Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

693 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
544
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 681 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews
outstanding "prothusiast" D-SLR
5/7/2011

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

First of all, it's important to understand where the D5100 fits in Nikon's capabilities. It is considered a "high-end enthusiast" D-SLR which means that it shares the same image sensor as the high-end D7000 without some of the higher-end features. If you're like me, very few of the D7000's features justify its extra cost and weight. The D5100 offers nearly the same image quality as its bigger brother in a less-expensive, smaller package, while adding a few tricks the D7000 doesn't have including an articulating display that helps you frame hard-to-reach spots. Compared to its lesser-priced but still excellent brother the D3100, the D5100 offers improved image quality, speed, and resolution, along with a higher-resolution articulating display. For me, this is the sweet spot in Nikon's consumer D-SLR offerings. The 18-55VR (3x) f3.5-f5.6 kit lens provides surprisingly good performance and image quality, although you'll likely outgrow it quickly. I have uploaded a few sample images taken with the D5100 and 18-55VR to show its performance and surprisingly good bokeh (pattern of blurred background) in large-aperture and macro shots. For lens upgrades that include an AF-S autofocus motor, if you don't mind changing lenses, the Nikon 55-200VR is an outstanding value with excellent image quality, or consider the Nikon 18-105VR (5.8x) lens included with the D7000. If you don't mind some distortion and image softness, the 18-200 VRII (18x) lens may be your perfect "walkabout" lens. For me, I bought the pricey but outstanding Nikon 16-85mm VRII. Don't forget the Nikon AF-S 35mm f1.8 (if you can find it). Low-light performance is outstanding with this camera, and the level of detail captured by the D5100 is excellent, even at higher ISOs. You're best capturing in RAW or RAW+JPEG mode (three different JPEG compression levels are offered) if you need to go back and fine-tune exposure or other settings after the shot. Nikon also offers "Active D-Lighting" which is a highly effective method for improving dynamic range of a photo to equalize the difference between high and low-light areas of a photo. Interestingly, the improvement in image quality compared to my D5000 isn't dramatic. Given the incredible improvement I saw when upgrading from my Nikon D60 to the D5000 perhaps I had unrealistic expectations for this new sensor. But in most image settings, even low light, the improvement is noticeable but subtle. That speaks more for the outstanding quality and low-light sensitivity of the D5000 sensor (which is shared with the D90) than it speaks against the D5100. With the D5100 you get higher resolution for improved cropping, and the 14-bit RAW images offer greater dynamic range for more flexibility after the shot is taken. Speaking of RAW format, as with any new camera, there is a bit of a wait until updates are available for your favorite camera software. Both Nikon and Adobe have recently added support for the D5100 RAW files, so you can use Nikon View NX2 (v2.1.1 and later), Nikon Capture NX2 (v2.2.7 and later), Lightroom 3 or Photoshop CS5 (via Adobe Camera RAW 6.4 or later). Apple Aperture and iPhoto will have to wait for the next Apple RAW update. Compared to my D5000, Nikon has gone back and addressed most of my concerns on ergonomics and performance: - camera body is roughly 10% smaller and 10% lighter - 16.2 megapixel CMOS DX-format image sensor (shared with D7000) captures 14-bit RAW images and offers +1fs greater low-light sensitivity - ISO 100-6400 range with expansion to 25,600 ISO (D5000 minimum is 200 and expansion to 12,300) - high resolution (920k pixel) display for greater detail in image previews (although I had to bump up the default brightness one notch for accuracy) - side-mounted articulating display no longer interferes with tripod (the D5000 display is inconveniently hinged at the bottom) - dramatically improved (now usable!) LiveView mode with continuous autofocus even in HD video mode (more on that later) - full HD 1080p movie capture without the "jelly effect", in more standard H.264 mode up to 22 min (D5000 is AVI format 720p up to 5min) - slightly better control position (LiveView is now a rocker switch on the mode dial, Video Record is just behind and to the left of the shutter release) - significantly quieter shutter release (plus, a "Quiet Mode" is available although hardly necessary) - faster performance (4 frames per second) - SDXC compliant supports higher capacity cards - remote control sensor on rear now in addition to front-mounted sensor - improved battery life, and an improved battery release - battery charger now has built-in collapsable plug instead of requiring separate power cord - MUCH better eyecap design no longer comes off in my small Nikon camera bag; also an improved diopter (eyeglass) control - additional in-camera editing capabilities, including ability to trim video - new "gimmick" special effects: in-camera HDR, selective color, night vision, etc Let's start with the display - moving the hinge to the side not only makes the articulating display usable with a tripod, it makes the camera body shorter, so that it matches the height of most popular Nikon DX-format lenses and no longer leans forward when set down on a table as the D5000 did. It makes a surprising improvement in shooting comfort also. Nikon has improved the rubberized grip of the body and the thumb rest in the rear, although some have said that the grip is a bit shallow for larger hands. For my average-sized hands it is very comfortable. In summary, I'm quite happy with the D5100. It provides the optimal balance of top image quality (even in low light), lightweight and compact (for a D-SLR) body, articulating display (the only D-SLR from Nikon to have this), and HD video (not perfect) that can leverage the outstanding collection of Nikon lenses (understanding that only AF-S lenses will autofocus). Notable comparison with the higher-end D7000: - same 16.2megapixel image sensor with 14-bit RAW image capture for outstanding dynamic range, low-light performance, and detail - ruggedized plastic body lacks weather seal (it's also smaller and lighter weight) - no builtin focus motor for older lenses (you'll need to buy an AF-S lens if you want autofocus) - fewer autofocus zones (11 vs 39) and lower-resolution matrix meter - pentamirror viewfinder (smaller, not as bright, 95% coverage) vs pentaprism viewfinder (100% coverage) - no flash commander mode (unless you buy an external flash with TTL triggering) - slower continuous performance (4 vs 6fps) - 1 SD card slot instead of 2 - no top-mounted LCD display - fewer dedicated controls for advanced settings (you must use the menu system more frequently) Notable comparison with the lower-end D3100: - higher resolution 16.2megapixel sensor with 14-bit depth - high resolution (920k pixel vs 230k) display, articulating for hard- to-view shots - higher low-light sensitivity - faster performance (4fps vs 3fps) - better battery performance (660 vs 550 images on the same EN-EL14 battery - slightly larger and heavier body

Was this review helpful? (249) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
Surprisingly good
2/6/2012

Customer review by Geezeroid

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by Geezeroid
by Geezeroid

For years i have been using an Olympus DSLR and have gotten adequate pictures from it. I got the Nikon as a test. Actually i got it from Walmart because of their generous return policy because i did not think there would be much difference. I could not have been more wrong! The picture quality of the Nikon is orders of magnitude better than my Olympus. Spend the extra bucks and get the Nikon. It is really worth it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geezeroid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Camera for Everyone.
7/29/2011

Customer review by ELTAN

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by ELTAN
by ELTAN

This is my first dslr camera. I've done many research on other dslr cameras and this is in fact the best unit. Easy to use, great features, and looks cool. The turnable display allows you to take pictures from different angle. if not mistaken, by far this is the only nikon camera that has this feature. camera bottons are easy to access. overall, this unit is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELTAN
Houghton MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/22/2012

Customer review by photoc

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by photoc
by photoc

This camera takes exceptional pictures- nice , sharp images. I couldn't ask for better results. I am so pleased!

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photoc
gvlle, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Comparable to much better cameras
6/14/2012

Customer review by aSpendthrift

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by aSpendthrift
by aSpendthrift

The photo quality of Nikon cameras is exceptional...this is the third one I've owned. If you can't, positively can't...and I couldn't...afford to spend more money than this, this is the camera you're looking for. You won't regret the investment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aSpendthrift
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic camera at a great price!
5/30/2012

Customer review by TVPCMusicGames

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by TVPCMusicGames
by TVPCMusicGames

I finally decided to take the plunge and get a DSLR camera. I spent months going over specs, talking to friends, and playing with cameras in store demos, and it came down to Canon T3i vs the Nikon D5100. Why the Nikon? Well, sample pictures I took myself showed better optics and a better imaging chip in the Nikon, and it made me nervous that Canon would not give an estimate as to how many pictures their camera would take in a "lifetime". Independent tests show around 40-60,000. Nikon DOES give that estimate - 100,000. So far, I love it. Nature, portraits, the Moon, all fantastic. I can't wait to take it on trips :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVPCMusicGames
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/29/2012

Customer review by okmailman

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by okmailman
by okmailman

For someone who has not had a slr camera this one is great. Easy use and very clean pics makes this camera fun to take pics with. My 14 year old took over this camera and has taken great shots ever since. You feel very proud using this camera. If you buy this one you will use it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okmailman
yukon ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Impressive Features in this Camera
7/21/2012

Customer review by Jseojai

4.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Jseojai
by Jseojai

I have only had this camera for @ 1 month and am still learing all the features. However the Photos and test photos demonstrate the versatility of the Nikon D5100. The ability to use multi program modes lets each photograph duplicate your imagination or capture the reality of the moment. The Nikor 18-55 mm AR/AF/VR lens is a very good all around lens. All in All this bundle is well worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jseojai
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera for all
10/9/2012

Customer review by Misa7400

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Misa7400
by Misa7400

I am a beginner who would like to be professional one day. I love all of the features of this camera! My only complaint would be that the zoom isn't that great. You can always buy an additional zoom lens if needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Misa7400
Salem, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Satisfied!
3/26/2013

Customer review by Cameraman321

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by Cameraman321
by Cameraman321

Great camera and easy to use! I really like how the menu options are set up compared to other brands in the same price range. Also this is the USA version which means you have a NIKON warranty in the USA instead of getting a European model supported by an aftermarket warranty company known as an 'gray market' or 'import model'.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cameraman321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/30/2012

Customer review by SweetAdeline

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by SweetAdeline
by SweetAdeline

One of the best digital cameras I own. Although I've been a professional photographer for 50+ years, I can't justify purchasing some of the higher-end cameras. In my estimation, this camera (in the $500-$600 price range) is probably the best bang for the buck. I purchased it primarily so I could frame photos in the LCD screen instead of having to use the viewfinder. Since the LCD screen swivels it can be used to shoot over crowds or down at ground level without having to kill yourself trying to look through the viewfinder. Awesome camera and great value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SweetAdeline
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is AWESOME!
6/13/2013

Customer review by DILock

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by DILock
by DILock

I absolutely LOVE my new camera! I take it everywhere with me! The on time, (from being off to switching on and photo ready), is great, so you won't have to worry about missing those "perfect photo" moments. Lots of customization capabilities and a big perk for me, since I'm a beginner, is that the Auto mode works like a charm! Its great! I'm going to include a couple photos I took while hiking Mt. Mitchell, NC, taken in landscape mode and with the 18-55mm lens that is normally included with this camera. The autofocus is my best friend hahaha, but you've got a choice for manual or auto focus, plus, Nikon has tons of lenses to experiment with! Ahh! So exciting! Overall, I couldn't be happier with my purchase... If you're stuck on the fence between cameras, I highly, highly recommend this camera. Its great for the price and you won't be let down!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DILock
Shelby, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
over rated
7/6/2012

Customer review by Suze12972

3.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Suze12972
by Suze12972

over priced...must order extra lenses to photograph close ups

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suze12972
Peru, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
11/30/2012

Customer review by FRAZZLED1452

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by FRAZZLED1452
by FRAZZLED1452

GREAT CAMERA FOR THE PRICE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FRAZZLED1452
FOLEY AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love
7/1/2013

Customer review by runningfirsttimemommy

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by runningfirsttimemommy
by runningfirsttimemommy

I love love love this camera. I only shoot in auto mode because I haven't figured out the settings but it takes beautiful pictures of my children who never stand still. I've blown up my photos to frame and they are still crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
runningfirsttimemommy
Litchfield, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Purchased for birth of first child
11/5/2012

Customer review by JTiz

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by JTiz
by JTiz

It has some excellent features that allow you to easily take professional quality shots. I haven't printed any shots yet, but hoping they give me the same quality as the rest of my experience with the camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTiz
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera
7/7/2013

Customer review by Kyfoto

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by Kyfoto
by Kyfoto

Great camera highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kyfoto
Lexington ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
its simply light and nice
4/14/2011

Customer review by j

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by j
by j

camparing price is a hot cake, its like you can capture picture and movie with fun.

j
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pics Low Price
4/25/2011

Customer review by Phillyphil66

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Phillyphil66
by Phillyphil66

I was shooting with a Canon 5D Mark II and had to struggle to get good Pictures The Video was great but just never was satisfied with the feel of the Canon, I was reading about the Nikon D5100 and liked what was offered, I bought one as soon as they arrived, I started shooting with it as soon as the battery was charged, I got great results and it was fun to use, Nice extras and quick response, its smaller than the so called semi pro and Pro models and is 16+ Mega Pixels The 5D was 23+ I think the Pictures from the Nikon look better and I did not have to struggle to get the shots I wanted. The the Lens that comes with it a Nikor 18-55 1:3.5 is not a very good Lens a better lens is a must. This is like a D7000 with out the Price plus you get Auto focus in Video mode that the D7000 does not offer, being in the Broadcast industry I was impressed with the Video shot in HD, I know some reviews complain about the Auto focus but when used in the right situation it fine.

Phillyphil66
Washington TWP NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The D5100 has "SUPERB" features and quality!!!!
4/21/2011

Customer review by ksmrtn69

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by ksmrtn69
by ksmrtn69

I love this camera!!! I can't believe the quality, superb!!!! Excellent features from beginners to the advanced users.

ksmrtn69
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews