Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 920 reviews
5 stars
610
4 stars
196
3 stars
49
2 stars
28
1 stars
37
Sort by: 
1-20 of 864 reviews
1-20 of 864 reviews
Convection counter top oven and rotisserie in one
12/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to replace a much smaller toaster oven a month ago, and have had very good luck with this appliance. It was wonderful over the holidays and freed my oven for other baking. We were able to rotisserie a chicken and duck for Christmas this year. A few things to know about this product: It is very large! It is not a toaster oven, it is a counter top oven. It takes up a lot of space. Check out the measurements, because it is a space commitment. It WILL bake two pizzas at once, but it bakes one pizza at a time better. The crusts turn out crispier if you bake them separately. The rotisserie forks are hard to clean. I found that the small end of a baby bottle brush cleans them the best. It toasts wonderfully. We set it to broil, put in our toast, take the timer past 40 and then set it at 10 and the bagels or bread come out perfectly every time. It has been consistent with my oven and it is perfect when you want to roast meat at one temperature and bake a side dish at another. If you have the space, love rotisserie, and enjoy cooking, this product should make a wonderful addition to your kitchen.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (241)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE MY TOASTER OVEN
6/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I LOVE MY TOASTER OVEN.. I COOKED 2 FULL CHICKENS 5 LPS EACH DIFFERENT TIMES THAT IS, NOT TOGETHER.. BAKED A CAKE IN PYREX GLASSWARE ....HAVE PICTURES OF THEM ALL...ALSO COOKED HOT DOGS TOO.. HAVE NOT USED THE ROTISSERIE YET BUT SO FAR ALL THE COOKING IS GREAT ... I ONLY HAVE IT FOR A WEEK AND 1/2 SO FAR BUT I LOVE IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT ....DELIVERY WAS SOONER THEN STATED ...I ALSO ORDERED 16 PIECE SUNBEAM BAKE SET FOR $9 THE TOTAL FOR BOTH WAS $95.59 ..I CANNOT COMPLAIN THE PRICE WAS JUST RIGHT FOR ME AND THE SIZE OF THE TOASTER IS GREAT I NEED A BIGGER ONE...1 OF THE PICTURES IS THE TOASTER OVEN ON MY PORTABLE DISHWASHER (SMALL) SORRY ONLY ALOUD TO UPLOAD 2 PICTURES ....I LOVE MY TOASTER OVEN ...YOU DO NOT NEED AN OVEN IT WORKS JUST GREAT ..IT IS JUST MY HUSBAND AND I TO COOK FOR ..IT IS GREAT... RIGHT NOW IT IS SUMMER SO I COOK MORE ON THE GRILL ...BUT WILL USE IT ALMOST EVERYDAY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (108)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Use it almost daily
3/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's a bit larger than expected, but I am loving it. We make meals for just the two of us, and I never liked using the big oven for a small amount of food. I have used this almost daily for the six weeks since it arrived. I'm even learning to use the rotisserie.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent
3/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm very satisfied with the product.Perfect for baking breads.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this!
11/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We ordered this because our Black & Decker under-the-counter toaster oven was not big enough. We purchased that one last yr for $77.00 through Walmart. This one was way less than that and does alot more! We did a 5 lb. turkey breast on the rotisserie for this Thanksgiving and it came out delicious. It took a few tries to get the skewer through the breast and we had to put string around the breast to keep it from hitting the top & bottom of the inside of the oven. But the meat came out juicy and done in the time that the instructions had said. It does take up some counter space, but we would rather do without that, rather than have to empty our kitchen oven which holds all of our baking pans etc, every time we want to broil or bake something. We have not been able to find a 12 cup cupcake pan that will fit inside (the "handles" tend to extend out too far making the pan too big). The appearance of it on the counter is very nice. So far we don't have any regrets about getting this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (167)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not a toaster oven, but a COUNTERTOP OVEN!
7/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
We bought this first six years ago when my stove broke and to repair it costs more than this oven. It was just the two of us and I couldn't see heating up the big oven for smaller meals. Well it worked like a champ! It cooked two pizzas at the same time easily, or a larger casserole dish with a smaller one ( or sometimes biscuits or garlic bread) at the same time. Well, it finally broke after heavy usage and we bought this newer model. It's even better! It's a bit wider and narrower by about one inch. It's much quieter and the door closes tight. It seems to brown the food nicely. Everything works great and we're expecting another six years or more out of this one. However, if you're expecting a regular toaster oven this is not it. It does so much more, but it is large and a bit hot. We don't mind that at all, cause that's what we were looking for, a stove replacement, but more energy efficient. (Our big stove still hasn't been repaired, but it stores pots nicely).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (518)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this
9/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this to replace a very similar Hamilton Beach counter top oven that I had regularly used for more than ten years, but the plug became defective. I use this to crisp and brown frozen foods like fried chicken, french fries, etc. It's wonderful for cooking frozen pizzas, and everything cooks much faster (with the convection) than in the large oven of my gas range. I've made simple casseroles in it like scalloped potatoes. It heats up fast, cooks fast and doesn't heat up the kitchen like using my large gas oven would. I haven't used the rotisserie function yet, but plan to rotisserie a chicken soon. This looks almost exactly like my older one, but seems to be about 1-1/2 inches wider, but still fits on my counter (I have it in a corner) This seemed to get the best reviews of all the various counter top ovens, including much more expensive styles and of course i had many years of experience with my old one. A wonderful bargain for the price and I recommend this to everyone, but just be aware that it is quite large.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A few minor complaints
12/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used several times now and have a few minor complaints: 1) no light inside and it's hard to see how things are progressing without opening the oven and usually pulling the rack out, 2) does not tell you with a ding or something when the preheat has reached the temperature you set, 3) the knobs are hard to read. The cabinet does get hot but I was expecting that and it actually comes in handy to keep dishes warm while others are still cooking. I put hot rolls on top for 20 minutes and they stayed perfectly warm, like they just came out of the oven. The size is great for our small family. I baked a 9 inch peach pie in it this morning and it turned out great. Yesterday I cooked biscuits in it. If you are looking for a functional. no frills, oven, this is possibly the best choice you can make. When I was researching other brands before I purchased, I couldn't find one with similar features for less than $20 more than this one. I am happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (207)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than the more expensive ones I've tried
1/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've used more expensive convection ovens before including the nuwave but none of them compare to this Hamilton Beach one. Its a keeper for sure. It looks so pretty and clean not too bulky but yet its bigger than I thought. It uses every inch of it for cooking. I've tried baking biscuits and they came out perfect. Well the first batch I over cooked them because the convection oven cooks faster than a regular oven. And I couldn't see how dark they were getting because there's no light inside. However it does come with a glass door so asking as the kitchen light is on you should be able to see inside. Its not a big deal to me and I still gave it 5 stars. So far so good and I've owned it for about a month. It looks like its going to last me a very long time. I have to roasted a chicken in there but I have baked a birthday cake, pizza, biscuits, and toasted bread in it. Overall I think its perfect. Don't let the price fool you. Its affordable but excellent in every way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/6/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this to replace my nonfunctioning gas oven. It looks good, arrived quickly and I was happy until I read the instruction manual and called Hamilton Beach customer service. If your a little more than average cook this will not really meet your needs. Why: Can't use glassware (Corning Ware or Pyrex) in the oven. Bake pans have to be materials other than aluminum. Can't line baking pans with parchment or wax paper. Aluminum foil can only be used to lightly cover a casserole, can't wrap anything up to cook it or may cause a fire. Frankly, it's so many things you are warned not to do with this appliance I've been afraid to use it until I buy some new bakeware. All of mine is aluminum or Corningware. I'm not even sure if you could even put a frozen dinner in since they are in aluminum pans. Unfortunately, I can't return the product because I can't afford anything else so, I guess I just have to buy useable cookware a piece at a time and bare up with this thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (542)No (117)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy This Oven!
10/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an awesome oven. We just moved into a house that is 85 years old and the wall oven is 53 years old, so my wife has been struggling with the wall oven that doesn't work all the time and an old toaster oven that was just as bad. We bought this oven not expecting much, but it turned out just great! I read some of the other reviews that complained about the fan on the convection setting being to loud. Here's why and how to fix the problem yourself. First, most counters or drain boards are sloped to allow water to drain off of them and where are most toaster ovens placed? On the kitchen counter. It's that slight slope that causes the fan to make noise. To fix the problem make sure the oven is perfectly level. Use a bubble level and stick on furniture pads (little round disks that prevent the feet on tables, etc. from scratching wood floors) I used only one on one of the rubber feet and once the oven was level the noise was gone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (430)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Probably the best available
9/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had ordered one of these from another store. When it came in it looked very good. I tried it out with the convection function on and it sounded like there was an airplane in the room. I brought it back. That was just an unfortunate lemon, not indicative of the brand or store quality. I bought one from Walmart and am very happy with it. There are a lot of different positions for the shelves and that is a great plus. It takes 9X13 pans without handles. I thought at first that I couldn't get one of these pans on a shelf if the left rotisserie fitting was on the same level. I found I could get the pan on that shelf although it was a tight fit. The temperature on this one seems to be about 25 degrees low but that is easily compensated for since the temperature dial is infinitely variable. I think this oven is an excellent buy. I would have preferred to get the model with all the chrome but did not want to pay extra for just looks. I think anyone who buys this oven will be well satisfied with it,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected
2/28/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Unfortunately the oven arrived with the top part of the metal frame either peeled or discolored. It is only about 3 inches and not extremely noticeable so I decided to keep it even though I like my new products to actually look new. Then I tried to bake fish in the oven just like I do in my regular oven but it was simply not successful; I'm not sure how I went wrong on that one. In the morning I attempted to make toast but I guess I did not buy a toaster oven as I had originally thought because there is no setting specifically for TOAST. I used the BROIL instead but it took forever to brown my bread and waffles. My regular toaster took about 2 minutes max whereas the broil setting takes about 10. I bought this to replace my toaster (which was recalled for causing fires) so I could toast and bake more quickly but overall I am not pleased and I am not optimistic about becoming happier with it. It is what it is, and it is taking up a lot of space on my counter being unused!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Value
2/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Pleasantly surprised at how well this oven does, and pleased with the inside capacity. They've come a long way since toaster ovens of the 70s. The temperature up button on my primary oven died; I bought this oven so I could delay buying a new oven. Instead, I find myself using this one even for 350 degree baking, because it preheats fast, and the convection feature is nice. My first try on rotisserie, I couldn't get a very large chicken to balance, but it came out crisp with convection, no disappointment there. My 13" baking stone fits inside. Lodge 3.5 and 5 qt cast iron dutch ovens and drop biscuit pan fit, too. A minor downside is that I can't read the numbers on the timer, but it's not a problem. The only thing I don't like is the baking pan it came with - the finish started rubbing off immediately. I replaced it with a quarter sheet jelly roll tray made in USA. It's aluminum, but with a silicone baking mat, it's IMO a safer alternative than the original.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect size counter top oven
6/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This counter top oven fits on our microwave stand just right. The only brand that does fit! Glad that a good quality oven from a trusted brand like Hamilton Beach was available. Delivery was very fast, and it arrived in perfect shape. We broiled chicken and it cooked evenly with a nicely browned skin and juicy inside. Baking other food items, I found the temperature to be accurate, and on convection setting quicker (more than 25% faster), so I advise checking frequently towards the end of cooking. It finishes quickly. There is space all around the oven on the stand, so we have no issues with the surrounding area getting too hot, or the shelf above becoming too hot. I find myself using the small broil pan with the rack the most. Looking forward to using the rotisserie soon, now that I have some cotton kitchen twine. All in all, an excellent purchase. Cannot beat the price at Walmart.com. I will note the timer is a wee bit loud, but I appreciate that to help me remember there is something in there! 9x13 pans without handles do fit in very well!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little oven!
1/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this counter top oven when our full size oven stopped functioning properly a few years ago. This things works great! I regularly bake pizza, pork chops, lasagna and chicken in this oven and have zero complaints. Because it's small, it heats up quickly which saves time on preheating. Normal size frozen pizzas fit perfectly - for even heating, twist the pizza around just after halfway through the baking time. *Not doing this will still bake the pizza thoroughly, but one side will be a teensy bit more done. I purchased small cookie trays since the larger ones will not fit and normally put one on each rack, switching them half-way through the baking time. I've tried the Convection feature when baking cookies and found just using Bake works better. I haven't used the Rotisserie or Broil so no opinion on those features. Bottom line - love this little oven and am very glad we have it!! We've had it for at least three years and it still works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it & use it often
2/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this last summer. I bake cupcakes a lot for a charity who sells them, and for parties. They turn out as well as a full-size oven, and I don't have to heat that up and run up the electric bill. Also, since it's up on the kitchen counter, I can see it better. I normally use the convection setting, which cooks much faster, though it is LOUD, but you get used to it. I often bake square pizzas in it. I really love this little oven! I never want to go without one in my kitchen, that's how handy it is. I liked it so much, I bought one for the charity's kitchen (we cook and sell food for a bingo game twice a month). I use it for melting cheese on sandwiches, etc. for the dinner specials. If you use baking pans, be aware that it's a tight fit, and that many handles on baking pans will not fit. I have to use cupcake pans without flared-out sides. If the pan's dimensions state, for example, 13 x 9 inches, that means the actual backing area is 13 x 9, which does not include the side handles. My Mother-In-Law saw mine, and immediately went online to buy one for herself!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Satisfied Indeed
11/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The heading says it all for me. I am very satisfied with my product and even more. My first countertop oven was a Hamilton Beach and gotta say I was happy with its performance for over 10 years and finally it just retired itself and I had to look for another. I knew that it would be replaced with another Hamiliton Beach countertop oven, but just wanted to get a good deal. I also looked at the sizes and was amazed at the different styles and sizes that are offered now. Finally settled on the HB Large Capacity Oven and caught it at a good deal. Ordered it and it is way bigger than my retired model and I simply loveit. Had to put it in a different place from where my smaller oven was and I am quite pleased with it and looking forward to using it as a helper on the upcoming holidays as I know HB will deliver. I would recommend this product graciously and think all would enjoy using it...worthy of its name and price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/24/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had been shopping around for quite some time for a counter top oven, so when I found this one for such a reasonable price I was excited. However, I should have checked the ratings closer. It is not a bad oven, but I dont feel it cooks as well as it should. It takes longer on both bake and convection by at least 10 minutes. According to the instructions, this oven should cook in less time. At first I thought give it a few more uses to break it in. We have college children at home that use it mainly to cook pizzas without heating up the house using our standard oven, so it has been used quite a few times and still does not appear to be very efficient. I have always preheated it for 15 minutes prior to cooking as well. It does however, have nice versatility including broil and rotisserie. The main drawback of this product is simply that it doesnt cook as well as one would expect, you will have to cook a little longer than planned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not as efficient as expected
12/3/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Sorry guys, I guess I have to be the one to write the opposing review. My sister recommended this oven to me and after reading the reviews I felt really confident in buying one for my home. Living in San Francisco means renting apartments that don't come with stoves or an oven unless you're really rich and can afford that luxury. Bought this countertop oven. Arrived quickly (thanks, walmart!). The first thing my boyfriend and I were excited to cook in it was a pizza. That didn't happen because I baked a pie first. The pie turned out awesome! Then we baked a pizza. Pizza turned out half baked and not even risen. Ok.... Try again. So we try to bake some chicken. Baked the thing for 3 hours and never got crispy but did end up cooking. BASICALLY- it just cooks kind of weird. And comes with bad instructions. And there's no indication when it's preheated (ok.........) I would recommend this if your only other option is surviving with just a microwave. I at least can bake cookies and cry about not having a real oven
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641762, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-