurityControl
by PurityControl

It would appear that Acer is a very underrated and overlooked brand in the world of computers? I bought this item with faith in the brand; my wife owns another model of Acer laptop and I bought my son an Acer Aspire One netbook last February. I bought this model to replace a 6-year old Dell Dimension 3000 desktop that was running WinXP SP3-- after looking at several Acer models seeking "bang for the buck", I chose this one and am very happy thus far! Setup time is minimal. I had intended on hard-wiring this laptop to my modem/router via ethernet cable, but it picked up my household wi-fi before I had a chance to get that far. I did remove some minor bloatware that I have no intention of using, but with all PCs you can expect that. The 17" LED screen display is abound with brilliant color and definition; so good that it can make pics/video of lesser quality seem almost impaired. The built-in card reader accepts both SD and xD cards, so that was a great feature when I started to transfer picture/video files. The Quad-Core processor delivers amazing speed with programs my old PC used to choke and stall on. The only nitpick I have is that there are only 3 USB ports, but I suppose I could easily add an inexpensive multi-port--- by no means is this a deal-breaker! I also use an external 320GB HD so I feel I'm loaded with plenty of memory space when you consider this laptop has it's own 500GB. After a full weekend I'm already completely happy with this purchase. The features included with this laptop are an excellent value for the money. The one feature I haven't taken advantage of yet is the portability that comes with owning the laptop itself! Highly recommended product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurityControl
Randleman, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/5/2011

Customer review by tellerone

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by tellerone
by tellerone

A sales associate recommended this computer. For the money, I don't think you can go wrong. The speakers are not the greatest for volume, buy I purchased a Logitech Laptop external speaker that attaches to the top of the computer. Works great. This computer has a fast processor and booting up time is fantastic. I'm not a gamer, so I can't comment on that although I did load some games for my grandchildren and they had fun. They weren't games that needed a lot of power though. Setting up this computer was a breeze. No problems. It hasn't frozen for me which I'm glad for. I have an acer already that is about 3 or 4 years old. I neaded more memory and space so went for this one. I think Acer has a good product. Also, I'm glad that I am able to talk to techs who speak English and are from the U.S. Don't think you will go wrong with this one! This computer isn't real heavy, and the cover is real nice in that it doesn't show fingerprints, but is still stylish. The keyboard took some getting used to, but I like it now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tellerone
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the price
8/30/2011

Customer review by Bizzman

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Bizzman
by Bizzman

This laptop was bought as a desktop replacement, This being said I have fond myself using as a, desktop, laptop, and Travel laptop. I have numerous laptops smaller lighter,and easier to carry around the country. The Screen is crisp, The keyboard is well thought out. This is the first scrolling pad that actually worked as it should. Generous ports Easy WiFi connections for the price a roomy hard drive. Windows 7 is a great OS for this machine. The Dual layer DVD is a surprising addition on a laptop under $500.00 the HDMI port works well on my Samsung 42 inch TV. I watched laptop deals for about a year and feel my due diligence was well worth the time as I now have a machine that will meet my needs for the next 3 years if not longer and at that time I will donate to a school that does not have the resources to buy equipment if at that time it is better tech than they have. do your self a huge favor really compare performance for price. ACER Has done a great job for a bargain piece of equipment. I am going to by a second for my Girlfriend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bizzman
Dallas Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing
8/6/2011

Customer review by j2mco4

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by j2mco4
by j2mco4

This laptop is a great deal. $500 for a quad core processor and 4 gigs of ddr3 memory, awesome. The whole mouse issue, not really a problem, yeah its a little off centered from the laptop itself, but if it's that big of an issue, they have a wireless mouse in store for $15, get one, problem solved. The keypad is amazing, contrary to what some prior reviews have stated. I love it. The keys are easy to press and the laptop is comfortable to rest your hands on for typing. I bought this laptop for school, and it meets all of my expectations, and more. Couldn't have asked for a better buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
j2mco4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works well with linux out of the box
8/25/2011

Customer review by notfred

4.0 stars 8/25/2011 by notfred
by notfred

I bought this laptop because of the quadcore and as a linux user i was pleasantly surprised that when i installed Fedora 15 that everything but the wireless was supported out of the box. jumping on a wired internet connection and a quick update solved all issues with this box. The open source ATI drivers support the video card for 3D out of the box and gnome-shell works .

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notfred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am a senior, but this laptop is just what I need
8/13/2011

Customer review by Jebbe

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Jebbe
by Jebbe

As a senior, I am thrilled with this laptop!!! Has all that I need at the tender age of 81 years young.!!! It is not loaded with a lot of "stuff" that I would never use.. Price was great, and only 1/2 the price of a previous laptop...Hooray for Acer...Keep up the good work!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jebbe
Foster, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
8/7/2011

Customer review by ofghg

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by ofghg
by ofghg

I have had my Acer 7551-7422 for a month. It has met all my expectations. The AMD Phenom processor is fast. There is no hesitition when I change programs or surfing the web. The new Windows Internet Explorer has taken some time to get used to and I miss Outlook Express but that is Microsoft and not Acer. This computer is a great value. I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ofghg
Elizabeth City, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
REALLY good deal
8/17/2011

Customer review by JakubR

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by JakubR
by JakubR

It took me FOREVER to find the perfect computer for me. I finally found this was the one I kept coming back to because of the GREAT price, big screen, how light it was and the 500 GB hard drive. When I got it, I was surprised to find that it also did games like GTA pretty well (I haven't tried COD or anything yet though). So all in all, I really like this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JakubR
Satellite Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money!
8/21/2011

Customer review by TheHerb

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by TheHerb
by TheHerb

Have only had this unit for a week but am extremely satisfied with all aspects. Had bought a similiarly priced unit from another manufacturer and returned because of poor performance issues, none with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheHerb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/22/2011

Customer review by bitsee

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by bitsee
by bitsee

I did a lot of research on line to replace a 9inch mini netbook - I knew I wanted something with a lot of memory and speed, and a large screen. After reading the reviews for this product I felt that this would be the computer for me. I purchased at the end of August and experienced a lot of freezing and I could not stream TV episodes without problems with the buffering. I contacted Acer via live chat, explained the problems I was experiencing and was told that the buffering issue was an internet provider issue (not a problem with the computer) and that the freezing was because my computer "must have a virus". I could not believe either explanation since I could stream TV episodes to my 9 inch mini (with 8 gb of memory) without problem and I activated the mcAfee trial software the first time I turned the computer on. Feeling that I should not have any problems with a brand new computer (and realizing that a certain percentage of any product will have glitches and problems) and since it was within 15 days of purchase, I returned the computer and exchanged it for the exact same model. The new computer works great, no problems, streaming Tv episodes is effortless and the picture is gorgeous, fast web browsing, and enjoy having a 17.3 inch screen. This is the computer for me! Could not be happier with my purchase, and am extremely grateful Wal-mart has such a great return policy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bitsee
Elkins, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great find!
9/1/2011

Customer review by JerryJaySmiles

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by JerryJaySmiles
by JerryJaySmiles

Wow! What a laptop! As a 76 year old senior citizen who owns/has owned 9 computers starting with a Timex and then a Commodore 64, I find this Acer to be a beauty. It has more power and capability than all of my previous computers except my Mac Pro which cost over four times as much. The Acer was purchased to replace an eight year old Toshiba that is far out of date and to give me a modern Windows 7 computer. After considering many others, this Acer's capabilities and value exceeded that of all the others I'd reviewed costing under $1,000. If you want a great computer at a bargain price, this is the one. The only negative is the touchpad located off center. However, most other 17.3" laptops are being designed the same way so I'll have to accommodate this one "flaw" in an otherwise fantastic machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JerryJaySmiles
Oak Creek, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good
8/16/2011

Customer review by rrog64

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by rrog64
by rrog64

I got this 2 weeks ago and no problems. The picture is great, boots up a little slow and the speed is slower than I thought it would be and slowed down some more but there was a bunch of junk loaded when I got it and uninstalling that might help that. The mouse is lame (almost unusable) but picked up cordless mouse and keyboard for 40 bucks and dont even use laptop mouse or keyboard. The battery and speakers are the only real cons. The battery last only 2 hrs using internet, and the speakers are far from good. If your intending to watch video, listen to music you better get some spakers because you wont be able to hear very well. Overall for the money it seems well worth the $500.00.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rrog64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews