Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 45 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Solid performance but an obviously budget item
7/4/2011

Customer review by pturcanu

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by pturcanu
by pturcanu

I've always trusted Sony, and they didn't disappoint me this time either. I like the receiver and all its functions, from the built-in FM radio to the compressor to fine-tuning the surround options (you get to put in distances from all the speakers to the listening point for accurate positioning). It also has plenty of connectors so you can hook all of your media equipment to it and avoid the cable clutter. The remote is a bit confusing at first, but it only takes a few hours of use to learn the buttons. Sound quality-wise, it sound pretty darn good for a hundred and fifty dollar receiver. The electrical hiss when nothing's playing is next to none, and THD is barely present at normal levels and only jumps up high when the volume is turned up 80-90%. But who watches movies this loud?? I only have two complaints about the receiver. One, navigating the menu is not as easy as it would be on, say, a Denon. But oh well, after the initial setup I hardly ever go in it, so it's not a biggie. Second, I wish they'd put a parametric equalizer in it, just to be able to deal with room feedback and make it sound more balanced, but oh well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pturcanu
Elverta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Receiver
7/5/2011

Customer review by TexasDave

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by TexasDave
by TexasDave

This was a great purchase, the sound quality is great, the HDMI Hub is awesome, you can choose to run the sound to your TV with the power off on the receiver and when you turn on the receiver it turns off the sound to your TV and runs the sound through the receiver. Simple setup and operation and I couldn't be more thrilled with this receiver!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/18/2011

Customer review by DukeNDaisy

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by DukeNDaisy
by DukeNDaisy

Great sounding. Brings out the best in our speakers and has enough inputs for all of our devices.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DukeNDaisy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value, features for a 5.1 amp
8/5/2011

Customer review by ghofman

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by ghofman
by ghofman

Online ordering and delivery to a local Walmart could not have been easier/convenient. For the price this unit cannot be beat. I bought it to replace a different brand A/V receiver with a design flaw that caused it to malfunction after only two years of use. Since the speakers, etc. were fine and the manufacturer wouldn't stand behind the product, I decided to replace it with the Sony. The Sony powers the 5 (only) speakers and powered sub-woofer perfectly. The sound quality is even better than the unit it replaced and it even has AM radio of all things! Setup is relatively easy although the L&R front speaker terminal posts could have been a little more convenient to use -- like the center and rear speaker posts already are. My only complaint seems to be an inconvenience with all A/V receivers I've owned or tested. After easily selecting a device input with the press of a single button (game, satellite, DVD, etc.), you can only select what Sony calls a "sound field" and others call sound decoding, by scrolling through a list with repeated button presses until you get the one you want that matches the source coding. This prevents you from setting a universal remote to go straight to the one you want for a given use. As a practical matter though, I stick with one general surround sound setting. So this isn't a particularly annoying problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghofman
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!!
1/8/2012

Customer review by Mel0512

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Mel0512
by Mel0512

I bought this item along with 1 Sony SS-B1000, 5.25" Two-way Bookshelf Speakers, Pair for my boyfriend for Christmas and he absolutely loves them both. He uses them so much when he's home. This is item definitely a great deal. We figured out how to use it pretty quickly, and the sound quality with the speakers is great. I highly recommend this item. It is not too expensive and is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mel0512
Newburgh, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Sure Yet ?
3/17/2012

Customer review by AmILost

3.0 stars 3/17/2012 by AmILost
by AmILost

Price was good, but discontinued unit. Running all HDMI connectons for components. First big issue was the "mutting problem" which can be cured with setting "default" (HDMI Control) from on to off. No on screen display so you do alot of squinting at the unit. The receiver cuts on and off alot without pushing any buttons. Generates alot of heat which is to be expected. I gave it a average rating because the receiver goes from providing great audio & video to seeming of having a mind of its on. Maybe I need more time to "learn" the ways of the receiver or maybe I got what I paid for. Only time will tell but at this point I can't honestly recommend this receiver to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmILost
Cape Lookout, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good a/v receiver
7/1/2011

Customer review by bluefash

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by bluefash
by bluefash

A very good a/v receiver for the money this sony product is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluefash
port hueneme ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great 5.1 A/V receiver
4/7/2010

Customer review by oldbaldyone

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by oldbaldyone
by oldbaldyone

I replaced my old receiver because it only had componet video inputs. I needed a receiver with HDMI inputs and outputs. Also wanted 5.1, our room is really to small for 7.1 so that is a waste of money. If you need the absolute best of everything this may not be the best receiver, But if you are and average family, This is the way to go. All the controlls you could want.complete control of the audio,from volume for each speaker to tone control some reveivers will adjust all the speakers to suit your room. this one you adjust your self.But then it is the way you want it not the machines way. Video output to a TV or what ever is really good. It will automaticaly adjust the output to your to TV depending on the input to it. 1080,740,480 . according to what your TV can reproduce. You can also do all the adjusting yourself if that is what you want . It will adjust the colors for you or let you set the colors yourself. I couldn't be happier with this receiver. The only short fall I see is the menu system. It doesn't output it to the TV,only on the small receiver screen. And the menu is very extensive. Tahes a little time to understand all of it.But if you want to controll every thing,Quess it has to be extensive. Would recommend this receiver to anyone except the absolute purest.

oldbaldyone
Glendale,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/3/2011

Customer review by Ethelbert

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Ethelbert
by Ethelbert

I did a good deal of researching various brands and models before I settled on this SONY. It was purchased for our family room system (not our main) and it replaced an old non-HDMI Technics that wouldn't work with a universal remote. Now we bought an extra Harmony remote and life is good again thanks to the new receiver. I am very pleased with the power, the various Dolby/DTS capabilities, and of course now having HDMI. The SONY was easy to set up and its display is easy to read and understand. The price and features are a great value for a 5.1 system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ethelbert
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/28/2011

Customer review by ssbound

1.0 stars 9/28/2011 by ssbound
by ssbound

Very nice product for the money. Just what I needed. Unfortunately, out of the box the muting function had a mind of it's own. Turned on and off by itself, would turn on 50% of the time when you changed volume, and then couldn't be turned off ........ very frustrating. I finally took it back today after giving up on it healing itself. Ordered another one. We'll see if it was a fluke. Should be noted that other than that I would rate it with 4 stars. Why not 5? It's not the easiest one I've ever had to set up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssbound
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Theater Sound
2/3/2011

Customer review by TNcountryboy

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by TNcountryboy
by TNcountryboy

I have had this for 5 weeks.and am satisfied with sound. I hooked up Cable,BD And TV with3 HDMI cables. It has pass thru which is great. It will give 5.1 surround sound even on none 5.1 TV programs which adds dramatic sound to all programs. You can configure speakers, sound level, bass and treble and speaker distance. It also will display what you are watching,volume, digital 5.1, 2.0, DTS, pro logic II, etc. It has all the basic features you need to enjoy home theater. Better sound than our local theater has ! If your looking for a great basic sound system this is the one.

TNcountryboy
Newport,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great AV reciever for the price
11/18/2010

Customer review by Jhilman

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by Jhilman
by Jhilman

A previous reviewer complained of the screw/post style connectors, but I have to tell you they are MUCH easier to use than the spring loaded tab style. You need banana connectors on your speaker cables and they just plug right in. I wish ALL of the connectors were that style, but they don't so I deducted a start for that and the lack of an OSD menu. My eyes aren't the best... would have been good. This receiver sounds awesome!

Jhilman
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/9/2012

Customer review by DeeJay45

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by DeeJay45
by DeeJay45

Procedure for changing sound; bass, treble - too much searching to get to it, for the older models had it right there on unit and remote...also, was there a REAL need to put build unit to be programmed to setup and display, what unit should be set for speakers to use. When you change stations, your sound quality changes, doesn't stay to where you set previous station ie, jumps from stadium to hall, then portable...like why? Other than that, the sound is what's important..that's it! Hope I get 18 years out of this one, for I did on the AV770 model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeJay45
Morganville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
3/17/2012

Customer review by peteirv

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by peteirv
by peteirv

Looked around for awhile trying to find a low priced but quality av/receiver, and was surprised to see this Sony model for a great price. Walmart beat all others price by $50.00. Had it shipped to store locally (no cost) and picked up in about a week after ordering online. This receiver is loaded with nice features for the price, easy to use and set up. I could not be happier with this purchase. Also I have had this receiver for over 2 months with no problems. The bottom line Good Price, Good Value, Good Seller, Great Deal.........

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peteirv
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad connectors!
7/4/2010

Customer review by elsol

4.0 stars 7/4/2010 by elsol
by elsol

The screw-type connectors for the front speakers are extremely hard to operate with the receiver in place (and having to lean over the top to connect the wires)! Why not use the tab-lock connectors used for the other speakers?!

elsol
NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super!!!
8/17/2010

Customer review by RWilgus

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by RWilgus
by RWilgus

This receiver replaced another named brand system. The difference is remarkable. Setup was easy following the directions. The features are great. The sound is super. Sony makes a great product.

RWilgus
Thomasville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony STR-DH510
2/9/2011

Customer review by LuLu55

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by LuLu55
by LuLu55

Love this reasonably priced Sony A/V receiver! Movies sound so realistic that my dog thought sounds were in the room! Theater sync control works so well with my new Sony 3-D Blu ray player.

LuLu55
Farmerville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PURCHASE
1/6/2011

Customer review by RollTide

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by RollTide
by RollTide

Best option to consolidate all your entertainment connections.(Sat, BD player, DVD Recorder, ETC.)

RollTide
Irvington, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still learning how to control it
10/8/2011

Customer review by HondurasSony74

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by HondurasSony74
by HondurasSony74

The only thing it bothers me it's that I can't get sound from speaker when I'm listening TV.

HondurasSony74
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Reciever for Price
12/31/2010

Customer review by Speakeraver

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Speakeraver
by Speakeraver

THis a super receiver for its price it has everything you need and is made durably.

Speakeraver
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews