Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

164 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
22
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
24
1-20 of 156 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews
No replacement lid
1/15/2017

Customer review by Very frustrated

1.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Very frustrated
by Very frustrated

After enjoying it. The lid was lost after a wind storm. Tried to get a replacement lid but could not. Now I have to buy a whole new unit. Very frustrated!

Very frustrated
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
No lid replacement available!
12/30/2016

Customer review by kino

1.0 stars 12/30/2016 by kino
by kino

After 1 year of using the lid was lost (the most possible reason is pretty strong wind after garbage team left 'em on the ground). Ther is no replacement of this lid available! It is ridiculuois!

kino
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Trash for Trash
12/6/2016

Customer review by BeachBum927

2.0 stars 12/6/2016 by BeachBum927
by BeachBum927

I purchased this trash can in March of 2016 and here it is December of 2016. I paid more thinking I would get more (longer) than the much cheaper can and surprise not even a year, but yet they say 10 year limited warranty. Well, the entire side cracked from the bottom to the middle of the can in multi places. Kept the label and receipt, took it back to the store and forget that no way would they take it back but, yet they sure took my money for it so the garbage guys get another trash can to put in the landfill.

BeachBum927
Homosassa, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
durable
11/20/2016

Customer review by VAHuntress

5.0 stars 11/20/2016 by VAHuntress
by VAHuntress

I bought my Rubermaid roughneck 50 gal about 7 years ago and the garbage men have taken it thru the ringer - the lid has now split in 1/2. It has withstand many harse winter and I've never had it to leak from rain whereas I keep them outside 24/7. I was not sold on the price when purchased but I am now. Great product in my opinion.

VAHuntress
Springfiled, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Weak handle tears easily Do not buy this model!
7/25/2014

Customer review by DS4885

1.0 stars 7/25/2014 by DS4885
by DS4885

I purchased one of these from My local Ace Hardware store a year ago. Trying to support the local store versus buying from Walmart. The handle design is bad and the normal abuse caused by the trashmen has caused the handle to tear and now that tear is continuing down the side of the can. The receipt that Ace hardware gives fades out after about a month, and when I went to the Ace Store for support I received none and was told I had to deal with Rubbermaid on line. (Try to find a phone number to contact them, good luck.) I have learned my lesson. My next trash can purchase will be from Home Depot. Home Depot Emails me my receipts so they are easily accessable even years later (providing i don't mistakenly delete them) This trash can would get a Zero if I was allowed to rate it that low. So word to the wise: 1 Don't buy this model 2 Don't expect much support from Rubbermaid if you have a problem

DS4885
Winter Park FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good Can, Bad Lid
12/4/2010

Customer review by Gprez

1.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Gprez
by Gprez

I purchased two of these 50 gal cans based on the performance and durability of an identical can that was already at the home that I purchased three years ago. Four or five months later one of the new can lids lost a chunk from the corner and I thought that is was from rough handling by the rubbish guys until the other lid started cracking as well. Now as the weather is getting colder the lids are basically disintegrating. To my surprise the can that was already here when I purchased my home is fine, which tells me that something has changed recently with the quality of this product. I am now franticly searching for the receipt, but I fear that I will be just stuck with two trash cans with no lids, because I doubt I will get any help from Rubbermaid without it. I wanted to like this product because of its wheels, size and the fact that the lids could be removed completely by the rubbish men to minimize damage while emptying into the truck. I have always trusted Rubbermaid products in the past, and was going to purchase an additional can for my compost, but I am very disappointed with the lids for this trash can.

Gprez
Taylor,MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent Roll-Around Trash Can
1/28/2009

Customer review by Cinderella

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by Cinderella
by Cinderella

I have had this can for 5-6 years. I had to get a new lid for it just recently because our old lid just bit the dust. But, I highly recommend this can to anyone who likes a roll-around trash can. It is the perfect size, weight, height and balance. The wheels and axle are still in very good condition. I will say I screwed a plywood bottom inside the can by attaching screws from the outside bottom of the can and into plywood because my can cracked in several places in the bottom due to the gentle care our garbage collectors give our cans. Nevertheless, I will not part with it until it falls completely apart. I then will buy a new one just like it. In fact I am about to purchase one for my daughter who lives just down the street from us. We use a lot of Rubbermaid products in our home and believe in their products. Thanks Rubbermaid.

Cinderella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LIDS
7/13/2016

Customer review by shell52

2.0 stars 7/13/2016 by shell52
by shell52

I bought of these trash cans that aren't cheap. The lids don't last and you can't get replacement lids. Think twice before you buy it. I like the cans but I will look for different brand and see if there is replacement lids before buying.

shell52
Woodstock, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great product / great customer service
6/17/2016

Customer review by momma nurse

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by momma nurse
by momma nurse

I needed a replacement cover and called customer service in less than 5 minutes there is one in the mail for me coming in 5 days ! no problem no complaints

momma nurse
NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
almost 20 years old
5/1/2016

Customer review by joe m

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by joe m
by joe m

RE: 50 Gal Roughneck Wheeled Trash Can We purchased these with the construction of our 1st house in Oct of 1998. What a great product...Three houses later-they have survived PA winters and MO summers. The have been abused by movers, trash collectors, our kids and us. This year the lids finally began to fail. They have alway been kept outside too. Thanks for a great product...we will replace them with two more shortly.

joe m
St. Louis County, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
more breaks at corners
1/8/2012

Customer review by bummer

2.0 stars 1/8/2012 by bummer
by bummer

biggest problem with this is that it does not stand up to basic household use. Unfortunately, I did not save the receipt, so a couple years of use and the 10 yr warranty is of no use. The problem is that the can breaks apart at the bottom corners just like in photos posted by others, so I'll forego posting another picture. Yep, the trash guys are probably harder on the container than I am, but, that is why I purchased a Roughneck. We do not live in an area of harsh temps, so I doubt that is th problem, just not built to withstand much use. Too bad. No receipt = No help from Rubbermaid. So, I'll buy a different brand and hope for a better product.

bummer
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good can if you can keep the wheels on
5/22/2013

Customer review by Lisaw1963

3.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Lisaw1963
by Lisaw1963

The size of it is great. I have had this can for 2 weeks, the wheel fell off when the garbage guys picked up the garbage.... Guess where the wheel is now..... Yep in the garbage truck. Have to somehow get a wheel for it. The can is no good to me with out the wheel, have to drag the can too far. So, I am seeing if I can get one here..... So, I would recommend that if you buy this can, Secure the wheels somehow before using the can. I am going to glue the wheels onto the rod with rubber cement or gorilla glue once I get a replacement wheel. Spent enough money on this can, don't want to throw it away after 2 weeks.

Lisaw1963
Franklin, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
outside trash can
5/25/2011

Customer review by countrygirl8933

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by countrygirl8933
by countrygirl8933

I like this trash can I can wheel it down the driveway with ease!! However sometimes the can wants to flip on me mostly in the winter time.. and I might be tough all right.. but when the trash men throw it all the time it does break I just had to duct tape the bottom front because it is cracked.. :-( So I think it would be a great idea to come up with a trash can they can't destroy.. :-) I pay good money for these rubber maid trash cans and to have the trashmen destroy it is unreal.. don't even say well then they should replace it that is a joke HAHAHA tried that... but over all I like it.. thanks so much.

countrygirl8933
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Replcement covers are not available!
5/3/2016

Customer review by Pitt

1.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Pitt
by Pitt

I want to buy a replacement cover, but they don't sell them. I'll never buy another Rubbermaid trash can again!

Pitt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not Long Lasting
4/3/2011

Customer review by DolphinGirl

3.0 stars 4/3/2011 by DolphinGirl
by DolphinGirl

I am on my third trash can. I love the Rubbermaid brand which is why I keep coming back but if the quality does not improve soon I will have to switch to another brand. Each time I buy this can not only does the top break but at the top where the handle is the can starts to fall apart! This is very frustrating to say the least. At first I thought that maybe it was me and the way I was using the can but after the second one did the exact same thing as the first one I knew that it was a defect. I will be contacting customer service about this because I can not be the only person to have this problem.

DolphinGirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Very good product
7/2/2014

Customer review by 35Whiskey

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by 35Whiskey
by 35Whiskey

I bought 6 of the 50 gal. wheeled trash cans 6 or 7 years ago. I'm now down to 2 with busted tops. Considering that they have survived multiple ice, hail, and 70+ mph wind storms, not to mention -20 degree temps for days, that's not too bad. Handling during the -20 degree weather accounted for 2 of them. An 18 wheeler got one. A car got one of the tops. I don't know, but I think the trash truck got the other top. Nothing Rubbermaid could have done to prevent any of that. My metal cans never survived the 2 year mark. Now I need to go buy 4 new cans and hopefully can order 2 lids from Rubbermaid.

35Whiskey
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Must Be Stronger
10/19/2009

Customer review by sunny1daze

2.0 stars 10/19/2009 by sunny1daze
by sunny1daze

While I have to admit this trash can has proven to be stronger than most cans I have used over 7 decades, for some strange reason I still expect it to survive the rough treatment that trash men met out to these containers. It was not shatter-proof as within a couple months it already cracked and torn the top handle area from the pliable sides. Build one that will out-live me and I'll recommend it favorably. Back to the drawing borad, and Better luck next time. Also, bring back the dinnerware plates, cups and bowls, they have lasted and are great, would like to buy more!

sunny1daze
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pop My Lid
4/8/2013

Customer review by TexNY

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by TexNY
by TexNY

Purchased this item based on the reputation of Rubbermaid from my local Ace Hardware. The lids are difficult to remove although this is probably by design so that they don't come off easily. Unfortunately the lids have all cracked in less than one year. Using a lot of glue and tape but nothing will keep them from falling apart. While not the end of the world usually I have garbage cans for 10 or 15 years after the elements, critters & garbage men have done their best to destroy them. I will be calling Rubbermaid and hopefully they will offer a reasonable solution.

TexNY
Commack, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Quality and top customer service
3/7/2016

Customer review by Brooklyn John

5.0 stars 3/7/2016 by Brooklyn John
by Brooklyn John

My 2 roughnecks are great. They have survived about 7 years through some rough weather and use. I am so pleased that when the covers began cracking, a rep from Rubbermaid new exactly the model and is sending me 2 new covers complimentary. Thank you rubbermaid.....

Brooklyn John
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
fits in area
4/2/2016

Customer review by LEON mac

1.0 stars 4/2/2016 by LEON mac
by LEON mac

fits in area but cover is a busted up and i can not buy another cover.

LEON mac
WISCONSIN DELLS, WIS.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1-20 of 156 reviews