Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
544
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 681 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews
nikon d5100 is a MUST HAVE
12/16/2011

Customer review by cruzz903

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by cruzz903
by cruzz903

I have had this camera for 1 month now with the kit lens. i use it mostly for skating video's for youtube. it was a tough decision between the canon t3i. why? cause of AF-F on d5100 and manual controls on the t3i for video. generally speaking controls isn't such a big deal unless you are in bizarre conditions such as low light or when you want to create an artistic video. i have been begging for a firmware update which enables manual video control. if nikon does this, the nikon d5100 will become a godly camera! i am part of an amateur video production group we all had d5100 (mostly cause of the price, the screen and the AF-F) 5 of my friends in the group already changed to either t3i or 60d. i am the only one sticking with the d5100. the pictures on this baby are just amazing. the batery life is enough bought another battery and it can last me up to 2 hours straight video shoot 1080p the screen is also amazing. compared to the d3100 this screen just destroys the d3100's. also it's fairly light viewfinder is nice but in nightclub's it's just impossible to take a picture.

cruzz903
Aruba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is JUST what I was looking for
9/8/2011

Customer review by AMAZING

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by AMAZING
by AMAZING

I am 14 years old and have been doing photography for the past 2-3 Years. I am currently showing my art in a gallery around where I live. I like to photograph nature and animals-mostly dogs and horses. I horseback ride and when it is time for my shows my dad, who is quite the amateur, is able to take AMAZING pictures. Also, the modes and effects they have are GREAT! I use the color select and silhouette modes the most next to auto. The auto mode has done no wrong for me yet. The only complaint I have is the movie mode. The quality is AMAZING but once you download the movie to your computer there can be a lag in it. That is my own small complaint but over all its a great camera and has amazing qualities.

AMAZING
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the jump
1/19/2012

Customer review by Magnum

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Magnum
by Magnum

I had a D50 which worked great for me, but before a recent vacation trip I wanted a camera with more resolution and capabilities. Being a Nikon diehard i bought the D5100 and have never been happier. The pictures are sharp, crisp and of course the camera used my lenses I had from my D50. an easy upgrade. On thing I did not count on using much was the 1080p video feature. But it has been a very good feature. Unfortunately I loved the D5100 so much I bought a D7000 for pictures and I take my D5100 as my backup and for video on picture shoots now.

Magnum
Huntsville, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I needed
8/25/2011

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by Chris
by Chris

I got the D5100 for a trip to Tanzania because I needed the following features: 1. The ability to take multiple shots rapidly, as soon as I release the shutter, to capture wildlife. I learned from trying to capture whales and bears in Alaska that point-and-shoots can't do it - they have to "think" before each shot and end up missing the action. The D5100 shoots multiple frames per second in the Sports/Action setting and got great shots of a leopard kill, hunting lions, and birds in flight. I never missed a shot because of the camera. 2. High-def video right from the camera - no separate video camera needed. Video quality is amazing. 3. Ease of use for a high-quality camera. I'm not technology savvy, but figured out the basic functions of the D5100 quickly and easily with minimal reading of the manual. I'd recommend the D5100 for all the reasons above, and the battery life was great - over 2 weeks with heavy use the battery lasted for almost 3 days at a time before it needed changing.

Chris
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First DSLR since my 35mm SLR days
3/27/2012

Customer review by GLJ in AZ

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by GLJ in AZ
by GLJ in AZ

I received this as a Christmas present and have enjoyed learning all the features of this camera, as well as, accessorizing it for my first photo "adventure." So much to learn and relearn (since my SLR days) for it is a new adventure every time I pick up the camera to learn something new. I have been using a point and shoot Coolpix E7900 succesfully for quite a number of years and will continue to do so for those impromptu images. I just added a DX 55-300mm lens w/VR and WOW, will this be fun at the ballpark or looking to get that nature shot that will be suitable for reproducing and framing. My only criticism with the package was that the manual for the unit is woefully inadequate, so I purchased Dave Busch's book. I try to work on something new each weekend. The ability to rely on auto settings while having the flexibility to become "creative" and become a "real" photographer is exciting and encouraging to someone who is again foraging into photography as a renewed hobby. Thanks Nikon!

GLJ in AZ
Arizona, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality pictures, many features
8/5/2012

Customer review by Jimmy G

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Jimmy G
by Jimmy G

I only have been using it for a few weeks, but found that all the basic functions allow me to take great pictures. So far I've only used pre-set modes. I was impressed with how the camera night landscape mode produced a stunning photo of our pool at night (using a tripod of course). I put this photo as my laptop's desktop background. One thing I would really love if Nikon included a tutorial of all the advanced features (manual mode) that this camera has. I could not find anything user friendly on Internet. It leaves the user with a choice of self trial and error or going to a photography class. I think it should be beneficial to Nikon to see that the users had a good reference tool to take great pictures using ALL the capabilities this camera offers. Lastly, I've got more than a decent quality video on first try, both motion and sound. D5100 is by far superior to what smart phones could do, it is well worth lugging with you when you need great quality pictures for life memories

Jimmy G
Southborough, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recently bought this camera. I was in between D7000 and D5100. I'm a happy camper!
7/29/2012

Customer review by Photochicken

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by Photochicken
by Photochicken

I did extensive research on what to buy just to make sure I get the most bang for my buck. And so far I love my camera I recently took it on a trip to North Carolina and I'm so glad I did. I bought mine with the 18-55 mm lens and I felt it was especially good and crisp on this camera. The tilt screen is really handy with doing self portraits or pictures with friends. I am still learning how to use the camera and have had it about a week. So far no complaints! Very user friendly it even shows which setting are best for what you may be trying to shoot right on the screen. With and ISO the same as the D7000 and the camera much cheaper I had more money for another lens. I'm very happy with my purchase. Here are some pictures I have taken on auto mode as I figure out manual on Nikon cameras as I'm not used to it. Though I am not a complete amateur, I have had 2 years of photo classes and have worked with manual on film cameras for over a year. I have been taking photos for 3 years.

Photochicken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for Beginner/Intermediates
4/18/2012

Customer review by Andrew

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Andrew
by Andrew

This is a great camera if you're serious about getting into photography. Looking back, I now wish I got a different one because I feel like DX format and a number of other options that are found on higher end models are holding me back. Perhaps, I'm a fast learner. Perhaps, I don't use the novelty modes such as selective color or night vision, video etc.. That's just me though. I've loved the camera aside from those niggles. For a non-pro, it's a great option! Camera definitely delivers. It kind of falls in that weird area that's not beginner, yet not pro. Not intermediate, yet not high end.. The image quality is great for the price. Definitely look into faster glass for the camera however. The kit lens is nothing to be sneered at if you know how to work with it (just look at this very blue "break room", wide angle "city steps" sample picture below) but there are better options such as the 35mm f1.8G for it's low light capabilities as seen in the "lighter" picture.

Andrew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Some nice features in too small a body!
9/6/2012

Customer review by Yank

2.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Yank
by Yank

Good Day, I had the displeasure of owning a D5100 for 67 days (then I returned it!!!) and during that time failed to reach a happy medium with the awkward size and performance of this model. First, the body is so small that my right hand heel kept hitting the rocker knob and changing the settings for focus. Second, I could not set the flash to not go off and then change the dial on the top and it would return to default (flash auto). Had to reset every time. Third, set the ISO in manual or any mode that it would allow changing and go back to auto and it would default to auto ISO. Fourth, using the flip out screen (this is one of the features that prompted me to purchase this model) and putting it in live view it had to fumble to get focused and it would not capture the imiage when I hit the shutter release. Overall, totally frustrated with this model!! I have been a Nikon user for 25 years and will continue to be one. My next purchase will be the D7000, Larger body, more personized settings can be made, YEH!!

Yank
Brownwood TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Pics Low Price
4/25/2011

Customer review by Phillyphil66

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Phillyphil66
by Phillyphil66

I was shooting with a Canon 5D Mark II and had to struggle to get good Pictures The Video was great but just never was satisfied with the feel of the Canon, I was reading about the Nikon D5100 and liked what was offered, I bought one as soon as they arrived, I started shooting with it as soon as the battery was charged, I got great results and it was fun to use, Nice extras and quick response, its smaller than the so called semi pro and Pro models and is 16+ Mega Pixels The 5D was 23+ I think the Pictures from the Nikon look better and I did not have to struggle to get the shots I wanted. The the Lens that comes with it a Nikor 18-55 1:3.5 is not a very good Lens a better lens is a must. This is like a D7000 with out the Price plus you get Auto focus in Video mode that the D7000 does not offer, being in the Broadcast industry I was impressed with the Video shot in HD, I know some reviews complain about the Auto focus but when used in the right situation it fine.

Phillyphil66
Washington TWP NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely Pleased D5100 owner
11/6/2012

Customer review by dGottfried

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by dGottfried
by dGottfried

I'm new to DSLRs and to Photograhy as a serious hobby. I've done some over the years with point and shoots and still use my iPhone now quite a bit. But nothing compares in my mind like having more control over your shots. I did quite a bit of research before I picked this camera. Once I narrowed it down to the fact I wanted a Nikon product over other manufacturers it was a case between D3100/D5100 or D7000. I felt that D3100 was an a good choice but it's guide mode would have been less than useful to me within a few months. The D7000 very much interested me, but a lot of the features were well above my need now (possibly ever) so it boiled down to the D5100 having the same sensor as the D7000 and the nifty swiveling LCD for weird angles. When I purchased the unit it came with an 18-105mm lens which I still use a lot. I've since purchased the 50mm f/1.8G for portraits/street and the 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G for wildlife. I'm having a ball with this camera and would recommend it to anyone getting into photography as a hobby.

dGottfried
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Firmware Update Problem
12/4/2011

Customer review by Firmware Update Mess

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Firmware Update Mess
by Firmware Update Mess

I purchased the D5100 a few days ago and having issues already. The problem is with the SD card. The scenario goes as such: I take a few pictures, then cannot take anymore due to the error message "No memory card" or "No SD card." So I have to remove the SD card and place it back into the camera. The camera reads that there is a SD card back in. I can take 1 to a few pictures before the error comes up again. Vicious cycle. I took the camera back to the store I purchased it from and had two associates try their best at getting the firmware update completed. However, the camera did not respond to the SD card with the 1.01 firmware on it. The camera wouldn't recognize any update on the SD card existed. Instructions for the firmware update were followed carefully from the Nikon website. I do not know how often Nikon has this problem. I will try a different SD card. If this error still is not resolved, I will return the camera altogether. Let me add that when I could take the few pictures, they were of nice quality. Thank you.

Firmware Update Mess
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Diopter Adjustment
8/7/2011

Customer review by Audiobuff101

2.0 stars 8/7/2011 by Audiobuff101
by Audiobuff101

Being around the Photography field for many years and watching tech evolve into great and unbelievable things; Nikon's engineering department needs to think again with Diopter adjustment range of only -1.7- +.7; Also being that most intermediate and professional users primarily spending in this range remove their eye-wear as it is a augmenting factor while shooting; I would believe this would be about a $900 mistake for those with vision impairment which According to the Vision Council of America, approximately 75% of adults use some sort of vision correction. About 64% of them wear eyeglasses, and about 11% wear contact lenses, either exclusively, or with glasses. Over half of all women and about 42% of men wear glasses. Similarly, more women than men, 18% and 14% respectively, wear contacts. Of those who use both contacts and eyeglasses, 62% wear contact lenses more often. Please consider more than 25% of the worlds population when generating your products, I would have purchased this camera, but I "LITERALLY CANNOT USE IT"

Audiobuff101
St. louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice addition to my camera bag
5/19/2012

Customer review by MetalHead

4.0 stars 5/19/2012 by MetalHead
by MetalHead

I purchased the D5100 are carefully considering the features and price of the D3200, D5100 and the D7000. My D200 is starting to show its age and I wanted something a little more modern. I shoot primarily metal shows in venues of varying lighting quality and so far the D5100 has excelled in handling everything I have thrown at it. Using the camera set to ISO 3200 the images I am getting are outstanding. The sample images I am enclosing in this review were all shot at ISO 3200 with NR set to High. The autofocus is fast and accurate, I have shot approximately 20 out-of-focus shots out of 1,500 and I have only had the camera three weeks. The articulated LCD allows me to compose shots overhead or add odd angles easily. The two issues I have with the camera is response time is slow compared to the D200, this I expected. The lag in switching from the information screen to Live View can be a problem if you are shooting fast action. Overall I enjoy using the D5100 and the images I have taken from the last few shows I have been to I love.

MetalHead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazed, more, each day
8/1/2012

Customer review by geof

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by geof
by geof

I'm a newbie to cameras and photography, for close to a year now, maybe, but all my research said the D5100 can keep up with any task I'll need to do for a very long time to come, and if I go pro, it'll become a great second camera. Even when we compare the price and size of the sensor, each lens, and all of the accessories and stuff to what a pro's uses, I am getting what I need for right now, and more. So much to learn, this camera amazes me with all the options to learn with. Some say other brands are easier to learn from but this D5100 has better everything and it does make my hair stand up and butterflies in my stomach as I learn, like a little kid with a new toy all over again, but with a big learning curve. Do other brands do this, don't know. It isn't my intent to endorse any name brands, but all that research has helped, and was right-on. I took the challenge. Because of the cost of cameras and lenses today, I needed 1 that I can learn so much from and yet use as a point and shoot to start as I'm learnning, found it. "D5100"

geof
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
D5100
1/24/2012

Customer review by tom

1.0 stars 1/24/2012 by tom
by tom

Bought this camera in the states before Christmas just before returning home to our overseas location in Italy. Was very excited about using this camera to take family pictures. Had issues with the camera from the moment I opened it out of the box. Camera would turn on and then turn off unexpectedly after only a few minutes of being on. Also, After turning on the camera, would get a shutter error message that would not go away. Camera would not shoot in the continous release mode. Very frustrating as I am overseas now and do not have a good camera to take shots of our family and not willing to spend more money while we wait for this problem to be fixed. I talked to a customer service rep over the phone. I explained the problem and she stated I would need to send the camera to the facility in the states. The nikon service facility received the camera on 3 Jan. I am still waiting for them to fix it and send the camera to me in Italy.

tom
italy
Would recommend to a friend? No
No complaints at all!
5/9/2011

Customer review by Chuchi

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Chuchi
by Chuchi

After weeks of nonstop comparing and research, I chose to go with this Nikon d5100. It was going to be my first DSLR (I usually just borrowed or used video cameras or film SLRs). The amount of customization is amazing. The instruction manual is nice and not confusing. I got the kit with the 18-55mm VR zoom, and also bought a 50mm f/1.4. The d5100 is beyond amazing with the 50mm, and you will probably stop using the kit lens, but keep it anyway because its pretty good in case you need to get in a little more when you are outside and don't require a fast lens. The screen will become your best friend. I wish it would have come with a screen protector though (wink wink Nikon!). The GUI is pretty easy to learn and the grip feels very nice. The body itself has a nice satin-like look to it and feels good in my hands. Auto focus during movie recording is nice, but acts up a little sometimes. The articulating screen helps so much to get good angles. Battery life isn't bad and charges up fairly quick. If you get this, you WILL NOT be dissapointed.

Chuchi
Rahway, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Manual capability and ability to use old nikor lenses
7/31/2012

Customer review by Girish

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Girish
by Girish

I have very limited use of the Nikon D5100, because I only bought the body and using old Nikon lenses which I had with Nikon-FE. However, my macro lens is in India. I took some pictures with Nikon EM regular lens. I have to estimate speed and aperture size to get right exposure. It works out well. I takes little more time to shoot the picture. I have to specify ISO speed and aperture size to get the picture. When I will have my macro lens in November, I will be able to take good close up pictures with more depth. If I have to take pictures, at present I have to shoot from 10 to 15 feets to get get reasonable depth. Unfortunately, the design of the camera is different, and does not meet 35 mm. standard, I have to see how it all works out. Anyway I liked the manual feature. The cost of film and development time is not required to see the result ot shooting. I have not used movie features of the camera. I liked the camera on the whole.

Girish
Inglis, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality and Reliability – The Missing Features
3/9/2012

Customer review by MHB

1.0 stars 3/9/2012 by MHB
by MHB

I purchased a Nikon D5100 camera in anticipation of a three week trip to South Africa. Prior to the trip, I took about 50 images and was, in general, happy with the results. Several days after arriving in South Africa, I noticed an inconsistency in exposure levels. Most images appeared slightly over exposed. Then the failures cascaded. The auto focus became less exact and on occasion just stopped working. The manual mode froze on one combination of aperture and shutter speed, the aperture priority setting would not allow the aperture to be changed from the setting determined in the failed manual setting, and the shutter priority would not allow the shutter speed to be changed from the speed determined by the failed manual setting. Only a small percentage of the images that I took have both correct exposure and correct focus. I have owned three other Nikon cameras that have performed flawlessly. My Nikon D5100 is a disappointment.

MHB
Olivenhain, CA 92024, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pro quality images can be done by anyone!
9/6/2011

Customer review by DIVERCRITTER

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by DIVERCRITTER
by DIVERCRITTER

I have always wanted a DSLR, so when my wife and I were on the way to the hospital to deliver our first child last week, we decided to stop and make the investmet. I had been reviewing DSLRs online for a couple of weeks, reading reviews, watching side by side comparisons, etc...and in the end I went with the D5100. I am so happy I did. While my wife was in labor for 3 days, I spent some quality time with the owner's manual. I could ot believe the veritable wealth of features this camera has to offer. There is virtually a set-up for every type of shooting environment you can think of...from candle lit rooms, to night time city scapes, to fields of blossoming flowers. I'm telling you, just get to know your D5100 a little before running out the door with it and you'll be very glad you did. It's much easier to use than I originally thought and would recommed it to someone wanting to take amazing quality photos in limitless conditions or even the avid photographer who wants a grab & go set up with endless capabilities. Truly love this thing!

DIVERCRITTER
Hollywood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews