Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

270 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
167
4 stars
62
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 227 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
Great Looks, lacks features
2/3/2012

Customer review by Jennotjenny

3.0 stars 2/3/2012 by Jennotjenny
by Jennotjenny

Out of the box this looked dynamite! And truly, while I'm generally not superficial, that was really the reason I purchased this: for its looks. I had it shipped to store and it arrived in 4 days-I was beyond pleased! That being said, there were a few things I hadn't considered before I purchased it. First, its smaller than I figured...I know the dimensions are posted- I just couldn't visualize it. The turntable holds exactly the size of my large dinner plate. So it will be good for most things, but my old microwave was wide enough to hold a casserole dish. The biggest feature I hadn't even thought about, however, was a light. This microwave has a light, but only comes on while it is heating- my old one came on when the door was opened and during heating. Not a huge deal, but thought I would share that in case its a big deal for others. It also takes longer to heat than my old model, but there was probably a wattage difference. I just heated 4 Costco sausage patties, which took my old microwave 2 minutes...this one took 3 minutes. The express button is great, but since this cooks differently than my old mmicrowave I am trying to become disciplined at using the knob feature...which if you turn it to the left, and select 1 beverage, it heats a cup of tea water perfectly in 1minute 30 seconds. One slight irritation is the three beeps when the microwave is finished- great if you are across the house, but unfortunately the beeps sound wether you've already opened the door or not. Again, not a big deal, but a little irritating. I read other reviews and some had mentioend how loud it is. When I first turned it on it sounded really loud to me as well, but i'm thinking its not necessarily louder- just a different sound(deeper/lower), so I think I will get used to it. The controls are different than other microwaves, so it will take some getting used to, but has been easy enough to use so far and I think i will prefer the dial in the long run. Overall, it has some minor disadvantages, but I am NOT dissapointed with it- I love the way it looks, it heats food fine, and for me its a keeper!

Was this review helpful? (292) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennotjenny
Spokane, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best (digital) design; sharp retro '50s styling
8/13/2012

Customer review by roadhogg

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by roadhogg
by roadhogg

- digital l.e.d. display you can easily see in low light/darkness - mins/secs and power levels are dialed in; no key pad to punch 37 times while hunched-over in low light w/o your reading glasses (stress reduction) -glass platter carousel - clock; add cooking time in 30 sec increments by pressing a button (up to 12 min) - a dozen pre-programmed cooking/defrost settings, which are dialed-in (no key pad) - child lock feature - fits countertop space of ~ 20"L x 12"h x 14"d - 3 prong grounding plug - oven compartment ~ 12"L x 7-1/2"h x 13"d (turkeys or large casserole dishes are a no-go)

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadhogg
northern california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/30/2012

Customer review by daues

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by daues
by daues

I love this microwave, I like the 5's style, the microwave is very easy to use, and a nice counter top size. Walmarts has excellent shipping, took less than a week to recieve. Recieved in very good condition.

Was this review helpful? (66) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daues
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/12/2013

Customer review by Dbjane27

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Dbjane27
by Dbjane27

Adorable microwave. Small only fits a plate but thats all I need. Like the handle to open and close. Just a cool little appliance. The beeping I read others complain about is not that loud. Beautiful finish. Makes me smile. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dbjane27
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
"Meaningful" purchase
10/26/2013

Customer review by rockwelllass1

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by rockwelllass1
by rockwelllass1

I was first attracted to the "retro" design. It did not disappoint. It is darling. The size was also important, as my current oven was too large and used up too much counter space. Although the inside of this oven is smaller than my other one, I find it more than adequate for my needs. It heats beautifully...almost as well as my other one that had a higher wattage. It is easily operated, as this was another consideration. I am more than pleased with this purchase, and would highly recommend it to anyone in need of an oven, and it is perfect for the person who cherishes a "blast from the past.". When I look at it, I smile and think to myself that they sure knew how to design things "back when."

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rockwelllass1
La Salle, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really liked the look of this microwave.
1/26/2012

Customer review by jobear59

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by jobear59
by jobear59

I really like the look and small size of this microwave. It would have been a great look. There was a rivit or small bolt sticking out the side the microwave and pushed out the paint to the point of a large flake of it came off as I lifted it out of the box. I didn't even get a chance to use the microwave. Walmart was very nice about the return to the store. I think that the retro look was popular for this last Christmas season and the workmanship on them were not up to the standard.

Was this review helpful? (60) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jobear59
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Hip looking microwave
6/18/2012

Customer review by thinkseedo

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by thinkseedo
by thinkseedo

The key feature of this microwave is its hip look. And, it delivers on that in person. I have wanted a digital-dial microwave for years but didn't want to pay the extraordinary price that microwaves with that feature usually cost. Just turning a nob to increase or decrease the cook time is super intuitive and, imo, much preferable to a key pad 99% of the time. This is an 800W oven, which I was worried about coming from a larger 1000W microwave. But, I don't really notice a difference. Maybe this is b/c the space is smaller too? One feature I miss is a digital timer. I'm used to using my microwave as a digital countdown timer for cooking things on the stove. But this doesn't have this feature. Also, two minor notes that weren't apparent before I bought it but aren't really deal breakers. 1) the microwave light only shines when it's cooking not when you open the door. That is a little inconvenient when making tea at night. My last microwave lit up when I opened the door. 2) the "done cooking" signal beeps three times no matter what. In my opinion, if I open the door after the first beep, the last two beeps are not necessary. This wouldn't bother me if the beep weren't so loud when I'm standing right in front of the microwave (with the door open). Still a recommended buy. :-)

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thinkseedo
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We love it
3/7/2012

Customer review by chicklady

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by chicklady
by chicklady

I haven't entered a rating for durability because we haven't had it that long. But we love the looks and operation of this microwave and so I hope it lasts a long time to come! This actually comes with features that when you first look at it, you're sure it doesn't do anything. Read the manual....it really does do cool things like an instant popcorn setting or frozen dinners, etc. It just does it all with one button. Really neat!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chicklady
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Iconic looking microwave
2/8/2012

Customer review by 5Oclocktime

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by 5Oclocktime
by 5Oclocktime

I bought it for my 1957 Airstream Travel Trailer I've just restored. If you want something Fun or Retro that doesn't look tacky this is it. The Candy Red paint is great and with the chrome trim it looks retro as well as classy. I haven't used it yet other than plugging it and boiling a cup of water to make sure it works but it looks robust. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5Oclocktime
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not happy with experience
9/26/2012

Customer review by Samell

1.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Samell
by Samell

This one was the 2nd one this household had. The first one failed within about 5 weeks. It did look good and the power was a little light. When I started smelling burning things I knew it wouldn't last long. The second one did not even work out of the box. Returned to WalMart next day for a full refund. I won't purchase another microwave from Nostalgia Electrics Retro again.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samell
Aiken SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
11/27/2013

Customer review by SRKK

4.0 stars 11/27/2013 by SRKK
by SRKK

This microwave is just what my kitchen needed. I love the old car look of it and the dial buttom used for the timer. It is just beautiful. It's a little smaller than my last one but so far does the trick.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRKK
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful show stopping red!
2/21/2012

Customer review by Marigoldsmom

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Marigoldsmom
by Marigoldsmom

In redoing my kitchen with red accents, the day my microwave died, I looked online to see if anyone had one in red as I'd recently replaced another small appliance in red. I found one at Walmart, of course, and the price on line was great. I was told that the 800 wattage was not good by my daughter but have found it to be fine for all my needs. The only downside I have found is in the dialing for cooking time, etc. since I've been spoiled by push buttons. I understand that this is because of the retro look and I'm becoming used to it. This is the 2nd thing that I have purchased at Walmart.com and I am hooked. It is so great not to have to drive around and go in person to look for things.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marigoldsmom
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the look
10/28/2012

Customer review by Cheely

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Cheely
by Cheely

The microwave was delivered to the store in a timely fashion. I experienced no glitches during the pickup. The retro-look microwave (mine is red) is exactly as described. Very pleased. I am enamored of the "dial" time/option feature. Much simpler than the push-button variety. I did read the instuction booklet, but my granddaughters (ages 13+15) had no difficulty in just diving in and figuring it out for themselves. As stated in other reviews, the light does not come on when the door is opened. As to the loud noise during operation that some users reported: no... nothing unusual here. Yes, it is only 800 watts, and this is less cooking power than many frozen foods are test-timed in. So be prepared to add to the suggested microwave times. That may be a deal-breaker for some, but my old microwave (the one this replaces) was manufactured in 1986(!) so I had become used to adding minutes to the recommended cook times. I rated this only average for "durability" as I haven't had it long enough to be more accurate. Since I am unfamiliar with the manufacturer, I did purchase the Service Plan for $9.00. I don't know if that was really necessary but I wanted to hedge my bets, based on some other buyers' dissatisfactions. Overall, I am extremely pleased with the look and functionality of my new retro-look microwave.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheely
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just What I Expected
7/14/2012

Customer review by SimplySharonNH

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by SimplySharonNH
by SimplySharonNH

I'll be the first to admit I ordered this based solely on aestetics. I love the way this looks! Everyone who has seen it has commented favorably on its retro-look design. My old microwave was an 1100w so I do very much notice a difference in this ones ability to heat quickly as it's only 800w. My large mug of coffee that I would reheat would take 1 minute in the 1100w but now takes 2 minutes. I had expected this in advance of ordering. I would not reccommend this for a family or for heavy duty use but as a single person I find it to be just what I needed, works fine for reheating beverages or leftovers and for frozen dinners but is not, from my perspective, designed for long timed actual cooking of food. I would suggest you carefully read the instructions regarding cleaning of this microwave and what products you can use in it for heating and cooking. (it seems paper is discouraged which I am assuming extends to paper towels which I used to use in my old microwave for steaming hotdogs) I will likely seek out bpa free containers with covers for reheating food to avoid splattering. Whether this product stands the test of time for durability remains to be seen, but I'm happy with it and it looks great in my kitchen. It's my first 'fun' microwave :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SimplySharonNH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Worked Great...for Three Minutes
12/11/2012

Customer review by DDoublePrime

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by DDoublePrime
by DDoublePrime

While this microwave looked every bit as nice as I had hoped, it would only cook for three minutes before shutting itself off. POOF! It then took a minute to reset itself. During our short time together, the only function I was truly able to thoroughly test was setting the clock. In all fairness, that worked perfectly every time. Unfortunately, I was looking for a microwave, not an oversized digital clock.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDoublePrime
Hartwood, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE THIS MICROWAVE
7/10/2012

Customer review by tatyana1988

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by tatyana1988
by tatyana1988

I bought this for my mother and she loves it..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tatyana1988
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No keypad, but that's OK.
1/9/2014

Customer review by Maclogo

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Maclogo
by Maclogo

A little strange not having a keypad to enter time length, but once you get used to the "dial" and other buttons it quickly becomes familiar and not a problem. The 50s look is really attractive and still coordinates with newer existing appliances in the kitchen. It beeps three times when cooking is done and if you open the door immediately the beeping continues until all three have sounded. Not a big problem, but a little annoying at first. All things considered it's done a great job so far and we love the new look!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maclogo
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pass
10/28/2012

Customer review by brenbrenj

2.0 stars 10/28/2012 by brenbrenj
by brenbrenj

The microwave is pretty but it has no power. It takes forever to warm or to cook items such as the steamfresh vegetables or just warming up food. If you want it for light warming that you don't mind taking longer than usual, then it is fine. It is also expensive, you could get a 1000 + watt for the $100.00 paid for this one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brenbrenj
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/8/2012

Customer review by Debeigler1943

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by Debeigler1943
by Debeigler1943

I was very disatisfied witht the microwave. It made a horrific noise and would not heat. My friend bought me another one and it has done the same thing. Will not heat and makes a very loud annoying noise. Will deffinitely NOT buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debeigler1943
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding appliance for a phenomenal price!
3/7/2014

Customer review by hljeffries

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by hljeffries
by hljeffries

When our microwave shorted out several months ago I went on a quest to find the perfect replacement. I had narrowed it down to this Nostalgia Electrics model after comparing numerous user reviews and consumer reports reviews. I had been waiting trying to find a price under $100, since most places list it's selling price around $139. I've always had a huge microwave thinking that the bigger version was better. Truth is - I never use the microwave for anything but reheating a plate, bowl, single serving portion or a cup of hot beverage. I'm tired of common looking microwaves and bulky boxes taking up counter space. I wanted something in a different color, that had some character to its design, yet had terrific performance and longevity. I believe I found it in this Nostalgia Electrics model. I couldn't be happier with the purchase and after extensive searching, Walmart, hands-down had the best price on this unit. That includes Amazon, eBay and a host of other bargain type sites. It's quiet, efficient, the perfect size, doesn't take up counter space, matches the look and color scheme of the rest of the kitchen and I absolutely LOVE the dial setting which allows me to adjust the cooking time WHILE something is heating, increasing or reducing the time without having to shut the heating process off and re-keying in a cook time. I was concerned from the simplicity of the controls that it wouldn't have many functions, however Nostalgia Electrics saw fit to include a host of functions and options, that are easy to navigate and understand quickly. I have read other reviews stating the end-cycle beep is quite loud - I didn't personally find this to be the case, but it could be the size of the kitchen or where I have it placed so it's not echoing off another wall. The area I have it in is open on the sides and my kitchen is approximately 11' x 15', so mid-size. Also - the red color is a darker red, not a candy apple red. In the photo I have provided my KitchenAid stand mixer is the Cinnamon version and it's only slightly darker than the microwave, which is what I was hoping for. For us - a perfect choice!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hljeffries
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews