Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

120 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

120 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
16
3 stars
16
2 stars
13
1 stars
18
1-20 of 112 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.
5/29/2011

Customer review by virtualgirl

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by virtualgirl
by virtualgirl

I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (71) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
virtualgirl
Northern Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/15/2012

Customer review by WalmartCzarina

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by WalmartCzarina
by WalmartCzarina

Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartCzarina
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great strong trash can
9/5/2011

Customer review by cmadness

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by cmadness
by cmadness

I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmadness
Springfield Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/5/2011

Customer review by jedthro

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by jedthro
by jedthro

this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jedthro
shamokin pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nicely made!
10/26/2013

Customer review by Retta

4.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Retta
by Retta

I went to the store to pick this trash can up. While I was waiting, the young man came out with a trash can. I did not realize it was Mine. It was bigger than I thought and has a pretty good heavyness to it. The only thing I did not know; the lid is not hinged. That was my fault because I didn't read the entire description. It has to "hand locks" on either side so the top stays on tightly.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retta
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rough and tough, lasts for years
10/14/2011

Customer review by ifihadahifi

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by ifihadahifi
by ifihadahifi

This square shaped cylinder trash can handles almost anything you can throw in it and the price is very reasonable. Our recent purchase was a replacement unit for the eight year old can which finally broke after repeated dropping and banging by the waste collectors.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ifihadahifi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The shape makes it a winner.
3/13/2014

Customer review by ICYSILVER

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by ICYSILVER
by ICYSILVER

We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ICYSILVER
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasted about seven years
1/20/2012

Customer review by ReviewBot5000

3.0 stars 1/20/2012 by ReviewBot5000
by ReviewBot5000

I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewBot5000
The Lap Of Luxury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Well worth the cost for as long as it lasted.
7/19/2012

Customer review by GoodOldPop

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by GoodOldPop
by GoodOldPop

The trash can I have now, I have used for 8 years. The lid and backside near the handle has finally split from being sun baked and frozen. I am replacing this one with another, just the same as the first. Like them best when the wind blows hard and it falls over...won't roll away like my round one does. Clean it with high pressure washer and Lysol spray. Use Amorall on the lid and it lasts longer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodOldPop
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great trashcan, great price, a smart buy
7/31/2012

Customer review by LizzyMcN

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by LizzyMcN
by LizzyMcN

We had to replace our 8 year old trashcan and were thrilled the same one was still available. The trash collectors are not dainty with these cans, and neither are racoons, but the quality of this product gives long life and your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LizzyMcN
Cicero ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Trash Bin!
12/13/2011

Customer review by DMOS

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by DMOS
by DMOS

Excellent!! I was nervous about purchasing this trash bin from walmart but my husband and I had to get something since we just moved in a new house. We have no problems with it so far and it's so easy to use without dragging or struggling or anything with it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMOS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good can-horrible lids
1/18/2012

Customer review by VTborn

3.0 stars 1/18/2012 by VTborn
by VTborn

We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VTborn
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for every household at a great price.
10/8/2012

Customer review by ChickadeefromFlorida

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by ChickadeefromFlorida
by ChickadeefromFlorida

We have had this trash can since 2005 and it has been great. Even with the roughness of the garage men (you gotta love em when you're climbing down in that ditch to retrieve your lid# the lid only recently started cracking. Because the can is in such great shape, I started researching getting a replacement lid. It was going to cost me $11 from the company but because it was my first time calling, they are shipping me a lid at no cost #this time only). I love the trash can but now I am very fond of Rubbermaid all the way around. I love a company that has integrity. Seems harder and harder to find now-a-days...

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChickadeefromFlorida
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Still made in the USA!!
7/22/2013

Customer review by Rocky719

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Rocky719
by Rocky719

I loved that this product is still made in the USA and when I had an issue with the top of can cracking they stood behind their product and replaced it. I will always buy Rubbermaid!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rocky719
Monroe, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for the Money
5/17/2012

Customer review by BecTheMom

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by BecTheMom
by BecTheMom

This can is sturdy and the top is secure to assist in containing odor and repelling invaders (roaches, rats, bears, tigers, etc.) It is exactly what we needed. Our family produces 2-3 kitchen-sized bags of garbage a week and this can easily hold them. The wheels make it an easy trip down to the curb, no matter how heavy the contents. We'll see how it holds up long term, but so far no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BecTheMom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well built, decent price.
6/9/2014

Customer review by bigkahuna1019

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by bigkahuna1019
by bigkahuna1019

Finally a garbage can the neighbor's cat can't get into.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigkahuna1019
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great at first and then...
11/24/2012

Customer review by DeepBass

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by DeepBass
by DeepBass

I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeepBass
Newport Richey FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/19/2012

Customer review by 10customer

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by 10customer
by 10customer

These trash cans are the sturdiest we have ever seen. We have a very large yard and use them to place pruning and yard debris. The trash workers rough them up and just throw them down when they empty them and they still hold up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10customer
Central Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent choice
4/22/2012

Customer review by FrugalKen

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by FrugalKen
by FrugalKen

very sturdy and well made - expect it to last a long time; large capacity; lid is not permanently attached - I looked for this feature because I do not put the lid on when trash it picked-up - trash collectors are careless and drop them in the street where they get run over;

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalKen
Lancaster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Durable and all weather
12/28/2014

Customer review by ThriftStoreGal

5.0 stars 12/28/2014 by ThriftStoreGal
by ThriftStoreGal

I've had mine for 6 years now, and I'm just now needing a replacement. It has lasted though all kind of extreme weather from snow and freezing cold to extreme hot weather. Lid and wheels are still in tact and working. I didn't think it would last the first year because of how the garbage collectors through it each week when they empty it...but it's still here and still doing it's job. Now the bottom has cracks in it, and I'm going to get a replacement. At the price....it's a bargain!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThriftStoreGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews