Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 51 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
4/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the bet dye i've ever used. I'm in love with the color, and it leaves my hair in excellent shape. I was heartbroken when my store quit carrying it, and i ended up trying the foam version. But that wrecked my hair. Dried it out, and the color was nothing compared to this one. On my head, (Naturally reddish/sandy brown, though ive been dying it black for about 8 months now) it turns into this beautiful navy blue color for about a week, and then stays at this pure black color for another 5 weeks. I've never had problems with my hair with this dye, and after a good soak with conditioner, i usually cant feel a difference. I have extremely long/ thick hair, so much so that I usually need to buy two boxes to cover it. But the color is always even, and stays even up untill the 6th or seventh week. After that, a reddish hue starts creeping into the top few layers. By far my favorite dye <3

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Tracey

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Tracey
by Tracey

I bought this product based on it's description online. I was a little nervous about what would actually arrive. I'm very happy that the product was exactly as described online. I bought the Jet Black with Reflective Blue color and it looks beautiful. I will definitely buy this one again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BL26 I'm in love with you!
12/29/2015

Customer review by tabross

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by tabross
by tabross

Fell in love with this color upon first use. Intense shine, silky smooth feel. Under lights and sun I see firey red highlights and The rich brown/black color is very pretty. It covered my grays as well. I attached an image to show you what I'm talking about. Of course, everyone has their own base shade and tone so nobody will have my exact color or the same color on the box but it gives you an idea of what it looks like. Good luck everyone and I hope you all have great results!

tabross
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!!!
12/23/2015

Customer review by Shariii

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by Shariii
by Shariii

I don't dye my hair to often but for the last for years this is the only color I use. I get soooo many compliments looks like a dark brown-red indoors but and a fabulous deep red outdoors, I love it!

Shariii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Black? No. Fruity Merlot? Maybe.
9/9/2013

Customer review by webchick

2.0 stars 9/9/2013 by webchick
by webchick

First of all I would like to say that I loved everything about this product except the actual color. The metallic highlights are astounding, my hair changes from a stunning pink to purple depending on the light. Unfortunately I was shooting for a black-ish color. I have been using boxed color for 25 years and this is the first time I have felt compelled to share results. I have had coloring experiences before that resulted in really odd shades but nothing like this. My experiences with Nutrisse products in the past have always been positive, I have received some beautiful results from many of the brown shades & will continue using THOSE shades. My natural shade is a very dark mousy brown so I didn't think twice about giving this new one a try. Needless to say I am very disappointed but I do have a sense of humor so I will keep the color a few days just to say i have had pink/purple hair. But buyer beware.

webchick
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
After 17 years I've found my favorite color!!
8/27/2012

Customer review by JustMe0303

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by JustMe0303
by JustMe0303

I absolutely love the way this color came out! My hair was dark/medium brown to start with. I love the black hair with auburn highlights! It's great!! I've read some of the other reviews and I'm not quite sure why it's getting a bad rep. I didn't find the smell offensive at all. I mean, it didn't smell like roses or anything, but come on...it's a CHEMICALyou're putting on your hair. And the conditioner removed most of the "color" smell anyways. And true, it may not look like the box--but it's not going to. Because everyone's hair is different and reacts differently to coloring. That's why the box is an "indicator", not a guarantee. Mine didn't come out exactly like the picture on the box, but I've also got fine hair. After coloring my hair for that past 17 years, I had a good idea ahead of time how my hair would react. Personally, I LOVE how this turned out!!

JustMe0303
Burlington, IA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love, Love, LOVE!!!
10/7/2013

Customer review by KymmeeJ

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by KymmeeJ
by KymmeeJ

My natural hair is black. Garnier Nutisse hair colors are the only 'at home' color products that have ever really given me the results I want. I wear my hair short & natural so I can change up my color with little or no worry (just on of the many things I love about my natural hair). This was something I couldn't do when I had relaxed (chemically straightened) hair. I went natural 5 years ago & haven't had a single day of regret! Back to this amazing color. I love to go with a bright firey red during the Spring & Summer months, but prefer to tone things down during the Fall & Winter seasons. I bought this color hoping to get that pop of red/auburn while maintaining a more natural black color. This product did NOT disappoint! I love it so much it may become my year 'round color. It has just enough red that really pops in the light (especially the sunlight), while enhancing my natural black hair color (the best of both worlds). Oh & did I mention, it covers grays! Of course the gray hairs show up with a redder color, which only adds an extra dimension to an already amazing color! Thanks Garnier! Don't ever discontinue this color!

KymmeeJ
Overland Park, KS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE IT
5/10/2014

Customer review by mightyclaw

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by mightyclaw
by mightyclaw

My hair is dark brown naturally and I had been dying it chocolate brown from another company. I have lots of gray underneath but my hair is still dark brown on top. So I picked up this color and gave it a try. My dark brown is blackish, but it was really dark anyway. The gray is an awesome red. People compliment me all the time. So now I have hair that looks like it is custom dyed with black and red. I was in a panic because I haven't been able to find it for a couple of weeks in my town, but I found 3 stores on the website and I might just start buying them out and stocking up because I would be upset if this color was discontinued. Today I put on a different color because of the difficulty in finding it, but it is going back to auburn black in a few days after a rest so my hair doesn't turn a really weird color.

mightyclaw
Helena, MT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Initially Dark, Fades To Pretty Red
8/11/2015

Customer review by Lizzeh

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Lizzeh
by Lizzeh

I absolutely love this colour! For a few days after dying my hair, it seems really dark, but the red is super intense in the sun. Eventually, it fades to a gorgeous auburn. I am absolutely in love with this colour because it gives me the best of both worlds. I highly recommend it.

Lizzeh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My go to color
10/17/2013

Customer review by Chey60

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Chey60
by Chey60

I have naturally blonde hair and I love this color. Those who have tried to dye over other colored hair etc are probably not getting a good color because of that. I did try to dye my new growth black because my hair fades the black out very easily and leaves the red part...so I couldn't color over that with this.. you aren't meant to.. it will not lighten already dyed black hair.. it's for natural color. I have tried other brands and the red is too bright..I love the burgundy hue of this color and get so many compliments about my hair color. Those who have issues, you should call Garnier and ask them how to color your hair. The only complaint I have is that it's difficult to find. Its not as common a color as the red hues or the regular blacks.. LOVE this color..not sure what I will do if you stop making it.

Chey60
Seabrook, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Amazing Color but it doesn't stay...
5/23/2012

Customer review by ColorPoppers

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by ColorPoppers
by ColorPoppers

Simple, its a great hair color with a beautiful!!! color but the problem I had...there isn't any kind of shampoo or conditioners for black colored hair around and its frustrating (despite the fact I have dark hair) so as a result it bled and went pretty quickly even using their color resistant products had no effect so its a great product there's just no help in keeping this color permanent in the hair!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColorPoppers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Color does not come any where near to matching the box
5/28/2013

Customer review by RAELEE

1.0 stars 5/28/2013 by RAELEE
by RAELEE

I have used Garnier hair color products since they came out and have always had very good results. I am 50 with natural dark brown curly hair and have very minimal scattered greys, I usually only have to color my hair twice a year. I choose this color for the reflective quality. As the dye began to activate in my hair, it turned bright, bright deep red. Rinsing was a nightmare, and the color result is horrible. My hair is now dark brown and BRIGHT CHERRY RED/PURPLE! After three solid days of washing/rinsing the dye is still in my hair, all over everything ~ it has run on my clothes, stained the tile in my shower and looks ridiculous, color is splotchy, ( uneven ) and is going to cost me to get it fixed. I will continue with other Garnier products but never this one!

RAELEE
Norcal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
It's RED, not black!
9/1/2014

Customer review by ChiGirl

1.0 stars 9/1/2014 by ChiGirl
by ChiGirl

As I'm sitting here writing this I'm coloring my hair a 2nd time (with a different manufacturer's hair color product), to fix the big mistake I made using Nutrisse Reflective Auburn Black. THERE IS NO BLACK OR BROWN PIGMENT IN THIS COLOR! It is bright, candy-apple red. I have some gray at my roots, which turned bright red, the rest of my black hair stayed black with some red highlights. Awful, just awful. The color bleed is also ridiculous. Even after washing and conditioning 3 times there was still bright orange water running down my face from my hair. Quite obviously, I'm very unhappy about this huge waste of time, which could have been avoided had this color been packaged as a RED, because there is nothing black or brown about it.

ChiGirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Flames on the top, charcoal on the ends!
7/30/2013

Customer review by lucyloo92

2.0 stars 7/30/2013 by lucyloo92
by lucyloo92

I have naturally very dark brown hair, but with red undertones. I wanted to keep my hair dark, but bring out the natural red. Well let's just say that the top of my head is flaming, and the ends are the charcoal aftermath. And that's when it doesn't look purple or pink. Very disappointed. As for my hair, it is fine condition. The product didn't damage my hair. But after day 5, the water is still not running clear and I'm afraid to leave my hair down if it's wet. And I'll have to disagree with the people that say that "red" dyes always do this. I've used several, and never had it bleed after the first wash. So I would not recommend this line of color. The Garnier Nutrisse brand I've never had an issue with until now. I just believe it is this color line.

lucyloo92
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Finally did it right!
6/26/2012

Customer review by miznic

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by miznic
by miznic

I picked up a box of this color (Auburn Black) and am very pleased with it. I followed the instructions and for the first time, finally found myself using the whole bottle (I have long hair). My grays are covered and the color is perfect! The only gripe I had about it was that it took so long to get the water clear (getting all the dye out) - but after seeing some of my most stubborn gray hairs colored, that was easy to forgive. :) The color itself is very forgiving for me - I'm Polynesian and have a hard time finding a black-ish color that looks right for me without making me look like I'm trying too hard to hide my gray hairs. And the smell is great!... that chemical smell isn't making a halo over my head. Perfect for me! - thanks Garnier. :)

miznic
Warner Robins, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
CLOWNISH
10/12/2013

Customer review by NaturalBabs

1.0 stars 10/12/2013 by NaturalBabs
by NaturalBabs

I've been coloring my own hair for more than 25 years. My natural color is a dark brown/soft black. The only problem I've "ever" had is occasionally choosing a color that's too dark. But I have NEVER had color that's so garish/unnatural/clownish. I can't even tell you all the colors I have - pink, copper, purple, red. You name it - it seems to be in there - practically everything. And in the sunlight - Oh Dear God!!! If I was 20 with spiked hair & tattoos, I'd still look out of place. Now I'm going to go to the beauty supply store & get a color stripper (which I've never had to use) and go back to a normal color! So much for Ultra Color Garnier. You need to go pull this stuff from the shelves!!!! Really disappointed!

NaturalBabs
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pretty color but...
4/24/2014

Customer review by lamason

3.0 stars 4/24/2014 by lamason
by lamason

I have medium brown hair naturally and usually go with a hint of red or auburn. So I decided to get adventurous and go Auburn Black. I got worried when it looked like my head was bleeding, slightly more worried when it started staining my skin (and yes I wiped it off right away). I am not a amateur hair colorist at all have used about every kind of home color. I dont think I have ever had one make such a mess. my head touched the shower stall...stained...sink, stained, scalp, yep stained. That being said its a pretty color, way more red than the box shows. when the sun or light hits it looks like my hair is on fire almost. Havent decided if I would use again....maybe the bronze..

lamason
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Forced one star rating DO NOT USE!!!!!
12/7/2012

Customer review by Anniesmom

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Anniesmom
by Anniesmom

I applied this to basically 'virgin' hair, only having color on the last inch or so of my hair. That was 3 days ago and I am a prune because I am STILL trying to get the 'water to run clear'. I stay in my shower until I am so cold I can't take anymore about 4-5 times a day, I have shampooed and conditioned MULTIPLE times each day, and worst of all, I have BLOTCHES of color!!!! I have been coloring my hair at home for the last 27 years, and I have had some mishaps in my day, but I have never experienced anything like this! I am now looking at a salon trip to repair this! DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!

Anniesmom
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love the color!!!!
8/24/2012

Customer review by HeyJaded

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by HeyJaded
by HeyJaded

I don't understand why so many people are complaining about this product! It's awesome! The color is beautiful, dark..but with a hint of the red I love. As for "Bleeding"...anytime you dye your hair ANY shade of red, with ANY product (I've used tons), you will have this issue. As for smell..this is the least harsh of any ammonia containing hair dye. I love the oils in this product sooo much! They smell amazing and my hair always feels so soft and is so shiny after using this product. The pictures are indoor with a flash so it doesn't do the color as much justice as deserved..but it gives an idea:)

HeyJaded
Pomeroy, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My Hair is RED!!!???
8/19/2012

Customer review by fggarcia

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by fggarcia
by fggarcia

I followed the instructions completely and the water would not rinse clear, I did rinse my hair 7 times but finally stopped because I got a real headache. My hair is RED & nothing like the box! I usually have good results with other products; however, this is crazy, I work in the business field now I have to wait to color again. It is RED!. I cannot believe it is completely RED!. I am disgusted with the Ultra Color Reflective Blacks! Now how can I get help for this mess up before tomorrow, Monday! I have a sinus headache or some type of headache after using this product. HELP!!!

fggarcia
La Marque, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews