Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2881 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2881 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

2881 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1725
4 stars
749
3 stars
162
2 stars
91
1 stars
154
1-20 of 2581 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2581 total reviews
1-20 of 2581 reviews
Good product - if you're realistic! (FILTER HINT!)
3/30/2012

Customer review by mizell

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by mizell
by mizell

According to the page it says it is good for hardwood, tile, carpets, and rugs. Is this true - yes.... and no. So I'm going to break it down a little bit (my house has a 1 year old, four plants, 1 short hair cat, 1 large indoor/outdoor, tri-layer coat dog, 1 small indoor, long hair dog, farm equipment mechanic husband, & myself): Hardwood/Tile: Yes --- PROS: It has sufficient suction to pick up everything I saw. CONS: You must go a bit slower than a large vacuum. Carpet: YES on flat or low pile. --- PROS: It has sufficient suction to pick up cat/dog hair, crumbs, staples, small bits of paper, bits of paper towels. CONS: You must go a bit slower than a large vacuum. ///// YES on medium pile --- PROS: It will pick up the basic daily or accidental small dirt messes. CONS: You must go about half the speed of a large vacuum. //// NO on tall pile or shag --- Reason: the shag gets sucked up and blocks air flow. Does it have a traditional brush? No. It had a squeegee. The canister is hard to take off: It was put on incorrectly and has become stuck. Push the release button (forgotten more than most will say) and pull with slight twist side to side. No suction: Check the filter. Being it is a small vacuum, the filter does get covered quickly with hair and light dirt particles. Won't reach into small corners: You're using the wrong attachment. Change the head to the corner attachment. Clean filter, just won't pick up anything: Slow down. The motor is not as powerful as a large vacuum. I purchased mid-January. I have used it almost daily on a medium pile rug, kitchen carpet, hardwood floor, tile floor, and it preformed beautifully. My attempt on a shag rug was an epic fail. Am I happy with this product, YES! I love it! As per my previous comment, I have a houseful of hair! It sucks up the dirt that gets tracked in and the hair that is seeming to come from every direction. Since I do have so much hair I end up dumping the canister quite often which means it's doing it's job; I can't argue with that. What I CAN argue is the carpet & rug claim. Yes, it will work, but should it replace a larger vacuum for a weekly deep clean? NO!!! The motor isn't powerful enough and the squeegee doesn't really assist with the deep clean. This isn't meant to be your "everything" vacuum, it's meant for harder surfaces and quick cleans. I would purchase this for a friend: If that friend has harder surfaces. If their house if mostly carpet, it wouldn't do much good in any place other than kitchen and bathrooms. QUICK WASHING HINT ON WHITE FILTER: Every few days I wash it with liquid dish soap. 1) Rinse the filter in warm water to remove stuck in hair and loose dust. / 2) Put soap in your hand like you were going to wash them & create suds. / 3) After suds have formed cup one hand around the filter and gently twist the filter side to side with the other (washing machine movement). / 4) When it's clean, rise in cold water. / 5) Leave overnight to dry.

Was this review helpful? (1380) (86)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mizell
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
UNEXPECTED SURPRISE! I will never sweep again.
12/18/2013

Customer review by tfindley

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by tfindley
by tfindley

I bought this online and picked it up from the store. I was hesitant about the quality bc it is so small and light, and affordable! My vacuum broke a while ago. I have wood floors, tile with grout, and a big shaggy area rug. I live in a small rental on a busy road, have a one year old who loves to eat stuff off of the ground and two dogs. These old wood floors just don't get clean with a broom, nor do I have time to constantly sweep, which I do daily. This vacuum completely astounded me. It not only cleaned all of my wood floors and grout, it gets in the corners, has great suction, and picks up everything from pet hair to cheerios. Also, it's quiet, light, easy to use and assemble, and it doesn't suck up fabrics. I used it on the Christmas tree skirt and it just cleaned it instead of sucking it up! This is truly the coolest "toy" I have bought in a very long time. I wish I could afford to buy everyone one for Christmas. This cut my cleaning time by an hour easily. I have some pics of how well it picks up! Also, it fit under all of my dressers and bed and got behind them and under them, my vacuums couldn't fold flat enough to do that.

Was this review helpful? (985) (78)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tfindley
Kansas City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
No more Golden Retriever hair "tumbleweeds"!
7/31/2011

Customer review by GoodGirlDixie

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by GoodGirlDixie
by GoodGirlDixie

I bought this in my local store after tons of online research for a "dustbuster on a stick" to suck up the Golden Retriever hair all over my hardwood floors without bending over for 20 minutes straight. I wanted something cordless but those were all so expensive and had bad reviews about having no power. I also wanted one without a roller brush because the dog hair just gets tangled in the bristles and it's a mess. Some people complained that this doesn’t vacuum carpet well but it is essentially a “dustbuster on a stick” with a cord. I didn't expect this to vacuum the carpet; I have a regular upright for that. The cord is pretty long but I do wish it were a bit longer - no big deal. It wheels around easily on the hardwood without scratching but it also works great without the base/wheels on it for more precise cleaning. My only regret is that I wish I'd known I could have gotten it in a cool color for $5 less online :-) I am extremely pleased with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (603) (99)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodGirlDixie
Smoky Mountains, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Pleasantly Surprised
8/9/2011

Customer review by Mikkehla

4.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Mikkehla
by Mikkehla

I bought this on a whim because as I was cleaning my boyfriend's house, I discovered his vacuum didn't work. All I really wanted it for was to vacuum the one small room in his house that has carpeting. Do my disapointment, it worked very poorly on the carpet. However, I found that it was amazing on the hardwood floors picking up the dog hair! That alone was worth the $20. I brought it back to my apartment where I also have hardwood floors and dog hair of my own to pick up and I just may never take it back to his house since I did pay for it! I did notice that it did work better on my very flat and non-plush area rug than his mor fluffy wall to wall carpet. If you have thick plush carpeting, do not buy this thinking you can replace your standard upright with it. If you have bare floors (hardwood, laminate, tile, etc.) it is worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (326) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mikkehla
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for the price, but has limitations.
8/19/2013

Customer review by Maddog098765

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Maddog098765
by Maddog098765

I have had this vacuum for a little over a month now and have used it regularly. Pros: Lightweight, sturdy, flexibility. Great on hardwood and tile floors and tightly woven carpets. Cons: No brush action, poor performance on pile carpets, power cord could be longer. This vacuum is now our go-to tool for the floors and short nap area rugs. We no longer go for the broom, the swivel sweeper, or the manual floor sweeper (you push, it sweeps, kinda like an unpowered swivel sweeper). We especially like the way it treats our area rugs. The regular upright vacuum tends to destroy these rugs with the power brushes. This unit does not have a powered brush, so is much easier on these area rugs while still doing a great job getting the dirt up. We have piled carpet in some rooms, and on our stairs, and the lack of a brush limits this unit's effectiveness on those areas. If you understand these limitations, this inexpensive unit can be a great purchase for your solid flooring and low nap carpeting.

Was this review helpful? (174) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maddog098765
Kansas City Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT
2/5/2012

Customer review by keeperofthecats

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by keeperofthecats
by keeperofthecats

Got this for $8.50 on Black Friday (actually bought 2). Great for pet hair pick up. I don't have carpet but is wonderful on hard floors.

Was this review helpful? (252) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keeperofthecats
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations for price
8/5/2011

Customer review by kelT

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by kelT
by kelT

When I saw this I thought "it's $20 it's not going to pick anything up, but I'll try it." It's worth every penny, and since it's only $20 I'm thinking about buying one for each room of the house. It's light, easy, powerful, and actually has great suction. This is my new go to gift for friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (241) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelT
The Woodlands, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for all Non-Carpeted floors
8/21/2011

Customer review by Benjerman

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Benjerman
by Benjerman

When I was reviewing this on this site prior to buying it, I was skeptical about it mainly because of the price. I have tile floors throughout my apartment and wanted a new lightweight vac. I got it out of the box and put it together in seconds. I consider myself somewhat of a clean freak so I put my new vac to work right then. It is great! It is light weight yet powerfull. If its something of high quality at a super cheap price your looking for, this is the product that fits the bill. Trust me, just buy it already, you'll be glad you did!

Was this review helpful? (169) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benjerman
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
efficient lil guy
7/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I needed a light vacuum for my pets hair and dust that trails like crazy into the house here in Dallas. Maybe i should have gone with the beautiful turquoise color, But im am supppper pleased with this vacuum. My dogs think all machines are cyborgs and so they attacked it. PEOPLE THIS ISNT A REGULAR VACUUM. ITs the little handheld thing with a suction guide and a detail attachment. ITs light weight and compact. Its perfect for my low carpet clean up ad as a floor sweeper. *****SEE PICTURE TO HOW MUCH DIRT THIS PICKED UP!**** My regular vacuum broke and its been a month. so i got this and it did better than expected. thank you / go buy it. To prevent slow suction...CLEAN THE FILTER OUT OFTEN. I do after every use. most people who complain dont know how to properly use and maintain things.

Was this review helpful? (105) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
DALLAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I love it!
9/6/2011

Customer review by yetta7

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by yetta7
by yetta7

I was looking for something small that worked good and this was a great buy. I purchased the dirt devil small vacuum first and it was horrible. After reading reviews on this one, I decided to try it. I normally don't post reviews but I will from now on because they are always so helpful to me. I use this vacuum on my floors and in my bedroom that has carpet. It really does a great job. The carpet in my bedroom is not high, therefore, I don't know if it will work on all lcarpet. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (58) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yetta7
Richardson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing
6/23/2014

Customer review by piinkorchid

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by piinkorchid
by piinkorchid

We moved into a new home 2 months ago. We have hard wood floors & tile floors. We have 2 cats, 2 dogs & 2 children. I have been on a search to find something quick & easy to help keep the floors clean. I was debating on purchasing a $500 robot vacuum to do its own thing & save me the trouble, but I couldn't commit to something so expensive when I've read a lot of great & not so great reviews about them. I came across this little vacuum online. The reviews sold me on it. $20! I am ecstatic with how well this unit cleans my floors. It is very lightweight, goes together & comes apart so easily. I love the full vacuum for the floors. It has amazing suction for something so small & light. It picks up dirt, dust, pet hair, cat litter, dried playdoh...you name it. I also loves how it comes apart so I am able to vacuum the furniture as well. I am truly happy that I decided to give it a shot & pass on something I would have spent a fortune on. Although this doesn't operate by itself it's so easy to use & cleans so well that I don't mind!

Was this review helpful? (66) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
piinkorchid
Houma, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
great for traveling
2/14/2014

Customer review by blank360

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by blank360
by blank360

my husband works in the oil field so me and my 1 year old son travel with him and stay in cabins/hotels that are really small, most places that you stay weeks-months at a time don't have room service so we bought this to keep it clean and I use it for everything... I vacuum the room, curtains, bed sheets (when my husband and son eat in the bed#, I clean my husbands dirty clothes off with it before I wash them, vacuum the dust out of the air conditioner vent that I cant reach, and I even get lazy sometimes and just suck up the old food after my some eats in his high chair.. it reaches anywhere, and my son loves it to, I remove the stick handle part and he can vacuum all day #it has no brush under it so I don't have to worry about it hurting him), by the end of the day it has lost its powerful suction so I wash the filter and leave it to dry over night and in the morning its like new. not sure how it would be on thick carpet but on motel carpet and hard floors its great.

Was this review helpful? (88) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blank360
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this!
11/21/2013

Customer review by RetiredSmoker

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by RetiredSmoker
by RetiredSmoker

On the shady side of 70 this is perfect for me. Very light weight and not at all awkward when you use it on the ceiling or walls with or without the longer handle. Goes together easily, works great to clean under stoves and corners in the kitchen or under the sink. Had to clean up after some mice under the sink and loved the fact I could vacuum up the droppings, wash the cup and rinse the filter after the fact. Cup comes off very easily, just push the button. Works for surface pickup on carpets like leaves etc that get tracked in with the dogs and the crevice tool works well for that half inch or so my upright seems to leave at the carpet edges against the walls or around the book cases. Also picks up the dog hair under my bed the upright can't reach. Only con would be that the attachments are rectangular rather than round where they attach to the cup so I'm going to check their website and see if they have an attachment set with brushes. Can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (86) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredSmoker
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does exactly what I wanted it to
9/8/2011

Customer review by Altfineart

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by Altfineart
by Altfineart

i bought this to vacuum up dog hair off of my hard floors, no carpets. I have had several back surgeries and the constant twisting motion and bending to scoop up with dust pan really bothered me and my heavy vacuum was well just to heavy. This little vacuum works wonders gets all the dog hair up wonderfully. As others have said the cord is too short so I just added an extension cord to it that I leave attached all the time the cord winder holder is big enough to allow me to wrap both the cord and extension cord making it very easy and solving the short cord issue. To keep track of the crevice tool I wrapped a couple of rubber bands around the pole and slip the tool through them to hold when not in use. To take care of the issue of cleaning the filter I use an old roll of packing tape, every few times I empty I stick some tape to the outside of the filter basket and easily pick up and remove the embedded dirt. Sounds like a lot of adjustments but I went through 5 or 6 small vacuums trying to find one that would pick up Pug dog fur and not die within a couple months. I also tried the disposable pad things but that got way to expensive since would take 1/2 a box to do the whole house every couple of days. The Bissell 38B1L has been working for over a year and doesn't look to be slowing down anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Altfineart
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dustbuster on a Stick
12/11/2013

Customer review by beachinfun

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by beachinfun
by beachinfun

Product extremely light easy to use and convenient for quick jobs. I now have 3 vacuums. A Rainbow system for the heavy cleaning, A Roomba and this Bissell. The Roomba is great for full let it run and do its thing kind of cleaning. BUT... this little gem is GREAT for the oops types of spills or the everyday tracking in of dust and dirt from the outside. After reading the comments for other purchasers I wasn't sure if I would be happy with the purchase. After my purchase I was in Wal-mart and saw the item on the shelf and figured I had made a mistake in the purchase. There was no way this little lightweight item could do much good. Once the item arrived at the house I gave it a chance and have been pleasantly surprised. It works great on the hardwood, tile and vinyl flooring. I was extremely surprised at how well it did on the carpets and throw rugs. For the price and convenience you would be hard pressed to find a better value. If there is a negative it would be that the cord could be 3-4 feet longer to keep from the constant plug hopping.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachinfun
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good suction, light weight
4/22/2014

Customer review by Sherlockett

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Sherlockett
by Sherlockett

I bought this for bare floors. I don't know how it would work on carpets the suction is strong enough but there is no brush on the bottom and I don't know if a vacuum needs it to to carpets. Pros The vacuum is lightweight and versatile. The suction is very good for a small vacuum and the motor is not too loud. I used it yesterday for the first time and I was very impressed. I paid $19.+ tax it is a good buy. It is thin enough with a long handle to get under the bed and other furniture. The container has a release button which is very easy to empty the dirt out as well as a little filter cup. It also attaches back on very easily. It is easy to take the handle off to use is as a small portable vacuum. it has a long cord. Cons I do feel there should be more directions with pictures. Some of the parts are hard to pull off like the removable floor nozzle and the crevice tool attachment. The long handle is not adjustable in length. It comes in a small box and you have to attach the handle. It is a little tricky, you have push the black plastic up a little so it will lock in the handle. I uploaded a picture of the handle attachment. i put a little oil on the the parts that were hard to pull off. I think that will help.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherlockett
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
The "LITTLE" vacuum that does!!!!!
8/30/2013

Customer review by WorkingRN

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by WorkingRN
by WorkingRN

If you have apartment or small house..... this is PERFECT for you! I have a Shark vacuum but I don't always need all of that power. So I thought for $16.00 (and some change, total) I'm going to get it and if I don't like it I'll just return it. NO WAY!!!! I LOVE IT!!!! I put it together in 3 minutes tops! It's soooo light and easy to push! I wiz around the apartment in less than 5 minutes! And you go from hardfloors to carpet to handheld vacuum in minutes! I'm an RN that works as a caregiver to an alzheimer's patient to keep her home with her family as long as I can. I talked her daughter into buying one and SHE (MY PATIENT) vacuumed the kitchen today. It was a hit and made her feel independent again!!! THANK YOU BISSEL!!!!! (I ordered mine site-to-store and got a pretty purple! We bought her's in our Walmart today for the same price it is just not a bright color. But.... their's came with a long crevice tool and MINE DIDN'T! :(( I'm checking into that tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorkingRN
Wichita Fall, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OMG! This vacuum is a little gift. IT REALLY WORKS
9/7/2011

Customer review by hs421

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by hs421
by hs421

I cannot believe how well this little vacuum really works. I use it on my lineoleum floors as well as wall to wall carpeting. I could not believe the very reasonable price Its well worth more money,, but that is our secret I highly recommend this to everyone

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hs421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
awesome for someone in a wheelchair.
11/3/2011

Customer review by scoobiedoo123

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by scoobiedoo123
by scoobiedoo123

It is very easy to use since I need to constantly manuver the wheelchair to vaccuum various areas of the house. Good quality for a small vac. Easy to empty container. Money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoobiedoo123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Change your life for under $20
1/26/2012

Customer review by spicynoodles66

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by spicynoodles66
by spicynoodles66

If you have a lot of tile of hardwood and you are done sweeping up hair and dust and food from under the kitchen table, THIS IS FOR YOU. It will cut your cleaning time by 75 percent and you will not be sweeping stuff from place to place, it's just gone! No more crouching with a dustpan! We have birds, and it takes three seconds to be birdseed free. It takes 30 seconds to clean up after play-dough, and a two year old eating rice is no longer a scary thought.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spicynoodles66
Bryan, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 2581 total reviews
1-20 of 2581 reviews