Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-15 of 15 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Tranformer Dutch Ovan
6/7/2013

Customer review by Robfun1

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Robfun1
by Robfun1

I love cast iron cook wear . I get warm fuzzes whenever I cook with it. The first thing I did when I got it use the lid to fry up some sliced potatoes. See Picture. This is perfect for my needs as 6 quart is too small and the 12 quart is too big for my stove. You get a dutch oven that transforms into a pot and a skillet. How cool is that! This Dutch Oven has feet and works on my gas stove without a problem. Even the lid works well as a skillet. Just need to rotate the lid a bit to find the sweet spot so it does not wobble due to the 3-D Yellow Stone Scene on the lid. I don't recommend using the lid on an electric stove as the loop in the center of the lid may get in the way. I weighed it and it is nearly 19 pounds! Heavy is good! Not easily knocked off the stove which is a good thing in my book especially if you are using it for deep frying. The Thermometer slot was a bit small for my cheap glass meat thermometer with the metal tip. The digital ones or the all metal dial ones should fit. It inserts horizontally in the notch between the lid and the pot. You can close off the notch by simply rotating the lid a bit. The lid hook has two sides that allow you to hook it from directly above which allows more stability if you are using coals on the lid or from an angle when used under a stove hood. Seasoning I rinsed everything with hot water first. I find real butter seems to enhance the nonstick quality of seasoned cast iron better than vegetable oils. Even though it is pre-seasoned I season the cooking surfaces of the pot and lid separately before I use it by heating each up very hot on the stove. I then smear real butter all around the interior surface with a silicon spatula and let it smoke for about 5 min and then turn off the heat. You kitchen will fill with smoke so turn on the hood vent and open all the windows. If you can stand the smoke then do it longer say ten min to really get a good bond. Keep rubbing the butter around as it cools. Blot up the rest of the browned butter with a paper towel or two. Your cast iron cookware will be ready to use! YAY! :-D I use a quick version of the above procedure before I cook something that I know will be sticky like scrambled eggs or starchy potatoes if the cook surface looks dull and dry. I let the butter smoke for about a min then allow the cook ware to drop to cooking temperature and then add the food. The PROs of cast Iron: Steady even heat. It will last forever. You just re-season it if the nonstick stops working. You can use metal spatulas, forks, knives on the surface. If some of the black comes off its nice to know its just Oil. No "toxic" chemicals! You can't ruin it by leaving it on the stove with nothing in it! Just re-season it. Can't do that with other coated pans. You can bake with it. Cast IRON CONs Cast Iron is not for everyone. It requires a certain amount of maintenance to keep it at its best. Some may find its more hassle than its worth. Everything on cast iron gets hot so no cool touch handle to grab. Always use oven mitts if you have to touch the cast iron. It's very heavy so not for people who have trouble lifting heavy things. It's not for Sanitizing Freaks. You never want to clean a cast iron pan completely as it has to have a thin film of oil on it to protect it. If you cook something and nothing sticks just wipe it out and you are done. The heat will kill any bacteria the next time you use the cast iron. I always heat up the empty pan before I cook and spread a bit of butter on it before I add the food. Can't clean it with a dishwasher. It will rust. If it does rust then just use a wire brush to remove the rust and re-season it. Its ugly! To some people. If you are looking for cookware that will shine and looks expensive then cast iron is just too old fashioned and poor looking.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robfun1
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Large capacity. Great for turkey breast, pork butt
10/15/2012

Customer review by SliderBlue

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by SliderBlue
by SliderBlue

I have other 12 inch dutch ovens but found the additional volume of the Camp Chef (9 1/3 quart vs 6 quart) to be ideal for turkey breasts, hams, or pork shoulders. The notched lid allows for use of an external meat thermometer for more precise timing without removing the lid. The lid itself makes a stable stand-alone skillet. Price is reasonable and my shipping was free (big deal when shipping iron across country). All in all, a good value. The only small item I would like to see improved would be to have a nicer handle.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SliderBlue
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great outdoor cookware.
4/16/2013

Customer review by PrairieChef

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by PrairieChef
by PrairieChef

Can't live without cast iron dutch ovens when camping or at home. For all the looking I have done and to get the best buy. Wal-mart has done it. They are the cheapest on the market right now. What is great about these buys they use the high quaility names. Camp chef and Lodge for us to purchase. Keep up the good work Wal-mart. Thanks for your site to store this has also saved me the shipping cost.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrairieChef
Mandan, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Biscuit2008

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Biscuit2008
by Biscuit2008

Great value...does an excellent job...the temp port is a plus...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biscuit2008
Temple, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/21/2012

Customer review by beanman67

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by beanman67
by beanman67

great for beans ,will use for camping next season.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beanman67
ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice
11/13/2013

Customer review by elbeeshopper

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by elbeeshopper
by elbeeshopper

This is a very nice dutch oven. The design on the lid is pretty, and I especially like the raised lid so food doesnt stick to the lid if the oven is filled to the top.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elbeeshopper
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I am very pleased with the Dutch Oven
8/30/2013

Customer review by Debann57

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Debann57
by Debann57

I am very please with the Dutch Over we bought. It is heavy which makes it a wonderful cast iron Dutch oven. I like the lid you can use it as a cover or you can use it as a skillet. The wire carring handle will be perfect to hang from the chain on the tripod. Overall it is a very nice looking oven.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debann57
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Great and Cooks Good- More than I expected.
4/25/2014

Customer review by VivaLaWally

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by VivaLaWally
by VivaLaWally

I have cooked in this several times on an outdoor stove. The machined surfaces are nice and the surface at the lid and lower section meet perfectly to reduce moisture evaporation. There is a notch in the seam, for a thermometer, that can be closed off by twisting the lid. This is very nice and I am happy with the price. The lower surface of the oven is flat and not as thick as I would have thought- like some of the finer old cast iron cookware. As with all cast iron, do not let this DO go dry on the fire. The box says made in China. I believe you will enjoy this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VivaLaWally
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Seems well made
12/6/2013

Customer review by SDcamps

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by SDcamps
by SDcamps

I've used this 2x now. Works just fine and is easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDcamps
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
5/27/2013

Customer review by sonofdeseret

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by sonofdeseret
by sonofdeseret

I could not find a better price for this exact product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sonofdeseret
Bristow, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love this cast iron
1/10/2015

Customer review by ridenbaugh

5.0 stars 1/10/2015 by ridenbaugh
by ridenbaugh

Great pot for the price. Can't wait to use it this summer while camping. Going to purchase one for my mom too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ridenbaugh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellant for outdoor cooking
8/2/2013

Customer review by momsbrat

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by momsbrat
by momsbrat

This dutch oven is the perfect size for cooking a meal outdoors for the family! We love using this product when we are on family camping trips.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momsbrat
Indain River, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dutch oven
1/19/2015

Customer review by bodyman53

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by bodyman53
by bodyman53

Love to cook with it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bodyman53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very nice
8/30/2013

Customer review by anniemowo

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by anniemowo
by anniemowo

I am pleased with the size and the logo on the top. Nice deep lid to use as a skillet and the addition of the pot hook is also a plus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anniemowo
saginaw michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, but a little glitch
2/3/2015

Customer review by Aaron

4.0 stars 2/3/2015 by Aaron
by Aaron

It's a great product, but when mine arrived, the hand had come loose. It took a little work to get it back on, but I got it. I love the Yellowstone design. Ironically, the plan is to use it for the first time in Yellowstone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aaron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes