Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 182 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
28
3 stars
20
2 stars
16
1 stars
27
Sort by: 
1-20 of 174 reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
Fragile Lid
2/16/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the size of this garbage can and the ease of transporting it to the curb with the wheels and large handle. However, the lid cracked within the first two weeks where the handle is molded to allow for easy opening. Now that winter has set in the crack is across the entire lid. I would love to continue to utilize this can if there were a replacement lid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lids Are Junk
4/24/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used a set of four 45 gallon trash cans from rubber maid for more than 10 years. They took a lot of abuse from rolling up and down a 500' gravel drive way. I purchased 5 of the 50 gallon industrial and 4 out of the 5 have broken lids. They do not hold up when the temp drops below 0 deg F. i would not recommend these trash cans if you live in a location where the temp drops below 0 F.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hang on to your receipt!!!!!
2/18/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased for lifetime warranty Well after a year the bottom cracked and I need to purchase a new can!!! I was hoping for longer life but it's junk
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted about seven years
1/20/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm buying my second Rubbermaid 50-Gallon Wheeled Roughneck Trash Can today because the last one finally died today. The lid died half a year ago. Rubbermaid will replace one lid at no charge it seems, but they're quick to tell you that the next one isn't free. Regardless, it came down to this and the Toter 64 gallon at more than twice the price. I doubt the Toter will last 15+ years, so I'm going with the Rubbermaid again. It's hard to complain too much when a large, wheeled $33 trash can lasts seven years. I suppose I'm OK paying about a penny a day for such a garbage can. I thing 'd appreciate similar value in other aspects of my material life, but then again, what do I know? I'm just a robot.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great strong trash can
9/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this same trash can for over 7 years and they took a beating. The units which were 7 years old where destroyed when then were blown into the street by bad storm and were damaged badly. Can you believe that it took for someone to drive over the cans to destroy them from being used. Great cans looking to getting 10 years out this pair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Beware: the lid is NOT attached to the cart and if your trash guys are anything like mine, they'll do their best to yank off the lid, hurl it to one side, etc. To prevent that, we attached the lid to the can with heavy-duty zip ties.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (100)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outdoor garbage can
11/20/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a good product and well worth the price which was very good. The only thing that would make it better is if the lid was attached to the can in some way. It is removable and falls to the ground every time I open it to throw more garbage in. That doesn't take away from the function of the can or the fact that it was reasonably priced but it is a little inconvenient. Good, strong, and large garbage can with wheels that make it very easy to move even when loaded with garbage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted 2-3 years before cracking.
5/29/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have really liked this trash container. It lasted 2-3 years before cracking one cold winter morning. I still use mine every week and hope to for another 2-3 years, at least. I would recommend this item because it can't be beat for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (81)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The shape makes it a winner.
3/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We love our new trash cans. The shape make them hold 1/3 more than traditional round can. They are well manufactured with attention to details where they count. The cans roll easily, the lids have a secure fit, and with just adding a few cable ties the lids will not be thrown by the trash man just any old place.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Can but Wheels do not last
9/19/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had 2 of these trash cans for about 7 years and within in the first year the standard plastic wheels just split in half making the can useless. Rubber wheels would of been much better for this can. I wish i can order replacement rubber wheels.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great at first and then...
11/24/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got mine when it was just under $30 and I though it was a great deal. The handle being made into the can body the way it is would be hard for the trash men to yank it out. Had to lightly sand the can to even get paint to stick when I painted my address on it. Had it about 9-10 months when the can cracked right above the wheel on the left side as stand behind it. Another month or so the handle on the lid split right down the middle. I will try and cut it off. I don't want to buy a new can every 18 to 24 months. I will have to spend a little more but if I can get twice the life out of it I still break even. The next can I get will be a better can and it probably won't be Rubbermaid. They are relying to much on their name and not their quality anymore. On their site the ratings on this can aren't very good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I purchased 6 so far
9/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best garbage cans ever...... They have a 10 yr warranty, just save your invoice and Rubbermaid will replace if anything happens. They are super sturdy and withstand NY seasons. Not sure about Alaska or Arizona. You won't be disappointed. All my neighbors as me where I found them. No more buying new ones every year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great trashcan, great price, a smart buy
7/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had to replace our 8 year old trashcan and were thrilled the same one was still available. The trash collectors are not dainty with these cans, and neither are racoons, but the quality of this product gives long life and your money's worth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is my second the first on lasted 4 year than the lid cracked and flyes got it it turn to maggets but the container is still useable now i see you can buy the lid off rubbermaid
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's cheap, resistant, and has great cpacity.
7/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I sue it as a storage for things such us blankets and towels. They are easy to move from one place to another one because of the wheels, specially for people like me who are renting and need to move. The only thing I didn't like is that I was going to buy at least three more, but the containers didn't have the lids, even the new arrivals (and it's not the first time); The store should be more careful with this things.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
trash can with wheels
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the product is fine but ordering it online was nothing but trouble. I tried 5 times to use a gift card that I had received and the order would never go through so I had to put it on my regular credit card. I will never again request a WalMart gift card for a present - too difficult to use online
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good can-horrible lids
1/18/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have owned multiples of these cans. Like all other reviews, the cans last great and hold up strong, the lids don't. If you live somewhere sunny forget about even getting more then a year out of them. BUT-you can get replacements from Rubbermaid. And while I think it stinks we have to buy replacements instead of them just making it right in the first place. An $11 lid which includes shipping is better then buying a whole new can. The cans will last for many years- easily 5, the lids - 1-2 at best, just know you will need to buy new lids and you've got a good way to deal with garbage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OK
8/25/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
OK but matching trash bags are difficult to find for this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nicely made!
10/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I went to the store to pick this trash can up. While I was waiting, the young man came out with a trash can. I did not realize it was Mine. It was bigger than I thought and has a pretty good heavyness to it. The only thing I did not know; the lid is not hinged. That was my fault because I didn't read the entire description. It has to "hand locks" on either side so the top stays on tightly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great can but what??
7/19/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I,ve had this can for 3 months now. I bought to dump grass cuttings in from my lawn mower grass catcher. So far it's been a very solid and very well built can. love the fact it can be wheeled around and the wheels seem solid. My problem is that the lid blew off and no idea where it went. I just noticed it was gone and didn't find it around. So I get on this site to see about getting a new lid. It's says they don't sell parts for this model. Say what? They can't even get me a lid for it. Not much good with out it especially if it rains. Service is a big part of how good something is. So I can only give 4 stars and go get a new can that I can get parts for if needed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640691, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-