Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 875 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

875 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

875 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
613
4 stars
167
3 stars
32
2 stars
30
1 stars
33
1-20 of 808 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 808 total reviews
1-20 of 808 reviews
Very good so far
8/29/2016

Customer review by ESARNO

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by ESARNO
by ESARNO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had mine for 18 days. Seems perfect for us. Did not come with coffee filter and mug. Would not mind paying extra for the two. Fits inside my cabinet. Will update my review after a year.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ESARNO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile
5/14/2016

Customer review by LouLou

5.0 stars 5/14/2016 by LouLou
by LouLou

I have to give it 5 stars, even though I just got it. New kitchen and it looks sleek on the counter. Cleaned it before use and it made perfect coffee on both carafe and single cup sides with hot and robust flavor. Only concern was my flip top to carafe broke from side but I used clear epoxy to fix. Nice machine with versatility of use. Having a cup right now!

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LouLou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have It Your Way!
4/26/2012

Customer review by Retiredcopr

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Retiredcopr
by Retiredcopr

See my minor mechanical complaint at the end... I can live with it, Hamilton Beach has excellent Customer Service and 1 year warranty. I purchased this product the 1st of November 2011. I love/loved it so much that I'd see people in name brand Bath type stores and tell them to check out this coffee maker. It's perfect. I steered 4 people to purchase it, 3 of whom I'd never met! That's how sold I am on it. I love that we can have a full pot of coffee and keep it on the warmer which keeps it really warm. Or, a quick single cup, in my own cup or mug, or the insulated travel mug that comes with it. I just flip the switch to individual, fill that side with water (good for hot water without coffee too#! If I've run out of the Senso type coffee pods, it has this wonderful little screen filter that you put your own scoop of coffee in and wa-la...brew away. So coffee pod or not, I have about a 16 ounce cup of coffee of my own. I love this, love this maker - a multi-tasker like me! ****Now.... I have owned it 6 months next week and I have 1 issue. The large pot warming plate on OUR unit, has the Teflon type coating thas has started flaking off, so my maker looks several years old! It's just my husband and I using it, not abusing it. No harsh abrasives at all. So maybe it's a fluke, just our unit, but today I called Hamilton Beach and it falls under the 1 year warranty. I took photos and emailed to HB. They will replace the whole item but shipping to my rural California area is almost $16 dollars. Well worth it, HOWEVER knowing now? Purchase the Walmart 3-year $6 warranty and play it safe. I hate warranties for little things. Next time I'll reconsider it! Bottomline, save all your documents, sales receipts, etc., in case you need them. Sit back and enjoy this fine machine! Alot of bang for the buck! I don't believe you will be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (405) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredcopr
North Eastern California Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
All I expectrd it to be. I would recomend it.
9/13/2014

Customer review by YellowCactusFlower

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by YellowCactusFlower
by YellowCactusFlower
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works better then I had hoped for. I would recommend it to anyone in the need of a brewing system. Works for any job We need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YellowCactusFlower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it "will do"
8/19/2016

Customer review by ATLlady

4.0 stars 8/19/2016 by ATLlady
by ATLlady

My complaint is that it brews a full carafe VERY slow. This is compared to my previous coffee maker (which is no longer available), but it takes twice the time to brew. We purchased this model primarily due to the rave reviews, although the lower price helped. We had purchased another model (higher priced) in store a couple of days prior, but returned it after brewing one pot---it just didn't taste good. We have only used the Bold brew, so I am not sure of the taste of the regular strength. My hubby is a coffee connoisseur---he can tell the blend and the strength first sip---he says that this coffee maker "will do", which for him is high praise. I do like the one-cup feature, especially on days when I want a flavored coffee. I have only had it for less than one week, so I will probably grow fonder of it as time passes. I do like that the carafe doesn't drip when pouring, although it is a tight fit under the brew basket---it is taller and more slender than most carafes, so if you break it, you won't be able to use a generic pot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product and price!
8/30/2016

Customer review by nanaredmets

5.0 stars 8/30/2016 by nanaredmets
by nanaredmets
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I paid $52 for this and I love it! The single serve cup tastes better than a full pot ,but that's most likely because I haven't figured out the ratio of coffee to water for a full pot yet,( according to my taste.),as I only brew a full pot once or twice a week.The single cup (14 ounces) requires 2 level tablespoons of coffee to 14 oz. of water. I was surprised that the instructions did not mention anything about running water through the reservoir once before use,but I did .I have read that there was a slight plastic taste at first ,but I did not experience that. I only use filtered water. I also read in a few of the reviews that the coffee takes too long to brew.Maybe the first time or two,but now a single cup takes maybe 3 or 4 minutes and a full pot takes 5 to 7 minutes to brew. My only complaint ---it is advertised as having a stainless steel 14 oz cup with it.It does not! But you can buy one for about $10 .I am glad I bought this. Ordered it online and went to pick it up at my local Walmart store 4 days later!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanaredmets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/30/2011

Customer review by sargeret

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by sargeret
by sargeret
Top 100 contributor

I tried Mr. Coffee, Cusinart, and several other brands including the Keurig. This is the BEST coffee maker I have found and you also can use the Senseo or invidual containers for one cup and the stainless steel one cup container comes with the coffee maker. You can also use regular coffee to make one cup. This is a very versatile and excellent coffee maker. I am 100% satisfied as I tried several brands and several models of brands before getting this one. I like being able to make one cup to carry with me and the versatility of making up to 12 cups. I also learned that 5 oz water is considered 1 cup in a coffee maker and the formula is : 5 oz x's number of cups of water divided by 5, divided by 2, i.e., 8 cups water x's 5 = 40 divided by 5 = 8 divided by 2 = 4 scoops of coffee for water line of 8 cups, and add a little more or less for fine or coarse grind and desired strength. I am now using the coffee maker several times a day and also use it to make hot tea.

Was this review helpful? (99) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sargeret
Newberry, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 100 contributor
No more weak, watery Keurig coffee!
7/19/2016

Customer review by ShoppinMamaof3Cuties

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by ShoppinMamaof3Cuties
by ShoppinMamaof3Cuties
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There's no better bang for your buck than this dual brewing coffee pot. We've owned a Keurig for years, but hated spending so much on k-cups, so we had been using the re-useable k-cups (where you add your own ground coffee). No matter what coffee I tried, it was always weak, which was starting to turn me against home-brewed coffee. I bought this after reading lots of reviews & I couldn't be more satisfied. We mostly use the single cup side with loose grounds. It pours the water through much more slowly than the Keurig (even has a bold setting, which we love), so that the end result is a great tasting, rich cup of coffee. It probably takes twice as long to brew a single cup versus Keurig, but it's worth it. We've had zero issues with it & would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppinMamaof3Cuties
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dripless carafe
8/24/2012

Customer review by Yorkpower

4.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Yorkpower
by Yorkpower

After having many brands of coffeemakers whose carafes annoyingly dripped, I'm happy to finally have found one that doesn't. I have been happy with this product so far after having it about three weeks. I cannot fairly rate it for its durability, but it seems sturdy and looks nice on my counter. It does take over ten minutes to brew a nearly full pot of coffee, but the coffee does taste delicious. I have not been able to find the coffee PODS for the single brew side in my local stores. I have read that the Senseo brand is discontinuing the pods--not a problem, as you can use ground coffee in the little filter basket, although I did notice a bit of sediment in the bottom of my mug. I have also tried using the FOLGER brand coffee SINGLES little tea bag type coffee in the single serve side and it worked well. You can dip the bag into the mug to make the coffee stronger if you wish. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. It remains to be seen if it holds up under daily use.

Was this review helpful? (41) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yorkpower
Yorkville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Flexibility
2/10/2014

Customer review by HKTX

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by HKTX
by HKTX

My wife bought me this unit for Christmas and a Keurig unit. Her thought was that I could look at both and decide which one to keep. I returned the Keurig. I didn’t like the idea of being “locked” into their k-cups. Or as the marketing people like to do, get their hooks into you. The only disappointment I’ve found was that Senseo has pulled their products off the shelf at retailers and left us with ordering coffee and pods on line. Sometimes that’s not all bad. I’m still experimenting with making my own pods by cutting about an inch off the bottom of a regular 4-cup coffee filter, filling it, and then twisting the top. Not as good as the pods but works ok. I’ve ordered come pods and they work well. I've also bought the pod filters and use whatever kind of coffee I desire. I fill about 20 of them at a time and seal them with an iron. Usually use two when I use the traveling cup that comes with the Hamilton Beach. I love the fact that we can just flip a switch to make 1 or up to 12 cups. Great flexibility. I’m happy I went with the Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HKTX
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DOES NOT BREW A POT IN 4 Minutes!
12/9/2013

Customer review by BeachBum66

2.0 stars 12/9/2013 by BeachBum66
by BeachBum66

If you are looking at this for its brew speed, buy something else. It does brew a great cup of coffee. I've been happy with the taste. I also like the dual brew, you can brew either a single cup, or 12 cup pot. It's also a nice looking unit. But on the front of the box, it says "Brew a 12 cup pot in less than 4 minutes". This is not true for mine. It takes at least 10-12, longer if I choose the "BOLD" brew option. Now before you think I'm just being picky, I was actually looking for a new pot that would brew quickly. When I wake up in the morning, I want my coffee as soon as possible. "just use the timer". Well, my last coffee pot that was priced at $20 did that. I was willing to pay more for a faster brew time for that night time pot, or mid day pot. I was actually thinking about getting a unit that had a "hot water" tank on it. They brew in about 3 minutes. When I saw the claim on this one, I thought...heck whats another minute, and it doesn't use electricity 24/7. Just beware, and know what you are getting.

Was this review helpful? (50) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachBum66
Biloxi, MS.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor water handling
8/5/2016

Customer review by madcoffeedrinker

1.0 stars 8/5/2016 by madcoffeedrinker
by madcoffeedrinker

I have owned this coffee maker for a year now and have found that it has separate water tanks for each brew option. Between the tanks there is an overflow from the single brew side to the carafe brew side. What this causes is if you have a regular sized travel coffee mug and want to brew a full mug you can't. The single brew side only holds enough water for a cup and a half and any more water added will overflow to the carafe side. You might think that isn't bad but if you don't use the carafe side daily then the water collects and grows mold. I have had to clean the carafe tank out several times and haven't found a way to get a decent mug of coffee without having to clean it. I received this as a gift and I am glad I didn't spend my money on it. I would not buy a combo machine again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madcoffeedrinker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great concept
7/9/2016

Customer review by abookhultz

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by abookhultz
by abookhultz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works fine so far. Replaced a Keurig and a regular coffee pot. Doesn't take up much counter space, nice look to it, and no k-cups needed. Not a fancy machine - only settings are regular or bold, timer, and two hour auto shut off. Carafe design is good as well - has a guard on spout to prevent it from spilling out sides. Single cup side is perfect for one cup.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abookhultz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
1/16/2014

Customer review by MsPilgrim

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by MsPilgrim
by MsPilgrim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband is a coffee drinker and I prefer tea or hot chocolate. This fits the bill. He gets up before me and has the coffee pot programed to be ready when he gets up. When I get up I make tea in my travel cup (put tea bag in cup and run water through the cup side of coffeemaker). I don't use the cup that comes with the coffeemaker because it's not insulated. Had considered buying a Keurig but I priced the k-cups and they're really expensive. If you buy the tea K-cups they cost about $1 each vs a tea bag that costs 15 cents (for Grey Earl). Putting a tea bag in a cup and having the hot water go through the single cup side is just as easy and the tea comes out the same as if you put a tea kettle on and poured the water from it into a cup. The only thing you need to remember is the amount of water you put in the single serve side is the amount that will come out.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsPilgrim
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Plastic flavour goes unpunished!
12/21/2015

Customer review by Drew

2.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Drew
by Drew

The product itself works as advertised. This item did not come with the travel cup and after doing research prior to this purchase I couldn't really find any info. on which item does. But, that was not a deal breaker as I have my own trusty travel mug. Used this machine for about two weeks and liked the option of the single serve side. Did not like the carafe as the plastic lip wouldn't allow me to pour all the liquid out and there was always residual liquid in it. Poor design on the carafe! But, the ultimate strike on the machine was the plastic taste in the coffee! The whole reason to drink coffee is to enjoy the aroma and flavor. The plastic taste just crushed it for me. I thought it might go away and even had co-workers test the coffee without hinting to the issue. They all picked up on it right away! I don't know where the taste comes from and was turned off by the flavor. I returned it!

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drew
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Coffee Maker!
4/1/2016

Customer review by CarolC

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by CarolC
by CarolC

This item replaced my Mr Coffee and my one cup Keurig. It has a nice footprint on the counter and it is a pretty design. The single cup side makes a great cup of coffee with out use of K-cups or need for the "pods" (but if you want a pod you can use it) and it was great. Pretty quiet while dripping. I didn't realize that it DOES NOT come with the Travel Mug that is pictured BUT...I would not use that item anyway. But some may be disappointed if they do not get the mug. Just check that out you order. Other than that it was a perfect item with a great transaction ordering it online and picking it up at the local Walmart. Saved 10.00 on shipping compared to Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarolC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best 2 way to brew system!
11/22/2011

Customer review by SavvyMommy83

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by SavvyMommy83
by SavvyMommy83

I really love this coffee maker. First off, it makes a great cup of coffee. Like all coffee makers, you need to clean it a couple times w/ a vinegar/water mix, then at least 1 time w/ just water. Be sure you let maker cool down between cleanings....this also is true for all coffee makers. After about 2 times brewing a cup, it tastes really good. Again, this is to be expected. You can't expect the first cup out of a maker to be great. Anyhow, I have had this over a week and it just gets better and better! This was also the only coffee maker that had a mug/travel mug dispenser where you can use your own cups as well as travel mug provided. That was a BIG plus for our family. We like to make hot cocoa and tea. It comes out hot in the mug, but cools quickly on this part of maker. It doesn't have a warming pad, but to be able to use mugs you can't have that. Really, it's not a big deal, but just be sure you don't forget you made coffee or warmed water on that side of maker. The large carafe does have a warming pad and stays nice and hot just brewed and for a long time after that. It is just a great coffee maker and the price can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyMommy83
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes really good coffee!!
5/15/2014

Customer review by GSDiego

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by GSDiego
by GSDiego
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First and foremost, this machine makes really good coffee. The drip process may be a little slower than some but the end result is worth it. The coffee comes out full flavored and hot. The carafe doesn't drip and is solid with a well formed protective plastic rim around the top. On the right side of the machine is the single cup brewer. This side comes with a metal strainer (you'll have to use paper filters or your own metal filter on the carafe side) and an adapter if you want to use pods or k-cups. I haven't tried them yet, but the scoop method works well and is very convenient during the week. The travel mug they supply is cheap, but I imagine that is so to keep the overall cost down because as you know a good travel mug is not cheap. The drip tray under the single side can be removed to accommodate larger travel mugs and stacked to use household mugs. The controls are intuitive and the machine is good looking. Overall this is a great machine to get the most from your favorite coffee. No need to make a pot when all you want is one or two cups and satisfying coffee when making a full pot.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GSDiego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dual purpose coffee maker!
9/28/2015

Customer review by Frugalcoffeelover

5.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Frugalcoffeelover
by Frugalcoffeelover

This coffee maker was easy to set up and is easy to use. I had a high end Keurig given to me as a gift, but it stopped working before the two year mark. (Luckily I had not thrown out my old regular coffee maker because I wanted to be able to make an entire pot when I have company.) I discovered that my Keurig machine was known for such a short life span, so decided to check out another brand. This model had very good ratings so I decided to try it since the price was VERY reasonable. And it can use coffee pods rather than the K cups--if you still want the quick solution--which are much cheaper! I haven't purchased the pods yet, but plan to try them. I'm happy with just using 2 Tablespoons of coffee in the single serve basket. Very pleased with using the carafe for more cups, and how there is a window on the side showing how many cups of water you've poured in! I've now thrown away my old coffee maker and my Keurig since I have this new machine which is pretty compact considering it has the dual purpose!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frugalcoffeelover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coffee maker
8/25/2016

Customer review by Delpheast

5.0 stars 8/25/2016 by Delpheast
by Delpheast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. Produces good results. Single serves works well. No mess issues as reported with the k-cup model. Pods a bit less available but are out there and readily available on the Net. Water reservoir a bit narrow for filling but otherwise good design. Carafe warming plate does not heat up when single cup side is being used unlike the k-cup model. We were able to use our gold filter from our old coffee maker in this one. We also add a paper filter for extra bold brew.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delpheast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 808 total reviews
1-20 of 808 reviews