Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 375 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

375 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

375 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
162
4 stars
118
3 stars
33
2 stars
21
1 stars
41
1-20 of 334 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews
5/30/2011

Customer review by rellimdr

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by rellimdr
by rellimdr

I bought this bike about a month ago so I could hit a few of the local trails though state parks and such. Seems decently built and no problems so far... well that is once i got the bike home from the store and aired up the tires, and readjusted the shifters and brakes. I wasnt expecting much from a $100 bike but seems well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (312) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rellimdr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike, some drawbacks
4/21/2013

Customer review by Catfishinjim

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Catfishinjim
by Catfishinjim

I’m not a biker. I haven’t owned a bike for many years. But I live very close to my job and thought a bike would be a better choice to get there with gas prices as they are. I bought this bike (online) mainly because of it’s reviews, low price and awesome looks. I am not disappointed. It is a very nice, aggressive looking bike. I am 49 years old, 6’1”, around 200lbs. This bike adjusts out to provide a comfortable ride. My last mountain bike was “crunched” up. My knees would hit the handle bars when turning, my foot would hit the tire, and the height when sitting had my knees in a forward position instead of up and down to the pedals. I was scared to order this online fearing another lousy ride, but I figured for the price, looks and options, I could upgrade it to fit me properly. But this was not needed at all. Assembly was easy. It comes 90% put together. Put on the front tire, seat and pedals, adjust the gear selectors and brake levers and your rolling. But I have to agree with some of the other reviews. The tires seem cheap. They are a no brand low quality rubber. I don’t see them lasting long. The seat looks awesome, but it is extremely uncomfortable. But I haven’t rode for years, and my cheeks may need to toughen up a little. Many have said the pedals are cheap and have broken on them. They are plastic, and at 200lbs, I am replacing them on other reviews complaints. I don’t want to be a few miles from home and have to try to make it back using one pedal, or push my new bike home. My last gripe is the paint job. It is a semi-flat, no shine finish. It looks awesome, but it scratches to the metal with the littlest impact. If your wrench slips during assembly, you will have a bare metal scar looking at you. Even out of the box, it had a few nicks exposing bare metal. But being a semi-flat paint it is an easy touch up with regular paint being a no gloss finish. Krylon makes a semi-flat black paint that is a perfect match. Well that being said, I am very happy with my purchase. It is a great rider with aggressive looks. I don’t see myself heading down the side of a mountain any time soon so I can’t give any detail on it’s off road durability. But if I do take to the wilderness, I will update this review.

Was this review helpful? (160) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catfishinjim
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for such a low price!
12/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bike is phenomenal for it's price. I had been riding my old bike for about 8 years but had to start looking for a new one cause of damages. I looked online and found nothing that I liked until I saw this one. I bought this bike for $120 but I think it should have been around $250 considering how great it is. First of all it looks better than any mountain bike under $500 that I've seen before. The matte black color is big reason I bought the bike. The bike rides so unexpectedly smooth due to the dual suspension. The shifters are great and the gear doesn't skip or change when going up hill and under pressure. I have had this bike for a couple months and I have absolutely no problems with it even after riding more than 500 miles. Pros: -Exceptional price -Great look -Smooth ride -Durable Cons: -Tires and tubes may need replacing -Cheap pedals may cause future problems(Hasn't for me) -Seat post may be too short for TALL riders -Grips start to slip a little sometimes -(ALL easy fixes) Tips: If you purchase the bike there are a few optional but very beneficial things you can do. You should first replace the tires and tube as other buyers have done the same and by appearance they do not seem very reliable. (I recommend some Kevlar lined or thorn proof tires, thorn proof tubes-not the self-sealant kind!, and huffy tire liners - this way you will be flat-free). Second, replace the pedals with metal ones to avoid any future problems. Make sure to make simple adjustments to the brakes and shifters if you know how as that can make the ride much more comfortable. If you do all this it will be a very cheap, fun, and reliable bike! The pros definitely outweigh the cons as all parts are easily replaceable and interchangeable. For those looking for a mountain bike on a budget, this is definitely the place to look!

Was this review helpful? (208) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value for your money
7/20/2012

Customer review by c64rbr

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by c64rbr
by c64rbr

$120 for an aluminum framed mountain bike with shimano transmission is a good deal. I had the packageshipped for pickup at a nearby Walmart. Assembly difficulty is average. Only thing I needed to do is mount and align the handle bar to the frame and also install the front wheels and the plastic pedals. Based on other reviews, the factory tire-tube reliability is questionable. So I bought and replaced it with a Slime (self-healing) tube, $8/each before using the bike and just trashed the factory tube. On first time use, the rear-brake is squealing, but eventually quiet out after several miles (may be part of its break-in period). Ride quality is good, quiet, shifting is smooth but be careful not to brake too hard with the front wheel as the bike will want to dive because its soft front suspension. One thing I don't like is the paint is a flat black (not the shiny clearcoat sort of paint) which is dull and prone to even gentliest scratches. I plan to use the bike on flat bike trails only and I don't know how this bike will stand the test of time when used in hard-core mountain-biking applications. Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase and I recommend it to budget concious shoppers like me.

Was this review helpful? (41) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
c64rbr
Palo Alto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good for mountains.
7/20/2013

Customer review by Johnmcf2

5.0 stars 7/20/2013 by Johnmcf2
by Johnmcf2

This is definitely for the mountains. Bought it for mountain trails and it worked better than my legs did. Low geared for torque not speed. Not for racing on flat streets. Worked great on very rugged trails. I am over 6' tall and it worked great for me. Because of the number of sprockets the shifter is variable to move off derailers by +/- one click. If the chain rubs, a couple clicks up or down and no more problem. I Like the handle bar shifter, allows me to keep my hands on the bars where they belong.

Was this review helpful? (66) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnmcf2
Arizona City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Loving It!!!!
12/11/2013

Customer review by Jennisofly

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Jennisofly
by Jennisofly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the bike. And my friends love it too. Looks good and rides good too. As far as the seats they really aren't the best so I would suggest saving up to get a gel cushion but apart from that the bike is pretty reliable. Had it for 3 weeks now deff worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jennisofly
Elmont, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike for the price
1/14/2014

Customer review by BC72Tucson

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by BC72Tucson
by BC72Tucson

Took it on a rough 10 mile mountain dirt trail. Had no issues.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BC72Tucson
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great bike
5/13/2014

Customer review by XanaDABFFE

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by XanaDABFFE
by XanaDABFFE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it's a nice bike I had to wait two weeks for it but was a great choice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XanaDABFFE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike
3/24/2012

Customer review by nmetc

4.0 stars 3/24/2012 by nmetc
by nmetc

Ibought this for a daily commuter on sale due to it looking previously used. Grips torn looks like it was riding a bit but I bought since the price was good. Aired up the tires a bit and rode good for a few days. Here where you get what you pay for issues. Pedal broke as expected but I realized they were plastic. Bought metal ones to replace no issues with that then the front shock went out. Unlike most who said the bike wasn't good I realized it may havebeen in store for a while. I called the number on the bike and they have been taking care of the issues. Well they shipped me what I needed and a manual and the bike runs like a champ.If anyone buys any hyper bike and has questions or issues I suggest you call the number on the bike and work with them although you may have to wait a few days on part shipping. they have been very friendly with me and kept me from returning a bike which I was able to fix and enjoy versus spending a lot more money on a more expensive version mountain bike that I was thinking about buying

Was this review helpful? (102) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nmetc
phoenix, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
5/13/2012

Customer review by Joaq

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Joaq
by Joaq

Based on lessons learned from previous comments, I have inspected this mountain bike for any obvious manufacturer's defects (bent fork, wheels, frame, etc) as well as any loose/missing hardware and misalignment during the assembly process at the store of purchase. I spent a good 5-10 minutes riding down the short aisle, performing functional test of shifting and braking. Any defects noted, I would simply try another one. I upgraded the pedals with medal ones (9/16") bought at the store, as most of you strongly suggested. Regarding seat comfort and weak inner tubes and tires -- so far, so good during my first week of riding. I don't plan on getting any air or blazing down a mountain trail, although jumping curbs and hitting speed bumps at full speed reveal that the dual suspension was adequate and nothing fell apart. Shifting under load (going up hill) proved to be smooth and effortless. I plan on going back to the store and personally thank the bike assembler (Brandon) for a job well done. By the way, this bike weighs less than the V2100, by at least 10 lbs.

Was this review helpful? (61) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joaq
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Quality Bike. Flimsey Tires,
6/13/2011

Customer review by ISLANDBOY65

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by ISLANDBOY65
by ISLANDBOY65
Top 1000 contributor

I purchased this bike from one of my local Wal-Mart Stores and I ride it daily. The in-store bike tech was really good and adjusted everythng that I requested before purchasing the bike that day. All while I waited. My primary focus before buying a new bike, was to find one that cost less than $150 and had a Complete Shimano Set-Up; Handle Bar Shifters, Front Derailer & Rear Derailer. My 18 years of experience with the complete Shimano Set Up on my bikes was the reliability, low maintenance, durability and longevity of the components. In recent, it is almost impossible to find the complete Shimano set up on any bike for less than $400. This bike has it all. Mechanically and structurally this bike is solid. The Tubes and Tires are flimsey. Plan on spending approx. $50 for a new pair of good quality Tires w/Tubes if you can do the swap yourself. All said, I feel that this bike is worth the money and I do recommend it. I also suggest buying that new pair of good quality Tires w/Tubes at the same time you buy the bike. Wal-Mart has the Bell Tires with Kevlar and Bell Inner Tubes on the same isle. Good quality at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (588) (66)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ISLANDBOY65
Huntsville, AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Worth more than what I paid
7/6/2011

Customer review by RougeRhyno

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by RougeRhyno
by RougeRhyno

There was a time when I was young I was an avid moutian biker and owned a rather expensive bike. Now that I'm older and a little larger around the middle I thought it would be a healthy choice to get back into it. I went to the local bike shop and had a hard time swallowing the price of mountain bikes ($500-$3000), especially since I wanted the newest bells and whistles like, dual suspension, aluminum frame and atleast an 18 speed, I also wanted the option of interchangeable parts so if I ever wanted to up grade I could. This Havoc Hyper has it all plus it's only $100. This bike has some nicer parts on it to like, Trex brakes and the brackets for rotor style brakes if you want to add them later. This bike is also equipped with Shimano gear selector and it's the much nicer newer twist style. This might not meen much if your buying this bike for your teen. But if it is for your self or someone want to get into mountain biking you can really take this bike from being a novice bike to a pretty advanced one over time by upgrading the wheels, tires, suspension shocks, brakes and gears, but it also comes ready to rip up the trails right fram the store.

Was this review helpful? (422) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RougeRhyno
Sheridan Wy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice enough bike to buy two
8/30/2013

Customer review by ColoradoSky13

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by ColoradoSky13
by ColoradoSky13

My son and I are getting into biking for the first time and I didn’t want to go out and buy a $600+ bike only to have it sit in the garage. Originally we bought our son this bike and I purchased a hybrid style bike (from Wal-Mart). The Hyper Havoc my son rode is a tight bike and my hybrid was always needing some extra tweak or two or three. I finally took it back to Wal-Mart and traded it for the Hyper Havoc. My son weighs 90 pounds and I weigh 230 and this bike handles like a dream for both of us. We do some light mountain biking and a lot of trail riding. Word of advice… all of these mass assembled bikes need to be tuned up! It only took me 30 minutes to dial in the shifters so you get all 21 speeds and it is not rocket science so read the manual and take a little time to tune your bike up. Happy riding!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradoSky13
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent for Price
6/15/2011

Customer review by Mom00000000000000001

3.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Mom00000000000000001
by Mom00000000000000001

I purchased this bike unassembled, because my husband was impatient. Assembly was not difficult at all, and required a socket set or adjustible wrenches, and allen wrenches. One tire tube blew as soon as we inflated it. It tore the tire a little bit. We replaced the tube, and then the tire developed a large bulge. My husband rode the bike around the block, and the tire deflated. We took the wheel to our local Walmart, and a bike assembler there replaced the tire and tube. We have not had any problems with the tire since then. The bike looks good...the paint is a matte black, and the bike looks mean, which appealed to my husband when he was choosing it. It doesn't seem that comfortable for him to ride, and in fact we had to add a gel cushion to the seat after the first time he rode it, but he's only planning to ride a couple of times a week, and for short distances.

Was this review helpful? (73) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom00000000000000001
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great mountain bike.
8/17/2015

Customer review by NelsonE54

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by NelsonE54
by NelsonE54

I just received this mountain bike as a gift from family members and I have to say that I am very very happy with the bike.The features that this bike has for the price are extremely hard to beat,the bike is comfortable and responds well and the dual suspension is great.I may upgrade to disc brakes in the near future because to me it will be well worth it considering that not very many bikes have all the features that this bike has at such a low price.Be aware that if you purchase this mountain bike to upgrade the brakes to disc brakes you will need a 26" wheelset that is designed for disc brake rotors,you will also need to purchase front and rear adapters to attach the disc brake calipers to the bike plus a disc brake set.I looked up dual suspension mountain bikes with disc brakes and the asking price for those mountain bikes is totally outrageous to say the least.Purchase this mountain bike without any reservations,you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NelsonE54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bang for the buck!! nice bike
6/9/2012

Customer review by IEstinks

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by IEstinks
by IEstinks

first off i am 35 years old 6'1" and weigh about 208lbs,and my 2 daughters like riding there bikes at the park,but were always out running me and getting out of my site,or i had to make them stay close,and that was no fun for any of us,so i decided to go looking for a bike.i have not rode a bike in 20 years!!.i picked this bike up at a local walmart,because i loved everything about it in the store.the flat black color is just cool to me,and was better than the bike i researched,and went there to purchase.i have been riding this bike quite a bit,and the only thing i had to do to it was adjust the rear brakes,and i have had it for over 3 months.i am 100% happy with this purchase.i took it down a massive LONG hill,and i was in the last gear probably almost maxed out in speed,and this thing will fly.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IEstinks
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
More than a year later, for pavement riders
5/8/2013

Customer review by UrbanCommuter2

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by UrbanCommuter2
by UrbanCommuter2

I purchased my Havoc in 4/2012, and posted under "UrbanCommuter". With all original equipment, and all travel in the urban jungle, it was perfect until 6/2012. Got a slow leak in the front after running over a nail, no blow out. I wanted "faster" tires anyway, and knew the tubes were starters. So I got a pair of Hutchinson Acrobat tires to replace the knobby ones. Over the past year, I have noticed that every other non-bike store mountain bike has tires identical to my old ones. Junk. Identical tread patterns! After breaking them in and feeling them out, the Hutchison tires definitely have a lower rolling resistance. I thought that they would be dangerous in rain, but they aren't. Maybe the side nub things help. They definitely help in cornering in dry weather. The tubes were replaced with a solid-core by Bell in the front #can't remember# and extra-thick tubes in the back. I don't use Slime. ever. I might want new wheels. Oh, and when I had the wheels and tires off, I used electrical tape over whatever it was that was used for the spoke holes #on the inside of the wheels of course, and a continuos loop not patchwork#. Old trick. Problem free since June 2012. Enjoy your rides!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UrbanCommuter2
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike for the price !!
3/29/2013

Customer review by PATFIRE

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by PATFIRE
by PATFIRE

Just purchased about 2 hrs ago. Just came back from a test ride about 4 miles. Despite some reviews saying there put together quick etc. Who ever the tech at the Florida City Walmart store is.. they did a great job!! Bike is flawless. Performs perfect. Gears, brakes all smooth. No chain rubbing. Couldnt be happier with this purchase. I bought this bike for leisure riding with my wife. I do not plan taking it on hardcore trails. I will get another bike for that. Frame construction is solid and straight. Seat can adjust high and low. I am 5'10 but a 6' person will fit well with this bike also. Has a good FULL suspension for those of you who may have back issues. Yes its a low price !! Dont let that scare you thinking its cheap. I would say this bike compares with 200-300 dollar bikes. If your reading this review ,,, just go buy one now! Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PATFIRE
HOMESTEAD, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good
2/1/2016

Customer review by Topp

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Topp
by Topp

Fast and cheap bike perfect for a college student

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Get one before it's too popular
5/4/2012

Customer review by UrbanCommuter

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by UrbanCommuter
by UrbanCommuter

First of all, thanks to all that have posted reviews before! It helped to make a final decision... On this one. What struck me dumb most of all was that (for the most part) every problem others encountered was some mistake during assembly. I had to pre-purchase mine in a box because there were none assembled I could look at, or sit on, or test ride. My county (Palm Beach, FL which is the size of Rhode Island) was consistently sold out of them. And we can and do use our bikes 365 days a year. So I guess the guy(s)/girl(s) who put them together here have a lot of experience. So do the buyers of the bikes. The bolt holding my handlebars to the fork is a chromed hex bolt. No Allen Wrench hole. I digress.. I ride it to work (3 miles), or put in on the bus' bike rack every single workday #it rains sometimes#. I can heft it on my right shoulder easily to get it on/off the bus bike rack and carry it up two flights of stairs to my apartment while carrying groceries in a backpack. I am 40, 5'8", male smoker, but basically physically fit. In sum, I adore this bike! I had a more expensive #heavier# Mongoose XR-75 in 2008 with plastic pedals.... Yea, they stink #plastic pedals#. Hello! They are plastic! They break! That's why you buy this bike... get third-party pedals.. I don't wanna have one that's identical to everyone else's! This one is customizable.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UrbanCommuter
1-20 of 334 total reviews
1-20 of 334 reviews