Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

86 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
20
1-20 of 84 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Wonderful machine!!
3/31/2012

Customer review by WarrenTechNewbie

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by WarrenTechNewbie
by WarrenTechNewbie

Fantastic vaccum!Works very well. I'm very pleased with the suction of this machine. I've a long haired cat this catches everything!! Hoover's a wonderful company.My late mother swore by the brand&I've stuck with it as well over the years. Hoover chose to stand by the soap opera viewing public last year so I've become more endeared to the company than ever before. I didn't 'need' a new vacuum but because of Walmart's terrific price&Hoover's loyalty to the soap community I decided to buy another product from the company. I don't regret buying this at all. The vacuum is very easy to manuver.Picks up like nobody's buisness&cleans easily. Two things I don't like about this unit: The placment of the button used to open/empty the canister&the location of the cord rewind switch. It would be much easier if the 'open' button were on the top of the canister&the cord rewind switch were placed on the same side of unit as cord housing. Other than those two quibbles this is a wonderful product.I'd recommend it to anyone! Nobody does it like Hoover!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WarrenTechNewbie
Macomb County Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not as I expected
11/25/2011

Customer review by mimireco

3.0 stars 11/25/2011 by mimireco
by mimireco

I just received this vacuum two days ago. It seems to work fine except the machine gets quit hot when using. The cord will get hot if left coiled. Need to pull cord out entirely. I was disappointed in the cheap plastic it is made of. I had a windtunnel for 15 years that just went capoof that was made better. I bought this one expecting the same quality. This one is nowhere near as good as the one I bought years ago. But all in all it is okay, just cheaply made. I am waiting to see if there is a belt issue as I have read stating the belt that turns the beater bar is too loose and machine will over heat. I suspect this may happen given the heat that comes from this machine and I looked at the belt that fits loosely. But so far so good. If I have an issue I will post. It picks up just fine, but nothing to jump for joy about. But for the price I guess it is okay if it doesn't burn out.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mimireco
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great cleaner
9/30/2011

Customer review by ThinkingPink

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ThinkingPink
by ThinkingPink

I have had this vac for a short time, but so far it works very well. I did find though that when you vacuum you should pull the entire cord out because it does get really warm because of it being coiled which I hear would happen with any cord that is tightly coiled while running. The one thing I do miss with this vac is the small plastic furniture attachment (usually with the felt strip on it). The pet paw is great for getting kitty fuzz off furniture and bedding. So far for the money you won't be disappointed in this vac, the house is very pliable and quite long to do even top of tall dressers. Very easy to use and not hard to clean.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThinkingPink
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Disappointed.....
9/18/2013

Customer review by licia0701

2.0 stars 9/18/2013 by licia0701
by licia0701

I ALWAYS research the products I buy and read reviews, etc. I was choosing between a few and decided to go with this one. At first I thought, wow was my last vacuum even getting up anything before?!?! It worked great. Not even a year later, the auto rewind doesn't work and the other day while vacuuming it just turned off, never to turn on again even after letting it sit for a while. I don't have a dirty filter. The canister falls off when I detach the canister from the vacuum which can spill all the gross stuff you just got off your carpet. I didn't keep the box, I ordered this online at a reputable company and hoover prefers you to go through them with any concerns. I am seeing that this is fruitless by other remarks on the website. I am really upset as I bought this vacuum with hopes that HOOVER would be a good brand and that they stand by their customers' purchases. About 9 1/2 months from purchase date I have nothing to show for my money other than a broken vacuum. Terrible.

Comment from Ian - 9/19/2013

Hi licia0701, it sounds like you may have a clog somewhere in your airway. Go ahead and try removing the hose from both ends and running a broom handle straight through it to clear out any debris that may be caught in there. Also take a look at your primary filter located inside the dirt cup lid. If it's dusty, just rinse it out under some hot tap water for about 2 minutes and allow 24 hours for it to dry. This should restored strong, sealed suction to your WindTunnel Max. Hope this helps. Thanks so much!

licia0701
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great vacuum!
11/16/2011

Customer review by LJag

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by LJag
by LJag

Good suction, easy to use tools, but messy emptying of canister. I bought this vacuum to replace the Hoover Windtunnel T-series that Consumer Reports rated highly but it was terrible (only a month old). Consumer Reports rated this vacuum as not as good as the T-Series but I think it is much better and the cost was just a little more. Plus it has the switch to stop the roller for hard surface vacuuming.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LJag
Lancaster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum!
9/27/2011

Customer review by Charl1e

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Charl1e
by Charl1e

I have had mine for 2 weeks now. Using it for the first time and seeing what my other vacuum missed was gross! I am still shocked at how much it picks up everytime! The floor doesn't look dirty and it still really picks up fine sand and dog hair that I had no idea was there! It is super easy to epmty out the canister. I love the self rewinding cord, and the attachment with the bristles. I am thrilled that I will not be constantly buying replacement things like bags and filters. These washable ones are just brillant! I feel so pampered by this vacuum! I have already been recommending it to friends. Really great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charl1e
Abq, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/23/2011

Customer review by dtvkidd

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by dtvkidd
by dtvkidd

Works good. The only thing is that i seem to have to empty the canister a lot, maybe its just my home and having more dirt on the floor..LOL good product and i like it. I really like the retractable power cord, very nice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dtvkidd
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/7/2012

Customer review by 68Mustanger

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by 68Mustanger
by 68Mustanger

This vacuum is well worth the money. It really picks up the dirt and pet hair. I had just used my old vac the day before and I was amazed at how much better this vacuum cleaned. It's easy to use. Clean-up is not too big of a problem. I took canister apart and rinsed with water and it came out like new. I know a lot of people did not like the fact that it is mostly plastic, but what isn't now days. It should last a long time with the proper care.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
68Mustanger
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great suction, but has some issues
11/29/2015

Customer review by bigjay

3.0 stars 11/29/2015 by bigjay
by bigjay

I bought this vaccum a year ago.The two problems that I have noticed are. The brush will not spin effectively when the height setting is on the lower settings even when run on low pile carpets. The brush will slow down and sometimes stop while running the vacuum throughout a room. I have learned to leave the height dial set above 6 so that the bush spins without bogging down during normal use. I will try a new belt, but I feel there might be a different issue. I see that other people are having the same issues and they have replaced the belt and still doesn't work right. The second issue that I have is the turbine hand tool. The vacuum does not have enough suction to spin the brush and pull the dirt from carpet or upholstery. Please email me back to see if I can have these issues solved.

Comment from Kenya - 11/30/2015

Hi bigjay! We appreciate your feedback and we have a few suggestions to help with the two issues you’re experiencing. Depending on your floors you may not be able to use the height adjustment on every setting. You’ll want to find the level most effective for the type of carpets you have. It may help to change the belt. We recommend replacing the belts about once a year. A stretched belt can cause the brushroll to stall. Replacement belts are always available here: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. The turbo tool spins off of air pressure alone. If the brushes are not spinning or you notice the suction reduced, this could indicate a clog in the hose. Try removing the hose from both ends and running a broom stick from one end to the other to knock out any clogs. That should do it. Hope this helps!

bigjay
Very good machine for the money
2/29/2012

Customer review by R429

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by R429
by R429

Bought the Hoover to replace my aging Dyson DC07. The Hoover WindTunnel MAX works just as good as the Dyson but is more user friendly when it comes to using the wand and extensions. You've got to love the retractable power cord feature. Overall build quality is not as good as the Dyson, but at half the cost I can upgrade/replace it sooner (and I'm not paying for Dyson's marketing hype). 2 year warranty is also a plus.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
R429
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Vacuum!
7/3/2012

Customer review by Desari79

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by Desari79
by Desari79

Best vacuum i ever owned! from the filters to the the hard wood floor brush shut off switch to the retractable power chord. this vacuum is great! Excellent suction. we have 4 pets . 3 dogs and cat and this vacuum keeps our home free of pet hair with ease. this vacuum is great for helping to keep the home allergy free.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Desari79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great so far, comforting with baby on the way!
2/13/2012

Customer review by HeatherDan

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by HeatherDan
by HeatherDan

We chose this vacuum based on reviews as well as the number of features and options. We have only had it for a few weeks, but have used it several times and are so far very happy with the results. We had a cheap Dirt Devil upright bagging vacuum previously, and stopped using it because there was no point, it didn't pick anything up. After the first run-through of our carpeting, you'd think we'd never vacuumed before! Disgusting! A ten foot long hallway filled 1/3 of the canister! The vacuum sucked up tons of dust, fuzz, lint, anything we could see, and plenty we couldn't. It even sucked up quite a bit of cat hair, and we don't have a cat! (We purchased the home 12 months earlier, vacuum at least once or twice a month, and shampooed the carpeting twice before moving in.) We don't currently have pets, so I can't comment on its pet hair abilities other than that. We find the canister easy to empty and as long as you hold it over the garbage, it doesn't create a large mess. Having the beater-bar automatically turn off on the hard-wood floor setting or when using the attachments is great. We have not had any problems with suction or level adjustments. The attachments are excellent for our couches, which majorly attract lint etc. The cord length is great, we can vacuum quite a bit of our 2800sq ft house before needing to re-plug. The vacuum handles well and is not too heavy. It's exciting to use because the carpeting and flooring actually looks really clean after you finish. Things to improve on: 1. The attachment hose is very long, but when the vacuum is on, it kinks up rather tightly, so it's not nearly as long as it is stretched out. It still is long enough for our purposes, but doesn't really stretch as well as in photos on Amazon. 2. The cord does seem to get hot when not pulled out, which was some other people's problem as well, but it doesn't seem to be alarmingly hot. 3. We can't comment on it overheating after being owned for a few months/years, as it's new, but that seemed to be the biggest complaint of reviewers. Which is why we chose to buy through Walmart, so we could get the inexpensive 3 year extended warranty. Besides the fact that our old vacuum was just not sucking anything up, even the stuff we saw, we wanted to get a more efficient model with our baby due to be born in May. How can we keep him from eating lint etc off the floor if it doesn't vacuum up? I feel confident that with this vacuum, he can crawl around safely. **The vacuum also comes with a little diagram of how to vacuum the vacuum itself, which was amusing to us. (Fans of the show Friends will appreciate that we named ours Monica.)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeatherDan
Shelburne, Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Suction
5/2/2012

Customer review by Levarimj

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by Levarimj
by Levarimj

I was looking for a vacuum that would suck and this one does the job. My previous vacuum did nothing but push all the debris around. We recently installed tile, in the majority of our home and also needed a vacuum that would work on bare floor, I read the reviews on this vacuum and it seemed to meet my needs. I have only had the vacuum for about 2 weeks but I am very impressed with it, I hope it keeps up the good work!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Levarimj
Odessa, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it so far
3/3/2013

Customer review by tcraftje

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by tcraftje
by tcraftje
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this vacuum just over a month now and I've used it several times. I love it so far. I had a Hoover Windtunnel in the past and I was happy with it. I looked at several other brands, but I ended up coming back to Hoover because of price and features. Upon first use, it sucked more stuff out of my carpet than my previous Hoover Windtunnel. I was very happy with the suction and the quietness compared to my old Hoover. I like the improvements, like the cord rewind function, the bottom popping bin for the dirt and the washable filter. This is my first cyclonic vacuum, so I hope it continues to have great suction as it's advertised to. Time will tell on that. I love the weight, this one is very light and easy to maneuver. I love the easy on-off foot button for the roller when moving to my hard wood floors. The hose is plenty long enough for my needs and the extensions are easily accessible. I haven't used the small attachment for furniture/stairs yet. The only complaint I have about this vacuum and all the others in it's class is the delicate feel of the plastic parts. It feels like one has to handle them very carefully so you won't break them. But other than that, I'm happy with it. I got 10 good years of use out of my old Hoover and if I can get another 10 out of this one, I'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tcraftje
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dissapointment
12/13/2011

Customer review by Home Cleaner

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Home Cleaner
by Home Cleaner

This review is from: Hoover Windtunnel Max Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum - UH70600 (Kitchen) The suction area above the beater bar clogs with dog hair from my Lab/Cocker mix. Picks up well on carpet but not on the side edges or front like the old one. Horrible on hardwood floors. The concept of HEPA, filters etc. being so great is a FRAUD ON THE WORLD. At some point you must empty the dust container and then the dust flies. The bag is healthier. Guess Hoover lost the engineer that made them self adjusting and they forgot to make a tilt setting to go over little bumps, the handle is either straight up or all the way down, nothing in the middle. Bulky and won't go under a coffee table like the old one either. I had a Hoover upright for 35 years that still worked great. Did a lot of research and even talked to Hoover before purchasing. The best isn't self propelled like my prior.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/13/2011

We appreciate the comments about your vacuum and understand your frustrations. With bagless vacuums, you have the convenience of dropping dirt directly into the trash. A bagged vacuum does help contain the dirt and may be a better solution to your issues. With the this vacuum, you have 7 floor settings to adjust depending on your floor type and On/Off Brushroll to turn off for convenient use on hard floor surfaces. Our Customer Care Department would be happy to suggest a bagged vacuum that would better suit your pet, filter, and dust concerns.

Home Cleaner
Lutz, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
TERRIBLE MACHINE
9/29/2015

Customer review by Old Timer 21

2.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Old Timer 21
by Old Timer 21

This is the worst quality of Hoover I have EVER owned. Where to Start: - Cord retractor did not work all the time from the start, also very weak - Sounds like a jet engine at half power, hurts your ears to use it for more than a few minutes at a time - The wand does not stay extended when you twist it and is always falling off the machine - Cheaply manufactured of light weight plastic - Tips over frequently when standing up. - The height adjustment does not change and sometimes it does. I set it on high shag and it could not be pushed through the carpet, it was set so low. I stopped it and tried to see if it was broken. I turned it over and then the adjustment worked. I gave it two stars only because it does actually clean the carpet when it does work.

Comment from Joscelyn - 9/29/2015

Hi Old Timer 21! All these issues should not be occurring at all and this matter is very important to us. We have a few suggestions we'd like for you to give a try for us. If the cord retractor will not work, we recommend that you pull the cord out to the yellow tape like this: http://bit.ly/1Vp9a2Y, then slowly rewind it in half-way while holding the prong end. Then activate the cord rewind pedal to draw the cord back in. After doing this, the cord should go back in. To keep the wand extended, we recommend twisting it clockwise to lock it in place. If the height adjustment is not working and the unit is very noisy, you may visit a service center for inspection. Find the location here: http://bit.ly/1utN4DL. Let us know if you have further questions.

Old Timer 21
Fort Worth, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Truly FANTASTIC !!!!
12/10/2012

Customer review by Gino776

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Gino776
by Gino776
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After researching Vacuum cleaners and reading the reviews from others who purchased this Hoover Model, I took the plunge and purchased it. It is absolutely fantastic! Look no further if you are in the market for a new vacuum that actually does what it claims....great suction and cleaning power...and bagless to boot!! Run, don't walk to your nearest retailer and buy it!! You won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gino776
Solon, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sorry I bought it!
6/7/2012

Customer review by Mimi14

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Mimi14
by Mimi14

I had a Hoover upright for many years that was wonderful, but it finally wore out. We bought this one because we have a golden retriever who sheds and grandchildren who visit. This machine is awful. It doesn't pick up well and the brushes only roll when it is being pushed. No continuous spinning. The handle that pushes down to lock the roller doesn't release well either. I have a low nap kitchen carpet and it will not pick up the dog hair from the carpet,no matter what setting I put it on. If I set it to a lower setting because of the low nap, it is difficult to push.It doesn't pick up well on the sides next to the wall, so I am continously having to use the hose suction to get dirt along the walls. I am so disappointed, and now have $200.00 invested in a machine that doesn't work and is too expensive to just throw out and replace.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/7/2012

We are sorry to hear about the trouble you are having with your unit and we understand that this would frustrate you. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty. Visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of local service dealers for assistance. Thank you for your feedback!

Mimi14
West Chester, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/17/2013

Customer review by 35to44agebracketyuck

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by 35to44agebracketyuck
by 35to44agebracketyuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Researched vacuums a long time before deciding to buy. Love this one. I bought it specifically to use in a high traffic horse barn. The long hose is wonderful for reaching high cob webs. It is light and durable. I just hose out all of the parts, (not recommended) let them dry, and just keep on cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
35to44agebracketyuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum for someone hard on vacuum cleaners
2/3/2013

Customer review by Missmoo1119

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Missmoo1119
by Missmoo1119
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this vacuum cleaner a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it. It has great pick up and makes my carpet look brand new. I have also used the attachments for the furniture and it did great. I have had many different brands of vacuum cleaners and this by far has been the best.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missmoo1119
Ambler pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews