Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 187 reviews
5 stars
99
4 stars
49
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
Sort by: 
1-20 of 180 reviews
1-20 of 180 reviews
I can't say enough good things about this vacuum
9/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have three cats and two dogs. I have fur, dirt, grass and kitty litter to sweep up. We also get a lot of fur on our couches. This vacuum gets all the fur off of my carpet. After I vacuum, I ran a sticky roller over the carpet and it picked up NO fur at all. I'm really impressed with that, my old vacuum did not pick up all the fur. The pet fur attachment is wonderful, and removes all the fur from our couches. It is loud, but if it removes pet fur it's a small price to pay. The height adjustment was another feature that sold me, as I have carpet and ceramic tile. The machine vacuums well on either one. I had a problem with the beater brush on my old vacuum shooting kitty litter across the room, but this vacuum picks it up on the lowest setting. I also like how the attachments are placed to prevent them from falling off, which was a problem I had with my old vacuum. Another good feature is the release button for the hose, which prevents it from popping off, again a problem I had with my old vacuum. It's as if Hoover listened to customer complaints and did their best to address them. The only negative that I have is that I'm not sure how long this vacuum will last with the plastic parts, but the price is so affordable that it's still a great value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hover WindTunnel UH30310 Really Delivers
3/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A review in a leading consumer magazine alerted me to this vacuum. I have an Eureka bagless currently which is working very well. But I was so tired of dealing with its filter. Every other time I vacuumed, I needed to take the filter outside and spend 15-20 minutes getting the dust and carpet fibers out of the filter. A mess! Also, the Eureka had plastic wheels which sounding like a freight train when hauling it down the tile to various rooms. There was no way for me to use it on the wood floors because I could not shut off the moving brush. This Hoover has rubber wheels and is nearly silent on tile floors when I move from room to room. It has a bag so that I no longer have any mess to clean up. And it has a petal switch that shuts off the moving brush so I can use it on floors. Amazingly, it costs less than my Eureka. The Hoover is 5 pounds lighter which makes a big improvement in handling. It is slightly less noisy. I think Hoover got this one right! I very happy I made the purchase
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lightweight with great suction!
6/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had done some research on vacuum cleaners with strong suction - and - the WindTunnel T series Pet Bagged Upright was one that rated highly. I couldn't find this model in my immediate area - so I ordered one online. My new vacuum arrived very quickly - and - did not disappoint! It has great suction and the attachments are very conveniently located on the machine and are very accessible. This vacuum is also fairly lightweight compared to my last one - and - maneuvers very well. I also am very pleased with the bag insertion method. You don't have to wrestle with it - the design of this vacuum and the bag compartment is great! My last vacuum was about twice the price and the bag insertion was a real hassle. Very often the bag would not even stay in place. With this Hoover WindTunnel T series Pet Bagged Upright - there is no problem. It stays very clean and easy. I'm very happy - and - my house feels cleaner than it did when I used my other vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWWWWWWWWESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Awesome is the only word that can describe this vacuum cleaner. There is not one negative thing that I can say about it. I have only had it for about 10 days and I could kick myself for not checking into this product a LONG TIME AGO. It picks up EVERYTHING!! It works perfect on carpet, hardwood, linoleum with no problem. I love that you can turn the "roll bar" off so your hardwoods don't get scuffed. We have 3 dogs in the house and they all shed. With this vacuum I can get every dog hair off of every surface including the furniture and the air filtration system is so good that it makes my whole house smell like new. The price is a steal for how much I love this vacuum. Consumer Reports was SPOT ON with their review of this vacuum. GET ONE!!!!!!! I have told all my family, friends and coworkers and they want to know where to buy it....WALMART.....GREAT JOB CARRYING A GREAT PRODUCT AT A GREAT PRICE. YEAH WALMART
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, versatile use on bare floors.
7/22/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did a lot of research and needed something to use on bare floors. Being able to stop the beater-brush was a necessity. The attachments are simple and can be switched quickly so you don't lose any time. The powered upholstery brush is fantastic on drapes and fabric. What was really a surprise and not mentioned were the rubber-coated wheels; on bare floors it makes a big difference not having scratchy plastic wheels to worry about. There is plenty of power to pull animal hair and small particles in either carpet or area rugs. We have pets and needed the 'Pet' for that purpose and it fills the billing. The transition from bare floor to area rug is done quickly with the foot lever. The dial for height adjustment takes a bit of fooling around, but it makes a difference in carpet depth. Two bothersome details stand out but don't diminish the effectiveness of the vacuum...the loud high-pitched scream in the motor and the exhaust blows a little too much dust and hair around. However, it gets picked up nicely on the next pass. All in all the light-weight and easy handling vacuum exceeds what I felt was a bargain price for a decent vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Problems from Day 1
1/25/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When we received the item, the box was broken and I was wondering if the following problems were a result of mishandling during shipping. The second time I used this vacuum, the brush wasn't spinning and I found out after opening it that the belt was disengaged. After viewing the "help" video on-line, I was able to put it back in place and thought that all was well. Today I used the vacuum and a huge amount of dust accumulated on the outside of the unit. I called Hoover and instead of letting me know whether this was a common issue with this model, I was given the name of a repair service in another borough. Since this is supposedly a brand new unit, I won't bother bringing it anywhere except back to the store where I purchased it. On the plus side, it has great suction, but what good is it, if it's dispersed into the air again. I would love to know whether this is just a "lemon," or it's a common issue with this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Vacuum
6/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm so happy that I bought this Vacuum because it's light weight to pick up. also easy to move on carpet floors with no problem at all. I also like the hose because it's 12 foot long and it goes pretty far up the wall to get the dust and spider webs. I also like how it has an 31 foot cord so it can reach from the kitchen area to the living room. . I also like the bag drop button inside the door you can just take it to the garbage bucket press the button and the vacuum bag goes right in there without touching it with your hands. Great product Hoover and thanks for selling it under Wal-Mart because it's less money under there web-site folks
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So light!!
9/4/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have only used this once but it was a great 1st!! I searched everywhere for a bagged vaccum!! All but imposible to find in any stores except sears. It is a replacement for a 10 year old wind tunnel. It was easy to put together and I Like that this version has a better "hold" for the hose attachment and the attachments are right there. Also really liked the turn off feature for the roller. It said that means that pet hair will not shoot out on hard floors and it seemed to do that. One issue is that I could not find a really easy way to carry it down the stairs, as the front handle where the bags attach cannot be used to carry the whole unit. And carrying it with the main handle seemed impractical. I look forward to using it for many years though!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ok vacuum, but don't know how long it will last
11/7/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this vacuum after doing some research, reading CR, etc, and settled on this because it was rated fairly well and wasn't super expensive. It assembled quickly, and it's pretty light, and the suction seems good. My problem is it seems to be made of the cheapest plastic available today. The kenmore it replaced was much sturdier. I realize that most things are made to wear out quickly now, but I can't see this lasting too long. For example, after the first few uses, the pedal that stops the roller from turning on bare floors got stuck. After taking the bottom plate off and roller out, it appears that the mechanism that stops the rollers is just a cheap piece of plastic that will no doubt get stuck over and over until it breaks. And it doesn't look to be an easy fix. I managed to get it unstuck, but that shouldn't happen this soon! The bag is also very small and fills quickly, so have more around. On the plus side, the extension hose is adequate and the pet attachment also works on my shop vac in the garage, which will be handy for the car! So time will tell if this vacuum will hold up, but I figure I'll be fixing things more than vacuuming!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hoover paws 30310 DONT BUY
6/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
SHRILL noise so loud one needs earplugs, can't run longer than 5 to 10 mins. (PIERCING). AREA Room carpet has roller brush marks where brush roller ate area rug fibers. (no damage YET to carpet.) sometimes hard to push/gets stuck. wont pick up cherry pits, grain of dog dry food & the such , unless I pick the vac up & place directly on top of pit etc. I had a sharp vac, for 20 yrs. gave to goodwill because I lost a wheel. I wish I would have seen to getting it repaired. I wanted another SHARP,(NOT SHARK), bought FROM SEARS, but brand is nolonger available. This hoover 30310 was rated the second best w/consumer reports,maybe it was a type o & meant to say WORST. very disappointed I DONT RECOMMEND. pros: price ,very long cord, light & does pick up pet fur dog & cat. ( 1 star)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PICKS UP ALL THE PET HAIR
9/8/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I BOUGHT THIS MACHINE FOR MY NEW HOUSE WHICH IS ARMED WITH LINOLEUM, LAMINATE WOOD AND HIGH PILE CARPETING ALONG WITH A LONG HAIRED CAT, A CHINCHILLA THAT FREQUENTS THE CARPETED ROOMS AND A LONG HAIRED DOG. THE MACHINE DOESN'T HAVE ANY TROUBLE PICKING UP CAT, DOG AND CHINCHILLA HAIR FROM THE CARPETING AND FURNITURE. THE VACUUM ALSO HAS SUCCESS IN SUCTIONING UP CHINCHILLA DROPPINGS WHICH ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF TIC TACS. THE ONLY ISSUE I'VE HAD WITH THE MACHINE IS THAT IT HAS SCRATCHED MY LAMINATE WOOD FLOORING EVEN THOUGH THE FLOORING IS SUPPOSED TO BE UNSCRATCHABLE...I'M NOT SURE IF IT WAS THE WHEELS THE SCRATCHED IT BUT THAT'D BE MY BEST GUESS - SINCE I UTILIZE THE BRUSHROLL SHUT OFF FEATURE FOR BARE FLOORS. THESE SCRATCHES CAN'T BE BUFFED OUT...AND ARE SPARATIC THROUGHOUT MY HOUSE, BUT I LEARNED QUICKLY AND STOPPED USING IT ON THE LAMINATE. OTHERWISE IT'S GREAT AND I HAVEN'T HAD A CLOG YET..WHICH IS SAYING A LOT BECAUSE THE HAIR FROM MY 120LB (NEWFOUNDLAND)DOG CAN CLOG UP ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Vacuum I have ever had!
6/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this vacuum after doing a lot of research. I have had a bag-less vacuum for years that never worked as well as this one has so far. I have a cat that sheds a lot and 4 very active and messy small children. This vacuum has great suction, is not too heavy, and has a nice long cord. I absolutely love the feature to turn off the brush-roll so that I can vacuum the stairs and the bathroom floors, without worrying that I might suck up the cord. It gets the cat hair off the furniture really well and was a life saver when we had lice move through our place. The only issue I have had is one I was aware of before I purchased it. It only comes with one bag and they are nearly impossible to find in any store. I just bought the hoover y/z bags which are a bit big but still work. Great vacuum!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hoover Vacuums Rule!
12/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Years ago I purchased 4 vacuums in one day and returned all 4 and ended up buying a Hoover because it had the best suction. This upright bagged vacuum is very powerful, very light and does not disappoint. I purchased 2 vacuums (1 for myself 1 for a gift) 2 weeks ago at Walmart on-line for $104; today they are $171! I could not be happier. I also prefer not having a self-propelled model, as it is just another belt to replace. This vacuum is so light, you don't need help pushing it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Kirby Snobs Loves, Loves this Vacuum!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used a Kirby for the past 24. I love my Kirby because it will do everything from vacuum, shampoo, buff and paint! But it has a loose hose so it needs to be sent for service and I needed something in the interim. While researching recent reviews for a vacuum specifically designed for pet hair, I ran across a review from Consumer Reports. Consumer Reports tested this Hoover machine at the 2013 Westminster Dog Show in February and it was rated best for picking up dog hair. (Dyson wasn't even a contender!) This vacuum is better than my Kirby at picking up dog hair and it is so much lighter. It is all plastic so I was skeptically at first. So that you can compare apples to apples, I have a 135 lb. Russian Mastiff and it is one of the breeds that goes into the St. Bernard without all the slobber. Great dog but they have a double coat which seriously sheds twice a year. (The hair resembles drifts of snow that flies off in clumps just when dog breathes) I also have a short haired Cane Corso. Drawbacks: 1) Not in store- had to order online and shipping was $.01 2) Bags not in store or at Walmart online- had to order from Amazon (type Y bags) 3) Doesn't get close enough to baseboards- Push 2 buttons and use wand on the side 4) Would love to have a duster attachment but that's dreaming 5) The vacuum cleaner sides get dusty- maybe I'm kicking up years of dirt but I just use the wand to clean 6) Picture instructions- that life (same with the 40" inch flat screen recently purchased) 7) All plastic- very light weight 8) One attachment that clips on pops off- that's okay cause I still have to carry the third one 9) Could use a second wand to make it easier for reaching but there is a generous hose Good Stuff: 1) AWESOME at picking up hair 2) Good on bare floors-hasn't harmed hardwoods or bathroom tile (2 buttons to make the switch from carpet) 3) Lightweight 4) Easy on and off 5) Inside of attachments are made of rubber or silicon but works fantastically 6) Only a small amount of hair blowing on bare floors because of side vents but then I'm very experienced at dog hair eradication. I love it. I'm debating about not having the Kirby serviced and buying a second Hoover WindTunnel Pet vacuum for the basement. I love this machine and accept all its tiny quirks for the simple fact that it is the solution to my 13 year battle with dogs blowing coat. Be careful when vacuuming small rugs because it has a lot of suction.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good replacement
8/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a good vacuum. It IS loud like everyone says, but I think I can take some noise for a clean floor. We have dogs of all sizes and so far it has picked up all the hair - even the stuff embedded in the carpet from the old one when it went bad. I am happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hoover Upright
8/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far I have been pleased with this vacuum. It does a good job and if easy to maneuver. It is a little on the heavy side and you still have to bend over to change the height of the roller but, all in all, it does the job that I need it for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It depends on what you are looking for
2/8/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been searching for the perfect vacuum for years. I've come to realize it probably doesn't exist. I have a Golden Retriever who sheds ALOT! I wanted a new vacuum because my old one had several parts that needed to be replaced and wasn't worth fixing. Also, the old vacuum is loud and heavy and has other negative issues however has excellent suction. I purchased this new vacuum based on reviews that it was awesome for pet hair. I had it a week and returned it. It does work fantastically on bare floors. The attachments for the steps are also fantastic. The suction for both of them were first rate. However, I had issues with vacuuming on regular carpet. It wasn't awful, it just didn't have quite enough suction for me. I had to go over the same spot a couple of times to get all the dog hair up. This is not what I expected from a new vacuum. I at least think when it is brand new it should have awesome suction. I want a vacuum that gets the job done as quick as possible so I don't want to have to go over spots several times. I ended up pulling out my old vacuum and using that to finish the job. So, the search for the perfect vacuum continues. Additional note: Walmart was fantastic with the return. No problems; no questions asked.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good product overall
1/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted a new vacuum because my Dyson canister vac was awkward and i do not like the bagless vacs. A Bissell was recommended and i tried it - it did a very good job - but was too heavy for me. I have had this Hoover for a while and used it about 3 times. I love it! it really does a good job and got the cat hair off the chair and sofa really well. I would like to have a hose that is longer or easier to stretch out. this one is hard to extend. that's my only complaint. It is not too heavy and really has good suction. i have not had to discard the bag yet - but have tried it and it is super easy - much easier and cleaner than the bagless ones. yes, you have to buy bags but that's a good trade off for me. I got some at Costco - on line - they came the next day. cheaper than other places.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So Much Better Than Expected
3/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After searching through websites and reading others' reviews, I took a chance a bought this one and it is AMAZING at the difference in my home! I have hardwood and tile floors throughout the house, 6 cats and one 100lb dog, so I vacuum nearly daily. My previous vac was a Eureka Optima (lightweight canister), and I've had it 6 years, but I was tired of emptying, pulling dust/hair from the filter, etc. I wanted one with a bag, just be done already, ya know? My mom still has her Kirby, nice and all, but it doesnt always get her pets' hair up and it is heavy as heck. So, keeping this in mind, I sought out Hoover (specifically), based on the fact my grandfather had at least 6 uprights from the 50's-70's randomly around his house & garage and I figured, well, he was no dummy and routinely collected multiples of what he considered "good product". Anyway.... I love the attachments, the on/off brush roll (i have one area rug) and the extra cord length. My main concerns were kitty litter and hair and this picks it up THE FIRST TIME. WITHOUT ME CHASING HAIR FLOATING AWAY! Love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
fantastic
7/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this vacuum, I have had my for 4 years and it still works great,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-