Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 47 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 45 reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
11/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was surprised when in two days I got my Camp Chef 12-Quart Grand Canyon Cast Iron Dutch Oven. I was not expecting it that soon.It came perfectly packed, so we tried it out on the same day. The food was so delicious, it reminded me of my childhood when we camped. It made me a wonderful memory, so we decided to repeat it again very soon. I Definitely recommend this product for everyone to buy who likes to camp or just to have fun outside.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Customer Service and Shipping To My Door
6/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am very pleased with the Camp Chef Cast Iron Dutch Oven I purchased and even more pleased with the excellent Customer Service I received from Tarvars and Lana. I received my package in 3 days only to find it had been damaged during shipping. I simply called Customer Service and spoke with Tarvars and Lana who made things so simple. I sealed up my package, set it outside my door and the shipper picked it up at noon and delivered my new replacement that same afternoon. This second shipment took only 2-1/2 days to get it to my front door with no extra shipping charge. I have never received that good of service from any other retailer I shop with. I extend my "Thanks" to Tarvars, Lana, and all the other fine folks at Wal-Mart who did such a great job on my orders. You folks at Walmart.com are top notch! Thanks again for such great service.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8 qt is closer to actual capacity
8/15/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just received the dutch oven and will be returning it. Quality looks great, and price was too, but the size is off! The listing says 12 qt, the box says 11.75 TOTAL capacity. I am guessing that they count the fact that the lid is about an inch deep and you could theoretically hold probably a couple quart in there. But I measured out water pouring it into the oven itself, and only got to 8 qt when I was within about an inch from the top of the oven. Please be aware that if you are wanting to cook something like chili - plan on room for ONLY 8 qt! We were wanting to make 48 one cup servings and this will not be close to working. If you're wanting a dutch oven for cooking smaller quantities - the quality did look good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good bang for the buck
12/28/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have not used this dutch oven yet. I am going to re-season it before I use it. Camp Chef cast iron is not as well preseasoned as Lodge products nor is it as smooth and nonstick as a well seasoned piece. However an oven and some lard quickly remedies this issue. It arrived undamaged and appears free of defects. I have not measured the volume but at a glance I think the oven is closer to 10 qts with the lid/griddle possibly being able to hold a quart or 2. I like the fact that the lid can be turned over for use as a griddle. It is definately large enough to hold enough content to feed my family of seven. Considering the price and the ease of seasoning it again. I would say it is a good value. Just don't plan to use it straight out of the box.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not as advertised
8/2/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Looks good and heavy weight although it did not come with the Grand Canyon scene as stated in the description. It's a plain Jane looking Oven.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great pot
5/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this pot. We camp regularly with the Boy Scouts and it cooks up enough for a big group. I got the carrying bag which makes it really easy to travel with. I also use the parchment dutch oven liners which make clean up a breeze.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
great product use this a few tmes a month. i take this with me to use every month with the boy scouts when we camp, they love makeing new recipesin it eachtime we camp. large enough to feed a whole troop.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product came really fast. The dutch oven was also a lot cheaper than other websites. It's really big and & holds enough food to feed more than 12 people with leftovers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value
8/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I couldn't believe the quality of this dutch oven when I removed it from the box, I was not expecting anything close to the workmanship on this product. It it realy, realy heavy and well made. My husband was so excited when he saw it he immediatly started planning what he wanted to cook in it. I would say the size stated was just about right. I would buy another product from this company they really impressed us.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bad lid but will reorder
9/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the product looks real good, however the one I received had a uneven lid. For this to work well the seal has to be good and tight. Over all pleased and will reorder to get a good one. Things do happen and not too disapointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you need to feed a lot of campers - get this!
5/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I received the item earlier than the estimated delivery date. I knew the item was going to be a large dutch oven but let me tell you. This thing is HUGE! I made NINE baked apples in this oven with no problem. The oven really is pre-seasoned. Baked applies with oatmeal and brown sugar cooked in it for an hour DIDN'T STICK! I'm positive my future grandchildren will inherit this thing. I paid a significantly lower price compared to other sites I viewed. I am very happy with this purchase. If I ever need anything like this again, I'll look to Camp Chef as my preferred brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great piece!
10/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We've used this camping and it works absolutely great! If you want to leave stuff overnight on the fire, the lid is so heavy, there's no creature that can move that lid - except maybe a bear! It comes with an iron stick thing to lift the lid which has been so helpful. The 12 quart size is perfect. I've done a stew for 10 people and it was plenty! I've treated it carefully so not sure what'll happen if it's dropped etc. Best of all is the price. I could never get this even used on Craigslist for this price. Very happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very pleased, great for the price!
10/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Wanted an iron pot to cook over the campfire. Have been looking for some time, could never quite find what I was looking for. Just checked Walmart for the heck of it and was surprised to find this, and at that price. Ordered it on the spot and it arrived at my home within a couple of days. Only had it about a week and have already used it and love it. Love that the lid can also be used as a flat griddle. Very worth the price, very heavy and well built.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good value
7/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We've used Dutch Ovens for years when camping. This was a replacement for one that "went missing". Camp Chef has always offered a high quality product for a reasonable price, and this was no exception. We have three of their stoves and several of their other products. Walmart delivered this to our home with free postage, and 4 days before expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HUGE AND GREAT
7/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR BIG MEALS GREAT QUALITY VERY NICE
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great camping tool.
7/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a wonderful and versatile size to cook for a family camping trip. We cooked chili, made a frittata and even baked a frozen apple pie in it on a camp stove. Heavy but worth it. And Walmart had it at a better price than the manufacturer's web site.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE IT!
4/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've been wanting a dutch oven for a long time. I got one and used it to make a dessert in my oven with it to try it out. Can't wait to use it with my girl scout troop this summer with outdoor cooking & camping skills!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
best dutch for the price.
8/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a 14" dutch oven at the local camping/sporting goods store and they were all 100.00 higher and the ship to store was greatd the oven right on time forhe family cook out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the price!!
7/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this dutch oven! Bought it mainly for camping and it works very well. Love the fact the lid is also used as a skillet. Recommend getting the traveling case to keep it nice and clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for all campers
7/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works great and a perfect size for my boy scout troop but didn't come per seasoned. It is really easy to season and comes with a handle and grabber so all around a great buy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-