Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

167 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

167 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 stars
12
1-20 of 160 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
better than a more expensive one!
2/5/2017

Customer review by Anniemare

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Anniemare
by Anniemare
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A big plus is that the brush roller can Easily be removed for cleaning - with big dogs in the house, my old one clogged and there was no easy way to clean it. The suction is very good - it got out dog hair between the carpet and the wall with the crevice tool that the old (more expensive) one did not remove. It was also easy to assemble -

Anniemare
Clemson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Vacuum
2/3/2017

Customer review by Joefang

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Joefang
by Joefang

I repair vacuums that have been donated to a charity. I've fixed hundreds of machines. This vacuum has all the niceties that many more expensive models have, at a reasonable price. Have just tested the machine, using all possible situations in my home. Performs very well...especially sucking up my Maine Coons fur.

Joefang
VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PICKS UP ALL THE PET HAIR
9/8/2011

Customer review by PAMDEMIC

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by PAMDEMIC
by PAMDEMIC

I BOUGHT THIS MACHINE FOR MY NEW HOUSE WHICH IS ARMED WITH LINOLEUM, LAMINATE WOOD AND HIGH PILE CARPETING ALONG WITH A LONG HAIRED CAT, A CHINCHILLA THAT FREQUENTS THE CARPETED ROOMS AND A LONG HAIRED DOG. THE MACHINE DOESN'T HAVE ANY TROUBLE PICKING UP CAT, DOG AND CHINCHILLA HAIR FROM THE CARPETING AND FURNITURE. THE VACUUM ALSO HAS SUCCESS IN SUCTIONING UP CHINCHILLA DROPPINGS WHICH ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF TIC TACS. THE ONLY ISSUE I'VE HAD WITH THE MACHINE IS THAT IT HAS SCRATCHED MY LAMINATE WOOD FLOORING EVEN THOUGH THE FLOORING IS SUPPOSED TO BE UNSCRATCHABLE...I'M NOT SURE IF IT WAS THE WHEELS THE SCRATCHED IT BUT THAT'D BE MY BEST GUESS - SINCE I UTILIZE THE BRUSHROLL SHUT OFF FEATURE FOR BARE FLOORS. THESE SCRATCHES CAN'T BE BUFFED OUT...AND ARE SPARATIC THROUGHOUT MY HOUSE, BUT I LEARNED QUICKLY AND STOPPED USING IT ON THE LAMINATE. OTHERWISE IT'S GREAT AND I HAVEN'T HAD A CLOG YET..WHICH IS SAYING A LOT BECAUSE THE HAIR FROM MY 120LB (NEWFOUNDLAND)DOG CAN CLOG UP ANYTHING.

PAMDEMIC
CLEVELAND, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
new vacuum
1/5/2017

Customer review by raven1

5.0 stars 1/5/2017 by raven1
by raven1

Purchased to replace one that quit. Arrived yesterday,put together and have been trying it. Wife claimed dust was coming out of the bag door, talked to customer service rep about it. However, I later tried myself,and could find no such problem. Will closely monitor this to see if does happen at times. Otherwise the unit seems to be well built and works very well. So far satisfied,except will keep an eye out for the dust problem.

raven1
auburndale,wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We thought we had found the perfect vacuum
12/31/2016

Customer review by MamaJ

3.0 stars 12/31/2016 by MamaJ
by MamaJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The light is a joke! It really is not bright enough to be of any use. Also, the wand and the crevice tool are way too short! We do like the wide wheel base as it doesn't turn over easily.

Comment from Kenya - 1/4/2017

Hi MamaJ! We appreciate your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve the user experience. We will pass your comments along. Thanks for your time!

MamaJ
Tow, TX, United States
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum
12/13/2016

Customer review by Wpa4

4.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Wpa4
by Wpa4

Inexpensive, great suction on this vacuum cleaner. Just received it so we've only used it once, but it works well on carpet. Haven't used it on a bare floor yet. We bought it for pet hair and it does a good job on that. It's lightweight and the plastic seems a little cheap but we will see how it holds up.

Wpa4
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
12/17/2016

Customer review by MISS TIDY

5.0 stars 12/17/2016 by MISS TIDY
by MISS TIDY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vacuum is awesome!!!!! it is light weight and easy to manuver. Great on wood floors, carpets and pet hair ( the paws attachment really works ). The suction is great.

MISS TIDY
Lawrenceville, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover Windtunnel T series - Pet Approved
4/23/2014

Customer review by mbdarius

2.0 stars 4/23/2014 by mbdarius
by mbdarius

I bought this hoping to send one just like it to my son for a wedding gift. I have owned several Hoover Vacuums and Steam Cleaners. This Hoover does not have a reset button for the belt shutoff in case a shoelace or ribbon is sucked in accidentally. I don't know if the belt would burn out if something were wrapped around the brushroll. My other Hoover had this safety feature.  I do like the double filter system for odor and clean air. I do not like where the air is vented and blows while vacuuming. I like the long hose but find (as others did) that when the hose is extended the vacuum tips over and then hits me or scratches the wall. Also, to engage the hose you have to step on the grey pedal and keep pressure on it. This is rather cumbersome and unrealistic that you would use the attachments on the stairs while stepping on the pedal and using a stretched hose and keeping the vacuum from tipping over. I am looking to return this product and choose another. This one was disappointing and did not meet my needs or expectations for Hoover.

mbdarius
Hartford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum for pet hair
10/10/2012

Customer review by Daisy's mom

1.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Daisy's mom
by Daisy's mom

This vacuum has a long power cord and has good suction, for me the pro's end there. I have a Golden Retriever and thought this would be a good vac for me. If anything, it is the worst for pet hair that I have ever had. It is designed so a strong current of air blows out the side and sends pet hair everywhere while you are vacuuming, it doesn't get close to wall edges, and the attachments are useless. They are advertised as having "cling free rubber wipers that remove stubborn pet hair". They are more like hard plastic that have no effect on the loosest of pet hair (when on fabric or carpet) and that is with suction. The box showed a brush attatchment but I didn't get one, manual said there was no guarantee that it would come with what was on the box. This is my first negative review I've ever written, wish someone had written one for me before I bought. I can not imagine how anyone with a pet could have recommended this vacuum.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 10/10/2012

Thank you for submitting a review. We are sorry to hear about your frustrations regarding attachments and cleaning pet hair. We would like you to call our Customer Care Department so we can further assist. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Daisy's mom
O'Fallon MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love the way it attacks my pets hair!
8/25/2016

Customer review by Huey4203

5.0 stars 8/25/2016 by Huey4203
by Huey4203

This was bought because it was the only one i was a little hesitant at first for the price but once it got home and used it wow sure power

Huey4203
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love hate relationship
11/2/2014

Customer review by jmec711

4.0 stars 11/2/2014 by jmec711
by jmec711

I am rather a vacuum freak, and have had several models over the years, so I was thrilled to find this one to work on pet hair (one dog, 2 cats).  The first day I used the attachment and I tell you, it was amazing.  I was in love!  I threw away the box; this is a keeper!  The 2nd time I used it, it broke. Gah!  As I was using the hose, a cloth on the floor got sucked up into the machine. I didn't notice until the burning smell.  Now it sounds like THUNK THUNK THUNK THUNK every time I turn it on. Okay, so I checked the belt. Fine.  Now the selector for suction or floor won't work. Gah.  Of course with no box I can't return it.   Also, I am with the reviewers who complain about the venting. It does blow hair everywhere.  So you can vacuum straight ahead, but  be prepared to come back around for a second pass elsewhere to get the hair that had been sent off into the air.  On upholstery, this vacuum is a dream come true.  My chairs, the cat tree and the pet beds looked brand new.  I also agree that the cord could be better placed on the side.  One other feature I'd love is for it to lie flat to reach under beds or small furniture with ease.     Now to have it repaired? To search on?  Sigh.

Comment from Giselle - 11/3/2014

Hi jmec711, sounds like the end caps on the brush-roll may have gotten damaged when the cloth was sucked up. This is why you hear a thump. The brushes are not turning freely. You can always purchase a new brush-roll here; http://bit.ly/1qmpu5I Hope this helps!

jmec711
Franklin, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not like the old Hoover we used to have
1/12/2012

Customer review by vj

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by vj
by vj

We had a Hoover vacuum for over 20 years and it worked terrific. However, this machine broke almost immediately the first time we used it. Only had it for several months. We vacuum only once a week max. I was really suprised that such a highly rated machine would act up like this. The hose clip in the back would not keep the hose in place and dirt flew out of it and then the vacuum wouldn't vacuum the floor anymore as a result. The internal belt also snapped as well. The hose is also too short to be of much use. I took the machine to a warrantee serving center that informed me my claim could take up to 6 weeks. Now I have to buy an interim vacuum while I wait for repairs or replacement.I should have just thrown it in the dumpter.

vj
San Marino CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Could be better!
2/21/2013

Customer review by mecorona

3.0 stars 2/21/2013 by mecorona
by mecorona

We purchased this unit for a new house: we have two long haired pets, 3000 SQ/FT home with flooring either of porcelain tile or hardwood floors. The unit works very well on pet hair on are many large area rugs.  The unit lacks accessories for ease of cleaning of bare floors. If only it came with an additional extension hose long enough with a wide-mouth-head tool for bare floors. My 2 biggest irritation are what I consider to be engineering defects and should be corrected:  1) Exhaust vent is located on left side of unit forcing the hot air down on the side of the unit onto the floor blowing and scattering the actual pet hair and dirt that I am attempting to pick up with the unit!  This is especially annoying along a wall where most of the pet hairs are usually gather in dust-bunnies.  Because of this side vent, the air bounces off the walls which furthers scatters any dirt and hair alone the walls!  Very annoying!!!  The vented exhaust should be forced upward and in front of the unit! 2)  The electrical cord exits at the back and bottom of the unit. Even though there is a clip to scure the cord at the top of the handle, a simple tug on the cord pulls it loose allowing the operator to constantly step and trip on the electrical cord.  Very annoying!!!

Comment from Andy Netzel - 3/5/2013

Mecorona, we're taking your feedback to our engineering and design teams. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.

mecorona
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good Vacuum, but very noisey
3/30/2015

Customer review by Paulie

4.0 stars 3/30/2015 by Paulie
by Paulie

Just received the vacuum today and after an easy assembly I started to vacuum , it made normal vacuum sounds but after several minutes of vacuuming I noticed a low pitched whistling sound, my cat ran for cover, I thought maybe a hose or vacuum bag wasn't connected, but upon careful inspection couldn't find the nature of the noise. The machine works well, picks up the cat hair , is easy to handle and switches from rug to hardwood floor very easily, but the whistling sound is very annoying and hope it will somehow go away after several uses. I had a Hoover and an Oreck prior to this and they made noise which all vacuums do but not an annoying whistle, my cat can't tolerate it and may disown me.

Paulie
Dutchess County NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Disappointed
8/11/2013

Customer review by hew4713

1.0 stars 8/11/2013 by hew4713
by hew4713

I was so excited when it arrived 6 days before it was due....however; I have been a loyal customer of hoover for years. I bought my first on in 2000. I bought a bagless this past winter It works great but I have to empty it too often and it is messy. So, I wanted to go back to bags. That is why I made the recent purchase you ask about. I put it together, turned it on and....it blows out, does not suck up anything. It does not work....It turns on, air comes out but does not pick anything up. I took it apart and put back together several times to no avail. I need to return it. Please give me instructions on how to return for a full refund. I am so very disappointed with Hoover. Please help.....

hew4713
Wildwood, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/8/2012

Customer review by Sirius Black Dogs

2.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Sirius Black Dogs
by Sirius Black Dogs

Worst thing: Roller brush stops turning on change of direction! Especially bad at end of backstroke, going from backwards to forwards. I've adjusted height to be absolutely sure it wasn't set too low for my carpet, but there was NO improvement...and I have a very low, cheap, "apartment quality" loop so it should be fine even on the Lo carpet/Bare Floor setting. Much hair is missed by the suction and static clings to the bottom of the hose instead. Yuck. "Full bag" indicator did not activate until there was dirt and hair backed up into the tube connection, resulting in a messy bag change despite the design. Loud; high pitched whine/whistle from day 1. And seriously Hoover-- in what dream world is six bags a "year's supply?" I am glad to not have to have bought them separately, but a person who cleans with average frequency would certainly use more than that, and this product is marketed for pet owners. The more frequent use and greater volume of hair and dirt requires far more than six bags in a year. A plus: For a product made out of plastic, it seems to have okay construction. Doesn't feel super solid, but doesn't feel cheap. Best thing: The filter and special bag seem to work well, as I don't notice that dog dander/dirt smell from the exhaust that is typical of most vacuums I've owned.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 4/8/2012

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you have experienced difficulty with the roller brush. Please note, the bare floor setting is too low for carpet. We recommend moving up a notch. A setting too low to the carpet will reduce air flow and cause clogging in the unit. This will also restrict your brush roller from spinning correctly with the motor.

Sirius Black Dogs
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
works great for what it costs
7/6/2015

Customer review by ijus fahted

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by ijus fahted
by ijus fahted

first of all...i'd be leary of many of the one a two ratings. many of them say things like mediocre suction, where the air discharge is, hard to steer, noisy...guess what people, it is as vacuum...it will make noise, it has to be steered and it has to have some heft to be powerful... realistically, it is a plastic vacuum. but it does on thing very well...suck!...i have ten cats and a short nap carpet and have zero probs with it picking up cat hair. as far as complaints with power switches, belts, removing the hose and such go, i'm inclined to suspect operator error or ignorance in most cases...just my opinion... Is a great value for the $$ as far as i am concerned

ijus fahted
Denver, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Surprisingly enthusiastic!
8/23/2015

Customer review by Just Me

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by Just Me
by Just Me

This is an amazing vacuum! I wanted to buy a bagless but I had read a number of reviews saying while they are great, the suction is far superior on bagged vacuums. I figured, for the price, I would try out this vacuum and I am thrilled. A dog visited our animal-less house and this vacuum picked up everything. I also run an in home child care and this vacuum is great at keeping up with all the activities we do. I am hoping it will last a long time. I'm worried about how long the bag will last, however, I have been using it almost daily to several times a day for the last month and it is still not filled. Even my kids enjoy using this vacuum!

Just Me
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really works
5/21/2016

Customer review by Mustangmarty

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by Mustangmarty
by Mustangmarty

When they say this product works for pet hair they are right. I bought mine several months ago and love it. I have two cats and you could hardly tell. My sister loved mine so much she got one for herself.

Mustangmarty
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ease of use
6/3/2016

Customer review by Rudy550

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by Rudy550
by Rudy550

I find this vacuum to be light, easy to move around and it does heavy-duty cleaning.

Rudy550
Camden, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews