Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5 stars
33
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
Fantastic Book!
9/5/2011

Customer review by wickedsquitty

5.0 stars by wickedsquitty

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical about this book at first. I had thought it was another of those popular "chick books" that end up getting turned into movies later. But I was very pleasantly surprised! Within the first couple chapters, I was already in love with the characters of this story. Having grown up in Mississippi, I know where all the places in the book are, which was really fun. I also have a good feel for the dialect, which Miss Stockett attempted to bring us in this story. I wasn't very happy with the way some of the pronunciations were spelled, however, because I feel the spellings, while mostly correct if spoken out loud, aren't the true words and could potentially be confusing. That, however, is a minor gripe. The only other thing I have to say on the negative side is that it feels like the last several chapters are a bit rushed somehow. You get to a point and it feels like everything is starting to speed by all of a sudden. I would have liked for those final parts of the story to have gone by with the same pace as the rest of the book. Overall, this is a fantastic book and very well written. This book has become my favorite, in fact, and I look forward to any other books Miss Stockett may write in the future.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wickedsquitty
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A must read for anyone!
9/4/2011

Customer review by lorelie35950

5.0 stars by lorelie35950

I loved this book and it was much cheaper at Walmart.com than any other site or store I shopped. I received my book quickly at the store and was notified by email. Loved the notification feature of online shopping.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lorelie35950
Albertville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
12/8/2011

Customer review by EccentricAsh

5.0 stars by EccentricAsh

An EXCELLENT book! I could re-read this over and over! It was a book I could not put down! I cannot wait to see the movie, but reading the book is a MUST! I can't wait to get another book by Kathryn Stockett!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EccentricAsh
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Best book of 2011
12/26/2011

Customer review by Txstateofmind

5.0 stars by Txstateofmind

I've read this book 4 times and love it each time. I've never re-read a book before this one. I was just astonished that this was the author's first novel. She writes with the experience of a seasoned author. While the blatant racist attitudes of some of the characters is disturbing, it's the good hearted women, who are both black and white, that make the story fun and make it come alive in your mind. A good story should draw you in and make you a part of the story. This author definitely did this. Even though it's a long book, it reads quickly and you won't want it to end. You will become invested in the characters and want them to continue.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Txstateofmind
Cleburne, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
9/29/2011

Customer review by CKSassy

5.0 stars by CKSassy

Great book!! My grandmother, my mother, and I all read it. It's one of those must-reads that you can't put down! ~*~

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CKSassy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Love the Book
8/29/2011

Customer review by MiBoys3

5.0 stars by MiBoys3

If you liked the movie, you will love the book. We know when a movie is made from a book, they always leave something out or change the story a little. So read the book, if you want the WHOLE story!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MiBoys3
Aberdeen, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Great book, growing up in the mid west, did not know this was going on. Well written book, want to see the movie but will wait until I am finished with the boo

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5 stars
9/1/2011

Customer review by tadersmom

5.0 stars by tadersmom

If you think the movie is good...............the book is even better!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tadersmom
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/4/2011

Customer review by Hulababy

5.0 stars by Hulababy

Very good book

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hulababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Book
9/9/2011

Customer review by firebaptized

5.0 stars by firebaptized

This book is a must read! I recommend that you see the movie first....that way you can picture what is going on as you read. This bool is funny, enlightful, and riveting. I love this bool and will reread it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
firebaptized
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/21/2011

Customer review by draggonfly

5.0 stars by draggonfly

I read 1 or two books a week and it's been a long time since I've read one like this, I laughed and cried, was inspired. Excellent book!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
draggonfly
Independence, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fall Fiesta 2011 Reading
9/25/2011

Customer review by GrannysScooterPie

5.0 stars by GrannysScooterPie

I haven't read the book yet but I expect it will be much better than the movie which is great! Looking forward to reading during my Fall Fiesta season.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GrannysScooterPie
New Rochelle, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great book.
9/30/2011

Customer review by patscats

5.0 stars by patscats

Best book I have read in a long time. It reads fast. Looking forward to seeing the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
patscats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Fabulous Book!
9/30/2011

Customer review by ParisLove

5.0 stars by ParisLove

This book is going to be one of my all-time favorites. The story is so heartwarming and I recommend it for teenagers also. Just get the book you won't be dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ParisLove
Slidell,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic!
10/4/2011

Customer review by SuperMommyOfIrvine

5.0 stars by SuperMommyOfIrvine

What a wonderful book! So glad I added it to my collection of great books!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SuperMommyOfIrvine
Irvine, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
GREAT BOOK
10/6/2011

Customer review by moedwarf

5.0 stars by moedwarf

This book follows the movie - Awesome reading!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
moedwarf
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great
12/4/2011

Customer review by Pamelady

5.0 stars by Pamelady

The book is always better than the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pamelady
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The Help is a great book well worth reading
4/15/2012

Customer review by halogranny

5.0 stars by halogranny

The Help is a book I would recommend to everyone. The price was much cheaper at Walmart than most of the places I checked. Also Walmart has a ship to store that saves you even more dollars. Pick up is so simple takes very little time if you have other errands to run. I recommend using Walmart for all of your online shopping.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
halogranny
North Canton, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
8/9/2012

Customer review by SWEETYPI

5.0 stars by SWEETYPI

I T WAS A GREAT BOOK,I REALLY ENJOYED IT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SWEETYPI
LOS ANGELES,CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by Honda429

3.0 stars by Honda429

The interview part of book is long and drug out, made me loose interest.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Honda429
Wilson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 22 total reviews