Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 45 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great Receiver
7/5/2011

Customer review by TexasDave

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by TexasDave
by TexasDave

This was a great purchase, the sound quality is great, the HDMI Hub is awesome, you can choose to run the sound to your TV with the power off on the receiver and when you turn on the receiver it turns off the sound to your TV and runs the sound through the receiver. Simple setup and operation and I couldn't be more thrilled with this receiver!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid performance but an obviously budget item
7/4/2011

Customer review by pturcanu

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by pturcanu
by pturcanu

I've always trusted Sony, and they didn't disappoint me this time either. I like the receiver and all its functions, from the built-in FM radio to the compressor to fine-tuning the surround options (you get to put in distances from all the speakers to the listening point for accurate positioning). It also has plenty of connectors so you can hook all of your media equipment to it and avoid the cable clutter. The remote is a bit confusing at first, but it only takes a few hours of use to learn the buttons. Sound quality-wise, it sound pretty darn good for a hundred and fifty dollar receiver. The electrical hiss when nothing's playing is next to none, and THD is barely present at normal levels and only jumps up high when the volume is turned up 80-90%. But who watches movies this loud?? I only have two complaints about the receiver. One, navigating the menu is not as easy as it would be on, say, a Denon. But oh well, after the initial setup I hardly ever go in it, so it's not a biggie. Second, I wish they'd put a parametric equalizer in it, just to be able to deal with room feedback and make it sound more balanced, but oh well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pturcanu
Elverta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/18/2011

Customer review by DukeNDaisy

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by DukeNDaisy
by DukeNDaisy

Great sounding. Brings out the best in our speakers and has enough inputs for all of our devices.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DukeNDaisy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value, features for a 5.1 amp
8/5/2011

Customer review by ghofman

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by ghofman
by ghofman

Online ordering and delivery to a local Walmart could not have been easier/convenient. For the price this unit cannot be beat. I bought it to replace a different brand A/V receiver with a design flaw that caused it to malfunction after only two years of use. Since the speakers, etc. were fine and the manufacturer wouldn't stand behind the product, I decided to replace it with the Sony. The Sony powers the 5 (only) speakers and powered sub-woofer perfectly. The sound quality is even better than the unit it replaced and it even has AM radio of all things! Setup is relatively easy although the L&R front speaker terminal posts could have been a little more convenient to use -- like the center and rear speaker posts already are. My only complaint seems to be an inconvenience with all A/V receivers I've owned or tested. After easily selecting a device input with the press of a single button (game, satellite, DVD, etc.), you can only select what Sony calls a "sound field" and others call sound decoding, by scrolling through a list with repeated button presses until you get the one you want that matches the source coding. This prevents you from setting a universal remote to go straight to the one you want for a given use. As a practical matter though, I stick with one general surround sound setting. So this isn't a particularly annoying problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghofman
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great!!
1/8/2012

Customer review by Mel0512

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Mel0512
by Mel0512

I bought this item along with 1 Sony SS-B1000, 5.25" Two-way Bookshelf Speakers, Pair for my boyfriend for Christmas and he absolutely loves them both. He uses them so much when he's home. This is item definitely a great deal. We figured out how to use it pretty quickly, and the sound quality with the speakers is great. I highly recommend this item. It is not too expensive and is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mel0512
Newburgh, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good a/v receiver
7/1/2011

Customer review by bluefash

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by bluefash
by bluefash

A very good a/v receiver for the money this sony product is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluefash
port hueneme ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Sure Yet ?
3/17/2012

Customer review by AmILost

3.0 stars 3/17/2012 by AmILost
by AmILost

Price was good, but discontinued unit. Running all HDMI connectons for components. First big issue was the "mutting problem" which can be cured with setting "default" (HDMI Control) from on to off. No on screen display so you do alot of squinting at the unit. The receiver cuts on and off alot without pushing any buttons. Generates alot of heat which is to be expected. I gave it a average rating because the receiver goes from providing great audio & video to seeming of having a mind of its on. Maybe I need more time to "learn" the ways of the receiver or maybe I got what I paid for. Only time will tell but at this point I can't honestly recommend this receiver to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmILost
Cape Lookout, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/3/2011

Customer review by Ethelbert

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Ethelbert
by Ethelbert

I did a good deal of researching various brands and models before I settled on this SONY. It was purchased for our family room system (not our main) and it replaced an old non-HDMI Technics that wouldn't work with a universal remote. Now we bought an extra Harmony remote and life is good again thanks to the new receiver. I am very pleased with the power, the various Dolby/DTS capabilities, and of course now having HDMI. The SONY was easy to set up and its display is easy to read and understand. The price and features are a great value for a 5.1 system.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ethelbert
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/28/2011

Customer review by ssbound

1.0 stars 9/28/2011 by ssbound
by ssbound

Very nice product for the money. Just what I needed. Unfortunately, out of the box the muting function had a mind of it's own. Turned on and off by itself, would turn on 50% of the time when you changed volume, and then couldn't be turned off ........ very frustrating. I finally took it back today after giving up on it healing itself. Ordered another one. We'll see if it was a fluke. Should be noted that other than that I would rate it with 4 stars. Why not 5? It's not the easiest one I've ever had to set up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssbound
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proprietary
12/22/2011

Customer review by Enterstageright

3.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Enterstageright
by Enterstageright

At first, I could hear tick like modulation from the speakers. That went away and the sound from Klipsch speaks is excellent. I am disappointed because the remote only works with Sony products. I have a Vizio tv and must use three different remotes to play a dvd movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Enterstageright
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent surround sound processing!
12/23/2011

Customer review by provencios

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by provencios
by provencios

Sounds great with my Sony Bravia HD TV and Blue Ray disc player. I do not have a 3D TV therefore did not want to waste money on a 3D surround sound receiver. I am completely satisfied with my purchase and recommend it to others looking for a straight forward/easy to use surround sound receiver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
provencios
Lakewood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/11/2012

Customer review by HOOKEDONLODGE

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by HOOKEDONLODGE
by HOOKEDONLODGE

THIS ITEM IS VERY EASY TO SET UP. ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS BUY SOME GOOD HIGH SPEED HDMIs AND YOUR ALL SET UP.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HOOKEDONLODGE
EL PASO,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang for your buck!!!
3/10/2012

Customer review by Dad1dad

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Dad1dad
by Dad1dad

What a great deal & crystal clear Running 2 center, 2 front, 2 rear & a 10" sub & sounds great. Only suppose to be 1 center but I added on to it. HDMI cables make life so much easier. Have a Sony TV & Sony Blue Ray & everything works together. Shut the TV off & it all shuts down & same thing with ON Get extremely loud & great quality

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dad1dad
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound, low noise, plain hook-up
2/18/2012

Customer review by Sound72

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by Sound72
by Sound72

Successfuly replaced a very expensive older unit. Integrated into other remotes easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sound72
Tyler, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality for price
12/23/2011

Customer review by dream2long

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by dream2long
by dream2long

Got tired of the people's lips not matching the audio, was told I'd need an HDMI receiver to match them up right. Seems to have cleared it up, with the exception of one program, in the few weeks we've had it. Could have been the DirectTV link on that one though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dream2long
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy@walmart
1/30/2012

Customer review by bayles1511

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by bayles1511
by bayles1511

Verry good basic performer....I own 3 other Sony AVreceivers...all have been good. Walmart price was the best deal on the net...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bayles1511
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great receiver for the price.
3/30/2012

Customer review by HughMungus1

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by HughMungus1
by HughMungus1

I'm no audiophile so I can't tell you if this receiver is good as far as sound quality and THD and all that kind of stuff. I don't even have surround speakers (just two big Cerwin Vegas). I got it because it's cheap and it has digital ins and outs which means that my TV/satellite/DVD player/receiver setup is now all digital (it has analog RCA jacks, too, if you need those). Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HughMungus1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great experience
10/14/2011

Customer review by bobuyer

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by bobuyer
by bobuyer

Product was delivered sooner than expected, Best cost I could find anywhere, and best of all no issues with installation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good deal at the price paid
12/2/2011

Customer review by cachehiker

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by cachehiker
by cachehiker

The #1 reason I chose this receiver is the Sony Bravia integration. I already have a Sony HDTV and a Sony blu-ray and I wanted to check it out and buy a better version if I liked it. It works as advertised, one remote for three components without programming. The Sony HDTV was purchased for its reputation for a having a decent tuner since I still get my TV of the antenna. The blu-ray came along as part of a package deal. This is by today's standards a few frills 5.1 surround sound receiver. No second set of front speakers, no USB, no jacks on the front, etc. It is currently connected to a few frills 5.0 (no sub) home theater system in my basement. The front speakers are old school 4-way Pioneer towers that don't need a sub. It sounds just as good as the 10 year old monster JVC receiver it replaced did. Finding your way through the menus can be a bit tedious. They aren't terribly complicated but the organization of the owner's manual can make them seem that way. I found it easiest to jump to the back where all the options are enumerated (which speakers are connected, speaker sizes and proximity to the listener, what the digital coax input is connected to, etc.), find what I needed to change, and then flip back to the indicated page number where the operation is described. I'm not sure I'd recommend it as a good value for anybody who isn't looking at the Bravia integration as a whole though. I myself will probably opt for a dh820 receiver for the multimedia and gaming system that's upstairs. It also features a Sony HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cachehiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Great buy
12/29/2011

Customer review by Vanghowent

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Vanghowent
by Vanghowent

While I use the receiver every day for12 to 16 hours I have not owned the receiver for very long. So far I am very pleased with the receiver. It is easy to operate and provides many more sound options than I expected. It is the heart of my suround system and I really enjoy the quality of the audio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vanghowent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews