Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 755 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

755 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

755 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
528
4 stars
145
3 stars
26
2 stars
26
1 stars
30
1-20 of 688 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 688 total reviews
1-20 of 688 reviews
Have It Your Way!
4/26/2012

Customer review by Retiredcopr

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Retiredcopr
by Retiredcopr

See my minor mechanical complaint at the end... I can live with it, Hamilton Beach has excellent Customer Service and 1 year warranty. I purchased this product the 1st of November 2011. I love/loved it so much that I'd see people in name brand Bath type stores and tell them to check out this coffee maker. It's perfect. I steered 4 people to purchase it, 3 of whom I'd never met! That's how sold I am on it. I love that we can have a full pot of coffee and keep it on the warmer which keeps it really warm. Or, a quick single cup, in my own cup or mug, or the insulated travel mug that comes with it. I just flip the switch to individual, fill that side with water (good for hot water without coffee too#! If I've run out of the Senso type coffee pods, it has this wonderful little screen filter that you put your own scoop of coffee in and wa-la...brew away. So coffee pod or not, I have about a 16 ounce cup of coffee of my own. I love this, love this maker - a multi-tasker like me! ****Now.... I have owned it 6 months next week and I have 1 issue. The large pot warming plate on OUR unit, has the Teflon type coating thas has started flaking off, so my maker looks several years old! It's just my husband and I using it, not abusing it. No harsh abrasives at all. So maybe it's a fluke, just our unit, but today I called Hamilton Beach and it falls under the 1 year warranty. I took photos and emailed to HB. They will replace the whole item but shipping to my rural California area is almost $16 dollars. Well worth it, HOWEVER knowing now? Purchase the Walmart 3-year $6 warranty and play it safe. I hate warranties for little things. Next time I'll reconsider it! Bottomline, save all your documents, sales receipts, etc., in case you need them. Sit back and enjoy this fine machine! Alot of bang for the buck! I don't believe you will be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (343) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredcopr
North Eastern California Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
All I expectrd it to be. I would recomend it.
9/13/2014

Customer review by YellowCactusFlower

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by YellowCactusFlower
by YellowCactusFlower
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works better then I had hoped for. I would recommend it to anyone in the need of a brewing system. Works for any job We need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YellowCactusFlower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Plastic flavour goes unpunished!
12/21/2015

Customer review by Drew

2.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Drew
by Drew

The product itself works as advertised. This item did not come with the travel cup and after doing research prior to this purchase I couldn't really find any info. on which item does. But, that was not a deal breaker as I have my own trusty travel mug. Used this machine for about two weeks and liked the option of the single serve side. Did not like the carafe as the plastic lip wouldn't allow me to pour all the liquid out and there was always residual liquid in it. Poor design on the carafe! But, the ultimate strike on the machine was the plastic taste in the coffee! The whole reason to drink coffee is to enjoy the aroma and flavor. The plastic taste just crushed it for me. I thought it might go away and even had co-workers test the coffee without hinting to the issue. They all picked up on it right away! I don't know where the taste comes from and was turned off by the flavor. I returned it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drew
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/30/2011

Customer review by sargeret

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by sargeret
by sargeret
Top 250 contributor

I tried Mr. Coffee, Cusinart, and several other brands including the Keurig. This is the BEST coffee maker I have found and you also can use the Senseo or invidual containers for one cup and the stainless steel one cup container comes with the coffee maker. You can also use regular coffee to make one cup. This is a very versatile and excellent coffee maker. I am 100% satisfied as I tried several brands and several models of brands before getting this one. I like being able to make one cup to carry with me and the versatility of making up to 12 cups. I also learned that 5 oz water is considered 1 cup in a coffee maker and the formula is : 5 oz x's number of cups of water divided by 5, divided by 2, i.e., 8 cups water x's 5 = 40 divided by 5 = 8 divided by 2 = 4 scoops of coffee for water line of 8 cups, and add a little more or less for fine or coarse grind and desired strength. I am now using the coffee maker several times a day and also use it to make hot tea.

Was this review helpful? (71) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sargeret
Newberry, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 250 contributor
DOES NOT BREW A POT IN 4 Minutes!
12/9/2013

Customer review by BeachBum66

2.0 stars 12/9/2013 by BeachBum66
by BeachBum66

If you are looking at this for its brew speed, buy something else. It does brew a great cup of coffee. I've been happy with the taste. I also like the dual brew, you can brew either a single cup, or 12 cup pot. It's also a nice looking unit. But on the front of the box, it says "Brew a 12 cup pot in less than 4 minutes". This is not true for mine. It takes at least 10-12, longer if I choose the "BOLD" brew option. Now before you think I'm just being picky, I was actually looking for a new pot that would brew quickly. When I wake up in the morning, I want my coffee as soon as possible. "just use the timer". Well, my last coffee pot that was priced at $20 did that. I was willing to pay more for a faster brew time for that night time pot, or mid day pot. I was actually thinking about getting a unit that had a "hot water" tank on it. They brew in about 3 minutes. When I saw the claim on this one, I thought...heck whats another minute, and it doesn't use electricity 24/7. Just beware, and know what you are getting.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachBum66
Biloxi, MS.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dripless carafe
8/24/2012

Customer review by Yorkpower

4.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Yorkpower
by Yorkpower

After having many brands of coffeemakers whose carafes annoyingly dripped, I'm happy to finally have found one that doesn't. I have been happy with this product so far after having it about three weeks. I cannot fairly rate it for its durability, but it seems sturdy and looks nice on my counter. It does take over ten minutes to brew a nearly full pot of coffee, but the coffee does taste delicious. I have not been able to find the coffee PODS for the single brew side in my local stores. I have read that the Senseo brand is discontinuing the pods--not a problem, as you can use ground coffee in the little filter basket, although I did notice a bit of sediment in the bottom of my mug. I have also tried using the FOLGER brand coffee SINGLES little tea bag type coffee in the single serve side and it worked well. You can dip the bag into the mug to make the coffee stronger if you wish. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. It remains to be seen if it holds up under daily use.

Was this review helpful? (26) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yorkpower
Yorkville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Flexibility
2/10/2014

Customer review by HKTX

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by HKTX
by HKTX

My wife bought me this unit for Christmas and a Keurig unit. Her thought was that I could look at both and decide which one to keep. I returned the Keurig. I didn’t like the idea of being “locked” into their k-cups. Or as the marketing people like to do, get their hooks into you. The only disappointment I’ve found was that Senseo has pulled their products off the shelf at retailers and left us with ordering coffee and pods on line. Sometimes that’s not all bad. I’m still experimenting with making my own pods by cutting about an inch off the bottom of a regular 4-cup coffee filter, filling it, and then twisting the top. Not as good as the pods but works ok. I’ve ordered come pods and they work well. I've also bought the pod filters and use whatever kind of coffee I desire. I fill about 20 of them at a time and seal them with an iron. Usually use two when I use the traveling cup that comes with the Hamilton Beach. I love the fact that we can just flip a switch to make 1 or up to 12 cups. Great flexibility. I’m happy I went with the Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HKTX
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely love this coffee maker
10/22/2015

Customer review by Michelle

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Michelle
by Michelle

I purchased 2 different Kuerig models and was not happy with either one. I saw this coffee maker at the store and had contemplated between this machine and the Keurig( the 2nd one with the carafe) and tried the Keurig. I hated it. I went on Wal-Mart.com and saw this model $30 cheaper than the one in the store. I ordered it immediately and returned the 2nd Keurig the following day. I absolutely love this machine. It's absolutely fantastic! It's great for making a single cup or in my case a travel mug and my travel mug is very tall and it fits with no struggles at all. My old coffee pot was overflowing and I constantly had a mess to clean up. When I got this machine I instantly loved it. I made a pot of coffee and the water reservoir was easy for me to access and doesn't spill when pouring water in. I'm left handed and some water reservoirs are harder to access. The ability to brew a cup or a carafe is wonderful. When it's just me I can brew a cup and not have wasted coffee as you would from brewing a pot. I would recommend this machine over a $200 Keurig any day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome coffee maker!!
1/20/2016

Customer review by Jumar622

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Jumar622
by Jumar622

This is an excellent coffee maker. We really enjoy the versatility of being able to make a whole pot of coffee or just one mug. It's very easy to use regular ground coffee with the mesh filter that is included. The only drawback I can think of is that the single coffee pods that fit in the single brew side are not readily available without purchasing them online.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jumar622
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for my needs
10/31/2015

Customer review by BigWobew

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by BigWobew
by BigWobew

I use the smaller brewing station for my travel mug every day for work. My travel mug stands a little taller than most, but still fits. The carafe side is excellent for when we have guests over. I bought a permanent filter for the carafe side so now I have no need for those annoying paper filters anymore! If there are any cons, I would say that I always need to pull the entire unit away from the wall so that I can pour the water in the reservoirs. It could be that my upper cabinets are a little low, but I think I would need to do that anyway, it's just a taller unit compared to my old one. Overall, an excellent choice and fits the bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigWobew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
1/16/2014

Customer review by MsPilgrim

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by MsPilgrim
by MsPilgrim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband is a coffee drinker and I prefer tea or hot chocolate. This fits the bill. He gets up before me and has the coffee pot programed to be ready when he gets up. When I get up I make tea in my travel cup (put tea bag in cup and run water through the cup side of coffeemaker). I don't use the cup that comes with the coffeemaker because it's not insulated. Had considered buying a Keurig but I priced the k-cups and they're really expensive. If you buy the tea K-cups they cost about $1 each vs a tea bag that costs 15 cents (for Grey Earl). Putting a tea bag in a cup and having the hot water go through the single cup side is just as easy and the tea comes out the same as if you put a tea kettle on and poured the water from it into a cup. The only thing you need to remember is the amount of water you put in the single serve side is the amount that will come out.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsPilgrim
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dual purpose coffee maker!
9/28/2015

Customer review by Frugalcoffeelover

5.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Frugalcoffeelover
by Frugalcoffeelover

This coffee maker was easy to set up and is easy to use. I had a high end Keurig given to me as a gift, but it stopped working before the two year mark. (Luckily I had not thrown out my old regular coffee maker because I wanted to be able to make an entire pot when I have company.) I discovered that my Keurig machine was known for such a short life span, so decided to check out another brand. This model had very good ratings so I decided to try it since the price was VERY reasonable. And it can use coffee pods rather than the K cups--if you still want the quick solution--which are much cheaper! I haven't purchased the pods yet, but plan to try them. I'm happy with just using 2 Tablespoons of coffee in the single serve basket. Very pleased with using the carafe for more cups, and how there is a window on the side showing how many cups of water you've poured in! I've now thrown away my old coffee maker and my Keurig since I have this new machine which is pretty compact considering it has the dual purpose!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frugalcoffeelover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Made the mistake of ordering this!
12/31/2015

Customer review by Vanessa

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Vanessa
by Vanessa

I ordered this for a Christmas present. I noticed that it wasn't what I was expecting so I wanted to return it. What a mistake! I couldn't return this to the store. They make you return it to abother company and it cost me $20 to return it. Not happy about that! I will never order from Walmart online again. What a hassle!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vanessa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy!
11/13/2015

Customer review by GeeksGirl

5.0 stars 11/13/2015 by GeeksGirl
by GeeksGirl

I got this coffee maker after retiring my Keurig. The Keurig, in my opinion, isn't for avid coffee drinkers or anyone who likes more than a shot glass cup of coffee. I am SO happy with my purchase! The left side has a single serve option and allows me to fill up my travel mug when I'm running out the door to work every morning, and the carafe side is great for when I have company. This awesome machine makes a pretty great cup of coffee! There is even an option to make a bolder cup of coffee but just one touch of a button! Can we say awesome?!? It's also a great looking machine! The stainless steel is very attractive! It is a little on the wide side, so if you do not have much counter space, you may want to rethink this model. All in all, I'd buy this again! If you're on the fence, go for it! And if you have a Keurig, just buy this because you'll be so much happier!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeeksGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best 2 way to brew system!
11/22/2011

Customer review by SavvyMommy83

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by SavvyMommy83
by SavvyMommy83

I really love this coffee maker. First off, it makes a great cup of coffee. Like all coffee makers, you need to clean it a couple times w/ a vinegar/water mix, then at least 1 time w/ just water. Be sure you let maker cool down between cleanings....this also is true for all coffee makers. After about 2 times brewing a cup, it tastes really good. Again, this is to be expected. You can't expect the first cup out of a maker to be great. Anyhow, I have had this over a week and it just gets better and better! This was also the only coffee maker that had a mug/travel mug dispenser where you can use your own cups as well as travel mug provided. That was a BIG plus for our family. We like to make hot cocoa and tea. It comes out hot in the mug, but cools quickly on this part of maker. It doesn't have a warming pad, but to be able to use mugs you can't have that. Really, it's not a big deal, but just be sure you don't forget you made coffee or warmed water on that side of maker. The large carafe does have a warming pad and stays nice and hot just brewed and for a long time after that. It is just a great coffee maker and the price can't be beat!

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyMommy83
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Makes really good coffee!!
5/15/2014

Customer review by GSDiego

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by GSDiego
by GSDiego
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First and foremost, this machine makes really good coffee. The drip process may be a little slower than some but the end result is worth it. The coffee comes out full flavored and hot. The carafe doesn't drip and is solid with a well formed protective plastic rim around the top. On the right side of the machine is the single cup brewer. This side comes with a metal strainer (you'll have to use paper filters or your own metal filter on the carafe side) and an adapter if you want to use pods or k-cups. I haven't tried them yet, but the scoop method works well and is very convenient during the week. The travel mug they supply is cheap, but I imagine that is so to keep the overall cost down because as you know a good travel mug is not cheap. The drip tray under the single side can be removed to accommodate larger travel mugs and stacked to use household mugs. The controls are intuitive and the machine is good looking. Overall this is a great machine to get the most from your favorite coffee. No need to make a pot when all you want is one or two cups and satisfying coffee when making a full pot.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GSDiego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hamilton Beach Flex Brew
1/6/2016

Customer review by BJBxxxxxxxxx

2.0 stars 1/6/2016 by BJBxxxxxxxxx
by BJBxxxxxxxxx

Not quite the product it is all hyped up to be. The single serve side dumps coffee grounds into your go cup since there is no lid on the coffee filter in that side. It stated that coffee pods could be used but there is no way you can use a coffee pod in this unit, since it can not puncher the pod and send the water through it. The pot side is ok but I could have saved some money and just bought a reg coffee pot or 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BJBxxxxxxxxx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked fabulously until it pooped out
10/19/2015

Customer review by NNYer

1.0 stars 10/19/2015 by NNYer
by NNYer

While this coffeemaker worked, we loved it--the carafe part in particular (the to-go part made the coffee consistently weak, so we didn't use it). The carafe part made the coffee strong the way we like it, and kept it very hot for the two hours. We purchased it because the reviews are overwhelmingly positive & because it's programmable. Was more expensive than our previous Mr. Coffee coffee maker that lasted several years (in fact, it still works) but wasn't programmable. We purchased this in Sept. 2014. Almost exactly 13 months later (October 2015) the water flooded out of the bottom for no apparent reason, and it stopped working. The manufacturer's guarantee is only for one year, so we are out of luck.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NNYer
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good
2/7/2016

Customer review by Coffee

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Coffee
by Coffee

Great machine. 4 stars and not 5 cause they could make some extra features on it and be right in the running with the solo cup machines and the pot machines.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite working after 7 months
2/1/2016

Customer review by kebtucky

1.0 stars 2/1/2016 by kebtucky
by kebtucky

I liked the coffee maker - made tasty coffee and the individual cup service was nice. However, after 7 months, it stopped making coffee - the pump died I guess. Hamilton Beach customer service is impossible, but I'm trying to get a replacement or preferably a refund. After doing an internet search on the problem, apparently it's quite common. Steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kebtucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 688 total reviews
1-20 of 688 reviews