Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 22 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Fantastic Book!
9/5/2011

Customer review by wickedsquitty

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by wickedsquitty
by wickedsquitty

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical about this book at first. I had thought it was another of those popular "chick books" that end up getting turned into movies later. But I was very pleasantly surprised! Within the first couple chapters, I was already in love with the characters of this story. Having grown up in Mississippi, I know where all the places in the book are, which was really fun. I also have a good feel for the dialect, which Miss Stockett attempted to bring us in this story. I wasn't very happy with the way some of the pronunciations were spelled, however, because I feel the spellings, while mostly correct if spoken out loud, aren't the true words and could potentially be confusing. That, however, is a minor gripe. The only other thing I have to say on the negative side is that it feels like the last several chapters are a bit rushed somehow. You get to a point and it feels like everything is starting to speed by all of a sudden. I would have liked for those final parts of the story to have gone by with the same pace as the rest of the book. Overall, this is a fantastic book and very well written. This book has become my favorite, in fact, and I look forward to any other books Miss Stockett may write in the future.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wickedsquitty
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must read for anyone!
9/4/2011

Customer review by lorelie35950

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by lorelie35950
by lorelie35950

I loved this book and it was much cheaper at Walmart.com than any other site or store I shopped. I received my book quickly at the store and was notified by email. Loved the notification feature of online shopping.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lorelie35950
Albertville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
12/8/2011

Customer review by EccentricAsh

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by EccentricAsh
by EccentricAsh

An EXCELLENT book! I could re-read this over and over! It was a book I could not put down! I cannot wait to see the movie, but reading the book is a MUST! I can't wait to get another book by Kathryn Stockett!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EccentricAsh
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Best book of 2011
12/26/2011

Customer review by Txstateofmind

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Txstateofmind
by Txstateofmind

I've read this book 4 times and love it each time. I've never re-read a book before this one. I was just astonished that this was the author's first novel. She writes with the experience of a seasoned author. While the blatant racist attitudes of some of the characters is disturbing, it's the good hearted women, who are both black and white, that make the story fun and make it come alive in your mind. A good story should draw you in and make you a part of the story. This author definitely did this. Even though it's a long book, it reads quickly and you won't want it to end. You will become invested in the characters and want them to continue.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Txstateofmind
Cleburne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
9/29/2011

Customer review by CKSassy

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by CKSassy
by CKSassy

Great book!! My grandmother, my mother, and I all read it. It's one of those must-reads that you can't put down! ~*~

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKSassy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
9/4/2011

Customer review by Hulababy

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by Hulababy
by Hulababy

Very good book

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hulababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
12/4/2011

Customer review by Pamelady

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Pamelady
by Pamelady

The book is always better than the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pamelady
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Book
9/9/2011

Customer review by firebaptized

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by firebaptized
by firebaptized

This book is a must read! I recommend that you see the movie first....that way you can picture what is going on as you read. This bool is funny, enlightful, and riveting. I love this bool and will reread it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firebaptized
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/9/2012

Customer review by SWEETYPI

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by SWEETYPI
by SWEETYPI

I T WAS A GREAT BOOK,I REALLY ENJOYED IT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWEETYPI
LOS ANGELES,CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/21/2011

Customer review by draggonfly

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by draggonfly
by draggonfly

I read 1 or two books a week and it's been a long time since I've read one like this, I laughed and cried, was inspired. Excellent book!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
draggonfly
Independence, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fall Fiesta 2011 Reading
9/25/2011

Customer review by GrannysScooterPie

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by GrannysScooterPie
by GrannysScooterPie

I haven't read the book yet but I expect it will be much better than the movie which is great! Looking forward to reading during my Fall Fiesta season.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrannysScooterPie
New Rochelle, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great book.
9/30/2011

Customer review by patscats

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by patscats
by patscats

Best book I have read in a long time. It reads fast. Looking forward to seeing the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patscats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Fabulous Book!
9/30/2011

Customer review by ParisLove

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ParisLove
by ParisLove

This book is going to be one of my all-time favorites. The story is so heartwarming and I recommend it for teenagers also. Just get the book you won't be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ParisLove
Slidell,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the Book
8/29/2011

Customer review by MiBoys3

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by MiBoys3
by MiBoys3

If you liked the movie, you will love the book. We know when a movie is made from a book, they always leave something out or change the story a little. So read the book, if you want the WHOLE story!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiBoys3
Aberdeen, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
10/4/2011

Customer review by SuperMommyOfIrvine

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by SuperMommyOfIrvine
by SuperMommyOfIrvine

What a wonderful book! So glad I added it to my collection of great books!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperMommyOfIrvine
Irvine, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
8/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great book, growing up in the mid west, did not know this was going on. Well written book, want to see the movie but will wait until I am finished with the boo

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT BOOK
10/6/2011

Customer review by moedwarf

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by moedwarf
by moedwarf

This book follows the movie - Awesome reading!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moedwarf
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5 stars
9/1/2011

Customer review by tadersmom

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by tadersmom
by tadersmom

If you think the movie is good...............the book is even better!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tadersmom
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
The Help is a great book well worth reading
4/15/2012

Customer review by halogranny

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by halogranny
by halogranny

The Help is a book I would recommend to everyone. The price was much cheaper at Walmart than most of the places I checked. Also Walmart has a ship to store that saves you even more dollars. Pick up is so simple takes very little time if you have other errands to run. I recommend using Walmart for all of your online shopping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
halogranny
North Canton, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
meets grade level reading
9/17/2012

Customer review by dnv1797

3.0 stars 9/17/2012 by dnv1797
by dnv1797

The book is value priced from Walmart. Would not order books for child's school classes online and shipped to store. Takes average 3 weeks to receive. Would've had shipped directly to residence.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dnv1797
Mooresville,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews