Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 601 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

601 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

601 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
363
4 stars
107
3 stars
44
2 stars
20
1 stars
67
1-20 of 553 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 553 total reviews
1-20 of 553 reviews
Absolutely the best single serve on the market!!
10/12/2011

Customer review by jasTN

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by jasTN
by jasTN

I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines

Was this review helpful? (479) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasTN
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Love this coffee maker!
10/5/2011

Customer review by HookedOnCoffee

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by HookedOnCoffee
by HookedOnCoffee

I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!!

Was this review helpful? (247) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HookedOnCoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little coffeemaker!
11/23/2011

Customer review by drcoop

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by drcoop
by drcoop

This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups. The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee. NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker! 1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY. 2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees. Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.

Was this review helpful? (272) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drcoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for 1 or 2 cups with no waste.
10/14/2011

Customer review by budoftexas

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by budoftexas
by budoftexas

Brew a hot cup in a minute, rinse the filter basket and that's it. No pot getting stale and starting to taste bad.

Was this review helpful? (152) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budoftexas
Texarkana, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HB Scoop Coffeemaker is quick & easy!
10/5/2013

Customer review by Barbhed

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by Barbhed
by Barbhed

Bought this about a year ago and still satisfied with the excellent coffee HBSC makes! The coffee is not bitter due to the fact it makes it quick and makes it hot (easy to insert water). It's also easy to clean and I like the extra scoop if I want to make tea. This coffeemaker is used morning and night at least two to five times a day.

Was this review helpful? (68) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barbhed
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.
12/28/2013

Customer review by llisamac

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by llisamac
by llisamac

We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee. The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there. We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups. This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea. I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.

Was this review helpful? (88) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
llisamac
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my needs
10/9/2013

Customer review by ggbliss

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by ggbliss
by ggbliss

I needed a single-serve coffee brewer for my piano studio. This meets my needs perfectly; it is small, simple, easy to clean, uses regular coffee grounds, has its own filter, and fits any mug I might choose to use. It shuts off as soon as the coffee is made, so I don't have to worry about it accidentally leaving it on. It dispenses right into my thermal mug that I like to use, which I then place the lid on it and I don't have to worry about spills. It cost more than I would have liked to spend, but there really was no other coffeemaker that I could find that had the exact features I needed. I expect that over time I will save enough money not buying special pods or filters so that the savings will offset the initial cost of the coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (68) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggbliss
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee
12/31/2011

Customer review by zloh

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by zloh
by zloh

We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins.

Was this review helpful? (91) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zloh
KCMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Coffee, Convenient & Fun
10/14/2012

Customer review by yousaywhat

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by yousaywhat
by yousaywhat

From previous reviews it is clear that people either love or hate The Scoop. Using the bold setting & filling the scoop with coffee to the 14oz line, I have found that it makes excellent, hot coffee (I like mine strong), is easy to use, clean & kinda fun. For reference, I usually use Starbucks preground House Blend & a 12 oz mug. Some previous reviews noted weak coffee & coffee grounds in their coffee. I have had no such problems & believe this may be from placing the coffee in the secondary filter instead of leaving in the scoop for brewing (the instruction booklet is not very clear to leave coffee in the scoop for brewing) or using coffee that is too finely ground (instruction booklet recommends against this). Some mentioned coffee splattering. With the "cup rest" in the up position coffee can splatter if using an 8oz cup instead of a mug (which have a higher lip). Use a mug or put something under a regular cup to raise it up a bit. With an 8 or 12 oz mug I've had no splattering. The 12oz mug fits just under the"filter well". Others have mentioned that their coffee was not hot. To insure a hotter mug of coffee the instruction booklet recommends heating your mug before brewing. I've done this &, compared to a cold mug, does make for a hotter cup of coffee. If that doesn't work, probably a defective unit. To clean, rinsing the scoop, secondary filter & filter well takes no time at all. I recommend The Scoop for a quick, hot mug, or travel mug, of coffee and like I said, it is kinda fun to use.

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yousaywhat
SFO Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better than expected
11/29/2011

Customer review by marzman

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by marzman
by marzman

Wanted to choose my own coffee and not get stuck with the high cost of pre-packaged bags or plastic bins. (not to mention the limited choice of most stores) I liked the one cup option makers and liked the high end options on the market but not the price. This model gives you both worlds at a reasonable price. (not cheap, but reasonable!) I have had it over a week and have used it several times a day at least. Brews fast, fairly quiet, and pretty idiot proof. Well made for the price, solid feel, and I looked at many in the store that felt like junk. Has a reversible cup plate for travel mugs or standard cups made out of metal. (not plastic) The video on the product doesn't really point that out and I almost didn't buy it cause some prior review said it sprayed coffee all over. I'm guessing they didn't flip the plate cause it is so well made that it I almost couldn't figure it out. (Guys don't read instructions unless all else fails) I use low acid coffee and sub in some Dunkin coffee with seasonal flavors. Brewed only on bold as recommended for this type of coffee and it tastes better than my $4.00 Starbucks cup. The extra plus is how nice it looks sitting out and it's kind of fun using it. (I never found making coffee fun) It also makes either a 8oz or 14oz cup without getting watered down or using more expensive packets. Can't find this model in stores for some reason but don't be afraid to order, it was well worth the risk of not being able to play with it prior to buying. ordered from Walmart , came in 2 days. Pay the extra and stay away from the cheap ones, or take out a loan and buy the ones with limited choice of coffee and extras you don't need.

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marzman
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
THIS IS IDEAL FOR MAKING SINGLE CUPS OF COFFEE.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Silas9901

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Silas9901
by Silas9901

BOUGHT THIS AFTER MY OLD COFFEEMAKER QUIT ON ME. GREAT PRICE AND VERY QUICK SHIPMENT TO MY FRONT DOOR. THIS SOMEHOW MAKES A MUCH BETTER TASTING COFFEE THAN MY OLD MACHINE AND I USE THE SAME COFFEE IN THIS AS I DID IN THE OLD MACHINE. CLEANUP TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES AND ALL THAT CHROME MAKES IT LOOK MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT IS. I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT COME WITH A LARGE MATCHING COFFEE CUP SO I AM USING MY OLD CUP THAT DOES NOT QUITE MATCH THE DECOR. IT DOES COME WITH TWO SCOOPS AND HAS A HANDY NOTCH ON THE SIDE TO HANG YOUR SCOOP AND KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER. VERY QUICK IN PRODUCING A HOT, GREAT TASTING CUP OF COFFEE. HAS NO ALARM TO TELL YOU ITS READY. VERY EASY TO SWITCH FROM LARGE TO SMALL COFFEE CUPS. ONLY USES LOOSE COFFEE, BUT I SUPPOSE YOU COULD CUT OPEN PREPACKED CUPS AND POUR INTO THE SCOOP. IT DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO VERY WELL. GETS MY RECOMMENDATION.

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silas9901
Clearwater, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great concept. My opinion fair product.
9/25/2011

Customer review by MYIICENTS

1.0 stars 9/25/2011 by MYIICENTS
by MYIICENTS

I have had the Hamilton Beach Scoop single scoop for about a week now. I unfortunately will be returning it for the following reasons. I have put them in order of severity as perceived by me. 1. MESSY - When I brewed in a larger size coffee mug the coffee would splash all over the counter about a 10 inches out from the front half of the brewer. This splashing would also be on the back of the area that you place your cup. Because of this you would need to wash the brewer and the counter every time you brew a cup of coffee. 2. Metal and plastic filters = GRITTY coffee. This brewer has 2 filters the scoop is a metal mesh filter and below that there is another plastic mesh filter. The coffee is still gritty You need to clean out both every time you brew a cup of coffee. 3 .The Brewer will also DRIP for a while after you make a cup of coffee so you need to clean out both filters before or immediately after you remove the cup. You must clean out both filters every time you brew a cup of coffee. 4. The scoop / filter is a fine mesh welded to the bottom of the cup. The spots that are welded are RUSTING. 5. The brewer I received does not sit flat. There are 3 pads / feet along the front of the coffee maker. The center one is lower than the others so the brewer WOBBLES to the left and right.

Was this review helpful? (150) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MYIICENTS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect single-cup coffeemaker
12/29/2013

Customer review by Miss41

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Miss41
by Miss41

After much research, I purchased this coffeemaker to use when my brother visits. I drink decaf and he does not. If one of us was using the 12-cup coffeemaker, the other would have to wait or pour their coffee into a thermal carafe so the other of us could use the coffeemaker. Problem solved with "The Scoop". I love this coffeemaker. It is simple to use and performs exactly as stated in the user manual. The coffee is hot and tastes good. Clean up is a breeze. My only suggestion is to use a paper filter if you don't like a bit of "sludge" in your coffee. I cut little circles out of a larger filter and use it in the secondary filter underneath the filter basket and it works great. I have noticed that small filters are sold for making your own K-cups but my solution works just as well. I couldn't be happier with this coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miss41
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little product
12/31/2011

Customer review by fabianab47

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by fabianab47
by fabianab47

Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage. I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops. The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fabianab47
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/8/2011

Customer review by PhilNStacy

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by PhilNStacy
by PhilNStacy

Love it!! Makes the perfect amount of coffee for me. It's easy to use and easy to maintain. I haven't had any of the rust issues or the splatter issues as some have reported. I get everything ready the night before and just have to push the button when I'm ready for my coffee. It's ready in just a few minutes. :0)

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhilNStacy
Surveyor, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
coffee is great
12/7/2011

Customer review by Coffinator

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Coffinator
by Coffinator

Nice implementation of a steel based coffee maker. No need for any paper filters. Single cups are all I need, fresh coffee guaranteed. No waste. BTW you can invert the bottom, so small cups can reach the outlet of the filter which avoids spill. Nicely done.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coffinator
Knoxville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality product
12/2/2013

Customer review by bryan223

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by bryan223
by bryan223

I am happy with the performance of this product. Unlike others, I think it makes a good tasting cup of coffee (and I do not like weak coffee). The product appears to be well made, and all the screens are stainless, not a plastic mesh. My only complaint is that it splashes a bit while making coffee so you get tiny drops of coffee on the counter and the maker. A cover over the cup or perhaps moving the cup closer to the scoop holder would be a design improvement. You also need to place a napkin/towel on the base to catch drips to avoid cleaning the base. I use the Bold setting to make my coffee.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bryan223
Newport News, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Coffee Maker for a Guy
1/4/2012

Customer review by Krissymaymay

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Krissymaymay
by Krissymaymay

My husband is a semi coffee drinker. He likes to have a cup here and there on the weekends and if we are going to be in the car for a while in the morning. Well he wanted the "K" machine for X mas and I would not get it because of the price and besides it can only make 8 oz. He likes more than that. So I did a lot of research around christmas time and as I was about to give up the commercial for the One Scoop came on television. I was so excited to see this price on the Walmart website. I could not believe that this product does not need cups and you can use your own favorite coffee. He brews up to 14 oz and that is exactly what my husband wanted. The best thing I have come across in a long time. It is sleek thin and looks great on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krissymaymay
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great tasting coffee!
1/2/2012

Customer review by mom2mae

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by mom2mae
by mom2mae

I'm in love with my new coffee maker! I was very hesitant because of the negative reviews but I'm so glad I gave this a try. I like a strong brew and was worried I wouldn't be able to get one but with a little experimenting I have achieved the perfect cup of coffee for me. Is is a snap to make and two minutes later an awesome cup of coffee, a quick rinse of the filter scoop and it's cleaned up and ready to go for next time. I used french roast beans and it is delicious, to me to coffee tastes like a french press. The machine itself is very fun to use and great coffee results. My new favorite thing!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2mae
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great but...
11/15/2013

Customer review by Orgo

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Orgo
by Orgo

I love it but I find that the coffee does not come out hot enough if you put cream in it so I have to put the cup in the microwave for an additional warm up.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orgo
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 553 total reviews
1-20 of 553 reviews