Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 741 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

741 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

741 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
449
4 stars
142
3 stars
51
2 stars
24
1 stars
75
1-20 of 693 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 693 total reviews
1-20 of 693 reviews
Finally found the perfect coffee maker
6/7/2016

Customer review by Monserrate

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Monserrate
by Monserrate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I first tried this product at my daughters house and I enjoyed how the coffee maker was so easy to use . When I came back to New York but I wanted to purchase the same one she had and I found that it was very convenient for me to have around. In the morning I have to hurry up to get to work so I put this coffee machine very quickly and by the time I come back to get my cup it's done and ready . it's very simple makes one big large cup and all I do is press one little button I'll still have two coffees scoops that I didn't get with any of the coffeemakers . I have no regrets making this purchase .

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monserrate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little coffeemaker!
11/23/2011

Customer review by drcoop

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by drcoop
by drcoop

This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups. The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee. NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker! 1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY. 2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees. Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.

Was this review helpful? (376) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drcoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.
12/28/2013

Customer review by llisamac

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by llisamac
by llisamac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee. The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there. We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups. This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea. I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.

Was this review helpful? (133) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llisamac
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving It So Far......
11/18/2014

Customer review by Pammers

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Pammers
by Pammers

I have been using this one cup Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel for several days now and I can't rave enough about it. No paper filters to use and the time it takes to make a cup of coffee out beats the Bunn I have been using. I was so amazed at how fast it made coffee and the coffee taste better then any other coffee maker I have used and I have used the top of the line. I use the Bold option on it. I have gotten about 13 0z from it anymore then that it will run over, but hey it makes it so fast that you can just turn around and make another cup. The clean up is fast and easy, it takes maybe a few minutes and not only does it make the best coffee and I use Walmart's decaf brand to boot, its style and color is so stylish also. The mark down price is just icing on the deal. I wanted to get it last year, but the price I thought was to pricy, but if I knew how well it made coffee I would have paid it gladly. Would I recommend it to others " you bet."

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pammers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely one of the nicer single cup brewers
4/7/2016

Customer review by AddToBasket

4.0 stars 4/7/2016 by AddToBasket
by AddToBasket

My family really caught on to the idea of single cup coffee makers because we drink coffee at different times of the day. At first we had one that does both K-cups and drip brew. A common problem with all single cup coffee makers is that it takes a lot of grounds to make a strong cup of coffee. The problem with the convertible K-cup machines is that they use high-pressure nozzles to shoot the water down into the grounds, making a huge mess where the grounds spray all over inside the machine, making for difficult cleanup every single time you make a cup of coffee. I decided to switch to a single cup drip brewer, which narrowed the field. I chose this one because I read other reviews that said it was easy to clean, which was true. This has a three-piece stainless steel filter basket which easily lifts out of the machine and grounds don't go anywhere else. It's very easy to clean and wipe down. I had read some of the reviews about the weird taste and ran several cups of vinegar through it before I made the first cup, and I have never picked up on the weird taste. This is definitely my new favorite coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AddToBasket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's good for the price
9/7/2016

Customer review by littlebird

4.0 stars 9/7/2016 by littlebird
by littlebird
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is functional and the coffee comes out tasting good. There are two baskets, one to filter the grounds and one just below, which catches some of the finer sediment, but a bit still gets through. The tray for the coffee cup only has two positions, level with the bottom, or flipped over, which equals about 3 inches. I use a gourmet, finer coffee so need to use the Bold brew, and it comes out just fine. I found, if I flip the tray over, to the highest setting, I cannot fit a regular coffee cup under it, and at the lower level, I have to use a tall travel mug, otherwise it splatters. But, with a couple adjustments, it works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlebird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works With No Results.
2/15/2016

Customer review by Disapointed

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Disapointed
by Disapointed

It looked like a nice product when I took it out, but when I tried to use it there was nothing but trouble. This is what happened, with the proper type of coffee grounds (drip coffee as mentioned in the manual) and the proper amount to use for a single cup (to the 1st line on the scoop filter), I used Bold to run my first cup. When I start running it, about half way thru the cycle the water and grounds starting running over the sides I had to stop the unit. I tried it again using the same amount of coffee, but put it in the 1st unit, it did the same thing. I them bought some hole bean coffee and ground it on regular drip type, a little coarser then the first I used. When I tried it again, single cup, it ran fine but the coffee came out week and with fine grounds. I tried again with full scoop of coffee, it ran fine but the coffee came out weak with fine grounds in it. I then POURED this cup of coffee over the same grounds in the filter 2 more times, the coffee was still to weak and becoming muddy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disapointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little product
12/31/2011

Customer review by fabianab47

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by fabianab47
by fabianab47

Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage. I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops. The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabianab47
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely the best single serve on the market!!
10/12/2011

Customer review by jasTN

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by jasTN
by jasTN

I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines

Was this review helpful? (587) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jasTN
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Is it wrong to love a coffeemaker?
8/5/2016

Customer review by newsince86

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by newsince86
by newsince86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Words cannot express how much I love this coffeemaker. It is so easy to use and the best part is the fact that the scoop is the filter. All you do is put your coffee in the scoop and add the amount of water that you need. It brews the coffee fast right in your cup, no paper filters to fight with and no carafe to clean. I have always used the regular coffee makers that used those awful paper filters that could slip and cause you to have a full pot of coffee grounds. The Scoop is such a wonderful product; it has made a big difference for me and how my coffee is brewed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newsince86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No need to break the bank for fresh coffee!
9/25/2016

Customer review by Toot

4.0 stars 9/25/2016 by Toot
by Toot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do have to use a tad more coffee per cup than I would for a whole pot, and with my refrigerated creamer I do have to warm up my cup and creamer, but overall, I really like this little machine. My mom decided to give me her namebrand single serve coffee maker right after I bought this, and I planned to give this as a gift. After using hers I decided this was a lot better than the $170 job. This one heats up and brews a lot faster, doesn't require special cups or filters, and the bold setting is the perfect strength. I use about a tbsp of Reg and tbsp of decaf and a tiny pinch of salt to bring out the flavor per 8 oz of water. The only thing I would change about this is the multilevel flip cup rest. It's really only 2 levels and the high level is too high for a large coffee cup, so it splashes a little. It only takes a second to wipe it up, just a minor detail. Also, kudos to B&D for not weaving every single language into the instruction manua with one set of picturesl. English takes up the first few pages and you can ignore the rest. Also appreciate them telling you how to clean it with vinegar (like I always clean a coffee maker!) and not trying to sell another product for descaling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THIS IS IDEAL FOR MAKING SINGLE CUPS OF COFFEE.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Silas9901

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Silas9901
by Silas9901
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

BOUGHT THIS AFTER MY OLD COFFEEMAKER QUIT ON ME. GREAT PRICE AND VERY QUICK SHIPMENT TO MY FRONT DOOR. THIS SOMEHOW MAKES A MUCH BETTER TASTING COFFEE THAN MY OLD MACHINE AND I USE THE SAME COFFEE IN THIS AS I DID IN THE OLD MACHINE. CLEANUP TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES AND ALL THAT CHROME MAKES IT LOOK MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT IS. I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT COME WITH A LARGE MATCHING COFFEE CUP SO I AM USING MY OLD CUP THAT DOES NOT QUITE MATCH THE DECOR. IT DOES COME WITH TWO SCOOPS AND HAS A HANDY NOTCH ON THE SIDE TO HANG YOUR SCOOP AND KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER. VERY QUICK IN PRODUCING A HOT, GREAT TASTING CUP OF COFFEE. HAS NO ALARM TO TELL YOU ITS READY. VERY EASY TO SWITCH FROM LARGE TO SMALL COFFEE CUPS. ONLY USES LOOSE COFFEE, BUT I SUPPOSE YOU COULD CUT OPEN PREPACKED CUPS AND POUR INTO THE SCOOP. IT DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO VERY WELL. GETS MY RECOMMENDATION.

Was this review helpful? (74) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silas9901
Clearwater, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Attractive, easy to use, inexpensive
8/25/2015

Customer review by Coffeelessfornow

4.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Coffeelessfornow
by Coffeelessfornow

Pros: Nice looking for the price. Makes coffee quickly. One minute or so-- and it has a drip tray so you can pull your cup away even if still dripping a little Quick and easy to clean. The compartment to add your water is large so you don't get water all over the place filling it. Cons: You are supposed to get 2 brewing baskets with handles and I only got one, so I can't scoop a second time for my wife's cup because it's wet and have to use measuring spoon. You have to clean 3 things each time but it is easy and quick. The bottom of the scoop is flat and not conical like my old Black and Decker one cup so the hot water isn't concentrated causing me to use a more grounds to make same strength cup. Notes: You can buy those little inexpensive Aero filters to fit in the bottom basket to keep coffee oils and sludge out of your cup. I put hot tap water in mine (not boiling). Makes the brewing water hotter, faster and coffee stronger.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coffeelessfornow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this coffee maker!
10/5/2011

Customer review by HookedOnCoffee

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by HookedOnCoffee
by HookedOnCoffee

I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!!

Was this review helpful? (312) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HookedOnCoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker
3/1/2016

Customer review by Edward

5.0 stars 3/1/2016 by Edward
by Edward

This is a great single serve coffeemaker. I liked it so much that I purchased my second coffeemaker due to my first one dying on me after several years of daily, multiple use. I especially like the fact that it is a stainless steel unit including the reusable filters so you do not have the issue of hot water coming in contact with plastic or paper filters impacting the taste of the coffee. It is important to note that the filters should be emptied and cleaned after each use as it will become clogged and cause a water overflow. Additionally, it is a good idea to catch the drips of coffee with a second cup as it takes a little time for the saturated coffee grounds to become drip-free. The only thing that I wish is that the unit could be serviced when it stops functioning. Mine stopped heating and dispensing the water and it is probably a simple fix but the factory indicated there are no parts available and the units are not intended to be serviced. Too bad as my old unit still looks good but at the price of a new unit, I really can not complain too much.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edward
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee
12/31/2011

Customer review by zloh

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by zloh
by zloh

We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins.

Was this review helpful? (109) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zloh
KCMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good coffee maker
2/22/2012

Customer review by Retiredguy41

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Retiredguy41
by Retiredguy41

I purchased this coffee maker because I like fresh hot coffee, and I had been using one of those plastic cups you put a filter in and pouring hot water through that was heated on the stove. With that said I like the basic idea of the coffee maker, its good but not great.problems are #1 its messy,splashes, #2 it uses too much coffe tomake agood cup,and often all the grounds are not wet,the water doesnt stay in the coffee basket long enough. Two solutions, 1 put a small round filter in coffee basket, or 2 I sometimes used the above mentioned plastic cup with filter to run hot water from coffee machine through. This takes care of the third problem of gritty coffee in your cup by using a better filter. To overcome the coffee not being hot enough, run your cup under hot water to preheat it. Ido this with most coffee makers. Overall its a good machine though not great,and it is fairly fast.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredguy41
Soap Lake Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my needs
10/9/2013

Customer review by ggbliss

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by ggbliss
by ggbliss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a single-serve coffee brewer for my piano studio. This meets my needs perfectly; it is small, simple, easy to clean, uses regular coffee grounds, has its own filter, and fits any mug I might choose to use. It shuts off as soon as the coffee is made, so I don't have to worry about it accidentally leaving it on. It dispenses right into my thermal mug that I like to use, which I then place the lid on it and I don't have to worry about spills. It cost more than I would have liked to spend, but there really was no other coffeemaker that I could find that had the exact features I needed. I expect that over time I will save enough money not buying special pods or filters so that the savings will offset the initial cost of the coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggbliss
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this single serve brew.
9/29/2016

Customer review by Stella

4.0 stars 9/29/2016 by Stella
by Stella
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this single brew ...it's just what I have been looking for:)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT!!
9/27/2016

Customer review by BULLDOG

5.0 stars 9/27/2016 by BULLDOG
by BULLDOG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

WORKS GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BULLDOG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 693 total reviews
1-20 of 693 reviews