Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 818 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

818 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

818 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
504
4 stars
152
3 stars
56
2 stars
27
1 stars
79
1-20 of 770 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 770 total reviews
1-20 of 770 reviews
Great machine!
3/27/2014

Customer review by tribble

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by tribble
by tribble

I typically drink one cup of coffee in the morning and 3-5 cups of tea throughout the day, and I thought this machine would be nice in allowing me to stop having to microwave tea from a pot and have a fresh cup every time. I was not disappointed! Not only does it make a great cup of coffee (and I love not being stuck with using pods because I like my own coffee and tea), but it makes a fast and fresh cup of tea every time too! I love also that it comes with two filters - I can use one for coffee only and the other for tea, and it works out well. Also love that the bottom can make an adjustable platform for shorter cups, unlike versions that force you to use a travel mug. I've had mine for a good while now and it has not disappointed me in any way! I highly recommend this machine.

tribble
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
love this machine
9/6/2014

Customer review by mary28

5.0 stars 9/6/2014 by mary28
by mary28
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this coffee maker about a month. It's fabulous. Does not look cheap or flimsy. I like that you can use your own coffee and make it as strong or light as you prefer (unlike those other single serve coffee makers that use prepackaged coffee pods). The coffee is hot. It's easy to clean. Though I have not done this yet, you can easily pack this in your luggage and have great coffee in your hotel room. The only thing I'm disappointed about is that it does not make espresso coffee.

mary28
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic product
11/19/2012

Customer review by ShariW

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by ShariW
by ShariW

Most single serving coffee makers only make a cup at a time, but this one will make a to-go mug so you can grab that coffee on your way out the door. The reusable scoop is a great feature and I love that it's stainless steel, so much easier to keep clean and matches my other appliances.

ShariW
Calgary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Scoop & Serve
6/9/2014

Customer review by Louise70

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Louise70
by Louise70

I bought Hamilton Beach about three weeks ago. So far it rates as a 5 star compared to many others we have tried. Love that it's Stainless Steel matching my other appliances. Makes an excellent cup of coffee 8oz or larger. Also the coffee is much hotter than other one-cup makers.

Louise70
Stouffville, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Speedy----but
3/7/2013

Customer review by gnome

4.0 stars 3/7/2013 by gnome
by gnome

Product works well, exactly as advertised, but because it is fast and I like my coffee strong I find I have to use double the amount of coffee as I use in my french press to achieve the same strength. Easy to clean and seems sturdy.

gnome
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this machine!
3/27/2014

Customer review by Savvy56

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Savvy56
by Savvy56

Just purchased this Single-Serve coffee machine...I love it...it's fast, simple and brews coffee even better than my last machine....also love the design...sleek, compact and very attractive!

Savvy56
York, Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
good value
8/15/2014

Customer review by Cactus_ch

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by Cactus_ch
by Cactus_ch

I just purchased this coffee maker few days ago, I made 4 coffee so far, it is easy to clean, use and good coffee. Good value coffee maker.

Cactus_ch
Markham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
good coffee
2/28/2013

Customer review by 20013

4.0 stars 2/28/2013 by 20013
by 20013

This coffee maker works very well for one cup of coffee

20013
Calgary Albtera
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like this.
11/8/2016

Customer review by CTinReno

5.0 stars 11/8/2016 by CTinReno
by CTinReno

I like to just make a cup of coffee. This is perfect for that. I use 1 coffee scoop of coffee which is 2 tablespoons. I use 12 oz. of water. That is how I love my coffee. The directions suggest for coffee for 8 oz of water but I don't like it that strong. I have a big coffee cup which is too tall for the cup holder shelf so I put a Pirex glass measuring cut to catch the coffee which fits perfect. I then pour the coffee into my coffee cup. The coffee tasted great. I am very happy with this coffee machine. You can buy a tall coffee mug to fit it too.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CTinReno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally found the perfect coffee maker
6/7/2016

Customer review by Monserrate

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Monserrate
by Monserrate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I first tried this product at my daughters house and I enjoyed how the coffee maker was so easy to use . When I came back to New York but I wanted to purchase the same one she had and I found that it was very convenient for me to have around. In the morning I have to hurry up to get to work so I put this coffee machine very quickly and by the time I come back to get my cup it's done and ready . it's very simple makes one big large cup and all I do is press one little button I'll still have two coffees scoops that I didn't get with any of the coffeemakers . I have no regrets making this purchase .

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monserrate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little coffeemaker!
11/23/2011

Customer review by drcoop

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by drcoop
by drcoop

This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups. The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee. NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker! 1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY. 2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees. Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.

Was this review helpful? (418) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drcoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.
12/28/2013

Customer review by llisamac

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by llisamac
by llisamac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee. The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there. We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups. This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea. I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.

Was this review helpful? (160) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llisamac
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving It So Far......
11/18/2014

Customer review by Pammers

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Pammers
by Pammers

I have been using this one cup Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel for several days now and I can't rave enough about it. No paper filters to use and the time it takes to make a cup of coffee out beats the Bunn I have been using. I was so amazed at how fast it made coffee and the coffee taste better then any other coffee maker I have used and I have used the top of the line. I use the Bold option on it. I have gotten about 13 0z from it anymore then that it will run over, but hey it makes it so fast that you can just turn around and make another cup. The clean up is fast and easy, it takes maybe a few minutes and not only does it make the best coffee and I use Walmart's decaf brand to boot, its style and color is so stylish also. The mark down price is just icing on the deal. I wanted to get it last year, but the price I thought was to pricy, but if I knew how well it made coffee I would have paid it gladly. Would I recommend it to others " you bet."

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pammers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Single-Serve Coffemaker!!!
1/31/2017

Customer review by Bets

5.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Bets
by Bets

I had purchased an ICoffee DaVinci single-serve coffeemaker and returned it for various reasons. I bought this Hamlton Beach The Scoop Coffemaker and couldn't be happier. It makes a great cup of coffee and it is hot! It is so easy to use. The scoop is so easy to empty and rinse (not like the refillable K-cups that are a pain to clean). You just pour in the amount of water for the cup you will be using, add the coffee to the scoop, and brew. It is done pretty quickly and it turns off after each cup is brewed. I keep telling my husband the "I love this machine!"...he is getting tired of hearing me say it. I use a flavored coffee, so per the instructions, I use the Bold brew option and it is great. I have only had it for about a week, but it is so much better than the more expensive models that use the K-cups. So, if you want a single-serve coffemaker that uses your own ground coffee, this is the coffemaker to buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely one of the nicer single cup brewers
4/7/2016

Customer review by AddToBasket

4.0 stars 4/7/2016 by AddToBasket
by AddToBasket

My family really caught on to the idea of single cup coffee makers because we drink coffee at different times of the day. At first we had one that does both K-cups and drip brew. A common problem with all single cup coffee makers is that it takes a lot of grounds to make a strong cup of coffee. The problem with the convertible K-cup machines is that they use high-pressure nozzles to shoot the water down into the grounds, making a huge mess where the grounds spray all over inside the machine, making for difficult cleanup every single time you make a cup of coffee. I decided to switch to a single cup drip brewer, which narrowed the field. I chose this one because I read other reviews that said it was easy to clean, which was true. This has a three-piece stainless steel filter basket which easily lifts out of the machine and grounds don't go anywhere else. It's very easy to clean and wipe down. I had read some of the reviews about the weird taste and ran several cups of vinegar through it before I made the first cup, and I have never picked up on the weird taste. This is definitely my new favorite coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AddToBasket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the price.
12/6/2016

Customer review by Times

5.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Times
by Times
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a decent single cup coffee maker that did not take those little cups, you would be surprised at how hard it is to find one that is good quality and a reasonable price, this one is it. If you want to use your own coffee and make just 1 cup and not spend a lot of cash, your search is over, buy this and stop looking. Seriously, I am one who spend hours looking up reviews and price comparisons and I did your leg work for you, this even has two temperatures to brew at depending on the grind and strength you want from the brew.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Times
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Game Changer
2/3/2017

Customer review by Polo

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Polo
by Polo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Hamilton Beach scoop is a total game changer in the mornings around my house! My wife and I love the ease, simplicity and frugality of scooping and using only what we need. It brews extremely quickly and cleanup is a snap. Plus, we don't have to worry about excess waste with the plastic K-Cups or pods that other single serve coffee makers use. All that's left over is a saturated clump of coffee grounds that, in all reality, could probably be used again if needed. Can you say that about K-Cups or pods? While we've never done that, the option is still there. Instead, we throw our coffee grounds into our garden soil. De-scaling of the machine is also a snap compared to other machines we've owned. The Scoop is the perfect size for small and large kitchens alike and fits discretely into any corner of a counter space. I can't say enough good things about this machine! We hope it lasts much longer than our previous Kerug machines, at a fraction of the cost! We have owned and used The Scoop for a little over two months with zero of the issues that some other reviewers have noted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Polo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little product
12/31/2011

Customer review by fabianab47

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by fabianab47
by fabianab47

Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage. I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops. The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.

Was this review helpful? (62) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabianab47
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Scoop
11/27/2016

Customer review by PAli

4.0 stars 11/27/2016 by PAli
by PAli

I also own a single serve Bunn single serve , so I am used to drinking from the best. After I had purchased the brewflex with great disappointment as it is more expensive and took it back , I decided to try this one and the first cup was not so great , but then I put 2 exact same scoops of coffee that I use in my Bunn maker and it turned out to be a very nice well balanced cup of coffee. I used the 1/2 way mark for water between 8 oz. to 14 oz as I normally make a 10 to 12 oz cup of coffee. I am impressed for the price. I Think those who have had problems with grinds in their coffee is because they removed the second filter as this machine has a double filter set up which is meant to be used together not separately . I think it is a great purchase for the price and just takes a couple tries to get that perfect cup of coffee.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAli
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works With No Results.
2/15/2016

Customer review by Disapointed

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Disapointed
by Disapointed

It looked like a nice product when I took it out, but when I tried to use it there was nothing but trouble. This is what happened, with the proper type of coffee grounds (drip coffee as mentioned in the manual) and the proper amount to use for a single cup (to the 1st line on the scoop filter), I used Bold to run my first cup. When I start running it, about half way thru the cycle the water and grounds starting running over the sides I had to stop the unit. I tried it again using the same amount of coffee, but put it in the 1st unit, it did the same thing. I them bought some hole bean coffee and ground it on regular drip type, a little coarser then the first I used. When I tried it again, single cup, it ran fine but the coffee came out week and with fine grounds. I tried again with full scoop of coffee, it ran fine but the coffee came out weak with fine grounds in it. I then POURED this cup of coffee over the same grounds in the filter 2 more times, the coffee was still to weak and becoming muddy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disapointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 770 total reviews
1-20 of 770 reviews