Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
16
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 stars
19
1-20 of 119 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
Good
2/6/2016

Customer review by Piry

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Piry
by Piry

Good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Piry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great strong trash can
9/5/2011

Customer review by cmadness

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by cmadness
by cmadness

I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmadness
Springfield Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/15/2012

Customer review by WalmartCzarina

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by WalmartCzarina
by WalmartCzarina

Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.

Was this review helpful? (69) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartCzarina
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lasted about seven years
1/20/2012

Customer review by ReviewBot5000

3.0 stars 1/20/2012 by ReviewBot5000
by ReviewBot5000

I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewBot5000
The Lap Of Luxury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.
5/29/2011

Customer review by virtualgirl

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by virtualgirl
by virtualgirl

I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (77) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
virtualgirl
Northern Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The shape makes it a winner.
3/13/2014

Customer review by ICYSILVER

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by ICYSILVER
by ICYSILVER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ICYSILVER
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/5/2011

Customer review by jedthro

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by jedthro
by jedthro

this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jedthro
shamokin pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
50 gallon roughneck trash can
12/23/2015

Customer review by Upset from Indiana

3.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Upset from Indiana
by Upset from Indiana

The trash can I'd great but the lid shattered within a few months. Can't find replacement lid.

Upset from Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great trashcan, great price, a smart buy
7/31/2012

Customer review by LizzyMcN

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by LizzyMcN
by LizzyMcN

We had to replace our 8 year old trashcan and were thrilled the same one was still available. The trash collectors are not dainty with these cans, and neither are racoons, but the quality of this product gives long life and your money's worth.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LizzyMcN
Cicero ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nicely made!
10/26/2013

Customer review by Retta

4.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Retta
by Retta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I went to the store to pick this trash can up. While I was waiting, the young man came out with a trash can. I did not realize it was Mine. It was bigger than I thought and has a pretty good heavyness to it. The only thing I did not know; the lid is not hinged. That was my fault because I didn't read the entire description. It has to "hand locks" on either side so the top stays on tightly.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retta
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great at first and then...
11/24/2012

Customer review by DeepBass

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by DeepBass
by DeepBass

I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeepBass
Newport Richey FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rough and tough, lasts for years
10/14/2011

Customer review by ifihadahifi

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by ifihadahifi
by ifihadahifi

This square shaped cylinder trash can handles almost anything you can throw in it and the price is very reasonable. Our recent purchase was a replacement unit for the eight year old can which finally broke after repeated dropping and banging by the waste collectors.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ifihadahifi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted and expected .
11/23/2015

Customer review by kenger

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by kenger
by kenger

Could have picked up at the store the same day if I wanted. Good service. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well worth the cost for as long as it lasted.
7/19/2012

Customer review by GoodOldPop

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by GoodOldPop
by GoodOldPop

The trash can I have now, I have used for 8 years. The lid and backside near the handle has finally split from being sun baked and frozen. I am replacing this one with another, just the same as the first. Like them best when the wind blows hard and it falls over...won't roll away like my round one does. Clean it with high pressure washer and Lysol spray. Use Amorall on the lid and it lasts longer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodOldPop
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
trash can
11/18/2015

Customer review by harley

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by harley
by harley

got in fast and worked good, thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good can-horrible lids
1/18/2012

Customer review by VTborn

3.0 stars 1/18/2012 by VTborn
by VTborn

We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VTborn
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't Last
10/26/2015

Customer review by CND1

1.0 stars 10/26/2015 by CND1
by CND1

Handle broke off, cracks and splits from top to bottom!

CND1
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great for the Money
5/17/2012

Customer review by BecTheMom

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by BecTheMom
by BecTheMom

This can is sturdy and the top is secure to assist in containing odor and repelling invaders (roaches, rats, bears, tigers, etc.) It is exactly what we needed. Our family produces 2-3 kitchen-sized bags of garbage a week and this can easily hold them. The wheels make it an easy trip down to the curb, no matter how heavy the contents. We'll see how it holds up long term, but so far no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BecTheMom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Weak handle tears easily Do not buy this model!
7/25/2014

Customer review by DS4885

1.0 stars 7/25/2014 by DS4885
by DS4885

I purchased one of these from My local Ace Hardware store a year ago. Trying to support the local store versus buying from Walmart. The handle design is bad and the normal abuse caused by the trashmen has caused the handle to tear and now that tear is continuing down the side of the can. The receipt that Ace hardware gives fades out after about a month, and when I went to the Ace Store for support I received none and was told I had to deal with Rubbermaid on line. (Try to find a phone number to contact them, good luck.) I have learned my lesson. My next trash can purchase will be from Home Depot. Home Depot Emails me my receipts so they are easily accessable even years later (providing i don't mistakenly delete them) This trash can would get a Zero if I was allowed to rate it that low. So word to the wise: 1 Don't buy this model 2 Don't expect much support from Rubbermaid if you have a problem

DS4885
Winter Park FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great for every household at a great price.
10/8/2012

Customer review by ChickadeefromFlorida

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by ChickadeefromFlorida
by ChickadeefromFlorida

We have had this trash can since 2005 and it has been great. Even with the roughness of the garage men (you gotta love em when you're climbing down in that ditch to retrieve your lid# the lid only recently started cracking. Because the can is in such great shape, I started researching getting a replacement lid. It was going to cost me $11 from the company but because it was my first time calling, they are shipping me a lid at no cost #this time only). I love the trash can but now I am very fond of Rubbermaid all the way around. I love a company that has integrity. Seems harder and harder to find now-a-days...

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChickadeefromFlorida
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews