Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 688 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

688 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

688 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
420
4 stars
123
3 stars
50
2 stars
24
1 stars
71
1-20 of 640 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 640 total reviews
1-20 of 640 reviews
Great little coffeemaker!
11/23/2011

Customer review by drcoop

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by drcoop
by drcoop

This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups. The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee. NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker! 1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY. 2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees. Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using.

Was this review helpful? (339) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drcoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loving It So Far......
11/18/2014

Customer review by Pammers

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Pammers
by Pammers

I have been using this one cup Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel for several days now and I can't rave enough about it. No paper filters to use and the time it takes to make a cup of coffee out beats the Bunn I have been using. I was so amazed at how fast it made coffee and the coffee taste better then any other coffee maker I have used and I have used the top of the line. I use the Bold option on it. I have gotten about 13 0z from it anymore then that it will run over, but hey it makes it so fast that you can just turn around and make another cup. The clean up is fast and easy, it takes maybe a few minutes and not only does it make the best coffee and I use Walmart's decaf brand to boot, its style and color is so stylish also. The mark down price is just icing on the deal. I wanted to get it last year, but the price I thought was to pricy, but if I knew how well it made coffee I would have paid it gladly. Would I recommend it to others " you bet."

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pammers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best idea for single cups of coffee and tea.
12/28/2013

Customer review by llisamac

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by llisamac
by llisamac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We own a Kuerig, and a percolator. Yes, we like coffee. The Kuerig we have is ok, but I am frugal and was really tired of paying too much for those little plastic pods and then throwing away so much plastic. We tried several different re-usable plastic inserts, to allow us to just add coffee grounds instead of buying the pods, but the taste just wasn't there. We love our percolator coffee, but a lot of the time, we just want one or two cups. This Hamilton Beach "The Scoop" coffee maker is perfect for our needs. Its easy to use, easy to clean and it looks good on the counter top. The reusable filter is great and there is nothing to throw away except for the used coffee grounds. We also like that we can make 8 or 12 ounces of coffee at a time. We also use it with loose tea. I only wish I had purchased this instead of the Kuerig. Once we use up the various pods that we already have, we will be getting rid of it and using this Hamilton Beach for all our single cups of coffee and tea.

Was this review helpful? (111) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llisamac
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little product
12/31/2011

Customer review by fabianab47

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by fabianab47
by fabianab47

Purchased this to replace a pod coffeemaker as the pods were just getting too expensive. Works great and makes an excellent cup of coffee. No leakage issues as others say they have experienced. The only time I've found water at the base of the machine was when I wasn't careful enough filling the reservoir and had some spillage. I only have 2 issues with the product. The first is a minor one and is just a personal preference. The coffeemaker comes with one hook on the side to hang the scoop for air drying. As the coffeemaker comes with 2 scoops, I would prefer to have a hook on both sides to hang up both scoops. The second issue and one I think may need to be addressed is the cord. For safety reasons, the coffeemaker comes with a very short cord. I purchased this to use at my desk rather than as a kitchen appliance. With the cord being so short, this necessitates the use of an extension cord, thereby negating any safety advantages. As it looks like this item is most likely to be used in locations other than the kitchen counter, I feel that a longer cord would be advantegeous.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fabianab47
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely the best single serve on the market!!
10/12/2011

Customer review by jasTN

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by jasTN
by jasTN
Top 1000 contributor

I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines

Was this review helpful? (572) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jasTN
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Attractive, easy to use, inexpensive
8/25/2015

Customer review by Coffeelessfornow

4.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Coffeelessfornow
by Coffeelessfornow

Pros: Nice looking for the price. Makes coffee quickly. One minute or so-- and it has a drip tray so you can pull your cup away even if still dripping a little Quick and easy to clean. The compartment to add your water is large so you don't get water all over the place filling it. Cons: You are supposed to get 2 brewing baskets with handles and I only got one, so I can't scoop a second time for my wife's cup because it's wet and have to use measuring spoon. You have to clean 3 things each time but it is easy and quick. The bottom of the scoop is flat and not conical like my old Black and Decker one cup so the hot water isn't concentrated causing me to use a more grounds to make same strength cup. Notes: You can buy those little inexpensive Aero filters to fit in the bottom basket to keep coffee oils and sludge out of your cup. I put hot tap water in mine (not boiling). Makes the brewing water hotter, faster and coffee stronger.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coffeelessfornow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Pot
2/1/2016

Customer review by AubreysMom2010

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by AubreysMom2010
by AubreysMom2010

I love this coffee pot. I've been using it since December. I was so tired of pouring coffee down the drain. It brews a cup pretty quickly and tastes great. Not having to buy filters is a good plus too. The machine itself is fairly small. I am appreciating the extra counter space after getting rid of my big bulky coffee pot. I've only used a Keurig once, so I can't compare too much. This machine is a little easier to use than the Keurig I tried. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AubreysMom2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
2/2/2016

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Mike
by Mike

This coffee maker makes excellent coffee. No extra filters needed. Just add water and coffee. I drink only 1 cup of coffee from it on Saturday and Sunday so it doesn't get much use. It's small size makes it easy to put away. I would highly recommend for anyone who is only going to use your coffee pot sporadically or one cup at a time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS IS IDEAL FOR MAKING SINGLE CUPS OF COFFEE.
11/27/2013

Customer review by Silas9901

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by Silas9901
by Silas9901
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

BOUGHT THIS AFTER MY OLD COFFEEMAKER QUIT ON ME. GREAT PRICE AND VERY QUICK SHIPMENT TO MY FRONT DOOR. THIS SOMEHOW MAKES A MUCH BETTER TASTING COFFEE THAN MY OLD MACHINE AND I USE THE SAME COFFEE IN THIS AS I DID IN THE OLD MACHINE. CLEANUP TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES AND ALL THAT CHROME MAKES IT LOOK MORE EXPENSIVE THAN IT IS. I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT COME WITH A LARGE MATCHING COFFEE CUP SO I AM USING MY OLD CUP THAT DOES NOT QUITE MATCH THE DECOR. IT DOES COME WITH TWO SCOOPS AND HAS A HANDY NOTCH ON THE SIDE TO HANG YOUR SCOOP AND KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER. VERY QUICK IN PRODUCING A HOT, GREAT TASTING CUP OF COFFEE. HAS NO ALARM TO TELL YOU ITS READY. VERY EASY TO SWITCH FROM LARGE TO SMALL COFFEE CUPS. ONLY USES LOOSE COFFEE, BUT I SUPPOSE YOU COULD CUT OPEN PREPACKED CUPS AND POUR INTO THE SCOOP. IT DOES WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO VERY WELL. GETS MY RECOMMENDATION.

Was this review helpful? (69) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silas9901
Clearwater, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hamilton Beach Single cupBrew
2/1/2016

Customer review by Brett

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Brett
by Brett

Works really well, brews quickly and is well built with solid sturdy parts. Great product!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Design and Poor Coffee
2/10/2016

Customer review by BKRfromAlisoViejo

1.0 stars 2/10/2016 by BKRfromAlisoViejo
by BKRfromAlisoViejo

This coffee maker is very attractive, but that's where it stops. If you like strong coffee, this maker is definitely NOT for you. Although there is a BOLD button, it's far from a good cup of Joe. PROS: Nice looking Small footprint Makes one cup at a time, no wasted coffee CONS: Coffee basket is too small The drip system doesn't distribute water over the grinds evenly They could have made the drip system and basket much more efficient Overall, it was a waste of money and is now sitting on a shelf in my garage...enough said!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKRfromAlisoViejo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hamilton Beach "The Scoop-Serve" Coffeemaker
11/5/2015

Customer review by Atianogirl

5.0 stars 11/5/2015 by Atianogirl
by Atianogirl

I love this coffee pot!! It's fast and makes a great, HOT cup of coffee. I also love being able to use my own coffee. This was my second one I personally purchased (my mom and daughter also own one). The first one I bought years ago when it first hit the market replacing a Keurig. I hated my Keurig. The coffee was never hot enough, I hated the reserve tank where the water sat and even though I was able to use my own coffee (the pods are so expensive) it was a mess. The only reason I bought another one is because I moved into a new home and bought all new appliances. I would recommendand this product to anyone who loves a great cup of coffee and doesn't want to spend a fortune on a coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atianogirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this coffee maker!
10/5/2011

Customer review by HookedOnCoffee

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by HookedOnCoffee
by HookedOnCoffee

I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!!

Was this review helpful? (305) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HookedOnCoffee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee
12/31/2011

Customer review by zloh

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by zloh
by zloh

We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins.

Was this review helpful? (106) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zloh
KCMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sadly Disappointed
1/23/2016

Customer review by Pleased

2.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Pleased
by Pleased

As much as I loved the looks and idea of the Hamilton Beach "The Scoop Single-Serve" Coffeemaker, 49981, I was disappointed. I used the correct height mug or coffee container and coffee splashed. But more than that, it did not do a decent job of filtering the coffee. I generally brewed into a taller TERVIS cup which was clear. After putting cream in my coffee and letting it cool and settle for a while before I put on ice (I always drink ice coffee), I noticed fine coffee ground sediment at the bottom of the cup. I never had that with normally brewed coffee from a pot of coffee or my Kuerig. I tried several diff. ways of brewing, from the normal to the bold, using diff. types of ground coffee to different miscellaneous paper single cup filters. I really wanted it to work. But nothing did. The paper filters helped to clear the fine grounds that were able to pass through the metal mesh, but then the coffee was weak. My final last thing I did which got to be too fussy, was to wait for everything to settle then pour into a 2nd cup and not let the last of what was in the bottom of 1st cup drain into the 2nd cup. Finally, I went back to my regular coffee pot and filter system and am sadly returning this pretty little stainless, space saving coffee maker. I'm guessing most people don't notice the coffee ground residue at the bottom of their cup because they are not drinking out of a clear cup. But because I drink out of a clear cup with a straw, I not only see it, but I tasted it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pleased
Would recommend to a friend? No
good coffee maker
2/22/2012

Customer review by Retiredguy41

4.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Retiredguy41
by Retiredguy41

I purchased this coffee maker because I like fresh hot coffee, and I had been using one of those plastic cups you put a filter in and pouring hot water through that was heated on the stove. With that said I like the basic idea of the coffee maker, its good but not great.problems are #1 its messy,splashes, #2 it uses too much coffe tomake agood cup,and often all the grounds are not wet,the water doesnt stay in the coffee basket long enough. Two solutions, 1 put a small round filter in coffee basket, or 2 I sometimes used the above mentioned plastic cup with filter to run hot water from coffee machine through. This takes care of the third problem of gritty coffee in your cup by using a better filter. To overcome the coffee not being hot enough, run your cup under hot water to preheat it. Ido this with most coffee makers. Overall its a good machine though not great,and it is fairly fast.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredguy41
Soap Lake Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my needs
10/9/2013

Customer review by ggbliss

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by ggbliss
by ggbliss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a single-serve coffee brewer for my piano studio. This meets my needs perfectly; it is small, simple, easy to clean, uses regular coffee grounds, has its own filter, and fits any mug I might choose to use. It shuts off as soon as the coffee is made, so I don't have to worry about it accidentally leaving it on. It dispenses right into my thermal mug that I like to use, which I then place the lid on it and I don't have to worry about spills. It cost more than I would have liked to spend, but there really was no other coffeemaker that I could find that had the exact features I needed. I expect that over time I will save enough money not buying special pods or filters so that the savings will offset the initial cost of the coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (78) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggbliss
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Coffee Maker for a Guy
1/4/2012

Customer review by Krissymaymay

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Krissymaymay
by Krissymaymay

My husband is a semi coffee drinker. He likes to have a cup here and there on the weekends and if we are going to be in the car for a while in the morning. Well he wanted the "K" machine for X mas and I would not get it because of the price and besides it can only make 8 oz. He likes more than that. So I did a lot of research around christmas time and as I was about to give up the commercial for the One Scoop came on television. I was so excited to see this price on the Walmart website. I could not believe that this product does not need cups and you can use your own favorite coffee. He brews up to 14 oz and that is exactly what my husband wanted. The best thing I have come across in a long time. It is sleek thin and looks great on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krissymaymay
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect single-cup coffeemaker
12/29/2013

Customer review by Miss41

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Miss41
by Miss41
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After much research, I purchased this coffeemaker to use when my brother visits. I drink decaf and he does not. If one of us was using the 12-cup coffeemaker, the other would have to wait or pour their coffee into a thermal carafe so the other of us could use the coffeemaker. Problem solved with "The Scoop". I love this coffeemaker. It is simple to use and performs exactly as stated in the user manual. The coffee is hot and tastes good. Clean up is a breeze. My only suggestion is to use a paper filter if you don't like a bit of "sludge" in your coffee. I cut little circles out of a larger filter and use it in the secondary filter underneath the filter basket and it works great. I have noticed that small filters are sold for making your own K-cups but my solution works just as well. I couldn't be happier with this coffeemaker.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miss41
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pros & Cons
1/13/2016

Customer review by MadAboutYuban

3.0 stars 1/13/2016 by MadAboutYuban
by MadAboutYuban

The big "Pro" for this coffee maker is that you can use your own coffee with gives you a wider variety and saves money while reducing packaging waste. So if you drink a few coffees a day, which I do, you can save quite a bit. You probably won't notice all the "Cons" unless you're coming from a Keurig or Tassimo machine to this. First off it's a bit messy. Even with the base set at the higher cup level there is some splashing of the coffee and more late dripping at the end without a great base at the bottom to store the drips. It also takes a bit longer to brew but that's not a big deal. There is no large reservoir for the water, so every cup you make need to be poured in prior to brewing. Also not a big deal once you get used to it. There is some inconsistency from cup to cup since you are scooping coffee and the amount of coffee used changes slightly each time as does the amount of water you've poured in. When you use a pod each brew is identical. Finally, you need to clean up after every cup, wash out the scoop, etc. If it's near a sink no problem, if you're in an office, not so great. You'll also end up cleaning up after whoever used it before you if they forget to. Overall the cost and environmental benefits are worth while and I imagine after a while I'll forget the convenience of the pod coffee makers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadAboutYuban
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 640 total reviews
1-20 of 640 reviews