Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

175 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
26
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
27
1-20 of 167 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
Fragile Lid
2/16/2011

Customer review by Bimbie

3.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Bimbie
by Bimbie

I love the size of this garbage can and the ease of transporting it to the curb with the wheels and large handle. However, the lid cracked within the first two weeks where the handle is molded to allow for easy opening. Now that winter has set in the crack is across the entire lid. I would love to continue to utilize this can if there were a replacement lid.

Bimbie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lids Are Junk
4/24/2011

Customer review by recknmb

1.0 stars 4/24/2011 by recknmb
by recknmb

I have used a set of four 45 gallon trash cans from rubber maid for more than 10 years. They took a lot of abuse from rolling up and down a 500' gravel drive way. I purchased 5 of the 50 gallon industrial and 4 out of the 5 have broken lids. They do not hold up when the temp drops below 0 deg F. i would not recommend these trash cans if you live in a location where the temp drops below 0 F.

recknmb
Dayton, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Hang on to your receipt!!!!!
2/18/2011

Customer review by jukin

1.0 stars 2/18/2011 by jukin
by jukin

Purchased for lifetime warranty Well after a year the bottom cracked and I need to purchase a new can!!! I was hoping for longer life but it's junk

jukin
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Outdoor garbage can
11/20/2016

Customer review by Nana

4.0 stars 11/20/2016 by Nana
by Nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good product and well worth the price which was very good. The only thing that would make it better is if the lid was attached to the can in some way. It is removable and falls to the ground every time I open it to throw more garbage in. That doesn't take away from the function of the can or the fact that it was reasonably priced but it is a little inconvenient. Good, strong, and large garbage can with wheels that make it very easy to move even when loaded with garbage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasted about seven years
1/20/2012

Customer review by ReviewBot5000

3.0 stars 1/20/2012 by ReviewBot5000
by ReviewBot5000

I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewBot5000
The Lap Of Luxury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:Longer than one year
Great strong trash can
9/5/2011

Customer review by cmadness

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by cmadness
by cmadness

I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.

Was this review helpful? (64) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmadness
Springfield Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
6/15/2012

Customer review by WalmartCzarina

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by WalmartCzarina
by WalmartCzarina

Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.

Was this review helpful? (94) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartCzarina
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Best trash can ever , except the lid
5/4/2017

Customer review by Damion

4.0 stars 5/4/2017 by Damion
by Damion

Bought can 13yrs ago , the can and wheels look as good as the day I bought it , just wish the lid had the same durability as the can . yes the can is outside all yr round , weather beats it up , but the lid . how can u make a product and still sell them without buying a replacement lid. What 5 bucks for a lid , looks like with the complaints about lids ur still making money.

Damion
Bairdford ,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.
5/29/2011

Customer review by virtualgirl

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by virtualgirl
by virtualgirl

I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (81) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
virtualgirl
Northern Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
The shape makes it a winner.
3/13/2014

Customer review by ICYSILVER

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by ICYSILVER
by ICYSILVER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ICYSILVER
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't even last 6 months
4/20/2017

Customer review by lmhilly

1.0 stars 4/20/2017 by lmhilly
by lmhilly

Didn't even last 6 months before it was busted around the bottom. Now at 11 months it's totally broke at the bottom, big hole!! Roughneck, it is not. The $10 Trashmaster 32-Gallon garbage can I bought at the same time held up better, no holes in it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmhilly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great trashcan, great price, a smart buy
7/31/2012

Customer review by LizzyMcN

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by LizzyMcN
by LizzyMcN

We had to replace our 8 year old trashcan and were thrilled the same one was still available. The trash collectors are not dainty with these cans, and neither are racoons, but the quality of this product gives long life and your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizzyMcN
Cicero ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
It's cheap, resistant, and has great cpacity.
7/18/2016

Customer review by Angie

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Angie
by Angie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I sue it as a storage for things such us blankets and towels. They are easy to move from one place to another one because of the wheels, specially for people like me who are renting and need to move. The only thing I didn't like is that I was going to buy at least three more, but the containers didn't have the lids, even the new arrivals (and it's not the first time); The store should be more careful with this things.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/5/2011

Customer review by jedthro

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by jedthro
by jedthro

this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid

Was this review helpful? (50) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jedthro
shamokin pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:45 - 54
need new lids
4/27/2017

Customer review by bob 60

4.0 stars 4/27/2017 by bob 60
by bob 60

I bought 3 of these cans they work well but all 3 cans have holes in the lids. cannot buy new lids.this is extremely frustrating !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bob 60
oakland nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great at first and then...
11/24/2012

Customer review by DeepBass

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by DeepBass
by DeepBass

I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeepBass
Newport Richey FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
A great can for residential use
1/28/2017

Customer review by VJKPA

5.0 stars 1/28/2017 by VJKPA
by VJKPA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I moved to my current home in PA, one of these cans was here. It had a split in the bottom. I used it for 3 years and the split never increased in size. Finally, I decided it was time to buy a new one. The wheels are sturdy and I love that a 55 gallon trash can liner fits snug. Out trash hauler is very gentle with the cans so I cannot say how it would hold up if the hauler just tosses the can to the curb.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VJKPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good can-horrible lids
1/18/2012

Customer review by VTborn

3.0 stars 1/18/2012 by VTborn
by VTborn

We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VTborn
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Awesome Cans / Awful Lids
2/18/2017

Customer review by RayRay

4.0 stars 2/18/2017 by RayRay
by RayRay

I bought 4 of these cans about 7 years ago, one was stolen immediately and the other 3 were good for about 2 years until the lids just began to deteriorate and split apart. I put them in storage as they were useless without lids. I bought several different brands over the years that were complete failures. Two weeks ago I purchased another 50gal Roughneck and that's when I noticed the 10 year warranty and realized that new lids are available through Rubbermaid. Of course I don't have the receipt for the original 4 purchased, but I will be ordering new lids for them. After reading the reviews, I would think Rubbermaid would have a recall on these lids to replace with a different material. The cans are awesome, but the lids just don't hold up.

RayRay
Mandeville, LA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lids
3/25/2017

Customer review by Bubba 1234

5.0 stars 3/25/2017 by Bubba 1234
by Bubba 1234

I bought 2 of these, the newest one, the lid is coming apart around the edge, the lip is peeling off. we use them for feed storage for chicken pellets and sweet feed for our horse. That is the only complaint. The oldest one is over 8 1/2 years old and doing great. Just wish you all would offer replacement lids without having to buy a new can.

Bubba 1234
Meadville, MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews