Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 243 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

243 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

243 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
45
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 stars
49
1-20 of 219 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews
Good quality for the price.
4/14/2014

Customer review by IamGar

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by IamGar
by IamGar
Walmart associate

I bought this to use with my Nikon D5100 and I have to say that I am impressed. I love the two bubble levels and the overall construction is nothing surprising. It is good for the money and can't be beat unless you are willing to spend more for something more professional. If you are looking for something for novice to amateur then this is a very good start! I have seen comments about people being afraid that the weight of their camera makes it unstable. On its own, yes, it will be unstable if being used outdoors. The tripod is light so strong wind could cause trouble for it...on its own. However, this tripod has a very nice accessory hook at the bottom of the shaft which is great for adding some weight which will add some stability. I just hook my gadget bag on the bottom and it makes a huge difference! I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamGar
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
carrying handle very handy
10/29/2013

Customer review by ponyboy7833

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by ponyboy7833
by ponyboy7833
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this tripod. It is easy to use, light weight, and comes with a carry bag. My camera fits it, and I store the camera in a bag with the tripod attachment still attached to it. That means I can put the camera on the tripod and lock it into position which is quick and easy. The tripod helps hold the camera still so I don't get so many blurred pictures and I can use the zoom feature on my camera with much better results. I like the carry handle on the tripod, so I can move the camera and tripod around and get different pictures without the fear of dropping the camera or tipping over the tripod. I also liked the fact that buying online saved me money over the same product at the store. I saved about six dollars, and that included shipping directly to my house.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ponyboy7833
willamette valley Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap and does the job quite well.
3/6/2016

Customer review by amateurvideographer

3.0 stars 3/6/2016 by amateurvideographer
by amateurvideographer

This tripod will do the job and will be all thats needed for most of your average consumer/ home user. Especially good for photos. Really great if just setting a camera or recorder in place and not moving. You will get some noise and creaking sounds if using for video and trying to pan around like you're filming a movie, but is ambient noise is loud enough it may get drowned out (i.e. sports event) Is all plastic construction will not handle whole lot of abuse. Has a quick release base that has a little play to it. Overall is your average fair as a tripod and if nothing else is good to have as a spare and for using to hold camera/phone steady for pics.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amateurvideographer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lightweight Tripod
10/19/2011

Customer review by Mopics

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Mopics
by Mopics

This is a great lightweight tripod and works very well. Easy to carry in the supplied nylon case, it has a handle to ease your way to get it into action.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mopics
Longview, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Tripod
7/26/2011

Customer review by Photographyrules

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by Photographyrules
by Photographyrules

No cons. Pros: Very Stable, Secure, NOT CHEAP. THIS IS TOOOOO good for it's pice. Thanks Walmart. Am using this Tripod everyday for my Canon Rebel XS. I would recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (130) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photographyrules
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tripod
7/5/2016

Customer review by Disapointed

1.0 stars 7/5/2016 by Disapointed
by Disapointed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok for cell phone or pocket size point and shoot camera. To flimsy to use for a SLR or camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disapointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the money
3/7/2016

Customer review by Scott

1.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Scott
by Scott

I paid $14 for this tripod. I have realistic expectations and realize this was not going to be an great tripod. That said, I do expect a tripod to serve it's purpose and hold the camera steady. The mount that fastens to the bottom of the camera is not held properly by the cradle, it allows the camera to flop around. All of the joints are extremely low quality plastic. Spend the extra money for a better quality tripod.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scott
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ot a good Tripod
7/28/2014

Customer review by InTheRedzone

1.0 stars 7/28/2014 by InTheRedzone
by InTheRedzone

I'm surprised Targus makes this tripod. If your serious about photography don't bother. Why> Cheap! cheap plastic. the crank to crank up the tripod is plastic. It won't and cannot last. Maybe if your a once in a blue moon photographer it might work for you. And I am sure who wrote their review had not had it too long to say they recommend it. Mine was broken right out of the box. I've had many tripods and this by far is the cheapest I've seen. If it was good and I thought It would hold up I'd get another one. I mean things happen, things are damaged in handling. But I am talking a cheap crank with the broken part. If your into video then you will be using that crank alot. Not a good idea. Otherwise it is very very light weight which is a plus for tripod.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InTheRedzone
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great starter
3/8/2016

Customer review by smokeygirl

4.0 stars 3/8/2016 by smokeygirl
by smokeygirl

The tripod is pretty easy to figure out how to use and meets my needs. I am NOT a professional, but love to take photos and the tripod helps me be steady.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokeygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Camera/camcorder
1/14/2013

Customer review by Lonewolf69

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Lonewolf69
by Lonewolf69
Top 500 contributor

This tripod is not built for professional equipment and is just fine for small digital camera's or small camcorders like the Sony 210 handycam. The product alone meets expectations and comes in really handy. If your going to buy this product then make sure its for non professional equipment ..

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lonewolf69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Good product for online price
6/17/2016

Customer review by guest4677

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by guest4677
by guest4677
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works well for its intended use. It comes with a carrying case as well. It's fine for $18 but it was $28 in store and we had to order it online to get the lower price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guest4677
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HORRIBLE!
8/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is seriously the poorest quality tripod I've ever seen. It says "fluid" head, but I think someone at the factory forgot to actually add the fluid. There's about 10º of play in the head when panning horizontally, and then when it finally catches it's so stiff you have to hold onto the tripod base to prevent moving the whole thing. If you tighten it up enough to remove the play, it's too tight to move without pulling hard enough to move the whole thing, which kind of negates the purpose of a fluid head. It's so flimsy I wouldn't trust my camera on it. I'd be afraid the whole thing would collapse. Not sure what I was expecting for $28 (I bought it in store, where it's nearly 50% more expensive than online), but it certainly wasn't this. The tabletop tripod I bought at the dollar store is more durable. I'm returning it on principle even though it'll cost me nearly as much in gas to bring it back as the thing cost.

Was this review helpful? (12) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Son uses all the time
3/26/2016

Customer review by chartown

4.0 stars 3/26/2016 by chartown
by chartown

I got this for my son to put his iPhone on so he could record for you tube or record while he is metal detecting. It holds the phone very well and he is able to keep his hands free while doing other things.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chartown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Head flimsy and impossible to level
10/31/2015

Customer review by Noah

1.0 stars 10/31/2015 by Noah
by Noah

There is nothing to support the tripod head from below, it's only attached on the left at the tilt knob. So when your camera is mounted, or you push the shutter, it flexes like crazy! With a light point-and-shoot camera it's tilted slightly--maybe you can live with it--but with an SLR forget it, it's angled several degrees. The tilt knob has presets so you cannot make a fine adjustment to make it level. Panning is smooth & the tripod is very light, but you can't get a straight shot because of the bad head design. The Polaroid 72" tripod Walmart sells is only a few dollars more and is MUCH better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noah
Would recommend to a friend? No
It will hold up your camera.
5/26/2014

Customer review by AE1Program

4.0 stars 5/26/2014 by AE1Program
by AE1Program

I got the TGT-BK58T to hold up my Nikon Coolpix S3600 for using its panorama assist mode and for stabilizing the camera during tightly zoomed shots. It works great for that, although a dinky point-and-shoot looks a little silly on a big old tripod. Then I got back into film with an AE-1 Program and suddenly was much gladder I'd bought this tripod. It holds up the film SLR pretty well, whether flat or on an angle. I found this to be quite beneficial when shooting waterfalls recently, since I got the steady support I needed in a fairly lightweight package that was easy to carry on a day hike. I love the quick-release plate and wish I could buy a couple of extra ones. The carrying handle is very handy as is the accessory hanger on the bottom; if you're on location and need to weigh down your camera for long exposures, this is where you hang your weight. (Quick tip: tie a length of paracord to a rock and use that if you don't have any beanbags.) I like the black paint job that makes this tripod look more expensive than it is, and more professional too. For about $30 I don't think you'd find much better a tripod to put your lighter-weight cameras on; if you're shooting something heavy enough to need a heftier tripod, chances are you can afford it. One kvetch I have with this particular tripod is that it's rather long and hence fairly tricky to carry in a backpack. That only matters if you have to hike out to your location and carry it with you; there are smaller, lighter tripods but the good ones are more expensive than this one. I've been on several hikes with this tripod and have yet to find a good way of mounting it to my backpack; perhaps I just need to suck it up and continue experimenting.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AE1Program
Knoxville, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Targus 58" Camera and Camcorder Tripod, TGT-BK58T
4/4/2016

Customer review by Zigamix

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Zigamix
by Zigamix

Its a good one Targus 58" Camera and Camcorder Tripod, TGT-BK58T

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zigamix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small light tripod for travel
5/24/2016

Customer review by Tinker

3.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Tinker
by Tinker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you have no other choice, it's use able. For the price , it's sturdy enough for a light camera, or smartphone, nothing else. It's better than nothing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tinker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tripod for my needs!
3/10/2013

Customer review by kesa76

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by kesa76
by kesa76
Top 250 contributor

This tripod has met all my needs for taking pics of my family, kids sporting events, and other photography sessions. It is very light weight and I love the handle as it makes it easy to carry the tripod and camera around during a picture session. This tripod is sturdy enough for normal everyday use; Of course it isn't meant for rugged outdoor use or heavy weight cameras. My camera weighs about 2 lbs. I have had no issues with the tripod holding it while using it for different angles. As long as you tighten the knobs appropriately it should hold the camera just fine. I have had no blurred or shaky images when pressing the button for pictures as I make sure everything is secure before doing so and it usually holds well. However, I wouldn't recommend using this tripod for cameras with long extended lenses, lens attachments or that weigh more than 4 lbs. The legs of this tripod extend to bring it up to a good height and then you can crank the head of tripod up an additional foot. The handle that you pan the camera with loosens and tightens to allow vertical movement of the camera, there is a knob that allows for side to side (panning), and one for angled shots up to 90 degrees. The quick release plate has a screw in it and a small knob on the underside that allows you to screw it to your camera. The tripod is equipped with 2 bubble levels. There is also a hook underneath the tripod for hanging your camera bag or tripod case while taking pictures. This tripod fits my needs perfectly so that is the reason I gave it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kesa76
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 250 contributor
Works well, needs better carrying case
7/12/2014

Customer review by WatchingoverUs

4.0 stars 7/12/2014 by WatchingoverUs
by WatchingoverUs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tripod works very good but the carrying case zipper closure broke the first time I used it. There is no fixing it. It also fits so tightly in there that there is no room for anything extra such as an extension cord, etc. Overall, I am pleased with the product and it has served me well. I may have to make my own carrying case though......

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WatchingoverUs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good tripod for the price
8/17/2011

Customer review by Abe50

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by Abe50
by Abe50

Ordered the tripod online after looking at it at the local Wal-Mart. Found it to be almost $10 cheaper online. Only problem I have with the tripod is, with the camera zoomed for distant photos, there is some shake and blured pictures, but that's easy to over come buy using the cameras self timer. Good quality for the price.

Was this review helpful? (54) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abe50
East TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews