Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
22
1-20 of 92 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Happy rug - hot cord
1/19/2017

Customer review by Ljohoward

4.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Ljohoward
by Ljohoward

I purchased this vacuum used from a thrift store for my father in law. My husband and I made sure the belt was good, no clogs in the hose, etc. It's a spectacular vacuum, it really does do woneedful with pet hair and fine dirt. I did, however, notice that if it's been running game for a little while (I had it running for a bit because I had to go over our large are rug a few times because it was quite dirty) the cord gets really hot because of its placement so near the motor. I didn't have the cord fully unwound though (it has an awesome super long cordistance and I didn't need the full length). I don't Have the book because I got it used, but, if it's not already in there, maybe put a warning in the book that says to fully extend the cord so it doesnt get hot? Or not to run it for extended tI me so the cord doesn't get hot? Or, I don't know if it would be possible, as I don't design vacuums, but make it so the cord winder is above the dirt cup, it won't be as close to the motor and won't get hot. Also, it wasn't a problem for me and I actuallyLIKE that it's a bit heavier, but it might be to heavy for my father-in-law.

Ljohoward
Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality!!!
2/15/2017

Customer review by lolo16

1.0 stars 2/15/2017 by lolo16
by lolo16

This the dirt cup is already broken after a few months of use. A small plastic piece broke off of the bottom and cannot be repaired. It is also almost impossible to clean the dirt from the inside of the dirt cup area.

Comment from Kenya - 2/20/2017

Hi lolo16! The dirt cup on your WindTunnel Max should be holding up better than that. We want to help. The good news is the dirt cup is a replaceable part, available for purchase here: http://bit.ly/2mfJoUp. We hope this is helpful!

lolo16
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed.....
9/18/2013

Customer review by licia0701

2.0 stars 9/18/2013 by licia0701
by licia0701

I ALWAYS research the products I buy and read reviews, etc. I was choosing between a few and decided to go with this one. At first I thought, wow was my last vacuum even getting up anything before?!?! It worked great. Not even a year later, the auto rewind doesn't work and the other day while vacuuming it just turned off, never to turn on again even after letting it sit for a while. I don't have a dirty filter. The canister falls off when I detach the canister from the vacuum which can spill all the gross stuff you just got off your carpet. I didn't keep the box, I ordered this online at a reputable company and hoover prefers you to go through them with any concerns. I am seeing that this is fruitless by other remarks on the website. I am really upset as I bought this vacuum with hopes that HOOVER would be a good brand and that they stand by their customers' purchases. About 9 1/2 months from purchase date I have nothing to show for my money other than a broken vacuum. Terrible.

Comment from Ian - 9/19/2013

Hi licia0701, it sounds like you may have a clog somewhere in your airway. Go ahead and try removing the hose from both ends and running a broom handle straight through it to clear out any debris that may be caught in there. Also take a look at your primary filter located inside the dirt cup lid. If it's dusty, just rinse it out under some hot tap water for about 2 minutes and allow 24 hours for it to dry. This should restored strong, sealed suction to your WindTunnel Max. Hope this helps. Thanks so much!

licia0701
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
My favorite appliance
12/29/2016

Customer review by Nancy58

5.0 stars 12/29/2016 by Nancy58
by Nancy58

I LOVE this machine. I have purchased them for myself and family members. Great on pet hair. The attachments do their jobs, including the very cool crevice tool.

Nancy58
Detroit, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rewind
12/19/2016

Customer review by Ashley2011

4.0 stars 12/19/2016 by Ashley2011
by Ashley2011

I love this vacuum. This vacuum is very powerful and rewinds the cord. I have purchased many vacuums and this one for monthly maintenance is a dream, the takeoff and put back together is within minutes

Ashley2011
Nashville, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dissapointment
12/13/2011

Customer review by Home Cleaner

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Home Cleaner
by Home Cleaner

This review is from: Hoover Windtunnel Max Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Upright Vacuum - UH70600 (Kitchen) The suction area above the beater bar clogs with dog hair from my Lab/Cocker mix. Picks up well on carpet but not on the side edges or front like the old one. Horrible on hardwood floors. The concept of HEPA, filters etc. being so great is a FRAUD ON THE WORLD. At some point you must empty the dust container and then the dust flies. The bag is healthier. Guess Hoover lost the engineer that made them self adjusting and they forgot to make a tilt setting to go over little bumps, the handle is either straight up or all the way down, nothing in the middle. Bulky and won't go under a coffee table like the old one either. I had a Hoover upright for 35 years that still worked great. Did a lot of research and even talked to Hoover before purchasing. The best isn't self propelled like my prior.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/13/2011

We appreciate the comments about your vacuum and understand your frustrations. With bagless vacuums, you have the convenience of dropping dirt directly into the trash. A bagged vacuum does help contain the dirt and may be a better solution to your issues. With the this vacuum, you have 7 floor settings to adjust depending on your floor type and On/Off Brushroll to turn off for convenient use on hard floor surfaces. Our Customer Care Department would be happy to suggest a bagged vacuum that would better suit your pet, filter, and dust concerns.

Home Cleaner
Lutz, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
It has some very good features
9/11/2016

Customer review by debgot

4.0 stars 9/11/2016 by debgot
by debgot

I bought this 9 months ago, love it for every room but living room and hallway. Got new carpeting (Tigress) and even at the highest setting, its very hard to push through. I do use it for my bedrooms and I love the furniture attachment. All in all it really picks up, even better then my dyson.

debgot
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorry I bought it!
6/7/2012

Customer review by Mimi14

1.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Mimi14
by Mimi14

I had a Hoover upright for many years that was wonderful, but it finally wore out. We bought this one because we have a golden retriever who sheds and grandchildren who visit. This machine is awful. It doesn't pick up well and the brushes only roll when it is being pushed. No continuous spinning. The handle that pushes down to lock the roller doesn't release well either. I have a low nap kitchen carpet and it will not pick up the dog hair from the carpet,no matter what setting I put it on. If I set it to a lower setting because of the low nap, it is difficult to push.It doesn't pick up well on the sides next to the wall, so I am continously having to use the hose suction to get dirt along the walls. I am so disappointed, and now have $200.00 invested in a machine that doesn't work and is too expensive to just throw out and replace.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/7/2012

We are sorry to hear about the trouble you are having with your unit and we understand that this would frustrate you. Your cleaner has a manufactures defect warranty. Visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of local service dealers for assistance. Thank you for your feedback!

Mimi14
West Chester, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
great suction, but has some issues
11/29/2015

Customer review by bigjay

3.0 stars 11/29/2015 by bigjay
by bigjay

I bought this vaccum a year ago.The two problems that I have noticed are. The brush will not spin effectively when the height setting is on the lower settings even when run on low pile carpets. The brush will slow down and sometimes stop while running the vacuum throughout a room. I have learned to leave the height dial set above 6 so that the bush spins without bogging down during normal use. I will try a new belt, but I feel there might be a different issue. I see that other people are having the same issues and they have replaced the belt and still doesn't work right. The second issue that I have is the turbine hand tool. The vacuum does not have enough suction to spin the brush and pull the dirt from carpet or upholstery. Please email me back to see if I can have these issues solved.

Comment from Kenya - 11/30/2015

Hi bigjay! We appreciate your feedback and we have a few suggestions to help with the two issues you’re experiencing. Depending on your floors you may not be able to use the height adjustment on every setting. You’ll want to find the level most effective for the type of carpets you have. It may help to change the belt. We recommend replacing the belts about once a year. A stretched belt can cause the brushroll to stall. Replacement belts are always available here: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. The turbo tool spins off of air pressure alone. If the brushes are not spinning or you notice the suction reduced, this could indicate a clog in the hose. Try removing the hose from both ends and running a broom stick from one end to the other to knock out any clogs. That should do it. Hope this helps!

bigjay
Great Vacuum
12/19/2011

Customer review by Jules_1967

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Jules_1967
by Jules_1967

I have two australian shepherds which means that I have to vacuum frequently and that my vacuum really needs to work well. This vacuum works every bit as well as another very expensive bagless (starts with a D and rhymes with tyson) for a less than half the cost. It also WAY out-performs another expensive brand that starts with an O and ends with reck. I don't mind that I have to empty the cup often--that's how I know it works great! If you have hairy animals and you can go more than a month without emptying the dirt cup or changing the bag--you aren't getting your money's worth! I do occasionally have to remove the piece that covers the brush roller and pull out stuff that clogs up the intake every now and then though. All in all, you will not be disappointed with this vacuum!

Jules_1967
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TERRIBLE MACHINE
9/29/2015

Customer review by Old Timer 21

2.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Old Timer 21
by Old Timer 21

This is the worst quality of Hoover I have EVER owned. Where to Start: - Cord retractor did not work all the time from the start, also very weak - Sounds like a jet engine at half power, hurts your ears to use it for more than a few minutes at a time - The wand does not stay extended when you twist it and is always falling off the machine - Cheaply manufactured of light weight plastic - Tips over frequently when standing up. - The height adjustment does not change and sometimes it does. I set it on high shag and it could not be pushed through the carpet, it was set so low. I stopped it and tried to see if it was broken. I turned it over and then the adjustment worked. I gave it two stars only because it does actually clean the carpet when it does work.

Comment from Joscelyn - 9/29/2015

Hi Old Timer 21! All these issues should not be occurring at all and this matter is very important to us. We have a few suggestions we'd like for you to give a try for us. If the cord retractor will not work, we recommend that you pull the cord out to the yellow tape like this: http://bit.ly/1Vp9a2Y, then slowly rewind it in half-way while holding the prong end. Then activate the cord rewind pedal to draw the cord back in. After doing this, the cord should go back in. To keep the wand extended, we recommend twisting it clockwise to lock it in place. If the height adjustment is not working and the unit is very noisy, you may visit a service center for inspection. Find the location here: http://bit.ly/1utN4DL. Let us know if you have further questions.

Old Timer 21
Fort Worth, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete loss of suction.
8/31/2013

Customer review by PixelPig

1.0 stars 8/31/2013 by PixelPig
by PixelPig

My previous vacuum was a Hoover, had it for over 20 years. I bought a new one at Wall-Mart. I've vacuumed the house twice so far, & emptied the dirt cup twice. Today there is a complete loss of suction.  The indicator is still green. The settings are the same as the last time it worked. I've checked the hose for blockage, as per the video. Checked the filter. There is a little bit of dirt in the canister that whirls around, but it's not picking up anything. Carpet lint is collecting in the brushes, that's it. Did I try to vacuum up large items? leaves? sticks? dead flowers? dog toys? No! When I recover from the disappointment, I'll start taking it apart w/a screwdriver. I'd like to vacuum the house today. I'm going to have to disassemble it first, to find the clog.

PixelPig
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum for pet owners!
4/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was highly skeptical of this vacuum when I began my research for a new vacuum. My husband happened to purchase this for me one day while I was at work, I almost made him take it back before even removing it from the box b/c of the negative reviews. Hesitantly, I decided to give it a try. Even while putting it together I was telling myself I wasnt going to like it b/c it felt so light (cheap), almost toy-like. Upon turning it on and beginning to vacuum, I was instantly impressed. I have 3 dogs and a daughter, as well as very light beige colored carpet. This vacuum is fantastic! It sucks up pet hair thoroughly and is simply wonderful. I have not had any burning odors as some reviewers have mentioned either. The long retractable cord is great, I love the lightweight of it, since I have a 2 story house. Emptying the container is a breeze too. I honestly wanted a bagged vacuum b/c of my last canister vacuum being so messy to empty. Not the case with this one at all! The only negative thing I could say about this vacuum is that I wish the hose was longer for stairs. I have to clean half the staircase from the 1st floor and the other half from the second floor. Not a deal breaker though. I am and probably always will be a Hoover customer.

An anonymous customer
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
hate this vac
6/9/2014

Customer review by Raggs9204

1.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Raggs9204
by Raggs9204

I bought this vac about a year ago, it worked good for about a week then it started with this annoying sqeek that won't go away, it is very hard to push and have to go over the same spot many times, I have a few very low pile rugs that it won't push on no matter what setting I use it also leaves dust marks on the carpet where ever you pull it back and then push forward again. The bare floor button makes the vac suction the floor. I can't stress enough how much I hate this thing but have to keep using it because can't afford to buy another one. oh yeah when I empty it of dog fur I have to reach my hands and fingers to to pull all the fur out of it. Worst vac I ever owned.

Comment from John - 6/10/2014

Hi Raggs, we want you to enjoy using your WindTunnel Max, and I have a few tips to help you achieve that end. The best way to find the correct setting for your carpet is to start at 5 and work your way down until you hear the brushroll touch the carpet. You shouldn't feel too much resistance while using the machine on low pile carpet. Also, if dust isn't being sucked up through the base nozzle, that could mean a loss of suction. Check the indicator on the top of the canister. If it’s red, there is something restricting airflow. Here’s how to fix it. Start by removing your dirt cup. Flip the lid open and check your filter. Be sure to check the underside. If it’s dirty, rinse it under warm water and allow 24 hours for it to dry. Make sure you set it up on its edge so it dries evenly. Even if you regularly rinse it, placing a filter that’s not fully dry back into the canister could clog the filter. Next, check your main hose for clogs. Remove your hose and use a broom handle to knock out any debris that may be stuck in there. Lastly, Remove the bottom plate. Then take out the brushroll. Now check your lower hose for obstructions. You can use a grabber tool to dislodge out any clogs. You can find them at any hardware store and you won't to touch any pet hair with your hands. Let us know if you more help. If you have any more questions or concerns, please email ian.mccormick@ttifloorcare.com and we will be happy to assist you.

Raggs9204
Rutland, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Absolutely Love it!
5/6/2015

Customer review by Tammy58

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by Tammy58
by Tammy58

I bought this vacuum during a Hoover sale. I read other reviews to decide which model was best for me. I have to agree with those glowing reviews I read -- this vacuum does have power and really vacuums! I particularly like how easy it is to empty the bagless container. After just the first run, the container was already half full of dust! This is the vac I have needed. The price was so affordable, it is hard to believe the great quality. I bought a cheap unit about six months ago from a discount store for $50 and just wasted our money. It would collect dirt, but was not nearly good enough. Is it odd to love a vacuum -- not when it is as good as this one. :)

Tammy58
Cincinnati, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum! So Far, So Good.
5/10/2013

Customer review by chels14

4.0 stars 5/10/2013 by chels14
by chels14

I bought this vacuum a few weeks ago and I really like the product so far. It has great suction and picks up dog hair pretty good. It is a much better improvement from my Bissell that only lasted one year. So far this vacuum is good and I hope it lasts much longer than my Bissell did. I really have no complaints for this vacuum. The cord rewind feature is nice and the tools onboard the vacuum are great, especially the upholstery tool which I use to get dog hair off the couch. Overall, I would recommend this vacuum to people who have pets and significant others who like to drag in dirt and rocks. It is a great vacuum at a reasonable price!

chels14
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Hoover !
4/20/2014

Customer review by Tonkparent247

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Tonkparent247
by Tonkparent247

After careful research I purchased this beautiful Hoover UH70600 and I am very pleased with this vacuum. It is extremely powerful and picked up deep down dust from my carpet that my other high end vacuum missed the day before. The nice retractable cord reaches very far and the reach of the stretch hose is really impressive. The handle mounted on/off switch is very convenient, as is the quick disconnect/connect hose for the great attachments. The dirt chamber is very easy to empty and clean. Really like the carpet fluffing brush roll pattern and the HEPA filtration. I added optional pet accessories for a truly great cleaning machine.

Tonkparent247
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Cleans the Carpet!
5/24/2016

Customer review by maxiebaby0914

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by maxiebaby0914
by maxiebaby0914

Gives the carpet a good cleaning. My carpet looks fresh again!

maxiebaby0914
Watervliet, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inadequate Height Adjustment
4/27/2016

Customer review by Kroy

3.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Kroy
by Kroy

Works great and well designed with the exception of height adjustment. Does not go hi enough for deep carpet making it difficult to maneuver in deep carpet. Brush roller is buried too deep in carpet pile; won't adjust any higher.

Comment from Michael - 5/6/2016

Hi Kroy! Hmm, that doesn't sound right. Your WindTunnel Max Mult-Cyclonic has the highest adjustment of our cleaners at 7 levels. If the cleaner is harder to push even on the max setting, your cleaner may need service. Your vacuum comes with a 2 year warranty that protects against any manufacturer defects. You can find a service center near you here: http://hoover.com/locator/. We also recommend contacting the manufacturer of your carpet to find out what Hoover units are suitable to use on it. If further assistance is needed, feel free to call us at 1-800-944-9200 M-F 8am-6pm EST. We're here for you!

Kroy
southern california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just bought it--Love it.
12/31/2011

Customer review by JLS

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by JLS
by JLS

Just bought this Vacuum today, replaced old Hoover from 2004. First time using it, my wife and I could tell this product worked much better than our old one. Very quiet, great suction and dirt canister was full after just a few minutes--and we vacuum at least 2 times per week. Our old Hoover was great, but obviously was not working very well. Huge difference with this one! Canister was easy to clean, but had to reach in for small clump of pet hair--but still 100 times better than old Hoover with internal filter. We did some research first, and are very happy so far. Highly recommend you go get one.

JLS
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews