Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 124 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

124 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

124 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 105 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
LOVE THIS GRILL!
6/3/2011

Customer review by USAFwife531

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by USAFwife531
by USAFwife531

I purchased this for my husband for our 1 year anniversary/memorial day. he put it together pretty quick in about an hour or so. we couldn't wait to show it off to our friends! the grill heated up fast and cooked the food fast too. GREAT price for a 4 burner grill, especially for a Char Broil!! I highly recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USAFwife531
Tinker Air Force Base, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great grill for the price
5/28/2011

Customer review by kp1960

4.0 stars 5/28/2011 by kp1960
by kp1960

I just bought this grill and it was easy to assemble ,and looks and works great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kp1960
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Seems Decent, Few Problems With Assembly.
5/27/2013

Customer review by Damian46

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Damian46
by Damian46

Just finished putting it together so we haven't even used it yet, wanted to put a "warning" out there for those who are looking into getting one. Out of the box the front panel was dented and twisted. Not a Walmart problem but due to the way the unit was packaged. You'll have to fight with it to get it into place. Also, putting the fire box onto the legs had some issues as well because none of the four screw holes lined up. You'll need to put one screw into place, figure out the right way to twist and turn the legs in order to get the next and so on. Unfortunately one of the posts that secures the fire box to the legs immediately stripped so mine is only secured by three screws instead of four. Also for some reason, the right table which is the side you'll lift to move the BBQ doesn't have a handle on it. There are two holes on the side of the table that are obviously intended to secure a handle but I guess this model just doesn't come with one. So to move it you'll have to grip the edges of the metal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Damian46
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Value Grill
5/25/2011

Customer review by Jacara

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Jacara
by Jacara

Did not have any issues assembling - everything fit just fine and grill was ready to use in 1 hour. Easy to assemble - decent instructions. This is a great deal for a 48,000 btu 4-burner grill with 10,000 btu side burner. Weber Genesis has only 38,000 btu! Cooking area is adequate for family grilling. This is our second CharBroil - I would recommend it to anyone who wants a decent grill for relatively little money. We used our first grill for 6 years (year-round) in Northern Midwest weather (Milwaukee) uncovered.....I am sure that if we had protected it better from the weather, it would have lasted even longer!

Was this review helpful? (135) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacara
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/23/2011

Customer review by gmin

4.0 stars 5/23/2011 by gmin
by gmin

Make sure you open the box before you buy because the front panel is packaged right on top when you open the box. If someone stepped on top of the box it will be severely dented like mine was. Overall its a good grill for the money. It heated up real fast. The burners look like there made of stainless. Very easy to assemble. My older brinkman 2500 had cast iron burners that rotted out. It should last about 10 years.

Was this review helpful? (69) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gmin
long island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent value
6/29/2011

Customer review by Sj66

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Sj66
by Sj66

For the price you can't beat it. Only cons so far really are the lid is thin stainless steel so it will not hold in heat very well if you desire to roast or smoke. There is no removable drip pan (besides small drip cup) so cleaning is more of a chore. But again for the price I cant complain. Very easy to assemble. Stainless steel burners. Electronic ignition. Excellent value and good quaility.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sj66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill, for great price!
5/22/2011

Customer review by sharpshootey

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by sharpshootey
by sharpshootey

Great Grill for the price. Especially since it brings cast iron porcenalized grill grates. Which make all the difference when grilling.

Was this review helpful? (87) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharpshootey
Elizabeth, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Totaly uneven heat, low or high!
9/5/2011

Customer review by Technoengineer

2.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Technoengineer
by Technoengineer

Most of the unit was is good condition , only had some "cheap" porcelain coated sheet metal bent back in the fire box. Got it together and one of the wheels bent up when I went down a small drop! Kind of like a 2" pot hole!! Then when I started grilling found out it has totally uneven heat. The back corners get way too hot even at the lowest setting, burnt 3 pork chops , 4 Italian sausages and 2 hot dogs. There seems to be major heat from the corners and in the middle area seems to be a "hot" spot too. Must be the burner design, looked up this model on Consumer reports and it is the Worst / last one on the list. Will try to return for the Brinkman which is actual only $100 more but rates with models costing 2 to 3 times as much as that and has a rating of about 78% as is their best buy pick. It is in the top 10 I think.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Technoengineer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product, Great Value, Great Deal!
6/24/2011

Customer review by BeeDoza

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by BeeDoza
by BeeDoza

You cannot find another grill of this quality for the money anywhere else. This grill is durrable and sturdy and very easy to assemble. This was my first BBQ in my life but I have worked in restaurants grilling for 15 years and this grill is awesome. I reccomend to anyone that wants something inexpensive and good quality.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeeDoza
Castle Rock, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/18/2011

Customer review by DivaMom2

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by DivaMom2
by DivaMom2

Just bought this grill for my husband for Father's Day and gave it to him early. If you can find one grab it. The price was excellent for what you are getting. My husband works at a Home Improvement store and could not find a value anywhere like it ever. The quality, size, looks, and price are fantastic. Research others and you will see. Also,no problems with dents, dings, etc. Whole grill is perfect !

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DivaMom2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good grill for the price
5/25/2011

Customer review by Hammerhelm

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by Hammerhelm
by Hammerhelm

I own a charcoal grill/smoker but bought this gas grill for my wife's sake (she dislikes the charcoal taste). For the price, it's a good grill. The 4 burners have individual controls so that you can do indirect heating for BBQ and baking. The side burner isn't the most controlled, but I've yet to burn anything on it. I may upgrade the cooking grates as they are coated in a black, heat resistant paint that will likely peel off in a few years. Otherwise, it gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hammerhelm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Grill
5/23/2011

Customer review by Lanamani

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Lanamani
by Lanamani

This is a great Grill!!! I love it, very durable, food cooks fast...the look is very clean...although i dont like cleaning the stainless steel its not so bad after you get a cover. i definitely recommend it!! You can not find this price anywhere for a 4 burnner gas grill!!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (52) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lanamani
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
5/29/2011

Customer review by Tlsimms

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by Tlsimms
by Tlsimms

I bought the grill because of the name & price !!!! I have owned a Char-broil grill before and it worked great. I saw the price of this grill and figured what do I have to lose? So far I have had it for 2wks, used it a couple times and I love it!!!!! Like I said earlier, you can't beat the price !!!!! This grill even has a side burner! So far I am very pleased with it. I even had to put it together. This is coming from someone who has never put a grill together before.The grill was rather simple to assemble. The base is pretty much all you have to assemble. You really CANNOT GO WRONG for the PRICE !!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tlsimms
Pennsville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Extra assembely required
5/21/2011

Customer review by Runnwideopen

3.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Runnwideopen
by Runnwideopen

Purchesed this grill, Bang for the buck its a good deal. If your looking for something nice you might be disapointed. almost every main panel had dents in it (from the shape of the box it was Manufacturers problem not Walmarts as box was in great shape). Grill needed several modifications for assembely as several holes were drilled in the wrong place of just missing. I am a engineer so its not a case of stupidity on my part as the holes were drilled on the wrong end of the legs and the missing ones were in the side panels for the sheetmetal screws so nothing to affect the operation. The unit does cook well and that was the main pourpose so all is well. Good grill if your handy, if you have it put together look to make sure all the screws are in place.

Was this review helpful? (32) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Runnwideopen
Waterbury CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bang for buck
5/24/2011

Customer review by Fisher836

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Fisher836
by Fisher836

The grill works and looks great for $148. Some of the other grills I looked at in that price range failed in comparison. Now I haven't put it to the test yet cooking a thick filet but it works great on fish, chicken, and hamburgs/hot dogs. I'm sure there are better grills out there but you will pay much more. Assembly wasn't too bad on my behalf. Everything went together smoothly and all pieces were accounted for. No dents or dings and all holes were aligned properly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fisher836
Dunmore, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value in a gas grill
8/12/2012

Customer review by Grenoble68

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Grenoble68
by Grenoble68

I needed to replace my old Char-Broil grill that had died from neglect. My co-workers were strongly advising me to spend $800 or so on a premium grill. Being an avid bargain hunter and thrifty, I couldn't bring myself to spend that much on a grill that would get limited use. After reading the reviews, I decided to pick this up at my local Walmart for $158. I hand-picked the one without any signs of damage on the box. Got it home and all of the parts were present, accounted for, and in perfect shape. The assembly took a little longer than I would have liked. A few of the screw and bolt holes took some patience to line up and secure. Everything works fine, including the igniter that was DOA on my old Char-Broil. I've made it my personal mission to see if I can get this to last as long as the premium brand. Here are a few things I believe will help: 1. Use a nylon brush to clean the cooking grates. They are coated, and a stiff wire brush will scratch the porcelain coating. 2. Use a cover BUT be aware that a cover is a double-edge sword. It protects from heavy precipition but it also absorbs moisture and traps it in the grill. We had a heavy rain last night. When I uncovered the grill to inspect my handy work, I was surprised that the grill was wet all over. So I am planning to remove the cover periodically, particularly after heavy rain or snow, and dry out the grill by running the burners for a few minutes. I believe this is why people have seen rust on grills that were always covered. 3. Finally, I will winterize the parts that are vulnerable to rust, such as the heat tents and grates. I'll give them a good cleaning and coat them with vegetable oil. It is non-toxic and will provide some moisture protection. The oil should burn right off next time it is used. I do not plan to do this on the burners, since they could get clogged. I believe this grill to be a much better value than other brands offered in the same price range.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grenoble68
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Seems to work great so far
6/3/2013

Customer review by cwilks

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by cwilks
by cwilks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this based on the reviews and price. I decided on this one from Walmart because it was about $50 less than at Home Depot, however Home Depot includes assembly. Based on the reviews saying it took about an hour to put together, I thought that was worth the savings. However after I got it home and opened the box/took out the pieces, there was a sticker on the grill from Walmart saying free assemble available. I so wish I had known this in advance, as it took my husband and I two hours to put together and the directions were a bit confusing. We did use it that evening and it worked great! Lots of grilling room, the box says it can grill 28 hamburgers at once. Walmart, please advertise that the free assembly is available when you are purchasing and/or when you are picking it up. This would have spared us wasting a sunny Sat. afternoon being frustrated and wishing we had bought elsewhere- where the free assembly is a known fact.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cwilks
Fullerton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill (so far)
6/7/2012

Customer review by NeedStrollerSystem

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by NeedStrollerSystem
by NeedStrollerSystem

I was skeptical to buy this as the on line reviews were mixed. I have been using this grill for 3 weeks now and so far no issues. I have not seen any signs of rusting and hope we never do. It was not terrible to assemle (well not for me anyway my husband put it together). We grill about every day/night that weather permits & have not yet used burner on the side (we use the stove for beans & corn on the cob). The burners ignite every time on 1st or 2nd attempt (depends on who is the user) and there was not one dent/ding/scratch when removed from the box. It was assembled on a quilt on top of grass in our yard so may this helps? Our only one note of issue is rubber stopper right side of the lid, it was off & we can not get it to go back on but were careful with that corner and there was grease oozing out of the screw of the handle on the right side our first couple uses. Other than that no complaints and recommend this grill for the money, love that is has 4 burner knobs for flame control & the thermostat on the outside is a nice (cosmetic) thing, I'm not too sure how accurate it is but we don't need it anyway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeedStrollerSystem
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buyer Beware!!!
4/25/2014

Customer review by Onlythefactsforreview

1.0 stars 4/25/2014 by Onlythefactsforreview
by Onlythefactsforreview

After only 2 1/2 years, the drip pan has rusted out. The drip pan is part of the firebox and CharBroil wants $69 for a new box. We paid less than $150 for the whole grill new. A new firebox "does not" include new burners or grates, so when you figure the time and labor to switch everything over, you are better off just buying another grill. CharBroil offers replacement drip pans for other grills, just not for this model. I always had good luck with CharBroil in the past. This has changed my thinking, as CharBroil is not concerned about my issues. Going forward, I will shop another brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/25/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to help you get back up and grilling. If this part is attached directly to the firebox, the firebox will have to be replaced. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to investigate and best assist.

Onlythefactsforreview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good grill, low cost
7/22/2011

Customer review by jac2811

4.0 stars 7/22/2011 by jac2811
by jac2811

We chose to put ours together rather than having it assembled at the store so we could get it home. Once we got it together, we've had no problems. It works great and was literally hundreds of dollars cheaper than similar grills we looked at. We wish it had hooks to hang utensils on, but we can pick up an accessory for that. The only thing we haven't tested yet is the side burner. I tried to turn it on once and it wouldn't fire. I didn't check the manual, so that could be user error.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jac2811
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews