Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 5 out of 5

5.0 stars

23 reviews | 5 out of 5

5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Classic Marx with an updated twist
5/4/2011

Customer review by marxychick1

5.0 stars by marxychick1

Anyone who's a fan of Richard Marx's past work may look at the track listing of Stories To Tell and think there isn't much new being offered. They'd be wrong. The recordings are new, updated & fresh. Marx's voice has matured considerably since the debut of "Don't Mean Nothing" in 1987 and this collection showcases it spectacularly. Plus, there's the concert DVD which is AMAZING! Beautifully shot, wonderful performance, intimate setting.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
marxychick1
Dodge City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy This CD!
5/10/2011

Customer review by GTSkier

5.0 stars by GTSkier

If you liked anything Richard Marx has ever done, you have to buy this CD. The "Stories To Tell" CD #1 is a wonderful solo acoustic that is similar to what he does in live solo shows but with better production values (studio not stage). The second CD is "Richard Marx Greatest Hits", all new recordings. Some are very close to the originals, others have considerable changes,all are great. The third disc is a DVD of a semi-solo acoustic concert and shows off his good nature and ease with the audience. For $11.88 you can't go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GTSkier
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome CD For the Price Great Acoustic Show
5/28/2011

Customer review by JaneandEnrique

5.0 stars by JaneandEnrique

Great Cd The Family REALLY enjoyed the DVD:)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JaneandEnrique
Brooklyn,New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great music set
5/26/2011

Customer review by lakegirl68

5.0 stars by lakegirl68

I bought this expecting one of the cds to be the orginal recordings that I was familar with. I was surprised to learn I actually like these versions better. Its amazing that his voice still sounds the same. This has become my favorite to listen to, if you are a Richard Marx fan you will love this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lakegirl68
randleman,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/3/2011

Customer review by RMfanforever

5.0 stars by RMfanforever

I have to say absolutely love this as have a previous version and all of Richard's CD's to this point. You can't go wrong getting this CD and to boot having the DVD of one of his shows from where it is as well is also great. This is a must have to anyone's collection.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RMfanforever
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't get any better than this!
6/7/2011

Customer review by Caseytu

5.0 stars by Caseytu

Wow! I went out and bought the new 'Stories to Tell' set this afternoon. Have just finished watching the DVD and am so impressed I haven't even opened the CD's yet but had to write a reivew. I was in awe of Richard's performance and how he so easily engaged the audience when he asked. And then going off stage to play to the crowd! I found myself grinning because I felt he was actually inviting ME into that audience. All I can say is I'm going right now to find out if I can get airline tickets to the nearest location on his tour this year. Then I'm going to put on the CD's. I've read the other reviews. I know I won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Caseytu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Richard Marx "Stories To Tell" 3 dvd pack
5/16/2011

Customer review by skyee

5.0 stars by skyee

It's everything that Mr Marxs has ever done, including his material done in Accoustic which most have never heard before, I absolutely love it, and he's included a dvd of him in Concert..if you are a Richard Marx Fan this is for you, you won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
skyee
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
well worth every penny!
6/6/2011

Customer review by lethal1231

5.0 stars by lethal1231

Richard at his best - literally! Great mix of songs, really liked hearing some new arrangements! Loved the DVD also, nice to be able to "be there" as you listen! A must for any Richard Marx fan!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lethal1231
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Stories To Tell
5/17/2011

Customer review by tate31

5.0 stars by tate31

Great cd and dvd worth the money and wonderful listning Buy it ....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tate31
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
So Great!
6/10/2011

Customer review by FBTAINTED

5.0 stars by FBTAINTED

This is such an amazing album. The classics are re-recorded, most have a stripped down acoustic version and a new full band version. It just goes to show that a good song and voice come through regardless of the production. The DVD is great because it is just Richard with a guitar and piano, and occasional string quartet. It really feels like your there seeing a live sho.w in person. Especially love the new songs and his version of "This I Promise You".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FBTAINTED
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
A Wonderful Greatest Hits and Concert DVD Package
6/17/2011

Customer review by candy156sweet

5.0 stars by candy156sweet

When I first decided to purchase Stories to Tell, I have to admit that I was a tad nervous about the album containing only one new track. When You Loved Me, the new track on the album, is a fresh, uptempo pop song, which is Marx's signature and was released prior to the three-disc set. I was hoping for that updated sound directed toward the rest of the album, and I was not disappointed at all. When it came to the acoustic disc, Marx stripped down and breathed new life into songs like This I Promise You and Over My Head. The intimate sound definitely came through in the production and every song seemed new to me. On the second disc, which was the Best of Richard Marx, he took care to put different angles on his most popular songs, but kept the timeless aspects that hooked his fans within the 80's and 90's. Songs such as Hold on to the Nights and Too Late to Say Goodbye still had the feel that made them famous way back when, and Satisfied has a Modern Rock twist that makes a great rock song even better. Every timeless track has its new stamp. After listening to both discs, I viewed the Shepherd's Bush Live DVD. I had never seen the Stories to Tell concerts or any of his acoustic shows, other than the Duo shows with Matt Scannell from Vertical Horizon, so this was a definite treat. You can hear the energy of the crowd and you can tell how much Richard Marx still enjoys performing on stage. His voice is still as powerful today as it was when I saw him in 1988 and this entire DVD has wonderful songs such as the moving Through My Veins and Everybody, the hit song written for country singer Keith Urban. Marx also plays his timeless hits and shares his witty banter with his audience, and the crowd definitely responds. Definitely was a way to reminisce about the concerts I've seen and the string quartet was a great touch to the show. This was definitely worth the money and the time to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
candy156sweet
Brick, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Forgotten how talented he is.
10/14/2011

Customer review by Malyssia

5.0 stars by Malyssia

Went to the recent concert in Ashland Ky. Richard Marx was amazing. He sung new and older songs, and all were amazing. I couldn't wait to get the new CD. It was totally unexpected to get two CD's and one DVD all in one package for the low price that I paid for it. Love love love it !!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Malyssia
Ashland, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you're a Richard Marx fan get this!
1/8/2012

Customer review by Cyprusqt

5.0 stars by Cyprusqt

Wonderful music & a bonus DVD, this is a great value for the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cyprusqt
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Still super sexy voice!
12/8/2014

Customer review by mustangsally1965

5.0 stars by mustangsally1965

Great mix of new and old songs. Love him!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mustangsally1965
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/28/2011

Customer review by RichardMarxfan

5.0 stars by RichardMarxfan

All the songs you loved in a fresh new way! One CD has the original version of the songs and the other CD has a different more modern version. Have not watched the DVD in concert yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RichardMarxfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/7/2011

Customer review by kittrd

5.0 stars by kittrd

Richard Marx Stories To Tell (3 Disc Set) is great. Service was fast & it was packed well. Very happy with the total experience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kittrd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Richard Marx collection
10/29/2011

Customer review by sr200179

5.0 stars by sr200179

I normally don't buy CD's anymore but I could pass up this Richard Marx collection. He still has that great voice. I was in love with him when I was a young teen. I'm 32, now. I used to dream of running my fingers through all that hair. This is a CD all generations of music lovers can enjoy This is a can't pass up deal 3 - DISC Set ...Just a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sr200179
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Musician
12/14/2011

Customer review by Imapapa5x

5.0 stars by Imapapa5x

How wonderful to have all of Richard's hits including a DVD of his performing them. All I have to say is if you are a fan of Richard Marx you will not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Imapapa5x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This is GREAT music!!!!!
10/26/2012

Customer review by bsh70661

5.0 stars by bsh70661

Obvious why Richard has sold more tunes than there are grains of sand...next is his Christmas album..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bsh70661
holiday Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.